View Full Version : Match Updates Ross County vs Hibs

Pages : 1 [2] 3

21-07-2017, 08:19 PM
Not sure about taking off your penalty taker ten minutes before possible penalties.

21-07-2017, 08:20 PM
penalties looming :I'm waiti

21-07-2017, 08:21 PM
Look up and pass, Boyle!

Learning nothing new here. We're a good team that needs a goalscorer.

Going to see alot of tight games this season me thinks

21-07-2017, 08:22 PM

21-07-2017, 08:24 PM

Indeed. Was just saying that to my boys. Badly need a striker.

We've looked very good in patches. Defensively I think we'll be fine but god don't we miss a bit of spark up front

Swanson, Murray and Whittaker all done well

Any idea where we can get one? 😉

21-07-2017, 08:25 PM
Hopefully big Dave will make a difference

Keyser Sauzee
21-07-2017, 08:26 PM
Who is the guy in the Hibs dugout initials CC looks like a guy I used to play with?

oh looky...a corner to the home side

I don't think we've lacked for a striker tonight, it's been the final ball that's been the problem.

Who is the guy in the Hibs dugout initials CC looks like a guy I used to play with?

New fitness guy?

Dunno what Graham is about was a good pass from Murray

Any idea where we can get one? [emoji6]Some Blackburn reject I'm hearing.....

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

The Pointer
21-07-2017, 08:27 PM
Having (regular) problems with BT and can't get tv linked up so raging. Bombay tells me (I think) there's a problem outside the house and they'll get someone onto it within 24hrs. Nae luck. Radio commentary is good though.

21-07-2017, 08:28 PM

Colin Calderwood.

oli shaw comes on :)

Oli Shaw should have been on earlier IMO

Having (regular) problems with BT and can't get tv linked up so raging. Bombay tells me (I think) there's a problem outside the house and they'll get someone onto it within 24hrs. Nae luck. Radio commentary is good though.

Keep losing my feed here in Orlando since the thunder storm started. Raging.

Why have we made a sub when Graham is clearly toiling? Potentially a few minutes to play with 10 men now.

Colin Calderwood.

Ha ha I was going to say the same.

21-07-2017, 08:29 PM
oli shaw comes on :)

Who going off ?

21-07-2017, 08:29 PM
If Graham had some pace he'd be good. But he's too cumbersome.

Humo
21-07-2017, 08:30 PM
Who going off ?Mcgeouch

what a travesty if they win on penalties, but...have to put the baw in the net :(

I'd be in Orlando and not able to see it than in Edinburgh and able to!

21-07-2017, 08:31 PM
Mcgeouch

Cheers for that

Who going off ?

sorry, dylan

Penalty shootout will probably decide who wins the group.

Shaw to score the winner .

What an engine Mcginn has

21-07-2017, 08:32 PM
4 mins added

21-07-2017, 08:33 PM

You or the storm?

All this shows is we need a striker. Nothing we don't already know, Lennon will sort it.

so frustrating when boyle hits the first man with a cross

You or the storm?

Ha ha ha, both!

21-07-2017, 08:34 PM
Looking like penalties.

21-07-2017, 08:34 PM
Boyle has to score there. Has to.

21-07-2017, 08:35 PM
Fantastic chance for Boyle, good save

21-07-2017, 08:35 PM
Darren hits the bar

MichaelTheCelt
21-07-2017, 08:36 PM
Fox is a really good keeper, been an admirer of his for quite sometime now.

Never a free kick

So close from McGreggor. Decent game, penalties should be exciting.

21-07-2017, 08:37 PM
Fox is a really good keeper, been an admirer of his for quite sometime now.

Did he not start out at Celtic?

Humo
21-07-2017, 08:37 PM
Chris Sutton hitting out with Fantastic Mr Fox [emoji23]

21-07-2017, 08:38 PM
if ross co were true gentlemen they would refuse to take penalties and give us the bonus point :agree:

21-07-2017, 08:38 PM
We've looked decent but lacking that bit of class going forward.

Impressed by Bartley tonight.

MichaelTheCelt
21-07-2017, 08:39 PM
He did man, never played though. Wouldn't mind him as Gordons replacement to be honest.

Decent performance without creating much

21sMay
Bartley mcginn and Swanson had great games. Kind of lost out attacking edge when Swanson went off. Boyle always looked dangerous. Overall good performance and a goalscorer away from a very good side

Should had won this game.

