View Full Version : Stokesy

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

25-07-2017, 04:13 PM
What chance he's paraded on pitch at HT 2nite??

Unlikely

I'm not paying too much attention to the East Mains car story. The one Stokes is standing next to in the Twitter pic is a 4 door, the car at EM is a 2 door.

Yip :greengrin

Souter96Mac
Defo need to get him helicoptered in at half time, Scottish cup aloft

Two year deal apparently.

I could tell you my source but I'd have to kill you before he kills me.

That's the danger of dealing with Al CaTone. :cb

25-07-2017, 04:17 PM
Small matter of a game tonight, can't see it being tonight.

Or the perfect time to announce him and get him on the pitch at half time? :hyper

25-07-2017, 04:27 PM
Who'll scoop the first post of confirmation once he decides yea or nay? :hmmm:

25-07-2017, 04:33 PM
Small matter of a game tonight, can't see it being tonight.

Maybe Lennon will announce it in his post match interview.

25-07-2017, 04:37 PM
I'm not paying too much attention to the East Mains car story. The one Stokes is standing next to in the Twitter pic is a 4 door, the car at EM is a 2 door.

I suggest you are paying enough attention to the car story, given your keen observation, Sherlock.:greengrin

25-07-2017, 04:43 PM
Do you run it?

Right, let's narrow this down.

There's no proof that I run a Hibs rumour twitter account. HTH.

25-07-2017, 04:47 PM
Why am i being accused of running that account? There's no proof it's me. Getting quite boring of being accused of that now.

perhaps it was because previously (when you first joined) you badgered many people who where ITK for info, in a way that was pretty intense, people provided you with PM info that was shared on this twitter account and also posts on the account at times matched the exact wording you had used in posts on here?

just saying....

ps I don't mind who it is - would appreciate them holding up their hadn't though

25-07-2017, 04:57 PM
Are we there yet?

25-07-2017, 04:57 PM
Are we there yet?

25-07-2017, 04:58 PM
perhaps it was because previously (when you first joined) you badgered many people who where ITK for info, in a way that was pretty intense, people provided you with PM info that was shared on this twitter account and also posts on the account at times matched the exact wording you had used in posts on here?

just saying....

ps I don't mind who it is - would appreciate them holding up their hadn't though

I am Bob Marleys Dug. I mean eh HFC Transfers News..

25-07-2017, 04:59 PM
Right, let's narrow this down.

There's no proof that I run a Hibs rumour twitter account. HTH.

Are you Michael Howard? :wink: :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uwlsd8RAoqI

25-07-2017, 04:59 PM
Are we there yet?

https://i.makeagif.com/media/7-26-2015/7k3Mx0.gif

25-07-2017, 05:00 PM
https://i.makeagif.com/media/7-26-2015/7k3Mx0.gif

Brilliant! :greengrin

25-07-2017, 05:04 PM
Brilliant! :greengrin

:agree: Budge, Dave McPherson and Robbo all in one vid :aok:

25-07-2017, 05:21 PM
:agree: Budge, Dave McPherson and Robbo all in one vid :aok:

25-07-2017, 05:34 PM
:hyper

edwards
25-07-2017, 05:39 PM
What a nice bunch oh happy go lucky guys you are, who needs woman when you lot bitch all day long FFS

25-07-2017, 05:43 PM
What a nice bunch oh happy go lucky guys you are, who needs woman when you lot bitch all day long FFS

Sexist.

How do you know they're/we're all men?

25-07-2017, 05:50 PM
Sexist.

:agree: some of the moaniest members on this site are females.

25-07-2017, 05:51 PM
Unconfirmed reports on Twitter Stokes has passed a medical today and signed a 2 year deal...it is Twitter tho so who knows...

25-07-2017, 06:02 PM
Unconfirmed reports on Twitter Stokes has passed a medical today and signed a 2 year deal...it is Twitter tho so who knows...

Who tweeted Graham Norton or Lilly Savage :confused:

25-07-2017, 06:07 PM
Who tweeted Graham Norton or Lilly Savage :confused:

Think it was the guy that sang the Birdy song

25-07-2017, 06:08 PM
Who tweeted Graham Norton or Lilly Savage :confused:Don't shoot the messenger I'm.only sharing the info...no idea if true or not

25-07-2017, 06:10 PM
Don't shoot the messenger I'm.only sharing the info...no idea if true or not

lennon is saying talks are still ongoing , that would suggest the info is pish

25-07-2017, 06:10 PM
Cmon stokesy

25-07-2017, 06:12 PM
lennon is saying talks are still ongoing , that would suggest the info is pi**** would indeed... however until Hibs officially announce it he ain't gonna say "oh yeah he's signed" in a pre match interview is he??

hibeelovin90
25-07-2017, 06:41 PM
It would indeed... however until Hibs officially announce it he ain't gonna say "oh yeah he's signed" in a pre match interview is he??

