View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs vs Hamilton

19-08-2017, 12:50 PM
Any team news yet, hopefully Lennon can play the same 11 as last week and get another 3 points.

Weather looks a bit windy but so far no rain yet.

Don't think this will be a easy game for us but i hope for a 2-1 win for the Hibs.

19-08-2017, 12:54 PM
Heading down for my first game in a while, assume I will get a ticket no problem?

19-08-2017, 12:56 PM
Good luck to the team, fantastic support, don't think we have been on this high for a while.

hibs#1
19-08-2017, 12:57 PM
3-5-2 again.team news is on Twitter.

blaikie
Slivka on the bench and Swanson starts.

STARTING XI | Marciano, Ambrose, McGregor, Hanlon, Whittaker, McGinn, McGeouch, Swanson, Stevenson, S Murray, Stokes.

SUBS | Laidlaw, Gray, Fontaine, Slivka, F Murray, Barker, Matulevicius

19-08-2017, 12:59 PM
Dropping Slivka for Swanson? Bit harsh on Slivka!

19-08-2017, 12:59 PM
Slivka on the bench is very odd.

19-08-2017, 01:00 PM
STARTING XI | Marciano, Ambrose, McGregor, Hanlon, Whittaker, McGinn, McGeouch, Swanson, Stevenson, S Murray, Stokes.

SUBS | Laidlaw, Gray, Fontaine, Slivka, F Murray, Barker, MatuleviciusI'm surprised to see Slivka miss out.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

Jim_in_Canada
19-08-2017, 01:00 PM
The Hibs team tweet shows two captains, Hanlon & McGregor - what if one calls heads and the other tails ?

19-08-2017, 01:07 PM
The Hibs team tweet shows two captains, Hanlon & McGregor - what if one calls heads and the other tails ?

The team is twice as good now so needs 2

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

WellingtonHibby
19-08-2017, 01:10 PM
SDG seems to be firmly down the pecking order now too

Souter96Mac
19-08-2017, 01:12 PM
Surprised to see slivka on the bench, but still a strong team and bench!

19-08-2017, 01:13 PM
Wonder what the reasoning behind dropping slivka is? Maybe doesn't see the need for a holding player

19-08-2017, 01:14 PM
SDG seems to be firmly down the pecking order now too

Would far prefer DG to SW. Much better defender. Hopefully he will get chances soon.

19-08-2017, 01:19 PM
Would far prefer DG to SW. Much better defender. Hopefully he will get chances soon.It's a long season am sure SDG Fonts and others will get there chance guys...

hibbydog
19-08-2017, 01:20 PM
Can we no move Whittaker to left back and put SDG in at right back?

19-08-2017, 01:21 PM
Would far prefer DG to SW. Much better defender. Hopefully he will get chances soon.

DG is no wing back though, his crossing and passing range is weaker than SW so if playing 3 at thw back SW makes perfect sense

19-08-2017, 01:23 PM
A very attacking team that is, really looking forward to today!

why? stevenson has done nothing to deserve getting dropped

Whittaker was a huge signing for us and always going to play every week. Love David Gray but I feel Whittaker is the better all round player and offers more.

19-08-2017, 01:25 PM
Glad we're going 3-5-2 again. Need more game time in this formation for everyone to get used to it.

hibbydog
19-08-2017, 01:25 PM
why? stevenson has done nothing to deserve getting dropped

I think Whittaker is definitely the better player. But if he's better at left back
I'm not sure.....

Perhaps I'm trying too hard to get our cup final hero into the starting XI

19-08-2017, 01:36 PM

SUBS | Laidlaw, Gray, Fontaine, Slivka, F Murray, Barker, Matulevicius

Looks a good solid team with plenty of options on the bench.

19-08-2017, 01:38 PM
Attacking side out today....expect both Slivka and Barker to get a run at some point,...Barker to come on near the end and run them ragged!

19-08-2017, 01:46 PM
Would have preferred Vicky to start as Hamilton will be up for a battle and Swanson to come on if needed but both good players. Nice selection quandary to have

19-08-2017, 01:49 PM
Whittaker was a huge signing for us and always going to play every week. Love David Gray but I feel Whittaker is the better all round player and offers more.

Disagree with that but hope he has a stormer today. GGTTH

Firestarter
19-08-2017, 01:50 PM
Fantastic team! On paper, Whitty is 100% the correct call against Hamilton. Lets do them! :gwa:

19-08-2017, 01:53 PM

Why do that? Surely we play our best 11. SDG will always have a special place in our hearts but he can't just play because of that. Whitty is the better all round player and Lewis doesn't deserve dropped.