Renfrew_Hibby
Aye
but Rocky's no too bed either.

Only league winner that qualifies?

4 best 2nd placed teams too.

Navids Numpties
No ET? Just pens?

We should have won. Credit to County for blocking everything - especially Davies the captain - but honestly.

21-07-2017, 08:40 PM
4 best 2nd placed teams too.

How many groups are there?

No ET? Just pens?

Yup.

Exciting stuff. Maybe this format isn't so bad after all.

Thought we lost a bit when Murray went off.

How many groups are there?

Did Craigan just say Ross County were the better side? Or was that a slip of the tongue?

He just said hibs deserved to win?

We should have won. Credit to County for blocking everything - especially Davies the captain - but honestly.

Parking the bus at home. Standard for the last 3 years.

21-07-2017, 08:41 PM
"Over the piece Ross County were the better side." Craigan really is a deluded, hateful ****. Hard to remember such an anti-Hibs football 'expert'. Tosser.

Get Conrad oan

He just said hibs deserved to win?

Yeah I deleted my message, realised I must have been talking guff:greengrin

We'll win the shootout. County are even worse at shooting than us!

"Over the piece Ross County were the better side." Craigan really is a deluded, hateful ****. Hard to remember such an anti-Hibs football 'expert'. Tossed.

He did say we deserved to win though.

Guys a bit odd.

Yeah I deleted my message, realised I must have been talking guff:greengrin

Ok I might have overreacted too.

21-07-2017, 08:42 PM
penalties down the hibs fans end :)

Keep the pen by pen updates coming lads.

Terrible penalty. Easy for the keeper.

Argh!

They say the team that misses first often wins... :rolleyes:

Whittaker misses

Poor penalty from Whittaker

We'll win the shootout. County are even worse at shooting than us!

Ooooooooh

What's happened.

21-07-2017, 08:43 PM
Strength in that hand!

But RC miss their first too

Great save Rocky. Poor penalty again though.

Why would anyone hit it at that height? That's more like it John.

SJM 1-0 Hibs

I need score updates lol

MichaelTheCelt
Good save that man

SJM 1-0 Hibs

Keep this coming mate.

rocky saves 0-0 after 1 each

1-1 after 2 pens each

1-1

21-07-2017, 08:44 PM
Boyle scores

21-07-2017, 08:44 PM
2-1 Boyle

21-07-2017, 08:45 PM
RC scores, just after hits bar and drops in

2-2 well in.

F murray scores

3-2 great penalty Murray

MichaelTheCelt
Jammy

RC score

3-3

21-07-2017, 08:46 PM
3-3

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

3-3 after 4 each

MichaelTheCelt
My stream behind then just seen the Schalk peno

Shaw misses

Shaw misses. Crap penalty again.

Miss

RC win 4-3

21-07-2017, 08:47 PM
Played well, poor pens to be fair!

RC win the shoot out.

poor from oli :(

That's that. Once again a lack of cutting edge costs us. Plenty positives but a big hole needing filled.

Playing to be best runners up now.

Typical

Surely experienced players should be taking these? Anyway decent performance.

21-07-2017, 08:48 PM
Ffs

Bloody harsh.

Don't understand the logic with putting a youngster last. Never ends well (see Cummings, 2014).

Still, played well. Striker needed!

Poor penalty from Shaw, telegraph all the way.

Nevi_SOL
It's a pre season friendly.

We should have won in 90 minutes. Should be well enough placed to qualify as one of the second placed tears though, provided we win our next two games

21-07-2017, 08:49 PM
We'll win the shootout. County are even worse at shooting than us!Well done.cheers for the jinx [emoji106]

MichaelTheCelt
Hate penalties always a chance the team that didn't deserve to can snatch a win. Hibs look a good outfit mind you no reason at all you's won't be pushing top 4 at the very least. Desperately need to get a striker in, though everyone can see that hopefully Lennon is getting something sorted out.

Surely experienced players should be taking these? Anyway decent performance.

What like whittaker?

Why are the experienced players not putting themselves forward for the penalties.

Am I biased?

Fox is talking mince

dmc1875
Definitely treated that as a pre season game with the subsitutions. Putting Graham on up front on his own, putting the young lads on etc.

Shaw was always going to miss that pen, odd penalty selection.

It's sore season friendly.

Very much this.