Did Lennon sound positive about the ongoing talks?

25-07-2017, 06:42 PM

That boy knows nothing. Should stick to posting pictures of Bob Marleys dug

25-07-2017, 06:44 PM
Did Lennon sound positive about the ongoing talks?He spoke openly about him being a "rascal" and how he's happy being in Scotland ...said no more than talks are on going.

25-07-2017, 07:39 PM
Are we there yet?

That's what my little boy says after 5minutes in the car NO MATTER WHERE WE ARE GOING...bit like our signing policy at the moment 🙄.

25-07-2017, 07:48 PM

25-07-2017, 10:37 PM

25-07-2017, 10:38 PM
Can;t have the boy missing out on his birthday to be doing press conferences etc eh.... Hope he's not too hungover tomorrow.

25-07-2017, 10:55 PM
After tonight's free scoring win, do we even need him?

Only joking Stokesy. Sign that contract!

25-07-2017, 11:03 PM
Can;t have the boy missing out on his birthday to be doing press conferences etc eh.... Hope he's not too hungover tomorrow.U sir are 1 almighty tease [emoji23]

1875STEVE
25-07-2017, 11:10 PM
Four in Hand twitter just tweeted, then instantly deleted this......

25-07-2017, 11:12 PM

Would his dug no be deid by now?

25-07-2017, 11:22 PM

BegbieHSC
25-07-2017, 11:25 PM
ken whit? I genuinely think we might have some news tomorrow...

25-07-2017, 11:44 PM

Haha this transfer is ridiculous

Most importantly what number was he?

25-07-2017, 11:46 PM

I'm guessing #9.

Double signing tomorrow? If so I reckon we're done for the window.

25-07-2017, 11:47 PM
I'm guessing #9.

Other than Commons though that might come later.

Would be an outstanding window though.

1875STEVE
25-07-2017, 11:57 PM

Didnt have a number.

They followed up with "woops" and an emoji of fire

1875STEVE
26-07-2017, 12:00 AM
I'm guessing #9.

i reckon one more on top of that....

26-07-2017, 12:03 AM

26-07-2017, 06:52 AM

Your contribution to this thread has genuinely been my favourite and sums up my feelings better than any words can!

Well except maybe the daffy duck gif...

26-07-2017, 07:07 AM
Your contribution to this thread has genuinely been my favourite and sums up my feelings better than any words can!

Well except maybe the daffy duck gif...

http://i.imgur.com/EUHneIb.jpg

A gif thread will be started when it's confirmed. :hyper

26-07-2017, 07:31 AM
http://i.imgur.com/EUHneIb.jpg

So he is definitely coming

26-07-2017, 07:35 AM
So he is definitely coming Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Look at Daffy's face Ronnie???? Looks no far off!! 🙈

26-07-2017, 07:36 AM

👍. Need to hunt out the Kermit one Stevie!

Let's hope we get it announced early doors.

26-07-2017, 08:07 AM
👍. Need to hunt out the Kermit one Stevie!

Let's hope we get it announced early doors.

http://i.imgur.com/DMC34Gm.jpg

Hopefully it's confirmed today. :hyper

26-07-2017, 08:09 AM

My fav Stevie! 🤣🤣🤣

26-07-2017, 08:10 AM

Hahaha, hadn't seen that one!

26-07-2017, 08:13 AM
Look at Daffy's face Ronnie???? Looks no far off!! [emoji85]

[emoji102][emoji56]

26-07-2017, 08:14 AM
[emoji102][emoji56]

It's early Ronnie [emoji848][emoji38]

26-07-2017, 08:23 AM

Would his dug no be deid by now?

You should see the pictures...

:jamboak:

Niffy
26-07-2017, 09:55 AM
ken whit? I genuinely think we might have some news tomorrow...

Did you mean TODAY or tomorrow?

alihibs1
26-07-2017, 10:06 AM
http://www.teamtalk.com/news/exclusive-former-celtic-blackburn-striker-has-options-aplenty

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

BlackSheep
26-07-2017, 10:11 AM
http://www.teamtalk.com/news/exclusive-former-celtic-blackburn-striker-has-options-aplenty

Teams from Turkey, Poland, Greece, India and China....

Im not sure I would choose to play in any of those leagues even with a decent wage!

26-07-2017, 10:16 AM

That will be that then

GreenOnions
26-07-2017, 10:19 AM
I just saw a car in a car park. There was no-one in it.

yonder1875
26-07-2017, 10:20 AM
That will be that then

Of course he would have had offers elsewhere, a player of his calibre. I really don't think we're the only team interested.

