View Full Version : Pochetinno

Stick
20-09-2017, 07:14 PM
Just heard Allan Stubs on the radio, before the Celtic game, talking about being approached by the Spurs manager at a function, asking for his autograph. He thought it was a winde up, but apparently his son is a big hibs fan. The whole family gathered around the tv to watch the cup final.

20-09-2017, 07:16 PM
Just heard Allan Stubs on the radio, before the Celtic game, talking about being approached by the Spurs manager at a function, asking for his autograph. He thought it was a winde up, but apparently his son is a big hibs fan. The whole family gathered around the tv to watch the cup final.

Been covered. Thing his other boy supports Hertz!

20-09-2017, 07:33 PM
Both his sons went to Edinburgh Uni.

Clearly only one of them had any brains.

20-09-2017, 07:36 PM
Was an interesting little story from Stubbs - he took his Rotherham team down for a close door game - afterwards Pochetinno shared the story of his family all sitting down to watch the cup final - and introduced him
To his son , as the No1 Hibs fan - and his boy asked for pics ...was a nice little story ...

20-09-2017, 07:41 PM

The younger one, Maurizio, is about 15. If he's been to University already he's probably very brainy.

20-09-2017, 07:46 PM

Another .net myth. He's got one son who went to Southampton Uni and currently works on the sports science team at Spurs. The younger brother is 15 and is at the Spurs academy. The family arrived in Hampshire from Argentina via Barcelona it seems. When did they squeeze Edinburgh Uni in?

McIntosh
20-09-2017, 08:06 PM
Sebastiano supports Hibs, he did a placement in Edinburgh during his degree.

20-09-2017, 08:28 PM
Another .net myth. He's got one son who went to Southampton Uni and currently works on the sports science team at Spurs. The younger brother is 15 and is at the Spurs academy. The family arrived in Hampshire from Argentina via Barcelona it seems. When did they squeeze Edinburgh Uni in?

Well I heard it from Poch himself on Talksport

derekduval
20-09-2017, 08:42 PM

So he's got one son who has a younger brother. Do these 2 sons have different fathers?? Or does he have a 15 year old brother??

derekduval
20-09-2017, 08:44 PM
Just got it he has 2 sons

20-09-2017, 08:53 PM
Was an interesting little story from Stubbs - he took his Rotherham team down for a close door game - afterwards Pochetinno shared the story of his family all sitting down to watch the cup final - and introduced him
To his son , as the No1 Hibs fan - and his boy asked for pics ...was a nice little story ...

I missed the start of Stubbsy's little anecdote but enjoyed what I heard. Thought he told the story very well. Pochetinno could suddenly become my favourite Premier manager.

20-09-2017, 09:13 PM
Pochettino. :nerd:

OsloHibs
20-09-2017, 09:30 PM
I really enjoy watching Spurs under Poch. They play very, very good football. I hope they win something this season. And knowing he likes the Hibs- makes me love him even more!

Mcpakeisgod
20-09-2017, 09:41 PM
Anywhere I can listen to this online ?

20-09-2017, 10:33 PM
Poch is a class act and a very good manager. No idea why there's a Hibs link as the stuff about his sons living in Edinburgh doesn't seem to check out but there is one nonetheless. Like him even more! :flag:

20-09-2017, 10:50 PM

Well I heard it from Poch himself on Talksport

You know what folk are like, they'll say anything to find a Hibs connection. Even yon bleedin' Brazilians claim they copied their style off the Famous Five. Those South American posers couldny lace the FF's boots. :rolleyes:

21-09-2017, 12:07 AM
Been covered. Thing his other boy supports Hertz!

I think the brother supporting Hearts is fantasy. Surely it would have been mentioned tonight?

1875godsgift
21-09-2017, 12:18 AM
Poch is a class act and a very good manager. No idea why there's a Hibs link as the stuff about his sons living in Edinburgh doesn't seem to check out but there is one nonetheless. Like him even more! :flag:

Been to his hoose. He drinks Crabbies fi a Hibs mug an his dugs called Stanton.

