View Full Version : Attendance against Ayr United

06-08-2017, 02:51 PM
Will we get over 10000 for Tuesday's game?

Hibbycol
06-08-2017, 02:53 PM
Feel good factor says yes

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

06-08-2017, 02:54 PM
Feel good factor says yes

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

That's all well and good, but I want to know what the dot counter says. :greengrin

06-08-2017, 02:55 PM

i'd be surprised..I noticed today that out of the 6 in our group - only two of us have bought their season ticket seats so far.

06-08-2017, 02:57 PM
That's all well and good, but I want to know what the dot counter says. :greengrin

You'll get a better idea tomorrow morning when unbought season ticket seats are released

06-08-2017, 02:57 PM

8K maximum I reckon.

Bob Box Fish
06-08-2017, 02:58 PM
I don't know many season ticket holders going. Maybe 7000 or so?

8,000 would be my guess. Mind you, with only 1000 getting to Ibrox that might encourage a few to go on Tuesday if not in possession of Ibrox briefs.

Its hard to tell what the crowd will be. The league cup group stages IMO almost devalued the competition to a pre season training games schedule and that may transfer over to the early knock out stages .... add in the fact that most of us have already seen Ayr United three times in the last year so they aren't exactly novel.

The plus side is a good performance by the team against Thistle, there's every chance Stokes will start and it is at the end of the day a knock out tie ... on that basis we are probably looking at north of 6,000 ...... 10,000 will be very very good IMO.

06-08-2017, 03:01 PM

DTS
06-08-2017, 03:02 PM
Anywhere between 7-11k I'd say

06-08-2017, 03:02 PM
Between 7-8,000.

06-08-2017, 03:04 PM
Have not taken up my Season Ticket Seat but if a decent day intend to travel through and make a day of it at the Fringe and just pay at the gate with one other Dont expect a Big crowd but if we got 10,000 that would be decent

06-08-2017, 03:43 PM

06-08-2017, 04:34 PM

Why not

06-08-2017, 04:41 PM
Its hard to tell what the crowd will be. The league cup group stages IMO almost devalued the competition to a pre season training games schedule and that may transfer over to the early knock out stages .... add in the fact that most of us have already seen Ayr United three times in the last year so they aren't exactly novel.

The plus side is a good performance by the team against Thistle, there's every chance Stokes will start and it is at the end of the day a knock out tie ... on that basis we are probably looking at north of 6,000 ...... 10,000 will be very very good IMO.

Last team to beat us at ER, 5 goals away from home yesterday and 20 or so in their 5 competitive games to date including a derby win v Killie making them the seeds in this tie......Wee bit more novel than the last time we played them I'm sure.

06-08-2017, 04:59 PM
Last team to beat us at ER, 5 goals away from home yesterday and 20 or so in their 5 competitive games to date including a derby win v Killie making them the seeds in this tie......Wee bit more novel than the last time we played them I'm sure.

Can you electronically transfer £52.60 to my account, please. That's the cheapest train fare I can find.

Oh aye, and get the spare room ready.

Cheers.

06-08-2017, 05:10 PM
Can you electronically transfer £52.60 to my account, please. That's the cheapest train fare I can find.

Oh aye, and get the spare room ready.

Cheers.

So you've got the mascot gig? :greengrin

06-08-2017, 05:12 PM
Home for the game weather permitting tomorrow so looking forward to it. :flag:

06-08-2017, 05:37 PM
Would love to be there but in London on Business (arranged before tie was) and don't get back till 10pm

06-08-2017, 05:42 PM
6k. Folk on holiday. Price of ticket. Almost a friendly.

06-08-2017, 05:43 PM
7-8k probably

06-08-2017, 06:01 PM
So you've got the mascot gig? :greengrin

That's the single fare. I'm travelling first class.

Standard class going back when I'm paying, likesay.

06-08-2017, 06:02 PM

Almost a friendly? I'm surprised at you, Lex.

I hope the players don't think like that.

06-08-2017, 06:08 PM

Never heard so much nonsense. Anything over 8k would be good. Lets cheer the boys in to the quarters

06-08-2017, 06:16 PM

No . Between 6 and 8 imo .

06-08-2017, 06:18 PM
Never heard so much nonsense. Anything over 8k would be good. Lets cheer the boys in to the quarters
What's nonsense? The size of the crowd or the excuses?

davhibby
06-08-2017, 07:05 PM

If it's almost a friendly then I take it you won't care if the players aren't really bothered about the result and we end up going out then? Some people's attitudes on here to one of the 2 competitions we have a chance of winning is baffling

06-08-2017, 07:07 PM
If it's almost a friendly then I take it you won't care if the players aren't really bothered about the result and we end up going out then? Some people's attitudes on here to one of the 2 competitions we have a chance of winning is baffling
No I'd be bloody livid!!! It sure is baffling.