Still reckon we've got him.

26-07-2017, 10:26 AM
Of course he would have had offers elsewhere, a player of his calibre. I really don't think we're the only team interested.

Still reckon we've got him.
Have my doubts.

proud_and_green
26-07-2017, 10:30 AM
Have my doubts.

I do too, particularly considering Lenny's comment about '..he just needs to phone me...".

26-07-2017, 10:31 AM
I just saw a car in a car park. There was no-one in it.

:hyper :hyper

SonOfDavidFrancey
26-07-2017, 10:32 AM
I do too, particularly considering Lenny's comment about '..he just needs to phone me...".

Yep. And why doesn't Lenny just phone him?

Largshibby
26-07-2017, 10:35 AM

Hardly a surprise. He could sign a lucrative 2 year deal in China and crash and burn after a few weeks/months (like Blackburn) and come to Hibs in January with a big pay off - again. I'm sure his Agent will have thought along those lines. Or.... he could sign for Hibs for two years, score lots of goals and earn a good deal again somewhere in the UK. I know which option I'd choose.

26-07-2017, 10:35 AM
Teams from Turkey, Poland, Greece, India and China....

Im not sure I would choose to play in any of those leagues even with a decent wage!
Yes but it's Stokes not you that may be targeted to play in those leagues & with all things football money counts these days.

TonyStokeprano
26-07-2017, 10:36 AM
I was optimistic about this one, the longer it drags on the less likely I think he is to sign, let's be honest we've been chasing him since last summer then again in January and now this summer, surely in that time we could have worked out what wage is required and if he's up for joining , it seems from Neil's comments that were desperate for stokes but not so sure he's bothered about us, hopefully I'm wrong and he's confirmed sometime this week.....

26-07-2017, 11:04 AM
I was optimistic about this one, the longer it drags on the less likely I think he is to sign, let's be honest we've been chasing him since last summer then again in January and now this summer, surely in that time we could have worked out what wage is required and if he's up for joining , it seems from Neil's comments that were desperate for stokes but not so sure he's bothered about us, hopefully I'm wrong and he's confirmed sometime this week.....

We indeed could have know his wage back in January however he was contacted to Blackburn what he may have accepted back then could easily change since leaving Blackburn.

Some parties whom were not interested before may be now. I really hope we can get him.

26-07-2017, 11:54 AM
I still think we'll have him in this week.

26-07-2017, 11:56 AM
Well our offer is on the table, he is quite clearly keeping his options open.

BlackSheep
26-07-2017, 12:04 PM
Hoping Thecat chimes in with a reply as he has been very confident about Stokes....

This transfer is such a rollercoaster!!!!

26-07-2017, 12:06 PM

Dancing zebra Steve!

alihibs1
26-07-2017, 12:07 PM

Dancing zebra Steve!You know something we don't. Don't you?

26-07-2017, 12:09 PM
Hoping Thecat chimes in with a reply as he has been very confident about Stokes....

This transfer is such a rollercoaster!!!!

I'm still as relaxed about it all as I was last week. Loads of teams have been interested that's nothing new really. The fact though he's telling players he's coming calms any doubts for me.

alihibs1
26-07-2017, 12:10 PM
I'm still as relaxed about it all as I was last week. Loads of teams have been interested that's nothing new really. The fact though he's telling players he's coming calms any doubts for me.What players?

TonyStokeprano
26-07-2017, 12:22 PM
I'm still as relaxed about it all as I was last week. Loads of teams have been interested that's nothing new really. The fact though he's telling players he's coming calms any doubts for me.

When the cat speaks it eases my nerves , just can't wait until this deal is complete , signing stokes is gonna give the fans a massive lift genuinely feel if we secure stokes we've got as good a squad as we've had in my lifetime. Then i can get greedy and shout for Henderson to be next

26-07-2017, 12:24 PM
i find it a bit strange that stokes is telling players he's coming but hasnt bothered to tell the manager

26-07-2017, 12:29 PM
i find it a bit strange that stokes is telling players he's coming but hasnt bothered to tell the manager

Yup.....think its more likely that nobody but stokes and his agent know exactly whats going on.....every man and his dug seem to be in the know here

26-07-2017, 12:32 PM
If he signs the Hibernian hostelries should concoct a cocktail in his honour.
What would it consist of?
Anyway perhaps just plenty beer promos to mark his signing (if and when it happens?)

26-07-2017, 12:33 PM
Anyway perhaps just plenty beer promos to mark his signing (if and when it happens?)

Flaming Sambucas all round?

My old man
26-07-2017, 12:45 PM
Flaming Sambucas all round?

