View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian V Partick Thistle

05-08-2017, 12:59 PM
Can't see a match day thread so here it is.

1st game back in the Premiership for 3 years, a huge crowd, Stokes back & sunshine & showers gonna be an exciting afternoon.

No team new yet, c'mon the Hibees :flag:

05-08-2017, 01:00 PM
Team

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DGd6sDuXcAADq1R.jpg:large

05-08-2017, 01:02 PM
Surprised Paul starts

Everyone else makes sense

05-08-2017, 01:04 PM
Sure Stokes will come on at some stage should be a huge ovation when he does.

05-08-2017, 01:06 PM
Surprised Paul starts

Paul Hanlon captains the side for today's match #GGTTH (https://twitter.com/hashtag/GGTTH?src=hash)

05-08-2017, 01:09 PM
Looks like a 4-1-3-2 set up

05-08-2017, 01:13 PM
Great to see Hanlon back.

05-08-2017, 01:16 PM
Gray doesnt even make the bench.... Is he suspended?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

05-08-2017, 01:17 PM
Yes

DTS
05-08-2017, 01:19 PM
Looks like a 4-1-3-2 set up

4-3-3 easily

05-08-2017, 01:20 PM
Paul Hanlon captains the side for today's match #GGTTH (https://twitter.com/hashtag/GGTTH?src=hash)

Has he partnered Efe before?

05-08-2017, 01:25 PM
Team makes sense if Hanlon is fit.

5-2 win would do nicely.

Should then leave the table as Hibs, the rest, hearts.

05-08-2017, 01:25 PM
Surprised Paul starts

Why surprise? Is he coming back from injury?

05-08-2017, 01:26 PM
They have cleaned the astro turf along the east so that should make a few folk happy.

05-08-2017, 01:27 PM
Why surprise? Is he coming back from injury?

Yes he is

They have cleaned the astro turf along the east so that should make a few folk happy.

Good, I will be inspecting it shortly

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Good, I will be inspecting it shortly

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

05-08-2017, 01:39 PM
Great to see Hanlon back.

:agree: Hope he has good warm up. :wink:

CyberSauzee
05-08-2017, 01:40 PM
'mon the Cabbage :flag:

CyberSauzee
05-08-2017, 01:41 PM

The seagulls will be happy with that.

05-08-2017, 01:45 PM
Good to see the tannoy has improved 🙈

05-08-2017, 01:51 PM
Lets do this Hibs. 3 points on the biard straight away to show that we mean business this season.

05-08-2017, 01:54 PM
Yes he is

Right, hope he has a good 90 minutes, had assumed he had come back before now.

05-08-2017, 01:55 PM
Yes

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkCheers

05-08-2017, 01:58 PM
Stokes will be playing today

05-08-2017, 02:08 PM
Goal Partick

05-08-2017, 02:08 PM
Sat far too deep there. Horrid defending

05-08-2017, 02:09 PM
Baws 1-0 Thistle, Lawless, we've not started yet

05-08-2017, 02:10 PM
Good, well-worked goal by Thistle - poor start by HIbs

IncredibleHibee
05-08-2017, 02:10 PM
Lennon out.......

Blackfordhibby
05-08-2017, 02:12 PM
Hopefully a lesson learned, plenty of time to sort it out.

05-08-2017, 02:13 PM
Two good chances there. Looks like it's pishing down with rain

05-08-2017, 02:14 PM
2 good chances for who?

05-08-2017, 02:15 PM
Squirrel scores

05-08-2017, 02:15 PM
2 good chances for who?

who or whom? (I genuinely dont know which it should be)

05-08-2017, 02:16 PM
1-1

Squirrel scores

Do I take this to mean that it is 1-1?

Yeesss 1-1 Boyle score, bit lucky but who cares, c'mon the Hibees :flag:

Yes!!!!!! Boyle

SJNB Hibby
Magic!!!!!
SJM playing a blinder!

cjward2
05-08-2017, 02:17 PM
great surging run there by SJM. Good goal.

05-08-2017, 02:18 PM
Boyle unlucky to not get a second there, very close

05-08-2017, 02:19 PM
Thread very quiet! Everyone must be at the game!! :greengrin

05-08-2017, 02:25 PM
Murray looks a player. Very impressed.