FACT.

21-09-2017, 12:27 AM
Spurs and Hibs have no connection.
Arsenal possibly - Baker, Cropley and Marinello.

Firestarter
21-09-2017, 12:50 AM
The younger one, Maurizio, is about 15. If he's been to University already he's probably very brainy.

He's the Hearts fan I think. His big brother loves the hibs

Firestarter
21-09-2017, 12:52 AM
I think the brother supporting Hearts is fantasy. Surely it would have been mentioned tonight?

Wee bro wouldn't have a clue who they are.

21-09-2017, 07:25 AM

Gordon Durie?

Green forever
21-09-2017, 07:32 AM
Gordon Durie?

Simon Brown :-(

21-09-2017, 07:33 AM

Bertie Mee, Johnny McLeod and , ahem, Daniel Boateng.

Firestarter
21-09-2017, 07:37 AM
With Poch being a goalie and former Saints manager the obvious link is our 2007 Cup winning goalie Andy McNeil.

21-09-2017, 07:43 AM

Steve Archibald.

21-09-2017, 07:45 AM
Also, given our location and geographical boundary arguments, what about Justin Edinburgh?

21-09-2017, 08:05 AM
One of my cousins, Neil, is a Spurs ST holder - does that count?

21-09-2017, 08:16 AM
With Poch being a goalie and former Saints manager the obvious link is our 2007 Cup winning goalie Andy McNeil.

Pochettino was a centre half.

21-09-2017, 08:22 AM

Apart from Steve Archibald and Bill Nicholson being Eddie Turnbull's best pal which led to a series of friendlies in the 50's no connection at all?

FastEddieFelson
21-09-2017, 08:23 AM
bit of a tenuous link...

Firestarter
21-09-2017, 08:27 AM

There goes my theory then :greengrin

Firestarter
21-09-2017, 08:28 AM
Coco the Clown?

21-09-2017, 08:37 AM
Before our recent cup success I would've said our silky flair football and underachievement bound us together.

21-09-2017, 08:40 AM

With magnificent hair.

Ian Cathro
21-09-2017, 11:15 AM

Stokes

21-09-2017, 11:19 AM
Been to his hoose. He drinks Crabbies fi a Hibs mug an his dugs called Stanton.

FACT.
:faf::faf:

21-09-2017, 11:38 AM
There goes my theory then :greengrin

You did have me double checking to be fair :greengrin

21-09-2017, 11:44 AM
We've both pumped hearts at Tynie :dunno:
Hearts 0-5 Tottenham Hotspur
Hearts 0-7 Hibernian

21-09-2017, 11:45 AM

He is one of the defenders Michael Owen goes past in his (admittedly outstanding) goal for England at the 98 world cup.

Bit like former Celtc manager Wim Jansen, who features in Archie Gemmill's 78 wonder goal.

Edit: getting my world cups mixed up. He's actually the defender Michael Owen dives over to get a pen at the 02 workd cup.

21-09-2017, 11:51 AM
Gordon Durie?

Colin Calderwood, Steve Archibald

21-09-2017, 11:53 AM
He is one of the defenders Michael Owen goes past in his (admittedly outstanding) goal for England at the 98 world cup.

Bit like former Celtc manager Wim Jansen, who features in Archie Gemmill's 78 wonder goal.

Edit: getting my world cups mixed up. He's actually the defender Michael Owen dives over to get a pen at the 02 workd cup.

Pochettino didn’t play in that game

21-09-2017, 11:56 AM
Sebastiano supports Hibs, he did a placement in Edinburgh during his degree.

Pochettino was on the Radio speaking to Jim White about this in early August

He said their is no connection to Edinburgh whatsoever and the pair of the just decided and he had no idea why

Groathillgrump
21-09-2017, 11:59 AM
**** Spurs. Did me out of £80 when they only drew with Swansea on Saturday. :bitchy:

21-09-2017, 12:01 PM

Yeah, my mistake. He played in 02, I corrected it if you'd read to the end.