10/10
Has to be

26-07-2017, 12:54 PM
Never in the field of fitba transfers has so much been written based on so little truth.

Newry Hibs
26-07-2017, 12:58 PM

A pint of properly poured Guinness - as it takes forever to be delivered.

26-07-2017, 01:30 PM

Dancing zebra Steve!

http://i.imgur.com/GfFgEcD.jpg

26-07-2017, 01:32 PM
Sheep are already pretty well covered with Rooney, Stockley, Maynard and thon young fella that bagged a hatty. Is the ex ICT boy not still there too?

I'm backing a Wednesday announcement. 1pm.

Baws - wrong player!

BlackSheep
26-07-2017, 01:42 PM
http://i.imgur.com/GfFgEcD.jpg

Are you two on the wind up?

Haymaker with the constant smileys and now this.....

Tell us you know more than you are letting on!!!

26-07-2017, 01:51 PM
A pint of properly poured Guinness - as it takes forever to be delivered.

They need to hire Henderson then, to be their driver. :greengrin

26-07-2017, 01:58 PM
If we sign Stokes it will have been an excellent window. Everything crossed.

wpj
26-07-2017, 02:05 PM
Sexist.

'Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!'

26-07-2017, 02:08 PM
Never in the field of fitba transfers has so much been written based on so little truth.

Is this your first transfer window with us???

26-07-2017, 02:30 PM
If we sign Stokes and keep SJM it will have been an excellent window. Everything crossed.

ftfy :wink:

26-07-2017, 02:37 PM
Is this your first transfer window with us???

Far from it. There just seems to have been an even larger amount of not remotely in the know garbage than usual.

Deek9
26-07-2017, 02:48 PM
IF He signs, I hope we don't have to wait till Christmas for him to get up to speed. Has he been training anywhere?

26-07-2017, 03:01 PM
Hibs have missed a trick...

Could have announced his signing on his birthday yesterday....then posted a video of him getting a present and opening it with a Hibs top and Stokes on the back :faf:

26-07-2017, 03:07 PM
BBC web site reporting NL as saying talks are ongoing with Stokes. Read into that what you will.

BlackSheep
26-07-2017, 03:12 PM
BBC web site reporting NL as saying talks are ongoing with Stokes. Read into that what you will.

Link?

26-07-2017, 03:17 PM

They are not at wind up just feeding off each other's hyper-ness and not sure they know much about Stokes' transfer.

Have to admit though Stevie's gif's are priceless!!

Alfiembra
26-07-2017, 03:17 PM
Link?

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/40728270

Last line of the Slivka Signing article

BlackSheep
26-07-2017, 03:20 PM

26-07-2017, 03:21 PM

Thanks also:greengrin

26-07-2017, 03:23 PM
'Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!'

Are we not men. D.E.V.O. Come back stokesy. Stokesy be good. One of my fav bands. We need to whip it at training and get him shaped up. I hope we get some satisfaction with this transfers and I've got a gut feeling that defences will shrivel up when faced with Anthony.

BarneyHibby
26-07-2017, 03:35 PM
New article by Kenny Millar.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1335551/hibs-face-a-nervous-wait-to-discover-if-anthony-stokes-will-return-to-easter-road/?utm_source=TWITTER&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=SprnklrSUNOrganic&UTMX=Editorial:scotsunsport:FBLink:Statement:Sport

WAITING GAME Hibs face a nervous wait to discover if Anthony Stokes will return to Easter Road
The striker, who turned 29 yesterday, has asked for time to consider an offer described by manager Neil Lennon as ‘very, very good’

HIBS face a nervous wait to discover if they’ll land Anthony Stokes.

The striker, who turned 29 yesterday, has asked for time to consider an offer described by manager Neil Lennon as ‘very, very good’.

And SunSport understands he has been granted that breathing space by sympathetic Lennon, who knows Stokes has a lot to weigh up as he ponders his next move.

Rival overseas interest has complicated matters, with the Easter Road fan favourite torn about the decision.

Contrary to speculation, the former Falkirk and Celtic star has not agreed terms with the Hibees or undergone a medical.

​A final decision is not expected until next week.

Lennon and Hibs are thought to remain hopeful a deal can be done for the man whose goals helped end THAT Scottish Cup hoodoo in 2016, after a settlement was finally reached with Blackburn to leave him a free agent.

Stokes, too, retains a great deal of fondness for a club where he’s enjoyed two successful spells, and took time out of his summer break to attend Lewis Stevenson’s testimonial against Sunderland – taking part in the half-time challenge alongside Ian Murray, Leigh Griffiths and Liam Henderson.

26-07-2017, 03:38 PM
I wonder if Stokes has been given a deadline on when we need an answer from him, given that Fraser Fyvie's contract offer was withdrawn after he took too long to get back to us.

