View Full Version : Liam Henderson

Pages : 1 [2]

30-08-2017, 08:22 PM
https://thisisfutbol.com/2017/08/blogs/celtic-willing-to-allow-henderson-to-leave-on-the-cheap/

:hyper: :hyper:

Fergos
30-08-2017, 08:29 PM
"Former Hibs player who's crosses caused hampden riot in club setback"

Crosses you say?

Nae wonder the sevco fans were fuming.........

30-08-2017, 08:31 PM
No idea how much is in the kitty after the Cumming's sale but I'd like to think there would be more than enough to meet the Celtic valuation, if that report is true and accurate.

30-08-2017, 08:42 PM
https://thisisfutbol.com/2017/08/blogs/celtic-willing-to-allow-henderson-to-leave-on-the-cheap/

Hopefully we're already closing in on it and this is just Celtic trying to squeeze a little bit more out of the deal. Time to come home Liam.

30-08-2017, 08:49 PM

£300K :hyper

Come on Hibs get him signed :hyper

Hibbycol
30-08-2017, 08:55 PM
£300K :hyper

Come on Hibs get him signed :hyperBRING HIM HOME [emoji106][emoji172][emoji106][emoji172][emoji106][emoji172][emoji106][emoji172][emoji106][emoji172]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170830/9a2e57ec51a67224ec1976b863f4a277.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170830/372297ba49342cfc5e9c2da9603aedc5.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170830/7411188025b9b2126c68dfb66abc8cfa.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170830/5ecd98625d13e4b96f5e5d1c6e31a5cb.jpg

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

30-08-2017, 09:05 PM
:hyper

30-08-2017, 09:08 PM

16 assists?

And I think £300K is unlikely.

DavidDavidGray
30-08-2017, 09:13 PM
If he's only 300K then we should 100% do it. He was a first team regular at Hibs and was loved by the fans, he loves the club and we will almost definitely profit from it In the future.

30-08-2017, 09:49 PM
I am trying to resist a compulsion to send a tweet to Leeann pleading with her to do this deal. If it doesn't happen tomorrow, it probably never will.

Tonight I'll be dreaming of Hendo of taking corners with Stokesy on the end of them.

30-08-2017, 10:06 PM
So far this season we are crying out for someone who can take a set piece, I'd sign hendo for that reason alone never mind the assists and attacking link up play he innevitably brings.

The scottish cup simply would not have happened without this young man, bring him home.

BegbieHSC
31-08-2017, 10:42 AM
I'm very much resigned to the fact that this isna happening!

Gutted :(

31-08-2017, 10:45 AM
Something is brewing behind the scenes 👀

I think we will see one in defo, hopefully 2!

31-08-2017, 10:50 AM

Hearing of any departures?

31-08-2017, 10:51 AM

31-08-2017, 10:55 AM
https://stv.tv/sport/football/1396714-follow-live-summer-2017-deadline-day-across-scotland/?utm_content=buffer9b9a5&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Headline doesn't really match the story but apparently not working on anything currently.

31-08-2017, 10:56 AM
Hearing of any departures?

Just the Fonts on loan one that's been kicking about for a while.

31-08-2017, 10:57 AM
https://stv.tv/sport/football/1396714-follow-live-summer-2017-deadline-day-across-scotland/?utm_content=buffer9b9a5&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Headline doesn't really match the story but apparently not working on anything currently.

STV is prob one of the worst for Hibs related news. In fact I'd believe Kickback before anything on that site.

Greenworld
31-08-2017, 11:20 AM
Something is brewing behind the scenes [emoji102]

I think we will see one in defo, hopefully 2!The kettle is on lol

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

31-08-2017, 11:22 AM
Something is brewing behind the scenes [emoji102]

I think we will see one in defo, hopefully 2!Stv sport just tweeted saying no fresh bids for SJM and not actively looking to sign anyone??

31-08-2017, 11:22 AM
Big Conrad appears to be indicating he has signed for us..... :flag:

Do people still fall for this stuff?

Hibby Gav
31-08-2017, 11:31 AM
I'll always listen to The Cats info before Stv that's for sure !

31-08-2017, 11:39 AM
I have a doctors appointment later today with Dr Henderson.

Surely this is a clear omen Liam is on his way to Hibs?

31-08-2017, 11:52 AM
I have a doctors appointment later today with Dr Henderson.

Surely this is a clear omen Liam is on his way to Hibs?

Hope you're not off to 'deliver' :greengrin

31-08-2017, 12:34 PM
Henderson needs to move this Transfer Window ,if he wants to Develop . He isnt going yo get a lot of game time atCeltic . He needs first Team football .

31-08-2017, 12:53 PM
Have a good feeling Hendo will be a Hibs player by the end of the day:agree:

31-08-2017, 12:56 PM
Have a good feeling Hendo will be a Hibs player by the end of the day:agree:

Just a feeling or is that based on any info? Because personally I think it's quite unlikely

31-08-2017, 01:00 PM
Just a feeling or is that based on any info? Because personally I think it's quite unlikely

Just a hunch, Hendo will be desperate to move and we are a good fit for him. If somebody comes in for SJM then it will be a definite

BegbieHSC
31-08-2017, 01:05 PM

Would love to be optimistic too, but tbh, i've resigned myself to believe that he's not coming to avoid disappointment come midnight.

