View Full Version : Stokesy

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Navids Numpties
20-07-2017, 07:38 AM
At WhyNot on George Street last night. He will be at East Mains this afternoon at 5 PMhttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif.

20-07-2017, 07:40 AM
Just sobered up by early evening?
[emoji23]

alihibs1
20-07-2017, 07:45 AM
At WhyNot on George Street last night. He will be at East Mains this afternoon at 5 PMhttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif.
Did you see him personally?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Navids Numpties
20-07-2017, 07:49 AM
Did you see him personally?

BegbieHSC
20-07-2017, 08:30 AM
Twitter is saying that Easter Road is absolutely packed out with cars atm...what's going on?

Think its happening, guys!

20-07-2017, 08:32 AM
Twitter is saying that Easter Road is absolutely packed out with cars atm...what's going on?

Would that be the players leaving their cars there while they get on the team bus to Dingwall?

20-07-2017, 08:35 AM
To the OP - Did he actually tell you he would be at East Mains today or are you guessing?

Navids Numpties
20-07-2017, 08:40 AM
To the OP - Did he actually tell you he would be at East Mains today or are you guessing?

No, I was joking. It's not official unless its 5PM at East Mainshttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/taunt%20smiley.gif

20-07-2017, 08:40 AM

Are you DBS in disguise?

Greenworld
20-07-2017, 08:42 AM
Lol funny how it's always 5

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

20-07-2017, 08:47 AM

Not more roadworks? :brickwall:brickwall

Greenworld
20-07-2017, 08:48 AM
No, I was joking. It's not official unless its 5PM at East Mainshttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/taunt%20smiley.gif
Did u really speak to him 😨😨

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

20-07-2017, 08:48 AM
🔥🔥👀

20-07-2017, 08:52 AM
���� ��

http://images.memes.com/meme/829880

20-07-2017, 08:53 AM
Place is full of it.

For what it's worth I'm not sure if the op is serious about the whynot thing but he is meant to be signing today.

Souter96Mac
20-07-2017, 08:55 AM
For what it's worth I'm not sure if the op is serious about the whynot thing but he is meant to be signing today.
Two signings in two days?!

20-07-2017, 08:58 AM
Two signings in two days?!

Here's hoping, but if this deal is anything like Whitty's it's be done by November!!

20-07-2017, 08:59 AM

I think the op saw him in why not. He's then extrapolated that to him signing and done the hilarious 5pm thing that isn't over done on here in the slightest.

Navids Numpties
20-07-2017, 09:04 AM
I think the op saw him in why not. He's then extrapolated that to him signing and done the hilarious 5pm thing that isn't over done on here in the slightest.

Pretty much aye.

20-07-2017, 09:05 AM

You need some new material mate:-)

Tamhere1875
20-07-2017, 09:08 AM
Clocks ticking on Stokes it seems that it's 12 noon today is the cut off time for him to say yes or no to Hibs offer

delbert
20-07-2017, 09:11 AM
Here's hoping, but if this deal is anything like Whitty's it's be done by November!!

The Whitty situation was entirely different, it was down to a contractural issue with Norwich, the actual signing couldn't be announced till the day it was, even though deal had been finalised prior to that date

20-07-2017, 09:12 AM
The Whitty situation was entirely different, it was down to a contractural issue with Norwich, the actual signing couldn't be announced till the day it was, even though deal had been finalised prior to that date

I know it was just a tongue in cheek comment. My banter is pretty crap though as you've prob noticed 😁

alihibs1
20-07-2017, 09:22 AM
HFC transfer news has jumped on the bandwagon and posted this all over his twitter. The boy needs to learn.

20-07-2017, 09:27 AM
Clocks ticking on Stokes it seems that it's 12 noon today is the cut off time for him to say yes or no to Hibs offer

I thought you had an issue with details of transfer dealings being posted publicly? Or is it ok if it is you doing the posting?

horseflesh
20-07-2017, 09:27 AM

Is this a western?

BlackSheep
20-07-2017, 09:28 AM
I thought you had an issue with details of transfer dealings being posted publicly? Or is it ok if it is you doing the posting?

No doubt this will be his only post and no replies will be posted from him....

20-07-2017, 09:32 AM

Really?? 🙄

Heedersnvolleys
20-07-2017, 09:33 AM
Not much of a George St kind of guy myself but been up there a couple of times in the last month or so and seen him both times so I think it is a pretty common occurrence!:confused:

hibs4life
20-07-2017, 09:37 AM
I can also confirm he was at Whynot and saw photographic evidence to confirm this. As for being at East Mains at 5.00, that's another matter!

20-07-2017, 09:43 AM
I saw Scott Brown at Pets at Home in Corstorphine on Sunday. I failed to ask if he'd be signing for us.

20-07-2017, 09:56 AM
I saw Scott Brown at Pets at Home in Corstorphine on Sunday. I failed to ask if he'd be signing for us.

"Scott Brown Ate My Hamster"

ivan03
20-07-2017, 10:00 AM
What a load of rubbish 😂😂😂😂😂

20-07-2017, 10:29 AM
"Scott Brown Ate My Hamster"

You realise that was just re-posted on HFC Transfer News...

