View Full Version : Official Site: CLUB STATEMENT | EBT REVIEW

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

11-09-2017, 08:32 PM
I agree. Short of polling everyone at the turnstiles on Saturday we really don't know what the majority view is.

There are obviously fans who are apoplectic, and others who are pure ragin', pissed off and disappointed. Then there are others, like me, who couldn't give a rats arse. Rangers oldco cheated. Everyone and their granny kens it. They are the embarrassment and the disgrace as far as I'm concerned. Sadly our board's statement deflects from that and for me that is the biggest disappointment. I agree with their decision not to pursue further action (based on the legal advice sought and for financial reasons) but they should have bowed out kicking and screaming their condemnation.

Spot on D. Nail on the head :agree:

Me too. Alloa Athletic or someone else mis-registers a player and they get punished. They forfeit the game + other punishments. There is no need to involve lawyers. This rule breaking (mis-registration of a whole team)is completely within the sport. I said on another thread this morning it was time for Hibs management to pick a side. I'm shocked to see they have fallen into ranks behind sevco. Can say I'm surprised about Rod, he wants that SFA Chairmanship but I'm really disappointed by Leanne.

That would be interesting - especially with their Chairman currently on the SFA Board :greengrin......now if they escaped punishment..............:cb

genuine question, not being facetious, but what is it that a review would have achieved, practically speaking? is it just about stripping rangers of titles, or is it about whether the authorities were aware of the EBTs before rangers went into admin? my thinking is that if it's just about stripping titles, as much as i would love that to happen, would it possibly be at the expense of club resources? if so, i can see the logic in just letting it be, the fact is they lost their history, if not on paper, in actual fact. they are a new club, and had to work their way back up, and i severely doubt anyone would pull that kind of crap again...i'm completely open to being wrong here though.

RMQ1967
11-09-2017, 08:33 PM
This is far from title stripping. Goes way, way beyond that. Back hand deals etc. Sorry but if you think the Hibs fans are in uproar just because of that you are wrong. I think majority who are angry want proper justice and an independent inquiry could have seen that.

Pointless? I'm sorry but if clubs can just spend money that they don't have or can cover to win trophies and then be punished in law...for football authorities to sweep this under the rug...only 1 thing becomes pointless - Professional Football.

History will show trophies for Rangers. Will it be appended with *Gained through illegal payment scheme/unfair financial play. No? Scottish football is pointless. Clubs will bend over backwards for Celtic and Rangers as before and we'll go back to fighting for their scraps. Again, Scottish football is pointless. Fair is not in Scottish Football's vocabulary, never has been. Pointless, eh?

A serious question; what do you consider to be proper justice? Someone getting the sack, someone going to jail? Seriously what would you like to happen if all your suspicions are proven to be correct?

All I see is another pointless inquiry that leads to another pointless report that everyone whines about & complains about cover ups and a lack of appropriate punishment.

11-09-2017, 08:35 PM
should have read the thread, not just the first page - my questions are answered...i'm agnostic tbh...any report, no matter who conducts it, is bound to be something of a whitewash. unless they got that channel 4 guy in...

11-09-2017, 08:36 PM
genuine question, not being facetious, but what is it that a review would have achieved, practically speaking? is it just about stripping rangers of titles, or is it about whether the authorities were aware of the EBTs before rangers went into admin? my thinking is that if it's just about stripping titles, as much as i would love that to happen, would it possibly be at the expense of club resources? if so, i can see the logic in just letting it be, the fact is they lost their history, if not on paper, in actual fact. they are a new club, and had to work their way back up, and i severely doubt anyone would pull that kind of crap again...i'm completely open to being wrong here though.

I think the supporters of the game have a right to know what happened, how did so much get by the powers that be, how much was ignored or had a blind eye turned to it, and to what extent rules were broken without consequence.

I'm not especially bothered about title stripping, though I think they should be, but for me it is all about transparency and accountability.

We all know they cheated but how were they allowed to - and you can lump Hearts into this as well, they were well at it during Romanov's time. Who knew and why was nothing done about it?

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 08:37 PM

Why is the terminology "stripping" being used repeatedly on here? They can't be "stripped" because they haven't won any major titles. The ruling is allowing a NEW CLUB to claim ownership over the tainted achievements of the old club, while being completely absolved of any responsibility of the old clubs wrong doings.

The "punishment" and "stripping" angle is all wrong. It's not about either of these things.

11-09-2017, 08:40 PM
should have read the thread, not just the first page - my questions are answered...i'm agnostic tbh...any report, no matter who conducts it, is bound to be something of a whitewash. unless they got that channel 4 guy in...

......and whatever the outcome there would be thousands of people crying foul and calling it a cover up.

11-09-2017, 08:42 PM
A serious question; what do you consider to be proper justice? Someone getting the sack, someone going to jail? Seriously what would you like to happen if all your suspicions are proven to be correct?

All I see is another pointless inquiry that leads to another pointless report that everyone whines about & complains about cover ups and a lack of appropriate punishment.

You may be right but if that is how Scottish Football deals with illegal activity within its domain then Scottish Football in my eyes is pointless.

Look at Scottish Football, we take an arrogant stance on crowd behaviour in Russia, Ukraine, etc. and such but we have sectarian songs sung weekly by Celtic and Rangers. As fans we were abhorred at the financial goings-on in Italy but allow a similar thing to go relatively unpunished and have the cheek to talk about brighter futures.

Hibs should sign Messi and Ronaldo. Win the league and Champions League then fold and return as Hibs Mk II. Football is commercialised to the extent that it is pointless competition is dead and now cheating is swept under the rug where does the pointlessness end?

11-09-2017, 08:44 PM
13,000 Season Ticket holders yet they consult 2 bloody fan reps and then chat amongst themselves, the board.

I suggest Petrie brings his headphones on Saturday.

11-09-2017, 08:45 PM
Massive error by Dempster and co!

Could this be Petrie helping his friends at the SFA

Dempster grew up a Currant Bun.

Rod is complicit in the Five Way Agreement

Scottish Football is corrupt.

The Board have 13,000 folks ST money and treat fans with contempt.

And for that reason, I'm out.

BigKev
11-09-2017, 08:45 PM
As many others have said I'm genuinely disappointed with Hibs statement and surprised they are willing to move on after being vocal in 2012 regarding sporting integrity.

The SFA don't want an inquiry because they've the most to lose in this saga- our chairman is likely complicit in whatever shenanigans they're trying to cover up.

Basically given the Rangers a cheats charter knowing the governing body will do SFA as they yet again lead the rest a merry dance.

Shows our club listens only to the fans when they're trying to make a buck.

Stokesy's on fire
11-09-2017, 08:47 PM
Disgracful from the club! Fuming! Total let downs!! Have they forgotten about how Rangers and their supporters have treated us in recent years? Statements and petitions for example..yet we our board aim to join in with the SFA's sweep sweeps! Do one

Stonewall
11-09-2017, 08:50 PM
Very disappointed and deflated by this.

Will be interested to see if the RTC attempts to instigate a judicial review get off the ground if the legal advice is so unequivocal.

11-09-2017, 08:51 PM
What saddens me the most tonight is how many Hibs fans seem delighted to tell the rest of us how bad our club/board are, that they somehow conned them into buying a ST and how they are now "out".

Actually, less saddened than amused. Some of you are really acting like kids.

ED Hibee
11-09-2017, 08:53 PM
"We prefer the latter option - working to ensure that in the future our game is fairer and more open, and has the potential to secure greater commercial income to fund further improvement for the longer term."

I might be prepared to give the board the benefit of the doubt on this statement, if they could let us know exactly what concrete actions they are taking to ensure that our game is fairer and more open in the future. As at the moment I'm not entirely sure whats changed or will change at the SFA or SPFL to ensure that the likes of Rangers/Hearts/Gretna's cheating will not happen again.

11-09-2017, 08:56 PM

You've totally missed the point.

Rangers deliberately concealed information from HMRC and the SFA to gain a sporting advantage. Paying players tax free. People working for Rangers and the SFA knew what was going on. When they admitted one tax problem the SFA still allowed them to play in Europe, because Rangers needed that money to survive. Luckily for everyone else Maribor came along and pumped Rangers quickly went bust.

But instead of becoming The Rangers their friends at the SFA have gone along with the lie they're the same Club because the two daft Englishmen Doncaster and Reagan can't envisage Scottish football without the tiresome Old Firm.

The SFA is corrupt. Hibs are complicit in that. Shameful.

Crazyhorse
11-09-2017, 08:56 PM
Well done to the Hibernian board for showing guts and leadership to draw a line under this. It was fun seeing the huns rage when they were demoted and I enjoyed seeing them stumble from one crisis to another in recent years but I can't wait for the end of this pointless campaign.

I've never been able to understand the point of people looking for the huns to be stripped of titles - they've celebrated the wins, they've lifted the cups, their players have their medals, they've won the money, they have the memories - taking titles away today or in the future won't change a single shred of that. If I was a hun or a hertz fan for that matter I'd be sitting laughing at the the folk sitting squealing about title stripping - I honestly wouldn't give a toss and I'm sure they don't either.

In practical terms, title stripping is as pointless as marching about celebrating battles from 300 odd years ago or singing about religion when you never set foot in a church - it's utterly pointless to pursue it any further and of absolutely no consequence to anyone apart for smelik.

Ben Johnson
Marion Jones
Lance Armstrong
Alberto Contador

They may have their memories... until they also remember their cheating was exposed and they lost all those medals and trophies.

11-09-2017, 08:57 PM
Scottish supporters from non-old firm clubs need to be more coordinated, if Hibs and other clubs are happy to sweep this, why can't the other clubs fans (bypass the corrupt nature) band together to get a proper inquiry into the sectarian nature of songs sung by Celtic and Rangers and the hush hush approach to that and the very rarely but known domestics that occur after Old Firm games?

Why are so many things in Scottish football masked? We've had a legendary inquiry regarding a pitch invasion and fights but can't properly look at the reasons that it came to that...how much did that one cost? Did The Rangers not want to move on to a fairer future after the cup loss?

Hypocrisy, mismanagement, corruption, dishonest and pointless. The list of suitable adjectives to describe Scottish football is endless.

11-09-2017, 08:59 PM
What saddens me the most tonight is how many Hibs fans seem delighted to tell the rest of us how bad our club/board are, that they somehow conned them into buying a ST and how they are now "out".

I've been out for a while. This statement was the only thing we were going to get.

Scottish Football is designed to permanently favour two teams. Rangers going bust has proven that beyond any doubt.

We're here to make up the numbers. The Old Firm is the be all and end all.

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 08:59 PM

Nice twist of words there, claiming that people are "delighted" to tell "the rest of us" how "bad our club/board are". It couldn't possibly be that some of us are absolutely furious about this statement that effectively condones a new club claiming an old clubs titles while being completely free from the responsibility that came with the cheating in order to gain those titles.

I reckon the people saying we should just move on, would have backed the club statement regardless of what it said. Even if it had been the exact opposite, the same people would still be claiming that it was a great statement. Can't form opinions of their own, so just follow the club line at every turn.

11-09-2017, 09:00 PM
Exactly this. :agree:

It needn't take up huge resource or cost for the club to say "yes, an enquiry is the right thing to do.".

I'd be massively concerned if having an appetite for doing what many of us feel is the right thing to do, had any impact on the board's ability to focus on a healthy future for the club.

What exactly would an independent enquiry prevent us from focusing on?

It's bollocks. Feels like a complete and utter cop out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFObWTD9Gv4

Replace 'footballers' with certain 'football clubs in Scotland' and Wee Gordon has it bang on about football and morality Matty.

Football is a huge business in this era, Scottish football is in the financial mire and money talks and sponsors walk........unless conditions are attached..........:cb

I'm not sure what an independent enquiry would achieve at the end of the day Matty, nor have I the faith that it would be 'independent' or indeed get the assistance and cooperation from everyone involved - you would need to clarify objectives at the very start. Is is going after individuals within the authority to name and shame (and sack), or the whole 'root and branch' authority/governing body itself (Rod included) ? Is it a 'going after The Rangers enquiry' ? Or to satiate the need for those that ultimately want to say 'told you so' - because really, after all the court business, the rulings already have 'told us so' - they cheated and there were those within the 'football establishment' who 'knew' or more importantly chose 'not to know' or omitted finding out true facts.

It's been going on for years, not just at senior level but at all levels of football - and for decades.

