View Full Version : Behind The Goals

Pages : 1 [2]

06-08-2017, 07:39 PM
Is the Emerald fellah not just having a moan, and subsequently responding to posts and finding himself being rounded on for that wee moan that he had in the first place? A wee bit like your Petrie hating pal on the PM board found himself being hounded? I agree with him. BTG was a pretty good facility. The tent yesterday was *****.To be fair I think he is getting it in the neck a bit.... I think what's happening is that he's calling the tent a "replacement".

If that was really the case then I'd be on the case as well! In reality it's a temporary fix to fill a gap as best it can.... Personally I'd like it to remain as an alternative once the replacement BTG is in place.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

06-08-2017, 07:40 PM
Tracey thanks for your post on this thread

I have heard the bit of your post I have repeated above a lot.

It might help folk understand the BTG decision and the movement of disabled Season Ticket holders if you could explain further what the issue with the lift was?

Were the costs of any repair or prohibitive or have standards changed to such an extent that any repair / replacement was impossible?

Thanks

There is no way repair or replacement was impossible, the lifts were not that old comparable to lifts in some much older buildings in Edinburgh. The cost may have been a factor.

06-08-2017, 07:45 PM
Tracey thanks for your post on this thread

I have heard the bit of your post I have repeated above a lot.

It might help folk understand the BTG decision and the movement of disabled Season Ticket holders if you could explain further what the issue with the lift was?

Were the costs of any repair or prohibitive or have standards changed to such an extent that any repair / replacement was impossible?

Thanks

I used that lift every time I went to Behind The Goals and I can assure you I've been in lot worse lifts than that.

It wasn't the quickest but I didn't think there was anything actually wrong with it.

06-08-2017, 07:46 PM
There is no way repair or replacement was impossible, the lifts were not that old comparable to lifts in some much older buildings in Edinburgh. The cost may have been a factor.

Agree, surely NHS will require to use of the lifts?

06-08-2017, 07:54 PM
The man is entitled to have a carp on something entirely related to the attending of games, the match day experience. As has been said on a gamut of other threads, if you don't fancy it, ignore it. You obviously ignored BTG. Let the man who didn't, have his say. You write that you would never use the facility but he shouldn't complain because it evidently gets on your nerves and in any case there won't be a change of mind?

Says you.

Whatever is developing at East Mains isn't really relevant. Do we really have to make that choice when considering our opinions? He's moaning about a clear reduction in the stadium facilities. Not the state of the pitch, the cleanliness of the dressing rooms, the fitness of the side or the behaviours of the staff.

I better buy another ***** pie on Tuesday, less it damages the playing budget if I don't.

By the way. East Mains is 10 years old now and I was heavily involved in its fit out. It's nearly time the club started thinking about the next step for it.

There is no problem with anyone having their say or complaining.

Just like I am doing saying I find continuously repeating it repetitive and boring and think that it would be better and more productive to try and shape what the replacement looks like.

Is that okay with you or am I not allowed my say?

Of course what is happening with East Mains is relevant, there is a budget and it is for the club how to decide how to spend it.

We can have all the flights of fancy we want but its just wasted effort and time, there is only so much cash available and choices will need to be made

I am 100% clear that I want that cash spent on football (what goes on, on the park not any match day "experience") matters.

Other's will want BTG Mk 2, that fine, but as you are agitating for your interests (or to be accurate what interests you), I am now agitating for mine. -The team on the park and its preparation for being so.

They clearly are thinking about the next step with discussions on an indoor facility, so that comment makes no sense at all to me.

You are 100% worth more than that infantile jibe about buying a pie.

Grow up man

06-08-2017, 07:56 PM
Frank Dougan was in the tent and mentioned that they are hoping to expand it and add tvs.

06-08-2017, 08:26 PM
Can't understand why people are moaning when the club have came out and said they are actively looking for an alternative to behind the goals. If they don't find something adequate then moan but what good is moaning now going to do?

08-08-2017, 08:34 AM
Neither the pop up bar or the kids zone are open tonight

08-08-2017, 08:44 AM
The man is entitled to have a carp on something entirely related to the attending of games, the match day experience. As has been said on a gamut of other threads, if you don't fancy it, ignore it. You obviously ignored BTG. Let the man who didn't, have his say. You write that you would never use the facility but he shouldn't complain because it evidently gets on your nerves and in any case there won't be a change of mind?