20-07-2017, 10:33 AM
For what it's worth I'm not sure if the op is serious about the whynot thing but he is meant to be signing today.Is that what uve heard TC?? If u say it I have confidence mate

20-07-2017, 10:52 AM
Is that what uve heard TC?? If u say it I have confidence mate

Yeah 👍🏼

20-07-2017, 10:58 AM
Yeah [emoji1360]Buzzing cheers TC [emoji106]

20-07-2017, 11:20 AM
Yeah 👍🏼

Assuming he's ended his contract with Blackburn?

So can we expect a 2 year deal maybe??

Souter96Mac
20-07-2017, 11:23 AM
I would love any kind of deal, just as long as we get him in the door. But a 3yr deal would be unbelievable business

HibeeMackenzie
20-07-2017, 11:24 AM
3 year deal would be my guess, no inside info though

20-07-2017, 11:26 AM
:hyper

20-07-2017, 11:38 AM
Assuming he's ended his contract with Blackburn?

So can we expect a 2 year deal maybe??

I'd imagine 3 year deal, but that's a guess I've no info on the contract details.

18Hibee75
20-07-2017, 11:42 AM
Cheer up

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

20-07-2017, 12:20 PM
If he signs? I'd guess, it'll be for 3 years but will be off as soon as a decent offer comes along.

20-07-2017, 12:45 PM

How much were they asking for him?...... :-)

20-07-2017, 12:52 PM

Time to get the Stokesy welcome home gif thread up :hyper

20-07-2017, 03:56 PM
Time to get the Stokesy welcome home gif thread up :hyper

I agree! :hyper

guthrie01
20-07-2017, 04:09 PM
Jamie Borthwick‏
Verified account @jamiekborthwick (https://twitter.com/jamiekborthwick)

"East sport on @STVNews (https://twitter.com/STVNews) tonight - Lennon and Cathro give updates on their transfer activities."

Here's hoping we hear something about Stokesy

20-07-2017, 04:17 PM
People making stuff up about their 'inside knowledge' just makes the speculation all the more frustrating.

alihibs1
20-07-2017, 05:05 PM
Was anything said re Stokes on STV

NthCarolinaHibs
20-07-2017, 05:27 PM
Was anything said re Stokes on STV

Not a peep...☹️

20-07-2017, 05:31 PM
:I'm waiti

20-07-2017, 05:31 PM
Not a peep...[emoji852]️I wouldn't worry...nobody had a clue we were signing Big Davie either

20-07-2017, 05:37 PM
Tomorrow 👍

alihibs1
20-07-2017, 05:50 PM
Tomorrow 👍
You know?

hibeelovin90
20-07-2017, 06:14 PM
You know?

Do hibs know?

20-07-2017, 07:04 PM
[QUOTE=alihibs1;5108563]You know?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk[/eemsQUOTE]

I don't, but that seems to be the standard guess for every target

20-07-2017, 07:23 PM
I'm just waiting for the photo shoot so that fellah with the Bsc in graphics or Instagram or whatever it was can come along like last time and assure us it's a fake. My lord that was funny in the end.

20-07-2017, 07:26 PM
I'm just waiting for the photo shoot so that fellah with the Bsc in graphics or Instagram or whatever it was can come along like last time and assure us it's a fake. My lord that was funny in the end.
That was the highlight of the season. Better than winning the cup

20-07-2017, 07:31 PM

Wisnae you was it?

20-07-2017, 08:15 PM
Wisnae you was it?
Ha, no it wasn't but I remember it well!

20-07-2017, 08:43 PM

I seen brown and Henderson at Newbridge the week before this year's Scottish cup final, when I asked Henderson if he was coming to hibs brown asked if I was asking him

21-07-2017, 06:51 AM
dont think stokesy will be signing today . According to Lennon he's still a Blackburn player

And as for Hibs’ hopes of signing striker Stokes for a third time? “No comment at all. I don’t know what the situation is with Anthony regarding Blackburn. He’s their player.”

Read more at: http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/neil-lennon-we-d-been-tracking-matulevicius-for-a-year-1-4509794

21-07-2017, 06:58 AM
dont think stokesy will be signing today . According to Lennon he's still a Blackburn player

And as for Hibs’ hopes of signing striker Stokes for a third time? “No comment at all. I don’t know what the situation is with Anthony regarding Blackburn. He’s their player.”

Read more at: http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/neil-lennon-we-d-been-tracking-matulevicius-for-a-year-1-4509794

On the back of just saying he's getting a bit peeved at the constant chat coming out of folk other than his mouth re signings.... he's never going to be overly chatty about that question, is he?

21-07-2017, 07:08 AM
A no comment is very encouraging. Usually can be read as something is definitely afoot :agree:

21-07-2017, 07:25 AM
A no comment is very encouraging. Usually can be read as something is definitely afoot :agree:I'd be more concerned had he simply replied "it's not happening" similar to when he cut the rumours about the Berry deal dead. Absolutely mate

Souter96Mac
21-07-2017, 08:00 AM
Think Lennon is just being mindful that he is still contracted to Blackburn. Would be a bit cheeky to reveal negotiations whilst rovers haven't released any statement saying he's been freed. I know he's not a key player for them but it's just a bit of respect imo

21-07-2017, 08:25 AM
The thing is. How can you offer someone a 'take it or leave it' deal if they are still signed with another club. Can't be both unless he knows he is leaving Blackburn and there is just a bit of paperwork to sort out before he goes and has the permission from Blackburn to negotiate another deal.

