View Full Version : Adam Rooney

Salt N Sauzee
28-07-2017, 12:02 PM
https://twitter.com/AgentScotland/status/890904309633777665

"Hibs are interested in Adam Rooney, nothing concrete as of yet but any move would be dependant on Aberdeen signing another striker first."

alihibs1
28-07-2017, 12:03 PM
I would take him but not in place of Stokes.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

"Hibs are interested in Adam Rooney, nothing concrete as of yet but any move would be dependant on Aberdeen signing another striker first."

Bit earlier for Agent Scotland to be hitting the hard stuff isn't it?

Look at the source.

Total pishmonger.

magnificent_seven
This guy is usually spot on so I would be inclined to believe that there is something in this.

Strange that Aberdeen would be willing to sell him though. Fall out perhaps?

28-07-2017, 12:04 PM

I actually thought if Dons signed Moult, he maybe surplus to requirements. Apart from being injured last night, hasn't been a 1st pick for them of late

28-07-2017, 12:05 PM
Agent Scotland has been known to get things right on the odd occasion, especially in regards to Hibs.

28-07-2017, 12:05 PM
I actually fear if he did come he wouldn't replicate his form after us bigging him up so often over the last few years. Taking of my green tinted glasses, he's better off staying where he is, Aberdeen and him seem a good fit.

28-07-2017, 12:06 PM
This guy is usually spot on so I would be inclined to believe that there is something in this.

:crazy:

28-07-2017, 12:07 PM
Wasn't in the team yesterday.

Would take him in a heartbeat

28-07-2017, 12:08 PM
Surely we wouldn't be signing Rooney and Stokes. Has to be a case of one or the other.

28-07-2017, 12:09 PM
Could be a leak from Lennon to try and get Stokes to hurry up and make his decision.

alihibs1
28-07-2017, 12:12 PM
2 completely different kind of players though. Banking on Graham going and Shaw going out on loan our 4 strikers would be Stokes, Rooney, Murray and Davey.

28-07-2017, 12:13 PM
Suspect he'd be our backup if Stokes says naw. No idea why Aberdeen would want to sell their top striker though.

Rooney AND Stokes would be immense.

28-07-2017, 12:16 PM
Would anyone take Myles Storey from Aberdeen?

28-07-2017, 12:17 PM
Willie Miller was saying last night Rooney is out of favour so watch this space as they say.

28-07-2017, 12:19 PM
Suspect he'd be our backup if Stokes says naw. No idea why Aberdeen would want to sell their top striker though.

Rooney AND Stokes would be immense.

According to the rumour they want to replace him with Moult.

DavidDavidGray
28-07-2017, 12:19 PM
I'd love Rooney at Hibs, him and Stokes up top would be the best strike force outwith Celtic in Scotland. However, it is only Agent Scotland I see reporting it and he's not great in terms for reliability

28-07-2017, 12:20 PM
Willie Miller was saying last night Rooney is out of favour so watch this space as they say.

That's crazy! It's like us saying John McGinn is out of favour. He's been their star striker for the past 2-3 seasons now. As mentioned earlier, I'd happily take him here if we can get him.

28-07-2017, 12:20 PM
Utter pish source.

But would bite your hand off for him. Should have ponied up the appropriate contract offer 3/4 years ago (whenever it was, age isn't kind to the memory)

28-07-2017, 12:25 PM
That's crazy! It's like us saying John McGinn is out of favour. He's been their star striker for the past 2-3 seasons now. As mentioned earlier, I'd happily take him here if we can get him.

He said both Maynard and Stockley were favoured by McInnes. Throw in they are after Moult and you could see Rooney leaving.

Stokesy's on fire
28-07-2017, 12:25 PM
Agent Scotland is on level terms with hibernian transfer news on twitter.

28-07-2017, 12:28 PM
Better wi Mickey Rooney

28-07-2017, 12:28 PM

He really isn't.

28-07-2017, 12:29 PM

He's 100x more reliable than HTN.

28-07-2017, 12:29 PM
Nice to see he’s taken a break from whinging about Rangers.

28-07-2017, 12:31 PM
Better wi Mickey Rooney

Seriously? Was Rooney their top scorer last season? I would love him at Hibs.