Says you.

Whatever is developing at East Mains isn't really relevant. Do we really have to make that choice when considering our opinions? He's moaning about a clear reduction in the stadium facilities. Not the state of the pitch, the cleanliness of the dressing rooms, the fitness of the side or the behaviours of the staff.

I better buy another ***** pie on Tuesday, less it damages the playing budget if I don't.

By the way. East Mains is 10 years old now and I was heavily involved in its fit out. It's nearly time the club started thinking about the next step for it.
Plenty stuff coming at East Mains. Its not relevant to BTG in the slightest. Any bar facility is a commercial decision. East Mains is about developing the players at Easter Road. BTG was crap for the last half of the season. You couldn't even get in for half the games unless you turned up 2 hrs before kick off. Any new facility MUST be ST holders only.

08-08-2017, 08:50 AM
I've got the solution.

A conservatory!!!

Pop over to Tynie and get some of their left over glass and we're sorted. Might even have a few seats to spare in a few weeks time!!!

We might even put the glass into a 55 shape to reflect the number of years since they last won the diddy cup.

Over to you, Rod.

DarrenSQH
08-08-2017, 08:51 AM
Hibs tweeted that the bar isnt open in the Tent tonight. Will re open next week.

08-08-2017, 09:14 AM
Neither the pop up bar or the kids zone are open tonight

Disappointing that there's no bar tonight.

08-08-2017, 09:24 AM
Plenty stuff coming at East Mains. Its not relevant to BTG in the slightest. Any bar facility is a commercial decision. East Mains is about developing the players at Easter Road. BTG was crap for the last half of the season. You couldn't even get in for half the games unless you turned up 2 hrs before kick off. Any new facility MUST be ST holders only.

Not getting in unless you go 2 hours before ko doesn't make it crap, it probably means the opposite that it was busy cause it was quite good. I'm not sure making it st only last season would have made it less busy. How do people know that it wasn't just busier cause we had more st tickets?

08-08-2017, 09:29 AM
Not getting in unless you go 2 hours before ko doesn't make it crap, it probably means the opposite that it was busy cause it was quite good. I'm not sure making it st only last season would have made it less busy. How do people know that it wasn't just busier cause we had more st tickets?

I would get in a hour before kick off no problem prior to them allowing anyone in. Once that changed they place was rammed. It wasn't ST holders I can assure you.
We've joined the HIbs club now anyway. Half the price and just a 5 min walk.

08-08-2017, 10:18 AM
Find it disappointing they have decided to have the bar closed tonight, I'd imagine nighttime games are when these facilities are more likely to be used

The new facilities looked ok when I walked round on Saturday, add some music/TVs along with chairs and stuff and it will suit most.

The thing is like to know and maybe it's something I've missed. What is the actual plan for the old Behind the goals ? What works will be getting done with it ? What advantage does having such facilities give us is it purely more money or are there other things we will also benefit from ?

08-08-2017, 11:28 AM
The lift became unfit for purpose and can no longer use.

What does that mean exactly?

Did it break? Did someone in Brussels tell Leeann to stop using it? Or whit? :dunno:

traceyhibs
08-08-2017, 01:04 PM
What does that mean exactly?

Did it break? Did someone in Brussels tell Leeann to stop using it? Or whit? :dunno:

It cannot be used and in its current state our insurance won't cover it. A new lift would need to be fitted

08-08-2017, 01:10 PM
It cannot be used and in its current state our insurance won't cover it. A new lift would need to be fitted
I think this means that a regulatory rather than mechanical problem has made it unusable.

08-08-2017, 01:18 PM
Must say, I never really liked BTG, not enough staff, the beer was **** the service was very poor the queues were massive and the food was way over priced. Oh and IMO no real atmosphere, where on the othr hand the Hibs club was miles better, except now and again yi would be in a queue and it got really warm, mibbe due to all the old folk in it😉 I have also enjoyed tents due to the atmosphere that is created, imagne if we could put up a wee stage and have live music from volunteers, good wee sing song

08-08-2017, 05:29 PM
I think this means that a regulatory rather than mechanical problem has made it unusable.