31-08-2017, 02:06 PM
Preston fans on twitter seem to think he's going there?

31-08-2017, 02:26 PM
Preston fans on twitter seem to think he's going there?

Saw earlier today that he was priced out of a move to Preston earlier in the window. Got to think Celtc have dropped their asking price now.

BegbieHSC
31-08-2017, 02:26 PM
Glimmer of hope, or the final nail in the coffin? Kenny Millar just tweeted that we should "stay tuned" regarding Henderson...

Baw187
31-08-2017, 02:29 PM
Glimmer of hope, or the final nail in the coffin? Kenny Millar just tweeted that we should "stay tuned" regarding Henderson...

Probably Preston move back on.

31-08-2017, 02:30 PM
and the madness begins....

ElginHibbie
31-08-2017, 02:31 PM
Neil Lennon’s Hibs are working on a deadline day swoop for Celtic midfielder and former Easter Road idol Liam Henderson

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1497834/hibs-liam-henderson-celtic-neil-lennon/
(https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1497834/hibs-liam-henderson-celtic-neil-lennon/)

BlackSheep
31-08-2017, 02:31 PM
For those who do not wish to visit The Sun's website:-

"HIBS are working on a deadline day swoop for fan favourite Liam Henderson.
The 21-year-old is available after reluctantly admitting that his first-team chances at Celtic are going to be limited this year, despite impressing when called upon by Brendan Rodgers.
Henderson put himself in Hibs’ history books by setting up two goals in the Scottish Cup Final against Rangers
SunSport understands Preston North End couldn’t agree terms with the Hoops over a permanent deal, but at this stage Rodgers is open to the idea of a loan.
He rates Henderson highly but simply has no room for him at the moment given the wealth of options the Bhoys boast in that area of the pitch and he’s keen to see him enjoy regular action.
Henderson is a hero to the Hibs support after his part in their 2016 Scottish Cup triumph and he returned to Easter Road in the summer to take in Lewis Stevenson’s testimonial.
Hibs asked about Henderson earlier in the summer to no avail, but talks have resumed off that could yet see Easter Road supporters land the name they crave more than any other."

BegbieHSC
31-08-2017, 02:34 PM
For those who do not wish to visit The Sun's website:-

"HIBS are working on a deadline day swoop for fan favourite Liam Henderson.
The 21-year-old is available after reluctantly admitting that his first-team chances at Celtic are going to be limited this year, despite impressing when called upon by Brendan Rodgers.
Henderson put himself in Hibs’ history books by setting up two goals in the Scottish Cup Final against Rangers
SunSport understands Preston North End couldn’t agree terms with the Hoops over a permanent deal, but at this stage Rodgers is open to the idea of a loan.
He rates Henderson highly but simply has no room for him at the moment given the wealth of options the Bhoys boast in that area of the pitch and he’s keen to see him enjoy regular action.
Henderson is a hero to the Hibs support after his part in their 2016 Scottish Cup triumph and he returned to Easter Road in the summer to take in Lewis Stevenson’s testimonial.
Hibs asked about Henderson earlier in the summer to no avail, but talks have resumed off that could yet see Easter Road supporters land the name they crave more than any other."

Oh boy!

Firestarter
31-08-2017, 02:34 PM
:nanasplit::nanasplit::nanasplit:

31-08-2017, 02:35 PM
Told you something is brewing 😉

31-08-2017, 02:36 PM
Extra packs of tissues now in order.

Firestarter
31-08-2017, 02:38 PM
Told you something is brewing 😉

:not worth:not worth

31-08-2017, 02:38 PM

I just bought 32,000. Got to wait on delivery though...

31-08-2017, 02:41 PM
I wonder if this means we are losing SJM though?

31-08-2017, 02:43 PM
I think by the end of the window we'll have McGinn or Henderson. Not both.

31-08-2017, 02:43 PM
Told you something is brewing [emoji6]Always trust the Cat [emoji106]

31-08-2017, 02:44 PM
Stv sport just tweeted saying no fresh bids for SJM and not actively looking to sign anyone??

What do Sky know 😁

31-08-2017, 02:44 PM
Always trust the Cat [emoji106]

Haha I just quoted you as well 😁👍🏼

31-08-2017, 02:48 PM
Haha I just quoted you as well [emoji16][emoji1360]Never had a doubt mate...id believe u over sky BBC and Stv all rolled into one haha [emoji12]

31-08-2017, 02:49 PM
Anyone know if we're trying to get him permanently or is it more likely to be a loan?

Firestarter
31-08-2017, 02:50 PM
Anyone know if we're trying to get him permanently or is it more likely to be a loan?

Loan is being reported as is Celtc would take £300k. I would offer the money.

Edinburgh Green
What do Sky know 😁

Heard any more on Moult?

Never had a doubt mate...id believe u over sky BBC and Stv all rolled into one haha [emoji12]

What I'm happy with is even if we fail to get Hendo, this window has been outstanding.