28-07-2017, 12:31 PM
Better wi Mickey Rooney

... or Closemary Rooney. :singing:

(for the dyslexics amoung us)

28-07-2017, 12:32 PM
That would have to be the stokes back up plan. No way we could afford both.

28-07-2017, 12:35 PM
That would have to be the stokes back up plan. No way we could afford both.

Brian Graham will get moved on

28-07-2017, 12:35 PM
This guy is usually spot on

:faf::faf::faf:

#persevered
28-07-2017, 12:38 PM

Although he talks pish and is clearly a 16 year old boy pretending to be an agent, he also hoovers info from proper journalists twitter accounts, so does get a reasonable amount right. None of it is through his "connections" though, unless his P.E. teacher knows a guy.

28-07-2017, 12:38 PM

Think you may have just blown your cover agent scotland :greengrin

Salt N Sauzee
28-07-2017, 12:39 PM

Nowhere near as bad.

28-07-2017, 12:40 PM

He won't free up enough money for Rooney.

28-07-2017, 12:41 PM
Although he talks pish and is clearly a 16 year old boy pretending to be an agent, he also hoovers info from proper journalists twitter accounts, so does get a reasonable amount right. None of it is through his "connections" though, unless his P.E. teacher knows a guy.

He just posts pro celtic stuff all day. Tiresome.

28-07-2017, 12:43 PM
Agent Scotland is unreliable, I'm pleasant as you like on twitter and the only two accounts I know I'm blocked from is Agent Scotland and Jambo Kickback. Anyway Rooney has 3 years on his deal left, would cost upwards of £500k and I doubt he would want to come to a team with such strong contenders for his position (if we sign Stokes)

28-07-2017, 12:46 PM
I'd take Rooney over Stokes

magnificent_seven
28-07-2017, 12:47 PM
Think you may have just blown your cover agent scotland :greengrin

Aw whoops :flamed: I do have a Scottish football twitter account with thousands of followers, but it isnt Inside the SPFL or Hibs Transfer News....

In all seriousness, I use Twitter a lot. There are loads charlatans on Twitter who think they are in the know but that Agent Scotland is usually quite good in my opinion.

28-07-2017, 12:48 PM

Me too.

28-07-2017, 12:49 PM
He just posts pro celtic stuff all day. Tiresome.

He doesn't really.

I quite like him on twitter as he's one of a few that actually talks positively about Scottish football, he's clearly not an agent but he keeps his finger on the pulse in terms of what's happening within the game up here and it can be interesting hearing about what's happening at other clubs. That's not me saying he's reliable by the way, he just keeps up to date with what's happening.

I find it quite annoying he won't just come out and admit he's a Celtic fan but tbf if he was to I'd probably stop following him (on twitter, I'm not actually following him around)

28-07-2017, 12:52 PM
He averages a goal every 2 games and definitely better than graham ..id take him but not if its in place of stokesy wokesy

28-07-2017, 12:52 PM

you cant be serious . stokes is on another level to rooney

Leith's finest
28-07-2017, 12:54 PM
He was down at east mains after swindon released him, he then chose aberdeen after the visit, guess they offered more ££££££

DTS
28-07-2017, 12:56 PM
Agent Scotland is usually pretty spot on these days, he used to get 9/10 things wrong but I'd say over the last 2 seasons he's been spot on with a lot of things hibs related and in general

28-07-2017, 12:57 PM

Hmmm......Rooney is a good player but I would say more similar in style to what we have (Murray / Big Davy).... penalty box striker who is decent in the air. Stokes is more of a creator who will also score goals.

28-07-2017, 01:03 PM
Agent Scotland is usually pretty spot on these days, he used to get 9/10 things wrong but I'd say over the last 2 seasons he's been spot on with a lot of things hibs related and in general

Please provide evidence of Hibs-related things he has got spot-on which were not already in the public domain.

28-07-2017, 01:03 PM
Penalty box striker though, can say we're still short of one IMO.

28-07-2017, 01:14 PM
Wonder if the new Luthuanian bit and Rooney would get in each other's way, stokes likes to drift out wide to find space

yonder1875
28-07-2017, 01:17 PM

Weekend started early?

