View Full Version : Yams signing

30-08-2017, 09:30 PM
A lot of talk of ross callachan joining them from raith rovers...never stood out for me when I seen him, happy if that's the kind of players they're looking at

Hibbycol
30-08-2017, 09:34 PM
A lot of talk of ross callachan joining them from raith rovers...never stood out for me when I seen him, happy if that's the kind of players they're looking atWho ?

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

30-08-2017, 09:35 PM
No idea who he is

30-08-2017, 09:36 PM
Who ?

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Not even a stand out for raith imo

hibee
30-08-2017, 09:43 PM
Never heard of him.

w pilton hibby
30-08-2017, 09:46 PM
Never heard of him.

How much, if anything, had anyone heard about Ross Laidlaw before we signed him from Raith?

He seems to have worked out no bad...

30-08-2017, 09:50 PM
He wasn't that bad as a Rovers player against us, but mainly stood out as the token borderline thug who seemed strangely keen to get in about us.

He'll fit right in.

30-08-2017, 09:51 PM
How much, if anything, had anyone heard about Ross Laidlaw before we signed him from Raith?

He seems to have worked out no bad...

Could probably count on two hands how many times he's played for us, a decent back up goalie but never a starter?

30-08-2017, 09:54 PM
Lower league hatchet man. Such a Potter signing.

30-08-2017, 09:54 PM
C'mon guys, no doubt Callachan will be the player they've been looking for, the final piece of their master-plan to win the SPL/European Champions League !!

30-08-2017, 10:07 PM
Previously on Lost... ( ; )

We've talked about not tapping into the lower leagues - yet there are some rough diamonds to be found if you look into the history/Hibstory.

Laidlaw has proved to be a decent keeper in reference to our post Goram/Leighton context.

30-08-2017, 10:14 PM
Never noticed this boy - did he ever play against us?

Surprised hearts aren't going for Peterhead or pars players having been ROYALLY HUMPED by both teams.

Ha ha ha ha harts

30-08-2017, 10:21 PM
From what I've read from RR fans he sounds like a useful players, but nothing special.

35k fee too apparently.

30-08-2017, 10:24 PM
And so it begins... Potters cloggers. Prepare for launch the ball to lone striker, give away possession, foul ASAP and get everyone behind the ball. Repeat.

hibbymick
30-08-2017, 10:40 PM
Ross is a good laddie. Hes got his head screwed on and related to ralph callachan. I used to take him to training through in Fife a few years ago. I've always followed his career and at one point phoned up Hibs youth coach and asked him to take a look at him. P.s. ...he's a jambo.

30-08-2017, 11:15 PM
Honestly never heard of him. If this is Hearts pulling out the stops to transform the squad for the season then this is going to be fun. Walker out and 3rd tier clogger in.

30-08-2017, 11:25 PM
Genius at work

jijihibby
31-08-2017, 03:18 AM
Maybe he fits into a 6-4-0 set up.

31-08-2017, 03:22 AM
Make no mistake, when the yams rock up to ER next time, Potter will have them tooled up. Hibs better have their A game ready

therealgavmac
31-08-2017, 04:34 AM
Make no mistake, when the yams rock up to ER next time, Potter will have them tooled up. Hibs better have their A game ready

This, been there too many times over too many years. If they get ANY kind of result against us, cue absolute meltdown on here......

Hope we give them a dry rebore :agree:

31-08-2017, 06:08 AM
Never heard of this boy but I presume he played his part in Raith's dramatic collapse in the championship last season, and the subsequent pathetic defeat over two legs to Brechin. Hearts are skint and i'm delighted if this is the level of player they are looking at.

31-08-2017, 06:11 AM

Just like what we did to them at Tynie last year!

I have ZERO worries that Lennon won't have us ready to fight fire with fire when we meet them and ZERO worries that we will then allow our superior skills to win us the match [emoji106]

31-08-2017, 06:49 AM
They seem fairly happy with this over on KB

Picking up lower league players is Leveins speciality apparently.