Rather than independent enquiries, how about our sporting journalists do what they studied for years to do at Uni, and now get paid for doing - investigative journalism for the good of the game - rather than podcasts about Neil Lennon cupping his ears to supporters :rolleyes: surely we have enough talented journalists in this country who could really drill deep into this affair and get answers or expose the truth ?.........far more likely to get decent sources than any independent formal enquiry too :cb

I'm still raging at Salvy Boys club tapping up players in 1984 and want an investigation into that :greengrin (disclaimer, only joking - plus Hutchie beat them anyway :na na:)

11-09-2017, 09:01 PM
I am far too slow. Still waiting for the Hibernian tops and Fans Reps coming back with how they challenged the Hundogs and the outcome after the disgraceful way Hibs fans, including myself, were treated, at the infamous Christmas bigotfest game. Today's statement does therefore not surprise me in the slightest.

Tracey and Frank.....speak to us!

BIG G

That was taken on by Leeann herself. She used the big broom on that one too.

11-09-2017, 09:01 PM
I think the supporters of the game have a right to know what happened, how did so much get by the powers that be, how much was ignored or had a blind eye turned to it, and to what extent rules were broken without consequence.

I'm not especially bothered about title stripping, though I think they should be, but for me it is all about transparency and accountability.

We all know they cheated but how were they allowed to - and you can lump Hearts into this as well, they were well at it during Romanov's time. Who knew and why was nothing done about it?

Spot on. Well said.

11-09-2017, 09:03 PM
What a pathetic, snivelling, arrogant thing to say. Anybody who takes an interest in the club has a right to post on here, regardless of how much each individual gives the club at any given time. For all you know, that poster has contributed far more to the club coughers than you ever will.

He said it himself.

If you're never going back to ER and you've turned your back on the game, then you're no longer a supporter, that goes without saying.

Doesn't matter how much he's contributed to the club in the past.

Besides, now that he no longer cares about the club he won't mind me saying it.

He's a grown man, I'm sure he can speak for himself.

11-09-2017, 09:03 PM

I said its probably the last ST as its clear that Scottish Football will never change - this confirms this. What is this " fairer" future and how do Hibs and the rest of the clubs plan to get there? Transparency and appropriate management? No? Well why should I spend £400+ annually on such garbage. Nobody is being forced to buy STs but timing of this reminds me of Arsenal's big summer signing spree (or eventually lack of)

May I presume that ST sales have dried up so the club decided this would be the best time to release this statement rather than when the ST sales were booming? Clearly just an hypothesis...

11-09-2017, 09:04 PM
[QUOTE=Cropley10;5165959]Dempster grew up a Currant Bun.

Funny you say that. Always had a wee feeling after the lack of club statement post cup final that this might be the case.

Think LD has done alot of really great work at Hibs so far but was disappointed with the non defence of our club then.

Suspect she might end up at Sevco one day.
Jesus.

RMQ1967
11-09-2017, 09:07 PM
You may be right but if that is how Scottish Football deals with illegal activity within its domain then Scottish Football in my eyes is pointless.

Look at Scottish Football, we take an arrogant stance on crowd behaviour in Russia, Ukraine, etc. and such but we have sectarian songs sung weekly by Celtic and Rangers. As fans we were abhorred at the financial goings-on in Italy but allow a similar thing to go relatively unpunished and have the cheek to talk about brighter futures.

Hibs should sign Messi and Ronaldo. Win the league and Champions League then fold and return as Hibs Mk II. Football is commercialised to the extent that it is pointless competition is dead and now cheating is swept under the rug where does the pointlessness end?

This isn't a Scottish football problem - it's everywhere in football & business at every level all over the world. If UEFA & co wanted to put a stop to it they could. I feel more angry at being cheated out of silverware by the likes of Livi and hertz living beyond their means but I don't remember the same hysteria at that time.

I'm pleased Hibs have sensible financial governance but would I care if we'd done a herts or livi or Gretna to see us lift a few more cups - probably not too much.

An inquiry won't make a single shred of difference to my life or anyone else's - I'd rather Scottish football concentrate on progression & improvement and agendas like summer football, video replays or strict financial governance.

Raking over the coals isn't the way forward and the board have got this spot on.

11-09-2017, 09:08 PM
May I presume that ST sales have dried up so the club decided this would be the best time to release this statement rather than when the ST sales were booming? Clearly just an hypothesis...

And we call Celtic fans paranoid 😁😁

11-09-2017, 09:09 PM
[QUOTE=Cropley10;5165959]Dempster grew up a Currant Bun.

Funny you say that. Always had a wee feeling after the lack of club statement post cup final that this might be the case.

Think LD has done alot of really great work at Hibs so far but was disappointed with the non defence of our club then.

Suspect she might end up at Sevco one day.Jesus. Im as annoyed as anyone but what a crock of *****

11-09-2017, 09:09 PM
I reckon the people saying we should just move on, would have backed the club statement regardless of what it said. Even if it had been the exact opposite, the same people would still be claiming that it was a great statement. Can't form opinions of their own, so just follow the club line at every turn.

Tsk, the arrogance.

RossScott1991
11-09-2017, 09:11 PM
Rangers will be loving this forum tonight. Our club turning on itself. Let's just focus on winning matches, you may be pissed off at the board but it shouldn't be turned into us tearing into each other. Let's support lennon and the team.

11-09-2017, 09:12 PM

They are:wink: As are most fans - pay money and have things hidden from you makes it that way. Transparency in Football died off years ago.

Fans are the lifeblood of Football. Globally that has been lost. Spanish football are considering playing league games outside of Spain ffs - I'm sure their local fans love that idea...

Football stopped being a sport, its a business now.

Crazyhorse

I haven't read anyone that seems delighted. Disappointment seems to be the main feeling on here. Except for those who are amused like you. That's up to you and you are perfectly entitled to express your view/emotion/opinion. But make no mistake Rangers will be enjoying their victory, as the other club spokesmen back them up, even more than you seem to be.

Ilovehibs
Rangers will be loving this forum tonight. Our club turning on itself. Let's just focus on winning matches, you may be pissed off at the board but it shouldn't be turned into us tearing into each other. Let's support lennon and the team.

You are right.

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 09:13 PM

They'll be loving the fact that they can be a new club and the old club (when it suits them) at the same time even more.

11-09-2017, 09:14 PM

I agree Matty. What irks me tonight is that we chose a different path in 2002 with the appointment of Williamson, a path I have defended till the cows come home and still believe to have been the right one. Others did not and continued their merry way to the point where (since the millenium)we have lost Airdrieonians, Clydebank, Gretna and Rangers with Hearts surviving as a result of some pretty strange decisions. Add admins for Livi and Dundee both twice alongside Morton, Motherwell and Dunfermline and its a pretty bleak picture which entitles us to ask why has there been twelve insolvency events in Scottish Football in just 16 seasons, over 25% of senior clubs. Gretna mattered to their fans every bit as much as Rangers did to theirs, only Gretna don't perpetuate the continuity myth.

11-09-2017, 09:15 PM
"We prefer the latter option - working to ensure that in the future our game is fairer and more open, and has the potential to secure greater commercial income to fund further improvement for the longer term."

I might be prepared to give the board the benefit of the doubt on this statement, if they could let us know exactly what concrete actions they are taking to ensure that our game is fairer and more open in the future. As at the moment I'm not entirely sure whats changed or will change at the SFA or SPFL to ensure that the likes of Rangers/Hearts/Gretna's cheating will not happen again.

This is a great point. If the club want to get the fans back onside let's see what they have planned for the future. The bit you've quoted above is just meaningless words at the moment.

I've seen lots about moving on and looking forward. What are we moving to?

As for commercial income increasing, is this going to be distributed more evenly? Will we see fairer, more competitive league?

Nothing in the club's statement gives me any confidence in the future.

RossScott1991
11-09-2017, 09:15 PM
They'll be loving the fact that they can be a new club and the old club (when it suits them) at the same time even more.

New club we pumped 3.2 to bring the greatest day in our clubs history.
New club we pumped last month.

Get behind the team, far greater things to worry about. The Rangers are pish. We are Hibs.

11-09-2017, 09:16 PM
Rangers will be enjoying their victory, as the other club spokesmen back them up, even more than you seem to be.

I despise Sevco, don't mistake my amusement at some radge comments on here for anything else.

11-09-2017, 09:19 PM

Not really paranoid, I suspect it's true. The statement even mentions that the matter has been discussed at successive board meetings. Would it really have stopped us doing business in the transfer window if this statement came out earlier?

RMQ1967
11-09-2017, 09:20 PM
Ben Johnson
Marion Jones
Lance Armstrong
Alberto Contador

They may have their memories... until they also remember their cheating was exposed and they lost all those medals and trophies.

It's similar but not really the same; rangers was an entity - the players themselves didn't cheat - the occasions for their players and supporters have come & gone - a long time ago.

I give you Gretna, Livi, Herts, Motherwell - should they also be stripped of titles and games won with money they didn't have? Honestly what's the point - would it make you feel any better.

Crazyhorse

If you want a debate about justice go and read Plato.
All I want is the SFA/SPL rules about the mis-registration of players to be applied retrospectively. Because evidence has emerged recently that Rangers did just that.

Just catching up as I've been really busy tonight. Obviously disappointed in Hibs but not surprised.
Took me a while to read through the whole thread but have to say I'm very impressed with how quickly the 'move on' guys mobilised and the number of posts they have on the thread considering it's a subject they claim they have no interest in. It's almost as if it's co-ordinated. Impressive.

11-09-2017, 09:21 PM
Absolutely gutted with that statement from our club. When it comes to Rangers, old or new, we seem to be able to find a broom large enough to fix their cheating.

We're still waiting for the outcome of Leeann's investigation into the Ibrox debacle. Another thing swept under the carpet.

Whatever happened to "sporting integrity", and how do we know it won't/can't happen again.

For all we know, the new huns could be handing out brown envelopes again.

11-09-2017, 09:24 PM
Just catching up as I've been really busy tonight. Obviously disappointed in Hibs but not surprised.
Took me a while to read through the whole thread but have to say I'm very impressed with how quickly the 'move on' guys mobilised and the number of posts they have on the thread considering it's a subject they claim they have no interest in. It's almost as if it's co-ordinated. Impressive.

This thread is going places.

inglisavhibs
11-09-2017, 09:25 PM
You've totally missed the point.

Rangers deliberately concealed information from HMRC and the SFA to gain a sporting advantage. Paying players tax free. People working for Rangers and the SFA knew what was going on. When they admitted one tax problem the SFA still allowed them to play in Europe, because Rangers needed that money to survive. Luckily for everyone else Maribor came along and pumped Rangers quickly went bust.

But instead of becoming The Rangers their friends at the SFA have gone along with the lie they're the same Club because the two daft Englishmen Doncaster and Reagan can't envisage Scottish football without the tiresome Old Firm.

The SFA is corrupt. Hibs are complicit in that. Shameful.
No they are not. EBT's were widely used in England by many clubs ( they were thought to be legal) so don't pretend this is just a Scottish problem. Oh and by the way if you are out as you say, i know some kids who would be delighted to use your season ticket.

This isn't a Scottish football problem - it's everywhere in football & business at every level all over the world. If UEFA & co wanted to put a stop to it they could. I feel more angry at being cheated out of silverware by the likes of Livi and hertz living beyond their means but I don't remember the same hysteria at that time.

I'm pleased Hibs have sensible financial governance but would I care if we'd done a herts or livi or Gretna to see us lift a few more cups - probably not too much.

An inquiry won't make a single shred of difference to my life or anyone else's - I'd rather Scottish football concentrate on progression & improvement and agendas like summer football, video replays or strict financial governance.

Raking over the coals isn't the way forward and the board have got this spot on.

We all want a better future but beyond some nice words, what is the better future and how do we plan on getting there? Scottish Football has been talking about improving the standard of our league, improving the global interest in our league and making sure we qualify for International tournaments virtually since I was born. We are talking decades with limited change. When is the fairer, brighter future due? Will we still be inhabiting Earth and will the Sun still have plenty life in it or will we have emigrated before the Sun becomes a red giant and engulfs the Earth?

Timescale and plan for a recurring problem might be a wise solution. We still don't have suitable playing pitches in Edinburgh (a problem which again has been decades old). Celtic will win the league again, we knew that before last season finished. Global market of football requires that our league is competitive, standard is good and Scotland qualifies for International tournaments. We have none of this. Hence nobody out with Scotland (except for those emigrants) is particularly interested in our game.

They think its pointless, who can blame them?

I'm only speaking for myself but when I read some of the stuff on here about my club then aye, it made me respond, without coordinating with others!

I feel far far stronger towards defending my club then I do about bashing it over yet another enquiry.

Maybe what you're seeing here is the silent majority who really don't care too much about the issue voicing their opinion when they see their club attacked so much?

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 09:27 PM
New club we pumped 3.2 to bring the greatest day in our clubs history.
New club we pumped last month.

Get behind the team, far greater things to worry about. The Rangers are pish. We are Hibs.

Will they still be pish when they take away our McGinns and Bartleys through dubious dealings, having learned the square root of SFA from all of this? People are extremely short sighted if they think a return back to the status quo is a good thing for our own club.

