View Full Version : NINE goals in six games for Simon Murray. Has any Hibs striker ever started so well?

08-08-2017, 08:40 PM
Remarkable start for Murray. Plenty strikers down the years who've failed to match that tally in a whole season. Yes, most of the goals have come against non top-flight opponents but with Stokes alongside him it will only help against the stronger teams.

Can anyone recall a Hibs striker making such an instant impact? I recall in the mid-80s Gordon Durie and Steve Cowan bagging a lot of goals in the early season League Cup games, but I think Durie had already been with us since the previous season.

Hibbycol
08-08-2017, 08:42 PM
Joe baker perhaps

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

08-08-2017, 08:56 PM
Simon Murray has more goals in 6 games than hearts......all of them, the whole squad :faf:

08-08-2017, 09:01 PM
Joe baker perhaps

I think it took him a few weeks to find the net.

Hibbycol
08-08-2017, 09:03 PM
I think it took him a few weeks to find the net.Err didn't Joe score 4 goals in his debut against hertz 1958 perhaps ,might be wrong though[emoji20]

Stewboy
08-08-2017, 09:04 PM
Hurtado?

08-08-2017, 09:05 PM
Simon Murray has more goals in 6 games than hearts......all of them, the whole squad :faf:

Post of the week 10/10

Tomsk
08-08-2017, 09:06 PM
Joe McBride, 11 in 6.

Hibbycol
08-08-2017, 09:06 PM
Hurtado?See you ,just laughed out loud on the bus and got some bloody strange looks lol

gringojoe
08-08-2017, 09:07 PM
Joe McBride senior

08-08-2017, 09:07 PM
Joe McBride, 11 in 6.

How did his dad do in his first games? 😀

08-08-2017, 09:08 PM
Joe McBride, 11 in 6.

You beat me to it
Joe McBride senior, of course
Lifted this "snippet" from Wiki

Scored on his debut, against Rangers (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rangers_F.C.), a hat-trick (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hat-trick) in his second match, against Lokomotiv Leipzig (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lokomotive_Leipzig), and four goals in his third match, against Morton (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greenock_Morton_F.C.).
He was Hibs' top goalscorer in both the 1968–69 and 1969–70 seasons, and scored a second European hat-trick for Hibs, against Malmö FF (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malm%C3%B6_FF).

Stewboy
08-08-2017, 09:09 PM
See you ,just laughed out loud on the bus and got some bloody strange looks lol

Aim to please!

gringojoe
08-08-2017, 09:09 PM
Beat me too!

08-08-2017, 09:10 PM
I was impressed when Shefki Kuqi was given a lap of honour to introduce himself to the Hibs crowd.

He should reach the Famous Five stand by next week at this rate.

08-08-2017, 09:25 PM
Yet another excellent all round performance by Murray.

This boy is a gem. Can see him becoming a bit of a hero for young Hibs fans for years to come.

al1875
08-08-2017, 09:41 PM
Remarkable start for Murray. Plenty strikers down the years who've failed to match that tally in a whole season. Yes, most of the goals have come against non top-flight opponents but with Stokes alongside him it will only help against the stronger teams.

Can anyone recall a Hibs striker making such an instant impact? I recall in the mid-80s Gordon Durie and Steve Cowan bagging a lot of goals in the early season League Cup games, but I think Durie had already been with us since the previous season.

Ive had a few, but didn't Joe Harper start off really well, I'm sure he sores 5 in a friendly against NFC Nijmegen (Norway) to give him 10 in 10 , I should probably check before posting but hey ho 😊

08-08-2017, 09:57 PM
Ive had a few, but didn't Joe Harper start off really well, I'm sure he sores 5 in a friendly against NFC Nijmegen (Norway) to give him 10 in 10 , I should probably check before posting but hey ho 😊

Joe was brilliant. Prolific and hard done by
:cb

Tomsk
08-08-2017, 10:00 PM
How did his dad do in his first games? 😀

Don't know about his dad, but I saw his son score two peaches against the Hertz at Tynie. :thumbsup:

08-08-2017, 10:00 PM

Nijmegen are Dutch I think.

08-08-2017, 10:07 PM

I can still remember his overhead kick goal from that night, Wee Joe was on fire and for a few weeks we forgot about Alan Gordon.

08-08-2017, 10:10 PM
Liked this tweet on Bet365

bet365‏Verified account @bet365 11m11 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/bet365/status/895041336688222211) Replying to @bet365 (https://twitter.com/bet365)
Goals this season:https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/26bd.png Simon Murray - 9https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/26bd.png Entire Hearts squad - 8https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f3b6.png "Girls don't like boys, girls like..."

08-08-2017, 10:19 PM

Aye they are.

We had Romano dennemboom on trial from them.

hibbydog
08-08-2017, 10:46 PM
I was impressed when Shefki Kuqi was given a lap of honour to introduce himself to the Hibs crowd.

He should reach the Famous Five stand by next week at this rate.

Like !!

al1875
08-08-2017, 11:23 PM

Ok, ok I've had more than a few 😂😂

08-08-2017, 11:45 PM
In addition to his goals he looks a much better contributor to team play than I'd anticipated from seeing him with Dundee United. I'd seen him as a whole-hearted but technically limited trier. His control of the ball and passing is well above what I'd expected.

I thought United might have got the better of the swap of Keatings and Murray. I was wrong.