Better team by a distance. Encouraging considering the extra quality that will be added.

aussie_hibee
21-07-2017, 08:50 PM
Boyle has to score there. Has to.

Agree 100%

Couldn't care less about this cup, the amount of gimmicks thrown at it has ruined it.

Long as we're good to go for the league season I'm happy.

Ach well, rather this than some meaningless friendly, good to get proper competitive games before the big kick off. Should've won mind!

****ing Ross ****ing county........we need to pump teams like this...pretty football, no cutting edge....hope the big laddies a player

21-07-2017, 08:51 PM
ross co keeper says they played the better in the 2nd half :faf: i love a keeper with a sense of humour

yonder1875
Ross County goalie been on the glue.

We'll probably finish second now but the point is useful in the grand scheme of things. Should definitely be one of the best runners up.

I wonder if the draw will be seeded.

What like whittaker?

You know what I mean.

Meh. We were the better team, Stokes needed desperately. I hope Graham leaves tbh.

Definitely treated that as a pre season game with the subsitutions. Putting Graham on up front on his own, putting the young lads on etc.

Shaw was always going to miss that pen, odd penalty selection.

Shaw and Murray would have wanted to take a penalty. What youngster wouldn't have?

21-07-2017, 08:52 PM
Couldn't care less about this cup, the amount of gimmicks thrown at it has ruined it.

That's my view too, I'm treating it as competitive pre season games

Which could ultimately lead to winning one of the 2 domestic cups.

Friendlies got real this season.

The Tubs
Graham's quite happy to take a penalty when he's got a chance of improving his goal ratio but jack about it when there's some pressure.

Poor attitude. One of only two realistic pieces of major silverware we can realistically win. Have a word with yourself.

Goal scoring striker required ASAP.

No way we should have lost that with the amount of possession we had and chances created.

No end product sadly and that needs resolved over the next few weeks.

We're going to struggle to top the group now and we'll need to see if we finish among the top 4 teams that finish 2nd.

It's far from certain that we'll qualify from the group after tonight.

Bull**** it's one of the two cups we've got a chance in

21-07-2017, 08:53 PM
Gutted. Not out yet tho

Win the next two games and we go through. Last year's 4 x second best teams amassed 10, 9, 9 and 8 points.

Meh. We were the better team, Stokes needed desperately. I hope Graham leaves tbh.

is anyone interested in taking him ? still has a year left too

Baw187
21-07-2017, 08:54 PM

At the end of the days it's still one of only 2 trophies we can realistically win so that's a strange attitude. Very much a Hertz type of shout that has always stank of delusions grandeur.

We should easily make the top 4 2nd places given we'll likely come second having not lost a game. If we don't, we don't deserve to go through.

Graham's quite happy to take a penalty when he's got a chance of improving his goal ratio but jack about it when there's some pressure.

He could hardly walk!!!

Couldn't care less about this cup. Pre season friendly. Blah blah.

We should have won this game. And this is a cup we should be aiming to win. Disappointing result.

Was clearly injured.

ross co keeper says they played the better in the 2nd half :faf: i love a keeper with a sense of humourHes drunk

If he's tweaked his back there's no way he'd be able to take a pen properly.

Shows what we knew that we need another striker. Murray struggled up front on his own. Swanson looked good and Boyle did well until they doubled up on him. Should have buried his chance though. I thought Bartley had a good game.

Win our next 2 games convincingly and we'll hopefully go through.

21-07-2017, 08:55 PM
Goal scoring striker required ASAP.

No way we should have lost that with the amount of possession we had and chances created.

No end product sadly and that needs resolved over the next few weeks.

We're going to struggle to top the group now and we'll need to see if we finish among the top 4 teams that finish 2nd.

It's far from certain that we'll qualify from the group after tonight.Very negative slant...if we beat Arbroath and alloa we will easily be one of the 4 best runners up

Steviethebear
Thought we played well but defo missing a striker, we will still qualify for the last 16, best 4 second placed go through so should have10 points from 4 games be good enough, still pre season, nowt to worry about fomnDungeall once we sort out our number 9

To be fair to the guy he took a dull one right at the end. Who knows maybe he was wanting to take one and management over ruled him? The guy's not great but questioning his commitment it unfair on him imo.

21-07-2017, 08:56 PM
At the end of the days it's still one of only 2 trophies we can realistically win so that's a strange attitude. Very much a Hertz type of shout that has always stank of delusions grandeur.

