View Full Version : Brandon Barker

Lewiehas2
16-08-2017, 10:43 AM
Rumours going round we're in for him on a loan deal, anyone heard anything? Source EEN. Can't see this posted anywhere so feel free to move it.

16-08-2017, 10:44 AM
Rumours going round we're in for him on a loan deal, anyone heard anything? Source EEN. Can't see this posted anywhere so feel free to move it.

See the Summer Signings thread :aok:

16-08-2017, 11:13 AM
Cant say I know much about him apart from hes one of Citys youngesters and has played for various levels in Englands youngster set up. He wasnt a member of Englands successful under 20 squad in Korea this summer (think hes still eligable for that age group). Think hes a winger.

16-08-2017, 11:25 AM
https://www.facebook.com/connaire.wallace/videos/10213113849943939/

16-08-2017, 11:37 AM
See some naughty person , probably from here , has been on his Wiki page .:devil:

16-08-2017, 11:42 AM
Cant say I know much about him apart from hes one of Citys youngesters and has played for various levels in Englands youngster set up. He wasnt a member of Englands successful under 20 squad in Korea this summer (think hes still eligable for that age group). Think hes a winger.

The Manchester-born winger is well-regarded by youth academy coaches at the Etihad Stadium due to his pace and trickery and plays predominantly on the left-hand side.

Read more at: http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-close-to-loan-deal-for-man-city-winger-brandon-barker-1-4533348

Yes please .

the pie eater
16-08-2017, 11:42 AM

My Man City supporting mates down here say he is a tricky fast winger.

He is 21 in October.

16-08-2017, 11:46 AM
My Man City supporting mates down here say he is a tricky fast winger.

He is 21 in October.

My Edinburgh Evening News reading mates say the same:agree:

16-08-2017, 12:04 PM
https://www.thesun.co.uk/archives/football/1074563/man-city-whizkid-brandon-barker-robbed-of-designer-trainers-worth-20000/

16-08-2017, 12:17 PM
Looks a top prospect. This would complete the jigsaw nicely

16-08-2017, 12:17 PM
Sounds like an OK move, especially with Boyle out. Lennon's made some cracking signings this window so here's hoping this turns out to be another one:

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-close-to-loan-deal-for-man-city-winger-brandon-barker-1-4533348

16-08-2017, 12:24 PM
If he comes, let's hope he gets more protection than Duncan Watmore did.

ruthven_raiders
16-08-2017, 12:25 PM
Sounds like an OK move, especially with Boyle out. Lennon's made some cracking signings this window so here's hoping this turns out to be another one:

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-close-to-loan-deal-for-man-city-winger-brandon-barker-1-4533348

Haven't seen it posted, how long is Boyle out for?

16-08-2017, 12:28 PM

1 month but due to the international break he could only miss 2 games

hibees59
16-08-2017, 12:28 PM

It's been reported he's out for about a month.

16-08-2017, 12:38 PM
If he comes, let's hope he gets more protection than Duncan Watmore did.

I immediately thought of that

Scottish refs rarely protect the young and skillful player

Hibby soldier
16-08-2017, 02:51 PM
Hibs are closing in on the loan signing of Manchester City’s highly-rated winger Brandon Barker. The 20-year-old is expected to join the Easter Road club on a season-long loan from the English Premier League outfit, with Barker due to arrive in the Capital within the next 24 hours for further talks and a medical. Barker has made one appearance for City in a 5-1 FA Cup defeat by Chelsea in 2016 and spent last season on loan at Dutch club NAC Breda, where he won promotion to the Eredivisie. Barker also had a loan spell at Rotherham in season 2015/16. The Manchester-born winger is well-regarded by youth academy coaches at the Etihad Stadium due to his pace and trickery and plays predominantly on the left-hand side.

Read more at: http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-close-to-loan-deal-for-man-city-winger-brandon-barker-1-4533348

Crazyhorse
16-08-2017, 03:04 PM

I read something similar on here.

Robinho08
16-08-2017, 03:09 PM
We'd be barking mad if we missed out on this one. 🤔

16-08-2017, 03:24 PM

NO. NO. NO. DO NOT DO THIS. STOP THIS RIGHT NOW. NO. :soapbox:

16-08-2017, 03:35 PM

He could be the dog's boll**ks

hughio
16-08-2017, 03:50 PM
NO. NO. NO. DO NOT DO THIS. STOP THIS RIGHT NOW. NO. :soapbox:

Too late Sean:na na:

The punsters have been unleashed!

Firestarter
16-08-2017, 03:56 PM
We could have a gem on our hands if his attitude is right. :agree:

16-08-2017, 03:56 PM
Just so long as he isn't another Billy big baws who rocks up to training in a Porche he's banned from driving, flashes his 20K a week contract in front of our senior players even though he hasn't made a dent in his clubs first team plans yet and then turns out to be so useless I would gladly drive him back to Manchester myself.

The only club he's played anything like regularly for is NAC Breda on what appears to have been a season long loan .... but 22 appearances and 2 goals doesn't sound like he was a fixture in the team and 2 goals means he either doesn't score many in general or a lot of those 22 games were from off the bench.

I'm not against him coming, a decent left winger would be just the job .... but since our dabbling with the wonder kid from Chelsea I wont get excited about loan players from blue chip clubs like Chelsea and Man City until they have shown on the pitch that they can actually play in the manner you would expect from a guy on the books of a mega rich club.

Bah humbug !!!

Firestarter
16-08-2017, 04:11 PM
He was out injured at nac for a while.

16-08-2017, 04:15 PM
He could be the dog's boll**ks

I hope Neil's vetted him properly. We need to be sure of his pedigree. :devil:

high bee
16-08-2017, 04:55 PM
Too late Sean:na na:

The punsters have been unleashed!

Who let the punsters out? Who? Who? Who? Who?