You're good at what you do.

Coordinated support for a club on its own message board, whatever next?

BegbieHSC
No they are not. EBT's were widely used in England by many clubs ( they were thought to be legal) so don't pretend this is just a Scottish problem. Oh and by the way if you are out as you say, i know some kids who would be delighted to use your season ticket.

You can't srsly defend the use of EBTs, just cause other folk used them? Why can't we bold, brave and make a stance against what's right, and what's wrong??

11-09-2017, 09:30 PM

Clubs, and other businesses could and did gamble on the legality of EBT's. were they avoidance or evasion, legal or illegal?

Secret side letters like the now defunct Glasgow rangers ones were the problem here.

An appalling statement by the board. Unfortunately nothing we can do now but sporting integrity doesn't exist in the Scottish game. Absolute farce!

Crazyhorse
It's similar but not really the same; rangers was an entity - the players themselves didn't cheat - the occasions for their players and supporters have come & gone - a long time ago.

I give you Gretna, Livi, Herts, Motherwell - should they also be stripped of titles and games won with money they didn't have? Honestly what's the point - would it make you feel any better.

Why should they prosper from their cheating?
Juve and Marseille have both had titles stripped in recent memory. A google search would no doubt reveal more. Apart from the fact that big Frank played there its the only thing I know about Marseille. Would suit me fine if the only reason Rangers or Hearts were ever mentioned was to bring up the fact that they lost their trophies because of their cheating.

11-09-2017, 09:31 PM
The day we are subservient to Celtic just in order to get some table scraps from them is the day that we might as well pack up and go home.

On the statement, it's not Petrie and Dempster that I'd be directing my ire, if I gave two hoots about the statement. It's not their job to represent the support at board level.

I'm not saying we should let Celtic influence our actions, just that the result of us taking a different path to them might make things harder for us. If their "table scraps" are players like Hendo, Efe, and Commons, then keep 'em coming as far as I'm concerned.

RMQ1967
11-09-2017, 09:31 PM
If you want a debate about justice go and read Plato.
All I want is the SFA/SPL rules about the mis-registration of players to be applied retrospectively. Because evidence has emerged recently that Rangers did just that.

I wasn't looking for an argument - I just want to understand what outcome would make people content (assuming all of the underhand dealings and mis-management were proven to be true). You've said apply the rules retrospectively - presumably that ultimately means title stripping?? My point was - what's the point a dozen years or whatever on :wink:

Largshibby
11-09-2017, 09:33 PM

Correct. I don't need legal judgements and enquiries etc to get one over on Sevco/Huns/Rangers2012 or whatever they call themselves. I have had a field day for years with their supporters and expect to continue for many years to come. Events of 21st may, 2016 was the icing on the cake. I know they cheated. They know they cheated. They know that we know they cheated and it really, really gets to them. I only need to look at a hun at work and he flies into a rage. Job done. We will have this ammunition for evermore. For me the statement from Hibs is disappointing but realistic. Lets face it, any number of regulatory bodies have failed miserably for over 100 years to deal with the sectarianism and bigotry that they see as a badge of honour so my hopes weren't high. We also need to stop blaming individual Board members especially LD. She's one of the best signings the club has ever made and could probably go on to much bigger and better things. Lets not allow those cheating vermin to expedite her departure by having us turning against her. Finally....... lets all turn up on saturday and cheer the team onto 3 points v Motherwell. This has nothing to do with our players. I'm sure we can all agree on that.

11-09-2017, 09:36 PM

They were but, as far as I am aware, no other club used the "side letters" that Rangers did. Some English clubs are still being pursued by HMRC but most, Arsenal amongst them, coughed when asked. Rangers didnt, they lied and were only exposed when City of London police raided Ibrox as part of their Boumsong investigations.

EBT's in England were disclosed as a means of the players remuneration to the FA. Rangers hid the details and lied to all and sundry when challenged.

inglisavhibs
You can't srsly defend the use of EBTs, just cause other folk used them? Why can't we bold, brave and make a stance against what's right, and what's wrong??
Who said I defended them? It's just not A solely Scottish problem and it's probably impossible for Hibs to have a say in the final outcome if there ever is one.

GORDONSMITH7
I received this from a St. Patrick's Branch member and will raise it......

As Branch Secretary of the largest single Hibs Supporters Branch , I implore you to discuss this matter with the Branch Committee . I, for one, have never been more embarrassed to be a Hibs Supporter than I am just now, having read that sub-Pontius Pilate-esque excuse for not standing up for justice and integrity.

Incidentally, Hibs, as a Club, suffered due to the old Huns' cheating on many occasions during that infamous era. The following are just the top six instances:

1) During the 2000-01 season the dead club pipped Hibs to second place. Without the dead club's cheating, we might have hosted Champions League football during the 2001-02 season;

2) On Saturday, 26 January 2002, I was among around 1,500 Hibbies in a crowd of less than 26,000 at Ibrox to watch a Scottish Cup tie which the hosts won 4-1. Without the dead club's cheating, Hibs (having equalised through Grant Brebner; what a celebration that engendered!) might have won and gone on to win the Scottish Cup that season. (We had to wait another fourteen years, and much as I would not change that perfect day in May 2016, it would have been nice to have ended the drought a wee bit earlier!);

3) On Thursday, 24 October 2002, the dead club knocked us out of the League Cup by winning 3-2 at Easter Road. Without the dead club's cheating, we might have gone on to win that Season's League Cup.;

4) On Saturday, 10 January 2004, I watched the dead club knock us out of the Scottish Cup by winning 2-0 at Easter Road. Without the dead club's cheating, we might have gone on to win that season's Scottish Cup.;

5) During the 2005-06 season the dead club pipped Hibs to third place. Without the dead club's cheating, we might have hosted European football (other than the Inter-Toto Cup) during the 2006-07 season.; and

6) On Sunday, 9 March 2008, the dead club scored against a Hibs team temporarily reduced to ten men due to an injury during a Scottish Cup replay at Ibrox. It was the only goal of the tie. Without the dead club's cheating, we might have gone on to win that season's Scottish Cup.

The Authorities - including the powers-that-be at Hibernian Football Club - want us all to develop collective selective amnesia and to forget how the old Huns profited from cheating. Well, I never will. And, if I know you as I think I do, neither will you. Neither will my Dad, neither will my brother. Neither will any Hibby I know.

The Club must be made aware of our disdain of their actions.

RossScott1991
11-09-2017, 09:37 PM
Correct. I don't need legal judgements and enquiries etc to get one over on Sevco/Huns/Rangers2012 or whatever they call themselves. I have had a field day for years with their supporters and expect to continue for many years to come. Events of 21st may, 2016 was the icing on the cake. I know they cheated. They know they cheated. They know that we know they cheated and it really, really gets to them. I only need to look at a hun at work and he flies into a rage. Job done. We will have this ammunition for evermore. For me the statement from Hibs is disappointing but realistic. Lets face it, any number of regulatory bodies have failed miserably for over 100 years to deal with the sectarianism and bigotry that they see as a badge of honour so my hopes weren't high. We also need to stop blaming individual Board members especially LD. She's one of the best signings the club has ever made and could probably go on to much bigger and better things. Lets not allow those cheating vermin to expedite her departure by having us turning against her. Finally....... lets all turn up on saturday and cheer the team onto 3 points v Motherwell. This has nothing to do with our players. I'm sure we can all agree on that.

Indeed. We pumped them 3.2 to give us all one of the best days of our lives. We pumped them last month. Let's just continue to pump them on the field, everything else is now irrelevant. On the park is what matters the most to me.

11-09-2017, 09:38 PM

Are people not allowed to have an opinion that goes against yours (or clearly the majority on the messageboard tonight) Ozy ? I'm all for healthy debate, absolutely for Hibs supporters feeling let down and disappointed with the stance, but don't please have a go at fellow supporters because their view differs from yours and they feel it's time to move on - very divisive and completely unnecessary. People have their reasons for 'moving on' but it doesn't make them any less of a supporter of the club. Do you really think a messageboard has a sinister 'coordinated' approach to club matters ? If so, wow !

11-09-2017, 09:39 PM
I assume the fans reps will be voted out now.

Basildon Hibs
11-09-2017, 09:40 PM
Why should they prosper from their cheating?
Juve and Marseille have both had titles stripped in recent memory. A google search would no doubt reveal more. Apart from the fact that big Frank played there its the only thing I know about Marseille. Would suit me fine if the only reason Rangers or Hearts were ever mentioned was to bring up the fact that they lost their trophies because of their cheating.

You can include AC Milan in that list too.

High-On-Hibs
Who said I defended them? It's just not A solely Scottish problem and it's probably impossible for Hibs to have a say in the final outcome if there ever is one.

Perhaps. But why not make a statement of intent anyway? Why not put their foot down and say they are against this outcome? It may make absolutely no difference whatsoever, but at least we'd have known that our own club at least stands for integrity and honour. Their brush aside statement will make no difference in the grand scheme of things either, but only serves to show our own club in a bad light.

If I were in their shoes I would resign.

11-09-2017, 09:41 PM
I wasn't looking for an argument - I just want to understand what outcome would make people content (assuming all of the underhand dealings and mis-management were proven to be true). You've said apply the rules retrospectively - presumably that ultimately means title stripping?? My point was - what's the point a dozen years or whatever on :wink:

Forget punishment then, what guarantee do we have that this won't happen again? None. Do we know how this happened and how it was seemingly allowed to happen? No. Likewise, do we know that the corrupt nature of Scottish Football is fixed? No. Do we know the plan to prevent similar instances of this from occurring again? No. Do we know what the authorities and clubs are doing to make Scottish football boom again, only this time fair? No.

If you can't admit to your past and make plans to prevent similar wrongdoings in the future, have you really moved on? No.

Ignore punishments, I think most fans just see this as a sweeping exercise, that's where my anger comes from. The Rangers should be made aware that this leniency comes at a cost and that a fairer more inclusive league will be constructed and if Celtic and Rangers do not cease sectarian activity within their grounds they'd be ejected from the league. Likewise, any financial wrongdoings and automatic ejection from league.

11-09-2017, 09:41 PM

Done themselves no favours tonight.

11-09-2017, 09:42 PM
The St Pats email sums it up personally.

This may have gone away if Hibs and others put up some fight but that statement tonight makes us look like a bunch of losers.

HappyHibeeAG
Disappointed our club have been pushed by a minority to make a statement like this. Even more disappointing that the club is now the target of abuse for it.... The main drive from fans of ALL clubs is to have titles stripped from Rangers.... Let's be honest, just to get one over on them in the terraces!

Even more disappointed that our Fans Reps done their jobs and took the request for this to the board and THEY are now targets.... Get a grip people ffs.

If you want to take your frustration or anger out on someone for the cheating of another club then focus on the governing body... NOT the club you're supposed to love!

Unreal... 🙈🙈

You should have kept working, Ozy - instead of making silly statements like this one. You've been all over this issue from day one and though I never commented much on the megathread, I admired your tenacity.

Tonight you've come on here and basically suggested that fans who disagree with you are acting in a co-ordinated way on this thread. I expected better from you to be honest

11-09-2017, 09:43 PM

Sets an example for future, similar transgressions ? Justice has no time limit.

If there was indeed wrongdoing, without retrospective action it means that those who knowingly cheat can retain the rewards at the expense of those who played the game by the rules. That is fundamentally wrong. Those that can't see that and simply want to "move on" are either cheats themselves (Sevco) or happy to subscribe to a rigged game (sad losers).

HappyHibeeAG
11-09-2017, 09:43 PM

Why? Because they done what the fans asked of them?

11-09-2017, 09:44 PM
Yup, they should be removed with immediate effect. They clearly have a very loose interpretation of what 'rep' entails.

I think the challenge is it's a unanimous vote which means they voted with the board to sweep it under the carpet. Although neither have been anywhere near here tonight to explain.

Forget punishment then, what guarantee do we have that this won't happen again? None. Do we know how this happened and how it was seemingly allowed to happen? No. Likewise, do we know that the corrupt nature of Scottish Football is fixed? No. Do we know the plan to prevent similar instances of this from occurring again? No. Do we know what the authorities and clubs are doing to make Scottish football boom again, only this time fair? No.

If you can't admit to your past and make plans to prevent similar wrongdoings in the future, have you really moved on? No.

Ignore punishments, I think most fans just see this as a sweeping exercise, that's where my anger comes from. The Rangers should be made aware that this leniency comes at a cost and that a fairer more inclusive league will be constructed and if Celtic and Rangers do not cease sectarian activity within their grounds they'd be ejected from the league. Likewise, any financial wrongdoings and automatic ejection from league.

The only guarantee we have is that the people running Scottish football will do whatever it takes to keep a "Rangers" at the top of the game.