We should easily make the top 4 2nd places given we'll likely come second having not lost a game. If we don't, we don't deserve to go through.

Alloa away is no gimme giving previous encounters there. Need to be more clinical than today that's for sure.

MileHighBees
We'll probably finish second now but the point is useful in the grand scheme of things. Should definitely be one of the best runners up.

I wonder if the draw will be seeded.

It is.
The 4 European qualifiers + best 4 group winners are seeded
http://spfl.co.uk/league-cup/format/

Never understood this attitude. :confused:I start every season hoping to win this trophy.

Until last year my best ever experiences with Hibs had been winning the League cup. An excellent season in the league will mean being a distant second.

Bobo
21-07-2017, 08:57 PM
Punchless 90 minutes, one man up front doesn't work! Penalties are a lottery and down to luck more than skill.

How Boyle got the full 90 minutes only Lennon knows?

21-07-2017, 08:57 PM
Ah well **** happens. This format is ****ing atrocious tbh.

inglisavhibs
21-07-2017, 08:58 PM

It,s one of only two trophies we can win! I thought we looked a good team only lacking the cutting edge which comes from match fitness. We have some really good players and looked a class above County.

It's not really. It's one of the two national competitions that we've got a chance of winning and coming second in the group is likely to make the game on 8/9 August a wee bit more difficult. If we get through that is!

Very negative slant...if we beat Arbroath and alloa we will easily be one of the 4 best runners up

Hope you're right.

We certainly should have won tonight. I'm shocked that we haven't.

Punchless 90 minutes, one man up front doesn't work! Penalties are a lottery and down to luck more than skill.

boyle played well thats why

MichaelTheCelt
21-07-2017, 08:59 PM
Ah well **** happens. This format is ****ing atrocious tbh.

Think it has been quite exciting to be fair. Added some life to the League cup.

Are we out or what

Got to start banging goals in in our last two fixtures to ensure that we finish one of the best 4 runners up, by the sound of the game on the radio we should have won in the 90 minutes but didn't make enough of our possession, it doesn't help with the feeling that we need another striker. What I don't get is why Lennon took off Murray when he brought Graham on, what's the point of a guy winning knock downs with nobody to feed off him?

I feel desperately sorry for Oli Shaw the bloody breaks just aren't coming his way, I hope his confidence isn't knocked by tonight ..... If he's good enough to get in the squad he's good enough to take a penalty I suppose, but I am surprised that he wasn't told to take a back seat this time by one of our more experienced guys.

The radio was pretty complimentary about how we played, but at the end of the day you get nothing for good play, its goals that count ... we really must try to be more clinical when we get chances.

Boyle played well.

It's not really. It's one of the two national competitions that we've got a chance of winning and coming second in the group is likely to make the game on 8/9 August a wee bit more difficult. If we get through that is!

Didn't realise it was so soon. Not great timing with Ibrox a few days later, although they'll have a game too I suppose.

The Tubs
21-07-2017, 09:00 PM
If he's tweaked his back there's no way he'd be able to take a pen properly.

I accept you're all right. I'm probably misjudging the fellow.

21-07-2017, 09:00 PM
Decent performance but we only have ourselves to blame for not winning that. Badly need a striker that can score goals! I'm confident NL shall rectify that.

scuttle
21-07-2017, 09:01 PM
This whole new set up is a farce, its supposed to be regionalised and we go up there on a Friday night. IMHO you cant beat cup tie football under the lights

21-07-2017, 09:01 PM
Highlighted more than ever that we need a goal scorer. First half in particular, we played really well but were just lacking it in the final third.

I think the team is pretty much complete for the season apart from a striker. We need someone like Stokes who can play off Murray.

Baw187
21-07-2017, 09:02 PM
Alloa away is no gimme giving previous encounters there. Need to be more clinical than today that's for sure.

It's not a gimme but we should absolutely win that game, let's not kid ourselves. And Alloa won't be able to defend as well as Ross County did. Murray will get more change out of that game.

21-07-2017, 09:02 PM

Really?? The wins against Dunfermline and Kilmarnock and the celebrations after are some of my best memories as a Hibs fan, but opinions I suppose.

21-07-2017, 09:03 PM
Hes drunk

after a bottle of cava...so is i :greengrin

Lennon says we have made an offer to stokes [emoji1317][emoji1317]

Souter96Mac
Saw periods of the game, thought we played some nice stuff but a bit toothless up top with just one upfront. Liked the look of Swanson, Whittaker looked tidy in the first half. Again we lost momentum when Dylan went off and Graham came on. Defensively we looked solid enough. At least Lenny knows where we need strengthening.