05-08-2017, 02:26 PM
Yeesss 1-1 Boyle score, bit lucky but who cares, c'mon the Hibees :flag:

How so?

05-08-2017, 02:26 PM
Utd up 1-0

05-08-2017, 02:27 PM
How so?

Sky said hit a partick players knee and fell to Boyle

05-08-2017, 02:29 PM
perfectly timed tackle, after penalty claims

05-08-2017, 02:29 PM
Sky said hit a partick players knee and fell to Boyle

Ill take it, the kind of thing that happens when your in the opposition box..

05-08-2017, 02:30 PM
Ill take it, the kind of thing that happens when your in the opposition box..

Usually against us! 😉

05-08-2017, 02:34 PM
Whittaker makes it 2-1

05-08-2017, 02:35 PM
Whittaker makes it 2-1 now, good play by Swanson to set it up

Goal for Whittaker! Great patient build up play by the midfield

Yaldy. 'Mon the Hibs

SJNB Hibby
Stephen Whittaker welcome home son!!!!

Pure class!!!!! Whittaker from a Danny Swanson assist

05-08-2017, 02:36 PM
How so?

Think it was deflected to him

Hibs boss Neil Lennon is looking a little happier now as John McGinn's low through-ball ricochets into the path of Martin Boyle and the winger side-foots home the equaliser from inside the box.

cjward2
05-08-2017, 02:37 PM
Another well worked goal. Great work by Swanson and then a wee touch from Whitty puts the ball in the back of the net. 2-1 Hibs:thumbsup:

05-08-2017, 02:37 PM
It was difficult to see but I thought that Simon Murray got the last touch but Whittaker certainly claimed it.....

Col_0762
05-08-2017, 02:39 PM
Stoppage in play, why are the singing section in FF now? Just sounds like a distant banging from the east. Still noisy in East with singing. Seems like an own goal by those guys moving up there.

cjward2
Hibs have really dominated the game so far depsite Partick getting a goal. Can easily see us getting a goal or two more. Will Stokesy be on fire today and come off the bench to score?

AZhibee
It was difficult to see but I thought that Simon Murray got the last touch but Whittaker certainly claimed it.....

Not at all

05-08-2017, 02:40 PM
GOAL - Hibernian 2-1 Partick ThistleSteven Whittaker

Posted at 15:36
After returning to Easter Road this summer, Steven Whittaker marks his second league debut with a goal, prodding home Danny Swanson's low cut-back with the outside of his right boot. It's not a great strike, but it rolls agonisingly past Tomas Cerny and into the bottom corner. Hibs lead.

05-08-2017, 02:40 PM
Osman throws his knees recklessly into the boots of Swanson and discovers some intense pain

AZhibee
05-08-2017, 02:49 PM
Thought Efe got to the ball on the replay

05-08-2017, 02:49 PM
What formation are we lined up in??

05-08-2017, 02:50 PM
Thought Efe got to the ball on the replay

I thought he did too. People going radge because the partick player didn't go off even though efe got booked 😂

05-08-2017, 02:51 PM
What formation are we lined up in??

433 I'd say. Murray, Swanson and Boyle up front.

Some may think it's a 451

Good 1st half we're in for a heck of a season

I thought he did too. People going radge because the partick player didn't go off even though efe got booked 😂

They both got treatment so both should have gone off.

05-08-2017, 02:53 PM

Nope. Efe got booked so their player doesn't need to go off.

05-08-2017, 02:54 PM

Nah their player was treated because of a foul no need to go off.

05-08-2017, 02:55 PM

Ref was correct.

05-08-2017, 02:56 PM
Nah their player was treated because of a foul no need to go off.

Only applies to bookings I think.

05-08-2017, 02:56 PM
Hibs by far the better side. We were asleep before they scored though. I'll be really frustrated if we don't get the 3 points.

05-08-2017, 02:58 PM
Stoppage in play, why are the singing section in FF now? Just sounds like a distant banging from the east. Still noisy in East with singing. Seems like an own goal by those guys moving up there.

It's certainly livened things up in the FF. No complaints from me.

seanshow
05-08-2017, 02:58 PM
Sunny days and
Good game so far, excellent going forward, always going to be a little bit suspect at the back, with the slightly higher level of play in the spl, i predicted 2v2 hope im wrong.

