View Full Version : Match Updates Alloa Athletic 0 v Hibernian 3 (F Murray, S Murray X2) - Hibs Win Group

29-07-2017, 01:01 PM
Hopefully a comfortable win today and a place in the second round, plus our first look at Dave n' Vic. Team news?

29-07-2017, 01:04 PM
Marciano, Whittaker, Ambrose, McGregor, Stevenson, Bartley, McGinn, McGeouch, F Murray, S Murray, Boyle

29-07-2017, 01:05 PM
Matulevicius and Slivka on the bench.

BlackSheep
4 defenders on the bench.... interesting.

4 defenders on the bench

Laidlaw, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, Porteous, Slivka, Matulevicius

BlackSheep
4 defenders on the bench

Jinx... lol

29-07-2017, 01:06 PM
Jinx... lol

aye i just noticed!!

29-07-2017, 01:06 PM
Shaw not even on the bench

alihibs1
29-07-2017, 01:09 PM
Strong team. Mon hibs

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

29-07-2017, 01:12 PM
We don't need Bartley against Alloa.

29-07-2017, 01:13 PM
i would have stuck a couple of younger plaers on the bench today, not sure why we need 4 defenders on the bench

29-07-2017, 01:13 PM

Why? No many other options to be fair

29-07-2017, 01:14 PM

I agree, just keeping him fit for Ibrox

29-07-2017, 01:16 PM
Why? No many other options to be fair

Too defensive minded, stick Whitty in midfield and play Gray.

29-07-2017, 01:17 PM

With Gray suspended for next week I'm assuming he's trying to get as close to his starting 11 as possible.

McGregor didn't play last week so giving him game time to ensure he doesn't go 3 weeks without a game

29-07-2017, 01:20 PM

I know Whittaker is good going forward but I'm not sure putting a defender in midfield and bringing on another defender would change a whole lot, plenty of players in that team that can hurt the opposition IMO. Bartley gives the whole midfield the freedom to roam and get forward in numbers, he expertly covers the team against counter attacks which will make him so important to us this season. Let's see how it goes anyway!

hibeemikey21
29-07-2017, 01:21 PM

Just giving him some minutes; won't be for tactical reasons

Drumlanrig
29-07-2017, 01:22 PM
Does that wee jobbie Goodwin play for Alloa?

29-07-2017, 01:25 PM

He's player/manager

29-07-2017, 01:25 PM

He's their player-manager.

29-07-2017, 01:26 PM
He's their manager

Player/Manager

29-07-2017, 01:27 PM
4 defenders on the bench.... interesting.

Porteous could be an option up front… :cb

HibernianJK
29-07-2017, 01:40 PM

Too defensive minded so you'd play an extra defender?

29-07-2017, 01:44 PM

Shin pads on your cheeks today boys.

BlackSheep
29-07-2017, 01:48 PM
Too defensive minded so you'd play an extra defender?

Whitty is a more attack minded midfielder than Bartley is what he is saying. Yes he can play defence but as a midfielder he is also very talented.

I could see whitty as a potential challenger for Bartley if he proves he can break up play as well as support the attack.

angus hibby
29-07-2017, 01:51 PM
i would have stuck a couple of younger plaers on the bench today, not sure why we need 4 defenders on the bench

And three of them Centre halves. Surprising to see 3 Centre halves on the bench for any game.

29-07-2017, 01:53 PM
Porteous could be an option up front… :cb
ive said it before but I'd like to see this.

29-07-2017, 01:58 PM
C'mon Hibs 0-2 comfortable win.

Frogga
29-07-2017, 02:09 PM
How we looking?

29-07-2017, 02:10 PM
Been any chances yet?

29-07-2017, 02:11 PM
Twitter says F Murray had a 20 yarder over the bar.

DarrenSQH
29-07-2017, 02:12 PM
Chance for Boyle saved

29-07-2017, 02:13 PM
13| McGinn picks out Boyle in the area but his strike is straight at Parry who gathers #AAFCvHFC From Twitter

29-07-2017, 02:14 PM
F Murray goal!

Goal F Murray

goal. fraser murray

Fraser Murray scores - 0-1

0-1 Hibs, Fraser Murray

29-07-2017, 02:16 PM
Get in.

