View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Motherwell ko 3pm

16-09-2017, 11:51 AM
Can we get back into winning ways and keep up with the top end teams?

Team selections as always is tricky to predict these days. They chances we've been creating recently has been numerous...someone's going to get their pants pulled down, will it be Motherwell?

:flag::hibees

Updates here

Brummie_Hibs
16-09-2017, 12:00 PM
I would go as far as saying this is a must win game.

16-09-2017, 12:02 PM
Still on my holidays. Meaningful updates welcome :flag:

16-09-2017, 12:02 PM

I agree to some extent, 2 or 3 points out of 9 wouldn't be good enough.

Greenfly
16-09-2017, 12:20 PM
Still on my holidays. Meaningful updates welcome :flag:

Likewise - score updates very much appreciated - here's hoping - real danger of momentum stalling if we don't get 3 points today.

16-09-2017, 12:35 PM

Next two league matches are away to Ross County and away to Celtic. Need to take something from today's match.

16-09-2017, 12:37 PM
Anything less than 3pts today will be extremely disappointing.

16-09-2017, 12:40 PM
Horrendous hangover after attending a gig last night, back onit and looking forward to the first ER visit for the season. Let's get a win today Hibs

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

ManBearPig
16-09-2017, 12:55 PM
Any team news?

16-09-2017, 01:00 PM
After a loss and two draws a win is critical today.

16-09-2017, 01:01 PM

Lennon Out

greenlad
16-09-2017, 01:02 PM
Any team news?

Unchanged

16-09-2017, 01:03 PM
same team as last week

16-09-2017, 01:06 PM
I really don't like Whittaker at left back. Stevenson is the better option for me. I think Lennon is going this way due to his height.

16-09-2017, 01:09 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DJ2OflgWkAIXgF4.jpg:large

16-09-2017, 01:11 PM
Barker starting again, thought Slivka might have been back in today.

16-09-2017, 01:11 PM
I really don't like Whittaker at left back. Stevenson is the better option for me. I think Lennon is going this way due to his height.

Got to say it doesn't look great for Lewis under Lennon. Doesn't seem he fancies him at this level.

16-09-2017, 01:14 PM
Got to say it doesn't look great for Lewis under Lennon. Doesn't seem he fancies him at this level.
:agree: I agree.

16-09-2017, 01:16 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DJ2OflgWkAIXgF4.jpg:large

Would like to see Big Dave get chance.

16-09-2017, 01:19 PM
Lewis will get another chance at some point. He just needs to make sure he takes it when it comes along.

It's not the team I'd have chosen but I am happy enough with it.

16-09-2017, 01:22 PM
Motherwell team, will be interesting to see how Moult plays

The @MotherwellFC (https://twitter.com/MotherwellFC) XI this afternoon: Carson, Tait, Hartley, Cadden, McHugh, Moult, Bowman, Rose, Dunne, Kipré, Campbell

16-09-2017, 01:23 PM
P

AL-Qaholik
16-09-2017, 01:24 PM
Really can't fathom not picking Slivka.
Him, McGinn and, on current form, Boyle should be first names on the team sheet every week for me.
Really hope we're not contractually obligated to play Barker regardless of his form.

16-09-2017, 01:25 PM
Cadden will be a tough test for Whittaker today. He's rapid.

16-09-2017, 01:25 PM

The @MotherwellFC (https://twitter.com/MotherwellFC) XI this afternoon: Carson, Tait, Hartley, Cadden, McHugh, Moult, Bowman, Rose, Dunne, Kipré, Campbell

Noticed in the press in pre-contracts for 3 premier players Moult being one of them

16-09-2017, 01:27 PM
Pressure on the forwards. Other than the Hamilton game the play from back to front has been good. Would not have argued with big Dave starting and the dropped player coming off the bench.

16-09-2017, 01:29 PM

Hopefully badly

16-09-2017, 01:29 PM
Pressure on the forwards. Other than the Hamilton game the play from back to front has been good. Would not have argued with big Dave starting and the dropped player coming off the bench.

true...but a clean sheet would be a great step forward for us.