Lee Marvin
26-07-2017, 03:39 PM
New article by Kenny Millar.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1335551/hibs-face-a-nervous-wait-to-discover-if-anthony-stokes-will-return-to-easter-road/?utm_source=TWITTER&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=SprnklrSUNOrganic&UTMX=Editorial:scotsunsport:FBLink:Statement:Sport

WAITING GAME Hibs face a nervous wait to discover if Anthony Stokes will return to Easter Road
The striker, who turned 29 yesterday, has asked for time to consider an offer described by manager Neil Lennon as ‘very, very good’

HIBS face a nervous wait to discover if they’ll land Anthony Stokes.

The striker, who turned 29 yesterday, has asked for time to consider an offer described by manager Neil Lennon as ‘very, very good’.

And SunSport understands he has been granted that breathing space by sympathetic Lennon, who knows Stokes has a lot to weigh up as he ponders his next move.

Rival overseas interest has complicated matters, with the Easter Road fan favourite torn about the decision.

Contrary to speculation, the former Falkirk and Celtic star has not agreed terms with the Hibees or undergone a medical.

​A final decision is not expected until next week.

Lennon and Hibs are thought to remain hopeful a deal can be done for the man whose goals helped end THAT Scottish Cup hoodoo in 2016, after a settlement was finally reached with Blackburn to leave him a free agent.

Stokes, too, retains a great deal of fondness for a club where he’s enjoyed two successful spells, and took time out of his summer break to attend Lewis Stevenson’s testimonial against Sunderland – taking part in the half-time challenge alongside Ian Murray, Leigh Griffiths and Liam Henderson.

This won't go down well

26-07-2017, 03:45 PM
This won't go down well

:eek: Especially if it's a "No"

BlackSheep
26-07-2017, 03:50 PM
This won't go down well

Its better knowing that we don't have to keep refreshing the forums and scouring the internet for glimpses of hope.... at least for a few days :greengrin

guthrie01
26-07-2017, 03:57 PM
:hmmm: But I thought Stokes had passed a medical and was poised to sign...

https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews/status/889900944657350657

26-07-2017, 03:59 PM

That page knows as much as us.

26-07-2017, 03:59 PM
I wonder if Stokes has been given a deadline on when we need an answer from him, given that Fraser Fyvie's contract offer was withdrawn after he took too long to get back to us.
The big difference is that Fyvie rejected the offer.

26-07-2017, 04:01 PM
Really hoping all this business with Stokes doesn't put a dampner for anyone on any of the great business Hibs have done in the last week or so, both on and off the pitch

BlackSheep

While i'm not defending these rubbish twitter accounts, it is possible he has done a medical and only needs to sign to complete the deal but is stalling for whatever reasons.....

Trying to be hopeful here

To Anthony Stokes,

I for one want you back with us.

I'm also starting to think enough is enough Anthony. Our club must look after itself.

I accept you have your own future to think about.

I also accept that you are the man to give us what we need as a striker and that to sign for us would be a great thing for the Hibernian family.

I am however finding it hard to accept that you are not prepared to say openly that you wantto get back in our shirt or that you are awaiting other offers.

None of us know what's going on behind the scenes, but, we do know that this club is bigger than one player.

C'mon man, do it, or put us out of our misery and let the club who have trusted you twice already to move on.

You are and always will be a hero to us.

26-07-2017, 04:05 PM
That page knows as much as us.

Think its a lift from Kenny Millers (journo) twitter

26-07-2017, 04:11 PM

Not like KM to be so wide of the mark.

26-07-2017, 04:12 PM
Beginning to think someone's playing silly bu66ars here.
Whether it Hibs/Lennon or Agent/Stokes or a mixture of the two I don't know but, pray tell me, how long does it take to work out a deal?

Hibs should offer him the best they can. He can say 'thanks' or 'no thanks'. If he can't make up his mind give him 24 hours to do so then move on - either way. Sorted.

FFS, this is getting worse than a Dallas storyline. I'm scared I wake up, find out it's 20/5/16 and the whole thing has been dream.

26-07-2017, 04:13 PM
Not like KM to be so wide of the mark.

In what respect?

26-07-2017, 04:14 PM
While i'm not defending these rubbish twitter accounts, it is possible he has done a medical and only needs to sign to complete the deal but is stalling for whatever reasons....

Kenny Millar specifically says in the Sun article that Stokes has not had a medical. In a defence of rubbish Twitter accounts though, they lift the majority of their stuff from here.

26-07-2017, 04:15 PM
In what respect?

If that tweet from HTCtransfernews has been lifted from KM's twitter (as suggested) then its wide of the mark.