19-08-2017, 01:53 PM
Not making it down, back is killing me. Is it on the radio?

19-08-2017, 02:00 PM
Wasn't aware, but according to the BBC match preview stats, we've never won our first 3 matches in the top league

NZ Green
19-08-2017, 02:01 PM
Wasn't aware, but according to the BBC match preview stats, we've never won our first 3 matches in the top league
saw that too, quite amazing really

19-08-2017, 02:06 PM

No doubt the SFA will decide we've broken some important rule, that only The Rangers are allowed to break, and we'll be deducted points.

19-08-2017, 02:06 PM
saw that too, quite amazing really

Today would be a good day for ending it :greengrin

19-08-2017, 02:10 PM

Makes 2 of us sadly

Ryan69
19-08-2017, 02:10 PM
I give it half an hour till jambokickback goes to lockdown...lol

Off the bar
19-08-2017, 02:14 PM
Stokes dropping deep to get on the ball

TheReg!
19-08-2017, 02:15 PM
How we playing?, I'm out in Bulgaria 👍🏻

Off the bar
19-08-2017, 02:16 PM
How we playing, out in Bulgaria 👍🏻

Seeing most of the ball Hamilton looking well organised. One shot from wee Lewis miles over the bar.

NZ Green
19-08-2017, 02:16 PM
How we playing, out in Bulgaria 👍🏻
Knocking the ball about pretty well, Hamilton defence is pretty solid just now though.

19-08-2017, 02:19 PM
Why do we need 3 at the back against Hamilton

Silky
19-08-2017, 02:21 PM
Why do we need 3 at the back against Hamilton

One less defender than a back 4? More attacking?

19-08-2017, 02:22 PM
1-0 Dons

19-08-2017, 02:22 PM

Makes 2 of us sadly

Hibs radio

19-08-2017, 02:23 PM
Thomas scythes down Stokes and not even a finger wag. Scottish football, where thugs thrive.

19-08-2017, 02:24 PM
Jees we no scored yet

NZ Green
19-08-2017, 02:25 PM
Murray heads wide from a corner

19-08-2017, 02:27 PM
Started slowly again. Starting to liven up now

Silky
19-08-2017, 02:30 PM
Hamilton parking the bus?

19-08-2017, 02:33 PM
Teams know they can get a draw against us by parking the bus, lets hope we have learned from last season.

19-08-2017, 02:33 PM
Hamilton parking the bus?

Not according to the BBC stats last time I checked they had more shots 3-1

19-08-2017, 02:34 PM
only 1 on target though

19-08-2017, 02:35 PM
Pretty pish so far tbh, they're working and closing a lot more than we are.

19-08-2017, 02:35 PM
Poor first 30 minutes. Look a half a yard short both in thought and pace. Hamilton defending very well

19-08-2017, 02:38 PM
C'mon Hibs lets get this first goal :flag:

Off the bar
19-08-2017, 02:40 PM
Looking better now, few corners and bit of pressure

Off the bar
19-08-2017, 02:45 PM
Clear foul on Swanson

Off the bar
19-08-2017, 02:46 PM
Mistake by Ambrose allows Crawford through, good save by rocky

19-08-2017, 02:47 PM
Frustrating first half.

19-08-2017, 02:47 PM
Doesn't sound like much has happened first half!

19-08-2017, 02:48 PM
Pretty mince but a few good shots. We look slightly off the pace.

19-08-2017, 02:49 PM
Really frustrating we r far too slow in the build up it's been like a rerun of many a championship match of last 3 years so far

19-08-2017, 02:50 PM
Would get Slivka on for Swanson

19-08-2017, 02:50 PM
Stokes has been mince. Throw Ambrose into that too. Not good enough.

19-08-2017, 02:51 PM
Hamilton pressing hard and closing down. I doubt they will be able to sustain that level. Some poor passing from hibs moxed with some very good.
looks like hamilton trying to hit on break with long balls.
mcgeough amence as usual

19-08-2017, 02:51 PM
Not great so far. Stiokes pretty ineffective and we're missing Boyle badly imo. Would like to see Barker get a run too. Moving to four at the back could be an option and I'd take Ambrose off. A few close things from him today which haven't cost us - yet.

19-08-2017, 02:52 PM
Struggled last season to break down stuffy teams. In the top flight there Will be teams that do that even better .

This is what to expect from teams just looking to stay in the Premiership!

The problem is they are sharper than lower league teams and will take any chances that come their way.

We have got to turn our chances into goals!!!

I'd also switch to a back four. Stick Slivka on for Ambrose.