16-08-2017, 04:57 PM
Bit of a howler

16-08-2017, 05:02 PM
People who make bad puns should be hounded off the forum IMO.

(Except for me, of course. :greengrin)

Did I mention that getting players from teams like Juventus and Manchester City seems to me to be a very encouraging pointer to the future?

I'll get ma coat.

16-08-2017, 05:14 PM
To quote Archie WOOOF.

16-08-2017, 05:16 PM
To quote Archie WOOOF.

I saw what you did there. :applause::applause::applause:

16-08-2017, 05:18 PM
FFS here come the children....

16-08-2017, 05:19 PM
Opens thread, reads thread, sees the worst puns imaginable, leaves thread.

Someone drop me a pm when the football chat returns. 👍🏼

16-08-2017, 05:20 PM
FFS here come the children....
Watch oot children - f*****g fun police in the Black Maria are here......

16-08-2017, 05:21 PM

Bolt then - nae cats allowed where the dogs are...... arf arf arf....

16-08-2017, 05:22 PM

It's not even slightly funny or clever.

16-08-2017, 05:22 PM
Bolt then - nae cats allowed where the dogs are...... arf arf arf....

Haha touché

16-08-2017, 05:24 PM
It's not even slightly funny or clever.

Bit like yourself then?

16-08-2017, 05:25 PM
Fun all I read is daft puns that my six year old could post.

Wise up
Go read something else then and stop whining at those that are having a laugh.

16-08-2017, 05:25 PM
Bit like yourself then?

Don't disagree but at least I know what humour is

16-08-2017, 05:27 PM
No you don't - you know what your version of humour is and everyone finds different things funny....

16-08-2017, 05:27 PM
No this is not your site. Post your pish elsewhere
Lol - you having a bad day?

16-08-2017, 05:28 PM

Got yez. :devil:

16-08-2017, 05:28 PM
No you don't - you know what your version of humour is and everyone finds different things funny....

Maybe you are right maybe I am.

Point is this is a thread about Brandon Barker signing for us. Not a thread for ***** humour.

TheGreenMan
16-08-2017, 05:30 PM

Don't worry, his bark is worse than his bite 😁

16-08-2017, 05:31 PM
Got yez. :devil:
S**t stirring old goat that ye are. Any more of that from you and I will set you up on a dinner date with Joe Harper.......

16-08-2017, 05:31 PM

Always a good day being a Hibs fan (or it is just now).

😉

Nothing more cringeworthy than these threads getting hijacked by puns. Just don't see how you can think it funny.

16-08-2017, 05:33 PM
He is going to be our number K9

16-08-2017, 05:33 PM

😉

Nothing more cringeworthy than these threads getting hijacked by puns. Just don't see how you can think it funny.

Are you serious?

16-08-2017, 05:34 PM

😉

It's just past noon here in Texas and the puns help pass the time working through excel spreadsheets - now that is miserable......

16-08-2017, 05:34 PM
Are you serious?

Deadly and I refuse to get hounded out.

16-08-2017, 05:35 PM
this thread has gone to the dogs, all i see is yap yap yap

16-08-2017, 05:36 PM

Unleash the dogs of war.

16-08-2017, 05:37 PM
Fastest case of Stockholm Syndrome I've ever seen.......

16-08-2017, 05:37 PM
It's just past noon here in Texas and the puns help pass the time working through excel spreadsheets - now that is miserable......So ...in Texas...would he be the dog's Lubbocks?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

16-08-2017, 05:38 PM
Fastest case of Stockholm Syndrome I've ever seen.......

😉

Okay I will leave you guys to your fun I'm off to scratch my baws on another thread.

16-08-2017, 05:38 PM
So ...in Texas...would he be the dog's Lubbocks?

That'll be the Day........

16-08-2017, 05:39 PM
So ...in Texas...would he be the dog's Lubbocks?

Maybe baby.

16-08-2017, 05:41 PM
😉

Okay I will leave you guys to your fun I'm off to scratch my baws on another thread.

Or do you mean lick them?

Seriously, is this happening or not?

16-08-2017, 05:44 PM

I tried but couldn't reach

16-08-2017, 05:44 PM
S**t stirring old goat that ye are. Any more of that from you and I will set you up on a dinner date with Joe Harper.......

That wee shih tzu? No thanks - he'd eat everything on the menu twice over and then try to get off with the waitress.

16-08-2017, 05:45 PM
He's not wrong. Every single signing thread on the main board gets turned into these awful puns made with zero creativity or humour. Doesn't happen on the PM board from what I've seen(at least nowhere near as often), so if ever there was a selling point for those who hate threads like this...

16-08-2017, 05:45 PM
He's not wrong. Every single signing thread on the main board gets turned into these awful puns made with zero creativity or humour. Doesn't happen on the PM board from what I've seen(at least nowhere near as often), so if ever there was a selling point for those who hate threads like this...

I'm sold....

16-08-2017, 05:46 PM
That wee shih tzu? No thanks - he'd eat everything on the menu twice over and then try to get off with the waitress.
They would have to make sure the keg was full as well.......

16-08-2017, 05:48 PM
I'm sold....
You and SRH - which one of you is Waldorf and who is Statler?

No they're too busy on the PMBoard carrying out strange rituals involving more subtle wordplay as befits their higher intellectual standing.And posting a load of p**h of course.

Why do you think we're doing it?

We're trying to persuade the tightwads to shell out a tenner (only a tenner, for pity's sake!) for the PM board to

SUPPORT OUR LOCAL FANSITE, GUYS!!!!!!

16-08-2017, 05:50 PM
Why do you think we're doing it?

We're trying to persuade the tightwads to shell out a tenner (only a tenner, for pity's sake!) for the PM board to

SUPPORT OUR LOCAL FANSITE, GUYS!!!!!!