28-07-2017, 01:20 PM
Weekend started early?

I agree with him. Would prefer Rooney. Not sure Stokes still has it to score regularly throughout a season. Cup final performance masked what was a poor return in a poor league.

28-07-2017, 01:23 PM

Think we couldbe stuck with him till the last day of the Transfer window as dont see thier being a que ofclubs wanting him and he may opt to just stay put till January Transfer window if we are payong hood wages that he cant get elsewhere
St Mirren could do eoth a Striker but they ate stuck with John Sutton who is getting on in years and past his best

28-07-2017, 01:24 PM
I'd rather Moult myself but I'd take Rooney and Stokes. But have to say Murray should deserve a start as he works his arse off and his movement off the ball is terrific. The boy can finish as well!

28-07-2017, 01:25 PM

I would 100%

28-07-2017, 01:29 PM
Not a chance this would happen.

DTS
28-07-2017, 01:37 PM
Please provide evidence of Hibs-related things he has got spot-on which were not already in the public domain.

Last time stokes came in the first I saw of it was on his twitter, people on here seem to have a superiority complex to other forms of social media isn't it possible people just head the same info and don't actually bump it from sites such as this?

28-07-2017, 01:44 PM
Last time stokes came in the first I saw of it was on his twitter, people on here seem to have a superiority complex to other forms of social media isn't it possible people just head the same info and don't actually bump it from sites such as this?

I think it's that specific Twitter account being discussed, not "Twitter" in general

28-07-2017, 01:51 PM
He doesn't really.

I quite like him on twitter as he's one of a few that actually talks positively about Scottish football, he's clearly not an agent but he keeps his finger on the pulse in terms of what's happening within the game up here and it can be interesting hearing about what's happening at other clubs. That's not me saying he's reliable by the way, he just keeps up to date with what's happening.

I find it quite annoying he won't just come out and admit he's a Celtic fan but tbf if he was to I'd probably stop following him (on twitter, I'm not actually following him around)

I'd agree with this. Whilst it's clear he has leanings towards Celtic, and a lot of his posts have been regarding the EBT case over the last week or so it's a page that talks up the Scottish game at every opportunity, highlights the attendances compared to other countries so that in my book is decent enough.

Obviously if it was solely Celtic stuff he was posting there's not a chance I'd be following him he just seems like a person that keeps up to date with all things Scottish fibtbaw.

As for Rooney, yes please but not at the expense of Tony coming home

DTS
28-07-2017, 01:59 PM
I think it's that specific Twitter account being discussed, not "Twitter" in general

And I'm referring to that twitter account in specific, not saying he has any sort of 100% record but to say it's total nonsense I don't think is fair on whoever runs the account

28-07-2017, 02:09 PM
And I'm referring to that twitter account in specific, not saying he has any sort of 100% record but to say it's total nonsense I don't think is fair on whoever runs the account

The person who runs that twitter account spends his days on the internet pretending to be a football agent.

Salt N Sauzee
28-07-2017, 02:15 PM
The person who runs that twitter account spends his days on the internet pretending to be a football agent.

Why you so raging about him?

28-07-2017, 02:32 PM
I'd rather Moult myself but I'd take Rooney and Stokes. But have to say Murray should deserve a start as he works his arse off and his movement off the ball is terrific. The boy can finish as well!
Spot on re Murray.

28-07-2017, 02:34 PM
Hahahaha, what's going on with rumours this summer!

Firestarter
28-07-2017, 02:36 PM
He was down at east mains after swindon released him, he then chose aberdeen after the visit, guess they offered more ££££££

We offered a loan they offered a deal. He wanted to come and play under Butcher ironically.

28-07-2017, 02:37 PM
He knows where the net is, not sure about this one though

Firestarter
28-07-2017, 02:41 PM

Who's he pretending to be a football agent for?

28-07-2017, 02:57 PM

Like any Walter Mitty character, probably for his own sense of self-worth and anyone else who will believe how 'important/special' he is.

28-07-2017, 03:03 PM

Scotland, obviously.