Do I think Hendo will sign though today?....... Yes.

Heard any more on Moult?

Nothing at all no.

hughio
31-08-2017, 02:51 PM
I think by the end of the window we'll have McGinn or Henderson. Not both.

But imagine if we DID have both!

:banana::banana::banana:

What do Sky know 😁

Are you saying there are new bids for SJM?:confused:

[emoji23]

What I'm happy with is even if we fail to get Hendo, this window has been outstanding.

Do I think Hendo will sign though today?....... Yes.U reckon loan or perm TC?? Hope we keep of hold of SJM...if both the above happens it's been an outstanding window

31-08-2017, 02:52 PM

Quite a lot when he's only got a year left on his contract

And this must have already been a very expensive summer for us

31-08-2017, 02:53 PM
Nothing at all no.

If they're getting £750k sell on for the Johnson moving from Oxford to Boro

Juice-Terry
31-08-2017, 02:53 PM

How long does he have left on his contract at Celtc?

Firestarter
31-08-2017, 02:54 PM
Quite a lot when he's only got a year left on his contract

And this must have already been a very expensive summer for us

Would have to pay that in development fee's too I would imagine. It has but we've put a lot of money into the club as and sold Cummings.

31-08-2017, 02:55 PM
U reckon loan or perm TC?? Hope we keep of hold of SJM...if both the above happens it's been an outstanding window

I'm told perm is what we are wanting.

Firestarter

A year, but development fee will be needed next year.

2 years I believe. Sure he signed a new 4 year deal the summer he came to us.

EDIT: talking pish, was a 3 year deal so hes into his last year now :aok:

31-08-2017, 02:56 PM
If they're getting £750k sell on for the Johnson moving from Oxford to Boro

Wonder if they will throw Moult some of that if he stays with them.

31-08-2017, 03:05 PM
A year, but development fee will be needed next year.

Only if they offer him a new contract

31-08-2017, 03:06 PM
I'm told perm is what we are wanting.

Tbh that makes me a bit worried about McGinn but hopefully we end up with both

31-08-2017, 03:08 PM

http://37.media.tumblr.com/e9105af2ea8770e564992e49c4d546d0/tumblr_mxyv9oQwj61r2n4h3o2_400.gif

31-08-2017, 04:13 PM
I'm not allowing myself to get too excited about this yet. We had similar stories coming out on deadline day about Stokes in Jan 2017 and it never happened. I'd be absolutely buzzing if it were to materialise though.

31-08-2017, 04:18 PM
I'm not allowing myself to get too excited about this yet. We had similar stories coming out on deadline day about Stokes in Jan 2017 and it never happened. I'd be absolutely buzzing if it were to happen though.

Supposedly there wasn't enough time to get it concluded. That Warburton better not cause more distractions with his derisory bids for McGinn.

31-08-2017, 04:37 PM

31-08-2017, 05:54 PM
👀

All eyes on this, are we going to hear soon???

31-08-2017, 05:55 PM
👀

All eyes on this, are we going to hear soon???

Hearing anything more on this cat?

31-08-2017, 05:58 PM
Hearing anything more on this cat?

Just got a text saying 'watch this space, hope to hear something soon.'

Interesting. Been told hibs are done. Hope your contact is right.

👍👍

31-08-2017, 06:03 PM
Interesting. Been told hibs are done. Hope your contact is right.

Me too, won't be through lack of trying today. Either way I'm delighted at the business done this window. Hibs deserve huge credit when this is all over.

31-08-2017, 06:12 PM

31-08-2017, 06:22 PM
:yawn:

31-08-2017, 06:41 PM
When the cat purrs we listen with interest

K-Zazu
31-08-2017, 06:43 PM
Would imagine he would only come if we sell SJM

31-08-2017, 06:46 PM
Would imagine he would only come if we sell SJMLooks like another bid for SJM is in the way...i wonder if this is linked to Hendo?

31-08-2017, 06:51 PM
Looks like another bid for SJM is in the way...i wonder if this is linked to Hendo?

It does feel like that. I guess it's a good think the deadline in this country is one hour after most others (England included). So if McGinn does leave it gives us an extra hour to spend the cash :greengrin

CyberSauzee
31-08-2017, 06:58 PM
When the cat purrs we listen with interest

LOL :greengrin Let's hope he tells us about the cream soon.

31-08-2017, 06:58 PM
It does feel like that. I guess it's a good think the deadline in this country is one hour after most others (England included). So if McGinn does leave it gives us an extra hour to spend the cash :greengrinIt deffo has the feeling of 1 in 1 out or no movement at all

31-08-2017, 07:02 PM

Last Minute
31-08-2017, 07:04 PM

Tick tock

31-08-2017, 07:05 PM

Tick tock

Oooooooooo

Last Minute
31-08-2017, 07:11 PM
I hope the postman on his way .. 🤞

31-08-2017, 07:16 PM

Tick tock

*****n tease :greengrin

31-08-2017, 07:23 PM
Leeann just tweeted no more business expected in or out.

