View Full Version : NHC Champions League Matches

12-09-2017, 04:16 PM
Celtic U19s just taken the lead against PSG U19s.

On BT and being played at Dumbarton (and the dip is still the pitch)

12-09-2017, 05:18 PM
Celtic U19s just taken the lead against PSG U19s.

On BT and being played at Dumbarton (and the dip is still the pitch)

2-2 now, and Regan Hendry just missed a penalty for Celtic at 2-1.
His older brother Taylor used to play for Hibs

Green forever
12-09-2017, 05:33 PM
Hibs legend Tommy McIntyre in charge of Celtic under 19s.

12-09-2017, 05:39 PM
2-3 PSG, Celtic hit the bar and PSG score on the counter

12-09-2017, 05:44 PM
Young Celtic defender Anthony Ralston starting tonight.

I've not got any great affection for Celtic, in fact I cannae stand them, however as this is a real problem position for Scotland it could be good if he makes the break through.

Firestarter
12-09-2017, 05:45 PM
Young Celtic defender Anthony Ralston starting tonight.

I've not got any great affection for Celtic, in fact I cannae stand them, however as this is a real problem position for Scotland it could be good if he makes the break through.

Have we checked he considers himself Scottish?

12-09-2017, 05:51 PM
Have we checked he considers himself Scottish?

Wikipedia says Scottish but with Celtic there's every chance he could want to be Irish.

Just seen on twitter he's a full back, not such a problem position for Scotland after all then, I thought he was a centre half, don't really care how he does now.

Souter96Mac
12-09-2017, 05:55 PM
Wikipedia says Scottish but with Celtic there's every chance he could want to be Irish.

Just seen on twitter he's a full back, not such a problem position for Scotland after all then, I thought he was a centre half, don't really care how he does now.

We're desperately in need of a few decent centre halves coming through the national side. It's all well and good having the likes of Robertson, Tierney, Armstrong etc. but the core of our defence will struggle against any half decent forward line

12-09-2017, 05:58 PM
Been in Glasgow city centre all day and its peeing down. Met a fair few PSG fans and plenty of them about. Only problem is, they don't half seem like dicks. Maybe the language barrier but have to say that anytime I've been to Paris I've not been impressed with the Parisians either.

12-09-2017, 05:59 PM
We're desperately in need of a few decent centre halves coming through the national side. It's all well and good having the likes of Robertson, Tierney, Armstrong etc. but the core of our defence will struggle against any half decent forward line

I know, if we had two centre halves the standard of our left backs we'd qualify for a tournament comfortably.

Saying that, I wonder if this Ralston guy breaks through at right back Tierney could maybe play in the centre? Has he played there for Celtic?

Reminds me of us in the mid-late 90s when we were blessed with probably two world class players and they both played in goals. Typical of our luck.

Firestarter
12-09-2017, 06:07 PM

😂😂 if he's a prospect let's hope he's not a plastic.

Firestarter
12-09-2017, 06:09 PM
I know, if we had two centre halves the standard of our left backs we'd qualify for a tournament comfortably.

Saying that, I wonder if this Ralston guy breaks through at right back Tierney could maybe play in the centre? Has he played there for Celtic?

Reminds me of us in the mid-late 90s when we were blessed with probably two world class players and they both played in goals. Typical of our luck.

Centre half is a massive issue. Maybe the decent Souttar will step up. The over rated ***** that comes with John gets my goat as much as their keeper being in the squad. Off topic but what happened to Andy Shinnie?

12-09-2017, 06:20 PM
Man United v Basel for me, though I will be flicking over to the Celtc match, which should be a cracker.

I see Celtc are around 10/1 tonight. That doesn't happen often for a home game for them!

Firestarter
12-09-2017, 06:30 PM
Bt sport 1 have a brilliant in play programme. I'll be watching Celtic get pumped followed by the highlights avoiding the scores on bt2. Great coverage they provide.

12-09-2017, 06:36 PM
Can't see the betting thread but Sheffield Wednesday 21/20 at home to winless brentford. huge.. fingers burnt so I feel mind

I've had BT sport for a number of years now and I must admit I love their coverage. It's not perfect but they're definitely trying

12-09-2017, 06:39 PM
Centre half is a massive issue. Maybe the decent Souttar will step up. The over rated ***** that comes with John gets my goat as much as their keeper being in the squad. Off topic but what happened to Andy Shinnie?