16-09-2017, 01:30 PM
Noticed in the press in pre-contracts for 3 premier players Moult being one of them

Pre contracts with Hibs?

16-09-2017, 01:32 PM

No it's not

16-09-2017, 01:35 PM
No it's not

Well I'd suggest 2/3 points from 9 available would be poor

16-09-2017, 01:36 PM
Pre contracts with Hibs?

Seen that mentioned before Billy, just the paper spouting hun p**h.

16-09-2017, 01:45 PM
Really can't fathom not picking Slivka.
Him, McGinn and, on current form, Boyle should be first names on the team sheet every week for me.
Really hope we're not contractually obligated to play Barker regardless of his form.

Why would we do that? Take a player on loan and be obliged to play him? Has this ever happened at Hibs, I don't think so.

Important game today, as are they all. Our failure to turn dominance into goals has cost us the past two games. We need to reaffirm that we are decent side. A good win and performance will boost confidence all round and help confirm that Hamilton was a blip.

16-09-2017, 01:49 PM

Looks like it.

16-09-2017, 02:03 PM
Nae goals yet.

16-09-2017, 02:05 PM
Nae goals yet.

No, but the centre of our defence has already managed to give me the fear in a big way.

16-09-2017, 02:05 PM
Looks like it.

Whittaker's better mate , simples

16-09-2017, 02:08 PM
Good work from Barker to win the corner.

16-09-2017, 02:10 PM
Murray inches past the post.

16-09-2017, 02:12 PM
Hopefully today is one of these if all tour chances go in and we get 3 or 4. Stokes/Murray brace would be good.

16-09-2017, 02:14 PM
Hibs could easily have had a penalty there - Stokes had his heels clipped just inside the box.

Barker looking well up for t.

16-09-2017, 02:17 PM
Hibs could easily have had a penalty there - Stokes had his heels clipped just inside the box.

Barker looking well up for t.

Well, Barker will just have to wait until half-time for his t like everyone else.

16-09-2017, 02:18 PM
Motherwell's Tate booked for diving in the box.

16-09-2017, 02:18 PM
Well, Barker will just have to wait until half-time for his t like everyone else.

16-09-2017, 02:20 PM
Motherwell look like this seasons Falkirk. Ugly, ugly team tryong every trick in the book.

16-09-2017, 02:21 PM
Honking banner from the singing section I must say.

16-09-2017, 02:22 PM
Pen Hibs 1-0 to the Hibees :flag:

Stokes is on fire

oldbiker
16-09-2017, 02:23 PM
Goal, Stokes :flag:

16-09-2017, 02:24 PM
Penalty Hibs - possibly a wee bit soft - Boyle shoved in the back but for me it started just outside the box.

Stokes buries it.

16-09-2017, 02:25 PM
He scored it, but seemed like he could have done better, seemed a little slow going in

BarneyHibby
Yesss:thumbsup::agree:

Scored first for a change, let's get the second now and get this won. :thumbsup:

16-09-2017, 02:26 PM
Keep getting it wide and we'll hammer them.

Wull
What happened to the script we scored first

Thought that might have gone in there, but no shouts for it, so maybe not

16-09-2017, 02:27 PM
Moult off the bar. Lucky for us.

Not able to make it today. What does the banner say?

Sounds like Barker playing well

16-09-2017, 02:28 PM
Barker looks to be a real find...

Clean sheet would be nice for a change [emoji106]

What's it saying ?

16-09-2017, 02:29 PM
He scored it, but seemed like he could have done better, seemed a little slow going in

:agree: Looked pretty close to the keeper.

16-09-2017, 02:31 PM
Barker looks immense.

Still not at all convinced by our defence.

We can play some lovely stuff at times.

16-09-2017, 02:31 PM
:agree: Looked pretty close to the keeper.
Guys on Hibs TV called it an excellent penalty and I suppose it is if it goes in, but it was hit was too close to center of the goal.....

16-09-2017, 02:32 PM
What's it saying ?

13,000 season tickets sold
Zero opinions heard
“Unanimous”?

16-09-2017, 02:33 PM
Can this game be viewed on hibs tv? ****ed if I can get it. Must be the worst subscription service in the world!