31-08-2017, 07:24 PM
I have been keeping ear close to the ground (whatever that means).

However my sources (various types of paper media, .Net, KB and the jungle telegraph) allow to confidently predict that........

a. Liam will come to us
b. Liam will not come to us
c. SJM will leave us
d. SJM will not leave us
e. The Yams will be reading our threads and laughing
f. The Yams will be reading our threads and crying
g. The Yams will be reading our threads and wishing they had NL
h. The Yams will be reading our threads and wishing CL was NL
i. The new (quickly growing old) stand at the Yam place will see an influx of window lickers.
j. Window lickers from around the world will descend upon the Yam place, they will have come to worship and leave many traces of spittle on the greatest glass curtain in the world.

Sorry guys, got bored.

yonder1875
31-08-2017, 07:24 PM
Oh well.

31-08-2017, 07:26 PM
I refuse to give up hope of Hendo signing :hyper

31-08-2017, 07:27 PM
Dempster tweeted no more in or outs

31-08-2017, 07:29 PM
Our best window ever.

31-08-2017, 07:30 PM
Dempster tweeted no more in or outs

Yes but that tweet was live after the final at this years Hokey Cokey invitational.

31-08-2017, 07:31 PM
No more business expected per leann dempster

Yes but that tweet was live after the final at this years Hokey Cokey invitational.

Hahahaha superb sir well played

Where's that bloody Cat to explain himself 🤣🤣

31-08-2017, 07:48 PM
Looking like signing an extra long deal with celtic and sticking it out has been the wrong choice for Liam Henderson.

He'll have played no meaningful football for two years by the time he leaves next summer, another young talent stunted by Celtic.

31-08-2017, 07:50 PM
Where's that bloody Cat to explain himself 🤣🤣

I'm beating the **** out Henderson as I type this 😁

We tried just didn't get it done sadly.

31-08-2017, 07:57 PM
Leeann just tweeted no more business expected in or out.

What if he's already signed but we just haven't announced it yet?! :hyper

Last Minute
31-08-2017, 07:58 PM
Not expecting ??? Maybe a special delivery late on [emoji848]

steviehibsleith
31-08-2017, 07:58 PM
Can Liam still go out on loan after the transfer window i.e. Emergency loan sure we got Commons last season this way

tartanhibee
31-08-2017, 08:01 PM
Where does this leave Henderson career stuck at Celtic for another year seems a shame talent wasted. Even if not to us playing football somewhere is better than nothing.

18Hibee75
31-08-2017, 08:01 PM
What if he's already signed but we just haven't announced it yet?! :hyper:hyper again. If I don't see an announcement video which includes a postman delivering his post and then taking off his uniform and Henderson standing in a hibs strip at 10:59pm I am blaming you.

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

31-08-2017, 08:02 PM
Can Liam still go out on loan after the transfer window i.e. Emergency loan sure we got Commons last season this way

Championship clubs

31-08-2017, 08:03 PM

He can, but only to a Championship side I believe

steviehibsleith
31-08-2017, 08:04 PM
Ok thanks for clarifying no good for us though

31-08-2017, 08:05 PM
Need to wait patiently now for January....

31-08-2017, 08:06 PM
Looking like signing an extra long deal with celtic and sticking it out has been the wrong choice for Liam Henderson.

He'll have played no meaningful football for two years by the time he leaves next summer, another young talent stunted by Celtic.

To an extent but he has to take blame also if a player really wants to leave they can.

GreenOnions
31-08-2017, 08:09 PM
Hopefully a pre-contract can be agreed with Liam in January:aok:

31-08-2017, 08:11 PM
To an extent but he has to take blame also if a player really wants to leave they can.

Shame. Showed when he came to Hibs, he has great attitude and so much to offer. Criminal that he's not playing football.

31-08-2017, 08:13 PM
Septic don't play, nor want Hendo yet they'd rather let him rot than let him move to another club, giving him a chance to get his career going - strange the media never says anything about that side of them !!

31-08-2017, 08:16 PM
I bet Celtic wanted a massive (30% or summin) future share of the next transfer fee, and hibs didn't want to give it. If so I'm happy with the club standing firm.

31-08-2017, 08:16 PM
Septic don't play, nor want Hendo yet they'd rather let him rot than let him move to another club, giving him a chance to get his career going - strange the media never says anything about that side of them !!

Their probably trying to recoup what they've spent on him since he 1st signed.

Lawell is under pressure tonight to get Celtic a defender and another striker, to play in the Champions League
Henderson probably way down his priorities

31-08-2017, 08:19 PM
To an extent but he has to take blame also if a player really wants to leave they can.Absolutely this...hes had all summer to engineer a move away for himself...gutted but if he doesn't get a move soon he's gonna be forgotten about ...another career stunted by Septic

31-08-2017, 08:34 PM
I bet Celtic wanted a massive (30% or summin) future share of the next transfer fee, and hibs didn't want to give it. If so I'm happy with the club standing firm.

Absolutely this...hes had all summer to engineer a move away for himself...gutted but if he doesn't get a move soon he's gonna be forgotten about ...another career stunted by Septic

I hope he learns to despise Celtic for temporarily putting his career on ice.