11-09-2017, 09:46 PM

How can their vote in this matter truly be representative of Hibs fans' opinions, when 90% disagree with them?

RMQ1967
11-09-2017, 09:48 PM
We all want a better future but beyond some nice words, what is the better future and how do we plan on getting there? Scottish Football has been talking about improving the standard of our league, improving the global interest in our league and making sure we qualify for International tournaments virtually since I was born. We are talking decades with limited change. When is the fairer, brighter future due? Will we still be inhabiting Earth and will the Sun still have plenty life in it or will we have emigrated before the Sun becomes a red giant and engulfs the Earth?

Timescale and plan for a recurring problem might be a wise solution. We still don't have suitable playing pitches in Edinburgh (a problem which again has been decades old). Celtic will win the league again, we knew that before last season finished. Global market of football requires that our league is competitive, standard is good and Scotland qualifies for International tournaments. We have none of this. Hence nobody out with Scotland (except for those emigrants) is particularly interested in our game.

They think its pointless, who can blame them?

The reality is that not many are interested in football outside of their own locality - I'm interested in Hibs and their direct rivals. Not Man U or Barca or AV Milan or some team from Denmark or Brazil - I can't remember the last time I watched a game from the EPL. I couldn't care less so why would anyone in those countries be interested in anything other than perhaps our cups, derbies or OF games.

But to your point - how will pursuing the huns improve any of those issues? Surely the agenda should be relate to addressing the future state rather than another pointless inquiry into the past?

11-09-2017, 09:48 PM

I assume they met with the majority that disagreed with what message boards think? I maybe missed all the polls they ran etc? Fans Reps are lip service. Always have been. No point thinking otherwise. Btw. I'm done with the whole rangers thing. Nothing changes. No point wasting energy on it.

11-09-2017, 09:49 PM

That's a ridiculous response, to be honest. Folk are allowed to disagree without a conspiracy theory emerging.

11-09-2017, 09:50 PM
I think the challenge is it's a unanimous vote which means they voted with the board to sweep it under the carpet. Although neither have been anywhere near here tonight to explain.

They may have their reasons but honestly just reminds me of John Balliol. If they don't ask fans their opinion on forums and social media etc. before voting on something like this, their position of fans rep must be nothing more than a hobby or something for the CV because position seems very much of the "empty coat" variety.

I'd suggest their position should be reviewed immediately as they, as far as I'm aware, did not consult fans which surely is a fans rep main job...

inglisavhibs
11-09-2017, 09:51 PM
They were but, as far as I am aware, no other club used the "side letters" that Rangers did. Some English clubs are still being pursued by HMRC but most, Arsenal amongst them, coughed when asked. Rangers didnt, they lied and were only exposed when City of London police raided Ibrox as part of their Boumsong investigations.

EBT's in England were disclosed as a means of the players remuneration to the FA. Rangers hid the details and lied to all and sundry when challenged.
Many of these English clubs are only now having to pay the taxes, due to the tax man winning the Rangers case. None of these clubs will lose any titles or cups they won. The new Rangers will claim that the debts were due against the old club, which brings me to the point that annoys me more than Hibs statement. Any trophies won by the old club should not be recognised as wins by SEVCO.

11-09-2017, 09:52 PM

They've not taken forward my Bain's Pies proposal underscore so for that alone they have lost my vote :greengrin sod The Rangers and SFA, I want a Bain's pie with my Bovril !!!!

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 09:53 PM
You should have kept working, Ozy - instead of making silly statements like this one. You've been all over this issue from day one and though I never commented much on the megathread, I admired your tenacity.

Tonight you've come on here and basically suggested that fans who disagree with you are acting in a co-ordinated way on this thread. I expected better from you to be honest

I agree with him. There has been co-ordinated "move on" rhetoric over the past few weeks and judging by the posters who started pushing this, they would have already known what the release statement was going to be well in advance. It was a clear attempt to try and tame the inevitable backlash for when the statement became public.

I'll no doubt get the typical "tin foil hat" responses from the very people who did co-ordinate this.

Crazyhorse
11-09-2017, 09:55 PM

Yes it means removing prizes won where they fielded players who were not registered according to SFA rules. This doesn't seem like a lot to ask given how quickly the SFA are to punish anyone else who is found to have broken the rules in a similar manner. As far as I know there is nothing equivalent to a statute of limitations on SFA regulations.

11-09-2017, 09:57 PM
I agree with him. There has been co-ordinated "move on" rhetoric over the past few weeks and judging by the posters who started pushing this, they would have already known what the release statement was going to be well in advance. It was a clear attempt to try and tame the inevitable backlash for when the statement became public.

I'll no doubt get the typical "tin foil hat" responses from the very people who did co-ordinate this.
Mental

11-09-2017, 09:58 PM
Media are going to have a field day with Hibs statement. All I say is .. not in my name. Support the team ... but not Hibs capitulation or collusion with the SFA on this issue. Shameful.

Crikey!

inglisavhibs
Yup, they should be removed with immediate effect. They clearly have a very loose interpretation of what 'rep' entails.
Aye let's just get rid of Rod, Leanne, the rest of the board and lets throw in Lennon as well. Great stuff

Many of these English clubs are only now having to pay the taxes, due to the tax man winning the Rangers case. None of these clubs will lose any titles or cups they won.

Side. Letters.
Sigh.

11-09-2017, 09:59 PM
The reality is that not many are interested in football outside of their own locality - I'm interested in Hibs and their direct rivals. Not Man U or Barca or AV Milan or some team from Denmark or Brazil - I can't remember the last time I watched a game from the EPL. I couldn't care less so why would anyone in those countries be interested in anything other than perhaps our cups, derbies or OF games.

But to your point - how will pursuing the huns improve any of those issues? Surely the agenda should be relate to addressing the future state rather than another pointless inquiry into the past?

How many Scottish fans watch Match of the Day? How many English fans watch Sportscene? How many people in Asia buy Man Utd strips and turn up in their numbers to see the tours? How many fans fly from around the world to see Arsenal play? If you think Bayern Munich, Man Utd, Juventus, Real Madrid, Barcelona among many others don't generate global interest you are sadly not seeing the full picture. Spanish FA want to play league matches out with Spain to expand the "brand"

Back to your point, how does sweeping the issue under the rug and saying "work towards a fairer future" occur if the problem is each team selfishly looks after their own (even discounting the feelings of their fans)? Also, how does this occur, what's the plan and when will that future be realised?

11-09-2017, 09:59 PM
Aye let's just get rid of Rod, Leanne, the rest of the board and lets throw in Lennon as well. Great stuff

How is that even close to being the same?

Lennon's job isn't to represent the opinions and ideas of the fan base.

11-09-2017, 10:00 PM

I think we should "move on" and have probably suggested doing so on other topics in favour of concentrating our efforts positively on our own club.

Are you suggesting that I'm part of a group with inside knowledge who has only been posting to soften people up for this statement?

11-09-2017, 10:00 PM
Indeed. We pumped them 3.2 to give us all one of the best days of our lives. We pumped them last month. Let's just continue to pump them on the field, everything else is now irrelevant. On the park is what matters the most to me.

And on the park they overspending big time to ensure they finish ahead of us in one of the European slots. But let's just concentrate on Hibs.

11-09-2017, 10:01 PM

That's hardly what's being said - we have 2 fans reps that have voted on something without getting a consensus from the fans. Their positions are really quite untenable.

11-09-2017, 10:02 PM

I think you were on that grassy knoll :gun::offski::greengrin

Only trying to lighten the mood mate.........I don't think anyone really knew the stance or statement, but it's an emotive issue which people clearly have views on, and some that differ - I still don't think it's something worth turning on each other.

I'd like the media to take more of an interest in the SFA and the way they work (or don't). As for The Rangers, don't give a **** about them and never ever have.

11-09-2017, 10:02 PM

Pair of tourists enjoying their time at board meetings etc. Certainly no interest in the fans.

11-09-2017, 10:03 PM
Tsk, the arrogance.

Standard fare unfortunately.

And on the park they overspending big time to ensure they finish ahead of us in one of the European slots. But let's just concentrate on Hibs.

And don't worry about any ffp implications. UEFA will never know once the boys at the SFA have done a wee bit shredding and got the rubber stamp out. :rolleyes:

Aye cuase you were just about to go out and buy them in September right enough.

At least you've got an excuse now. You've got absolutely no right to comment on our board. You're not even a supporter.

Idiot!

andyf5
11-09-2017, 10:05 PM

I'm content to move on. The board made a statement in the best interests of this club in my opinion. No-one co-ordinated me in this response It's just what I think and I'm allowed to disagree with you (respectfully). I think it's interesting when the statement used the words the "unanimous view of the board" because that suggests to me some folk on the board disagreed but they are being reminded of collective responsibility. It wouldn't be a surprise to find the board split on opinion - a bit like us.

11-09-2017, 10:06 PM
That's hardly what's being said - we have 2 fans reps that have voted on something without getting a consensus from the fans. Their positions are really quite untenable.

To be fair to the reps - just look at the polarisation of the opinions of the fans. How on Earth were they expected to get consensus?

The only way they would be true representative of us would be if Tracey went in representing the hunslayers and Frank went in with the appeasement brigade.

There is no middle ground, or consensus.

11-09-2017, 10:06 PM
Media are going to have a field day with Hibs statement. All I say is .. not in my name. Support the team ... but not Hibs capitulation or collusion with the SFA on this issue. Shameful.

They've brought it on themselves though if the media and the rest of the other clubs in Scotland are going to rip the p*** out of Hibs following that statement.

We'd do it ourselves if it was another club that done what we've done tonight with that statement

11-09-2017, 10:07 PM
Side. Letters.
Sigh.Giggling here. [emoji1]

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

RMQ1967
Sets an example for future, similar transgressions ? Justice has no time limit.

If there was indeed wrongdoing, without retrospective action it means that those who knowingly cheat can retain the rewards at the expense of those who played the game by the rules. That is fundamentally wrong. Those that can't see that and simply want to "move on" are either cheats themselves (Sevco) or happy to subscribe to a rigged game (sad losers).

My point all along has been that 10 or 15 years on it's really no punishment at all to strip titles (assuming you believe the current club are the same entity that won the titles). The trophies have been lifted, the medals given out, the celebrations are a memory and I don't need a stupid inquiry to know that they cheated the system.

I also know that stripping titles won't make a jot of difference to my life or to Hibs and the only club that will benefit in terms of bragging rights will be smelic.

Doncaster says his letter to the SFA was supported by all the SPFL clubs.

Aberdeen, Rangers, Kilmarnock and now us have said we don't support the idea of the review yet all of a sudden Doncaster is the beacon of truth and transparency?

We need an enquiry!

11-09-2017, 10:08 PM
Many of these English clubs are only now having to pay the taxes, due to the tax man winning the Rangers case. None of these clubs will lose any titles or cups they won. The new Rangers will claim that the debts were due against the old club, which brings me to the point that annoys me more than Hibs statement. Any trophies won by the old club should not be recognised as wins by SEVCO.

Dont disagree but the difference with the Rangers use of the system was that they used the side letters and concealed them. Might be why HMRC picked them out. Who knows?

To be fair to the reps - just look at the polarisation of the opinions of the fans. How on Earth were they expected to get consensus?

The only way they would be true representative of us would be if Tracey went in representing the hunslayers and Frank went in with the appeasement brigade.

Maybe come onto the forums and engage with the fans like they promised to do. It's a worthless position.

Under 10% on the poll support the board. (Admittedly non-scientific and self selecting but still ...)

11-09-2017, 10:09 PM

That is fair but they still needed to consult. If they were in on the vote, they have essentially voted personally and not reflective of any fans group (unless I'm mistaken). Have a vote on a webpage which says Aye Maybes Naw and ask fans to vote then take the results to board. Hardly rocket science.

11-09-2017, 10:10 PM
My point all along has been that 10 or 15 years on it's really no punishment at all to strip titles (assuming you believe the current club are the same entity that won the titles). The trophies have been lifted, the medals given out, the celebrations are a memory and I don't need a stupid inquiry to know that they cheated the system.

I also know that stripping titles won't make a jot of difference to my life or to Hibs and the only club that will benefit in terms of bragging rights will be smelic.

What do you think of our authorities' suitability to govern?

What is the state of play of governance in Scottish football?

Do you feel competition is fair in Scottish football?

Are you comfortable that your club has the same set of rules applied to it as the rules apply to all other member clubs?

11-09-2017, 10:11 PM
Doncaster says his letter to the SFA was supported by all the SPFL clubs.

Aberdeen, Rangers, Kilmarnock and now us have said we don't support the idea of the review yet all of a sudden Doncaster is the beacon of truth and transparency?

We need an enquiry!He didn't. He said that it was sent on behalf of the 42 member clubs, who are his employers after all. A simple majority of them would be authority for him to send it.