16-09-2017, 02:34 PM
Dear Hibs defenders, feel free to boot it into the stands as opposed to trying to be fancy

gando
16-09-2017, 02:34 PM
Zero opinions heard
“Unanimous”?

What's honking about that?

16-09-2017, 02:35 PM
Clean sheet = 3 points

Very sloppy on the ball at times. McGinn being a main culprit. Sometimes the simple ball is fine.

What's honking about that?
Was wondering the same thing myself - seems fairly accurate to me.....

Dont care how they go in as long as they do go in.:flag:

16-09-2017, 02:43 PM
Zero opinions heard
“Unanimous”?

Can't see anything wrong with that.

16-09-2017, 02:44 PM
Marciano needs to stop coming and flapping at crosses. That's twice he's swung an arm at the ball and twice he's missed it by a mile.

16-09-2017, 02:45 PM
I don’t really want to start a discussion about the banner in this thread. I’ll post a thread after the game probably.

gando
16-09-2017, 02:46 PM
I don’t really want to start a discussion about the banner in this thread. I’ll post a thread after the game probably.

So you post about in this thread 🤷🏻*♂️

16-09-2017, 02:48 PM
HT 1-0 :aok:

16-09-2017, 02:50 PM
Marciano needs to stop coming and flapping at crosses. That's twice he's swung an arm at the ball and twice he's missed it by a mile.

Aye, Motherwell probably wonder how they haven't scored 😁

16-09-2017, 02:50 PM
We should be 3 to the good here. All over them.

16-09-2017, 02:54 PM

Good game, not sure we should be 3 up though !

Barker has been great, defending from both sides terrible, we are a joke defending set pieces. Referee has been shocking. Deliberate hand ball a couple of times no booking, stone wall pen when Stokes is brought down nothing. Can't see us keeping a clean sheet so need another goal

Dunno if mentioned already but this game is on Alba at 6pm this evening...

Disagree. They could reasonably argue that it should be 1-1, given they hit the underside of the crossbar. I think they look pretty dangerous on the counter.

wearethehibs

Can't wait for that

16-09-2017, 02:56 PM
we should be scoring alot more and closing these games down.Maybe a couple more will come in the second half.

seanshow
16-09-2017, 02:57 PM
I have ti say Whit is either injured,asleep or seeing out his retirement.Could easily be 3v3 at HT, we are woeful in defense....On the plus side Barker is on fire! :)

MichaelTheCelt
16-09-2017, 02:57 PM

God forbid Hibs fans have their say on anything eh.

16-09-2017, 02:58 PM

I think that one will go in a predictable fashion.

"Aye"
"Naw"
"Aye"
"Naw"
Till tomorrow.....

16-09-2017, 03:02 PM
It could be about 4-4, I don't really know how it isn't.

Marciano flapping, defence looks so casual at times and we look awful defending set pieces. We've got to do better defensively, it's only luck that we've not conceded.

Some nice passing, some pretty dangerous looking balls into the box, especially from Barker. We look dangerous.

Barker is in the mood and looks a real talent.

Whitty has looked a bit tentative and hasn't been great.

Good game actually. Wide open, tough, physical, both teams carry a threat going forward with some really good, skilful players on show.

I don't know why folk talk Scottish football down, this is good stuff. And I think it shows up a lot of the anti-football in the Championship for what it is.

16-09-2017, 03:03 PM
I have ti say Whit is either injured,asleep or seeing out his retirement.Could easily be 3v3 at HT, we are woeful in defense....On the plus side Barker is on fire! :)

Totally agree. Been very poor but saying that the whole back 4 haven't been much better.

16-09-2017, 03:03 PM

So far you have been unhappy with a penalty we scored from and think we should be 3 to the good. Bloody hell

16-09-2017, 03:05 PM
Can this game be viewed on hibs tv? ****ed if I can get it. Must be the worst subscription service in the world!

Video stream is perfect for me. If you are abroad you still need the international subscription. If you are trying to watch it on a mobile phone or on a hotel wifi, the bandwidth might be poor and video streams may be restricted.