Half the crowd dont unterstand the rule about an injured player not having to leave the park if hes fouled..ooops :)

05-08-2017, 02:59 PM

Not the rule now.

433 I'd say. Murray, Swanson and Boyle up front.

Some may think it's a 451

Cheers. Saw 4-4-2 on Flash Scores .. but didn't look like that with personnel starting

greenlad

No problem with the singing or the drum. The megaphone is cringy though.

seanshow
05-08-2017, 03:01 PM
Im glad the drum has moved out the east stand, long may it continue. :greengrin

HTD1875
05-08-2017, 03:02 PM
Sitting in the east 44 strangely quiet though some of the singers would have stayed.

05-08-2017, 03:03 PM
How's the singing section getting on?:flag:

05-08-2017, 03:05 PM
Straining to hear the tannoy

05-08-2017, 03:08 PM
Falkirk gettin beat 2-1:thumbsup:

05-08-2017, 03:11 PM
Pen Hibs 3-1 Murray scores it :flag:

05-08-2017, 03:11 PM
Penalty and Murray burries it.

05-08-2017, 03:12 PM
Great start to the season.

cjward2
05-08-2017, 03:13 PM
Again, great play around the penalty box. A nice wee back heeler from Swanson to Boyle, brought down by Booth, penalty put away by Si Murray. 3-1 Hibs. Still more goals from Hibs in this I think. Great game.:flag:

One more, joint top!!

MartinfaePorty
Great performance so far

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

05-08-2017, 03:14 PM
One more, joint top!!
You lack ambition. Two more and we are top....... :greengrin

Nemo
05-08-2017, 03:15 PM
Dont score more than 4 Hibs!!

Quite like the look of the table with hearts at the bottom :na na:

You lack ambition. Two more and we are top....... :greengrin

I did think that, 😉

cjward2
Not sure about that singing section though. It would seem that having them in the back corner of the FF does not let them influcence the rest of the support and get them singing too.

😂😂

05-08-2017, 03:20 PM
**** me. Lets just win the game eh?!

AZhibee
05-08-2017, 03:21 PM

There is a whole season for that

05-08-2017, 03:22 PM
Murray hits the post then it hits the keeper and scrambled away, gotta love Murray :thumbsup:

Col_0762

Cool. Just wondered. East is same as normal. Just thought it strange to see they were away in a corner?!

cjward2
Shot off the post by Murray. So close

Col_0762
05-08-2017, 03:23 PM
How's the singing section getting on?:flag:

From S43 in East it sounds like some drunk banging on a door 5 doors down lol.

05-08-2017, 03:25 PM
From S43 in East it sounds like some drunk banging on a door 5 doors down lol.

05-08-2017, 03:29 PM

:tsk tsk: 5-2 would put us at the top and Hearts at the bottom.

05-08-2017, 03:30 PM
Martin Boyle has been terrific today.....

coco22
🔥

Stokes come on :hibees

Are Hibs still well on top?

Col_0762
05-08-2017, 03:31 PM

Lol what?? It does haha. In the east it's like in your living room and saying "there's that drunk **** forgot his keys again" lol.

05-08-2017, 03:31 PM
Are Hibs still well on top?
Thistle have been better in the last 10 minutes but we are still on top....

05-08-2017, 03:32 PM
Lol what?? It does haha. In the east it's like in your living room and saying "there's that drunk **** forgot his keys again" lol.
I wasn't saying you are wrong - your comment made me laugh. Heard a few drunks banging on doors when I was wee......

CathroMustStay
05-08-2017, 03:33 PM
Great result so far. :flag:

05-08-2017, 03:36 PM
Slivka on for Marvin

05-08-2017, 03:41 PM
Murray is my MOTM

05-08-2017, 03:42 PM
Murray is my MOTM
Toss up for me between Murray and Boyle but many good performances today.....

Col_0762
05-08-2017, 03:44 PM
I wasn't saying you are wrong - your comment made me laugh. Heard a few drunks banging on doors when I was wee......

Sorry mate, I was laughing with you lol. Didn't mean it as a question lol

05-08-2017, 03:44 PM
Glad McGinn showed Osman who is the boss.