That actually makes total sense 😁

16-08-2017, 05:51 PM
No they're too busy on the PMBoard carrying out strange rituals involving more subtle wordplay as befits their higher intellectual standing.And posting a load of p**h of course.

Oh, of course. This proletariat humour was never for me.

16-08-2017, 05:56 PM
That actually makes total sense 😁

Course it does.

It's all about community and sharing, you know. And being there for people.

As the old song says - "Pitbulls ... pitbulls who need pitbulls ... are the luckiest pitbulls in the world ..."

And now I think I really had better go. :offski:

16-08-2017, 05:57 PM
Course it does.

As the old song says - "Pitbulls ... pitbulls who need pitbulls ... are the luckiest pitbulls in the world ..."

Yeah, before you start getting Dod's abuse.

16-08-2017, 05:57 PM
This isn't about a football player anymore, is it?

🤔

16-08-2017, 05:58 PM
Course it does.

Not even a twitch...nope nothing 😉

Corn Beef Colin
16-08-2017, 06:08 PM
Fun all I read is daft puns that my six year old could post.

Wise up

Or at least open a pun thread where you can all have a crazy funny time together.

Just don't hijack threads.

Iighten up. Barkers on his way to Leash San Siro.

I hope he doesn't roll over during tough games.

Barkie will have fun trying to catch Squirrel in training.

Heel be a good player, like Johan Cruyffts.

16-08-2017, 06:12 PM
Iighten up. Barkers on his way to Leash San Siro.

I hope he doesn't roll over during tough games.

Barkie will have fun trying to catch Squirrel in training.

Heel be a good player, like Johan Cruyffts.

I bet you were giggling at your own "amazing cleaver humour" when you were typing this or am I barking up the wrong tree?

16-08-2017, 06:19 PM

Yes......if he can reach

16-08-2017, 06:21 PM
Yes......if he can reach

haha now that was funny!

:cb

Corn Beef Colin
16-08-2017, 06:26 PM
I bet you were giggling at your own "amazing cleaver humour" when you were typing this or am I barking up the wrong tree?

No you're correct. I was chasing my tail in excitement after posting that.

That bad, aye ? Should I go outside and roll in the biggest dog **** I can find after posting that ?

16-08-2017, 06:41 PM
Good to bring in another wide player ...for just the situation we find ourselves in with Boyle out !! If he is rated at Man City then that's a good indicator .. If he is anything like the rest of the signings ...that will more than do for me ...

16-08-2017, 06:54 PM
hopefully a good player, mental wages though, 10k per week and is no where near first team level

16-08-2017, 07:14 PM
Course it does.

I miss Jorge Claros. Lennon would have loved him.

16-08-2017, 07:27 PM
I would hope, given that Man Citeh are mega rich, that we are only willing to cover 5% of his wage.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

Wee Effen Bee
16-08-2017, 07:27 PM
This isn't about a football player anymore, is it?

🤔

Nut, it's turned into a right dug's dinner!🐩

16-08-2017, 07:32 PM
I miss Jorge Claros. Lennon would have loved him.

Probably in a minority but he didn't float my boat. One of the not so bad players in a woeful team.

16-08-2017, 07:43 PM

Someone drop me a pm when the football chat returns. [emoji1360]It really is getting tiresome [emoji85][emoji85][emoji85]

Fanforlife
16-08-2017, 07:46 PM
According to one of the fitba experts on sickbag Barker was good in his day,however his day was three years ago.Heard it all now, poor guy is finished at 20!😂

16-08-2017, 07:48 PM
It really is getting tiresome [emoji85][emoji85][emoji85]

I know, it's a rubbish feeling being dog-tired.

16-08-2017, 08:05 PM
It really is getting tiresome [emoji85][emoji85][emoji85]

Folk moaning about the puns is tiresome.

There's nothing new to say about the laddie signing or not, and there's not going to be anything more at 8.45pm, so it's not as if you even need to read the thread.

Folk are enjoying supporting Hibs just now and I think the puns are a symptom of that. There are never puns when things are going badly.

The forum is a microcosm of real(ish) life, and folk mess about in reality too. If everything was always serious, there wouldn't be half as many hibs.net members.

Lots of people post rubbish on here, but no-one moans. It just gets ignored.

If anything changes with the Barker situation, the puns will stop.

16-08-2017, 08:07 PM
Shows how class it is supporting Hibs just now when the only thing pissing people off is puns.

16-08-2017, 08:12 PM
According to one of the fitba experts on sickbag Barker was good in his day,however his day was three years ago.Heard it all now, poor guy is finished at 20!😂

Yes but you have to remember that said Yam has probably followed his career closely over the last three years

Fanforlife
16-08-2017, 08:14 PM
Yes but you have to remember that said Yam has probably followed his career closely over the last three years

16-08-2017, 08:16 PM
Folk moaning about the puns is tiresome.

There's nothing new to say about the laddie signing or not, and there's not going to be anything more at 8.45pm, so it's not as if you even need to read the thread.

Folk are enjoying supporting Hibs just now and I think the puns are a symptom of that. There are never puns when things are going badly.

The forum is a microcosm of real(ish) life, and folk mess about in reality too. If everything was always serious, there wouldn't be half as many hibs.net members.

Lots of people post rubbish on here, but no-one moans. It just gets ignored.

If anything changes with the Barker situation, the puns will stop.Not a massive moan was kinda tongue in cheek mate so calm doon a wee bit.

That said like many been working all day and come on the thread for updates on the day/signing and page after page of non-funny puns is a bit of a pain.

But was really a bit of a tongue in cheek comment nothing more ...life is good as a Hibee at moment so we need something to moan about

16-08-2017, 08:18 PM
He is going to be our number K9

This one made me laugh out loud

16-08-2017, 08:28 PM
Not a massive moan was kinda tongue in cheek mate so calm doon a wee bit.