Really missing Boyle. He offers us such pace and directness when we get forward. A couple of times today when we were trying to break quickly things just ran out of steam a bit.

We still have a very good chance of winning this game but Hamilton are also looking dangerous on the break.

Hamilton are doing the right thing against us - pressing high and not letting us get any time on the ball.

19-08-2017, 02:54 PM
Cracking save by Rocky there. We really need to take a centre half off.

Mr Grieves
We're playing poorly. Defence has looked shaky while in attack the final ball has been crap. We just don't look up for it.

Stokes has been mince. Throw Ambrose into that too. Not good enough.

I wouldn't say Stokes has been mince but he's picking the ball up very deep most of the time and looks pretty wasted back there.

We need him staying in and around the box where he's a genuine threat.

19-08-2017, 02:55 PM
Would get Slivka on for Swanson

I would say Danny has been our best attacking player

19-08-2017, 02:56 PM
I wouldn't say Stokes has been mince but he's picking the ball up very deep most of the time and looks pretty wasted back there.

We need him staying in and around the box where he's a genuine threat.

Stokes is being very closely man-marked and he's not finding enough space to be effective.

It's not quite clicked for us yet, but I thought we finished the half quite well and looked most likely to get a goal.

19-08-2017, 02:57 PM
Stokes and Swanson off for me. Slivka and big Dave on.

19-08-2017, 02:58 PM
How we playing?, I'm out in Bulgaria 👍🏻

On a balcony shedding tears?

19-08-2017, 02:58 PM
I would say Danny has been our best attacking player

Should have kept the same team as last week imo

euro Hibby
19-08-2017, 02:59 PM
Mgeough and Hanlon doing well , just need to be patient. Poor opening 20 minutes, need to pick up 2nd half.

19-08-2017, 03:01 PM
Would be disappointing not to pick up three points at home against Hamilton to follow up the win at Ibrox, but there was always a good chance this was going to be a stuffy challenge. Come on Hibs, nick a goal and we'll see the confidence build.

19-08-2017, 03:03 PM
Industrious first half from Hibs, but too little made of our possession - slack passing, poor cohesion at times ... no doubt Lennon will have them step things up for this half ...

19-08-2017, 03:04 PM
Struggling out wide first half, Hamilton defending well. Still fancy us to win this.

19-08-2017, 03:04 PM
Stokes is being very closely man-marked and he's not finding enough space to be effective.

It's not quite clicked for us yet, but I thought we finished the half quite well and looked most likely to get a goal.

Apart from when efe decided.to go diving in to try and get a ball he was always struggling to get ...need.to up the pace of what we are doing ...sloppy performance so far ..

19-08-2017, 03:07 PM
I'd get a centre-back off for big Davy or Barker and go 4-3-3.

19-08-2017, 03:08 PM

If there's only going to be one clear cut chance you would want Stokes on it.

Off the bar
19-08-2017, 03:08 PM
I'd get a centre-back off for big Davy or Barker and go 4-3-3.

Time to change the shape, not happening at the moment

gogsy23
19-08-2017, 03:09 PM
Pen 1 0 acccies

Off the bar
Penalty Hamilton

NZ Green
Penalty Hamilton

Hanlon gifts them a penalty ...

19-08-2017, 03:10 PM
Lennon needs to change it up

How ****ing sloppy are we FFS

It was McGregor who took the player down.

Plenty time left.

They will Defo park the bus now.

Wee change coming up I would suspect!

Definite penalty, silly challenge. Let's see what we are made off. Lennon needs to make a change as the team hasn't played well and the shape not really working

19-08-2017, 03:11 PM
No movement at all, static at the moment from Hibs

coco22
19-08-2017, 03:12 PM
3rd league game in row conceded first...need to find the spark again here!

Hibs letting me down for £300 - don't bet on your own team.

Not playing Slivka was a brutal decision. We've also been powder puff going forward.

Beat Rangers and let the performance down today. Need to up it last 30 mins.

19-08-2017, 03:13 PM
Not a great deal has worked so far. Change of formation needed rather than just a subbie.

Off the bar
19-08-2017, 03:13 PM
Barker coming on for Swanson

19-08-2017, 03:14 PM
Not playing Slivka was a brutal decision. We've also been powder puff going forward.

Beat Rangers and let the performance down today. Need to up it last 30 mins.

Think we will sort it, but how many times have we done that!

19-08-2017, 03:15 PM
Beating rangers then losing today is typical hibs. How many times I've seen this happen [emoji848]

19-08-2017, 03:16 PM
Plenty time but I'd feel a little more confident if Gray was on. It's time like this when his ability to spur a team on as a captain comes to the fore.