He's tearing up League 2.

12-09-2017, 06:41 PM
What a weird feeling watching them sing our song.....

12-09-2017, 06:42 PM

At Old Trafford? :greengrin

12-09-2017, 06:46 PM
Another thing they stole. Have they anything original ?

12-09-2017, 06:51 PM
Celtc struggling here, PSG all over them, only a matter of minutes before PSG score.

Unlucky PSG

12-09-2017, 06:52 PM
Celtc struggling here, PSG all over them, only a matter of minutes before PSG score.

Unlucky PSG

It's coming for sure..

12-09-2017, 06:52 PM
Am I only one who hopes celtic do well tonight?

Johnny Clash
12-09-2017, 06:53 PM
Can't imagine PSG fans being too impressed by that 'away corner'.
Usually seats missing but I wonder if they fix them for champions league games?

12-09-2017, 06:54 PM

Unlucky PSG

They need to hold out early doors to give themselves a chance.

12-09-2017, 06:55 PM
No I hope they do well, but not hugely bothered either way.

12-09-2017, 06:57 PM
Basel have parked the bus early on, but you can't blame them for that.

No. For the simple reason that PSG are another relitavley small club in European terms tarnished by billions buying their way to the Champions league. Hope Celtic stuff them.

SJNB Hibby

I dont see any advantage to them losing---they could earn 100 million from the Champions League and we'd be no further from winning the league
Wasnt that long ago we had two teams in the Group stages, and with Rangers no longer guaranteed one of the top two places, we could get ourselves a nice wee money spinning run if the coefficient goes up

12-09-2017, 06:59 PM
How cool was that from PSG playing it out from the back

12-09-2017, 07:00 PM
How cool was that from PSG playing it out from the back

Perfection

12-09-2017, 07:04 PM

I've not seen anyone in that position that has impressed me as much as Ryan Porteous. From the brief few pre-season and League Cup games I saw of him, I think he has bucketloads of potential, and might be the centre half Scotland have been crying out for for some time.

We really need to be getting him some game time this season.

If he's not going to get it with us, we could do with sending him out on an emergency loan for a month here or there (I'm aware he's much needed for cover right now with McGregor and Fontaine out).

12-09-2017, 07:05 PM
I dont see any advantage to them losing---they could earn 100 million from the Champions League and we'd be no further from winning the league
Wasnt that long ago we had two teams in the Group stages, and with Rangers no longer guaranteed one of the top two places, we could get ourselves a nice wee money spinning run if the coefficient goes up

Except it's not about just the league, wouldn't be very exciting if they won every single domestic Scottish trophy on offer for an extended period would it.

12-09-2017, 07:05 PM
That's it, Neymar scores.

12-09-2017, 07:06 PM
That's really poor refereeing. Great finish though.

0-1 PSG

Should have been a foul on Sinclair.

Get stuck in PSG.

Pogba off injured; looks like hamstring.

12-09-2017, 07:07 PM
C'mon PSG twist the knife. 4 or 5 zip would be amusing.

12-09-2017, 07:07 PM
0-1 PSG

Should have been a foul on Sinclair.

Get stuck in PSG.

Nae foul for me. Ball well gone, Griffiths made an erse of it.

12-09-2017, 07:09 PM
Off the post United. Should have been put in.

12-09-2017, 07:11 PM
Nae chance Celtic have had 38% of the ball!

Off the bar
12-09-2017, 07:16 PM
Sinclair has been poor

12-09-2017, 07:17 PM
Basel playing for 0-0 - everyone behind the ball. United need to play it quicker and pull them out of position.

12-09-2017, 07:19 PM
2-0 to PSG

12-09-2017, 07:19 PM
0-2 psg

12-09-2017, 07:20 PM
Basel playing for 0-0 - everyone behind the ball. United need to play it quicker and pull them out of position.

Probably taking Man Utd some time to adjust to the step up.

12-09-2017, 07:21 PM
It's not even men against boys...

The gulf is that large PSG are playing a different sport.

Sinclair has been poor

So has Griffiths.

Easy. Celtc getting a taste of what they normally dish out domestically. PSG look superb.

1-0 United. Good Fellaini header.

12-09-2017, 07:22 PM
Easy. Celtc getting a taste of what they normally dish out domestically. PSG look superb.