21-07-2017, 08:32 AM

What was that? I must have misssd that

21-07-2017, 08:45 AM
The thing is. How can you offer someone a 'take it or leave it' deal if they are still signed with another club. Can't be both unless he knows he is leaving Blackburn and there is just a bit of paperwork to sort out before he goes and has the permission from Blackburn to negotiate another deal.

Has it actually been established that an official deadline was set... or has internet scuttlebutt become fact?

21-07-2017, 08:47 AM
Has it actually been established that an official deadline was set... or has internet scuttlebutt become fact?

Not referring to a deadline, more how can a deal have been offered if he is still with Blackburn?

21-07-2017, 08:49 AM
Not referring to a deadline, more how can a deal have been offered if he is still with Blackburn?

Take your point :aok:

21-07-2017, 09:03 AM

Because Blackburn have offered him a deal in principle but he's waiting to see what other deal he can get before accepting their offer?

21-07-2017, 09:12 AM
So he's not signing today after all then ? :blah::blah::

21-07-2017, 09:27 AM
I'll be supprised if he signs at all, we have gone from signed 3 year contract to he is still a Blackburn player.

21-07-2017, 09:29 AM
I'll be supprised if he signs at all, we have gone from signed 3 year contract to he is still a Blackburn player.

Relax

21-07-2017, 09:34 AM
Relax
Well I sincerely hope your right, if so I'll be the first on here to apologise to you.:agree:

21-07-2017, 09:40 AM

He's agreed to the terms hibs offered, he will sign for Hibs. No idea why folk put a time on these things. Might be over the w'end might be next week either way he'll be with us for the start of the season.

scuttle
21-07-2017, 09:42 AM
He's agreed to the terms hibs offered, he will sign for Hibs. No idea why folk put a time on these things. Might be over the w'end might be next week either way he'll be with us for the start of the season.

Hope you are correct mate

21-07-2017, 09:49 AM
He's agreed to the terms hibs offered, he will sign for Hibs. No idea why folk put a time on these things. Might be over the w'end might be next week either way he'll be with us for the start of the season.As I said yesterday ...good enough for me TC...people need to chill and realise these things take a bit if time to sort out.

21-07-2017, 09:53 AM

Be delighted to welcome Stokes back .. Complete legend , 2 goals in a scottish cup winning side 💚

21-07-2017, 09:58 AM

Cheers for posting this, I was feeling nervous this morning but will try and relax and ignore my phone this weekend!

For me getting him on a permanent deal would be, along with Efe, one of the biggest signings since Sauzee so I'm just anxious to get it done!

21-07-2017, 10:26 AM

The way Lennon is speaking he isn't expecting the deal done quickly. He's more gearing towards the Partick game so I would think if we will be signing stokes it will be before then.

21-07-2017, 10:33 AM
Cheers for posting this, I was feeling nervous this morning but will try and relax and ignore my phone this weekend!

For me getting him on a permanent deal would be, along with Efe, one of the biggest signings since Sauzee so I'm just anxious to get it done!

Totally agree with you.

Would be over the moon if we get Stokes on a 3 year contract. A class act, club legend and goal machine. Would be a massive boost to have him on board.

147lothian
21-07-2017, 10:43 AM

Thanks mate, fans are understandably anxious, post like this go someway towards settling folkhttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

21-07-2017, 10:43 AM

Is this FACT?

21-07-2017, 10:45 AM
The way Lennon is speaking he isn't expecting the deal done quickly. He's more gearing towards the Partick game so I would think if we will be signing stokes it will be before then.

Is Stokes doing pre season training with anyone. Or if he signs are we going to get a player who is off the pace and hasent trained a lot.

21-07-2017, 10:52 AM
Is Stokes doing pre season training with anyone. Or if he signs are we going to get a player who is off the pace and hasent trained a lot.
I have been thinking the same in the past few days regards him training anywhere.
Everybody and their dog on here have seen Stokes in Edinburgh,recently.
No sign of him yet in the Clermiston Inn

Maybe he is working out in a gym up in George Street:greengrin

Groathillgrump
21-07-2017, 10:55 AM

He seems to be doing regular sprints to George Street given the amount of sightings of him there recently. :greengrin

EDIT: Mick O'Rourke beat me to it!

HibeeMassive
21-07-2017, 10:56 AM

Yeah, he's been training with Blackburn still - at least he was until a couple of weeks ago, I'm assuming he still is. How hard he's been training though, who knows..

21-07-2017, 10:57 AM

He was training at Blackburn but that may have stopped now.

Souter96Mac
21-07-2017, 11:15 AM
He's just been released by Blackburn, they've just tweeted it out

21-07-2017, 11:16 AM
I suspect things will move quite quickly now.

21-07-2017, 11:18 AM
https://68.media.tumblr.com/493b7094c4842b79c41a3016ccfdc676/tumblr_mwq5k077w21sxrctbo1_250.gif

21-07-2017, 11:22 AM
Relax

21-07-2017, 11:23 AM
https://www.rovers.co.uk/news/2017/july/anthony-stokes-departs/#.WXHjq3oBZZl.twitter

21-07-2017, 11:24 AM
Good news?

21-07-2017, 11:24 AM
Yaaass....