16-09-2017, 03:05 PM
Video stream is perfect for me. If you are abroad you still need the international subscription. If you are trying to watch it on a mobile phone or on a hotel wifi, the bandwidth might be poor and video streams may be restricted.

Perfect for me too.

16-09-2017, 03:15 PM
Yesssss 2-0 Hibees

Stokes gets a brace

Stokes goal

Instinct. You can either do that or you can't.

16-09-2017, 03:16 PM
That lazy barsteward Stokes just can't stop scoring. Great run by Barker, almost great link up play by Stokes then a brilliant finish when it fell back to him.

oldbiker
Stokes again 2 up :top marks

21sMay
On fire 😥

:fire:

BarneyHibby
16-09-2017, 03:18 PM
Stokseyhttps://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f525.pnghttps://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f525.pnghttps://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f525.png:thumbsup:

16-09-2017, 03:18 PM
Instinct. You can either do that or you can't.

Quality over quantity every time, Stoksey's on fire.:flag::flag:

hibbie02
16-09-2017, 03:19 PM
Stokes goal

Aye, but was it a good one? Did he hit it hard enough? Was it Hibs class?

16-09-2017, 03:20 PM
Bartley having a really good game.

We haven't mentioned Stokes much but he's got 2 goals and has done well.

16-09-2017, 03:22 PM
Dunno if mentioned already but this game is on Alba at 6pm this evening...

Thanx man [emoji106]

16-09-2017, 03:22 PM
WTF is Marciano doing there?

2-1

16-09-2017, 03:23 PM
Yikes 'Well score 2-1 now

Moult scores

squeaky bum time

Of course we didn't hold on and cruise the rest of the game.

Will we ever keep a clean sheet?? Pressure on again

whiskas
16-09-2017, 03:24 PM
Marciano should have taken the ball and the player there ffs

Our defending has been a shambles this season.

Of course we didn't hold on and cruise the rest of the game.

We were never cruising today though

Whitty lost his man there, although Moult is good.

WTF is Marciano doing there?

2-1

He's flapped at several crosses today.

16-09-2017, 03:25 PM
He's flapped at several crosses today. It's been coming.

He has but the markings been shoddy tae

16-09-2017, 03:26 PM
Will we ever keep a clean sheet?? Pressure on again

We just need to score another one now.

seanshow
That was the keepers ball easy, shocker from Big Rocky

Dave on for Murray

16-09-2017, 03:27 PM
17k attendance apparently that's excellent let's go on and win this!

16-09-2017, 03:27 PM
He has but the markings been shoddy tae

True, really think that we need to work on defending. Make Life hard on ourselves at times. Harder than it needs to be tbf

16-09-2017, 03:28 PM

16-09-2017, 03:30 PM

Sent fae his phone, apparently...

Great crowd, be nice to give them a win to celebrate.

16-09-2017, 03:30 PM
Slyvka on for Boyle and booked straight away (undeservedly)

16-09-2017, 03:32 PM
2-2. Shocking from Hibs to let a 2 goal lead slip away

GTF defence is poor 2-2 now :rolleyes:

2 for Moult

2-2. No less than we deserve.

Been sleeping since going 2 up.

16-09-2017, 03:33 PM
2-2. Shocking from Hibs to let a 2 goal lead slip away

Losing a 2-0 lead. Joke.

DTS
We've been terrible. Marciano costing us the game.

Bottling this here

For ****s sake.

Deary me

16-09-2017, 03:34 PM
2-2 ***k

Why are we incapable of defending a lead?

Our defensive record is going to stop us having a strong season.

Time for Lewis to return?

renato
Waken up, Hibs!

Big kick up the arse required.

Just not good enough. Lennon needs to give them a rocket.

Going to 1 up top has killed us as we can't hold the ball up and relieve any pressure. Baffling decision.

AL-Qaholik
Shocking defence.
Shocking keeper.
Get exactly what we deserve.

Why in the hell can we no kill teams off, it´s no as if we dinnae hae enough bloody quality, cmon Hibs.
Are we yet again gonnae be draw kings????

Same old, same old.:rolleyes:

When was the last match we had a lead to defend?

Brummie_Hibs
16-09-2017, 03:35 PM
Incapable of defending full stop.