It's sheer coincidence that he's at his most prolific during the school holidays.

28-07-2017, 03:07 PM
Why you so raging about him?

Who's raging? Just feel sorry for all the people duped by his fake news. If you believe he is a real football agent with inside information on every transfer deal going on in Scotland then fair enough.

28-07-2017, 03:18 PM
Could be a leak from Lennon to try and get Stokes to hurry up and make his decision.

28-07-2017, 03:18 PM
Gladly have rooney

Firestarter
28-07-2017, 03:39 PM
Like any Walter Mitty character, probably for his own sense of self-worth and anyone else who will believe how 'important/special' he is.

So he's pretending to be itk and not an agent then?

28-07-2017, 03:44 PM
Scotland, obviously.

It's sheer coincidence that he's at his most prolific during the school holidays.
Is it no a coincidence that the school holidays are the same time as the transfer window though ? :greengrin

28-07-2017, 03:45 PM
Agent Scotland is a fantasist who may have got something right once but even a blind squirrel finds a nut occasionally.

However if for some crazy reason that Aberdeen were willing to part with Rooney, I would take him a in a heartbeat.

DTS
28-07-2017, 03:50 PM
Who's raging? Just feel sorry for all the people duped by his fake news. If you believe he is a real football agent with inside information on every transfer deal going on in Scotland then fair enough.

Has he ever clamimed to be an agent I think it's just his account name? Why can whoever this person is not have contacts "itk" like anyone else can? I like how he promotes the Scottish game etc

28-07-2017, 03:57 PM
If Aberdeen want him off the books so they can move for Moult it might be a goer.

He is a different type of forward to Stokes so it's hard to say who the better player is. I would probably prefer Stokes but Rooney would be a great addition as well.

28-07-2017, 03:57 PM
If Aberdeen want him off the books so they can move for Moult it might be a goer.

He is a different type of forward to Stokes so it's hard to say who the better player is. I would probably prefer Stokes but Rooney would be a great addition as well.

We could have both :hyper

28-07-2017, 04:04 PM

That would be brilliant. If that happened I would say we have a more than decent chance of finishing 2nd.

28-07-2017, 04:05 PM

100% this AND then go and buy Moult too, just to get one over Aberdeen. Then we could go for ..............

Disclaimer..... Yes I know we can't afford it BUT I CAN DREAM CANT I??

edwards
28-07-2017, 04:16 PM
57 goals in 110 appearences Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees please take him in a heartbeat he has been Aberdeen over the past couple of seasons. They are signing a few forwards and he won't want to be in a pecking order he will want first team football go and get him.

28-07-2017, 04:20 PM
He would be one of our best signings in years and is exactly what we need...but unfortunately think we are close to 0% chance of this happening.

28-07-2017, 04:26 PM
He would be one of our best signings in years and is exactly what we need...but unfortunately think we are close to 0% chance of this happening.

How not? He's not been playing has he?

yonder1875
28-07-2017, 04:29 PM
Can't see Aberdeen selling to us, they'd be stupid to.

Looper
28-07-2017, 04:30 PM
I really can't see this happening or even in Lenny's sights, hope I'm wrong though

Nutmegged
28-07-2017, 04:56 PM
Rooney would be a tremendous signing but until Aberdeen sign Moult or another prolific goalscorer we won't know for sure if this is possible, it does make sense though, if Aberdeen spend around £500k for Moult he's going to be their #1 striker, Rooney is their top earner or was at least until Arnason re-signed so I doubt Aberdeen are going to want someone on such a good wage warming their bench.

As for AgentScotland, it's probably the best non-Hibs Scottish Football related account to follow on Twitter, he promotes the League well and I geuinely think he expresses a great deal of insight into whatever club he's discussing, a lot of Celtic related stuff but he's on the ball with a lot of Aberdeen/Hibs/Hearts stuff too, he does stick the boot into the zombies but I don't think anything he says in regard to them has been off the mark, as for the Agent thing, I think it's just a name, Ronnie Mackay who worked at the Sun before he passed away would always talk away with him like they knew each other, I believe he's a journo who puts stuff out there that he cant get verified, once its out there he or a paper he works for can then use it as a topic for conversation.

hibbydog
28-07-2017, 05:02 PM
If we got Rooney it would be immense.