06-08-2017, 07:13 PM
We usually get around 8,000/9,000 in this round, can't see Ayr bringing more than 500 or so

06-08-2017, 07:28 PM
i'd go for about 7,500. If you think back to our near past that was all we would get for league games quite often.

hibsdaft
06-08-2017, 09:21 PM
our corresponding fixture last year saw an attendance of 7,646 against QOTS, on 9th August. that was actually our first competitive home game though (Brondby aside) as we were away to Falkirk first day of the season.

7450 I reckon.

06-08-2017, 09:35 PM

The folk on holiday excuse is wearing a bit thin now. Have 10,000 Hibs fans suddenly gone on holiday since 5pm yesterday?

And almost a friendly? That's clearly nonsense. We're 90 minutes away from getting into the quarter finals of a national cup competition, one of the two competitions that we actually have a realistic chance of winning. There's no such reward in a friendly match.

The cost reason is obviously personal to each person as only they know how much they can afford to pay. I highly doubt that the cost factor is one of the main reasons why we'll see a small crowd on Tuesday though.

06-08-2017, 09:39 PM
I'm down south on Tuesday otherwise i would be there. :aok:

07-08-2017, 07:28 AM
The folk on holiday excuse is wearing a bit thin now. Have 10,000 Hibs fans suddenly gone on holiday since 5pm yesterday?

And almost a friendly? That's clearly nonsense. We're 90 minutes away from getting into the quarter finals of a national cup competition, one of the two competitions that we actually have a realistic chance of winning. There's no such reward in a friendly match.

The cost reason is obviously personal to each person as only they know how much they can afford to pay. I highly doubt that the cost factor is one of the main reasons why we'll see a small crowd on Tuesday though.

The simple fact is that football is not life or death to everyone. Ayr is not a mouthwatering tie, and a lot of fans/ST holders will find it's an easy one to miss. I'm looking forward to it, but wasn't expecting to be joined by another 15,000 or so.

07-08-2017, 07:35 AM

18k not on holiday on Sat tho. Last minute deals i assume. If its a low attendance is simple down to the fact that some people can;t be bothered with the League Cup at this stage. Thats up to them.

07-08-2017, 07:37 AM
I'll be there, and not out of a sense of duty. I LOVE games like this:

-Cup tie football, sudden death
-Under floodlights
-Core support sans glory hunters - so always run into old faces and can have a chat and catch up.
- Better chance to see fringe/youth players getting involved

Nothing not to like about Tuesday night.

scooby
07-08-2017, 07:42 AM

5 of us on holiday this week, who will miss it. Plenty empty seats around us in the FF on Saturday suggests quite a few folks still away.

07-08-2017, 07:47 AM
No . Between 6 and 8 imo .

This. I noticed the European Supercup is on BTSport that night. May keep a few waverers in the house.

07-08-2017, 07:49 AM
Morning, chaps.

Can't seem to see the option to buy tickets for tomorrow nor the pricing for it on the official website.

Can anyone let me know? My laddie is up from Southampton for his holidays and thoroughly enjoyed saturdays game, wouldn't mind going tomorrow night too.

07-08-2017, 07:50 AM

The difference is that season ticket holders who were on holiday were counted in the crowd for Saturday but will not be for Tuesday. Unless they buy a ticket and miss the match.

07-08-2017, 07:52 AM
If we had loyalty points I'd offer double points for early rounds of the league cup and more points for being against lower league opposition. You want cup final tickets? Buy a ST or get on board from the early rounds :wink:

07-08-2017, 07:52 AM
Morning, chaps.

Can't seem to see the option to buy tickets for tomorrow nor the pricing for it on the official website.

Can anyone let me know? My laddie is up from Southampton for his holidays and thoroughly enjoyed saturdays game, wouldn't mind going tomorrow night too.

https://www.eticketing.co.uk/hibernianfc/default.aspx

07-08-2017, 09:24 AM
https://www.eticketing.co.uk/hibernianfc/default.aspx

Ah, magic. Thanks. Fairly reasonable pricing to be honest, I'll be there 🕺

Big L
07-08-2017, 10:15 AM

Correct! We need to be up for this from the start if we want to progress They are a side that appear to be in good form, not to be taken lightly.

seanshow
07-08-2017, 10:17 AM
'Part time supporters....your only part time supporters'

If we lose and get pumped out the cup through a lack of people in the stands who cant be ar@#d going, we know who to blame on here :)

:fishin:

07-08-2017, 10:30 AM
Its got to be remembered that a fair percentage of the Club's support come from outwith the immediate Edinburgh area and its that bit more difficult to make the journey on a midweek working day.

07-08-2017, 10:33 AM
I cant go and neither can my dad - however thats life, sometimes people cant make games. I wonder what the crowd would be on tuesday if Celtic were playing Ayr? Nowhere near a sellout thats for sure !