05-08-2017, 03:48 PM
Toss up for me between Murray and Boyle but many good performances today.....

Agreed

05-08-2017, 03:51 PM
Stokrs done anything?

05-08-2017, 03:52 PM
Stokrs done anything?

Almost set up a 4th.

05-08-2017, 03:54 PM
FT 3-1 Hibs great performance and a lot to look forward to this season for sure :flag:

BarneyHibby
05-08-2017, 03:55 PM
Brilliant result!:thumbsup:Well Done Hibs!:hibees:flag:

05-08-2017, 03:57 PM
Well done the cabbage, alot to look forward to

05-08-2017, 03:57 PM
See Pedro Co**shiner is at the game - Sevco will be feart noo......

cjward2
05-08-2017, 03:58 PM
That was a REALLY good game to watch and showed that we really have a decent team this year. Looking forward to seeing how we do against the likes of Aberdeen, Celtic and Sevco. I can see us doing well.

05-08-2017, 03:59 PM
Simon murray looks like an absolute gem of a signing

05-08-2017, 03:59 PM
Great performance to start the season.

Murray is getting better and better each game.

05-08-2017, 04:00 PM
Great performance to start the season.

Murray is getting better and better each game.

Not a bad start to his Hibs career. Didn't see it at DUFC but what do I know 🙄. His Wikipedia page has him born in Georgie and playing for them!!

hibs#1
05-08-2017, 04:00 PM
Great result.how was the performance?
Worth watching on alba later?

05-08-2017, 04:02 PM
Decent start to the season, still some work to be done, but encouraging signs ...

Bam
05-08-2017, 04:02 PM
Yas, well in Hibs, just what we needed to announce our return to the big time!

05-08-2017, 04:03 PM
We're back.

coco22
05-08-2017, 04:09 PM
Lennon spoke very well on the radio. Top bloke 💚

Big90inOz
05-08-2017, 04:10 PM
Simon Murray seems to be improving each game , thought we went flat after Swanson went off
Nice wee17-1 start to the season 😂

05-08-2017, 04:12 PM
Lennon spoke very well on the radio. Top bloke 💚

What did he say?

05-08-2017, 04:20 PM
First 10 minutes aside we were utterly dominant today and could have won by more. A VERY good performance and start to the season.

05-08-2017, 04:24 PM
Played very well apart from the first 10 minutes (there goal seemed to wake us up) and the final 25 minutes or so after we'd gone 3-1 up. We could easily have scored 5 today.

Murray, Boyle and Swanson all looked good. Midfield was solid expect a few early misplaced passes by McGeough and apart from a few nervy moments, the defence was good.

Murray got man of the match but Boyle must have run him close. It feels like he's stepped up a gear this season. I'd be looking to extend his contract ASAP as I think we have a player on our hands. Him and Whittaker are going to be a joy to watch this season. I think Gray will struggle to get his place back tbh.

Tougher tests to come but a very positive start.

05-08-2017, 04:25 PM
What did he say?

Played well, happy with the response we gave after thistles goal and said our target is to avoid relegation.

05-08-2017, 04:31 PM
Played well, happy with the response we gave after thistles goal and said our target is to avoid relegation.

Cheers.

Funny feeling that's not the target behind closed doors!

05-08-2017, 04:32 PM
Simon Murray immense today. Work rate is unbelievable. Possibly the best signing we have made in years. Great to also see Paul back and playing like he's never been away.

05-08-2017, 04:33 PM
Thought Murray, Boyle and Whittaker were stand outs today. Gray is going to struggle for game time this year unfortunately.

Mr Grieves
05-08-2017, 04:36 PM
I was sceptical of the Simon Murray signing but he was superb today. He's not going to give up his place easily.

05-08-2017, 04:37 PM
Great performance after a wobbly first 10 minutes. S Murray, McGinn and Boyle were exceptional. Thistle were no mugs but we handled them well and took our chances.

05-08-2017, 04:39 PM
Played very well apart from the first 10 minutes (there goal seemed to wake us up) and the final 25 minutes or so after we'd gone 3-1 up. We could easily have scored 5 today.