21-09-2017, 02:07 PM

Rubbish! Spurs and Hibs played each other every year for about 10 years in the 50s/60s. Think it was after meeting in the Coronation Cup. Long time ago sure but to state there is zero connection is just hogwash. I could mention Steve Archibald and Gordon Durie as well BTW.

21-09-2017, 02:10 PM

Alan Gilzean, Spurs legend is a Hibs fan :flag: We were all he wanted to talk about when I met him (know his laddie well)

Firestarter
21-09-2017, 02:13 PM
Rubbish! Spurs and Hibs played each other every year for about 10 years in the 50s/60s. Think it was after meeting in the Coronation Cup. Long time ago sure but to state there is zero connection is just hogwash. I could mention Steve Archibald and Gordon Durie as well BTW.

And Coco the bag of sweeties Calderwood

Silver Fox
21-09-2017, 07:23 PM
Jim White spoke to him at the launch of the Premier league in Billingsgate Market at the start of August for TalkSport, said his sons were big fans of Scottish Football, One Herts One Hibs didn't explain why

21-09-2017, 07:38 PM
Alan Gilzean, Spurs legend is a Hibs fan :flag: We were all he wanted to talk about when I met him (know his laddie well)

Class player. Still remember him destroying Hibs 4-0 at ER in 19longago.

21-09-2017, 07:47 PM
Class player. Still remember him destroying Hibs 4-0 at ER in 19longago.

Class gentleman also. Awesome man.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
22-09-2017, 05:54 AM

Was that not Mauricio Pellegrino? Now Southampton boss, used to play for Valencia? I know i always get them two mixed up?

22-09-2017, 06:02 AM
In other interesting news, we call porridge 'podgittino' in our house.

22-09-2017, 07:48 AM

Now there's posh. Oat cuisine indeed.

Tinribs
22-09-2017, 08:02 AM
Now there's posh. Oat cuisine indeed.

The groan that induced from me was bad, was about ready to brek my sides.

22-09-2017, 08:06 AM

If we're going that path, in our house half of us call Empire Biscuits Entire Biscuits and the other half call them German biscuits.

Renfrew_Hibby
22-09-2017, 08:06 AM
Can we no get Spurs up for a pre season game next summer?
That's if they're no on tour in Thailand, playing in a 'champions cup' in Dallas or off to Melbourne for a kick about in the cricket ground.

Think I've answered my own question.

Hibbycol
22-09-2017, 08:29 AM
Rubbish! Spurs and Hibs played each other every year for about 10 years in the 50s/60s. Think it was after meeting in the Coronation Cup. Long time ago sure but to state there is zero connection is just hogwash. I could mention Steve Archibald and Gordon Durie as well BTW.Aye see, and we pinched the glory glory song from them too , but still no connection [emoji16]

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

22-09-2017, 10:00 AM
If we're going that path, in our house half of us call Empire Biscuits Entire Biscuits and the other half call them German biscuits.

I had an interesting conversation with the old lady in the commie pool cafe about this. Her family grew up calling them German biscuits, then after the war there was a fashion of calling them Belgian biscuits (freedom fries spring to mind here!), and then Empire biscuits came later, because that was the company that made them. She could have been spraffing of course.

And always green jellies ontop.

22-09-2017, 02:08 PM

Dean Shiels

22-09-2017, 03:40 PM
Apart from Steve Archibald and Bill Nicholson being Eddie Turnbull's best pal which led to a series of friendlies in the 50's no connection at all?

I'm afraid it was more the other way around regarding Bill Nic & Ned. They became friendly, no more than that, as a result of the friendlies we played against Spurs in the 50's. I was with Eddie when we visited Spurs about 15 years ago & met with Bill N. They had mutual respect but that was really it. Mind you Ned, as usual, had the last word. Little Tommy Harmer ( ex Spurs legend ) came across to Eddie to say hello & said, I remember playing you Jocks, you weren't a bad side. Not bad said Ned, we f****d you 5-2!! End of conversation!