21-07-2017, 09:04 PM
P.S. that STILL should have been a red for the county player

MichaelTheCelt
Lennon says we have made an offer to stokes [emoji1317][emoji1317]

Must be confident if he is admitting it openly.

How cool is Neil Lennon.

Brilliant interview. He just oozes confidence and was so relaxed about everything tonight.

Get him tied down for years.

21sMay
21-07-2017, 09:05 PM
Whittaker defo not fully fit. Need more in the left wing area also

21-07-2017, 09:06 PM
An utter travesty we got beaten, no worries about next season if we play like that , you would have thought we were the home team tonight.

yonder1875
BT coverage streets ahead of Sky. Sky programme would have been finished as soon as Gardyne's penalty struck the net.

It's not a gimme but we should absolutely win that game, let's not kid ourselves. And Alloa won't be able to defend as well as Ross County did. Murray will get more change out of that game.

I fully expect us to win convincingly if we take our chances . I doubt Mcgeough will play in that game with it being astro

How cool is Neil Lennon.

Brilliant interview. He just oozes confidence and was so relaxed about everything tonight.

Get him tied down for years.Yes was a great interview I thought- very very positive

Really?? The wins against Dunfermline and Kilmarnock and the celebrations after are some of my best memories as a Hibs fan, but opinions I suppose.

add the win against sellick for this aulder fan and i'm the same :agree:

Whittaker defo not fully fit. Need more in the left wing area also

Thought Whittaker's fitness was excellent.

Oh I've missed you

21-07-2017, 09:07 PM
Murray was too isolated but I thought we were the better team.

MikeyS
21-07-2017, 09:07 PM
Got to start banging goals in in our last two fixtures to ensure that we finish one of the best 4 runners up, by the sound of the game on the radio we should have won in the 90 minutes but didn't make enough of our possession, it doesn't help with the feeling that we need another striker. What I don't get is why Lennon took off Murray when he brought Graham on, what's the point of a guy winning knock downs with nobody to feed off him?

I feel desperately sorry for Oli Shaw the bloody breaks just aren't coming his way, I hope his confidence isn't knocked by tonight ..... If he's good enough to get in the squad he's good enough to take a penalty I suppose, but I am surprised that he wasn't told to take a back seat this time by one of our more experienced guys.

The radio was pretty complimentary about how we played, but at the end of the day you get nothing for good play, its goals that count ... we really must try to be more clinical when we get chances.

youve answered your own question in there. No reason why Shaw shouldn't have taken one. I'm glad he had the nerve to take one. Pretty certain he'll step forward should the situation arise again in the next game too. Feel we've got a good one in him.

Bobo
21-07-2017, 09:09 PM
Boyle played well.

Sorry mate I need to disagree, average at best and offers very little. I don't anticipate he'll keep his starting slot for long once the squad is complete.

Would love to be wrong but can't see him offering much.

Souter96Mac
Thought Whittaker's fitness was excellent.

For his first game I thought he looked decent. Will be good when he's up to speed

BT coverage streets ahead of Sky. Sky programme would have been finished as soon as Gardyne's penalty struck the net.

You're dead right. Despite the outcome the coverage was enjoyable and way better than the condescending guff from sky.

Baw187
21-07-2017, 09:10 PM
Sorry mate I need to disagree, average at best and offers very little. I don't anticipate he'll keep his starting slot for long once the squad is complete.

I bought Boyle was good. Getting better every game.

[emoji15]

Bobo
21-07-2017, 09:10 PM
Oh I've missed you Good for you, glad to oblige 😉

21-07-2017, 09:11 PM
I love Neil Lennon. The end.

Tomsk
21-07-2017, 09:12 PM
You're dead right. Despite the outcome the coverage was enjoyable and way better than the condescending guff from sky.

They could improve it 100% if they got rid of that welt Craigan.

We need a forward. Team played well but it's obvious where the team needs improved.

What did Lennon have to say after the game?

21-07-2017, 09:13 PM
Sorry mate I need to disagree, average at best and offers very little. I don't anticipate he'll keep his starting slot for long once the squad is complete. Would love to be wrong but can't see him offering much.