£350 million for the two goalscorers. They should look terrific!

12-09-2017, 07:22 PM
Yea brilliant to watch. :agree:

12-09-2017, 07:24 PM
Probably taking Man Utd some time to adjust to the step up.

Not impressed R :devil:

Off the bar
12-09-2017, 07:24 PM
So has Griffiths.

Whole Celtic team being made to look pretty average

12-09-2017, 07:25 PM
Penalty PSG

12-09-2017, 07:25 PM
Penalty to PSG, 3-0

12-09-2017, 07:26 PM
0-3

Get in the big curly hairy dude, 3pm.

Fan on the pitch at darkheid, another fine on the way for them.

12-09-2017, 07:26 PM
This could get embarrassing for Celtic.

PSG look a very, very good side even allowing for how poor Celtic are at this level.

12-09-2017, 07:27 PM
Fan on the pitch

12-09-2017, 07:27 PM
Neymar, Mbappe and Cavani. That's some attack!

12-09-2017, 07:28 PM
3-0 and now the commentators can stop rabbiting on about some cut-back that Cavani did.

Off the bar
Terrible pen to give away, no danger he just dragged him back, could be a fair kicking on the cards now

Fan on the pitch

They think it's all over?

Fan on the pitch

Another UEFA fine for Celtic, they should set up a direct debit.

12-09-2017, 07:29 PM
Celtc all over the place defensively. Sutton spot on that they should have bought s centre half.

12-09-2017, 07:30 PM
Not impressed R :devil:

Just a wee joke mate! :o)

12-09-2017, 07:32 PM
I thought they'd do alright at Celtic park against PSG and Bayern, they'll need to pray to every god possible to survive in Paris and Munich.

It's actually boring to watch. Great team PSG but no contest. Will end up at least 5-0. Football is done at this level.

Often start out kind of half rooting for Celtic on these occasions, but when they go a couple down the mindset changes to hoping they get absolutely hosed by about 6 or 7.

12-09-2017, 07:35 PM
It's actually boring to watch. Great team PSG but no contest. Will end up at least 5-0. Football is done at this level.

You're right. Only half a dozen or so sides actually have a chance of winning the trophy; for the rest it's about banking the money. PSG are in the first category; Celtic the latter.

Run for it while you can, Liam!

Often start out kind of half rooting for Celtic on these occasions, but when they go a couple down the mindset changes to hoping they get absolutely hosed by about 6 or 7.

Always hope they get horsed senseless. Apart from wanting Leigh to have a great game.

12-09-2017, 07:36 PM
I've switched over to the Man U game, Celtic game was getting too embarrassing to watch, PSG still in 2nd gear and toying with then, just shows the levels of other football leagues when Celtic are so far ahead in ours and they're being made to look so poor by PSG.

12-09-2017, 07:37 PM
Cue more chat about how the diddy teams, like Hearts, Aberdeen and ourselves are holding back the Glasgow giants and preventing them from competing at this level.

This is our fault for not being strong enough.

12-09-2017, 07:37 PM
I hope they don't get absolutely crushed.

It makes the rest of us look pretty poor.

12-09-2017, 07:41 PM
I've switched over to the Man U game, Celtic game was getting too embarrassing to watch, PSG still in 2nd gear and toying with then, just shows the levels of other football leagues :greengrin Celtic are so far ahead in ours and they're being made to look so poor by PSG.

Barcelona are playing Juve on the red button. Just saying likes :greengrin

12-09-2017, 07:42 PM
Just a wee joke mate! :o)

All good, looks like we are adjusting well to the step up :thumbsup:

12-09-2017, 07:43 PM
Barcelona are playing Juve on the red button. Just saying likes :greengrin

Yep and Chelski are also on, 2-0 up, too many good games on tonight, I'll see all the goals later tonight on the highlight show.

12-09-2017, 07:46 PM
The chasm between PSG and Celtic is akin to the gap between Celtic and Hamilton Accies. When a club can spend £350 million for two new attackers, there's little hope for teams like Celtic. That's just the reality of the football financial food chain.

one day maybe...
12-09-2017, 07:47 PM
If it was a true champions league, only champions in it, straight knock out, it might be more interesting..
I can't be arsed with this any more and haven't watched a final in years.. football is dead 💀

12-09-2017, 07:47 PM
I hope they don't get absolutely crushed.