09-08-2017, 02:08 AM
Liked this tweet on Bet365

bet365‏Verified account @bet365 11m11 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/bet365/status/895041336688222211) Replying to @bet365 (https://twitter.com/bet365)
Goals this season:https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/26bd.png Simon Murray - 9https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/26bd.png Entire Hearts squad - 8https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f3b6.png "Girls don't like boys, girls like..."

hahaha whoever runs that account is definitely a hibee

https://twitter.com/bet365/status/895019952528293888

09-08-2017, 03:28 AM
Girls don't like boys girls like Simon Murray, Hearts have no seats and Warbuton's a fannyyyy

09-08-2017, 05:22 AM
Err didn't Joe score 4 goals in his debut against hertz 1958 perhaps ,might be wrong though[emoji20]

That was Q/F of the Scottish Cup. His first game was against Airdieonians, first goals were two against Queens Park a few weeks later.

09-08-2017, 05:24 AM

My first game!

Hibbycol
09-08-2017, 11:09 AM
That was Q/F of the Scottish Cup. His first game was against Airdieonians, first goals were two against Queens Park a few weeks later.I would die a happy hibby if he(Duracell si) tucked four goals in his derby debut like THE FABULOUS BAKER BOY [emoji172][emoji172][emoji172][emoji172]

Baker9
09-08-2017, 11:22 AM
Err didn't Joe score 4 goals in his debut against hertz 1958 perhaps ,might be wrong though[emoji20]

A Scottish Cup tie against Hearts at Tynecastle. Hearts were better than us at that time then along came Baker from the junior ranks probably by bus from Wishaw for the game. My first ever away game and the start of a lifelong hero worship of Joe.

scooby
09-08-2017, 11:28 AM
Yet another excellent all round performance by Murray.

This boy is a gem. Can see him becoming a bit of a hero for young Hibs fans for years to come.

The shop will be selling ginger wigs soon 😂

Hibbycol
09-08-2017, 11:39 AM
A Scottish Cup tie against Hearts at Tynecastle. Hearts were better than us at that time then along came Baker from the junior ranks probably by bus from Wishaw for the game. My first ever away game and the start of a lifelong hero worship of Joe.My dad's absolute favourite player of all time too, lost my mum and dad two years since but talk to them as their ashes are in the goals of the famous five end ,my dad would light up like a wee bairn talking of "THE FABULOUS BAKER BOY" ,met him in the four in hand on numerous occasions with my dad and big bruv ,what a gentleman he was,talked for hours about football,hibs,easter road. My dad hanging of his every word,again what a man,football player,HIBBY .https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170809/902d494b4d902aaae1f5e5fe6a911395.jpg

Hibbycol
09-08-2017, 11:41 AM
The shop will be selling ginger wigs soon [emoji23]And if they run out of ginger wigs just stick a rusty brillo pad on yer heid lol, gotta luv the ginger ninja .

Baker9
09-08-2017, 01:48 PM
My dad's absolute favourite player of all time too, lost my mum and dad two years since but talk to them as their ashes are in the goals of the famous five end ,my dad would light up like a wee bairn talking of "THE FABULOUS BAKER BOY" ,met him in the four in hand on numerous occasions with my dad and big bruv ,what a gentleman he was,talked for hours about football,hibs,easter road. My dad hanging of his every word,again what a man,football player,HIBBY .https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170809/902d494b4d902aaae1f5e5fe6a911395.jpg

My pal's dad used to take us to Easter Road. He had a few beers after the match and gave us each an autograph book to catch the players leaving the ground. I got Joe every time I could and also had Smith, Turnbull, Ormond. I never met Joe but I had the pleasure about 5 years ago of spending some time with his brother Gerry who was a Hibs star in his own right. Both were involved in professional sprinting and Gerry, with a grin, claimed to be the fastest of the two. I told him, with a grin, that I didn't believe him - nobody was as fast as Joe.

09-08-2017, 03:01 PM
A Scottish Cup tie against Hearts at Tynecastle. Hearts were better than us at that time then along came Baker from the junior ranks probably by bus from Wishaw for the game. My first ever away game and the start of a lifelong hero worship of Joe.

Hearts weren't just better than us at that time, they were out of sight. Won the league by 10 points in the era of 2 points for a win & had a remarkable goal difference of 99 goals. Yams conceded 11 goals at home in the league all season & 17 year old Joe scored 4 in 90 minutes. Unbelievable! Joe on his own probably stopped Yams doing the double that season & if only for that reason he should be loved by Hibs fans of all ages.

09-08-2017, 03:59 PM
Joe's first game against Hearts was in the friendly that opened Hearts floodlights.We won 4-2-Tommy Preston hat trick and a rasper into the roof of the net from Joe.

09-08-2017, 04:07 PM
Joe's first game against Hearts was in the friendly that opened Hearts floodlights.We won 4-2-Tommy Preston hat trick and a rasper into the roof of the net from Joe.

And, IIRC we were 2-0 down. Now why does that ring a bell?

09-08-2017, 04:41 PM

Joe McBride scored 8 in his first 8 days after joining in October 1968. debut goal at Ibrox on the Saturday, mid-week hat-trick against Lokomotive Leipzig & four against Morton on the Saturday.

confused
10-08-2017, 07:04 AM
Joe McBride scored 8 in his first 8 days after joining in October 1968. debut goal at Ibrox on the Saturday, mid-week hat-trick against Lokomotive Leipzig & four against Morton on the Saturday.
Joe was a scoring machine ,he had been injured before the XMAS when he was at Celtic ,and never played again that season and still ended up the leading goal scorer , when he replaced Colin Srein he became one of my heroes

banarc7062
10-08-2017, 07:14 AM

Whit, even Laughferty ???:greengrin GGTTH

Fuzzywuzzy
10-08-2017, 07:48 AM
Bet365 offering 66/1 to finish league top scorer. 33/1 for Tony stokes. Both with a wee punt