That said like many been working all day and come on the thread for updates on the day/signing and page after page of non-funny puns is a bit of a pain.

But was really a bit of a tongue in cheek comment nothing more ...life is good as a Hibee at moment so we need something to moan about

I couldn't have been more calm.

Loads of stuff in here can be irritating. Endless stupid rumours, running "jokes" about £150k, Petrie or 5.00pm announcements and incessant :hyper smileys.

I'm just suggesting folk should chill about it all. :thumbsup:

16-08-2017, 08:31 PM
Im getting fed up with this..i came to read about a new player but so far I've read nothing but puns...its always the same......one person starts and the rest are like a dog with a bone

16-08-2017, 08:42 PM
If we're having to sign young lads from Man City the it doesn't say much for our current woof policy.

AltheHibby
16-08-2017, 09:08 PM
Can I join in at the tail end of this thread? 😎

16-08-2017, 09:12 PM
Im getting fed up with this..i came to read about a new player but so far I've read nothing but puns...its always the same......one person starts and the rest are like a dog with a bone[emoji122][emoji122]

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

proud_and_green
16-08-2017, 09:24 PM
Unleash the dogs of war.Cry havoc and let slip the dogs of war!

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk

16-08-2017, 09:25 PM
Not a massive moan was kinda tongue in cheek mate so calm doon a wee bit.

Some were funny!

16-08-2017, 09:28 PM

You deserve to be collared for that one.

Where will this all lead to?

ehf
16-08-2017, 09:31 PM
His girlfriend's a bonnie Lassie, apparently.

16-08-2017, 09:33 PM
What a load of woofle on this thread.

16-08-2017, 09:35 PM

Bona fide

16-08-2017, 09:37 PM
He's not just coming up for christmas it's for the season

16-08-2017, 09:38 PM
He seems to be highly thought of at Manchester City. We could certainly be doing with a player like this coming.

The only thing against him is his lack of experience. I'm sure Lennon will make the right decision.

SonOfDavidFrancey
16-08-2017, 10:15 PM
He seems to be highly thought of at Manchester City. We could certainly be doing with a player like this coming.

The only thing against him is his lack of experience. I'm sure Lennon will make the right decision.

I don't get it. Where's the pun?

16-08-2017, 10:30 PM

The EEN said that he came up today for a medical.

Lennon won't sign him unless he's happy with the lab report.

16-08-2017, 10:30 PM

She's a WAG.

https://www.funnypica.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/Funny-Dogs-Funny-Dog-Picture-27-FunnyPica.com_.jpg

16-08-2017, 10:43 PM
Shows how class it is supporting Hibs just now when the only thing pissing people off is puns.

And Huns...:greengrin

The_Sauz
16-08-2017, 10:59 PM

I don't have any mates, but if I did, they would probably say the same :confused:

Wat Dabney
16-08-2017, 11:09 PM

I heard she's a bit of a howler............:taxi

Mixu62
16-08-2017, 11:54 PM

"He's no finished he's only 20!"

17-08-2017, 12:03 AM
This lad looks a player. If Lennon can work his magic and get out of him what he has with Murray, McGeouch etc then we'll have a real crowd pleaser on our hands.

17-08-2017, 12:10 AM
His girlfriend's a bonnie Lassie, apparently.so's my wife, my daughter and my grandaughters. all in my eyes, but........why would we be interested in loaning a player who is earning 10k a week, yes a week? who also has some kind of training shoes obsession , so much so that he is prepared to buy them for £2000 a pair then shove them in the cupboard until he gets enough until he cant shut the door? we don't need his kind and I'd be glad if it falls through. End Of. pity about his auld man's 40k merc getting knocked though

therealgavmac
17-08-2017, 12:20 AM
The EEN said that he came up today for a medical.

Lennon won't sign him unless he's happy with the lab report.

Now this one is my favourite...... well done! :wink:

17-08-2017, 12:24 AM
"He's no finished he's only 20!"

:agree: .... and at the peke of his career.

17-08-2017, 12:26 AM
so's my wife, my daughter and my grandaughters. all in my eyes, but........why would we be interested in loaning a player who is earning 10k a week, yes a week? who also has some kind of training shoes obsession , so much so that he is prepared to buy them for £2000 a pair then shove them in the cupboard until he gets enough until he cant shut the door? we don't need his kind and I'd be glad if it falls through. End Of. pity about his auld man's 40k merc getting knocked though

I don't think being a collector of something makes it an obsession; it's just a hobby. Better spending his money on shoes than class As!

17-08-2017, 12:37 AM
I don't think being a collector of something makes it an obsession; it's just a hobby. Better spending his money on shoes than class As!that's not what they said about Ilenda Marcos. mind you, she did have 4 thousand pairs(that's 8k shoes) in her wardrobe. as for class As, what's that? my main point is that we don't need another wonderboy, a bit like the Chelsea kid that never kicked a ba'. Some kid coming into our league who is earning silly money, working for a team like ours just does not cut it for me.

17-08-2017, 12:42 AM
that's not what they said about Ilenda Marcos. mind you, she did have 4 thousand pairs(that's 8k shoes) in her wardrobe. as for class As, what's that? my main point is that we don't need another wonderboy, a bit like the Chelsea kid that never kicked a ba'. Some kid coming into our league who is earning silly money, working for a team like ours just does not cut it for me.
According to more than a few on here we also didn't need a ginger heided squad player who had found his level in the Championship........

17-08-2017, 12:51 AM
According to more than a few on here we also didn't need a ginger heided squad player who had found his level in the Championship........not me though:wink: no a bad swap for Keatings after all

scm70nyd1973
17-08-2017, 01:56 AM
Apologies in advance to those who don't like but - heard he can play in midfield too so could be a bit of a Retriever - might be a good pal of Fenton too (reference to deer chasing dug in park of course!). Sorry but couldn't resist !