It makes the rest of us look pretty poor.

Poor in comparison to the clubs who have multi-million pound players at their disposal.
Hibs are far from being a poor club.

12-09-2017, 07:48 PM
Messi 1-0 barca. Reports of their demise exaggerated?

Johnny Clash
It's good for Celtc and their fans to experience playing a team with a far superior resources and budget! No so smug now with their 'invincibles'!

Celtic fan tried to attack Mbappe.

12-09-2017, 07:49 PM

They'll probably try and blame Rangers.

12-09-2017, 07:49 PM

Really? That's a disgrace.

vuefrom1875
12-09-2017, 07:51 PM
It's good for Celtc and their fans to experience playing a team with a far superior resources and budget! No so smug now with their 'invincibles'!

Wonderful viewing 😀 😀

12-09-2017, 07:54 PM
They'll probably try and blame Rangers.

12-09-2017, 07:54 PM
Messi 1-0 barca. Reports of their demise exaggerated?

Nah, Barca have had more of the ball but Juve have had more chances and really should be 1-1. Guess if you've got Messi in your team you've always got a chance.

12-09-2017, 07:56 PM
United 2-0 Lukaku

12-09-2017, 07:57 PM
Chelsea 3-0 Qarabag

12-09-2017, 07:58 PM
As a Marseille fan I can't stand PSG but they're different class some of the play has been a joy to watch

12-09-2017, 07:59 PM
Ralston should be off.

12-09-2017, 08:01 PM
Neymar, Mbappe and Cavani. That's some attack!

I'll raise ye Messi, Suarez, O Dembele... :greengrin

12-09-2017, 08:01 PM
As a Marseille fan I can't stand PSG but they're different class some of the play has been a joy to watch

I didn't know you were OM mate?

Rakitic 2-0. Messi running the show.

OsloHibs
12-09-2017, 08:02 PM
Come on PSG. I've got you at 5-0!!!

12-09-2017, 08:03 PM

Celtc could be playing there next home game in the CL in a empty stadium.

yonder1875
12-09-2017, 08:03 PM
Iniesta is still absolutely class, legend of the game.

12-09-2017, 08:04 PM
Are you watching Efe and co? Can we maybe play it out of defence at that kind of speed? Well at least try!

12-09-2017, 08:05 PM
Nah, Barca have had more of the ball but Juve have had more chances and really should be 1-1. Guess if you've got Messi in your team you've always got a chance.

To be fair, they've been good so far in 2nd half, much better in fact. Winning 2-0 now and could be 3 or 4.

12-09-2017, 08:08 PM
Cue more chat about how the diddy teams, like Hearts, Aberdeen and ourselves are holding back the Glasgow giants and preventing them from competing at this level.

This is our fault for not being strong enough.

:agree: Lets free them from their shackles and let them go and take on Europes elite on a more level playing field :greengrin

12-09-2017, 08:09 PM
Our top club, that haven't been beaten domestically in over 12 months are currently being beaten 3-0 at home and have had only 30% of the possession. Truly depressing!?

guthrie01
12-09-2017, 08:12 PM
Our top club, that haven't been beaten domestically in over 12 months are currently being beaten 3-0 at home and have had only 30% of the possession. Truly depressing!?

Against arguably one of the best/expensive squads in the world, think you should take a deep breath. I think Celtic are actually holding up pretty well considering the calibre of players they are up against

12-09-2017, 08:13 PM
Chelsea 4-0 up

12-09-2017, 08:13 PM
Oh no. Not the 67 minutes thing.

Skol
12-09-2017, 08:15 PM

To be fair, PSG are good. Very good.

12-09-2017, 08:15 PM
To be fair, they've been good so far in 2nd half, much better in fact. Winning 2-0 now and could be 3 or 4.

3-0 now. Messi got booked for trying to get a Juve player booked and has been on a mission since then. Juve have been really poor though.

12-09-2017, 08:16 PM
Neymar's hopeless. What a miss.

12-09-2017, 08:18 PM
Against arguably one of the best/expensive squads in the world, think you should take a deep breath. I think Celtic are actually holding up pretty well considering the calibre of players they are up against

My mate (Sellick fan) has just said the same. He pointed out that you could probably buy the whole of Scottish football for the price of Neymar.

Chelsea 5-0

That PSG keeper looks more than decent.