Murray, Boyle and Swanson all looked good. Midfield was solid expect a few early misplaced passes by McGeough and apart from a few nervy moments, the defence was good.

Murray got man of the match but Boyle must have run him close. It feels like he's stepped up a gear this season. I'd be looking to extend his contract ASAP as I think we have a player on our hands. Him and Whittaker are going to be a joy to watch this season. I think Gray will struggle to get his place back tbh.

Tougher tests to come but a very positive start.

Boyle is by far the most improved hibs player under Lennon imo

05-08-2017, 04:40 PM
Great result and nice to grind it out at the end when it was clear our midfield were knackered.

Bartley was struggling before he took the knock - more than once he was behind our back 4 being told to get out and he was very tired. Can't blame him because I don't think he has had much game time in pre-season. Also thought McGinn allowed himself to get caught up in that stupid little "who's the bigger man" type thing but thankfully seemed his opposite number got more caught up in it all. McGeouch still shows signs of his injury at times and is frequently looking like when he passes that he is in pain. Its a bit like his grimace after scoring against Aberdeen in the cup last year.

Good start to the season but for 10 minutes at the start we were really struggling and sat far too deep. We also did the same towards the end. Think we need to stay grounded and take each week as it comes but great team performance today.

05-08-2017, 04:41 PM

Just gone a goal down - Lennon oot !!

Dr_Regal
05-08-2017, 04:47 PM
Brilliant performance from us.

Don't think I have ever seen a Hibs player work as hard as S.Murray today. Must be a nightmare to play against. Ambrose was brilliant apart from the Patrick goal. Whittaker will have the right back spot seeled. Midfield solid and creative, and plenty of great impact players on the bench.

05-08-2017, 04:48 PM

First 10 minutes we were all over the shop.

From then until we were 3-1 up we were outstanding.

We faded away for a bit in the second half but still did well and could have scored more.

A good day's work and well worth watching on Alba later.

05-08-2017, 04:53 PM
That was a REALLY good game to watch and showed that we really have a decent team this year. Looking forward to seeing how we do against the likes of Aberdeen, Celtic and Sevco. I can see us doing well.Think Partick are a decent side too tbh
..they won't be in any danger this year. What a difference going to watch a match where the team we r playing try to attack and score goals...compared to 10 behind the ball every week. Great 2b back!!

05-08-2017, 04:57 PM
Brilliant performance from us.

Don't think I have ever seen a Hibs player work as hard as S.Murray today. Must be a nightmare to play against. Ambrose was brilliant apart from the Patrick goal. Whittaker will have the right back spot seeled. Midfield solid and creative, and plenty of great impact players on the bench.Can't agree about Ambrose mate thought he had a few shaky moments to be honest...Hanlon was the better of the 2 by far imo

05-08-2017, 05:00 PM
Can't agree about Ambrose mate thought he had a few shaky moments to be honest...Hanlon was the better of the 2 by far imo

Yep - Ambrose always looks a worry in 2... needs a 3 to provide the additional cover.

05-08-2017, 05:02 PM
Thought Murray, Boyle and Whittaker were stand outs today. Gray is going to struggle for game time this year unfortunately.

Gray will be back in the side next week.

Whittaker will just decide what position he wants to play and poleaxe whoever happens to be in possession of the jersey he wants.

Unfortunately for Bartley, Whittaker fancies centre mid next week.

05-08-2017, 05:03 PM
Thistle are decent, so great start by Hibs. Murray looks like a find, Efe (apart from their goal) was outstanding, great to see Hanlon back, Swanson is a bundle to trouble for defences, McGinn looked every bit the quality midfielder and we had Stokes back. What's not to like ?

05-08-2017, 05:07 PM
Yep - Ambrose always looks a worry in 2... needs a 3 to provide the additional cover.Gives me grey hairs mate...as if I've not got enough already lol

05-08-2017, 05:08 PM
I thought Efe did the easy stuff well enough, he was commanding in the air, but you would expect your centre half to be .

I actually thought he was all over the place at times and made a good few mistakes. We got away with them today, but we won't every week. It was the kind of performance you would expect from someone of Porteous' experience - having the physical presence to do the easy stuff well but getting caught out of position and shaky in possession.

Hanlon had a solid game.