17-08-2017, 01:59 AM
Apologies in advance to those who don't like but - heard he can play in midfield too so could be a bit of a Retriever - might be a good pal of Fenton too (reference to deer chasing dug in park of course!). Sorry but couldn't resist !
Away and bark at the moon ya bam.........

17-08-2017, 02:58 AM

😑

scm70nyd1973
17-08-2017, 05:20 AM

Actually I am now in the anti pun camp - I have been working from home and all day my Golden Retriever aka feching dug (at least for today) has been barking at the wee scabby dug next door - I am well pi**ed aff so I am - in fact to give you an idea of how bad it is I am almost as hacked off as I was when that wee scrote Wayne bloody Foster scored in the last minute against us in the cup - he should still be on his way down from Mitchell's boot !!!!

17-08-2017, 06:50 AM
Actually I am now in the anti pun camp - I have been working from home and all day my Golden Retriever aka feching dug (at least for today) has been barking at the wee scabby dug next door - I am well pi**ed aff so I am - in fact to give you an idea of how bad it is I am almost as hacked off as I was when that wee scrote Wayne bloody Foster scored in the last minute against us in the cup - he should still be on his way down from Mitchell's boot !!!!

Was it not Beaumont?

17-08-2017, 07:20 AM
Was it not Beaumont?

Aye it sure was. Remember it like it was yesterday

scm70nyd1973
17-08-2017, 07:22 AM
Was it not Beaumont?

Might've been - given that neither of the two defenders even tried to do a Neil Berry on Paul Wright type of tackle (not our style but I would have let it go just the once of course) the very least that one of them could've done was to push the blood stained dog turd type strip wearer over the fence - as you can see I am not bitter and I have mellowed over the years ! Last minute goals in the cup have been more acceptable these days !!

scm70nyd1973
17-08-2017, 07:24 AM
Also sincere apologies to Mitch if he is looking in - he was a great servant to our fine Club so he was.

scm70nyd1973
17-08-2017, 07:25 AM
Was Mitch not Miller's first signings or at least one of the first few - mind's gone.

17-08-2017, 07:31 AM
that's not what they said about Ilenda Marcos. mind you, she did have 4 thousand pairs(that's 8k shoes) in her wardrobe. as for class As, what's that? my main point is that we don't need another wonderboy, a bit like the Chelsea kid that never kicked a ba'. Some kid coming into our league who is earning silly money, working for a team like ours just does not cut it for me.

We took a young hungry player on loan from celtic who turned into a hero we all want back. Some loans work, some dont.

This guy has played 22 games in the second tier of Dutch football and the team he was in got promoted. Islam Feruz from Chelsea had a career littered with loans with 1 or 2 appearances, some cut short and him sent home due to his attitude. To compare them is ridiculous.

The guy may turn out to be tom kite, but by all accounts he is highly rated and unlike other loans we have had from down there he wont be playing in a crap team struggling with confidence. He will be coming into a team brimming with it, and playing some nice football. Maybe, just maybe, he will love it here. As with any signing its a gamble, and a relatively risk free one from out point of view.

17-08-2017, 07:47 AM
Was Mitch not Miller's first signings or at least one of the first few - mind's gone.

Yep, him Dougie Bell and Tam McIntyre in the space of a few days around christmas. I think the first game I saw them all play was a game we somehow drew 2-2 with the Yams where we should have put 7 or 8 past them.

scm70nyd1973
17-08-2017, 07:48 AM

scm70nyd1973
17-08-2017, 07:52 AM
Jeez oh - trigger happy here - yup I remember a treble signing - was it not at the end of the year - maybe 85 ? So if I am right Miller joined us during the season that the poppy thieves won the league and cup double - wait a minute my memory isnae that bad.

scm70nyd1973
17-08-2017, 07:56 AM
Yep, him Dougie Bell and Tam McIntyre in the space of a few days around christmas. I think the first game I saw them all play was a game we somehow drew 2-2 with the Yams where we should have put 7 or 8 past them.

Sorry I should've read the whole post - yeah I seem to remember driving through from Glasgow and hearing this on the car tranny at about this time - don't recall the 2-2 but I mustve been there .

17-08-2017, 08:02 AM
I just hope he comes from a good pedigree, and goes on to help us winalot.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

DirtyDeeds
17-08-2017, 08:07 AM
so's my wife, my daughter and my grandaughters. all in my eyes, but........why would we be interested in loaning a player who is earning 10k a week, yes a week? who also has some kind of training shoes obsession , so much so that he is prepared to buy them for £2000 a pair then shove them in the cupboard until he gets enough until he cant shut the door? we don't need his kind and I'd be glad if it falls through. End Of. pity about his auld man's 40k merc getting knocked though

You contribute some absolutely baffling nonsense when the wee small hours arrive. Young guy has a harmless interest in spending his money on a footwear collection, thus deserves to be immediately dismissed as a potential signing? He went on loan to the Dutch second tier last season and helped the team get promoted. Doesnt strike me as a 'fancy Dan' who thinks he's above doing the necessary to get experience to further his career. I assume Stokes and Boyle's recent criminal conviction makes them equally unworthy of a gig with us? Hoping the lad comes and tears it up, might put you back in your box for a bit. Absolute slavour.

17-08-2017, 08:43 AM
This thread has turned into a total dogs dinner

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

sean04
17-08-2017, 08:59 AM
Outrageous comment about no wanting the lad cos he makes good money and buys nice things. 99% of professional footballers who are making good money have expensive trainers, cars, watches, houses, clothes etc

17-08-2017, 09:00 AM
This thread has turned into a total dogs dinner

I'd say it was a cat-astrophe, but I'd get Huckleberry-ed.