I've never been Boyle's biggest fan but I thought he was excellent other than a wee lack of composure at end of the game. Glad to see him hit the byeine regularly.

Was one of our biggest threats tonight.

If he had composure to go with that pace he wouldn't be at Hibs

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

Should still qualify in 2nd place. How come Big Dave wasn't on the bench? I thought Lennon had said he'd probably feature. Has his international clearance not come through yet?

I thought Boyle was superb tonight, and I'm hardly his biggest fan. There's a reason they were doubling up on him. Even if the player becomes quiet as a result, if 2 players are required to stop him, he's having a net positive effect by virtue of even being on the park.

21-07-2017, 09:14 PM

Are you blind?

We have a player called Bob coming in for talks tomorrow :)

erskine-hibby
We WERE the better team, but we didn't win. I know it's early days, but I really don't want to go through the season 'being the better team' and losing.

hhibs
21-07-2017, 09:15 PM
This was poor,big improvement required

Signs of the same old problems, no ability to get a killer pass through and at times the same lack of urgency and constantly crowded out.
Lewis was again guilty of not getting passed the man and passing backwards when in an attacking position.Pity to have to highlight Lewis in what was a poor team performance but it is an old,old problem.

Positives,Fraser Murray looks like he could be the real deal.

Anyway, we move on but it already looks like the League Cup is off the table unless we get a wee bit rub of the green.

didn't listen to them afterwards but out of interest...who the **** is this craigan chappy, and..how the on earth did he end up being a tv pundit ? :confused: seriously

Boyle played well, used his pace and linked up well with Whittaker, was inches away from getting a winning goal and Ross county ended up swamping him with two and three players at a time as soon as he got the ball towards the end of the match.

He has got better and better for us over the last few years and one of the few players in the squad with genuine pace so while he won't be in the team every week to say he offers nothing is wide of the mark, he will play a big part for us this season I guarantee it.

Mon the squirrel

21-07-2017, 09:17 PM
didn't listen to them afterwards but out of interest...who the **** is this craigan chappy, and..how the on earth did he end up being a tv pundit ? :confused: seriously

Craigans a ****er, what has he said this time?

21-07-2017, 09:18 PM
youve answered your own question in there. No reason why Shaw shouldn't have taken one. I'm glad he had the nerve to take one. Pretty certain he'll step forward should the situation arise again in the next game too. Feel we've got a good one in him.

I know I answered my own question ... My real concern was that he has been a bit unlucky in his last three games, he could have scored against Sunderland and was unlucky to hit the post / bar ...... he had one good chance against Montrose that he blazed over and then just couldn't get himself set in time to hit on target what would have been a gimmie at the back post in the same game. Now tonight his penalty is saved, by the sound of it it wasn't a good pen, but if his luck had been in the keeper might have gone the other way.

21-07-2017, 09:18 PM

Signs of the same old problems, no ability to get a killer pass through and at times the same lack of urgency and constantly crowded out.
Lewis was again guilty of not getting passed the man and passing backwards when in an attacking position.Pity to have to highlight Lewis in what was a poor team performance but it is an old,old problem.

Anyway, we move on but it already looks like the League Cup is off the table unless we get a wee bit rub of the green.

that was not a poor performance, lack of goals yes but definitely not a poor performance

21-07-2017, 09:20 PM
that was not a poor performance, lack of goals yes but definitely not a poor performance

Spot on

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

21-07-2017, 09:21 PM

Thought it was a decent performance to be fair. We were by far the better team and looked hungry in midfield, thought boyle and swanson were excellent as well as mcginn. Defence was solid enough only thing we lacked was a clinical edge and as you say thought Stevenstons distribution was poor.

21-07-2017, 09:21 PM

What the hell were you watching? Yes we lacked the killer touch but it's was far from a poor performance, we dominated most of that match, defence was solid and county had 9 players in the box crowding us out when we attacked. Swanson, S Murray, Boyle and McGinn played very well together in only our second competitive match while Lewis was constantly getting up the pitch, he had a cracking shot on goal with his right foot and everything.

Just being negative for the sake of it

OsloHibs
21-07-2017, 09:22 PM
Why the young boys taking the pens? Surely the captain should have stepped up, no?

21-07-2017, 09:23 PM
I bought Boyle was good. Getting better every game.

[emoji15]

I thought boyle & whitty played well down right

21-07-2017, 09:23 PM

Absolutely right.