Can't see this being likely though.

lochhibs
28-07-2017, 05:04 PM
i'd rather we went for moult over rooney and stokes.

28-07-2017, 05:04 PM
Has scored 101 SPL goals for Inverness & Aberdeen in 213 appearances. Yes please!

yonder1875
28-07-2017, 05:20 PM
i'd rather we went for moult over rooney and stokes.

Each to their own but I'd put Moult some bit behind those two.

28-07-2017, 05:23 PM
Moult over Rooney? No chance.

But I see absolutely no chance of this happening. Aberdeen would be insane to let him go, especially to another SPL team.

He does seem to drop out for the bigger matches, so could possibly see Aberdeen letting him go - but not to a rival.

28-07-2017, 05:26 PM
Rooney would be a tremendous signing but until Aberdeen sign Moult or another prolific goalscorer we won't know for sure if this is possible, it does make sense though, if Aberdeen spend around £500k for Moult he's going to be their #1 striker, Rooney is their top earner or was at least until Arnason re-signed so I doubt Aberdeen are going to want someone on such a good wage warming their bench.

As for AgentScotland, it's probably the best non-Hibs Scottish Football related account to follow on Twitter, he promotes the League well and I geuinely think he expresses a great deal of insight into whatever club he's discussing, a lot of Celtic related stuff but he's on the ball with a lot of Aberdeen/Hibs/Hearts stuff too, he does stick the boot into the zombies but I don't think anything he says in regard to them has been off the mark, as for the Agent thing, I think it's just a name, Ronnie Mackay who worked at the Sun before he passed away would always talk away with him like they knew each other, I believe he's a journo who puts stuff out there that he cant get verified, once its out there he or a paper he works for can then use it as a topic for conversation.

Given some of the Tom Kite posted by supposedly ITK posters on here, Agent Scotland is fairly credible. I'm still waiting in McGeouch being released and the results of Stokesy's medical last Saturday.

Fwiw, Rooney would be an awesome signing for Hibs. A prolific scorer at our level and probably in his prime.

Nutmegged
28-07-2017, 05:29 PM

But I see absolutely no chance of this happening. Aberdeen would be insane to let him go, especially to another SPL team.

He does seem to drop out for the bigger matches, so could possibly see Aberdeen letting him go - but not to a rival.

I think its a case of who would want him though, at 29 and having already been tried and tested in England I don't think many down there would consider him to be a good option, I'd rule out a move abroad, for no other reason than I just don't envisage it happening so it leaves it down to Scottish teams who could afford his wages, I don't think the yams have spare pennies this season, Celtic I don't think would consider him and I doubt Rangers would want him gven they've signed 2 or 3 strikers, that leaves us - It'd be entirely down to Aberdeen but if they want to balance the books they might not worry to much about his destination.

lochhibs
28-07-2017, 05:31 PM
Each to their own but I'd put Moult some bit behind those two.

i know i'll be in the minority but i'd rather we moved on from the stokes deal. if he was signing he should have by now. it took him a while to get going the last time he was here and albeit a legend with what he done in the final how long do you think it will be before he's match fit? i like rooney but if we're paying a fee for him i'd rather we spent the extra, if it's there, on moult. he's younger and a bit different to what we have.

28-07-2017, 07:10 PM
i know i'll be in the minority but i'd rather we moved on from the stokes deal. if he was signing he should have by now. it took him a while to get going the last time he was here and albeit a legend with what he done in the final how long do you think it will be before he's match fit? i like rooney but if we're paying a fee for him i'd rather we spent the extra, if it's there, on moult. he's younger and a bit different to what we have.

Don't think match fitness even comes into it, I'm sure he would and should have said yes or no by now!
Very frustrating

28-07-2017, 07:36 PM
Given some of the Tom Kite posted by supposedly ITK posters on here, Agent Scotland is fairly credible. I'm still waiting in McGeouch being released and the results of Stokesy's medical last Saturday.

Fwiw, Rooney would be an awesome signing for Hibs. A prolific scorer at our level and probably in his prime.