Tobias Funke
17-08-2017, 09:54 AM

Have you ever considered quitting alcohol?

17-08-2017, 09:56 AM
Is he from Staffordshire? Or is that just bull?

17-08-2017, 10:01 AM
Hopefully we can get this one over the line today - wonder what the chances would be of seeing him get 15/20 minutes on Saturday?

17-08-2017, 11:09 AM
Sorry I should've read the whole post - yeah I seem to remember driving through from Glasgow and hearing this on the car tranny at about this time - don't recall the 2-2 but I mustve been there .

Dougie Bell and Mickey Weir tore them apart but as was the way under Lexo in derby matches we failed to get the result we deserved.

17-08-2017, 11:22 AM
You contribute some absolutely baffling nonsense when the wee small hours arrive. Young guy has a harmless interest in spending his money on a footwear collection, thus deserves to be immediately dismissed as a potential signing? He went on loan to the Dutch second tier last season and helped the team get promoted. Doesnt strike me as a 'fancy Dan' who thinks he's above doing the necessary to get experience to further his career. I assume Stokes and Boyle's recent criminal conviction makes them equally unworthy of a gig with us? Hoping the lad comes and tears it up, might put you back in your box for a bit. Absolute slavour.

Shoes I can accept, but see if he's got a collection of Beats by Dre headphones and a shoulder bag smaller than an Alsatian, I swear I'll do time.

patlowe
17-08-2017, 11:28 AM
We took a young hungry player on loan from celtic who turned into a hero we all want back. Some loans work, some dont.

This guy has played 22 games in the second tier of Dutch football and the team he was in got promoted. Islam Feruz from Chelsea had a career littered with loans with 1 or 2 appearances, some cut short and him sent home due to his attitude. To compare them is ridiculous.

The guy may turn out to be tom kite, but by all accounts he is highly rated and unlike other loans we have had from down there he wont be playing in a crap team struggling with confidence. He will be coming into a team brimming with it, and playing some nice football. Maybe, just maybe, he will love it here. As with any signing its a gamble, and a relatively risk free one from out point of view.

His attitude appears to have been questioned by some Rotherham fans when on loan there: http://boards.footymad.net/showthread.php?t=37823910

However, that was two years ago and he was/is a young guy. Like Feruz, I'm sure he will be given the opportunity to prove himself here and, if it doesn't work out, no harm done.

17-08-2017, 11:30 AM
Seriously - does anyone in their right mind think that NL would tolerate an on-loan youngster with a crap attitude in the dressing room? He would be sent back from whence he came PDQ.....

TheGreenMan
17-08-2017, 11:32 AM
Hopefully we can get this one over the line today - wonder what the chances would be of seeing him get 15/20 minutes on Saturday?

Would be a good game to unleash him in

17-08-2017, 11:39 AM
Seriously - does anyone in their right mind think that NL would tolerate an on-loan youngster with a crap attitude in the dressing room? He would be sent back from whence he came PDQ.....

I'll admit to knowing nothing about him til we registered our interest.

But he seems very, very highly rated at Man City - hence the big contract.

I don't think we need to worry about him being a waster.

17-08-2017, 11:52 AM
If there are any attitude issues, which I doubt there will be, then I'm pretty sure that NL will sort it out quickly and help the lad develop. At the end of the day he isn't going to get a game unless he is good enough and benefits the team so its not going to be an issue anyway. I think he will do well and look forward to seeing him if he signs

#persevered
17-08-2017, 12:11 PM
Shoes I can accept, but see if he's got a collection of Beats by Dre headphones and a shoulder bag smaller than an Alsatian, I swear I'll do time.

😂😂😂

17-08-2017, 12:13 PM
Would be a good game to unleash him in

Please don't taint my posts with more puns :boo hoo:

17-08-2017, 01:56 PM
Please don't taint my posts with more puns :boo hoo:

Surprised there's not been an official announcement :yawn:

17-08-2017, 02:04 PM
More on topic, any insiders know if we really will hear this announced sooon? Seems an exciting one.

17-08-2017, 02:06 PM
More on topic, any insiders know if we really will hear this announced sooon? Seems an exciting one.

There is footage on Twitter of him training at east mains today.

17-08-2017, 02:41 PM
There is footage on Twitter of him training at east mains today.

Where about?

w pilton hibby
17-08-2017, 02:49 PM
Here's a pic from the Record.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article11004917.ece/ALTERNATES/s510b/JS128118020.jpg

17-08-2017, 03:03 PM
If he doesn't come on loan, we can assume that it is likely that Lennon doesn't fancy him. The fact he is at EM suggests he is up for it and I'm sure I read that Manchester C. are keen for him to come. Sounds promising.:greengrin

Souter96Mac
17-08-2017, 04:30 PM
Hibs have just tweeted: "Who's up for another signing..."

Oh he's just signed

gogsy23
17-08-2017, 04:31 PM
Its official! Welcome BB

17-08-2017, 04:33 PM
And he's here. Welcome BB!

17-08-2017, 04:34 PM
Kudos to Winston Ingram for calling it a couple of nights ago. Well played, Sir 👍

17-08-2017, 04:40 PM
Kudos to Winston Ingram for calling it a couple of nights ago. Well played, Sir [emoji106]

Yip, a genuine scoop. Exciting signing.

17-08-2017, 04:50 PM
I've got a good feeling about this. Cracking transfer window ........ OMG it's not even closed yet. :greengrin

17-08-2017, 04:52 PM
Yams I know suggesting we are living out with our means and said we couldn't afford to sign a player on permanent then we shouldn't at all. He said it was a kind of cheating.