Off the bar
19-08-2017, 03:16 PM
Dundee equalise against the sheep

Off the bar
19-08-2017, 03:20 PM
Slivka for McGregor, change of shape that was needed

Anything happening at all?

Missing the game today so commenting in ignorance re today game specifically but leaving Slivka out is baffling to me. Our midfield 3 were fantastic last week and I'm not sure why there was a need to tinker with it.

19-08-2017, 03:21 PM
Hamilton all over us.

We won't lose this.

No feeling too chuffed noo

Oranje39
19-08-2017, 03:22 PM
Don't understand the decision to drop Slivka either, but time yet.

19-08-2017, 03:23 PM
Missing the game today so commenting in ignorance re today game specifically but leaving Slivka out is baffling to me. Our midfield 3 were fantastic last week and I'm not sure why there was a need to tinker with it.

Completely baffling decision

19-08-2017, 03:24 PM
this is poor! cmon Hibs!

19-08-2017, 03:24 PM
We won't lose this.

i hope your right!

19-08-2017, 03:25 PM
We won't lose this.
You still on the morphine:greengrin

19-08-2017, 03:26 PM
i hope your right!

If he's no then we should all go round his house and go radge

Woeful. Hanlon gives away a Pen and now a mistake leading to a goal.

Hibs have been honking.

gogsy23
2 0 accies poor again

2-0 Hanlon mistake

Barker doing much?

High-On-Hibs
:fuming:

Shambles

Wonder why Lennon felt he needed to drop Slivka today. Swanson for me should have stayed on the bench unless Slivka wasn't 100%. But from sound of things it's backfired and Hibs not anywhere near good enough.

WillowbraeHibby
i hope your right!

Hibs... Finished the day.... :(

We have been all over the place this 2nd half.

19-08-2017, 03:27 PM
FFS 2-0 Accies very poor today, we're not winning this one :rolleyes:

Barker doing much?

Chasing his tail.

Game over by the sounds of it

Deary me from ecstasy to agony.:rolleyes:

Hamilton get gifts from us too often

19-08-2017, 03:28 PM
Shocking today. Nowhere near good enough.

Off the bar
So frustrating

Wake up call for Hibs. Hope Lennon absolutely chews through them

Been second to everything today.

Mr Grieves
They're deservedly ahead here, so many poor performers for us.

19-08-2017, 03:29 PM
Same old Hibs. Seen it countless times before.

Very strange considering our start to the season.

If he's no then we should all go round his house and go radge

looks like we will be doing that lol

They're deservedly ahead here, so many poor performers for us.

More a case of how bad we are, as opposed to them being any special.

coco22
Deary me from ecstasy to agony.:rolleyes:

The Hibs rollercoaster trundles on...frustrating but someone was going to stop us in our tracks at some point.

19-08-2017, 03:30 PM
We have to learn from this. Like a boxer who doesn't want to land the first punch.

We've done nothing to deserve anything from this, absolute shambles of a performance.

https://u3.photofunia.com/1/results/I/Q/IQE8M9nrAtgVExEjINKsyQ_r.jpg

hopefully this result gives hibs a wake up call

I'm sure the media hype us deliberately just to jinx us.... this morning they were crowing about out strongest team in years and how good a side we are... tomorrow they will be saying we still have the same frailties as before

19-08-2017, 03:31 PM
looks like we will be doing that lol

Im going to wee through his letter box

19-08-2017, 03:32 PM
All about desire and work rate today - Hibs lacking in both.

Deserved Hamilton win purely for their fantastic attitude to the game today.

High-On-Hibs
19-08-2017, 03:32 PM
Is there some kind of sacred rule that prevents us from winning our first 3 top league games in a row? :dunno:

Off the bar
19-08-2017, 03:33 PM
Lots of rubbish on the pitch, some litter blowing around as well.

19-08-2017, 03:34 PM
This is rank rotten, I've not seen them as bad in a long while, slow, ponderous and no energy, total pish.

19-08-2017, 03:35 PM
Refs been poor too. Some very odd decisions and letting them waste as much time as they like

How is it that we can go from playing so well in the past two games to being so poor today?

Blackfordhibby
That's the beauty o' supporting Hibs. Things like this just don't shock us anymore. Disappoint yes.... shock no.

Indeed

I'm sure the media hype us deliberately just to jinx us.... this morning they were crowing about out strongest team in years and how good a side we are... tomorrow they will be saying we still have the same frailties as before

So will we!

Morganleith
19-08-2017, 03:36 PM
hopefully this result gives hibs a wake up call

Gives us all a wake up call.