26-07-2017, 04:16 PM
The suns hardly been spot on about our business this summer

26-07-2017, 04:17 PM
BBC web site reporting NL as saying talks are ongoing with Stokes. Read into that what you will.That will be from pre-match last night as he was asked and that was his exact reply

26-07-2017, 04:18 PM
The suns hardly been spot on about our business this summer

Think everyone has, including many on here, myself included😄

26-07-2017, 04:19 PM
If you don't like the crap that's put on some twitter feeds then don't follow them. Personally I just ignore them

26-07-2017, 04:20 PM
Think everyone has, including many on here, myself included😄

I think we all know hee haw despite what some of us may think :greengrin

26-07-2017, 04:20 PM
Kenny Millar specifically says in the Sun article that Stokes has not had a medical. In a defence of rubbish Twitter accounts though, they lift the majority of their stuff from here.Kenny has also repeatedly said all summer Stokes was signing - remains to be seen whether that is the case as each time he writes an article now it becomes less and less positive tbh

26-07-2017, 04:25 PM
I also hope this waiting game is not to the detriment of us missing out on possible alternatives to Stokesy. I'm as desperate as anyone for him to sign but no man is bigger than the club...he can't be given indefinitely to decide if he's signing or not. Shame this is somewhat overshadowing a great signing today and a very decent summer window this far...

Mango Man
26-07-2017, 04:25 PM
It really does feel like a one way relationship here, absolutely love the guy, but no player is bigger than the club, and obviously he is entitled to wait for a better deal for himself, but it does leave us looking a wee bit desperate, through no fault of our own. He left the first time of asking, 2nd time he was asked if he'd come to Easter road the following season, he just laughed and said maybe for a pint, it just seems he looks at us as as a stepping stone.

churchie16
26-07-2017, 04:27 PM
The only person who knows what's happening or is going to happen is stokes and his agent FACT not one other person has a clue they should just keep quiet and play the waiting game like every other hibs fan

26-07-2017, 04:29 PM
Kenny has also repeatedly said all summer Stokes was signing - remains to be seen whether that is the case as each time he writes an article now it becomes less and less positive tbh

Give him a break, he's better connected than most people on here. That tweet about a 2yr deal didn't come from him.

26-07-2017, 04:30 PM
Give him a break, he's better connected than most people on here. That tweet about a 2yr deal didn't come from him.Never said he wasn't mate bit he ain't the messiah in all things Hibs like some make out.. his paper has got plenty wrong this summer

26-07-2017, 04:33 PM
He'll be trying to wring a few more sheckles out of Hibs as is his right. That's the nature of negotiations. I still think he will sign.

Ken
26-07-2017, 04:41 PM
Kenny has also repeatedly said all summer Stokes was signing - remains to be seen whether that is the case as each time he writes an article now it becomes less and less positive tbh

I've kept up to date with most of his tweets over the summer and I don't think he has said once that Stokes was signing. He's maybe said he thinks he will or that he's confident he will, but that'll be based on what he's heard and going by recent comments by Lennon it looks pretty accurate. Happy to be proved wrong though

26-07-2017, 04:44 PM
Give him a break, he's better connected than most people on here. That tweet about a 2yr deal didn't come from him.

The 2 year deal thing came from Hibs Transfer News lifting a discussion on the PM board where someone suggested a 2 year deal would be perfect. I honestly think that HTN laddie may have a touch of Aspergers about him. All Kenny has repeatedly said is that we want him and we are very hopeful. Which is the same pretty much everyone has said.

Baw187
26-07-2017, 04:46 PM
The only person who knows what's happening or is going to happen is stokes and his agent FACT not one other person has a clue they should just keep quiet and play the waiting game like every other hibs fan

I'm not convinced that even Stokes knows yet. Hence the delay while he weighs it up.

26-07-2017, 04:52 PM

WillowbraeHibby
26-07-2017, 04:52 PM
I also hope this waiting game is not to the detriment of us missing out on possible alternatives to Stokesy. I'm as desperate as anyone for him to sign but no man is bigger than the club...he can't be given indefinitely to decide if he's signing or not. Shame this is somewhat overshadowing a great signing today and a very decent summer window this far...

Got to say, I am in the same frame of mind as yourself. Hopefully something soon, yes or no?

26-07-2017, 04:54 PM
Who's Stokes agent?

26-07-2017, 04:59 PM
Got to say, I am in the same frame of mind as yourself. Hopefully something soon, yes or no?

I'm sure our manager has his bases covered and just as he had church as a fall back for davey I'm sure he's done the same with stokes. Also we need to remember that some good players suddenly become available towards the end of the window.