31-08-2017, 08:36 PM
I hope he learns to despise Celtic for temporarily putting his career on ice.Absolutely...he should Jim [emoji122]

31-08-2017, 08:46 PM
Their probably trying to recoup what they've spent on him since he 1st signed.

Lawell is under pressure tonight to get Celtic a defender and another striker, to play in the Champions League
Henderson probably way down his priorities

He's also an astute man and Henderson, even on loan to Hibs and in the shop window, would generate a good fee for Celtic down the line Billy.

I've no doubt LH felt he was on the move down south and for whatever reason it fell through - maybe to do with % sell on, who knows. But it's awful to see such a talent get no football. We wonder why we fail qualifying for things :rolleyes: as a footballer you don't get this time back, he's 'lost' a season already by not playing last year - sad to see.

31-08-2017, 08:48 PM

Maybe he's happy where he is with the contract he's on??

Gregor
31-08-2017, 08:51 PM

Also, his wee brother is also at Celtic. And by some accounts, he's the more talented one - which if you benchmark him against Liam - will make him some player indeed.

31-08-2017, 09:00 PM

Do you really think that's the case? If so, my respect for him would go down a notch or two. Somehow I don't think he'll be content with his lot for the remainder of the season. He has to want to play first team football.

31-08-2017, 09:13 PM
Ah well... Least I will have something to :hyper about in January!

31-08-2017, 09:22 PM
Do you really think that's the case? If so, my respect for him would go down a notch or two. Somehow I don't think he'll be content with his lot for the remainder of the season. He has to want to play first team football.

I've no idea. Id like to think that he'd rather be playing every week but he maybe feels he can break into their first team. Nothing wrong with him having that ambition.

I'm not about to accuse Celtic of ruining his career though when I know nothing at all about the situation!

31-08-2017, 09:29 PM

Doubt it. 70% of something is better than 100% of nothing.

31-08-2017, 09:33 PM

Or even a pre-contract plus a loan for the remainder of the season.

21sMay
31-08-2017, 09:35 PM
What a window we have had . If I was offered all this at the start and keep mcginn I'd have bit the hand off

31-08-2017, 09:44 PM
Also, his wee brother is also at Celtic. And by some accounts, he's the more talented one - which if you benchmark him against Liam - will make him some player indeed.Keeping Liams dad on side was a worry for Celtic. He represents both lads and Celtic see more value in the younger one apparently. Their fear is he takes him away.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

coco22
31-08-2017, 09:55 PM
Keeping Liams dad on side was a worry for Celtic. He represents both lads and Celtic see more value in the younger one apparently. Their fear is he takes him away.

Makes sense. Like Chelsea signing all the Hazards?

E10 Rifle
31-08-2017, 09:59 PM

He seemed to quite enjoy winning cups though :cool2:...I'm sure he'd rather be doing that again.

31-08-2017, 10:02 PM
Yeah I'm 100% convinced that although it might be nice seeing your bank balance grow, nothing, and I mean nothing, will ever compare to pulling on that Hibs shirt and walking out that tunnel knowing you're loved and winning games and trophies for a club that's in your heart. Maybe I'm getting a bit too sentimental in my old age though? :greengrin

31-08-2017, 10:02 PM
Keeping Liams dad on side was a worry for Celtic. He represents both lads and Celtic see more value in the younger one apparently. Their fear is he takes him away.

Hibs should sign Liam and give his younger brother a full time pro contract if he's so highly rated.

E10 Rifle
31-08-2017, 10:12 PM
Hope his old man's a better agent than Paul Byrne was to his laddie

31-08-2017, 10:23 PM

01-09-2017, 07:30 AM
So.. another half a season kicking his heels in the stands. The laddie will be forgotten about soon if he's not careful. Obviously not by us, but other teams. He should try to get himself an emergency loan to a team like United or something to give him some game time.

As an aside, does anyone else have their doubts as to whether Celtic are actually playing hard ball to the extent that people say they are? I reckon both sides are at fault here but it doesn't ever sound to me like Hendo is particularly arsed about getting out of there which is strange considering how passionate a player he was for us.

01-09-2017, 07:34 AM
So.. another half a season kicking his heels in the stands. The laddie will be forgotten about soon if he's not careful. Obviously not by us, but other teams. He should try to get himself an emergency loan to a team like United or something to give him some game time.

As an aside, does anyone else have their doubts as to whether Celtic are actually playing hard ball to the extent that people say they are? I reckon both sides are at fault here but it doesn't ever sound to me like Hendo is particularly arsed about getting out of there which is strange considering how passionate a player he was for us.

Rumour I heard was that Hibs were not happy with what they saw as an excessive 'sell on' condition.

01-09-2017, 08:16 AM
Despite Liam having a lot of quality I wasn't as keen on him returning as a priority as others as I don't think we needed him as we have an ample amount of players that can play a similar role to him.

Obviously if it was the right deal I would have been delighted.

its a shame that it will be a year and a half since his good season with us and since then he will have barely kicked a ball.

Having our best young Scottish players rotting away is no use for anyone.

