View Full Version : Going South - Succesful (Scottish Only)

h1bee123
06-08-2017, 08:01 PM
Was talking with a mate about Jason's move down south and we were having a debate at the most successful move down south for a Scottish player in the current generation. It didn't include players who have spent their all careers in England such as Darren Fletcher.

We could come up with plenty who went and didn't really suceed for example, Fraser Fyvie, David Goodwillie, Craig Gordon (had injuries but never really settled) etc.

Came up with the following for those that have succeeded in recent years:
Robert Snodgrass
Gary Caldwell
Shaun Maloney
Andrew Robertson
James McCarthy (represents Ireland)
Steven Fletcher
Charlie Adam (didn't really work at international level but on his day he can be v. good)

Feels like we might have missed someone very obvious but any names and who would you say is the most successful Scottish player from a Scottish club in England currently playing?

06-08-2017, 08:04 PM
Some Dorrans fellow?Whittaker,Naismith?

06-08-2017, 08:04 PM
James McArthur

06-08-2017, 08:05 PM
James McArthur

06-08-2017, 08:05 PM
James McArthur
Scott Arfield

heidtheba
06-08-2017, 08:06 PM
Going back further would be

John Collins
Duncan Ferguson
Dougie Freedman
Don Hutchison
Alan Hutton
David Weir? (Much as I hate to say that)

Very recently/currently
Steven Whittaker
Steven Naismith

06-08-2017, 08:06 PM
James McFadden

hibee
06-08-2017, 08:07 PM
James McArthur?

06-08-2017, 08:11 PM
If you take the likes of Dalglish, Hansen, Souness, Buchan, Leighton, Gemmil etc. as a benchmark then no-one in the current or recent generation comes close.

06-08-2017, 08:14 PM
Alan McGregor
David Marshall

06-08-2017, 08:15 PM
Very few Scots have gone south, to the top level in recent times
Too many overseas players in English football at the moment

06-08-2017, 08:16 PM
If you take the likes of Dalglish, Hansen, Souness, Buchan, Leighton, Gemmil etc. as a benchmark then no-one in the current or recent generation comes close.

Souness didn't kick a ball in Scotland until he signed for the Old Rangers.

McAvenny <sp> was semi decent at WHU as was the defender they signed from Dundee Utd who took their penalties whose name I've completely forgotten.

06-08-2017, 08:17 PM

McAvenny <sp> was semi decent at WHU as was the defender they signed from Dundee Utd who took their penalties whose name I've completely forgotten.

Daley or Stewart

06-08-2017, 08:22 PM
James McArthur

Was excellent for Palace until around new year and then picked up an injury and lost his place in the team. Lots of transfer rumours doing the rounds as we have a few good midfielders now but need funds for other positions. A very popular player with the fans and if he does leave then I'm sure he'll go with everyone's best wishes and will find himself another bottom-mid table EPL team.

06-08-2017, 08:33 PM
James McArthur?

He did very well to win the X Factor.

06-08-2017, 08:34 PM
Ross Wallace has had a great career down south & I think Ross McCormack is the most expensive Scottish player ever.

06-08-2017, 08:36 PM
Kenny Miller made a good career for himself.

06-08-2017, 08:39 PM
Off the top of my head I can think of 3 ex Hibs players, Jim Scott, Peter Cormack & Des Bremner who won a European trophy while with an English club. Obviously not current, just thought I'd add a Hibs interest!

06-08-2017, 08:46 PM
Was talking with a mate about Jason's move down south and we were having a debate at the most successful move down south for a Scottish player in the current generation. It didn't include players who have spent their all careers in England such as Darren Fletcher.

We could come up with plenty who went and didn't really suceed for example, Fraser Fyvie, David Goodwillie, Craig Gordon (had injuries but never really settled) etc.

Came up with the following for those that have succeeded in recent years:
Robert Snodgrass
Gary Caldwell
Shaun Maloney
Andrew Robertson
James McCarthy (represents Ireland)
Steven Fletcher
Charlie Adam (didn't really work at international level but on his day he can be v. good)

Feels like we might have missed someone very obvious but any names and who would you say is the most successful Scottish player from a Scottish club in England currently playing?

James Macarthur and Mcfadden Whitts Naismith Alan Hutton all did as well as most named above Andy Robertson if establishes himself first eleven Liverpool would surely be biggest achievement.

Duncan Ferguson must be best recent times

Tom Hart RIP
06-08-2017, 08:46 PM
Mo Johnstone

Tom Hart RIP
06-08-2017, 08:47 PM
Davie Gibson
Bobby Johnstone

06-08-2017, 08:55 PM
Surprised no one has mentioned Gary McCallister

06-08-2017, 08:58 PM
Ryan Fraser had a brilliant season at Bournemouth last season and I hope he continues that form into this current campaign.