26-07-2017, 05:00 PM
He either wants to play for us or he doesn't, I'm at a loss what's left to consider:confused:

26-07-2017, 05:02 PM
He either wants to play for us or he doesn't, I'm at a loss what's left to consider:confused:

Got to try and squeeze all he can out of us. After all Lennon said our offer was open to negotiation. Needs sorted soon though.

WillowbraeHibby
26-07-2017, 05:04 PM

WillowbraeHibby
26-07-2017, 05:04 PM
Got to try and squeeze all he can out of us. After all Lennon said our offer was open to negotiation. Needs sorted soon though.

Yep.

Delboy4
26-07-2017, 05:05 PM
Who's Stokes agent?

Derek Day - also Darren McGregor's agent

26-07-2017, 05:08 PM

Ta

26-07-2017, 05:08 PM
I've kept up to date with most of his tweets over the summer and I don't think he has said once that Stokes was signing. He's maybe said he thinks he will or that he's confident he will, but that'll be based on what he's heard and going by recent comments by Lennon it looks pretty accurate. Happy to be proved wrong though

The 2 year deal thing came from Hibs Transfer News lifting a discussion on the PM board where someone suggested a 2 year deal would be perfect. I honestly think that HTN laddie may have a touch of Aspergers about him. All Kenny has repeatedly said is that we want him and we are very hopeful. Which is the same pretty much everyone has said.

Agree with both, he has never said he's signing :agree:. People making things up now.

26-07-2017, 05:17 PM

26-07-2017, 05:19 PM

I though Derek Day is when Riordan signs for us again ;-)

26-07-2017, 05:22 PM
He's only been unattached for a few days and will still have enquries rolling in. No issue with him waiting to see if something big turns up. If we feel we need to start looking elsewhere the offee gets a deadline.

Nae need for bed wetting.

26-07-2017, 05:28 PM
Agree with both, he has never said he's signing :agree:. People making things up now.If ur accusing me of making things up Hermit....then here's the proof ;
"Stokes and Whittaker to come" is the quote.

I have no issue with Kenny but like any journo he is not always right and has backtracked quite a bit recently.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170726/2dc8f4637781b62af61bae556cb38b81.jpg

26-07-2017, 05:34 PM
If ur accusing me of making things up Hermit....then here's the proof ;

I have no issue with Kenny but like any journo he is not always right and has backtracked quite a bit recently.

Which was fine when Blackburn were planning on loaning him out, but even they paid him off the state of play changed.

26-07-2017, 05:41 PM

Not exactly repeating it, he's also said plenty times that he *thinks* he'll sign, and also that he might not.

Seems to me you've seen what you want to see and have ignored the tweets that don't fit.

26-07-2017, 05:44 PM

We've signed Whittaker and signing Stokes is still a possibility no?

26-07-2017, 05:44 PM
Not exactly repeating it, he's also said plenty times that he *thinks* he'll sign, and also that he might not.

Seems to me you've seen what you want to see and have ignored the tweets that don't fit.Listen I don't have an issue with Kenny and of course the circumstances change over the summer - I totally get that. This issue is being accused of making things up by another poster - Kenny just like everyone else does NOT know if Stokes is signing or not - that much is now clear. All we can do is wait and see how this all plays out

26-07-2017, 05:46 PM
We've signed Whittaker and signing Stokes is still a possibility no?Yes absolutely mate and hopefully we do

WillowbraeHibby
26-07-2017, 06:16 PM

Yep.

Baw187
26-07-2017, 07:10 PM

I wish life was that simple!

I was offered a new job 18 months ago somewhere I really wanted to go and I knew it was the right thing for me in my career.

The only issue was I would lose a big amount of money per year as the job I was leaving behind involved on call work where I got a hefty allowance and overtime when I was engaged out of hours.

I took an age to mull over that one, and changed my mind about 5 times before finally agreeing to take the cut and make the move.

So Stokes could simply be in the same position I was (except roll the sums up considerably) and might really want to come but has to consider the financial implications.

26-07-2017, 08:11 PM

Is it not Barry Hughes?

26-07-2017, 08:24 PM
I wish life was that simple!

I was offered a new job 18 months ago somewhere I really wanted to go and I knew it was the right thing for me in my career.

The only issue was I would lose a big amount of money per year as the job I was leaving behind involved on call work where I got a hefty allowance and overtime when I was engaged out of hours.

I took an age to mull over that one, and changed my mind about 5 times before finally agreeing to take the cut and make the move.

So Stokes could simply be in the same position I was (except roll the sums up considerably) and might really want to come but has to consider the financial implications.Stokes would have to have one very expensive lifestyle if it was a need instead of want when it comes to money.

All things considered he'd be making more than enough at Hibs to live a comfortable life in a great city.