Good goal :aok:

:singing: Fraser Murray is a ginger goal machine, a ginger goal machine

Wait, what?

29-07-2017, 02:17 PM

29-07-2017, 02:18 PM
Darren clears of the line

29-07-2017, 02:27 PM
Is this a new pitch?

It looks better than I remember it.

29-07-2017, 02:29 PM
Is this a new pitch?

Probably gave it a coat of paint

29-07-2017, 02:31 PM
'Mon Hibs.

29-07-2017, 02:32 PM
Is this a new pitch?

http://www.alloaathletic.co.uk/BlogView.aspx?pageid=2&ItemID=1446&mid=2

29-07-2017, 02:41 PM
Sounds like F Murray playing well.

29-07-2017, 02:42 PM
still o-o Arbroath v county HT

29-07-2017, 02:43 PM
40| A brilliant save by Parry to deny Murray a second as he pushes away a curling effort #AAFCvHFC

29-07-2017, 02:43 PM
still o-o Arbroath v county

Be nice to win the group

29-07-2017, 02:49 PM
Be nice to win the group

then hopefully a home game v a smaller club like Ayr/st mirren/hearts

29-07-2017, 02:50 PM
Why isn't the game on Hibs radio?

29-07-2017, 02:52 PM
Be nice to win the group

It would, but we still wouldn't be seeded so it won't make much of a difference.

Not looking good

It is?

29-07-2017, 02:53 PM
Not looking good

[emoji23][emoji23]

29-07-2017, 02:53 PM

...it is on HIbs radio!

29-07-2017, 02:54 PM

Livi, Ayr United and falkirk all look like being seeded, so I'd take any of them.

29-07-2017, 02:55 PM

They go off air at half time, they'll be back soon :thumbsup:

29-07-2017, 02:56 PM
it says it is but not getting anything:confused:

29-07-2017, 02:57 PM
...it is on HIbs radio!

I can't find it.

Sounds like F Murray playing well.

Fraser Murray is the type of midfielder that gets into the box often and in good positions ...he is playing in a way that a real attacking midfielder should ..he looks like what we have been looking for a few years ...could at finding holes get into and link play up....he is good to watch always think.something will happen when he.is involved

All Hibs - loads of possession but Alloa all behind ball.

Think we will score more this half as they tire.

New striker looks very tall.

29-07-2017, 02:58 PM
Why on earth is the thread about the Hearts game got way more posts than the one about the Hibs game?

They go off air at half time, they'll be back soon :thumbsup:

I couldn't find it in the first half either.

I can't find it.

https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/match/

Fraser Murray is the type of midfielder that gets into the box often and in good positions ...he is playing in a way that a real attacking midfielder should ..he looks like what we have been looking for a few years ...could at finding holes get into and link play up....he is good to watch always think.something will happen when he.is involved

Full agree with this. Drifts into pockets of space and scores goals.

29-07-2017, 02:59 PM
Would be nice to see Slivka and Big Dave at some point.

29-07-2017, 03:00 PM
I can't find it.

You've got it on mute

29-07-2017, 03:01 PM
Livi, Ayr United and falkirk all look like being seeded, so I'd take any of them.

i'm not even going to ask for an explanation how/why :greengrin

29-07-2017, 03:01 PM
Why on earth is the thread about the Hearts game got way more posts than the one about the Hibs game?

Because one of them is available to watch and is easier to moment on?

29-07-2017, 03:02 PM

The hertz game is live on the box and is infinitely more amusing. It's hard to comment on something you can't see

I couldn't find it in the first half either.
Hit the live tab

https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/match/

I'm in there but nothing to hear.

i'm not even going to ask for an explanation how/why :greengrin

Because they'll be in the top 4 best group winners.

Silversand
Looking forward to seeing Big Davey in the second half:thumbsup:

29-07-2017, 03:03 PM
I'm in there but nothing to hear.

Its working for me, maybe contact the studio to see if there is an issue?

29-07-2017, 03:05 PM

Because contrary to what a lot of posters claim there's a sizeable number of posters as obsessed with them as they are us.