06-08-2017, 09:02 PM
Surprised no one has mentioned Gary McCallister

Liverpool got best out of him. Great player. Badly treated in scotland jersey.

Paul Telfer Steve Clarke played most career EPL as did Christain Daily

proud_and_green
06-08-2017, 10:32 PM
Off the top of my head I can think of 3 ex Hibs players, Jim Scott, Peter Cormack & Des Bremner who won a European trophy while with an English club. Obviously not current, just thought I'd add a Hibs interest!Des was the one I thought of, I was gutted when he left my favourite player at the time. Bobby Smith too, I think he went to Leicester.

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk

06-08-2017, 11:23 PM
John Collins played 53 times for Everton.

Any player whose gone to the Championship recently has been successful financially.

06-08-2017, 11:31 PM
I think, presently, only Andy Robertson is successful, as is playing for a club with Champions League football, albeit playoffs with Liverpool. I use benchmark of Dalglish, Archibald, Bremner (both), Souness, Law, etc and can't stand the lucrative mediocrity of the English Championship as a successful move, especially going to smaller towns in the same country and economy as Edinburgh.

06-08-2017, 11:55 PM
Mo Johnstone
Hardly.

He played 38 matches for Watford and later another 34 for Everton.

He made more of an impact in France with Nantes and the MLS with Kansas City.

TelaStella
07-08-2017, 12:13 AM
Scott Arfield, Craig Bryson and Johnny Russell have all done well enough so far. I remember Sparky had a brief but brilliant spell with wolves before heading to Celtic as well. Sol Bamba is another one who sticks out for me- six or so years in Scotland with us and the pars before and went on to play for Leicester and Leeds where I think he might have been captain for a bit. Now at Cardiff I see.

07-08-2017, 12:16 AM
Billy McKinlay

Hfcwilson3192
07-08-2017, 02:02 AM
Andy Robertson for me. He's the only one who's constantly progressed.

07-08-2017, 02:11 AM

Ray Stewart......

07-08-2017, 06:34 AM
Going back further would be

John Collins
Duncan Ferguson
Dougie Freedman
Don Hutchison
Alan Hutton
David Weir? (Much as I hate to say that)

Very recently/currently
Steven Whittaker
Steven Naismith

don Hutchison was born In Gateshead, I think, don't think he played in Scotland at all.

DTS
07-08-2017, 06:47 AM
Andy Robertson
James mcarthur
Ryan Fraser
Charlie Adam
Alan Hutton
Ross McCormack
Jamie Murphy
Alan McGregor
David Marshall
Steven fletcher
Steven Whittaker
Steven Naismith
Christophe Berra
Graham dorrans
Scott arfield
Robert snodgrass
Shaun maloney

07-08-2017, 08:38 AM
I think, presently, only Andy Robertson is successful, as is playing for a club with Champions League football, albeit playoffs with Liverpool. I use benchmark of Dalglish, Archibald, Bremner (both), Souness, Law, etc and can't stand the lucrative mediocrity of the English Championship as a successful move, especially going to smaller towns in the same country and economy as Edinburgh.

Can't agree only Robertson is successful.

Robert Snodgrass is a consistent and effective presence in the Premier League down there and has been for a few seasons now.

Robertson has just signed for a club that has a history of European football - perhaps once he contributes to Liverpools continued presence in Europe, you can call him a success. Just now, he's an excellent prospect in a very competitive squad at Anfield.

07-08-2017, 08:50 AM
Des was the one I thought of, I was gutted when he left my favourite player at the time. Bobby Smith too, I think he went to Leicester.

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk

Des Bremner's departure was the final nail in the coffin for the Turnbull era team and I don't think it was too much of a surprise we were relegated after he left.

07-08-2017, 08:23 PM
Can't believe no-one has mentioned Kevin McNaughton. He was a mainstay of the Cardiff defence for nearly 9 years - I think he played not far off 300 games for them. As successful Scots down south go, that's hard to beat.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

darwenhibby
07-08-2017, 08:52 PM
Can't believe no-one has mentioned Kevin McNaughton. He was a mainstay of the Cardiff defence for nearly 9 years - I think he played not far off 300 games for them. As successful Scots down south go, that's hard to beat.

Kevin Gallagher Colin Hendry

OsloHibs
08-08-2017, 01:47 AM
Not many is it?. I was shocked there has been so few Scots, I imagined it to be much higher. There's probably been more Norwegians made it!!!

RIP Bestie
08-08-2017, 02:18 AM

Did McNaughton not do a Craig Levien and keek his pants about playing in a vital game.
Sure I remember something about this but might have dreamt it. Think it may have been an international and he was never picked again.