16-09-2017, 03:35 PM
Lewis moult the difference.

16-09-2017, 03:36 PM

Its the roller coaster ride that supporting Hibs is, they win as a team or lose as a team.

Behave.

We're giving them the ball. Brutal in the second half. Letting gem do whatever they want.

The marking from that throw in for thier second was a ****ing disgrace.

When was the last match we had a lead to defend?

I was wondering that as well.

The Pointer
16-09-2017, 03:37 PM
Reading this from the other side of the country is harrowing. Well, bl**dy annoying at least!

Green&White
Lennon has to take responsibility for our poor defence this season. Chopped and changed it week in week out when we had all fit(got a slight excuse now) and dropping stevenson for a poor defender in whitts is wrong decision in my opinion. Need a settled back 4.

This formation isn't working. Stokes and Barker are playing 75% of the game 30 yards inside their own half.

16-09-2017, 03:38 PM
C'mon Hibs we like 3-2 wins, Stokes hat trick :flag:

whiskas
Someone needs to tell mcginn he's allowed to play a simple pass once in a while

I was wondering that as well.

Rangers. And we put ourselves under uneccessary pressure that day as well.

Great strike from moult from their second to be fair. Hibs been poor since Stokes second though.

AL-Qaholik
16-09-2017, 03:39 PM
Constantly chopping & changing the defence to accommodate Whittaker.
Lennon has to take most of the blame.

16-09-2017, 03:42 PM
We've defended poorly, but we're no winning because our use of the balls been a disgrace, amateur standard. So many passes straight to them. It's no good enough. We gave them so much of the ball it was nae surprise they got it back to 2-2

16-09-2017, 03:42 PM
We could do wi a goal from big Dave Vicious now

16-09-2017, 03:43 PM
McGeouch on for Bartley

16-09-2017, 03:44 PM
How long is left?

16-09-2017, 03:45 PM
How long is left?

5 minutes +

16-09-2017, 03:45 PM
We've defended poorly, but we're no winning because our use of the balls been a disgrace, amateur standard. So many passes straight to them. It's no good enough. We gave them so much of the ball it was nae surprise they got it back to 2-2

Spot on. So, so wasteful in possession it's been unreal.

Defence have been poor but they have been under pressure because of the ball coming straight back so often. The change of shape since it went to 2-1 has been a disaster as well.

16-09-2017, 03:49 PM
Gray in the 92nd minute to make it 3-2 ppplllease :scarf:

16-09-2017, 03:50 PM
Stokes free kick just over the bar from 25 yds.

16-09-2017, 03:50 PM
4 minutes added on

16-09-2017, 03:54 PM
2-2 FT disappointing after being 2-0 up

Very poor result.

Full time.

It's turning into a pretty mediocre start to the season after it all looked so bright.

Ft 2-2

Pish, we never learn, wtf is goin on.

scooby
Hibs Tv question, I'm a UK subscriber but on holiday in Portugal, should I be able to view the game, as I'm only getting audio?

1. Wasteful in possession.
2. Poor defending. We got too excited about that in a weaker league last season.
3. Ought to have signed Moult - he knows the way to goal.

AL-Qaholik
16-09-2017, 03:55 PM
Absolute garbage!

16-09-2017, 03:55 PM
Pish, we never learn, wtf is goin on.

I wonder if we are really as good as we think we are? I happen to think not.

21sMay
16-09-2017, 03:56 PM
Full time. Can see a mid table finish this season which in my opinion would be rubbish as this side are capable of much better

Awful, goalie's cost you the game flapping at their first goal, 3 points out of 9 winnable games is bottom 6 form.

Hibs Tv question, I'm a UK subscriber but on holiday in Portugal, should I be able to view the game, as I'm only getting audio?

You must have an international subscription

This really isn't good enough.

If we keep up this form, we'll be lucky to finish in the top six.

p.s. We're now only one point ahead of Hearts.

Poor result. No top six place for us at this rate.

16-09-2017, 03:57 PM
As the promoted team we were always gonna take some time to adjust to playing top league teams every week but 3 points out of the last 12 is disappointing

Whittaker hopeless as usual. Feel sorry for Stevenson.