Wonder if Fraser Murray will chip in with closer to 10 goals this season.

29-07-2017, 03:06 PM

So are we as it stands.

29-07-2017, 03:07 PM
Because contrary to what a lot of posters claim there's a sizeable number of posters as obsessed with them as they are us.

Wonder if Fraser Murray will chip in with closer to 10 goals this season.

I can't speak for anyone else but I'm relying on this thread for updates on our match but I'm watching the game from tynecastle live and there's been a few reasons to post on the thread. It's nothing to do with obsession, simply a matter of access and availability. And comedy as it happens.

29-07-2017, 03:08 PM
Come on ma bonnie boys

Need another

29-07-2017, 03:08 PM
Hit the live tab

There's no live tab on my phone.

No worries. I'm trying something else.

SJNB Hibby
29-07-2017, 03:09 PM
It would, but we still wouldn't be seeded so it won't make much of a difference.
I think we could if Motherwell dont win and Dundee v Dundee Utd goes to penalties----we've got a good goal difference

29-07-2017, 03:10 PM
2-1 The Pars

Ryan69
29-07-2017, 03:10 PM
Dunfermline 2-1

29-07-2017, 03:12 PM

Dunfermline 2-1

Ya-hoo

29-07-2017, 03:13 PM
I can't speak for anyone else but I'm relying on this thread for updates on our match but I'm watching the game from tynecastle live and there's been a few reasons to post on the thread. It's nothing to do with obsession, simply a matter of access and availability. And comedy as it happens.Agreed.

Listening to Hibs with headphones on and watching the comedy from the wongadome. It's all possible in the technological age ;)

Pescarese
29-07-2017, 03:14 PM
Not sure top 4 seeds will include Livi. If the Pars hold on (please!) almost certain they'll be unseeded.

29-07-2017, 03:14 PM
Ya-hoo

Absolutely essential that Hertz keep faith with the particularly articulate one no matter how hard we laugh.

If they don't win today it is entirely Jamie Walkers fault.

29-07-2017, 03:15 PM
Any of the liths on?
We could do with a 2nd to wrap this up

29-07-2017, 03:16 PM
wasps 0 bees 2

Get a second and finish this Hibs.

Your request answered my man!

Peterhead 3-0

Simon Murry 2-0

2-0 Simon Murray

29-07-2017, 03:17 PM
Goal machine Murray

Goal, other Murray!

Ask and you shall receive 😀🇳🇬

Yes!

Delboy4
Si Murray AGAIN, well done son

29-07-2017, 03:18 PM
Could be another good day to be a Hibee

Some start to his career at Hibs.

Slivka coming on for Dylan.

Excellent- who set it up?

Not sure top 4 seeds will include Livi. If the Pars hold on (please!) almost certain they'll be unseeded.

Aye, they'll be ahead of them on goal difference.

Was a draw when I looked though 🖒

wasps 0 bees 2

Very good, now on yer byke. :greengrin

Mango Man
29-07-2017, 03:19 PM
Boyle and Murray are striking up quite the partnership, superb.

Hibs twitter says Boyle. Those 2 linking up brilliantly!

Excellent- who set it up? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fraser murray👏👏👏

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

F Murray to Boyle who crossed for Si Muray

Silversand
Is Vic there?

29-07-2017, 03:21 PM
Murray scoring tap-ins is brilliant to see. Shows our attacking play is great if we keep setting it up on a plate for him.

mikewynne
29-07-2017, 03:22 PM

I have to turn my phone to landscape before hitting the play button, otherwise nothing happens.

Murray scoring tap-ins is brilliant to see. Shows our attacking play is great if we keep setting it up on a plate for him.

I think that makes Simon Murray top scorer in the country at the moment, long may it continue!!

29-07-2017, 03:23 PM
Simon Murray needs to start scoring more if he's gonna live up to the price we paid for him

29-07-2017, 03:23 PM
Simon Murray needs to start scoring more if he's gonna live up to the price we paid for him

😂😂

29-07-2017, 03:24 PM
Hows Slivka looking? Big dave no on yet?

29-07-2017, 03:25 PM
Very good, now on yer byke. :greengrin

now now honey, don't bee like that :greengrin

29-07-2017, 03:25 PM
Hows Slivka looking? Big dave no on yet?