2 very good saves and a few very confident takes from crosses. I know he was dropped last year for a spell but he's been excellent in what he's had to do tonight.

12-09-2017, 08:23 PM
Chelsea 6-0 Qarabag

12-09-2017, 08:25 PM
Barca 4-0 Juventus

Naw - chalked aff.

12-09-2017, 08:25 PM

No. They paid 220 million euros for 1 player, they'd rip most teams in the world a new one.

12-09-2017, 08:26 PM
Barca 4-0 Juventus
Kind of puts the Celtic score into perspective....

12-09-2017, 08:27 PM
Man United 3-0 Basel
Rashford

Off the bar
12-09-2017, 08:28 PM
4-0 psg

12-09-2017, 08:28 PM
0-4 OG

nae luck Celtc

12-09-2017, 08:29 PM
Juve walk Serie A year in year out now which shows the gap across Europe between the top teams and everyone else.

12-09-2017, 08:29 PM
0-4 OG

nae luck Celtc

PSG might have limitless funds, but that's still a superb performance. Parkhead is never easy.

12-09-2017, 08:30 PM
oh dear. 0-5

Off the bar
Ooooft 5-0

Cavani - what a goal!

What's the point?

12-09-2017, 08:31 PM
oh dear. 0-5

Their bums will be bleeding until their next Champions League game. Painful.

12-09-2017, 08:32 PM
0-5 fabulous header from Cavani. Massacre.

What's the point?
Errrrr whit?

They aren't going to come up against a team like PSG every game......

Cavani - what a goal!

Cavani is a great player. Very underated in my opinion.

Come on PSG. I've got you at 5-0!!!

:coolhib:

That PSG keeper looks more than decent.

2 very good saves and a few very confident takes from crosses. I know he was dropped last year for a spell but he's been excellent in what he's had to do tonight.

His passing has been top notch as well, seems a very confident keeper.

vuefrom1875
12-09-2017, 08:34 PM
Wonderful viewing 😀 😀

Just the 5 now 😀 😀

Kavinho
12-09-2017, 08:36 PM
Thats a stunningly good goal from Cavani

12-09-2017, 08:37 PM
Juve walk Serie A year in year out now which shows the gap across Europe between the top teams and everyone else.No it doesn't because Juve battered Barcelona last year and did not walk Serie A. Roma and Napoli both had record breaking seasons last year, Juventus were just too good and Milan and Inter are much stronger this season. It is a very exciting league.

12-09-2017, 08:40 PM
Does anyone know whether Celtic have ever before been beaten 0-5 at home?

12-09-2017, 08:40 PM
Neymar is wee fanny

12-09-2017, 08:50 PM
No it doesn't because Juve battered Barcelona last year and did not walk Serie A. Roma and Napoli both had record breaking seasons last year, Juventus were just too good and Milan and Inter are much stronger this season. It is a very exciting league.

Awright... 😂

12-09-2017, 08:51 PM
The champions league is now a shambles, UEFA have ruined it. FFP is a piss take.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
12-09-2017, 08:52 PM
Does anyone know whether Celtic have ever before been beaten 0-5 at home?

I believe its their worst ever home result in Europe.

Also saw a very thought provoking tweet about how when Celtic were 3 up on Hamilton at half time, it was because celtic were brilliant.

But PSG being 3 up on celtic is because of how much cash PSG slend. Interesting juxtaposition in attitudes i thought...

12-09-2017, 08:55 PM

Also saw a very thought provoking tweet about how when Celtic were 3 up on Hamilton at half time, it was because celtic were brilliant.

But PSG being 3 up on celtic is because of how much cash PSG slend. Interesting juxtaposition in attitudes i thought...

Apparently the last time they lost by five goals at home was 0-5 to Hearts in 1895!

12-09-2017, 09:06 PM
Sad that teams like PSG that were only formed 40 odd years ago are having billions ploughed into them. Football is ducked. I've retreated into my Scottish football bubble where at least there is a fraction of realism and I can enjoy football without feeling a sickening feeling inside.

yonder1875
12-09-2017, 09:12 PM
Neymar was bang out of order with young Ralston at the end there. 18 year old playing against a global superstar and he refuses to shake his hand after the game, what goes on in the game is the game and should be forgotten about at FT.

As the old saying goes, money can't buy class.