19-08-2017, 03:37 PM
Oh well. Looks like our lads will need to learn how to deal with the defensive set-ups, which after this game, half the teams will adopt with relish. Maybe should have the big Matuvelicius on for this kind of game?

Still thinking 2-2 could be a possibility..

19-08-2017, 03:38 PM
This is a master stroke from Lennon.

We've been in danger of losing our boo boy and bed wetter support since July.

This will welcome them right back into the fold. We're proud of our inclusive culture after all.

19-08-2017, 03:38 PM
Horrendous result.

19-08-2017, 03:39 PM
Thought we'd be solid at the back this season but we've given away five soft goals in three league games now.

This is a master stroke from Lennon.

We've been in danger of losing our boo boy and bed wetter support since July.

This will welcome them right back into the fold. We're proud of our inclusive culture after all.

There is no space for them anymore. Could have done with just winning this game..:rolleyes:

Sorry to say, but this is the bump you get when you think it will be easy in this league.

A win at Ibrox, and were world beaters, lose today and we defeatists.

Just enjoy it for what it is, the Premiership roller coaster is now up and running!!!!

Hanlons been our best player if you ignore the two goals. Strange game.

Still thinking 2-2 could be a possibility..

No chance of that happening, Hibs are just so poor. We get a goal we'll be lucky

19-08-2017, 03:40 PM
Piss poor performance infront of a good attendance [emoji85] credit to Hamilton much better team today sadly

Thought we'd be solid at the back this season but we've given away five soft goals in three league games now.

The back is where Ive got my concerns when we are playing counterattacking teams.

Off the bar
Sheep 2-1 up a double from May

19-08-2017, 03:43 PM
No point beating gers at ibrox only to lose home against Hamilton. Pish

19-08-2017, 03:44 PM
Our defence so far this season has been very weak. Absolute shambles today. 0-3 Hamilton.

19-08-2017, 03:45 PM
This is hard to believe we could be so bad after recent week 3-0 to Hamilton

Played off the park 2nd half. Can't think of a single shot on target for Hibs.

****ing shambles!

19-08-2017, 03:46 PM
0-3 [emoji85]

What the ****

Hibsed it?

Off the bar
Ooft that's been utter utter **** today, plan A didn't work and we've been chaotic since the change of shape

19-08-2017, 03:47 PM
We've been absolutely horendous today. Rocket and move on.

Wrong team, embarrassing 2nd half performance. Massive reality check.

Pathetic

Goal of the season as far as the BBC commentator is concerned. Barcelona type goal apparently.

Wake up call ****ing needed. Losing 3-0 to Hamilton at home is a joke.

19-08-2017, 03:48 PM
Hamilton have been excellent - first half, superb work rate and defensively sound. Second half straight out of the blocks with extra belief.

Very good showing from the away side so credit where it's merited. Impressive.

I could maybe accept a 1-0, but 3 at home against this opposition is disgraceful

DTS
Absolute disgrace. I don't care if we won at ibrox, not beating Hamilton at home is unnaceptable never mind being played off the park and losing 3-1. We will get nowhere near top 3/4 if we can't put away teams at home

19-08-2017, 03:49 PM
Team didn't turn up. Disappointing but not wholly unexpected. Need to put this behind this and go again.

19-08-2017, 03:49 PM
Ouch ouch ouch. We've been absolutely flattened by an average side here. Oh well, a month or so of thinking Hibs were a really good team is better than nothing!

Interesting week in store for the squad.

OxoHibby
19-08-2017, 03:50 PM
No point beating gers at ibrox only to lose home against Hamilton. Pish

This the voice of realness

Pumped. To a man we were a disgrace

Goal of the season as far as the BBC commentator is concerned. Barcelona type goal apparently.

To be fair it was class but our defence let them play about 5 passes in and about the 10 yard mark - drag backs and all... 😏

Bobo
Pathetic from start to finish, thought they could just turn up and got horses from probably the worst team in the SPL

Our defence is a shambles and we take the only decent defender off it's laughable. Pish poor performance we need to learn quickly from this and move on.

Performance today was totally unacceptable. ****in woeful!!

I could maybe accept a 1-0, but 3 at home against this opposition is disgraceful

There are plenty of this type of opposition in this league(Ross County) we have to learn fast, and take our chances when they come!!!

19-08-2017, 03:51 PM
Comeback's on

NZ Green
19-08-2017, 03:52 PM
well at least our goal difference has improved.

TheReg!
19-08-2017, 03:53 PM
Who scored for us?

Stokes

euro Hibby
a few questions answered today ....feet back on the ground...