Lack of a goal was disappointing but we went up there and dominated a seasoned SPL on their own patch. A lot of the passing was very neat and tidy indeed. Our new striker and hopefully Stokesy will give us exactly what we need.

21-07-2017, 09:24 PM
Why the young boys taking the pens? Surely the captain should have stepped up, no?

I have no issue with the young lads taking the penalties, I would have had them taking first rather than the last 2 though

21-07-2017, 09:24 PM

To be fair I would rather have a young striker take a pen before my centre half

21-07-2017, 09:25 PM
We WERE the better team, but we didn't win. I know it's early days, but I really don't want to go through the season 'being the better team' and losing.

Again!!!

hhibs
21-07-2017, 09:26 PM
Spot on

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runnery

Aw well ,maybe it is only me that saw the same old ,same old.

Hopefully it will right itself and I am needlessly concerned.

MikeyS
21-07-2017, 09:29 PM
I know I answered my own question ... My real concern was that he has been a bit unlucky in his last three games, he could have scored against Sunderland and was unlucky to hit the post / bar ...... he had one good chance against Montrose that he blazed over and then just couldn't get himself set in time to hit on target what would have been a gimmie at the back post in the same game. Now tonight his penalty is saved, by the sound of it it wasn't a good pen, but if his luck had been in the keeper might have gone the other way.

He keeps getting in to these positions after each previous set back so that's a positive to me. he's a young lad, who looks very keen to impress and I think it's quite good that he's learning on the job so to speak. Ideally for him and us he'd have scored all the chances you've mentioned but it could be the making of him.

He's not likely to be a regular starter anyway with big Dave and hopefully stokesy to come in but these outings is will build him up and hopefully teach him what he needs to know to progress.

Tonight's result isn't ideal but there are positives to be taken and his attitude is certainly one. :aok:

21-07-2017, 09:32 PM

Penalties are skill. Not luck.

On both sides.

MikeyS
21-07-2017, 09:33 PM

why?? Just dos there is a captain in the park doesn't mean he'll hit a good pen! John Terry in Moscow vs Man Utd for example.

The players that took them would've all been keen to hit them and the ones that didn't won't and that's fair enough in my opinion. Age/experience means very little.

21-07-2017, 09:33 PM
Poor attitude. One of only two realistic pieces of major silverware we can realistically win. Have a word with yourself.

Just because it's important to you doesn't mean it's important to me. Have a word with yourself​.

21-07-2017, 09:36 PM
Some of the interplay between the midfield and Swanson was the best football I've seen from us in a while. Clearly lacking punch but the manager is well aware of that and is recruiting accordingly. Swanson will be a great signing, Boyle looks better and better, Murray with some good movement. Not too concerned, as Lennon has said, it's stupidly early for competitive games and for this stage I think we look sharp. Big Marv is a don.

StevieCowan
21-07-2017, 09:45 PM
Get two strikers linking up with Swanson, McGeough and McGinn and we're very good IMO.

Stokes and the Big Lith. 👍

hhibs
21-07-2017, 09:49 PM
What the hell were you watching? Yes we lacked the killer touch but it's was far from a poor performance, we dominated most of that match, defence was solid and county had 9 players in the box crowding us out when we attacked. Swanson, S Murray, Boyle and McGinn played very well together in only our second competitive match while Lewis was constantly getting up the pitch, he had a cracking shot on goal with his right foot and everything.

Just being negative for the sake of it

No ,just have my view that I saw,in that game, the same old problems from last few seasons, so no, not negative for the sake of it,just concerned.

If that is OK with you.

21-07-2017, 09:56 PM
Again!!!

Except we didn't lose.

21-07-2017, 09:57 PM

Lennon was raving about how good a performance it was and how he was surprised how well we played.

21-07-2017, 10:01 PM
Our quality will separate us from most SPL teams this season.
Tonight we dominated possession 57% to 43%,
shots: 20 to their 12 with 4 on target to their 2,
corners: 9 to their 7
Lennon treated this game as a pre-season game, to drive up fitness, to test out players and strategies. A particularly beneficial exercise at the end of the day.
Penalty shoot-outs are a lottery - end of.

21-07-2017, 10:16 PM
No ,just have my view that I saw,in that game, the same old problems from last few seasons, so no, not negative for the sake of it,just concerned.

If that is OK with you.It wasn't a poor performance by any stretch of the imagination mate...dunno were ur getting that From?? Lack of.cutting edge yes but that is being addressed by the manager.