I actually thought McGinn was MOTM. He drove us forward throughout and won his personal battles.

Murray and Boyle were very good though.

coco22
05-08-2017, 05:11 PM

Also added that it was great to see the fans out in such force and have Easter Rd filling the way it should. I just felt he sounded very genuine

05-08-2017, 05:12 PM
Attendance 17k+ - fantastic. But why was there so many empties in the FF? looked like well over a 1000 empty seats...

05-08-2017, 05:14 PM
Bartley was excellent.Gray will have a job getting a game should it come down to a choice between him and Whittaker as right back is by far Whittaker's best position.

telford hibbee
05-08-2017, 05:16 PM

Me too. I also just watched it on alba and still think Murray got a touch. But so long as it's in who cares.

05-08-2017, 05:18 PM
Efe's one or two errors were more than made up for IMO. So cool, good at coming forward and an excellent reader of the game.

Quality all over the park and on the bench which bodes well and I can't criticise anyone for their performance today.

We look really strong and will be even more so once the quality players are warmed up.

05-08-2017, 05:21 PM
Delighted we have opened our Premiership return with a convincing win :thumbsup:

Thought we took wee while to settle into the game, they're a tough, well organised side who worked hard but after they scored we seemed to waken up.

05-08-2017, 05:23 PM
Pie queues were ridiculously ***** though.

Joining before half time and missing the first ten minutes of the second half is an absolute joke.

coco22
05-08-2017, 05:27 PM
Pie queues were ridiculously ***** though.

Joining before half time and missing the first ten minutes of the second half is an absolute joke.

Was your pie gid tho?

05-08-2017, 05:30 PM
Was your pie gid tho?

It was ok but wasn't worth £2.40, or the wait. Waste of time tbh and next time I won't bother.

Already looking forward to my Simon Murray tonight.

coco22
05-08-2017, 05:31 PM
It was ok but wasn't worth £2.40, or the wait. Waste of time tbh and next time I won't bother.

Already looking forward to my Simon Murray tonight.

Ruby has been punted, Simon it is 👍🏼

05-08-2017, 05:55 PM
The game is on Alba right now.

05-08-2017, 05:56 PM
i'm putting £2 on us to win this 3-1

05-08-2017, 06:03 PM
Cracking start, everyone played well😁

05-08-2017, 06:03 PM
Anyone know what the halftime draw numbers were?

Great performance and result BTW. Murray well deserved MOTM.

05-08-2017, 06:18 PM
Murray was the right choice for MOTM but there wasn't much between him and a couple of others today.

McGinn was excellent today, some lovely passes from him and he really drove us on at times. Could tell he was going to end up getting himself booked though as he went after their player :greengrin

McGeouch had a shaky first 10 minutes but then was excellent for the rest of the 1st half, had a quiet 2nd half.

Ambrose had a few moments that make you nervous but overall he had a good game, great to see Hanlon back too.

Boyle was excellent too and Stevenson didn't put a foot wrong as usual :greengrin

Really enjoyed today :flag:

hibs#1
05-08-2017, 06:46 PM
Watched it on alba.very impressed Murray's work rate was outstanding also a good player.Swanson had some quality touches could be a big player this season, Boyle will always hurt teams with his pace and work rate also.

Every other would get pass marks plus I think there's more to come.

Singing section came across quite good on tv As well.still early days for the guys and gals.

Big well done to all involved today 👏👏

05-08-2017, 07:33 PM
Really enjoyed it today. Thank God we are back where we belong!

I thought we started off very poorly in the opening 10 mins and Partick deservedly took the lead. Must have been nerves but it certainly give us a big wake up call after we went a goal down. We then began to took the game by the scruff of the neck and got the equaliser through Boyle. Once that went in, I just knew this was going to be our day. Whittaker made it two and Partick didn't threaten us at all for the remainder of the first half.

2nd half, we got an early penalty after Boyle was clipped in the box by Booth. Murray stepped up and sent the keeper the wrong way. After that we seemed to take our foot off the gas a bit and Partick began to get themselves back into the game but our defence stood strong and resolute.

Overall, a great day out and I'm glad we are back in the Premiership where this club should be. Great result against a decent Partick side and it's onwards and upwards from here on in.