He's only been on two minutes!

29-07-2017, 03:26 PM
Murray looks like a great signing already

29-07-2017, 03:26 PM

All he does is score goals. Get rid.

29-07-2017, 03:27 PM
He's only been on two minutes!

At £64.5K I expected more

How was his warm up?

29-07-2017, 03:28 PM
Beginning to worry about this Slivka signing. He’s been honking so far.

Paul Hanlon on for McGregor 🖒

Hanlon for Daz, Dave for F Murray.

29-07-2017, 03:29 PM
A yam win on penalties still sees them oot and gives us a chance of being seeded.

29-07-2017, 03:29 PM
I have to turn my phone to landscape before hitting the play button, otherwise nothing happens.

Thanks, Mike. That did the trick. :thumbsup:

29-07-2017, 03:30 PM
Slivka booked :greengrin

Slivka booked.

Beginning to worry about this Slivka signing. He’s been honking so far.

He's been on minutes give the guy a break man 😂😂 gonna take a while for him to bed in, even Lennon said that.

Morton 3 Edin city 0

29-07-2017, 03:31 PM
He's been on minutes give the guy a break man 😂😂 gonna take a while for him to bed in, even Len on said that.

I may have been joking.

Tobias Funke
29-07-2017, 03:32 PM
I may have been joking.

I had worked that out before biting thankfully :greengrin

Delboy4
29-07-2017, 03:33 PM
Si again..!

Goal machine makes it 3

2nd for Simon Murray!

Simon Murray heider. 3 - 0.

Simon Murry 3-0

Silversand
29-07-2017, 03:34 PM
Simon Murray is a ginger goal machine!:agree:

Header from a Martin "no end product and can't cross" Boyle cross.

Jason who?

Si Si
super Si

The boy's a machine!

Really warming to Simon Murray, lets hope he does the business in the league aswell :not worth

29-07-2017, 03:35 PM
Get the finger oot, Murray

Silversand
Who was the last hibs player to score back to back hat-tricks? has it ever even been done before?

Big dave no scored yet? [emoji23]🤦*♂️

29-07-2017, 03:36 PM
Simon Murray. Player.

Who was the last hibs player to score back to back hat-tricks? has it ever even been done before?

Joe Baker or Jimmy O'Rourke?

Callum7

He's still too get a third you know!

Is it just me or do others think of Hawaiian dancers when they hear the name Alloa?

Got the ****bos game on with sound down, the close ups of the fans is a picture,

Silversand
29-07-2017, 03:37 PM
He's still too get a third you know!

Just wanted to know just in case:greengrin

29-07-2017, 03:37 PM
That's my only reservation on Simon Murray. He's looked the business against lower sides and didn't look at business against the one premier league side he's played against so far.

Still early days.

Delboy4
29-07-2017, 03:38 PM
Love the work that Si Murray does. Comes short, holds up well AND scores goals.

Very impressed
👏⚽️👏

29-07-2017, 03:38 PM
Just wanted to know just in case:greengrin

Stevie Cowan

29-07-2017, 03:39 PM
That's my only reservation on Simon Murray. He's looked the business against lower sides and didn't look at business against the one premier league side he's played against so far.

Still early days.

Thought he looked a threat against Ross C. Lacked composure bit a real pain to play against

Is it just me or do others think of Hawaiian dancers when they hear the name Alloa?
I always think of you when I hear the name Alloa, Hawaiian Dancers never enter my mind.

Been a good warm up for the league these LC games. Partick will be a completely different test. I'm encouraged massively though.

29-07-2017, 03:41 PM
Been a good warm up for the league these LC games. Partick will be a completely different test. I'm encouraged massively though.

That should be an exciting game with a very decent crowd.

29-07-2017, 03:42 PM

Still early days.

Thought he looked good against them despite the fact they mostly had 10 men behind the ball!

29-07-2017, 03:43 PM
Thought he looked good against them despite the fact they mostly had 10 men behind the ball!

I agree. County came more into the game when he was subbed, for a while, at least.

29-07-2017, 03:44 PM
I always think of you when I hear the name Alloa, Hawaiian Dancers never enter my mind.