Dont disagree but the difference with the Rangers use of the system was that they used the side letters and concealed them. Might be why HMRC picked them out. Who knows?

Absolutely why HMRC went after them. The Huns kept the letters hidden precisely because they knew they blew an almighty hole in their non contractual payments baloney. They were discovered by police investigating dodgy transfer activity (Boumsong iirc).

......or Onion, they could really invest time investigating the SFA, The Rangers saga and governance issues.................too busy doing podcasts about Lennon gestures though or talking drivel on Sportsound or Off The Ball :cb:aok:

Maybe they should do what they get paid to do and really investigate the issues that are the talking point of Scottish football ?

Did Aberdeen not come out and say they were for moving on ? Media had a field day with Milne and Co eh :cb(not).......media don't give a toss about this saga bud.

11-09-2017, 10:12 PM
How many times does it have to be said? They aren't being "stripped" of anything, as they haven't won anything. They claim themselves to be a new club, totally absolved from any of the wrong doings of the previous club. So what titles are there to be stripped away? :confused:

Spot on!

11-09-2017, 10:14 PM
He didn't. He said that it was sent on behalf of the 42 member clubs, who are his employers after all. A simple majority of them would be authority for him to send it.

See, a nice simple answer to a question and a whole enquiry has been avoided!

Now if only....

11-09-2017, 10:14 PM
Absolutely gutted with that statement from our club. When it comes to Rangers, old or new, we seem to be able to find a broom large enough to fix their cheating.

We're still waiting for the outcome of Leeann's investigation into the Ibrox debacle. Another thing swept under the carpet.

Whatever happened to "sporting integrity", and how do we know it won't/can't happen again.

It's staggering that after a largely harmless cup final pitch invasion (which was contained within the stadium) the Scottish Government Justice Minister felt moved to make a public statement and yet on this, which affects the integrity of the entirety of Scottish football, the Scottish Government has - as far as I am aware - made no comment whatsoever.

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 10:15 PM
I'm content to move on. The board made a statement in the best interests of this club in my opinion. No-one co-ordinated me in this response It's just what I think and I'm allowed to disagree with you (respectfully). I think it's interesting when the statement used the words the "unanimous view of the board" because that suggests to me some folk on the board disagreed but they are being reminded of collective responsibility. It wouldn't be a surprise to find the board split on opinion - a bit like us.

I could accept peoples disagreement if I knew why. A lot of people who agree with your view say that it's in the best interests of our club, but fail to state how that actually is. I don't see how this is good for our club at all. It's just a return of more of the same. More of the same has never been good for our club. We have suffered in the past as a result of this and we will continue to suffer well into the future, as absolutely nothing has changed.

If i'm wrong, then please explain why you think i'm wrong and how this is actually a good thing for our club. Because I just don't see how it is.

FiremanBam
Same. I really couldn't care less.

You seem familiar ?

"working to ensure that in the future our game is fairer and more open"

This decision does the complete opposite of that.

*Sweep, Sweep*

A strange remark to make from Hibs suggesting fairness in future without making sure the past is seen to fully and correctly.

11-09-2017, 10:16 PM
What a pathetic, snivelling, arrogant thing to say. Anybody who takes an interest in the club has a right to post on here, regardless of how much each individual gives the club at any given time. For all you know, that poster has contributed far more to the club coughers than you ever will.

Thank you 👍

11-09-2017, 10:16 PM
When do we get to start speculating that Doncaster sent that letter on behalf of no one else bar Celtic?

Will we then be on the correct side of the argument?

11-09-2017, 10:19 PM
It's staggering that after a largely harmless cup final pitch invasion (which was contained within the stadium) the Scottish Government Justice Minister felt moved to make a public statement and yet on this, which affects the integrity of the entirety of Scottish football, the Scottish Government has - as far as I am aware - made no comment whatsoever.

I'm sure you're correct, and they're just getting on with the day job.

Let's try and keep this on track though.:wink:

ED Hibee
11-09-2017, 10:20 PM

I understand where people are coming from with the move-on approach. As what is the point of wasting money on a further inquiry as the chances are it would be another establishment lackey undertaking the review and would probably not result in any change.

However I don't think the governing bodies have changed one bit since 10-15 years and therefore there is nothing to stop them doing it again. So even if there is only a slender chance that an inquiry would bring wholesale changes and a blot in the history books against the titles one by cheating, then it would be worth pursuing.

You only need to have a look at how the sevconians are reacting on social media tonight to see how gutting it is that it is our board who have been some of the first to throw in the towel.

11-09-2017, 10:21 PM

What do you think it does it entail exactly? It seems to me that however poor the statement the Reps were always in the impossible position of trying to satisfy a range of differing views.

11-09-2017, 10:22 PM
Lennon makes a gesture to The Rangers fans and police involved. The Rangers and Hibs fans get into a scuffle and an inquiry lasts for 12months + media coverage mainly criticising Hibs fans. The Rangers cheat to qualify for Europe and win titles...time to move on and not look at what happened and the how's and why's. The Rangers and Celtics incessant Sectarian chants being sung week in week out, not news worthy and best left alone, time to move on. Forget The Rangers and EBT, Scottish football has a plethora of brooms and many gifted sweepers.

Football is dying here and this "things are looking up" is honestly something we've seen before. The core issues in our game and society have not been fixed. And with current temperament will never be fixed.

Scottish football is an alcoholic who drowns his sorrows to forget what he did in the past and drinks profusely in order to salivate ideas of a grand future.

Green Badger
11-09-2017, 10:23 PM
I could accept peoples disagreement if I knew why. A lot of people who agree with your view say that it's in the best interests of our club, but fail to state how that actually is. I don't see how this is good for our club at all. It's just a return of more of the same. More of the same has never been good for our club. We have suffered in the past as a result of this and we will continue to suffer well into the future, as absolutely nothing has changed.

If i'm wrong, then please explain why you think i'm wrong and how this is actually a good thing for our club. Because I just don't see how it is.

Agree 100%. This isn't moving on, it's going back. The huge frustration is there could have been an opportunity for our club to support real change in Scottish football, but they took the opposite path which I find massivley disappointing.

Criswell
11-09-2017, 10:24 PM
Things weren't helped by a clown in the legal judgement (was that Nimmo?) saying; yes sevco broke the rules but did not gain a sporting advantage from it!!!! Possibly the most imbecilic statement I have ever heard uttered.

11-09-2017, 10:24 PM

:rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao: :rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao:

No seriously, can someone tell me where and when the next meeting of the secret co-ordination group is?

andyf5
11-09-2017, 10:29 PM

I understood the rules had changed so this can't happen again in the future. My interpretation is the board are saying on balance there is little legal prospect of catching them out on something, they do not want to spend time on it and prefer to focus their time on our club. We have a great team, manager and huge number of supporters which the board have worked to achieve and if they do more of that then good. Just my view and doesn't make your view wrong.

inglisavhibs
11-09-2017, 10:30 PM
How do you know what the fans think, we have around 8 family members all staunch supporters and none of them agree with you. In truth you have no idea what the consensus is. There is the chance of course that excellent people like Leanne Dempster might just wonder why she works for Hibs and look for a new job. Any disruption over this will not be good for our club.

11-09-2017, 10:31 PM
Disappointing doesn't even come close.
Honestly thought that we would make a stand on this.
Wrong - cheating and corruption are alive and well in Scottish football, and our club thinks it's fine.

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 10:32 PM
I understood the rules had changed so this can't happen again in the future. My interpretation is the board are saying on balance there is little legal prospect of catching them out on something, they do not want to spend time on it and prefer to focus their time on our club. We have a great team, manager and huge number of supporters which the board have worked to achieve and if they do more of that then good. Just my view and doesn't make your view wrong.

If there was actually an effective rule to prevent any of this, then why hadn't it been implemented before? Unless of course the rule is actually an utter nonsense with yet another work around.

11-09-2017, 10:34 PM
Lennon makes a gesture to The Rangers fans and police involved. The Rangers and Hibs fans get into a scuffle and an inquiry lasts for 12months + media coverage mainly criticising Hibs fans. The Rangers cheat to qualify for Europe and win titles...time to move on and not look at what happened and the how's and why's. The Rangers and Celtics incessant Sectarian chants being sung week in week out, not news worthy and best left alone, time to move on. Forget The Rangers and EBT, Scottish football has a plethora of brooms and many gifted sweepers.

Football is dying here and this "things are looking up" is honestly something we've seen before. The core issues in our game and society have not been fixed. And with current temperament will never be fixed.

Scottish football is an alcoholic who drowns his sorrows to forget what he did in the past and drinks profusely in order to salivate ideas of a grand future.

Strict Liability - properly governed with financial and points sanctions - the real way forward for Scottish football and society :aok: it would clamp the pair of them :agree:.....imagine The Rangers playing behind closed doors games for singing Billy Boys, Celtic docked points for hanging crass effigies at football matches...........:cb might mean one day we only talk about the football on the pitch :aok:

Basildon Hibs
11-09-2017, 10:34 PM
How do you know what the fans think, we have around 8 family members all staunch supporters and none of them agree with you. In truth you have no idea what the consensus is. There is the chance of course that excellent people like Leanne Dempster might just wonder why she works for Hibs and look for a new job. Any disruption over this will not be good for our club.

Well the club should've kept quiet and not make a statement indicating that it condones cheating at the highest level.

11-09-2017, 10:35 PM
What do you think it does it entail exactly? It seems to me that however poor the statement the Reps were always in the impossible position of trying to satisfy a range of differing views.

Did they consult to get the various views? No. So in other words they were in an impossible position where there were too many views and to get round that they went with 1 view, their own personal view or that of the other board members as I certainly wasn't consulted (neither were most fans gauging by the response here and elsewhere)

Moving towards fan ownership but our views don't even get a chance to reach the board, something wrong there.

Neither of the fans reps seem to do anything on social media outlets ever (may miss it) and let's be honest that's one of the best ways of reaching out.

inglisavhibs
11-09-2017, 10:36 PM
How is that even close to being the same?

Lennon's job isn't to represent the opinions and ideas of the fan base.
Do you not think that one of the reasons Lennon just signed a new contract was the people he was working for.?Many on here want rid of the very people who have helped turn the club around (along with our great fans)

11-09-2017, 10:36 PM

It really wouldn't surprise me if they were up to there necks in it already, dodgy owner, money being spent on players that they probably can't afford, (unless the lying King got that treasure chest open) court case after court case, witnesses blatantly lying under oath to save there own skin, most still in jobs in Scottish football.

We still see the cheating going on, how many times did Big Marvin have red cards rescinded last season where we had to play out games with 10 men, there was a thread on the MB last season about refs blatantly cheating, I disagreed that refs cheat and are just really not good at the jobs they do, but you look back over the years where we have seen players being sent of for nothing against the ugly sisters and seen blatant assaults by ugly sister players on other teams players where only a talking to from the ref and a pat on the backside is suffice, and it will keep on continuing because no one will go against the 2 major cartels from the West, I see that the the compliance officer hasn't decided to charge Scott Brown for his blatant snidey kick to the head on a Hamilton player on Friday night, had that been a non old firm player he would be getting dragged over the coals and be hammered by the CO.

inglisavhibs
11-09-2017, 10:37 PM
Well the club should've kept quiet and not make a statement indicating that it condones cheating at the highest level.
Where did the statement say they condoned cheating?

Missed that bit of the statement, can you point me to it?

You seem familiar ?

Whats does that mean? Great 2nd post btw

11-09-2017, 10:38 PM
I'm sure you're correct, and they're just getting on with the day job.

Let's try and keep this on track though.:wink:

This is arguably Scotland's national sport. The integrity of the game is in question. There appear to have been all sorts of tax irregularities, a rigged system going back years in a commercially competitive context, a regulator that isn't worth the name, members of the public paying money in good faith and a serious question mark as to the nature of the game's transparency and validity going forward.

And the Scottish Government has absolutely nothing to say about it? I'd say asking why not is exactly on track.

In almost any other context they would be all over it. After the cup final when our fans were being defamed by the media they were all over it calling for full investigations. The reek from this whole rotten episode is overwhelming, but they have nothing to say and no concerns to voice?

11-09-2017, 10:40 PM

You have no idea what the consensus is either - congratulations on 8 family members that agree with you though! The point I'm making is fans should have been approached.

The end part is pretty ludicrous, are you saying we need to get over it or we may lose Leeann Dempster? If that's the case I'm done with football - my views of football and Hibs are never to ensure the club retain a member of staff no matter how good they are. They are my own and I will decide what I think and won't be held to Ransome regarding them...

11-09-2017, 10:44 PM
Do you not think that one of the reasons Lennon just signed a new contract was the people he was working for.?Many on here want rid of the very people who have helped turn the club around (along with our great fans)

People are pointing to fans reps. You seem to be twisting it in to Leeann Dempster and everyone else at the club. Fans reps should attempt to get some sort consensus from fans before voting on something like this regardless of how difficult that might be. No such attempt seems to have been made, hence why people say it is a pointless position. Representative is the key word...