Pressure on mr lennon now. Despite it being our first season back our form this season has been unacceptable imo. We should be better than sixth. Hearts right up our ***** now.

Massive improvement needed. No over the top reactions needed just yet but we need to get winning again and quickly.

AL-Qaholik
16-09-2017, 03:58 PM

No coincidence our defence has fallen apart since he's come in.
Play him in midfield. Simply not good enough defensively any more.

We have been unfortunate in our previous 2 games but it sounds like we were poor today. Not a good result and a poor points collection over 4 games we expected more from. A bit for Lennon to think about.

Cannot rest on our laurels in this league. Big lesson today.

Played well in spells but overall we were pretty poor.

The 4-4-2 with Boyle and Barker wide didn't work.

Also think Murray looks increasingly lost and don't think he and Stokes work well together.

I'd be going 4-3-3 next week with Big Dave in for Murray and McGeough or Slivka for Boyle or Barker.

16-09-2017, 03:59 PM
Cannot rest on our laurels in this league. Big lesson today.

Every weeks becoming a "lesson" for us and we seem to be learning nothing

scooby
You must have an international subscription

Thanks, I was wrongly under the impression that I could view when overseas.
I'll take out a monthly international subscription for the league cup game 👍

Septimus
Time for Lewis to return?

Yes please

16-09-2017, 04:00 PM

Agree the defence isn't working but I don't think he could be faulted for either goal. Was he supposed to pick up Moult for the first?

The second was absolutely nothing to do with him.

16-09-2017, 04:01 PM

I find this playing Whittaker a left back thing odd. If he didn't think Lewis was good enough to achieve our ambitions, why not sign an actual left back?

scooby
16-09-2017, 04:02 PM

Agree with this, no coincidence we've started to leak goals, get Stevenson back in Lennon!

DTS
That was not any better than the Hamilton game, terrible in possession and looked extremely vulnerable at the back. 2 wins for 6 and no win in 4? Distinctly average start to the season. Marciano should be dropped on Tuesday, has to come and claim the cross for the first goal also his distribution is nothing short than a disgrace.

I can only assume it's a Lennon instruction, but there were loads of opportunities for Whittaker to go up the line outside the man with the ball today, but he stayed camped behind him. Was doing my head in, first half especially.

16-09-2017, 04:04 PM
Stevenson, McGeouch and Slivka in from the start next week.

Over ran in midfield in the second half coupled with anothers poor defensive display. Ambrose messing around and Hanlon slower than a week in jail. Get a grip and fast or we will slide down that table

Marciano had a mare, should have saved the second and constantly flapped at crosses.

16-09-2017, 04:05 PM
Well deserved to win that. Poor all round from Hibs. Whitty for me is very poor along with Murray today. In fact whitty for me has been poor since he returned.

16-09-2017, 04:05 PM
Porteous needs.to start against livie and lts see where he is, as he likes attacking the ball and maybe an optikn to go 3 at the back and get him ready for next weeks game !! The midfield balance isnt right either ...too many option ???😲😁

16-09-2017, 04:07 PM

Over ran in midfield in the second half coupled with anothers poor defensive display. Ambrose messing around and Hanlon slower than a week in jail. Get a grip and fast or we will slide down that table

Marciano had a mare, should have saved the second and constantly flapped at crosses.

Hanlon was one of the few I thought played well.

16-09-2017, 04:08 PM
Well deserved to win that. Poor all round from Hibs. Whitty for me is very poor along with Murray today. In fact whitty for me has been poor since he returned.

Agree, they didn't deserve to be two down, and at 2-2 I could only see one team winning it.

RCNG
16-09-2017, 04:12 PM
All the Stevenson haters crawling under the woodwork. Whittaker showing them what we have in Lewis.

16-09-2017, 04:13 PM

100% agree. A total sin that he is playing LB over Lewis. Totally paceless.

16-09-2017, 04:13 PM
All the Stevenson haters crawling under the woodwork. Whittaker showing them what we have in Lewis.