Cant believe how easy they've switched from blaming Levein fir the demise of the footballing side, with too much control over everything

To saying hes the saviour - even tho his remit is now bigger

Firestarter
31-08-2017, 06:59 AM
He's no lewis Vaughan

31-08-2017, 07:05 AM
Nothing but a hatchet man who runs about snapping folk. Ideal Levein signing.

31-08-2017, 07:07 AM

Cant believe how easy they've switched from blaming Levein fir the demise of the footballing side, with too much control over everything

Harry Potter has had some success in the lower leagues in all fairness but that doesn't mean they're all masterstrokes. He's probably had as many failures as successes and he was picking players up from lower leagues when everyone else was still buying from abroad which made it look like he was better at unearthing gems.

This does feel like more of his type of signing than the previous ones, I never subscribed to the belief that Cathro and McPhee had no say in those other players coming in.

31-08-2017, 07:10 AM
No idea who he is

Honestly don't even know who he is. Can't remember him from any of the Raith games. Not to say he isn't a player of course.

31-08-2017, 07:14 AM
Levein fishing in the same old dirty pools :shocked:

Like bringing a knife to a gun fight :wink:

31-08-2017, 08:00 AM
I saw the phrase "Hearts have been credited with an interest" in relation to some Slavic sounding striker which I thought was good wordsmithery.

In that case, you can "credit" me with an interest in a 3some with Megan Fox and Jennifer Lawrence.

They'll sign nobody of any note, of that I'm sure.

yonder1875
31-08-2017, 09:45 AM
All they are saying how he's 'Hearts daft' and they are delighted by that. Sure worked out well for Rangers daft Andy Halliday...

31-08-2017, 09:48 AM
All they are saying how he's 'Hearts daft' and they are delighted by that. Sure worked out well for Rangers daft Andy Halliday...

My prediction is he'll come in and do a great job for a few weeks and the fans will say he's just what they needed, someone to kick a few backsides in the centre of the park as they ignore his limitations due to him being a new signing.

After a wee while, a month or so maybe they'll realise he's actually quite ***** and just goes about kicking people.

31-08-2017, 09:56 AM
I saw the phrase "Hearts have been credited with an interest" in relation to some Slavic sounding striker which I thought was good wordsmithery.

In that case, you can "credit" me with an interest in a 3some with Megan Fox and Jennifer Lawrence.

They'll sign nobody of any note, of that I'm sure.

Like your thinking :D

TheHarpy76
31-08-2017, 10:15 AM
Raith fans are apparently raging that the club have let him go for only £35'000.

31-08-2017, 10:23 AM
He is decent. He was raith's best player against us a number of times in that league. The question is how will he handle the step up?

Hopefully he's a flop.

31-08-2017, 10:30 AM
Not worried or bothered in any way about their signing.

If we were to sign him, this place would be going nuts with respect to his pedigree.

Crazyhorse
31-08-2017, 10:55 AM

Bizarre isn't it. Let's see how they feel at Christmas...

1875STEVE
31-08-2017, 11:00 AM
Ross is a good laddie. Hes got his head screwed on and related to ralph callachan. I used to take him to training through in Fife a few years ago. I've always followed his career and at one point phoned up Hibs youth coach and asked him to take a look at him. P.s. ...he's a jambo.

No sure about that, there's a tweet of his saying "moan the Hibs" from some time back being retweeted all over the place.

EDIT:

He's deleted it. :-D

31-08-2017, 11:05 AM
Cole Stockton level signing from relegated raith. He must be very tall?

31-08-2017, 11:10 AM
He'll be utter pish like just about everyone they seem to sign. We will destroy that mob at ER in the next derby.

31-08-2017, 11:13 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170831/d476ca91a99d3f326df4e2706cce760b.png

31-08-2017, 11:17 AM
He'll be utter pish like just about everyone they seem to sign. We will destroy that mob at ER in the next derby.
:agree: and they will be creaming it over this new striker milinkovic, who last season scored 7 goals in the dizzy heights of Italians Seria C. Where his team was also subsequently relegated

31-08-2017, 11:19 AM
:agree: and they will be creaming it over this new striker milinkovic, who last season scored 7 goals in the dizzy heights of Italians Seria C. Where his team was also subsequently relegated

Exactly 😁👍🏼

31-08-2017, 11:27 AM

There’s another belter here:

https://twitter.com/RossCallachan/status/377062017443844096

31-08-2017, 11:32 AM
There’s another belter here:

https://twitter.com/RossCallachan/status/377062017443844096

Page doesn't exist. Possibly deleted, what did it say?