12-09-2017, 09:15 PM
The champions league is now a shambles, UEFA have ruined it. FFP is a piss take.

100% agree, that's why I don't bother watching that often

12-09-2017, 09:21 PM
Sad that teams like PSG that were only formed 40 odd years ago are having billions ploughed into them. Football is ducked. I've retreated into my Scottish football bubble where at least there is a fraction of realism and I can enjoy football without feeling a sickening feeling inside.

If you're to believe some on here, Scottish footballs down the pan as well...to quote Ian beale we got nuthin left

12-09-2017, 09:36 PM
Got a feeling we are gonna give them a doing at Parkhead:agree:

12-09-2017, 09:39 PM

Celtic haven't been brilliant since Martin O'Neill was manager and they reached the UEFA cup final. Even then they were very good rather than brilliant.

12-09-2017, 09:39 PM

Much as I despise UEFA as an organisation of crooks, you can hardly blame them for that result.

PSG are doing to other French clubs what Rangers and Celtic have been doing to Scottish clubs certainly since Souness arrived at Ibrox.

12-09-2017, 09:41 PM
No I hope they do well, but not hugely bothered either way.

When it comes to Old Firm in Europe I want them to win (for the sake of Scottish football) but if they lose I want it to be an absolute horsing - so we'll done PSG.

12-09-2017, 09:57 PM
I reckon Scottish teams need to explore ways of getting better players in.

I've heard of this tax scheme...

12-09-2017, 09:59 PM
It's absolutely hilarious hearing Celtic fans moan about how much of a disadvantage they are at when it comes to the Champions League because of the fortunes that are available to the likes of Paris Saint Germain and how they'll never be able to compete because the rich clubs will only get richer.

Welcome to the world of every other Scottish football supporter whenever we have to play you lot. :bye:

12-09-2017, 10:05 PM
No it doesn't because Juve battered Barcelona last year and did not walk Serie A. Roma and Napoli both had record breaking seasons last year, Juventus were just too good and Milan and Inter are much stronger this season. It is a very exciting league.

Milan who got papped 4-1 by Lazio?

12-09-2017, 10:06 PM

Milan have spent 200 million and bought Juves best defender. And Lazio looked fantastic at the weekend, serie a has seriously got competitive again :agree:

12-09-2017, 10:16 PM
I reckon the Stevenson/Hanlon/McGregor/Gray backline with Bartley just in front would have fared better.

12-09-2017, 10:37 PM
I didn't know you were OM mate?

Rakitic 2-0. Messi running the show.

Born and raised in Lancon de Provence so really no choice but L'OM [emoji106] grew up with JPP Voller Boksic Pele Sauzee Boli Deschamps Waddell Di Meco Mozer Casoni Germain Barthez Desailly Angloma Eydelie , I could go on lol magical times then I came to Edinburgh and got hooked on Lexo and his teams [emoji848][emoji1]

12-09-2017, 10:38 PM
I reckon the Stevenson/Hanlon/McGregor/Gray backline with Bartley just in front would have fared better.

Thankfully, that's a hypothetical we will never have to put to the test. It's a terrifying thought :greengrin

12-09-2017, 11:46 PM
Milan who got papped 4-1 by Lazio?Okay, Hibs lost to Hamilton. We've still improved significantly. Very daft to judge a team on 1 game, Milan are significantly better than 12 months ago.

13-09-2017, 05:58 AM
Born and raised in Lancon de Provence so really no choice but L'OM [emoji106] grew up with JPP Voller Boksic Pele Sauzee Boli Deschamps Waddell Di Meco Mozer Casoni Germain Barthez Desailly Angloma Eydelie , I could go on lol magical times then I came to Edinburgh and got hooked on Lexo and his teams [emoji848][emoji1]

Nice one. Watching Papin on YouTube the other day, you forget how wonderful he was. As good as any of the big name strikers today. I was at le velo back in May for the Nice game and will be back in October, hopefully for the PSG game, although tickets will be hard to get hold of for that one!

13-09-2017, 06:40 AM
It's absolutely hilarious hearing Celtic fans moan about how much of a disadvantage they are at when it comes to the Champions League because of the fortunes that are available to the likes of Paris Saint Germain and how they'll never be able to compete because the rich clubs will only get richer.