16-09-2017, 04:16 PM
100% agree. A total sin that he is playing LB over Lewis. Totally paceless.It's an utter disgrace and only Lennon can tell us why?? Whittaker has been poor for the last 3 weeks and barely finds a Hibs player with a pass.

16-09-2017, 04:17 PM
When this place gets to the hysterical its time to go, Hibs will get better although we are in fantasy land if we think we are good enough for a top four finish just now, lets wait and see where we are round about Feb/March, then I might even get hysterical until then, I will just keep supporting the Hibees.

RCNG
16-09-2017, 04:19 PM
Ironic.

16-09-2017, 04:20 PM
Ironic.

Think you need to look up the meaning of irony.

16-09-2017, 04:20 PM

Hanlon did nothing wrong. But he's spending most of the time covering for the erratic Efe.

16-09-2017, 04:24 PM
One loss in six is not that bad a start.

Disappointed with three draws in a row but they are better than defeats.

16-09-2017, 04:26 PM
Disappointed with Whitty, he has been poor at both right and left back this season.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

16-09-2017, 04:27 PM
Not nearly as bad as some making out, but reality is we are playing in a much better league this season, and to date we've shown that though we can compete, we look well short of being good enough to be able to dominate and punish anyone. Which, like it or not is probably where we are, and isn't that surprising, disappointing though it is.

Tornadoes70
16-09-2017, 04:29 PM

Was surprised at his performance today as he's normally rock solid. Feels like a defeat as it normally does after failing to defend a two goal lead and against the team I love to beat as I can't stand Motherwell. Good to see Stokesy get two while the defense needs a serious analysis by Lenny. Disappointing but hey ho.

16-09-2017, 04:32 PM
Pressure on mr lennon now. Despite it being our first season back our form this season has been unacceptable imo. We should be better than sixth. Hearts right up our ***** now.

Massive improvement needed. No over the top reactions needed just yet but we need to get winning again and quickly.
Yep. We draw far, far too many games.

whiskas
16-09-2017, 04:33 PM
We were lucky to get away with a point tbh. Motherwell looked good going forwards and we're strong and physical all over the park. I'm normally a fan of Marcianobut he was poor today and I'd drop him for Laidlaw on Tuesday. Whittaker had a shocker and Murray was anonymous apart from a good hold up and through ball to Boyle first half

16-09-2017, 04:43 PM
Whittaker poor today 1st half especially, ambrose was running out of defence chucking his legs at everything and the goalie had a shocker, really think we've jumped into offering lennon this new contract, think we could've waited til nearer the winter break because if we're still in this form we'll be nearer the bottom.

RCNG
16-09-2017, 04:50 PM
Think you need to look up the meaning of irony.

Deary me.

16-09-2017, 04:54 PM
Deary me.

Ironic

16-09-2017, 05:45 PM
Hibs defending, as a team, today was awful.

Who was supposed to be marking Moult at Motherwell's first goal? That, from a set piece, as well as the comical goalkeeping at that same goal, was really worrying.

When Hibs went 2-0 up, that scoreline flattered Hibs, and I still didn't feel confident Hibs would go on to win the match. Sure enough, 5/6 minutes after going 2-0 up, they chuck one in and give M'well all the encouragement they needed.

At the end of the day Hibs were fortunate to come away with one point. How many saves did the M'Well goalie have to make today?

On the evidence of today, I would say talking about finishing second to Celtic at the end of the season is nonsense.

16-09-2017, 06:01 PM
I may be spoilt by watching the Prem but Hibs are so slow it's unbelievable. Even Mcginn takes a while to pass it off at times. The only pacey guy - Boyle - had two men on him. I wouldn't have taken him off though, unless he's still feeling his injury.

16-09-2017, 06:19 PM
credit to the murrawell fans, they made a fair racket and i'l say it again..get the singing section back in the east :agree: sect 38 in the east and i still heard the away fans louder than our guys in the FF

16-09-2017, 06:42 PM
Losing a 2-0 lead at home would normally be very frustrating, but I'm actually feeling relieved we got something from the game. Motherwell were impressive today and have improved massively on last season. We have lessons to learn now are back in the top flight.