No it just means it's in such a state of ill repair that the insurance inspector has issued a long list of faults that need rectifyield before he will pass it. Costs of said repairs are so high that new lift is required.

08-08-2017, 05:32 PM

Will the NHS centre that is taking over the space in behind the goals not require the lift?

08-08-2017, 05:43 PM
The Tent wasnt open for Business earlier Have headed to the Office Is it open now was going to give it a try tonight

08-08-2017, 05:44 PM
The Tent wasnt open for Business earlier Have headed to the Office Is it open now was going to give it a try tonight

It's not open at all tonight

08-08-2017, 05:48 PM
It's not open at all tonight

Thanks

08-08-2017, 06:03 PM
Will the NHS centre that is taking over the space in behind the goals not require the lift?

Sure it will...got to be some rules and regs re disabled access for a publicly funded space like an NHS centre.

I've got no issues with Hibs using the space to get commercial rent as I'm sure the income will be significant and will benefit the club overall but using a clapped out lift as part of that reasoning is just a bit odd.

Will be interesting to see what, if anything, the club propose as a long term replacement...I'm not convinced many will care too much after a few months of getting used to not having it to be honest.

08-08-2017, 06:06 PM

The NHS may well be putting one in themselves?

08-08-2017, 06:09 PM
There are lots of positive noises coming from people connected to the club - fan reps etc - about another facility in the East and I suspect that with BTG closing quicker than expected we will see this sooner than anticipated.

I wonder if the space between the East and FF Stand will one day see a supporters Hub type of thing. For example a restaurant and bars within?

08-08-2017, 07:15 PM
Sure it will...got to be some rules and regs re disabled access for a publicly funded space like an NHS centre.

I've got no issues with Hibs using the space to get commercial rent as I'm sure the income will be significant and will benefit the club overall but using a clapped out lift as part of that reasoning is just a bit odd.

Will be interesting to see what, if anything, the club propose as a long term replacement...I'm not convinced many will care too much after a few months of getting used to not having it to be honest.

The lift can accommodate a wheelchair in its current state.

ColinNish
08-08-2017, 07:22 PM
Must say, I never really liked BTG, not enough staff, the beer was **** the service was very poor the queues were massive and the food was way over priced. Oh and IMO no real atmosphere, where on the othr hand the Hibs club was miles better, except now and again yi would be in a queue and it got really warm, mibbe due to all the old folk in it😉 I have also enjoyed tents due to the atmosphere that is created, imagne if we could put up a wee stage and have live music from volunteers, good wee sing song

I need to slightly disagree with you re: the food.
Before they got the outside catering (which was extortionate) the steak pies etc were cheaper than in the ground. And you got decent chips with them although the lassies serving them weren't very good with portion sizes.

WHAM
08-08-2017, 07:38 PM
Does anyone know if the tent will be open at half time during games?

My mate was out for a smoke at HT on Saturday and thought he heard one of the guys on the door say that from the next home game, it will be open at HT and after the game for a short time.

I was under the impression that it would only be open up until Kick off, but would be great if you could nip for a pint at HT.

I know the law prevents buying/selling alcohol inside scottish grounds (except hospitality) but maybe the fact the tent is situated just outside the stadium means there's a way around it.

08-08-2017, 07:57 PM
Nah. No chance.

ColinNish
08-08-2017, 09:01 PM
Does anyone know if the tent will be open at half time during games?

My mate was out for a smoke at HT on Saturday and thought he heard one of the guys on the door say that from the next home game, it will be open at HT and after the game for a short time.

I was under the impression that it would only be open up until Kick off, but would be great if you could nip for a pint at HT.

I know the law prevents buying/selling alcohol inside scottish grounds (except hospitality) but maybe the fact the tent is situated just outside the stadium means there's a way around it.

Its not outside the ground though so no chance will that happen.

Criswell
08-08-2017, 10:24 PM
Any former BTG habitues thinking that the Hibs club in Sunnyside Lane might be a suitable alternative will be disappointed; they are too late. My friend and I tried to join this evening and were told that they have reached their maximum membership and are not accepting any more.