11-09-2017, 10:47 PM
It really wouldn't surprise me if they were up to there necks in it already, dodgy owner, money being spent on players that they probably can't afford, (unless the lying King got that treasure chest open) court case after court case, witnesses blatantly lying under oath to save there own skin, most still in jobs in Scottish football.

We still see the cheating going on, how many times did Big Marvin have red cards rescinded last season where we had to play out games with 10 men, there was a thread on the MB last season about refs blatantly cheating, I disagreed that refs cheat and are just really not good at the jobs they do, but you look back over the years where we have seen players being sent of for nothing against the ugly sisters and seen blatant assaults by ugly sister players on other teams players where only a talking to from the ref and a pat on the backside is suffice, and it will keep on continuing because no one will go against the 2 major cartels from the West, I see that the the compliance officer hasn't decided to charge Scott Brown for his blatant snidey kick to the head on a Hamilton player on Friday night, had that been a non old firm player he would be getting dragged over the coals and be hammered by the CO.

Easy SH, the Compliance Officer has enough on his plate right now (apparently) looking into the UEFA License granted to Rangers in 2011.......probably succulent lamb in mint sauce :greengrin

11-09-2017, 10:48 PM
This is arguably Scotland's national sport. The integrity of the game is in question. There appear to have been all sorts of tax irregularities, a rigged system going back years in a commercially competitive context, a regulator that isn't worth the name, members of the public paying money in good faith and a serious question mark as to the nature of the game's transparency and validity going forward.

And the Scottish Government has absolutely nothing to say about it? I'd say asking why not is exactly on track.

In almost any other context they would be all over it. After the cup final when our fans were being defamed by the media they were all over it calling for full investigations. The reek from this whole rotten episode is overwhelming, but they have nothing to say and no concerns to voice?

I'm sure they've had the SFA in a number of times. Strict Liability was proffered at some time, but I'm sure they'll be monitoring events, just like the club will be monitoring this thread.:wink:

The integrity of the game has been in question for some time, or have you not heard the Billy boys sung since you were a lad?

Johnny Clash
11-09-2017, 10:48 PM
I've got to admit I'm a bit gobsmacked by our stance on this.

The wording of that statement is really weird claiming the Board were so busy with transfer stuff they couldn't get a statement out!! That just doesn't ring true.

Also , if it's been discussed at successive board meetings and a unanimous decision reached then I'm disappointed our reps haven't taken soundings before agreeing to let the Paris buns get away with cheating without holding an independent enquiry . I've always supported having supporters' reps coz they give us a voice in the boardroom so I think it's necessary for Tracey and Frank to explain what happened. It's clear many of us feel our views have been ignored so if that's not the case then we should know what's happened.

11-09-2017, 10:53 PM
Any The Rangers fans will do well to remember we cannot strip the club you watch now as they only have a few lower league titles and a petrofac cup.

That other abomination will needs exhumed and a new autopsy. Your 54 or 55 league wins club is deid.

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 10:58 PM
Honestly, how can we move forward, when we just accept more of the past? If someone can answer that one for me, i'll shut up for the next several weeks.

11-09-2017, 11:02 PM

What type of action would you like the Scottish Government take which would not risk breaching FIFA's rules on government interference?

stonewaller1875
11-09-2017, 11:02 PM
Disgrace

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

HIGHLANDLEITHER
11-09-2017, 11:05 PM
Can't state strongly enough how desperately disappointed I am in the club's statement. The proposed inquiry is fundamentally about how the SFA has handled it's responsibilities and it's fair application of the rules. On this point I think Rod Petrie should have had no vote given his involvement. I am not pre judging him in this respect.
I believe that such an enquiry should be independent and I am happy to contribute to any crowdfunded arrangement.
There have been many squirrels deliberately set loose in the past week to deflect the issue of the SFA's competence. They say they have put in place changes but have failed to deal with many questions raised by the Supreme Courts decision and the Craig Whyte trial. How can we have any faith in such an organisation that will not open it's self to scrutiny?
I applauded the Dons supporters for making it clear they did not agree with their chairman. I believe we should also make it clear we do not support the stance taken by our board.
I will continue to support the team on the pitch despite my dissatisfaction with the boards statement.

stonewaller1875
11-09-2017, 11:07 PM
Interesting to see if this will effect anyone's willingness to attend games?It shouldn't if you support the club

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

11-09-2017, 11:10 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170911/2a5e3b6cd72939eca30a6f93cd78b255.png

11-09-2017, 11:11 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170911/adef11f4a2ab48a27e912221f74ac5de.png

11-09-2017, 11:13 PM

I wonder what Lennon's thoughts will be on this saga when asked (and he will be asked due to his time at Celtc ) when he does the press conference for this weekends game, could be interesting as I'm sure he won't be censored by the club on what his thoughts are on this matter.

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 11:17 PM
I wonder what Lennon's thoughts will be on this saga when asked (and he will be asked due to his time at Celtc ) when he does the press conference for this weekends game, could be interesting as I'm sure he won't be censored by the club on what his thoughts are on this matter.

Good thing they secured that 3 year contract before coming out with the statement. :shocked:

JimboHibs
11-09-2017, 11:22 PM
I've got to admit I'm a bit gobsmacked by our stance on this.

The wording of that statement is really weird claiming the Board were so busy with transfer stuff they couldn't get a statement out!! That just doesn't ring true.

Also , if it's been discussed at successive board meetings and a unanimous decision reached then I'm disappointed our reps haven't taken soundings before agreeing to let the Paris buns get away with cheating without holding an independent enquiry . I've always supported having supporters' reps coz they give us a voice in the boardroom so I think it's necessary for Tracey and Frank to explain what happened. It's clear many of us feel our views have been ignored so if that's not the case then we should know what's happened.

Tracey and Frank haha laughable any question towards them to explain what happened will be completely dismissed by both of them ....

11-09-2017, 11:23 PM
Not sure why fans reps are getting it tight when none of you know what was said at board meetings.

I'd imagine once vote is taken then a unanimous 'stance' is taken. No point in saying a majority of the board decided.what kind of stance are you reffering to? have you ever attended a meeting of any kind, in your life? ever watched a court room drama? ever been on a jury? unanimous means one thing and only one thing. everyone at the meeting Agreed. !!!:rolleyes:

JimboHibs
11-09-2017, 11:24 PM

That you Rod.

11-09-2017, 11:26 PM
That's a ridiculous response, to be honest. Folk are allowed to disagree without a conspiracy theory emerging. it may seem that, to you. others have opinions though, and I detect a certain vane of usual suspects when it comes to all things are good from Hibernian fc garden

11-09-2017, 11:28 PM
So Hibs have taken the very same stance as Aberdeen then? It will only be Celtic that want all this dragged up again.

JimboHibs
11-09-2017, 11:31 PM
So Hibs have taken the very same stance as Aberdeen then? It will only be Celtic that want all this dragged up again.

Could give a toss about either Aberdeen or Celtic thanks.

11-09-2017, 11:32 PM
it may seem that, to you. others have opinions though, and I detect a certain vane of usual suspects when it comes to all things are good from Hibernian fc garden

Really? There's disagreeing then there's calling out those that disagree as being a concerted effort to silence the complainants, which is mental.

Who are these usual suspects?

11-09-2017, 11:33 PM

It won't only be Celtic as they will have the full support of about 85% of Hibs fans and fans of all the other clubs as well.

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 11:35 PM

Drag what up again? The Rangers are a club that formed in 2012 who's only piece of silverware is the Petrofac Cup. There would be nothing to drag up if it was simply left at that. But oh no, they must have all the tainted "achievements" of a previous club while accepting none of the responsibility for the persistent cheating.

Sweep it under the carpet in your own mind if you wish. But don't tell other people to do the same.

For the record, couldn't give a monkeys what Aberdeen or Celtic fans thought. It's our own clubs stance that matters to me.

JimboHibs
11-09-2017, 11:35 PM
Really? There's disagreeing then there's calling out those that disagree as being a concerted effort to silence the complainants, which is mental.

Keyser Soze is allegedly the mob boss.

11-09-2017, 11:36 PM
I would hope at some point that supporters associations run a ballot and are able to put out a statement indicating the majority of members do not agree with the club's stance on this.

The fallout from this already is not good and I think the board have seriously misjudged the groundswell of fans opinions regarding Rangers cheating and the authorities complicity in it.

Johnny Clash
11-09-2017, 11:36 PM
Tracey and Frank haha laughable any question towards them to explain what happened will be completely dismissed by both of them ....

I really hope your wrong mate. Both our reps have been elected and as such have responsibilities to communicate to the support. If you are right and they don't then they will damage a lot of faith in what's I still think is a worthy initiatives. So come on Tracey and Frank - we need to hear from you.

11-09-2017, 11:37 PM
Just read the statement .....

11-09-2017, 11:39 PM
I really hope your wrong mate. Both our reps have been elected and as such have responsibilities to communicate to the support. If you are right and they don't then they will damage a lot of faith in what's I still think is a worthy initiatives. So come on Tracey and Frank - we need to hear from you.

They will no doubt release a statement tomorrow saying how they listened to a lot of fans views before voting. You won't hear from them again after that.

11-09-2017, 11:40 PM
Good thing they secured that 3 year contract before coming out with the statement. :shocked:

Rod's no daft..

High-On-Hibs
11-09-2017, 11:41 PM

Nobody is saying that all those who disagree are part of some great conspiracy. But if you dare to go back a few weeks in the Rangers thread, you'll notice a few posters who suddenly changed their tune from calling for action, to "lets move on". Posters with high post counts on here who are known to have close connections with club insiders. It doesn't take much to work out that they got an inside scoop on what the tone of the official statement was going to be and as such was attempting to prepare this board for the inevitable backlash.

Some people have been saying for ages that we should just move on and that's fair enough. But there are certain posters who had a sudden change of heart on the issue all at the same time, dating back a few weeks prior to this statement release.

GORDONSMITH7
11-09-2017, 11:46 PM
Honestly, how can we move forward, when we just accept more of the past? If someone can answer that one for me, i'll shut up for the next several weeks.

"Those who do not learn history are doomed to repeat it." - George Santayana

BIG G

11-09-2017, 11:50 PM
Out of interest, do we know who the other unnamed club is, who is also asking for an independent review? I would take a guess and say Dundee Utd.

Andy Bee
12-09-2017, 12:08 AM
Out of interest, do we know who the other unnamed club is, who is also asking for an independent review? I would take a guess and say Dundee Utd.

Alloa I think, didn't they have to forfeit a game because of an ineligible player?

12-09-2017, 12:12 AM
Alloa I think, didn't they have to forfeit a game because of an ineligible player?

They did that. Not sure what that has to do with Rangers but?

GORDONSMITH7
12-09-2017, 12:13 AM

Dragged up sounds like the ' Don't wash your dirty washing in public' as my auld granny would say in the 50's, decades ago. Neither you nor the Hibs Board get this, the dirty washing is in the public arena and their cheating cost Hibs and other teams plenty of dough over several years. The outrageous statement today by the discredited Regan, along with Aberdeen's and Hibs were grim and Dons and Hibs fans who were there when this gangsterism was taking place, will not condone either Boards statements.The transparency and accountability that mattyf mentioned earlier on is absolutely fundamental to what has happened here. I have had season tickets for over 50 years and Hibs have been absolutely brilliant to me and my family over the past couple of years, however I just dinae get this.

BIG G

Andy Bee
12-09-2017, 12:39 AM
They did that. Not sure what that has to do with Rangers but?

Just trying to understand why Mulraney would take that stance but maybe it's because Alloa were punished for fielding an ineligible player in a game and punished accordingly, rightly so but Oldco fielded an ineligible team for years without punishment, I'd certainly be a bit peeved.

12-09-2017, 12:54 AM
In all honesty, as I have said many times, none of this would be an issue amongst Scottish football fans if The Rangers 2012 were not claiming to be the owners of 50 Scottish league titles, including several they clearly cheated to obtain ...... It is clear they are spitting in the face of our game and this issue isn't going to go away so long as they continue to do so.

What I wish Hibs had done was to issue the same statement as they have done, but at the same time make it clear that it is the opinion of the club ( even though it is now our intention to let the issue lie ) that the titles and trophies won by Rangers 1872 and claimed by The Rangers 2012 during the EBT years were won by underhanded and unsporting methods and that if The Rangers 2012 had an ounce of sporting integrity and cared in the slightest about the good name of Scottish football they would in a dignified manner return these honours to the sports governing body and request that the official Scottish football records be amended to show titles and trophies won by the club in that period as 'void'

It is not too late for Hibs to do this ..... Hibs know and we all know that The Rangers FC 2012 have about as much sporting integrity as Lance Armstrong and that there is no way they would allow such a statement by Hibs to prick the conscience they clearly don't have and do what the statement says ..... That wont matter, from our point of view Hibs would have said it and it would at least dissipate some of the anger being directed at the club on the back of yesterdays pretty insipid and lukewarm statement.