16-09-2017, 09:12 PM
Not long in the door, very disappointed in 2 points dropped, shocking drop in performance in the 2nd halfs and too many so called top players just not cutting it, Efe and Whittaker in particular have been poor.

16-09-2017, 09:17 PM
credit to the murrawell fans, they made a fair racket and i'l say it again..get the singing section back in the east :agree: sect 38 in the east and i still heard the away fans louder than our guys in the FF

Loads of people got season tickets in the singing section yet don't sing even when we're 2-0 up. Don't understand it, why move there in the first place..

16-09-2017, 09:58 PM
Sing up!

16-09-2017, 10:10 PM

Huge mistake moving them. Can't hear a thing at all from where I sit in the West lower. Much better when they were in the East. Or at least bring them down instead of sticking them away in the corner up top.

Funny Motherwell used to not sure if they still do stick away fans in the top tier as it makes them less effective being so far away from the pitch. Hibs need to rethink this big time.

16-09-2017, 10:26 PM
Love how folk blame positioning as opposed to opening their mouths?

BegbieHSC
16-09-2017, 10:53 PM

This!

Maybe if folk want a noisy Easter Road, they should sing WITH the singing section, instead of criticising at every opportunity!

16-09-2017, 11:09 PM

If this is aimed at me I don't sit up there, I'm saying it sounded great where it used to be. Sorry but the positioning where it is won't generate the noise like the east even with more singing.

Loads around us saying the very same.

16-09-2017, 11:10 PM
This!

Maybe if folk want a noisy Easter Road, they should sing WITH the singing section, instead of criticising at every opportunity!

Who's criticising?

BegbieHSC
16-09-2017, 11:14 PM
Who's criticising?

Not on here tbf, but some on Hibspage. today have been absolutely shocking with their patter. Having a real go over the banner, and the section no being loud enough.

16-09-2017, 11:28 PM
Not on here tbf, but some on Hibspage. today have been absolutely shocking with their patter. Having a real go over the banner, and the section no being loud enough.

Ah right, I came off FB months ago now just use twitter. Think the section is prob as loud it's where it's situated seems to be an issue imo.

BegbieHSC
16-09-2017, 11:44 PM
Ah right, I came off FB months ago now just use twitter. Think the section is prob as loud it's where it's situated seems to be an issue imo.

Honestly tempted to as well after seeing some of the posts.

I think the section itself decent - it saves those wanting to provide boisterous support a space where they can stand and have banners from irritating the more passive fans...I just think the section underestimated how passive those in sections 23/24 and in the corners of the East are. Really would expect those in the immediate vicinity to be more emboldened to be a bit noisier in our games.

Forever_Green93
17-09-2017, 12:25 AM

I don't think where the section is situated is the problem. The problem with the section atm is that its only the front 4 or 5 rows that are doing the singing and the rest of the section aren't joining in. If those people in the middle and the back of the section joined in then it would be much louder.

17-09-2017, 08:12 AM
Losing a 2-0 lead at home would normally be very frustrating, but I'm actually feeling relieved we got something from the game. Motherwell were impressive today and have improved massively on last season. We have lessons to learn now are back in the top flight.

Motherwell will not play s better game this season. Just like Hamilton, they raised their game 2 or 3 levels in front of our 17500 fans. They hunted in packs and as a team worked twice as hard as Hibs players, threw themselves into challenges as if it was a cup final and ran their hearts out. If they did that every week they'd be a top 4 side, but they don't, can't and won't.

I expected Hibs to be extra enthused because we're back in the big league, but the opposite is the case. Bang average teams are raising their games to unknown levels at ER. Hibs need to man up and gear up for that, as to date they've not.

17-09-2017, 11:26 AM
Motherwell will not play s better game this season. Just like Hamilton, they raised their game 2 or 3 levels in front of our 17500 fans. They hunted in packs and as a team worked twice as hard as Hibs players, threw themselves into challenges as if it was a cup final and ran their hearts out. If they did that every week they'd be a top 4 side, but they don't, can't and won't.

I expected Hibs to be extra enthused because we're back in the big league, but the opposite is the case. Bang average teams are raising their games to unknown levels at ER. Hibs need to man up and gear up for that, as to date they've not.

Fully agree