07-08-2017, 10:50 AM
I won't be there.

Although it's reduced prices, its still too much of a stretch at this moment and even if it wasn't, its too late to take my oldest two and I don't want the wife left with all the kids.

07-08-2017, 10:57 AM
Completely forgot about this game, even though I bought a ticket! Hope Slivka and Dave get a game. Good time for Stokes to get match sharpness up ahead of Ibrox too.

07-08-2017, 11:39 AM
If it ever stops p****** rain there might be 9/10,000 at the game. Just a guess.

07-08-2017, 11:44 AM

If you know 7000 ST holders that seems like quite a lot to me!

07-08-2017, 11:47 AM
Not looking too promising on eticketing for attendances.. only one section which isn't green!

07-08-2017, 11:51 AM
I have managed a few mid week games in the past couple of seasons but its a no no at the moment for me this season. Very difficult for exiles/out of towners. Will miss the midweek Hearts and Rangers games too. (sad emoji)

07-08-2017, 11:52 AM
Its got to be remembered that a fair percentage of the Club's support come from outwith the immediate Edinburgh area and its that bit more difficult to make the journey on a midweek working day.

I'm not sure that's the reason. If we were playing Hearts or The Rangers, a lot more people would be going.

I think it's simply that people don't see this as a particularly appealing game and are choosing not to attend, as is their right.

timewilltell
07-08-2017, 11:59 AM
I'm a new season ticket holder. Does my season ticket cover this game? Thanks.

DTS
07-08-2017, 12:01 PM
People that want to go and can will, people that can't or don't want to go won't. The attendance doesn't matter at all we should be beating ayr comfortably it's each individuals right to attend when they please and if they then want to go to a potential semi/final then good for them. The fact the cup top up is no longer on offer will keep 90% of cup tie attendances low this season as direct debits for home games are steep especially if a family never mind another potential 20/30 a month on top of it for a midweek game. Ps. I'll be there and going tstraifht to the airport on a 10 day holiday after

07-08-2017, 12:07 PM
I'm a new season ticket holder. Does my season ticket cover this game? Thanks.

No, league games only.

West lower
07-08-2017, 12:20 PM

But probably manage to make it in for the derby in October.

timewilltell
07-08-2017, 01:05 PM
No, league games only.
Thank You. :flag:

07-08-2017, 01:28 PM
But probably manage to make it in for the derby in October.

A derby under the lights is more worthy of travel expense and commitment. When ST sales are at fantastic levels and we will be seeing 17k + crowds on a regular basis this season, I don't think early league cup round attendances, which have been in line with similar games in the 40 years of my time going to see Hibs, is really worthy of concern.

07-08-2017, 02:03 PM

I will be going from Paisley

But only coz i have the day off and will make a day of it at the Fringe first

connerg
07-08-2017, 02:48 PM
Thank You. :flag:

You do get a 10% discount for all cup games as a season ticket holder.

07-08-2017, 03:40 PM
Its got to be remembered that a fair percentage of the Club's support come from outwith the immediate Edinburgh area and its that bit more difficult to make the journey on a midweek working day.Bet they Make it to the midweek derby tho...#justsaying

Iceman1875
07-08-2017, 03:41 PM
I'm a walk up. Was there Saturday and will be there +2 tomorrow night.

07-08-2017, 03:57 PM
Even in the middle sections of the east there are about 10-20% or so sold, max!

I live in Edinburgh so no hassle/cost travelling, but I can't get enough of this hibs team right now! Looking forward to Murray hitting double figures for the season! :P

RoscoHibby
07-08-2017, 04:20 PM
Just wouldn't be able to make it in time from work to get to Leith San Siro. Also got 2 young bairns and a night out Saturday. Got to use the goodwill wisely...

Plus only had a weeks notice for this as well. And yes, I'll be making work and babysitting provisions for the derby, not really comparable IMO.

Loads of reasons folk can't make it, but after Saturday I wish I was there...just can't.

07-08-2017, 04:24 PM
I'll be there! Work most weekends so mid-week games are a god send for me. MON THE GOOD GUYS! :flag:

liscious_hibs
08-08-2017, 12:11 AM
My boss gave me the day off! I was always going but now I get a long lie and possibly a beverage or three [emoji2]

08-08-2017, 11:05 PM
8K maximum I reckon.

8,100 If I heard correctly. Pretty pleased with that.

09-08-2017, 06:29 AM
8,100 If I heard correctly. Pretty pleased with that.

Two seasons ago, that would have been a pretty standard attendance for a league game.

09-08-2017, 06:33 AM
Two seasons ago, that would have been a pretty standard attendance for a league game.

And we'd have been looking at 5-6K for an early League Cup fixture v lower league opposition.

09-08-2017, 09:05 AM
8,100 If I heard correctly.

Quite hard to believe, not to worry my wee nephew enjoyed himself.