OsloHibs
21-07-2017, 10:17 PM
why?? Just dos there is a captain in the park doesn't mean he'll hit a good pen! John Terry in Moscow vs Man Utd for example.

C'mon, Hardly the same pressure. But yeah your right, he stood up & took it. Some go in. Some don't. And some are garbage!

zitelli62
21-07-2017, 10:23 PM
Was watching in a pub with no sound thought we were excellent considering were just up we looked the better team more than happy with what I seen and 2 strikers to come in more than happy about the new season.

hhibs
21-07-2017, 10:26 PM
It wasn't a poor performance by any stretch of the imagination mate...dunno were ur getting that From?? Lack of.cutting edge yes but that is being addressed by the manager.

You really did not see the same old problems ?

Hopefully they will be sorted as you say but to just ignore that issues exist does no one any good.

21-07-2017, 10:41 PM
You really did not see the same old problems ?

Hopefully they will be sorted as you say but to just ignore that issues exist does no one any good.

Nobody is ignoring our genuine issues, your just fabricating your own that nobody else agrees with. That's the difference.

hhibs
21-07-2017, 10:44 PM
Nobody is ignoring our genuine issues, your just fabricating your own that nobody else agrees with. That's the difference.

Well blow me down,now you speak for everyone ?

Disagree by all means but get a grip ,you do not speak for everyone.

BlackSheep
21-07-2017, 10:47 PM

I have to agree with the others, while there were issues reminiscent of the past few seasons, overall it was a pretty good performance.

Lacking in cutting edge up top but all in all a decent run out. Still "preseason" after all.

The Leith Dutch
21-07-2017, 10:55 PM

If that is OK with you.

Problem is that's not quite what came across in your post.
What came across is that you thought the performance was poor.

What you're saying here refers to the same old problems from the last few seasons which isn't poor performances - it's good performances without getting the ball in the back of the net often enough.

Second bit is spot on. Original post sounds like a "We lost a game so the team is *****" post.

21-07-2017, 10:57 PM
Ignore the pens. Its just in if those things. A very good performance tonight. We knocked the ball about well. Missing the final touch. 3 players to come. Very happy with tonights game.

21-07-2017, 11:11 PM
92/93 rangers aberdeen was the last attendance to beat it...02/03 was matched by rangers v celtic
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Scottish_League_Cup_finals

But we also have the lowest attendance (v Ross County) since the 1990s too.

21-07-2017, 11:12 PM

I don't claim to speak for everyone, just the many people on this thread who have posted pretty much the exact opposite of you

22-07-2017, 06:53 AM
Penalty shoot outs, bonus points, mini-leagues...

What a joke this new format is. Once again those on charge are making a total mess of it.

22-07-2017, 07:15 AM
Having not seen the game and relied on this thread I have concluded the following

We performed well

We were **** same old

Boyle played well

Boyle was average

Swanson looked quality

Whittaker wasn't fit

Whittaker showed good fitness

O and as for tee Lewis basher..... If he had played bad then others on here would have pointed it out. I don't see that poster giving Efe a hard time about his errors of judgement in the first half.

It's still early and there are a few missing pieces to add!

Let's try and be positive and stop ficus sing on all the negatives all the time!

22-07-2017, 07:17 AM

What a joke this new format is. Once again those on charge are making a total mess of it.

I don't have a problem with them experimenting but it doesn't feel like the league cup and it certainly doesn't feel like one tournament

Baw187
22-07-2017, 07:26 AM
We played very well last night. Got ball forward quickly with purpose accuracy for the most part (was less accurate as tiredness and subs came in in). We created lots of half chances and got in to good positions but you have to give County credit because they defended very well.

Also remember we played 2 players who hadn't played a minute of football so far this season, we are still to bring in players upfront, and it is still only pre season so in context, it was a really good performance!!!

22-07-2017, 08:13 AM
The promising thing is that we actually attempted to play football. Granted it's all about winning at the end of the day, but last season's football was by-and-large pretty poor on the eye, so hope this is a sign of things to come.

euro Hibby
22-07-2017, 08:21 AM
work in progress, , by end of September, we will have a better idea on how things will pan out. Lennon and his backroom know what is needed. Keep the faith..

22-07-2017, 08:30 AM

I don't think it's a bad idea. Lots of folk complain about how stale the game up here is so they've tried to do something about it.