View Full Version : Louis Moult.

29-08-2017, 05:16 PM
Thought I'd share on the MB about this. I've been told Hibs are very interested in bringing Moult to ER and have been asking about him.

Not saying this will be done or anything like that. But the person who told me is very well connected regarding transfer targets. Be interesting to see if we can pull this off if we did or have made an offer.

I'll post anymore if I hear anything else.

29-08-2017, 05:17 PM
Would be good if we get this one done. Cheers for the info.

29-08-2017, 05:22 PM
Cant see it unless we are selling

Souter96Mac
29-08-2017, 05:23 PM
Would love this tbh, what a forward line we would have. Doubt we could get it done, but would be nice.

29-08-2017, 05:26 PM
If we get decent money for McGinn I can see this being a possibility. He'd be a great signing and would guarantee us 15+ each season. His goal last week against the saviles is a great example of what he can do.

29-08-2017, 05:26 PM
Selling SJM and bringing in Moult and Henderson. Think I could maybe handle that.

29-08-2017, 05:38 PM
Moult would be a fantastic signing but I'd be very surprised if we did, after signing three strikers already.

Tin hat on here, but I also think the guy could sign for a much bigger club than Hibs.

29-08-2017, 05:39 PM
Thought I'd share on the MB about this. I've been told Hibs are very interested in bringing Moult to ER and have been asking about him.

Not saying this will be done or anything like that. But the person who told me is very well connected regarding transfer targets. Be interesting to see if we can pull this off if we did or have made an offer.

I'll post anymore if I hear anything else.

When Boyd mentioned the SJM carry on on Sunday I suggested to my old man that I'd like to think we might have him lined up.

29-08-2017, 05:41 PM
Tin hat on here, but I also think the guy could sign for a much bigger club than Hibs.

So either the Old Firm or a club from another country as there are no other "much bigger" clubs in Scotland than those two.

29-08-2017, 05:43 PM
So either the Old Firm or a club from another country as there are no other "much bigger" clubs in Scotland than those two.

That's what I meant, yeah.

29-08-2017, 05:45 PM
Might be interested in him but don't see us having the cash.

Did Aberdeen not bid about 400k?

29-08-2017, 05:51 PM
I'd be delighted to bring him in, the cash we got for Cummings surely hasn't all gone.

29-08-2017, 05:52 PM
When Boyd mentioned the SJM carry on on Sunday I suggested to my old man that I'd like to think we might have him lined up.

Yeah maybe if he's sold this will soften the blow if we did get him.

TrinityHibby
29-08-2017, 05:53 PM
Might be interested in him but don't see us having the cash.

Did Aberdeen not bid about 400k?

Are Hibs (and other SPFL clubs) not due c£350k by virtue of Celtic qualifying for the Champions League? .....🤔I'm quite sure that would have not been included in the players budget🤗

29-08-2017, 05:53 PM
I thought Aberdeen were favourites to get him, if anybody.

29-08-2017, 05:59 PM

Then they signed Stevie May to go with about one million other strikers

29-08-2017, 05:59 PM

So did I. They may well still be in the race. But not sure with them getting May that has put this deal on the back burner.

Wigson13
29-08-2017, 06:03 PM
Are Hibs (and other SPFL clubs) not due c£350k by virtue of Celtic qualifying for the Champions League? .....🤔I'm quite sure that would have not been included in the players budget🤗

Don't get that money till next year!

29-08-2017, 06:11 PM
I actually think that we could do with one more striker so hopefully this can happen.

I won't be holding my breath though.

Green Reaper
29-08-2017, 06:11 PM
Don't get that money till next year!

Yeah but we can borrow it from ourselves until then

29-08-2017, 06:12 PM
Yeah but we can borrow it from ourselves until then

Reaper is Ian Cathro. :wink:

Stokesy's on fire
29-08-2017, 06:43 PM

Aberdeen are linked with everyone never mind the wee dons

29-08-2017, 06:48 PM
Would be a good signing.

29-08-2017, 06:55 PM
I'm deeply uncomfortable with Hibs' recent policy change to accommodate well in excess of eleven likeable players who I'd all like to see play. Keeping them all happy seems extremely fanciful.

Bring back the days of a first eleven that would be half-full of players that you'd happily drive to the English League Two ground they'd inevitably end up at.

29-08-2017, 06:55 PM

With may and Rooney plus others I'd hope they wouldn't need him

29-08-2017, 07:00 PM
I actually think that we could do with one more striker so hopefully this can happen.

I won't be holding my breath though.

Yes, we are 1 down on last year. Out - Cummings, Keatings, Holt and Graham. In - Stokes, Murray and big Davie. Would be difficult to keep those 3 and Moult happy with enough game time.

29-08-2017, 07:04 PM
Yes, we are 1 down on last year. Out - Cummings, Keatings, Holt and Graham. In - Stokes, Murray and big Davie. Would be difficult to keep those 3 and Moult happy with enough game time.