Celtic seem to have a habit of doing this and then stalling there careers.

01-09-2017, 08:30 AM
Rumour I heard was that Hibs were not happy with what they saw as an excessive 'sell on' condition.

It depends on how "excessive" exactly but I'd be a bit miffed if this was the case.

Why shouldn't Celtic demand a hefty sell on % whilst selling him for what is by their standards a low fee? They've developed him, put in most of the work. If a very talented young player ends up going for a lot of money, why shouldn't they get a significant share?

He's a football player, and the most important thing should be his value and importance to us in football terms.

This would suggest that we see players as commodities, to be bought cheap and sold for higher fees with the football of secondary importance.

01-09-2017, 08:33 AM
It depends on how "excessive" exactly but I'd be a bit miffed if this was the case.

Why shouldn't Celtic demand a hefty sell on % whilst selling him for what is by their standards a low fee? They've developed him, put in most of the work. If a very talented young player ends up going for a lot of money, why shouldn't they get a significant share?

He's a football player, and the most important thing should be his value and importance to us in football terms.

This would suggest that we see players as commodities, to be bought cheap and sold for higher fees with the football of secondary importance.

Surely, as a business, this is how we have to work to improve ourselves. We buy young, Scottish talent in cheap, with a view to improving their footballing skills, therefore improve our team, before selling on for a profit.

To sell someone for a higher fee means they have turned into very good footballers.

Firestarter
01-09-2017, 08:45 AM
Hendos situation at Celtic is incredibly sad. They are ruining the boy.

happiehibbie
01-09-2017, 08:45 AM
I posted earlier in the week regarding LH wages was always the issue but what did i know :)

TBH I am happy with the window

01-09-2017, 08:48 AM
Hendos situation at Celtic is incredibly sad. They are ruining the boy.

How come ? He must be happy with his situation or else he would be pushing for a move.

Firestarter
01-09-2017, 09:08 AM
How come ? He must be happy with his situation or else he would be pushing for a move.

The ball isn't in his court when it comes to a move though, see the failed Preston bid for example. Fair enough last year he wanted to fight for his place but I feel sorry for him now.

hibbycraig
01-09-2017, 09:27 AM
Maybe Liam is happy with his situation at Celtic. Earning a good wage, training with top class players and coaches everyday. I would say he wasn't really a top priority signing for us this summer.

01-09-2017, 09:37 AM
Preston North End had 3 bids turned down. Liam was set to come to Hibs on loan but Celtic insisted he sign a contract extention before doing so which Liam refused to sign. As someone has already said.....Celtic are ruining Liam Henderson.

01-09-2017, 10:35 AM
Preston North End had 3 bids turned down. Liam was set to come to Hibs on loan but Celtic insisted he sign a contract extention before doing so which Liam refused to sign. As someone has already said.....Celtic are ruining Liam Henderson.

Football treats its people like meat don't they...it may be the beautiful game, but it's a horrible industry ..

01-09-2017, 11:37 AM

Hopefully this means there's a good chance of us doing a pre-contract in January.

01-09-2017, 11:46 AM
Maybe he'll go on emergency loan to a Championship club ?

01-09-2017, 12:12 PM
What's with the blame culture on here all the time?

Just cause we don't get what we want doesn't mean that someone is to blame.

Celtic seem to do pretty well by their players. I've not heard of any complaints from Henderson at all and he's not handed in a transfer request or we would have heard about it.

It's like a bunch of bairns on here stamping their feet and chucking toys.

01-09-2017, 12:15 PM

If thats the case then i would expect Celtic to hold out for a Development fee next summer by offering him a renewed contract knowing he won't want to sign it which means there will be more unreasonable demands from Celtic and possible tribunal before Henderson can be away from them.....what an absolute shower of ****s

01-09-2017, 12:17 PM
Football treats its people like meat don't they...it may be the beautiful game, but it's a horrible industry ..

Listening to Sportsound last night and Commons was telling what happened with his Celtic move from Derby, he said he was negotiating a new deal and got text from the chairman to go see him only to be told he'd been sold to Celtic. He knew they were interested but had no say in the matter as he was in his final 6 months, players don't always have it their own way.

01-09-2017, 12:36 PM
Listening to Sportsound last night and Commons was telling what happened with his Celtic move from Derby, he said he was negotiating a new deal and got text from the chairman to go see him only to be told he'd been sold to Celtic. He knew they were interested but had no say in the matter as he was in his final 6 months, players don't always have it their own way.But surely he didn't need to sign if he didn't want to? It's not American sports where players are traded.

Regardless if Derby and Celtic had agreed a fee, he could have sat tight for 6 months.

01-09-2017, 12:40 PM
Listening to Sportsound last night and Commons was telling what happened with his Celtic move from Derby, he said he was negotiating a new deal and got text from the chairman to go see him only to be told he'd been sold to Celtic. He knew they were interested but had no say in the matter as he was in his final 6 months, players don't always have it their own way.

Every cloud has a silver lining. :wink:

01-09-2017, 12:53 PM

He didn't have to go, was well within his rights to refuse.