21-07-2017, 11:28 AM
https://www.rovers.co.uk/news/2017/july/anthony-stokes-departs/#.WXHjq3oBZZl.twitter

:hyper:hyper

21-07-2017, 11:29 AM
Wonder where he'll end up?? 🤔

21-07-2017, 11:30 AM
Hoping todays the day.. Come home Stokesy!

21-07-2017, 11:30 AM
Good, let's hope things move quickly now. One last sesh in Why Not this weekend Tony then it's down to the serious business as of Monday.

21-07-2017, 11:31 AM

Selkirk have made a late bid for him.

21-07-2017, 11:32 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170721/374d0000f0766e7590e2499b5c23501d.png

21-07-2017, 11:33 AM
Time for the legend to come home

21-07-2017, 11:33 AM

Knew we couldn't match their wages!! Rod's fault again.

21-07-2017, 11:34 AM
i'm hearing whynot want him as a PR executive

Hibstrooper
Can't see anything happening today given that the team and most of the key folk will probably already be on their way up to Dingwall.

He could make his debut at Selkirk...

21-07-2017, 11:35 AM
Excellent!

Nemo
21-07-2017, 11:36 AM

i wonder indeed

21-07-2017, 11:37 AM
🔥🔥🔥

Roll on 5pm

He could make his debut at Selkirk...

21-07-2017, 11:38 AM
Can't see anything happening today given that the team and most of the key folk will probably already be on their way up to Dingwall.

The playing staff don't sign players.

21-07-2017, 11:39 AM

It wouldn't surprise me if pretty much all the necessary work with regards to financial agreements etc will have already been agreed with Stokesy and all that is required is a signature. Either that or LD might stay down here and sort it out. The sooner the better for me - I imagine the team + fans would get a good lift if Stokesy was announced before the game tonight!

21-07-2017, 11:39 AM
🔥🔥🔥

It's getting hot in here....

21-07-2017, 11:40 AM
It wouldn't surprise me if pretty much all the necessary work with regards to financial agreements etc will have already been agreed with Stokesy and all that is required is a signature. Either that or LD might stay down here and sort it out. The sooner the better for me - I imagine the team + fans would get a good lift if Stokesy was announced before the game tonight!

Everything has already been sorted out end.

21-07-2017, 11:40 AM
I'm guessing he will still hang about a bit to see if he can get a better offer than we are likely to give him ..... anecdotal evidence would suggest money might be a bigger factor for Stokesy than it should be for a player who by now should have been comfortably off :greengrin

On the other hand there's no doubt that his career has been on a downward spiral for a few years now, with the only bright spot being how his spell at Hibs ended, from that point of view and Blackburn's pretty public stating that 'off field problems' were the reason for his absence from the team its likely he will be looked upon as too much of a risk by clubs who otherwise might have been prepared to take a punt on him.

My guess is its a 50/50 shot that he will return to Hibs ............ unfortunately its also my guess that if he does return its 50/50 that he will turn out to be the player we hope he will.

21-07-2017, 11:42 AM

If that's the case get the fax machine at the ready and Leigh Griffiths jetpack warmed up to get him to Dingwall. Or at least Duff Jimmy's helicopter.

21-07-2017, 11:42 AM
Imagine being beaten to his signature at the last minute by Selkirk!!!

Just how low have we sunk...

Petrie!!!

21-07-2017, 11:44 AM
🍀🔥

21-07-2017, 11:47 AM
It's happening :hyper

I'm guessing he will still hang about a bit to see if he can get a better offer than we are likely to give him ..... anecdotal evidence would suggest money might be a bigger factor for Stokesy than it should be for a player who by now should have been comfortably off :greengrin

On the other hand there's no doubt that his career has been on a downward spiral for a few years now, with the only bright spot being how his spell at Hibs ended, from that point of view and Blackburn's pretty public stating that 'off field problems' were the reason for his absence from the team its likely he will be looked upon as too much of a risk by clubs who otherwise might have been prepared to take a punt on him.

My guess is its a 50/50 shot that he will return to Hibs ............ unfortunately its also my guess that if he does return its 50/50 that he will turn out to be the player we hope he will.
Not according to underscore, relax:greengrin

Everything has already been sorted out end.

We can expect an announcement 'Imminently' then? :greengrin

Hopefully a 3 year deal :aok:

21-07-2017, 11:49 AM

I read that as Sellick. :rolleyes:

21-07-2017, 11:50 AM
We can expect an announcement 'Imminently' then? :greengrin

Hopefully a 3 year deal :aok:

Haha, no idea when it will be announced. I'm hoping it's a 3 year deal but no info at all on the contract.

21-07-2017, 11:53 AM
It's happening :hyper

It is happening again...

http://youtu.be/pWa0dZMHYeE

Ken
21-07-2017, 11:56 AM
Haha, no idea when it will be announced. I'm hoping it's a 3 year deal but no info at all on the contract.

I'm guessing you've got inside info on this one Cat. On a scale from 1 to 10 how confident are you this will happen?

Keyser Sauzee
21-07-2017, 12:01 PM
I'm guessing you've got inside info on this one Cat. On a scale from 1 to 10 how confident are you this will happen?

Think it's pretty clear that it's just a matter of time now

21-07-2017, 12:10 PM
😱😱😱

portycabbage
21-07-2017, 12:11 PM
I read that as Sellick. :rolleyes:

Me too, although tbf Celtc have previous for creatively misspelling their own name.