Awe shucks, that's brought a wee tear to my eye sat here on my balcony in Cyprus.

Ryan69

At the moment Partick struggling at home to Stranraer.

2-2 herts

dmc1875
29-07-2017, 03:45 PM
2-2 herts

A typical goal from them really. Stramash.

29-07-2017, 03:46 PM

A bit, but more of a rather disorientated Elvis getting out his helicopter. Probably more apt!

29-07-2017, 03:47 PM
Well done Hibs.

It's coming together very nicely.

29-07-2017, 03:49 PM
Ft with Ross county.

Which I think means we win the league.

29-07-2017, 03:50 PM
Sounded a good team performance from Hibs, Great stuff from both Murrays:thumbsup:

Big L
29-07-2017, 03:51 PM
well done hibs.

It's coming together very nicely.

top of the section!!

Ft with Ross county.

Doesn't it go to penalties which means they could get another bonus point, that would mean we both end up with 10 points but I don't know if the go ahead with 2 bonus points of if it's on goal difference

Either way we are through

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Glory Glory!

29-07-2017, 03:52 PM
Doesn't it go to penalties which means they could get another bonus point, that would mean we both end up with 10 points but I don't know if the go ahead with 2 bonus points of if it's on goal difference

Goes to goal difference so we are top even if county win the shoot out 🖒

29-07-2017, 03:52 PM
County game going to pens, if they win their on 10 as well.

29-07-2017, 03:53 PM
Brilliant Hibs!

jonny

Goal difference. Hibs have won the group.

Dan Sarf
"The frustration has turned to anger from the Hearts fans."

Tee hee 😊

29-07-2017, 03:54 PM
Professional performance - full control and some excellent passing.

Murray another 2 - not his best game but in the right place at the right time.

New midfielder looks like he will definitely add something.

New striker didn't get much ball but will cause problems.

A good days work

29-07-2017, 03:54 PM
Ft with Ross county.

Ooft but early for that.

29-07-2017, 03:55 PM
Will we be seeded?

29-07-2017, 03:55 PM
Very promising Hibs. Can't read too much into this but getting the job done and done well at this stage.

Bring on the season proper.

Dan Sarf
29-07-2017, 04:01 PM
Hearts put three penalties over the bar. If only the bar hadn't been there...

29-07-2017, 04:02 PM
Ooft but early for that.

Nah mate. We're gonna romp it 🖒

29-07-2017, 04:02 PM
Will we be seeded?

I don't think so.

29-07-2017, 04:03 PM
Hearts put three penalties over the bar. If only the bar hadn't been there...

Big teams aren't constrained by such minor things as goalposts

29-07-2017, 04:06 PM
Will we be seeded?

Nah, 4 Euro teams and top 4 group winners, I think we're about 5th atm with Dundee derby to come

Pescarese
29-07-2017, 04:07 PM
Will we be seeded?
No. Falkirk, Ayr, Motherwell and the winners of the Dundee derby will be the seeds I think.

29-07-2017, 04:09 PM
Tow Murrays doing the business for Hibs...and neither of them is even a tennis player ! :thumbsup:

Hopefully the easiest tie in the next round. Rangers at home please.

How were our new signings?

29-07-2017, 04:11 PM
Don't think seeding will matter too much when you consider who the top seeds are.

29-07-2017, 04:22 PM
Why are some newspapers/media reporting this as a 2-0 win for us? How bad are these guys?

29-07-2017, 05:52 PM
Thought Slivka showed a few good touches and was keen and confident on the ball .. Decent showing for only being here a few days .

29-07-2017, 06:12 PM
Strolled it today without getting out of second gear. Great to see the two new players get a run out. Vyk looked decent while Big Dave never really got a touch of the ball. Delighted to see Hanlon back.

30-07-2017, 01:25 PM
BBC report praising Fraser Murray's 'exuberance'.

http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40765046

Petrie will be pleased but if he plays v the Hun they will find it extremely provocative.

30-07-2017, 01:28 PM
No. Falkirk, Ayr, Motherwell and the winners of the Dundee derby will be the seeds I think.

Ayr at Somerset please.