31-08-2017, 11:36 AM

That night we won at Ibrox (so what is new)
We scored 3 goals (so what is new)
That one was the Rangers 1 Hibs 3 game
Thanks for the support, Mr Callachan

31-08-2017, 11:41 AM

http://i.imgur.com/gPvRBZD.png

1875STEVE
31-08-2017, 12:11 PM

31-08-2017, 12:22 PM
So was he actually a Hibs fan up until Potter told him he wasn't? :confused:

31-08-2017, 12:33 PM
Raith fans are apparently raging that the club have let him go for only £35'000.

Is he nearing the end of his contract?

Whatever, the forthcoming fee Hearts get for Walker will cover this outlay. Pretty sure they're bringing in that Serbian winger to cover for Walker leaving for Ibrox later today.

31-08-2017, 12:35 PM
So was he actually a Hibs fan up until Potter told him he wasn't? :confused:

Sounds like it. Now seems to be deleting any reference to his support for Hibs from his Twitter account!

31-08-2017, 12:38 PM
Haha, classic. Bet when he signs he'll talk about having been a boyhood Jambo as if nothing had ever happened.

31-08-2017, 12:44 PM
Haha, classic. Bet when he signs he'll talk about having been a boyhood Jambo as if nothing had ever happened.

One step ahead of you

"I grew up watching Hearts and for them to come in with an offer for me, it's a dream come true really," Callachan told Hearts TV.

To be fair i could technically say I grew up watching Hearts, doesn't make me a fan though :wink:

31-08-2017, 12:47 PM
One step ahead of you

"I grew up watching Hearts and for them to come in with an offer for me, it's a dream come true really," Callachan told Hearts TV.

To be fair i could technically say I grew up watching Hearts, doesn't make me a fan though :wink:

They really are a weirdly obsessive and classless club eh?

We've signed the likes of SDG and Cummings in recent years and they've literally never once mentioned hearts and we didn't make them say anything to the contrary either. Just let their football do the talking.

What a strange, bitter and jealous hatred they have towards us.

31-08-2017, 12:48 PM
One step ahead of you

Quite smart with his words there. :greengrin

He didnt finish the sentence by saying hoping they would get hammered every game they played in.

31-08-2017, 01:01 PM
One step ahead of you

Think Danny Swanston once said something like that ? All his pals knew it was a fib.

31-08-2017, 01:14 PM
Maybe he's an Ian Black and "liked" both Edinburgh teams (i.e. wasn't particularly bothered about them), only for his allegiances for one to suddenly disappear the minute he joined the other.

BurghHibby
31-08-2017, 01:27 PM
He's Ralph's nephew and from a predominately Hibs supporting family, he'll be the same as when Ralph signed with them, gutted but hey ho it's a job.
Btw, the first game Ralph's attended as a signed Hearts player was on 01/01/1973 !

hibbymick
31-08-2017, 01:34 PM
No sure about that, there's a tweet of his saying "moan the Hibs" from some time back being retweeted all over the place.

EDIT:

He's deleted it. :-D

I can put my mortgage on it.....he's a jambo without a doubt. I did take him to a couple of hibs games but he wasn't for changing 😐

31-08-2017, 02:14 PM
That's a Jimmy Scott type signing for them - pretty sure he was described as 'box to box' too ! Pity it was more often him taking possession from our own 6 yard box to our own 18 yard box before losing the ball :-)

Fair play to the lad though, huge step up and shows the market Hearts are now having to shop around here and down south - reality bites eh ;-)

31-08-2017, 02:16 PM
I can put my mortgage on it.....he's a jambo without a doubt. I did take him to a couple of hibs games but he wasn't for changing 😐

Why would he be making these sorts of tweets?