21-07-2017, 12:22 PM
Has he signed yet? What is the delay? Cmon Petrie get it sorted.

21-07-2017, 12:23 PM
He's officially left BR

21-07-2017, 12:26 PM
He's officially left BR

Page 4 wants their post back

21-07-2017, 12:26 PM
Come home Stokes💚💚💚

21-07-2017, 12:27 PM

so it's happening.

What a squad coming together !!

21-07-2017, 12:30 PM
The latest from deepest Lancashire

www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/15426350.Blackburn_Rovers_reach_agreement_with_Ant hony_Stokes_to_terminate_his_contract/

There's a follow up joke in there about a photograph of Kyle Lafferty and Gary Locke

Page three wants its photo back #pairatits

Maybe just being a bit greedy, but get Stokesy in followed by a creative midfielder and potentially even another winger and we'll be good to go. Squad is looking very good so far though :aok:

BarneyHibby
21-07-2017, 12:32 PM
Looks like it's happening!:hyper

SunSports understands that the player is keen on a return to Easter Road – having taken in Lewis Stevenson’s testimonial against Sunderland – and club chiefs have been working to put together a package for the Scottish Cup winner.

Stokes would have to take a substantial wage drop to return to Edinburgh, but holds Lennon in high regard from their time together at Celtic, alongside his affection for Hibs after two successful stints.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1314500/blackburn-rovers-release-hibs-hero-anthony-stokes-paving-the-way-for-a-return-to-easter-road/

21-07-2017, 12:39 PM
BIG BIG signing for us (assuming there's no hitches) and I'm as excited as anyone. You can really feel the buzz.

Just imagine what it would be like if we got Sparky too. This place would just explode. It would be like the second coming of Christ.

21-07-2017, 12:41 PM
Looks like it's happening!:hyper

SunSports understands that the player is keen on a return to Easter Road – having taken in Lewis Stevenson’s testimonial against Sunderland – and club chiefs have been working to put together a package for the Scottish Cup winner.

Stokes would have to take a substantial wage drop to return to Edinburgh, but holds Lennon in high regard from their time together at Celtic, alongside his affection for Hibs after two successful stints.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1314500/blackburn-rovers-release-hibs-hero-anthony-stokes-paving-the-way-for-a-return-to-easter-road/

Defences up and down the country are reported to be terrified.... :greengrin

21-07-2017, 12:44 PM

21-07-2017, 12:45 PM
Think it's pretty clear that it's just a matter of time now

5.00pm ? :greengrin

21-07-2017, 12:49 PM
5.00pm ? :greengrin

Tomorrow! 😂

Baw187
21-07-2017, 01:05 PM
Maybe just being a bit greedy, but get Stokesy in followed by a creative midfielder and potentially even another winger and we'll be good to go. Squad is looking very good so far though :aok:

If we were to get Stokes and Commons over the line (both seeming likely) then that would be some window so far.

Ambrose, Swanson, Whittaker, Marciano, Stokes, Commons, Murray, and big Dave.

Another player with pace would be nice, I agree but happy with that!

ChicagoHibee
21-07-2017, 01:06 PM

www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/15426350.Blackburn_Rovers_reach_agreement_with_Ant hony_Stokes_to_terminate_his_contract/ (http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/15426350.Blackburn_Rovers_reach_agreement_with_Ant hony_Stokes_to_terminate_his_contract/)

Wow......that comments section!

21-07-2017, 01:07 PM
BIG BIG signing for us (assuming there's no hitches) and I'm as excited as anyone. You can really feel the buzz.

Just imagine what it would be like if we got Sparky too. This place would just explode. It would be like the second coming of Christ.
Euromillions tickets on which I only do to buy LG for Hibs.

BlackSheep
If we were to get Stokes and Commons over the line (both seeming likely) then that would be some window so far.

Ambrose, Swanson, Whittaker, Marciano, Stokes, Commons, Murray, and big Dave.

Another player with pace would be nice, I agree but happy with that!

If all this does come to pass then we also have to remember that this is on top of one of the strongest core squads we have seen for a long time, with the added benefit of talented youth coming through.

What a time to be a Hibee!

Baw187
If all this does come to pass then we also have to remember that this is on top of one of the strongest core squads we have seen fro a long time, with the added benefit of talented youth coming through.

What a time to be a Hibee!

Great point! [emoji1303]

21-07-2017, 01:10 PM

21-07-2017, 01:12 PM

concur :top marks

21-07-2017, 01:21 PM
So does this mean we can ditch the negativity that's been rampant in here for the last forever?

21-07-2017, 01:23 PM
So does this mean we can ditch the negativity that's been rampant in here for the last forever?

Well, till Monday maybe. :wink:

21-07-2017, 01:24 PM
Had worse signings I guess and could have ended up lafferty instead😂😂😂

21-07-2017, 01:33 PM
Well, till Monday maybe. :wink:

With some people it only takes a defeat at Ross County in a league cup tie tonight to warrant a "I think we'll struggle this season" label.

We're doing ok, moving in the right direction. I'd like to see a little more pace in the team if Im honest but the squad is coming together quite nicely.

21-07-2017, 01:35 PM
With some people it only takes a defeat at Ross County in a league cup tie tonight to warrant a "I think we'll struggle this season" label.