Welcome to the world of every other Scottish football supporter whenever we have to play you lot. :bye:

Absolutely this. It is so cringeworthy watching the BBC begin any comment about the game with "David Vs Goliath" "Way more money" style comments...imagine if they did that every game Celtic played in the SPFL other than against Sevco?

HibernianJK
13-09-2017, 07:57 AM

Complete opposite of boring to watch IMO. Some of the football was incredible and the way it should be played. Brilliant to watch.

13-09-2017, 11:48 AM
Complete opposite of boring to watch IMO. Some of the football was incredible and the way it should be played. Brilliant to watch.

They frequently caught the Celts napping in possession and quickly passed it off to a teammate. I think Hibs could learn from that and I hope our guys were watching. I don't see any reason why Hibs can't be as fit and fast as PSG if not perhaps as skillful. We can at least try.

13-09-2017, 06:29 PM
So what's tonight's game of choice?

13-09-2017, 06:32 PM
feyenoord v city for me.
tenner on aguaro anytime & city to win

13-09-2017, 06:52 PM
City and Spurs ahead very early; Liverpool behind equally early :greengrin

13-09-2017, 07:00 PM
feyenoord v city for me.
tenner on aguaro anytime & city to win

I hope you put a fortune on it; your bet is going to come up. 0-2, Aguero.

13-09-2017, 07:01 PM
Spurs now ahead 2-1

13-09-2017, 07:07 PM
Liverpool 1-1 Sevilla
Firmino

13-09-2017, 07:10 PM
Liverpool 1-1 Sevilla
Firmino

Moreno gets some slagging but that's what he gives you going forward. Great attacking full back.

13-09-2017, 07:14 PM
Feyenoord 0-3 Man City

13-09-2017, 07:23 PM
2-1 Liverpool

13-09-2017, 07:24 PM
What are Liverpool all about?

World class going forward, pub team at the back.

Absolutely fascinating to watch, as long as you don't support them.

13-09-2017, 07:26 PM
Liverpool penalty

13-09-2017, 07:27 PM
Missed penalty, still 2-1

yonder1875
13-09-2017, 07:33 PM
This sounds daft as they're losing 2-1 but Borussia Dortmund have looked superb.

13-09-2017, 07:35 PM
This sounds daft as they're losing 2-1 but Borussia Dortmund have looked superb.

Hope they do well, a team that always invest in young talent, interesting to see how they cope without Dembele.

13-09-2017, 07:36 PM
What are Liverpool all about?

World class going forward, pub team at the back.

Absolutely fascinating to watch, as long as you don't support them.

I love watching Salah, what a player.

13-09-2017, 07:38 PM

Very good game, with 2 decent sides :agree:.

13-09-2017, 07:41 PM
Listening to Glen Hoddles waffle about how Kane's goal was superb by the striker, and Son's goal was down to bad goalkeeping. :rolleyes:

13-09-2017, 07:45 PM
Listening to Glen Hoddles waffle about how Kane's goal was superb by the striker, and Son's goal was down to bad goalkeeping. :rolleyes:

I just turn the sound off, in case he starts with the 'disabled are to blame for sin's in their past lives' chat. Utter ****er.

13-09-2017, 07:51 PM
As someone who get hit in the face with an orange Mitre at point blank range as a 13yr old...that Dortmund player is "at it"!!

13-09-2017, 08:00 PM
How the hell can the linesman give that offside, should be 2-2 at Wembley. :confused:

yonder1875
13-09-2017, 08:00 PM
Very good game, with 2 decent sides :agree:.

What a finish from Aubameyang, yard onside.

13-09-2017, 08:02 PM
3-1 Kane.

yonder1875
13-09-2017, 08:03 PM
Stinker from the linesman, probably spoilt a decent game.

13-09-2017, 08:05 PM
Stinker from the linesman, probably spoilt a decent game.

The other linesman missed the offside in the lead up to Dortmund's equaliser too.

13-09-2017, 08:05 PM
Huge lucky break for Spurs. Should be 2-2 then they make it 3-1.

13-09-2017, 08:07 PM
City 4-0 ahead in Holland.

yonder1875
13-09-2017, 08:17 PM
The other linesman missed the offside in the lead up to Dortmund's equaliser too.

About 20 passes before the eventual goal, aye.

13-09-2017, 08:17 PM
Poor Liverpool concede an equaliser while City look every inch the main English threat.

13-09-2017, 08:20 PM
Coutinho wants a game.