One thing Hibs don't need to consider is thoughts of such a statement damaging our relationship with Sevco .... that ship sailed years ago.

C'mon Hibs ........ do it for us !!!

plhibs
12-09-2017, 12:57 AM
Rangers have been punished by having four years in the wilderness and almost guaranteeing they'll watch Celtic get 10 in a row.

Title stripping legally isn't an option. What more do people want?

How do you know that title stripping is not an option? The Rangers have never been punished they are a new club. Lance Armstrong was stripped of all his titles, after the fact, the SFA just need to say "these titles were won unfairly and are null and void". No titles or cups are awarded to anyone else.
The Hibs board sat back after the Cup Final and didn't comment on all the BS that was in the papers and reported by certain media pundits, our team was dragged through the mud without a whimper about The Rangers statements.
Sorry about ranting here but this just stinks of RP covering his backside and I'm really very disappointed with my club today.

12-09-2017, 01:10 AM
I'm on holiday so literally just read the club's statement and then this thread.

Definitelly needs put in the vault for the sheer indignation and rage, there's some comedy gold there :greengrin

We can all remember when it initially flared up with the Huns, there was talk of them keeping their place in the top-flight but Rod did his 'sporting intergrity ' bit (for which they still hate him).

Credit to Rod for that and recognition that it's taken years but most folk appreciate now why we invested in the ground and East Mains.

Leann has been practically made a saint on here, with fair reason. I was an initial doubter but she has drive and determination to not just improve the team, but the club as well and more broadly, what Hibernian stands for in the community, outwith football. Other clubs can only dream and aspire to do what our club does.

Getting back to the point though, Leann and Rod are sharp operators, as I'm sure are the rest of the board.

If this is the Board's statement then it won't have been issued without a lot of thought.

I suspect it has been issued partly in reaction to the concerns being raised but nevertheless, I trust that they have the facts, information and advice available, as best it is, and their decision-making is based on that.

12-09-2017, 01:12 AM
I am disappointed in the statement. The club have really been in turn with the fans since Leeann took over but it seems the board are very much in the minority in their views. They cheated and shouldn't get away with it. To me it's even worse if we're seen to be confining it. Especially as a club that spoke out about sporting integrity when the new Rangers wanted to join the SPL.

Whelahan
12-09-2017, 01:16 AM
I have been a Hibs supporter for 40-odd years. They have made me cry, they have made me angry, they have disappointed me on many occasions but today is a new low because I am disgusted. Pander to the cheats and the bigots? No thanks. I thought Hibs were better than that.

12-09-2017, 01:26 AM
My view on this statement... I've read it a couple of times and to be honest it's was shock then disappointment and now to anger.

How can our board come to the conclusion that we should just leave this be??? I've no interest in rangers or the rangers being stripped of anything. In the same way I wouldn't want livi or hearts stripped of their cup wins against us.

But it worries me that their are people in very powerful positions running and making decisions on the game I love who are clearly not fit for purpose. What are they trying to hide? How deep does this go? Is Petrie involved? If so how much did he know? And the most worrying question in my mind right now is did it have a negative effect on hibs?

This statement does nothing to answer these questions and I wouldn't expect it to.... but the enquiry you would hope will.

The statement leaves more questions than answers in my mind.

12-09-2017, 01:33 AM
I'm a little torn on this. Do I think it's a horrible statement/stance for hibs to Release/take? Yup. Do I want to continue pissing and moaning like a wee laddie over something I have absolutely no influence over, which has little to no chance of changing? No.

12-09-2017, 02:24 AM
I'm a little torn on this. Do I think it's a horrible statement/stance for hibs to Release/take? Yup. Do I want to continue pissing and moaning like a wee laddie over something I have absolutely no influence over, which has little to no chance of changing? No.

Like a load of other folk I've had my say on this subject at length :greengrin and on a number of threads ............. But this is the ballpark I'm in as well.

At the end of the day I'm first and foremost a Hibs supporter and in reality I couldn't give a rats ass how many titles and cups Sevco or Celtic for that matter have won or claim to have won and if Sevco continue to say they have won ten, fifty a hundred titles it wont amount to a hill of beans to me.

Both of the ugly sisters have perpetuated a cartel in Scottish football for decades through which they have carved up the lions share of the games income, used the sectarian divide to grow their support and shamelessly leeched support from every club in Scotland ....... What Sevco did was just another string to that bow and if Celtic suffered because of it more than anybody else then ha f'ing ha ..... its no worse than Celtics policy of buying the best players from other clubs and then not playing them or selling them on down south two years later.

If Peter Lawwell is upset with the Hibs statement too sodding bad, we don't exist to please Celtic or anybody else for that matter. Hibs have been on the up for two seasons now and I for one say hell mend any Hibs fan who puts that at risk by getting so far bent out of shape about this that they seriously think chucking it will help Hibs or Scottish football.

The current board have overseen a remarkable turnaround in the clubs fortunes over the last three years and yes I might be annoyed at this statement like a lot of folk, but I sure as hell am not going to go to war with them over it and just ignore the tons of good work they have done up to now to put a decent team on the park with a decent manager to guide them ....... I care about Hibs and I'm not going to damage the club just because The Rangers aren't going to get the kicking they richly deserve, no matter how much I want to see it.

12-09-2017, 02:26 AM

The fans reps have had about as much of a hand in turning around the club as you or I have.

Lennon, Dempster and Rod are doing their jobs. The fan reps aren't. They aren't communicating with the fans (as they promised) and are misrepresenting (what seems like) the majority of fans in the board meetings.

By all accounts FD does some fantastic stuff for the club, but maybe the fan rep role should just be changed .

12-09-2017, 02:50 AM
You could apply that logic to every single political decision ever made - are you silent on every single thing you hear on the news or read in the papers regarding the government for example? Unless of course you are an MP.....

12-09-2017, 03:14 AM
Nobody is saying that all those who disagree are part of some great conspiracy. But if you dare to go back a few weeks in the Rangers thread, you'll notice a few posters who suddenly changed their tune from calling for action, to "lets move on". Posters with high post counts on here who are known to have close connections with club insiders. It doesn't take much to work out that they got an inside scoop on what the tone of the official statement was going to be and as such was attempting to prepare this board for the inevitable backlash.

Some people have been saying for ages that we should just move on and that's fair enough. But there are certain posters who had a sudden change of heart on the issue all at the same time, dating back a few weeks prior to this statement release.

Name them.

12-09-2017, 05:47 AM
I think we should "move on" and have probably suggested doing so on other topics in favour of concentrating our efforts positively on our own club.

Are you suggesting that I'm part of a group with inside knowledge who has only been posting to soften people up for this statement?

Yes. We met in the Harp and Castle just last week. Weren't you there??

12-09-2017, 06:14 AM

Great post. Classic divide and conquer.

12-09-2017, 06:24 AM
How very noble of you.

12-09-2017, 06:28 AM
Anyone think Lennon will change to 3 at the back on Saturday?

12-09-2017, 06:29 AM
Strict Liability - properly governed with financial and points sanctions - the real way forward for Scottish football and society :aok: it would clamp the pair of them :agree:.....imagine The Rangers playing behind closed doors games for singing Billy Boys, Celtic docked points for hanging crass effigies at football matches...........:cb might mean one day we only talk about the football on the pitch :aok:

Yes the only way to go yet the clubs unanimously voted against it for some reason with Mulroney at Alloa one of the main mouthpieces agreeing with that approa.

12-09-2017, 06:42 AM
Anyone think Lennon will change to 3 at the back on Saturday?

I think he should go 6 at the back, 5 in midfield and 4 up front, I know it's too many but who gives a toss these days where you can do as you like without punishment?

On the game, I think we will win by 3 falls and a submission.

12-09-2017, 06:50 AM
I think he should go 6 at the back, 5 in midfield and 4 up front, I know it's too many but who gives a toss these days where you can do as you like without punishment?

On the game, I think we will win by 3 falls and a submission.

Yip, it's time the team came on with flashing lights and music. Petrie with the mic in the centre of the pitch.
What makes it worse is we are not even the good guys now.

12-09-2017, 06:52 AM
The fans reps have had about as much of a hand in turning around the club as you or I have.

Lennon, Dempster and Rod are doing their jobs. The fan reps aren't. They aren't communicating with the fans (as they promised) and are misrepresenting (what seems like) the majority of fans in the board meetings.

By all accounts FD does some fantastic stuff for the club, but maybe the fan rep role should just be changed .Agree re the approach taken to the role, it feels more like an ambassadorial role for the club.

I think a rep role but without a seat on the board would be about as effective and would avoid them being caught in the tight spot they could be in now.

They may not get access to some info but we'd arguably be no worse off since the current episode shows that on the bigger issues there's no, or selective communication.

12-09-2017, 07:08 AM
I'm actually now beginning to wonder how much influence from outside the game there actually is. Has any sponsorship proposal got some clause in it reference The Rangers and bringing this to a head? Could this be the reason that Hibs and Aberdeen are wanting it swept under the carpet?

Could it be a case of look if we bring this repeatedly up ( sky, BT Sports etc only using these as an example) don't want to offer us such a contract, however this is on the table at present if we roll over and let the Hun hoards away with daylight robbery?

Hibs have built so many bridges with the fans over the last 3 years and reading some of the fans views on here a lot have now turned on the board. I'm in the corner of there should be an independent review and see what they say. However I will never ever loose the love of my club over this but I'm now feeling like the board has made a decision that they did without at least asking the supporters to voice an opinion first about how they felt.

12-09-2017, 07:16 AM
Poor. The lancing of this boil needs to be done. Money should be made available to do it. Scottish football will never move on till it is. One way or another transparency needs shown.where is the evidence of all this legal advice for instance? As far as I'm aware it's just the SFA saying this has been done. What was the advice and how was it reached? Come on Hibs not good enough.

It was Regan who came out with this 'Best legal advice' line and the apologists/corrupt & spineless have clung to it like a drowning-man to a life-raft ever since - taking the word of the man who, outside of David Murray, is hugely responsible for this mess in the first place !. Regan has proved he is NOT to be trusted and it won't be too much of a shock if Celtic now go it alone and find a lawyer with a completely different view than that of Regans and I sincerely hope they do so !. The Hun cheated - end of !

12-09-2017, 07:41 AM
I'm absolutely loving the 'the story was leaked to board-friendly Hibs.net posters weeks ago' line.

This place is brilliant entertainment at times.

McIntosh
12-09-2017, 07:45 AM
Totally outrageous. Unanimous decision!!! What did our representatives vote? Did they have a vote? If they voted for this they should resign. Truly shocking.

12-09-2017, 07:45 AM
I'm absolutely loving the 'the story was leaked to board-friendly Hibs.net posters weeks ago' line.

This place is brilliant entertainment at times.

Yeah, some of the comments from those most enthusiastic about all this make you question their sanity and judgement, to be honest.

12-09-2017, 07:47 AM
Yeah, some of the comments from those most enthusiastic about all this make you question their sanity and judgement, to be honest.

You don't have to be paranoid to post here but...

12-09-2017, 07:54 AM
No seriously, can someone tell me where and when the next meeting of the secret co-ordination group is?

It's really not that complicated a concept.

'Secret'.

:shhhsh!:

Yes. We met in the Harp and Castle just last week. Weren't you there??

Well.

That's torn it.

:panic:

AndyM_1875
12-09-2017, 07:58 AM
I am disappointed by the statement and wish the club had said nothing on the matter.
Though no doubt other clubs will come out this week and say similar.

YanYansen
12-09-2017, 08:08 AM
I think everyone should read the statement and try to understand why the decision was made. I hate the fact that Rangers got away with cheating but if there is no legal remedy then why waste time, resources and energy on it. Let's focus on our club and our ongoing success.

That's fair enough mate. But we can say that without effectively condoning it on all our behalfs.

Canon Hannan
12-09-2017, 08:08 AM
The Hibs Board are acting on behalf of the small minority of Hibs supporters here. Not a great business decision no matter what my view is. Blaming legal fees is a poor excuse for justice. Celtic will have their own lawyers dealing with this anyway and the cost would be minimal. Sporting integrity has been ignored and I am very saddened to see this from the bosses at Hibernian my club. A banner on Saturday would maybe help point them in the correct direction and true ethical way forward?

12-09-2017, 08:09 AM
Reported this am that NL won't face punishment for his behaviour at Ibrox.

Great news :aok: ...