This in particular was a curious one, peddled by these in the know. Or at least two of them. Time we had lockdown in places wider spread than East Mains.

28-07-2017, 07:41 PM
Agent Scotland is well known for copying other journalists information and tweeting it moments after they already have.

A lot of my mates are Aberdeen fans and Absolutely hate Rooney, they all think he is garbage and offers nothing other than goals.

i for one would love it if we signed him.

28-07-2017, 07:44 PM
Agent Scotland is well known for copying other journalists information and tweeting it moments after they already have.

A lot of my mates are Aberdeen fans and Absolutely hate Rooney, they all think he is garbage and offers nothing other than goals.

If we had a striker who offered nothing but a 1 in 2 strike rate I'd be delighted...

28-07-2017, 07:48 PM
James Collins had a better goal scoring record at Swindon than Adam Rooney! Hard to see where this one has come from & even harder to see where we would get & pay the cash for Rooney particularly as he's currently injured.

28-07-2017, 07:49 PM

Happens on here regularly too.

eezyrider
28-07-2017, 07:58 PM
James Collins had a better goal scoring record at Swindon than Adam Rooney! Hard to see where this one has come from & even harder to see where we would get & pay the cash for Rooney particularly as he's currently injured.

No he didn't. James Collins' scoring record before coming to Hibs was 1in 3 (22 goals in 66 games with Shrewsbury Town and 15 in 45 with Swindon)

Adam Rooney's scoring record is 1 in 2.

EZ

28-07-2017, 08:06 PM

I can't see any other journalist that has mentioned Rooney to Hibs other than Agent Scotland.

28-07-2017, 08:14 PM

Aberdeen season ticket told me " he doesn't contribute enough to the team" as "all he does is score goals"....which sounds like a familiar criticism some had of a certain Hibs striker..

28-07-2017, 08:39 PM
No he didn't. James Collins' scoring record before coming to Hibs was 1in 3 (22 goals in 66 games with Shrewsbury Town and 15 in 45 with Swindon)

Adam Rooney's scoring record is 1 in 2.

EZ

I specifically only said Swindon because they played there at the same time. Collins was 15/45, Rooney was 9/29. It's close,but Collins wins!

AdidasHibernian
28-07-2017, 08:43 PM
Surely anyone who wouldn't take Rooney must be missing a few screws.
The guy is a proven goal scorer in this league and would show a statement of real intent if we managed to take him from Aberdeen.
Who no doubt will be one of the teams we would need to beat due to being top 3 certainties this coming season.

Do agree with others however, it's one of either Stokes/Rooney/Moult if any of them surely.

Have confidence in Murray being able to score 10+ this season, so as long as we can get ideally one of the above three mentioned I would be quietly confident of us being able to score goals if chances can be created consistently for the strikers.

DTS
28-07-2017, 08:45 PM

Sounds like the perfect replacement for a 1 in 2 striker we just sold who didn't contribute too much else

28-07-2017, 09:45 PM
I hope we don't go for Rooney as I think he offers very little. I can't believe I'm the only one who thinks he's bang average at best. Yes he scored goals with Aberdeen but also got dropped for the cup final. I think he offers very little in a football sense and as such would be a poor fit for us.

29-07-2017, 12:52 AM
I hope we don't go for Rooney as I think he offers very little. I can't believe I'm the only one who thinks he's bang average at best. Yes he scored goals with Aberdeen but also got dropped for the cup final. I think he offers very little in a football sense and as such would be a poor fit for us.

He is better than Brian Graham though so I'm sure we can fit him in.

29-07-2017, 04:44 AM

Am not that bothered either and don't think there is any traction in this rumour even if Stokes turns us down

29-07-2017, 04:45 AM
He is better than Brian Graham though so I'm sure we can fit him in.

I wonder what the wage difference is between Rooney and Graham?

29-07-2017, 07:59 AM
Are the dons are still in for maloney

29-07-2017, 08:15 AM
I wonder what the wage difference is between Rooney and Graham?

Exactly if we are paying top whack wage out from our budget we need to get best we can for that ...think Graham will be off shortly next week or so ...not itk just a feeling after handling going !!