Same for every club. If we have two players in each position then we need another striker.

29-08-2017, 07:15 PM
Moult would be a fantastic signing but I'd be very surprised if we did, after signing three strikers already.

I'm no sure he could sign for a bigger club.

I think the Championship is a big step up, no convinced he's that standard to be honest, one of the promotion chasing sides in League 1 might be a decent move for him, possibly more money, but not a bigger club than Hibs.

He'd be a very good signing for us, and if we pay a few hundred grand for him, he'd have to be, to justify it.

29-08-2017, 07:17 PM

So do I. Especially when Lennon doesn't seem particularly keen to use big Dave.

29-08-2017, 07:18 PM
I'm no sure he could sign for a bigger club.

I think the Championship is a big step up, no convinced he's that standard to be honest, one of the promotion chasing sides in League 1 might be a decent move for him, possibly more money, but not a bigger club than Hibs.

He'd be a very good signing for us, and if we pay a few hundred grand for him, he'd have to be, to justify it.

Blackburn are certainly bigger, not sure about the other teams though

29-08-2017, 07:21 PM

Blackburn bigger than Hibs? We had more season ticket holders than them while in the 2nd tier of Scottish Football.

29-08-2017, 07:24 PM

I always got the feeling Big Dave was the bait to get Slivka here. Look, we've got one of your team mates here already so you'll have a pal.

yonder1875
29-08-2017, 07:29 PM

Blackburn are certainly not a bigger club than Hibs. Don't be fooled by them being in the English premiership a few years ago.

29-08-2017, 07:29 PM

I think I heard Lennon say in an interview a couple of weeks ago he's been carrying a slight injury.

Firestarter
29-08-2017, 07:39 PM

Blackburn aren't bigger than Hibs 😂😂😂

Firestarter
29-08-2017, 07:40 PM
Back on topic I would love us to take a massive punt on him. Adam Rooney I keep hearing though to conclude transfer activities.

29-08-2017, 07:50 PM

I am sure this money we receive has to be spent in youth development and can't just be spent on general upkeep or transfers.

29-08-2017, 08:02 PM
Blackburn aren't bigger than Hibs 😂😂😂

Ken, no even won a big cup since 1929 :greengrin

But I guess maybe I overestimate the size of English clubs sometimes with all the money and media attention surrounding them

29-08-2017, 08:06 PM
He's very impressive, can score every kind of goal. It would be a big statement of intent.

29-08-2017, 08:25 PM
Nut stop it. It'd be impossible to pick a team!!

Would be absolutely fantastic business if we somehow got this deal done

I'm all ready over the moon with our dealings this summer if we are finished. If SJM goes then 2 will come in imo

29-08-2017, 09:56 PM
The transfer window shuts on Thursday ...... Sell McGinn for at the barest minimum two million quid and get Moult and possibly Henderson in all within two days .... nae chance :bitchy:

29-08-2017, 11:00 PM
Sell McGinn and bring in nobody. Meltdown

29-08-2017, 11:07 PM
I am sure this money we receive has to be spent in youth development and can't just be spent on general upkeep or transfers.

If that's the case then presumably the SFA will be keeping a very close eye on exactly what Rangers and Hearts do with their share .......................... :faf:

29-08-2017, 11:33 PM

There is greater need for transparency on spending. This is why the Budgies stand will feature the glass curtain. The smoke and mirrors will be in place shortly now Potter has been appointed.

30-08-2017, 05:10 AM
Given we have Stokes, am I wrong to think we would be better suited to Adam Rooney than we would Moult?

30-08-2017, 07:10 AM
By the way McInnes was talking at the weekend, Rooney is still in his plans and staying at Pittodrie.

30-08-2017, 08:08 AM
Given we have Stokes, am I wrong to think we would be better suited to Adam Rooney than we would Moult?

They're fairly similar I thought? Both foxes in the box but moult also hits them from deeper?

30-08-2017, 12:05 PM
He will probably end up at the rangers, they are rumoured to be interested.

31-08-2017, 04:22 AM
Blackburn are certainly not a bigger club than Hibs. Don't be fooled by them being in the English premiership a few years ago.

They only won it ;)

31-08-2017, 05:13 AM
They only won it ;)

Aye back in 1995, 22 years ago.

31-08-2017, 05:54 AM
We have an Everest sized mountain to climb to sign him by Thursday.

31-08-2017, 06:08 AM

Not really any different than trying to sign anyone by then.

31-08-2017, 07:50 AM
He will probably end up at the rangers, they are rumoured to be interested.

Think they just signed another striker?

31-08-2017, 07:58 AM

That is going to go over the heads of everyone under 45

31-08-2017, 08:05 AM

Fit the best

31-08-2017, 08:29 AM
Sun saying today that Moult will be staying (read in the BBC's Scottish gossip column)