About spat out my coffee when I read it. I pointed out that they had signed a couple of loanees and his response was priceless

'Aye but we've got a stand to pay for'

Mind you he's thick as and doesn't really get it

17-08-2017, 04:57 PM
Yams I know suggesting we are living out with our means and said we couldn't afford to sign a player on permanent then we shouldn't at all. He said it was a kind of cheating.

About spat out my coffee when I read it. I pointed out that they had signed a couple of loanees and his response was priceless

What a knob.

17-08-2017, 04:59 PM

Some of them nearly went right over the edge when this all broke.
They thought it was possibly Patrick Roberts coming to Hibernian

Dalehibbie
17-08-2017, 05:01 PM

No what's cheating is when you sign a team full of players on permanent contracts and then not pay them for months on end.

17-08-2017, 05:03 PM
Sopme of them nearly went right over the edge when this all broke. They thought it was possibly Patrick Roberts coming to Hibernian

If he's half as good he'll do me.

Heard some good things from a City Supporting Chum and the rate him.

Think this move might be to 'toughen' him up a bit!

Hopefully he'll get a chance this weekend

17-08-2017, 05:11 PM
Can't see him starting many games but sounds as though he'd be a good impact sub with his pace. Squad is quite impressive!

17-08-2017, 05:34 PM
And if he scores a winner v the Hearts is a "goodnight from him"

17-08-2017, 05:41 PM
I hear he has a bit of a distemper

17-08-2017, 11:09 PM
Can't see him starting many games but sounds as though he'd be a good impact sub with his pace. Squad is quite impressive!

Why?

17-08-2017, 11:57 PM

The guy may turn out to be tom kite, but by all accounts he is highly rated and unlike other loans we have had from down there he wont be playing in a crap team struggling with confidence. He will be coming into a team brimming with it, and playing some nice football. Maybe, just maybe, he will love it here. As with any signing its a gamble, and a relatively risk free one from out point of view.had to search for a reply like yours:wink: However, after looking at the clips and the Fact that he has now been signed for a year long loan, I fully agree and am prepared to eat humble pie. this all on the basis that he comes up with the goods of course :greengrin Apart from that, he does look a special player although might be a bit "slight" but in those clips shown he looks like he has special ability. For that reason, I would like to welcome him to Hibernian. hope you do well Brandon, and well done again to Neil Lennon for finding another potential gem. this season just keeps getting better , from what I see.:aok:

18-08-2017, 12:16 AM
You contribute some absolutely baffling nonsense when the wee small hours arrive. Young guy has a harmless interest in spending his money on a footwear collection, thus deserves to be immediately dismissed as a potential signing? He went on loan to the Dutch second tier last season and helped the team get promoted. Doesnt strike me as a 'fancy Dan' who thinks he's above doing the necessary to get experience to further his career. I assume Stokes and Boyle's recent criminal conviction makes them equally unworthy of a gig with us? Hoping the lad comes and tears it up, might put you back in your box for a bit. Absolute slavour. absolute slaver eh? you dinnae half come on here at some silly hours yersel. coming on at the unearthly hour of 9am somehow makes you more worthy, does it.you have called me an absolute slaver, yes? So you don't like my comments, and because they are made at a different "time level" you assume that mine are of some kind of "slavering" ? get a grip. I am baffled at the way you have responded to a post that seems to have Irked you. do remember that it is a fans forum which is open for discussion, without favour and with the right to respond, along with the rules which protect people from personal abuse.you have made a personal abusive remark to me.

18-08-2017, 06:20 AM
Why?He'll struggle to get in the starting 11. The team is very strong. He'll be an impact sub most of the time.

18-08-2017, 06:51 AM
had to search for a reply like yours:wink: However, after looking at the clips and the Fact that he has now been signed for a year long loan, I fully agree and am prepared to eat humble pie. this all on the basis that he comes up with the goods of course :greengrin Apart from that, he does look a special player although might be a bit "slight" but in those clips shown he looks like he has special ability. For that reason, I would like to welcome him to Hibernian. hope you do well Brandon, and well done again to Neil Lennon for finding another potential gem. this season just keeps getting better , from what I see.:aok:

Nice one Wullie.

18-08-2017, 06:59 AM
Interview with Brandon..."what are your main attributes?"

"1 v 1s, dribbling and speed."

That'll do nicely.

18-08-2017, 07:23 AM
had to search for a reply like yours:wink: However, after looking at the clips and the Fact that he has now been signed for a year long loan, I fully agree and am prepared to eat humble pie. this all on the basis that he comes up with the goods of course :greengrin Apart from that, he does look a special player although might be a bit "slight" but in those clips shown he looks like he has special ability. For that reason, I would like to welcome him to Hibernian. hope you do well Brandon, and well done again to Neil Lennon for finding another potential gem. this season just keeps getting better , from what I see.:aok::aok:

18-08-2017, 08:07 AM

Inreckon he will play more of a part from the start than what you think mate. Him and Boyle on the wing could be frightening.

18-08-2017, 09:18 AM
I'm a bit worried about all these decent players coming into the club thinking they're maybe going to set the heather on fire, when we all know they're not going to get a game. Did Lennon and Leeann not warn them that they are just making up the numbers? :rolleyes: Seriously 'tho, I'm sure that every signing is coming to ER with eyes wide open and in the knowledge that there will be healthy competition for every position and that Lennon will deploy everybody's talent as and when necessary. He'll certainly not be losing sleep worrying about his 'fortunate' problem.

18-08-2017, 09:53 AM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=F5XTTtJl0wI

Good goal. I look forward to seeing how that celebration goes down at Ibrox!

18-08-2017, 09:55 AM
I'm a bit worried about all these decent players coming into the club thinking they're maybe going to set the heather on fire, when we all know they're not going to get a game. Did Lennon and Leeann not warn them that they are just making up the numbers? :rolleyes: Seriously 'tho, I'm sure that every signing is coming to ER with eyes wide open and in the knowledge that there will be healthy competition for every position and that Lennon will deploy everybody's talent as and when necessary. He'll certainly not be losing sleep worrying about his 'fortunate' problem.