We're doing ok, moving in the right direction. I'd like to see a little more pace in the team if Im honest but the squad is coming together quite nicely.

If Murray doesnt score there will be at least 4 posts on here saying he;s not good enough for this level.

21-07-2017, 01:37 PM
If Murray doesnt score there will be at least 4 posts on here saying he;s not good enough for this level.

Posts or threads?

yonder1875
21-07-2017, 01:43 PM
Had worse signings I guess and could have ended up lafferty instead😂😂😂

Thank Sauzee for that!

21-07-2017, 01:44 PM
So does this mean we can ditch the negativity that's been rampant in here for the last forever?Mate am sure some will still find coz to moan...but this will be an outstanding signing...abso buzzing for Stokesy coming home....its been worth the wait all summer till now [emoji106][emoji106][emoji106]

21-07-2017, 01:45 PM

Get the gif thread started :hyper

21-07-2017, 01:50 PM

If we dont win tonight then im throwing someone else's season ticket in the bin

21-07-2017, 01:57 PM
Kenny Miller just tweeted this;
This is one of these ones when no-one should say done deal until the scarf's above the head.

21-07-2017, 02:05 PM
This is one of these ones when no-one should say done deal until the scarf's above the head.
I remember a certain Mo Johnston with the Celtic scarf above the head pic , then signing for deed Rangers .
I said at the time we were getting linked with Laughferty , that I would prefer 🔥Stokes 🔥

21-07-2017, 02:05 PM

The plot thickens...

21-07-2017, 02:07 PM

Oh dear.

21-07-2017, 02:07 PM
The plot thickens...

FFS, has someone thrown a Spaniard in the works!!!!

Saturday Boy
21-07-2017, 02:09 PM

That might have been Lennon. 😉

Only for people of a certain vintage 😉

21-07-2017, 02:15 PM

If he doesn't score at this level it certainly will not be tbrough lack of trying or desire. Think he will do well.

21-07-2017, 02:17 PM
That might have been Lennon. 😉

Only for people of a certain vintage 😉

Imagine.

21-07-2017, 02:22 PM

Hear hear, I won't relax until it is!

21-07-2017, 02:22 PM
Imagine.

O No! :worried:

21-07-2017, 02:23 PM

Yup. Yet to test ourselves week in, week out in the prem.

Looks good but don't be surprised if there's a bit of learning and refining this season.

guthrie01
21-07-2017, 02:24 PM

Still happening, just covering himself if Stokes doesn't sign then people won't be complaining about how "Kenny said it was a done deal"

21-07-2017, 02:25 PM

I think that's just stating common sense really?

Almost all fans want this deal done and its been discussed for weeks on end so it's such a high profile signing if it doesn't come off, this place and all other social media platforms will go in to meltdown

21-07-2017, 02:26 PM
If we dont win tonight then im throwing someone else's season ticket in the bin

I'll raise you _ I'll throw someone else's Hibs scarf in the bin. :greengrin

21-07-2017, 02:27 PM
I remember a certain Mo Johnston with the Celtic scarf above the head pic , then signing for deed Rangers .

Rangers' kitman protested by making Johnston arrange his own kit and withholding from him the chocolate bars dispensed to other players!

21-07-2017, 02:30 PM
Rangers' kitman protested by making Johnston arrange his own kit and withholding from him the chocolate bars dispensed to other players!

A chocolate orange no doubt?

21-07-2017, 02:31 PM

The plot thickens...

Oh dear.

I think people may be reading slightly too much into his comment. I don't think he means Stokes is going elsewhere. Just that its not confirmed that he's definitely going to Hibs yet.

21-07-2017, 02:33 PM
I'll raise you _ I'll throw someone else's Hibs scarf in the bin. :greengrin

While it's still aound his neck.

21-07-2017, 02:37 PM

Also I believe the Larkhall supporters club compiled their own league table on the basis of not counting any of the goals Johnston scored and awarding points accordingly. As a result (to them) Rangers didn't win the league and so they didn't celebrate it.

Sorry for the :hijack:

Baw187
21-07-2017, 02:39 PM
Also I believe the Larkhall supporters club compiled their own league table on the basis of not counting any of the goals Johnston scored and awarding points accordingly. As a result (to them) Rangers didn't win the league and so they didn't celebrate it.

[emoji15][emoji15] What a bunch of total fuds.

21-07-2017, 02:44 PM

The same kitman who refused to join in a minute's applause for Jimmy Johnstone. :rolleyes:

Jimmy Bell (end).

21-07-2017, 02:44 PM

True. :agree:

21-07-2017, 02:45 PM

As opposed to the titles they should genuinely not have been awarded because they were cheating ___________'s.[emoji3]

Crazyhorse
21-07-2017, 02:50 PM

Yeah roaster central...

21-07-2017, 03:10 PM

Everyone just being cautious after the great Henderson/Commons Done Deal saga of '16.

21-07-2017, 03:14 PM
Everyone just being cautious after the great Henderson/Commons Done Deal saga of '16.

Yep. I'll not believe anything until it is officially announced by the club as even deals that look a dead cert and look to be all but done can fall through at the last minute.

21-07-2017, 03:23 PM
Yep. I'll not believe anything until it is officially announced by the club as even deals that look a dead cert and look to be all but done can fall through at the last minute.

Indeed we don't want to 86sed it.