13-09-2017, 08:21 PM
Poor Liverpool concede an equaliser while City look every inch the main English threat.

City have been excellent

Mantis Toboggan
13-09-2017, 08:23 PM
Liverpool's centre backs do not look convincing at all. They look good going forward though could easily have had more goals here.
The sevilla manager getting sent off is my highlight so far. Fantastically childish.

13-09-2017, 08:35 PM
City have been excellent

Not really sure what they're up against though.

It will only get really interesting when the big boys start facing each other in the knock out stages.

13-09-2017, 08:39 PM
About 20 passes before the eventual goal, aye.

I dont think they'd have scored that goal if Spurs got a free kick they should have been awarded.

13-09-2017, 08:41 PM
Three cheers for state-sponsored financial doping :rolleyes: :greengrin

13-09-2017, 08:42 PM

Funny

13-09-2017, 08:44 PM
Not really sure what they're up against though.

It will only get really interesting when the big boys start facing each other in the knock out stages.

The only thing that might be their undoing is the defence, when it's really tested, but going forward they are deadly.

13-09-2017, 08:50 PM
The only thing that might be their undoing is the defence, when it's really tested, but going forward they are deadly.

Even their defenders are better strikers than they are defenders.

13-09-2017, 08:54 PM

Never mind that, what about energy drink related financial doping.

I actually thought Red Bull were Lokomotiv or someone who had history but simply changed their identity. I didn't realise they were only formed 8 years ago. I know they don't deserve the stick (sometimes violence) they get from other fans but it all seems a bit wierd.

Mantis Toboggan
13-09-2017, 08:55 PM

It's hard to root for any of these teams really unless you're a long time fan.
The football is good at least.

Mantis Toboggan
13-09-2017, 08:58 PM

I actually thought Red Bull were Lokomotiv or someone who had history but simply changed their identity. I didn't realise they were only formed 8 years ago. I know they don't deserve the stick (sometimes violence) they get from other fans but it all seems a bit wierd.

They bought a team in the fifth division and changed the name.
I agree that they don't deserve the level of stick at all. How much do Adidas give Bayern every year?

Crazyhorse
13-09-2017, 09:55 PM
They bought a team in the fifth division and changed the name.
I agree that they don't deserve the level of stick at all. How much do Adidas give Bayern every year?

Gotta have an out group to pick on it seems.
I actually know a couple of season ticket holders at RB Leipzig. Decent guys. Maybe they should have been armchair Bayern fans and waited 40 years until they were in their 80's before deciding to follow their local team.

13-09-2017, 10:40 PM

Good point, but I'd be interested to know of the arrangement that seems to not anger German fan groups in the connection between chemical giant Bayer and Leverkusen. I'm not sure being a local employee makes a difference from an international sponsor in the great scheme of things.

14-09-2017, 08:35 AM
Good point, but I'd be interested to know of the arrangement that seems to not anger German fan groups in the connection between chemical giant Bayer and Leverkusen. I'm not sure being a local employee makes a difference from an international sponsor in the great scheme of things.

There's a long tradition of local businesses or lads-made-good investing in their hometown team. STF is a good example - albeit his motives were more altruistic than most.

Football is becoming dominated by global brands (such as the sky blue franchise formally known as Man Citeh) and losing a lot of unpredictability and fun as a result.

14-09-2017, 08:45 AM
There's a long tradition of local businesses or lads-made-good investing in their hometown team. STF is a good example - albeit his motives were more altruistic than most.

Football is becoming dominated by global brands (such as the sky blue franchise formally known as Man Citeh) and losing a lot of unpredictability and fun as a result.

I tend to agree on that but Bayer are a global brand and to many are a lot more despicable than an energy drink brand. As it is a local and traditional works team, it is culturally acceptable. I think German fans are being a bit parochial and hypocritical, although I'm not keen on the global buy outs either.

14-09-2017, 08:52 AM

It's swings and roundabouts when you get a Man City/Chelsea/PSG type takeover. The fans get to experience things they would otherwise very likely miss out on, but, at the same time, they have to accept the glory hunters and consider the consequences if the owners sell up. Would I welcome it at Hibs? Probably, yes, but there would always be the nagging doubt it could all come to a terrible end. The English clubs at least have the huge TV money, should the foreign owners move on, whereas PSG could find themselves completely screwed.