Overall a well-deserved victory for a decent Hamilton TEAM - we were poor all over the park, but particularly in defence - may be a good lesson for the team at this early stage of the season: no point winning in Glasgow if you slip up at home -

19-08-2017, 03:54 PM
Absolute disgrace. I don't care if we won at ibrox, not beating Hamilton at home is unnaceptable never mind being played off the park and losing 3-0. We will get nowhere near top 3/4 if we can't put away teams at home

We're only 3 games in mate, calm down buddy. Did Aberdeen not lose to Saintees 5-1 at home a couple of seasons ago - finished second ? You have to credit Hamilton, excellent both halves - countered well and thoroughly deserved the 3 points. Games like this will happen this season I think, better opposition and teams that defend a whole lot better than in the Championship.

We go again :aok:

19-08-2017, 03:54 PM
Reminds me of the loss to St Mirren last year.

19-08-2017, 03:56 PM
Ambrose needs dropped. Urgently. So does Whittaker.

19-08-2017, 03:56 PM
We played well at first but did not win the physical battle. Our defense gifted them 2 goals with the stupid tackle at the edge of the box and the stupid pass to a Hamilton player on the edge of the box. Without those goals we would probably have won the game. On the up side, Barker is a player.

19-08-2017, 04:00 PM
We're only 3 games in mate, calm down buddy. Did Aberdeen not lose to Saintees 5-1 at home a couple of seasons ago - finished second ? You have to credit Hamilton, excellent both halves - countered well and thoroughly deserved the 3 points. Games like this will happen this season I think, better opposition and teams that defend a whole lot better than in the Championship.

We go again :aok:

Games like this can't be accepted and they should rightly be viewed as a disgrace. Aberdeen maybe bounced back from a terrible result but i bet they viewed the result as unacceptable. The big test now is how we react in our next game. I wonder if the players took today for granted as well

Mr Grieves
19-08-2017, 04:00 PM
Awful. Couldn't get the basics right today, totally outplayed and outfought by Hamilton who had their game plan spot on. Maybe Lennon should have been more focused on the preparation for this match rather than what happened at Ibrox.

19-08-2017, 04:02 PM

Whittaker got turned inside out a couple of times at ibrox last week and IMO seems off the pace. The good thing this season is we have a stronger squad so players can get dropped and we have a good replacement ready to try and cement a spot.

19-08-2017, 04:02 PM
We played well at first but did not win the physical battle. Our defense gifted them 2 goals with the stupid tackle at the edge of the box and the stupid pass to a Hamilton player on the edge of the box. Without those goals we would probably have won the game. On the up side, Barker is a player.

Whole back four looked ragged - Paul Hanlon knows he gifted the 2 goals but he'll get his head up and move on.

Strange Lennon changed the first 11 and dropped Slivka - think that was wrong with hindsight. Good early season wake up call which all sides need at times.

Couple of things irked me today - corners (defending and attacking) - we clearly don't work hard enough on that side of the game as we never appear to fully utilise our height advantages against sides. And tempo from kick off - we really need to press first 5 minutes and set the tone for the game. I'm not talking about being reckless or headless chickens, but getting the ball quickly into the opposition half and into the box. We are far too relaxed and slow first 10 minutes in games and it allows away sides a chance to compose themselves.

19-08-2017, 04:04 PM

Good to hear Barker looks good. He wont be impressed by us though!! I feel Bartley would have been useful to have on but its if's and butt's. Just sounds like we lost our place second half.

Vexing... :shotdowni

19-08-2017, 04:06 PM
Games like this can't be accepted and they should rightly be viewed as a disgrace. Aberdeen maybe bounced back from a terrible result but i bet they viewed the result as unacceptable. The big test now is how we react in our next game. I wonder if the players took today for granted as well

Don't think any defeat will be 'acceptable' but sometimes you have to concede that for whatever reason the away side is better on the day. Today work rate, desire and composure won the day for Hamilton. Fully deserved victory and could have been more.

Key word today was probably complacency - which you simply can't get away with in the top league. Have to work hard and close down quicker in this league. However we are sitting top 6 and it's a first defeat in a long time, so I'm willing to move on and look forward to a hungrier showing next week at Dens.

neilmachibs
19-08-2017, 04:15 PM

Jesus man chill the **** out! There's many more things in life that are a disgrace. Spit the foam out your mouth and take a few deep breaths. YES it can be accepted, it's 22 guys playing a game of sport, its acceptable that we might end up on the losing side from time to time. You're gonna have to accept this I'm afraid.

19-08-2017, 04:17 PM

No they don't.