01-09-2017, 01:03 PM

Celtic seem to do pretty well by their players. I've not heard of any complaints from Henderson at all and he's not handed in a transfer request or we would have heard about it.

100% agree. Celtic are perfectly entitled to wait for the right offer just the same as we are with John McGinn.

GreenPJ
01-09-2017, 01:16 PM
100% agree. Celtic are perfectly entitled to wait for the right offer just the same as we are with John McGinn.

Difference being one is getting a game and one isn't. Henderson is not able to increase his own personal value without being able to showcase his talents.

Firestarter
01-09-2017, 01:25 PM

Oh the irony :greengrin

Roxyhibee
01-09-2017, 01:27 PM
Liam has been a 'victim' of circumstance and slight naivety from people handling his future.

He signed a three year deal two years ago (I think), without an actual football agent. I've no idea what the agreed salary was but his future at Parkhead looked very bright, as it was Deila then and he liked him. Farmed out to a high level playing standard in Norway and back to join the beginnings of a new talented Hibs team. So far so good.

But Rodgers comes along and quite rightly sees Celtics future playing in the latter stages of the CL which seemed too big a leap for Hendo, as bigger names came in meaning he can hardly get on the bench just now.

He is heading for limbo again this season it would seem - but he does have an agent now and more importantly, a strong, healthy positive attitude and a great family. He and those around him will have learned a lot from this past year.

He's still very young and once he gets game time somewhere again, likely in January, he'll be an excellent player for someone.

Would love him him back at Easter Road - and I'm sure he would too. May still happen.

01-09-2017, 01:56 PM
Oh the irony :greengrin

Go meet up with Alanis and see if between you you can work out what irony is :wink:

01-09-2017, 02:08 PM
I feel sorry for Henderson. But he only has himself and agent to blame. He signed a deal after he left us and was clear he wasn't going to be a first team player. Wish him well, our paths may cross again. But for now let's move on

Firestarter
01-09-2017, 02:11 PM
Go meet up with Alanis and see if between you you can work out what irony is :wink:

I'm fully aware cheers. Alanis may not be the best person to ask, mind you :wink:

Firestarter
01-09-2017, 02:12 PM
I feel sorry for Henderson. But he only has himself and agent to blame. He signed a deal after he left us and was clear he wasn't going to be a first team player. Wish him well, our paths may cross again. But for now let's move on

No he didn't. He signed a new contract before coming to us.

Roxyhibee
01-09-2017, 02:36 PM

Not that's not true - signed long before, so we don't want to make stuff up about the boy, especially a Hibs hero.

But agree, we have to move on.

01-09-2017, 03:09 PM
He didn't have to go, was well within his rights to refuse.

I understand that, but the club had decided before telling him or his agent, he did say he was in the process of negotiating a new deal, which is why it was a shock they sold him.

01-09-2017, 03:20 PM
If Hendo was playing for Hibs, how much would folks value him at? If we value SJM at between £3-£5million and Hendo at between £300k and £500k are we saying that SJM is 10 times the player that Hendo is :confused: of course he's not and that's why Celtic can ask for as much as they like for him.
Put it this way, if Hendo was a Hibs player and Celtic came in for him for £300k, there'd be an outrage on here.

01-09-2017, 03:23 PM
If Hendo was playing for Hibs, how much would folks value him at? If we value SJM at between £3-£5million and Hendo at between £300k and £500k are we saying that SJM is 10 times the player that Hendo is :confused: of course he's not and that's why Celtic can ask for as much as they like for him.
Put it this way, if Hendo was a Hibs player and Celtic came in for him for £300k, there'd be an outrage on here.

If he was not getting a game and only rarely making our bench, I don't think we would give a toss, tbh.

01-09-2017, 03:28 PM
Since Rogers came to Celtic a number of players like Griffiths and Armstrong have knuckled down and done what was needed to be permanent members of the match day squad.Henderson,despite going back to them after a huge personal achievement here,has failed to do that.So much so that Celtic are willing to pay millions to bring in one player at the same stage as Henderson.I wonder where the fault lies.

01-09-2017, 03:57 PM
He is at the start of his career not the end. If he has a season kicking his heels and then leaves for nothing then he will be more affordable to clubs if they don't need to dig deep for a fee.

01-09-2017, 04:28 PM
I'm fully aware cheers. Alanis may not be the best person to ask, mind you :wink:

01-09-2017, 06:16 PM
Yip you make your bed etc

IAmLee
01-09-2017, 07:45 PM
Yip you make your bed etc

How exactly? He signed his new deal under Deila (it was announced the same day he came on loan to us) who thought very highly of him. Not his fault he's fallen out of favour under a new manager!

Roxyhibee
01-09-2017, 08:51 PM
How exactly? He signed his new deal under Deila (it was announced the same day he came on loan to us) who thought very highly of him. Not his fault he's fallen out of favour under a new manager!

You're wasting your time - the blame boys are not paying any attention to the facts about Liam signing before he came to Hibs and under Deila.

A Scottish Cup super hero as well. Shame on them...

01-09-2017, 08:53 PM
End of thread methinks.