RIP Bestie
08-08-2017, 02:41 AM

Did McNaughton not do a Craig Levien and keek his pants about playing in a vital game.
Sure I remember something about this but might have dreamt it. Think it may have been an international and he was never picked again.

08-08-2017, 05:35 AM
Liam Henderson may well be the next one.

rodhibs55
08-08-2017, 07:36 AM
Hate to say but Colin Calderwood did ok at Spurs. Then dont think I seen Steve Archibald mentioned. For us Hibbys, Brian Rice did ok at Nottingham Forrest. For the older generation there is of course Peter Cormack, Peter Marinello, and Alec Cropley.

08-08-2017, 07:57 AM
JC and Paul Lambert both went abroad and were successful. Not England I know but left Scotland at least!

08-08-2017, 08:24 AM
JC and Paul Lambert both went abroad and were successful. Not England I know but left Scotland at least!

It's still South

08-08-2017, 08:29 AM
Off the top of my head I can think of 3 ex Hibs players, Jim Scott, Peter Cormack & Des Bremner who won a European trophy while with an English club. Obviously not current, just thought I'd add a Hibs interest!

I don't think he played in the final, but John McNamee was in the Newcastle squad with Jimmy Scott who won the Fairs' Cup in 1969.

Don't know why he wasn't in the final - possibly injured? Well remembered at St James's Park by auld yins like me .... :greengrin

08-08-2017, 08:36 AM
John Wark was a great success.

08-08-2017, 08:39 AM
John Wark was a great success.

He didn't play for a Scottish team.

You confusing him with Joe Wark, of Motherwell?

Rugy07
08-08-2017, 09:01 AM
Gordon Greer did well in England in the Championship, and Jamie Murphy too. Also, playoff winning specialist Stephen Dobbie.

08-08-2017, 09:06 AM
Gordon Greer did well in England in the Championship, and Jamie Murphy too. Also, playoff winning specialist Stephen Dobbie.

Was going to say Dobbie. Someone who wasn't a success up here, screwed the nut and succeeded down south.

Firestarter
08-08-2017, 09:17 AM
Aiden Mcgeady.

Tom Hart RIP
08-08-2017, 09:18 AM
It's incredible to think but years ago top English clubs could pick up players from lower Scottish clubs such as
John White from Alloa
Joe Jordan Morton
Gordon McQueen St Mirren

Mo Johnstone and Alan Hansen Patrick Thistle
All bar Mo went to clubs challenging for the league and were first team regulars relatively quickly.

steelendhibs
08-08-2017, 09:33 AM
It's incredible to think but years ago top English clubs could pick up players from lower Scottish clubs such as
John White from Alloa
Joe Jordan Morton
Gordon McQueen St Mirren

Mo Johnstone and Alan Hansen Patrick Thistle
All bar Mo went to clubs challenging for the league and were first team regulars relatively quickly.

Steven Dobbie

08-08-2017, 12:40 PM
He didn't play for a Scottish team.

You confusing him with Joe Wark, of Motherwell?

No not at all, no confusion I just never read the OP properly :-)

nellio
08-08-2017, 01:46 PM

Beat me to it! Super Kev was amazing for us for years and years. Chris Burke was great as well. Gavin Rae solid and so was Neil Alexander. We've had a lot of Scottish players. Ross McCormack is another.

To deliver...
08-08-2017, 03:26 PM
Oli Burke did well enough down at Forrest to get his 13 mil move to RB

08-08-2017, 03:32 PM
Jim Leighton.

08-08-2017, 08:47 PM
Gordon Strachan

micka_weer
08-08-2017, 09:26 PM
Owen Coyle and Ayr's own Stevie Nicol

micka_weer
08-08-2017, 09:27 PM
Billy Bremner

08-08-2017, 09:29 PM
Going back a wee while but Tony Green is still an absolute God in Blackpool and still very highly regarded in Newcastle. A real talent.

09-08-2017, 01:15 PM
Oor very ain Crunchie McAllister had a guid kick at the ba' at Stamford Bridge IIRC. Not capped right enough, but probably should have been!

09-08-2017, 02:23 PM
Billy McKinlay

Kevin McNaughton.

09-08-2017, 02:39 PM
Joe Baker remains idolised by many at Arsenal, Sunderland and Forest
Neil Martin did well.
Peter Marinello probably better thought of at Portsmouth than the pop star Arsenal got.

Peter Cormack and Des Bremner have to be the Hibs related success stories at a level beyond us. And Bobby Johnstone had a snack bar named after him at Maine Road.

09-08-2017, 02:40 PM
Don't forget Dave McKay and Alex Young from Hearts did ok in England.