Nemo
19-08-2017, 04:28 PM
I think we'll be fine, wake-up call for a few players today

its now about how we respond, and i think we will

Well............ that was pi55, no other words can describe it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

There are three first teamers yet to impress me this season and they are Whitty, Swanson and Marciano.

alihibs1
19-08-2017, 04:31 PM
There are three first teamers yet to impress me this season and they are Whitty, Swanson and Marciano.What's Marciano done wrong?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Busy Bear
19-08-2017, 04:38 PM
What's Marciano done wrong?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
IMHO his distribution is poor. He just can't pick out one of our players from his kicks.

19-08-2017, 04:45 PM
Overall a well-deserved victory for a decent Hamilton TEAM - we were poor all over the park, but particularly in defence - may be a good lesson for the team at this early stage of the season: no point winning in Glasgow if you slip up at home -
Spot on

19-08-2017, 05:11 PM
IMHO his distribution is poor. He just can't pick out one of our players from his kicks.

Spilling shots, kicking out straight to a Hun last week, poor distribution and not great at corners.

Apart from that 10/10

-Jonesy-
19-08-2017, 05:13 PM
Rocky saved two certain goals today mind. Fingertip touch in the first half and pushed a rocket of a shot from point blank onto the bar in the second

19-08-2017, 05:21 PM
Any word from the gaffer yet?

19-08-2017, 05:27 PM
Jesus man chill the **** out! There's many more things in life that are a disgrace. Spit the foam out your mouth and take a few deep breaths. YES it can be accepted, it's 22 guys playing a game of sport, its acceptable that we might end up on the losing side from time to time. You're gonna have to accept this I'm afraid.

I am not freaking out here, the same way you seem to have a problem with people saying that today was unacceptable, I am saying that people shouldnt just brush these sort of results and performances off. We were honking today all over the park, good teams don't accept results like these, the managers and players of the best teams in the leagues would call today unacceptable, why shouldn't the fans? I am pretty sure Lennon will think today was shocking! Don't get me confused with people that fly off the handle and call for managers to be sacked etc, I am in support of Lennon and this team but at the same time I can say that today was terrible and that these results shouldn't happen particularly with that performance.

19-08-2017, 05:28 PM
There are three first teamers yet to impress me this season and they are Whitty, Swanson and Marciano.

Harsh on Marcianno, he didn't do anything wrong. Can't blame him for any of the goals.

19-08-2017, 05:30 PM
Harsh on Marcianno, he didn't do anything wrong. Can't blame him for any of the goals.

Dont think he is blaming him, think he is referring to his distribution etc.

19-08-2017, 05:36 PM
Abysmal defensive performance; in fact a slapdash attitude went right through the team. That second half was the worst in ages.

Credit to Accies, they were worthy winners. They have a tiny budget but continue fighting for their SPL status.

Wee Effen Bee
19-08-2017, 05:43 PM
I hate this board sometimes. I know it can be down frustration and maybe having too high expectations, but do some people only come on H.net when we screw up? Funny how certain players can be picked out for criticism/abuse whereas others appear immune. We were poor all over the park - that can mean it was a mental thing as it is highly unlikely we would have so many players off form on exactly the same day. Maybe we took a win for granted but it can be a thin line between being confident about your abilities and the ole' hubris felly.
Yes we were poor today but Hamilton should be given the praise they deserve and the loss shouldn't be put down just us being guff the day! Hamilton were excellent - literally from the first minute to the last. Seeing their goalie and the CH, who was my MOTM, going radge 'cos they lost a consolation goal at the end, summed up their first class attitude today.

19-08-2017, 05:49 PM
Boyle was badly missed today. Barker, after a slightly nervy start, grew into the game and had a couple of promising runs. I think once he's up to speed fitness wise he could be a great player for us. Defence never looked comfortable today and I think today also showed the importance of big Marv against these counter attacking teams.

19-08-2017, 05:52 PM
Great 3rd goal by Hamilton, although it came as a result of sloppy play by us.

19-08-2017, 06:54 PM
All round shocker today - no-one with pass marks.

On the bright side, on that performance SJM will not be attracting any serious bids from anyone this transfer window. :greengrin

Hfcwilson3192
19-08-2017, 06:56 PM
Agree with this. Marcianos been bang average so far.

19-08-2017, 06:57 PM
What on earth has Marciano done wrong?

19-08-2017, 07:06 PM
Actually mental that folk are starting on Marciano...2 excellent saves today stopped it being worse.

19-08-2017, 07:06 PM
Not punching his weight?