....and nothing at all to do with Hibs statement supporting the SFA's stance. Move along :wink:

12-09-2017, 08:10 AM
The Hibs Board are acting on behalf of the small minority of Hibs supporters here. Not a great business decision no matter what my view is. Blaming legal fees is a poor excuse for justice. Celtic will have their own lawyers dealing with this anyway and the cost would be minimal. Sporting integrity has been ignored and I am very saddened to see this from the bosses at Hibernian my club. A banner on Saturday would maybe help point them in the correct direction and ethical way forward?

Don't think they would care about a banner so long as we have all paid in.

The Hibs Board are acting on behalf of the small minority of Hibs supporters here. Not a great business decision no matter what my view is. Blaming legal fees is a poor excuse for justice. Celtic will have their own lawyers dealing with this anyway and the cost would be minimal. Sporting integrity has been ignored and I am very saddened to see this from the bosses at Hibernian my club. A banner on Saturday would maybe help point them in the correct direction and ethical way forward?

You don't know that and I don't know that.

I am disappointed by the statement and wish the club had said nothing on the matter.
Though no doubt other clubs will come out this week and say similar.

Agree definitely coordinated by the clubs and authorities and I would include Celtic in that.

12-09-2017, 08:14 AM
The only way this can get put to bed, is if the Scottish Government conduct a review on the whole matter and that includes the SFA and the SPFL. If there is no legal case of stripping the titles then so be it, but the governing bodies need to be held responsable for allowing this to happen under their noses. If not, this will drag and drag.

12-09-2017, 08:16 AM
The only way this can get put to bed, is if the Scottish Government conduct a review on the whole matter and that includes the SFA and the SPFL. If there is no legal case of stripping the titles then so be it, but the governing bodies need to be held responsable for allowing this to happen under their noses. If not, this will drag and drag.

It has nothing to do with the Scottish Government. What next? Nicola Strurgeon analysing video evidence of dodgy penalties and red cards?

12-09-2017, 08:18 AM
How very noble of you.

🙄

12-09-2017, 08:24 AM
It has nothing to do with the Scottish Government. What next? Nicola Strurgeon analysing video evidence of dodgy penalties and red cards?

I am pretty sure the department of Culture, Media and Sport could demand an enquiry and put this to bed once and for all.

Johnny Clash
12-09-2017, 08:25 AM
Seeing that smug Stewart Regan (hater of all things Hibs) applauding the fact that the Hibs board have made such a cowardly decision truly gives me the boke! .

The Paris Buns have cheated all teams for over a decade and all of a sudden this is no longer an issue?!! Was saddens me the most is that our club had been moving in the right direction: Involving fans, improving communication, setting up fans reps who are elected by the supporters. It's now looking tarnished. I'm not one to get vocally on the cases of directors, players, managers or reps. I'd prefer to support when I can but this stinks so much is hard to mekely 'move on ' as some suggest.

Hibs.net straw poll show over 70% of hibs fans who voted - support an Independent Review. I'm afraid everyone on our board is complicit in a shameful sell out.

I am pretty sure the department of Culture, Media and Sport could demand an enquiry and put this to bed once and for all.

Not in this country, they wouldn't. :greengrin

Absolute cert that that mob across the road will pipe up with a statement this week.

"Following Hibernian's statement on Monday..."

This issue won't go away so the board better be ready for verbals on Saturday.

12-09-2017, 08:26 AM

Against legal advice? And at what cost to the public purse?

Not in this country, they wouldn't. :greengrin

Do we not have one in Scotland?

celtic1888
It looks like Celtic are on our own here, shocking but not surprising tbh

12-09-2017, 08:31 AM
Did the huns cheat? Yes.

Do I care which of the old firm win the league or have most titles? No.

If the huns hadn't used EBTs would that have changed much for Hibs over that period? No.

Sorry, I just can't get into the same state as some over this.

12-09-2017, 08:31 AM

How do you work that one out? The SPFL have asked for an independent enquiry, on behalf of the clubs. That means that at least 22 clubs want one.

12-09-2017, 08:32 AM

Funny that - you're the only ones who might gain something.

12-09-2017, 08:34 AM
Do we not have one in Scotland?

That department is for England and Wales.

Ours keeps changing its name. It's been Sport, Health Improvement and Mental Health recently, but that may change again :greengrin

celtic1888
12-09-2017, 08:35 AM
How do you work that one out? The SPFL have asked for an independent enquiry, on behalf of the clubs. That means that at least 22 clubs want one.
These clubs need to come forward, because at the moment no-one is backing us

12-09-2017, 08:37 AM
These clubs need to come forward, because at the moment no-one is backing us

Don't think you understand.

The SPFL canvassed the clubs, and took forward the majority view. Why should the clubs come out individually, when their body is speaking for them?

At least 21 of them are on "your side".

celtic1888
12-09-2017, 08:38 AM
Funny that - you're the only ones who might gain something. We're not looking to gain anything tbh Scottish football is corrupt
to the core and it's time to step up

Mellow Hibee
12-09-2017, 08:38 AM
I'm actually now beginning to wonder how much influence from outside the game there actually is. Has any sponsorship proposal got some clause in it reference The Rangers and bringing this to a head? Could this be the reason that Hibs and Aberdeen are wanting it swept under the carpet?

Could it be a case of look if we bring this repeatedly up ( sky, BT Sports etc only using these as an example) don't want to offer us such a contract, however this is on the table at present if we roll over and let the Hun hoards away with daylight robbery?

Hibs have built so many bridges with the fans over the last 3 years and reading some of the fans views on here a lot have now turned on the board. I'm in the corner of there should be an independent review and see what they say. However I will never ever loose the love of my club over this but I'm now feeling like the board has made a decision that they did without at least asking the supporters to voice an opinion first about how they felt.

I hadn't thought about that but it is one of the few things that make sense to me in this case.
I seen to recall that we somehow ended up with a TV deal that guaranteed OF games (thus causing a major problem if either were not in the SPL) so we have got previous for it.

Basically the whole of Scottish football now seems to act as an association of businesses looking out for the bottom line only. That's OK if you are a straightforward business but we're primarily sporting institutions. As soon as we sacrifice any single amount of sporting integrity for any amount of cash then we're totally lost.

Imagine if the BBC said they would pay top dollar for Olympic coverage but only if they were guaranteed that Bolt would be in the men's 100m final.

12-09-2017, 08:39 AM
Did the huns cheat? Yes.

If the huns hadn't used EBTs would that have changed much for Hibs over that period? No.

Do I care about titles being stripped? Not particularly.

Do I have any faith in the integrity or ability of the SFA? Absolutely not.

I want an investigation to get to the bottom of who knew what and who did what. I fully believe the SFA is as corrupt/rigged as they are incompetent.

celtic1888
12-09-2017, 08:40 AM
Don't think you understand.

The SPFL canvassed the clubs, and took forward the majority view. Why should the clubs come out individually, when their body is speaking for them?

At least 21 of them are on "your side".
So where are they? The silence is deafening

12-09-2017, 08:40 AM

Still waiting for you and your twin across the other side of Glasgow to **** off to the Atlantic League or England or Ireland or wherever you want to hawk your joined at the hip, hatred filled, Sectarian product at the first sign of some money being waved in your direction...like a couple of cheap tarts willing to drop their knickers to the first league that pays you some interest.

So don't you come in here with your holier than thou attitude as you support one of the two parasitic teams that have been feasting and sucking the life out of the Scottish game for decades.

12-09-2017, 08:43 AM
So where are they? The silence is deafening

Read my post again:wink:

The SPFL has spoken for them.

celtic1888
12-09-2017, 08:44 AM
Still waiting for you and your twin across the other side of Glasgow to **** off to the Atlantic League or England or Ireland or wherever you want to hawk your joined at the hip, hatred filled, Sectarian product at the first sign of some money being waved in your direction...like a couple of cheap tarts willing to drop their knickers to the first league that pays you some interest.

So don't you come in here with your holier than thou attitude as you support one of the two parasitic teams that have been feasting and sucking the life out of the Scottish game for decades.
In what way are Celtic sectarian? I don't recall any anti protestant songs at Parkhead

12-09-2017, 08:46 AM
So where are they? The silence is deafeningYou want an enquiry, they want an enquiry.

Straightforward really.

12-09-2017, 08:48 AM

Only at board level.

12-09-2017, 08:49 AM
In what way are Celtic sectarian? I don't recall any anti protestant songs at Parkhead

Maybe not defined as Sectarian but disrupting a minutes silence at Parkhead for the victims of an IRA bombing is pretty ****my.

celtic1888
12-09-2017, 08:51 AM
You want an enquiry, they want an enquiry.

Straightforward really.

They're individually stating that they don't though. Aberdeen, Killie, Hibs...lets move on I'd recall every player on loan, refuse future loan deals and boycott those clubs if I could. No offence intended btw as I know a few Hibs fans who are are as pissed off as I am lol

12-09-2017, 08:54 AM
Did the huns cheat? Yes.

Do I care about titles being stripped? Not particularly.

Do I have any faith in the integrity or ability of the SFA? Absolutely not.

Has it become fashionable to ask a question about your own views and then answer it straightaway? Yes.
Does it make any more sense than just stating your views? No.

12-09-2017, 08:56 AM
They're individually stating that they don't though. Aberdeen, Killie, Hibs...lets move on I'd recall every player on loan, refuse future loan deals and boycott those clubs if I could. No offence intended btw as I know a few Hibs fans who are are as pissed off as I am lolI'm one of the pissed off Hibs fans.

The separate debate is what the member clubs of the SPFL want, they deal through their board and in dealing with the team formerly known as Glasgow rangers probably rightly prefer the collective approach.

The SPFL member clubs have voted to support an enquiry.

Johnny Clash
Did the huns cheat? Yes.

Their cheating has a knock on effect that hits everyone.

Points gained unfairly against all teams could have made the difference of avoiding relegation for some teams or maybe qualifying for Europe.

Cheating could have cost us and others progress in Cups. We maybe missed trips to Hampden and potentially winning silverware coz of their cheating.

Their cheating helped them afford more better quality players . What about their signing of Latapy, Whitaker, Murray, Thomson? Course it had a knock on effect with us! They were able to afford Alex Mcleish at a time when he was doing good stuff at Easter Road.

I do understand why people dont care no matter what happens and prefer to do nothing . I had mates who couldn't be arsed protesting against the poll tax for example. I'm just glad there was enough of us who decided that doing nothing wasn't an option!

They're individually stating that they don't though. Aberdeen, Killie, Hibs...lets move on I'd recall every player on loan, refuse future loan deals and boycott those clubs if I could. No offence intended btw as I know a few Hibs fans who are are as pissed off as I am lol

Bash on, Hibs and Kilmarnock have a grand total of 0 players on loan from Celtic. If you recall Christie from Aberdeen that will benefit us as it weakens one of our rivals.

Dobosz83
12-09-2017, 09:00 AM
Very disappointed in the statement. Left me feeling a bit hollow last night...

The issue is not about stripping titles and 'punishing' Rangers further. I honestly couldn't care about that aspect.

For me this is about transparency and ensuring that the people running the game on the 6th floor of Hampden will do so fairly and can be trusted. The way the saga unfolded 5 years ago posed a lot of questions about the way our governing body operate. An independent review of what went on might shine a torch in some dark places...

For me, this was needed to rebuild trust and move on. Not turning a blind eye and misdirecting the point of it being about Rangers titles.

celtic1888
12-09-2017, 09:00 AM
Maybe not defined as Sectarian but disrupting a minutes silence at Parkhead for the victims of an IRA bombing is pretty ****my.
I was working at last year's Scottish cup semi final and on my way home after it I heard Go On Hone British Soldiers. I turned around expecting to see some wayward Celts but nup, there was half a dozen young Hibs fans giving it laldy.
I actually worked both semis and the bassas put me in the hun end for our game. I was showering for a week ffs lol

12-09-2017, 09:03 AM
I was working at last year's Scottish cup semi final and on my way home after it I heard Go On Hone British Soldiers. I turned around expecting to see some wayward Celts but nup, there was half a dozen young Hibs fans giving it laldy.
I actually worked both semis and the bassas put me in the hun end for our game. I was showering for a week ffs lol

Be honest you made that up.

12-09-2017, 09:04 AM
I was showering

Now I know you're trolling.

12-09-2017, 09:07 AM
Has it become fashionable to ask a question about your own views and then answer it straightaway? Yes.
Does it make any more sense than just stating your views? No.

Sorry I'm reverting to type here.

Anyone who's been involved in committees or boards knows that when voting on anything, and especially sensitive issues, you generally have to ask yourself the specific question and be clear of the answer in your own head before you can vote properly.

celtic1888
12-09-2017, 09:08 AM
Be honest you made that up.
Nope lol I was surprised as well as I thought u were as hunnish as hearts until that point haha kidding btw