21-07-2017, 03:32 PM
Has he signed yet? What is the delay? Cmon Petrie get it sorted.

www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/15426350.Blackburn_Rovers_reach_agreement_with_Ant hony_Stokes_to_terminate_his_contract/

FOUR GOALS simply not good enough! :wink::wink::wink:

21-07-2017, 04:03 PM

:agree: Jeez, that makes Hibsnet read like the Dead Sea Scrolls. Some real space cadet comments on there.

21-07-2017, 04:12 PM
So....5pm tomorrow is it?

21-07-2017, 04:20 PM
The same kitman who refused to join in a minute's applause for Jimmy Johnstone. :rolleyes:

Jimmy Bell (end).
Disgusting creature, even the guy next to him is disgusted

21-07-2017, 04:23 PM
I vote the next poster to crack this 5pm joke gets banned for life...doing my head in honestly. Have a wee bit of patience, Blackburn have only announced he's released this afternoon...

21-07-2017, 04:34 PM

21-07-2017, 04:47 PM
Yeah roaster central...

Those Jambos get everywhere ....

21-07-2017, 04:51 PM
Wonder where he'll end up?? [emoji848]

Bad boy!! 🥄

21-07-2017, 04:54 PM

21-07-2017, 04:57 PM

Jimmy Bell (end).

The same Kidman who was also trousering over £150k a year as the club went down the pan. Redeemed himself slightly by playing a small part in their downfall.

21-07-2017, 04:58 PM

Me too. Until it is officially confirmed then that is when I'll get excited.

21-07-2017, 05:19 PM
I vote the next poster to crack this 5pm joke gets banned for life...doing my head in honestly. Have a wee bit of patience, Blackburn have only announced he's released this afternoon...

I agree.

Next person to do this will be banned for life. At 5pm tomorrow.

21-07-2017, 05:28 PM
I agree.

Next person to do this will be banned for life. At 5pm tomorrow.

The next person to post a sarcadtic meta-joke like this should be banned for life at 5pm tomorrow.

21-07-2017, 05:30 PM
Me too. Until it is officially confirmed then that is when I'll get excited.
Christmas must have been a blast as a kid.:greengrin

SON OF PADDY
21-07-2017, 05:55 PM
Disgusting creature, even the guy next to him is disgusted

I honestly don't get it !!
What type of person wouldn't want to join in a minute's
applause for a great football player.
The guy's behaviour was utterly disgraceful.

Tomsk
21-07-2017, 06:07 PM
I honestly don't get it !!
What type of person wouldn't want to join in a minute's
applause for a great football player.
The guy's behaviour was utterly disgraceful.

And what sort of club would have him on the payroll?

ACLeith
21-07-2017, 06:12 PM
And what sort of club would have him on the payroll?

And STILL have him there!!!!

xyz23jc
21-07-2017, 06:17 PM
The next person to post a sarcadtic meta-joke like this should be banned for life at 5pm tomorrow.

Next person to utter semantical dissonances and use the word 'sarcadtic' has to bathe in a bath of beans outside ER at 5pm at the start of the season! :greengrin:duck:

wpj
21-07-2017, 06:24 PM

Jimmy Bell (end).

Glad we pished on his parade last May. Love to see a photo of that!

Newry Hibs
21-07-2017, 06:28 PM

I knew a hun that refused to cheer any of his goals. He wasn't alone. Also didn't mo score a winner against celtc?

Juice-Terry
21-07-2017, 06:31 PM
I knew a hun that refused to cheer any of his goals. He wasn't alone. Also didn't mo score a winner against celtc?

Pish topic. Back to the original thread please!

21-07-2017, 06:32 PM
Stokes is coming. I can assure you all.

NthCarolinaHibs
21-07-2017, 06:34 PM

Couldnae give a monkeys...move on...

21-07-2017, 07:00 PM

BarneyHibby
21-07-2017, 07:39 PM
Neil Lennon on BT Sport: "Well, I think it is fair to say we are in talks with Anthony. We have made him a really good offer, a really strong offer, so the ball is in the court of Anthony now and his agent," Lennon told BT Sport.

"We will wait and see. We just have to hope that he thinks Hibs is the next stage in his career again."

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11792/10956771/blackburn-rovers-terminate-striker-anthony-stokes-contract

21-07-2017, 07:47 PM
Neil Lennon on BT Sport: "Well, I think it is fair to say we are in talks with Anthony. We have made him a really good offer, a really strong offer, so the ball is in the court of Anthony now and his agent," Lennon told BT Sport.

"We will wait and see. We just have to hope that he thinks Hibs is the next stage in his career again."

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11792/10956771/blackburn-rovers-terminate-striker-anthony-stokes-contract

Not a done deal then. Praying we get it sorted asap.

21-07-2017, 08:35 PM
:hyper :hyper

21-07-2017, 10:39 PM
We could've done with his intelligence and finesse around the box tonight.

21-07-2017, 10:46 PM

I like your message but your name doesn't fill me with confidence...

Crazyhorse
21-07-2017, 10:56 PM
I like your message but your name doesn't fill me with confidence...

Yeah hope he hasn't put the kiss of death on it...

18Hibee75
21-07-2017, 11:34 PM
Hopefully stokes has made his mind up as to where he wants to go by January.