01-09-2017, 09:53 PM
Hibs player in Jan.

01-09-2017, 10:01 PM
Hibs player in Jan.

Do we really want a player that's hardly played any football in a year and a half though?

Saying that, we re-signed Stokes...

01-09-2017, 10:44 PM
Hibs player in Jan.

If he goes on emergency loan somewhere, that would scupper that. Wouldn't put it past Lawell.

01-09-2017, 11:47 PM
Do we really want a player that's hardly played any football in a year and a half though?

Saying that, we re-signed Stokes...

In short yes. 3 or 4 years ago we would have had him straight into team under current regime he would be bit part until fitness is back.

We have an excellent squad that can now accommodate a player we can play when required not as a necessity.

02-09-2017, 07:10 AM
It's a shame that some folk are taking a pop at Henderson for not engineering a route out of Parkhead. He probably genuinely believed he could play a part in their plans and was encouraged by Rogers with favourable public comments and the odd serious kick of a football. Circumstances have gone against him and his only mistake as far as I can see is that he has been really short-sighted, not seeing the wood for the trees. Poor advice probably hasn't helped either.

w pilton hibby
10-09-2017, 07:48 AM
Kevin Thomson's opinion on Liam's situation

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/celtic/kevin-thomson-liam-henderson-deserves-a-club-where-he-is-appreciated-1-4555134

10-09-2017, 07:58 AM
Kevin Thomson's opinion on Liam's situation

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/celtic/kevin-thomson-liam-henderson-deserves-a-club-where-he-is-appreciated-1-4555134

Everything he says is correct, the only down side in coming to us is that old word "money"!

When he was playing for us Celtic were topping up his wages, don't know if our wage structure could take paying him.

Its down to whether he want to spectate or be involved on the park, he will more than likely get game time when Celtic are playing in Europe every week, and may get a place for rested players.

Just seems a waste of good talent, but that has been the story of the Uglies for years!!!!

10-09-2017, 08:13 AM
IMO I wouldnt leave a club if, lets say, I am on 4k per week to earn 2k per week. As much as I would love to, even for more game time. My career finishes in a few years and need to have enough saved for a rainy day. He could however request to play for us in Jan on loan?

10-09-2017, 08:36 AM
IMO I wouldnt leave a club if, lets say, I am on 4k per week to earn 2k per week. As much as I would love to, even for more game time. My career finishes in a few years and need to have enough saved for a rainy day. He could however request to play for us in Jan on loan?
Liam Henderson wont have a career of he doesnt start playing football.

10-09-2017, 09:08 AM
Everything he says is correct, the only down side in coming to us is that old word "money"!

When he was playing for us Celtic were topping up his wages, don't know if our wage structure could take paying him.

Its down to whether he want to spectate or be involved on the park, he will more than likely get game time when Celtic are playing in Europe every week, and may get a place for rested players.

Just seems a waste of good talent, but that has been the story of the Uglies for years!!!!

He will definitely get some game time during this season at Parkhead but it will be few and far between, unless of course Celtic embark on an unlikely spate of defeats and have a plague of injuries to their favoured midfield players. Barring a complete reversal in circumstances, he has no future with Celtic, and a loan deal or a club willing to satisfy their valuation (diminishing), must be his only escape route. He's too good a player, skilful, conscientious and with great potential, to go to seed, as happens with some players in his position. The unknown quantity is when and with whom.

10-09-2017, 09:25 AM

While I understand the need to earn money, will Liam once he hangs up his boots be incapable of working at something else when that day arrives?

10-09-2017, 09:34 AM
Also he would have to factor in the chance of earning 8-10k a week if he came down to 2k at Hibs for a few years and built his reputation up to attract interest from down south.

Stoney Hibee
10-09-2017, 09:35 AM
When you look at the number of shockingly taken corners over the last two games, you wonder what a difference he could have made with his delivery?

10-09-2017, 10:41 AM
Liam's priority over the next 2/3 years is playing football week in week out and not earning loads of money sitting in a stand.

10-09-2017, 10:46 AM
Unfortunately, Celtc hold all the cards apart from Liam's right to decline a move.

hibs#1
10-09-2017, 10:49 AM
While I understand the need to earn money, will Liam once he hangs up his boots be incapable of working at something else when that day arrives?

Exactly plenty of avenues for ex pro's to still earn a good/great living.coaching/management,work as an agent or punditry.you only need to watch sky sports ex players making a fortune to blether pish.

10-09-2017, 11:44 AM
Exactly plenty of avenues for ex pro's to still earn a good/great living.coaching/management,work as an agent or punditry.you only need to watch sky sports ex players making a fortune to blether pish.

If you take in what you say, he would be better staying as long as possible at Celtic!

If you look at the pundits around just now, most have had a career with the Uglies, the exception being Michael Stewart!!!

The other point is at the moment if he is not playing for Celtic, so no way he would be on the punditry radar!!

10-09-2017, 02:34 PM
Liam's priority over the next 2/3 years is playing football week in week out and not earning loads of money sitting in a stand.
Liam's priority over the next few years is simply Liam & only he can decide whats best for him.