I'll get ma coat.

khib70
19-08-2017, 07:51 PM
The first two seem to be (from listening to the gurning bedwetters who sit near me at ER) the chosen scapegoats amongst the damp duvet brigade so far this year, and you're clearly jumping on the bandwagon. Your analysis of Marciano implies you have a seat at ER where you can't see the Hibs goal. And I notice that the Untouchable Lewis Stevenson fails to get a mention, despite the fact he was utterly rank today. So far, so predictable/unoriginal.

neilmachibs
19-08-2017, 08:11 PM
I am not freaking out here, the same way you seem to have a problem with people saying that today was unacceptable, I am saying that people shouldnt just brush these sort of results and performances off. We were honking today all over the park, good teams don't accept results like these, the managers and players of the best teams in the leagues would call today unacceptable, why shouldn't the fans? I am pretty sure Lennon will think today was shocking! Don't get me confused with people that fly off the handle and call for managers to be sacked etc, I am in support of Lennon and this team but at the same time I can say that today was terrible and that these results shouldn't happen particularly with that performance.

Maybe tone down the rhetoric a bit man - I fully agree we were honking and terrible but **** happens in sport. You seriously saying you can't accept it?

19-08-2017, 08:50 PM
Went back to work when the 3rd went in, I was raging, disgraceful performance all over the park with not one player getting pass marks. The defence which was solid last season looks inept and all over the place, midfield was slow and ponderous with zero zip in their passes and lackadaisical in their attitude and Stokes/Murray were starved of any real decent but when they did get a chance it was squandered.

A complete wake up call and I hope Lennon went through them like a dose of salts as that performance is totally unacceptable.

19-08-2017, 08:56 PM
We missed a leader out on the pitch today, not one player grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck for us. I've heard mcginn being compared to scott brown but a massive difference being mcginn isn't a leader

19-08-2017, 11:11 PM
Maybe tone down the rhetoric a bit man - I fully agree we were honking and terrible but **** happens in sport. You seriously saying you can't accept it?

I am not ready to accept it as being ok. We need a mindset at the club that doesn't accept these types of results as being ok. It's all about how we deal with performances like this. If everyone at the club accepts it and says it was just a bad day at the office then we will never move up that level. do you think Neil Lennon accepts those types of results? Would you tell him to calm down and say that **** happens if he said today's result and performance was unacceptable?

coldingham hibs
20-08-2017, 06:20 AM
There is no doubt a number of players were off form and we seemed to struggle with the windy conditions more than Hamilton. Key for me now is that Lennon sits down and works out how Hamilton were tactically more astute on the day and effectively stopped our game.

whiskas
20-08-2017, 08:41 AM
People complaining about Marciano's distribution but I can't think of any cases yesterday where he got it wrong? Possibly a little predictable inheritance aimed at Whittaker more often than not but Whittaker was winning his aerial battle esp 1st half

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Hfcwilson3192
20-08-2017, 08:49 AM
I am not ready to accept it as being ok. We need a mindset at the club that doesn't accept these types of results as being ok. It's all about how we deal with performances like this. If everyone at the club accepts it and says it was just a bad day at the office then we will never move up that level. do you think Neil Lennon accepts those types of results? Would you tell him to calm down and say that **** happens if he said today's result and performance was unacceptable? spot on Dave mate I thought that pub team mindset had died but there's obviously still issues. Lenny would never accept that result at celtic so doubt he'll accept it here. IMO we still have some players in our team that still have that average mentality and until we are rid of them we'll never progress to where we should be. We should be in europe every season and challenging for third at the bare minimum.

20-08-2017, 08:58 AM
The first 30 minutes for me we were clearly getting nowhere with 5 defenders. Easy to say now but the atmosphere was flat. He could have changed to a four and chucked whitty in midfield. We could have played there all day and not scored with that original 11. For me Swanson is not effecting the play in behind the front two. I would rather stokes in there and Swanson wider.

06-09-2018, 06:14 PM
Was just taking a look back at the reaction to this game last September, and the frustrations and complaints that were aired were very similar to last weekends defeat at Livingston. Thankfully we didn’t see too many more performances like that and fingers crossed we’ll say the same at the end of this season.

07-09-2018, 09:27 AM
Was just taking a look back at the reaction to this game last September, and the frustrations and complaints that were aired were very similar to last weekends defeat at Livingston. Thankfully we didn’t see too many more performances like that and fingers crossed we’ll say the same at the end of this season.

Last week was our most abject performance since 4-1 away to Aberdeen last December - however, that was away to a quality side after a 6 day period in which we also played the OF, so this game is definitely more comparable to last Saturday.

As you say, hopefully it will all come together. I still firmly believe that we have plenty of genuine quality, and more than a bit of steel in our squad. When everyone is fit and available, we'll be far more formidable.