Players from the EPL don't always manage to adjust to the pace of the Scottish game. They think they are great players because they are lined up to massive clubs and get frustrated when they don't get game time and when they do they don't get the time on the ball that they get in England so they can show their skills before they get clattered by a trademark, industrial tackle.

18-08-2017, 10:30 AM
Players from the EPL don't always manage to adjust to the pace of the Scottish game. They think they are great players because they are lined up to massive clubs and get frustrated when they don't get game time and when they do they don't get the time on the ball that they get in England so they can show their skills before they get clattered by a trademark, industrial tackle.

I can't argue with that but it's not the point I'm making. I'm just saying that there is nothing wrong with having more than one potential first pick player in every position. I'm sure these 'second pick' players are well aware of competition for places, which goes with the territory of being part of a team. I'm delighted that Lennon will find it really difficult to name his first choice team.

SonOfDavidFrancey
18-08-2017, 11:22 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.mcfcwatch.com/2017/03/06/nac-breda-boss-disappointed-by-man-city-kids-concerns-partnership-is-holding-back-dutch-side/amp/

Interesting to see that barker and the double barrelled Loanee from citeh who has ended up at hearts were both at Breda together; the manager thought barker was useful but Smith-brown a 'dime a dozen player'

18-08-2017, 11:31 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.mcfcwatch.com/2017/03/06/nac-breda-boss-disappointed-by-man-city-kids-concerns-partnership-is-holding-back-dutch-side/amp/

Interesting to see that barker and the double barrelled Loanee from citeh who has ended up at hearts were both at Breda together; the manager thought barker was useful but Smith-brown a 'dime a dozen player'

At least we've landed the best of a poor bunch. :greengrin

Firestarter
18-08-2017, 11:35 AM
At least we've landed the best of a poor bunch. :greengrin

Our guy good, their boy *****! It's the way it should be. :agree:

18-08-2017, 11:36 AM
Our guy good, their boy *****! It's the way it should be. :agree:

Could say the same for every position on the pitch just now :agree:

18-08-2017, 09:11 PM
Have you ever considered quitting alcohol?I meant to answer you this morning but never got up until 2pm. my doctor once asked the very same question. the answer was a definite no, I could be deid next week. some might say, braw.:cb

18-08-2017, 09:15 PM
Could say the same for every position on the pitch just now :agree:like where your going with that one :aok:

Tobias Funke
18-08-2017, 09:19 PM
I meant to answer you this morning but never got up until 2pm. my doctor once asked the very same question. the answer was a definite no, I could be deid next week. some might say, braw.:cb

Everything in moderation :wink:

18-08-2017, 09:22 PM
I can't argue with that but it's not the point I'm making. I'm just saying that there is nothing wrong with having more than one potential first pick player in every position. I'm sure these 'second pick' players are well aware of competition for places, which goes with the territory of being part of a team. I'm delighted that Lennon will find it really difficult to name his first choice team.:agree: cant really remember a time when we have had such an "array" of talent at the manager's disposal. Turnbull had a fantastic side but not the reqd. cover to compete with a good Celtic side. McLeish had a great side, but could not match up with the Rangers (auld) when it got down to the last few months. Don't mean we are on the verge of some great things, but the back up team is great in itself.

19-08-2017, 12:29 AM

Everything in moderation :wink::aok:top man. we all can do silly things at times but hey ho, we are only on this planet for a short period. let's enjoy what's left. ggtth

SonOfDavidFrancey
19-08-2017, 06:59 AM
:agree: cant really remember a time when we have had such an "array" of talent at the manager's disposal. Turnbull had a fantastic side but not the reqd. cover to compete with a good Celtic side. McLeish had a great side, but could not match up with the Rangers (auld) when it got down to the last few months. Don't mean we are on the verge of some great things, but the back up team is great in itself.

I agree, that's why it seems a bit different at the mo ; in the other eras you mention we folded when the injuries (brownlie's broken leg) and suspensions (Edwards, 63 days was it ?) kicked in. It feels almost like NL has brought us to a new level where Gray for example can't get a game and rather than hibs being a place where a guy like Barker might feel he should walk into the team he's going to have to work for it

19-08-2017, 07:11 AM
It's akin to my younger days on Championship Manager where I'd blow every last penny on a multitude of summer signings and then when it came to the first day of the season I'd look at my squad and think "aww nut, I've got a bit carried away here".

Suspect Rod has been gaffa taped to a chair somewhere in East Mains for the summer.

19-08-2017, 08:21 AM
Just checking these out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNVhDNMQP_Q

Wow - some great tackling, dribbling, passes and goals. He looks a very good two footed player (yes, I know most players have two feet, but you know what I mean).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_88Ppjd86VE

Good attitude too!

19-08-2017, 08:34 AM
This kid looks the real deal. We are going places as a club and I cant wait to see Brandon in a green shirt.

Tug Wilson
19-08-2017, 09:03 AM
Just checking these out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNVhDNMQP_Q

Wow - some great tackling, dribbling, passes and goals. He looks a very good two footed player (yes, I know most players have two feet, but you know what I mean).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_88Ppjd86VE

Good attitude too!

I like his interview. Seems a level headed boy. He wants to play for Man City which shows the right level of ambition. But didn't come across as a billy big boots.

Imagine a front three of Barker, Murray and Boyle. The pace of that is frightening. Hold on. What about Stokes? The choices Lennon has to make will be very difficult especially when there are very few suspensions and injuries. The depth of the squad will really come in to its own as the season progresses.

Also, if the team plays well and attendances stay high then I can see us adding 2 or 3 more players in the January window to really push for the top of the league (or probably 2nd at best but you never know)