31-08-2017, 03:11 PM
https://twitter.com/i/web/status/903224007234813953

31-08-2017, 03:15 PM
https://twitter.com/i/web/status/903224007234813953

hibbymick
31-08-2017, 03:18 PM

No idea mate,,,,was it him that wrote them ?

31-08-2017, 03:23 PM

Nobody likes The Rangers?

geohibby
31-08-2017, 03:40 PM
i see the Sun are reporting that this wee fud sent out a tweet that said 'Hibs are *****'. look forward to the first derby and we will see, if he was any good he would have been snapped up way before now

31-08-2017, 03:44 PM
Yams looking for signings at the lower end of the market. It's all they can afford. Never heard of him. Probably a hammer thrower.

31-08-2017, 03:52 PM
:faf::faf::faf:

Another dimbulb who thinks he can delete things from the internet

31-08-2017, 03:53 PM
i see the Sun are reporting that this wee fud sent out a tweet that said 'Hibs are *****'. look forward to the first derby and we will see, if he was any good he would have been snapped up way before now

Raith Rovers players are good at that kind of thing. Same as that little no mark Hun last season tweeting all about Hibs at every opportunity. Unsurprisingly I can't remember his name.

31-08-2017, 07:15 PM
Bargain basement. Lovely stuff.
I'm guessing the 'moan the Hibs' tweet was because we were playing Rangers that night and a number of Hearts fans wanted us to win to maintain their lead above rangers at the top of the league. Funny how much emphasis they put on any signing mentioning being a Hearts fan or hating Hibs though 🤣 Weird bunch

31-08-2017, 07:19 PM

Probably because we were at that time. He has other tweets confirming he's a hibs fan. I've posted similar in the past

31-08-2017, 07:39 PM
They've just signed someone fi Genoa according to Sky

31-08-2017, 07:45 PM
Remind me of us scrambling on the last day to make a couple signings

31-08-2017, 07:47 PM
They've just signed someone fi Genoa according to Sky

.....someone from Genoa and a nobody from Raith as they pimp Jamie Walker to the Huns.

Meanwhile at the "wee team" we keep the hottest midfield property outside of Celtic because we dont need the money.

Brilliant stuff !!

31-08-2017, 07:52 PM
Who remembers when we used to sign utter piss on the last day just for the sake of it. Hearts 2 new players will be roasted silly when they come to us.

31-08-2017, 08:00 PM
Who remembers when we used to sign utter piss on the last day just for the sake of it. Hearts 2 new players will be roasted silly when they come to us.

:agree: Yams are panic buying to keep Levein in a job and the hounds at bay. Everything will depend on how their garbage performs against the Hibs :greengrin.

Hibs make or break careers at Hearts. Simple as that for the Obsessives.

31-08-2017, 09:49 PM
He is decent. He was raith's best player against us a number of times in that league. The question is how will he handle the step up?

Hopefully he's a flop.

It's maybe a step-up league-wise for him but squad-wise there's not much difference in standards/levels between Raith and Hearts.

31-08-2017, 09:53 PM
It's maybe a step-up league-wise for him but squad-wise there's not much difference in standards/levels between Raith and Hearts.

Exactly. He's making a step up by coming up to the SPL - he'll be coming up against much better teams. The players he's playing with however are only marginally better. With regards to Callachan, I've absolutely no idea who he is.

31-08-2017, 09:59 PM
:agree: Yams are panic buying to keep Levein in a job and the hounds at bay. Everything will depend on how their garbage performs against the Hibs :greengrin.

Hibs make or break careers at Hearts. Simple as that for the Obsessives.

Yup. Being beaten by us has played a huge part in their last 2 managers leaving and it may well be the same with Levein. He will really need to get off to a good start as I don't think there will be any sort of honeymoon period as there would have been with anyone else as the new manager.

He's got a tough 1st match against Aberdeen but then there are a few games where they'd expect to pick up a decent amount of points, albeit they are away matches.

It's hard to see Budge sacking him if it doesn't work out. I imagine he would just move back upstairs and maybe Daly would take over in the dugout.

01-09-2017, 08:40 AM
End of the day if he was any good he'd have been signed by Hibs or Aberdeen. Especially us with Lennon seeing him 4 times last season. Probably Hearts level.