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

22-07-2017, 02:13 AM

GGTTH07
22-07-2017, 02:23 AM

Not the case entirely mate. Was certain to come on loan to us, however Blackburn last minute wanted a pay off instead of a loan deal. Still looking good on his behalf at the moment tho.

BlackSheep
22-07-2017, 11:59 AM
All quiet since the pre match chat with a lennon last night... o one see Stokes up town at all last night? Or on any buses?

I know Lennon has said ten all is in his court but I wish this saga would bloody end already... one way or another.

alihibs1
23-07-2017, 04:01 PM
Any updates folks?

23-07-2017, 05:58 PM
Lennon saying a strong offer has been made but hinted there may be scope for some further negotiation so looks like we are still trying to make him our no 1 Target
But really hope its resolved before next weekend We cant keep waiting

23-07-2017, 06:09 PM
Lennon saying a strong offer has been made but hinted there may be scope for some further negotiation so looks like we are still trying to make him our no 1 Target
But really hope its resolved before next weekend We cant keep waiting

Where are you hearing this from Ronnie?

23-07-2017, 06:24 PM
Where are you hearing this from Ronnie?

I was speaking the back room staff earlier. Its not a done deal yet but they remain very hopeful.

23-07-2017, 06:42 PM
I was speaking the back room staff earlier. Its not a done deal yet but they remain very hopeful.

Thanks for info, need to get him sooner rather than later, as it's going to be a bit before he's match fit

23-07-2017, 06:46 PM
Thanks for info, need to get him sooner rather than later, as it's going to be a bit before he's match fit

This is my thinking too. Obviously want an answer either way because we need to look elsewhere if he doesn't want to sign. If he's coming to us then he'll need a lot of work to get fit. Don't think he's had much of a pre season at all.

23-07-2017, 06:52 PM
This is my thinking too. Obviously want an answer either way because we need to look elsewhere if he doesn't want to sign. If he's coming to us then he'll need a lot of work to get fit. Don't think he's had much of a pre season at all.

Been training with Blackburn I presume up to Thursday/Friday?

23-07-2017, 06:52 PM

What makes u so sure

23-07-2017, 07:01 PM

Jimmy Bell (end).Small man in every respect.

Has the odious little creep had his shins removed to achieve this look? Looks like it in the picture.

Must have enjoyed the rangers first ever Scottish cup final.

23-07-2017, 07:04 PM

But has hardly played in a year maybe?

23-07-2017, 07:05 PM
But has hardly played in a year maybe?

That's what I said above, needs to sign soon and get playing

23-07-2017, 07:13 PM

I'm purely guessing about his pre season but he seems to have been in Edinburgh for a while and Blackburn didn't take him on their pre season tour. He might've been doing work on his own right enough.

23-07-2017, 07:16 PM
Your not sounding as certain as you were a day or so ago.

23-07-2017, 07:39 PM

Based on what? :confused:

h185forever
23-07-2017, 08:15 PM
Based on what? :confused:

...the thirty pieces of silver he paid for the info .....I wonder where he got the money :confused:

BlackSheep
24-07-2017, 08:49 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/1322729/fire-nightclub-opal-lounge-edinburgh-george-street/

Stokes must have made an appearance!! :greengrin

BegbieHSC
24-07-2017, 10:18 AM
Can we announce him yet?

MKHIBEE
24-07-2017, 10:29 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/1322729/fire-nightclub-opal-lounge-edinburgh-george-street/

Stokes must have made an appearance!! :greengrin

Lucky the fire engines where on their way then if fire broke out. Appalling headline.

24-07-2017, 10:36 AM
Can we announce him yet?

Sure.

*clears throat*

'Ladies and Gentlemen, Announcing Anthony Stokes!'

That's that sorted.

BlackSheep
24-07-2017, 10:53 AM
http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/rovers/news/15428839._It_suited_all_parties____Tony_Mowbray_on _the_departure_of_Anthony_Stokes_from_Blackburn_Ro vers/?ref=twtrec

“I think it’s the best thing for everyone, for the club and the dressing room, and Anthony who wanted to leave and get back up north,” Mowbray added.

So, if this is an accurate quote form Tony Mowbray, then surely we have to believe all the work that went into cancelling the contract was to open the door for a move back to Hibs.

Lets hope this article was written after any other parties became interested in Stokes as well.

24-07-2017, 11:25 AM
http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/rovers/news/15428839._It_suited_all_parties____Tony_Mowbray_on _the_departure_of_Anthony_Stokes_from_Blackburn_Ro vers/?ref=twtrec

“I think it’s the best thing for everyone, for the club and the dressing room, and Anthony who wanted to leave and get back up north,” Mowbray added.

So, if this is an accurate quote form Tony Mowbray, then surely we have to believe all the work that went into cancelling the contract was to open the door for a move back to Hibs.

Lets hope this article was written after any other parties became interested in Stokes as well.

God forbid but up north could mean Aberdeen....imagine the meltdown!!

BlackSheep
24-07-2017, 11:26 AM
God forbid but up north could mean Aberdeen....imagine the meltdown!!

Well technically yes, but in that vein it could mean Sunderland! One of his old teams....

24-07-2017, 11:28 AM
would literally end myself if he signed for Aberdeen, thankfully I don't think that's very likely

BegbieHSC
24-07-2017, 11:34 AM
The lad is coming home lads. Don't worry about the sheep!