Baw187
26-07-2017, 08:26 PM
Stokes would have to have one very expensive lifestyle if it was a need instead of want when it comes to money.

All things considered he'd be making more than enough at Hibs to live a comfortable life in a great city.

I don't know for certain, but wouldn't surprise me if he isn't as well of as people think, what with fines and debts etc!

Also he has to consider what he does in 5 years when he can't play anymore!

I don't imagine it's that easy a decision.

26-07-2017, 08:28 PM
I don't know for certain, but wouldn't surprise me if he isn't as well of as people think, what with fines and debts etc!

I don't imagine it's that easy a decision.I'm not even assuming he is well off. He'd be making close to 3k a week at Hibs I'd imagine. That plus signing on fee and he'd be more than fine if he doesn't ***** it away on cars and hookers.

Baw187
26-07-2017, 08:29 PM
I'm not even assuming he is well off. He'd be making close to 3k a week at Hibs I'd imagine. That plus signing on fee and he'd be more than fine if he doesn't ***** it away on cars and hookers.

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Maybe he likes cars and hookers!

E10 Rifle
26-07-2017, 08:34 PM

Agree, I'm always surprised by the amount of players that are declared bankrupt after earning wages in excess of what most of us can only dream of. Hope he's not in danger of falling into this this bracket but I would grudgingly understand if he let his wallet rule his head (and possibly heart) at this stage. That said, if it is personal success on the field that he wants then there will be no better place for Stokes than ER, under Lennon, with fans in (at least) three stands that adore him.

I feel these are the two stools he is currently caught between.

beensaidbefore
26-07-2017, 08:58 PM

Doesn't strike me as the sharpest tool on the box. Seems to I've pissed a few folk off in his time, so hopefully he has something lined up if he wants to come to us! 😂

26-07-2017, 09:34 PM
Listen I don't have an issue with Kenny and of course the circumstances change over the summer - I totally get that. This issue is being accused of making things up by another poster - Kenny just like everyone else does NOT know if Stokes is signing or not - that much is now clear. All we can do is wait and see how this all plays out

Hold on a minute. I never accused you of making things up. I said people are just making things up,to suit the cause.

26-07-2017, 10:02 PM
SJM urging Stokes to sign on:

http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2017/07/26/john-mcginn-talks-anthony-stokes-ryan-porteous-squad-strength-following-vykintas-slivka-capture-juventus/?platform=hootsuite

A big decision for Stokes. He's probably been offered 2 or 3 times from overseas clubs compared to what Hibs are offering, and if so, you can understand his dilema particularly if he needs the cash.

However, I think more than anything he needs a bit of stability and to be around folk who care for him. I expect him to make the right decision and come home.

26-07-2017, 10:12 PM
Does anyone know the story about Porteous putting holt on his arse the first time he trained with the first team?

Souter96Mac
26-07-2017, 10:12 PM
Quite good hearing from SJM, especially more than just a few words. He's another great character, and seems quite committed to the club

26-07-2017, 10:13 PM
SJM urging Stokes to sign on:

http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2017/07/26/john-mcginn-talks-anthony-stokes-ryan-porteous-squad-strength-following-vykintas-slivka-capture-juventus/?platform=hootsuite

A big decision for Stokes. He's probably been offered 2 or 3 times from overseas clubs compared to what Hibs are offering, and if so, you can understand his dilema particularly if he needs the cash.

However, I think more than anything he needs a bit of stability and to be around folk who care for him. I expect him to make the right decision and come home.

"teach him the 'Weegie' lingo" .......... Luv ya SJM but this is Edinburgh mate, its no very barrie tae come oot wi shan patter like that ya wee rage :greengrin

26-07-2017, 10:27 PM
"teach him the 'Weegie' lingo" .......... Luv ya SJM but this is Edinburgh mate, its no very barrie tae come oot wi shan patter like that ya wee rage :greengrin

Shocking eh

26-07-2017, 10:30 PM

It's radge.
And in my mind, barry.

yonder1875
26-07-2017, 10:50 PM
Getting pretty bored of this saga now, wish it would just end with a definitive answer one way or another so we know what our strikeforce is going to be going into the league season.

26-07-2017, 10:53 PM
Quite good hearing from SJM, especially more than just a few words. He's another great character, and seems quite committed to the clubGreat words from SJM- mature beyond his years and most important sounds committed to the Hibees cause [emoji106]

26-07-2017, 10:59 PM

Does anyone know the story about Porteous putting holt on his arse the first time he trained with the first team?

Well I do now.

27-07-2017, 05:06 AM

I believe Porteous put holt on his arse the first time he trained with the first team

Source: Not In The Know

😉

27-07-2017, 06:42 AM
If he wants tae be playing again for Ireland and he bloody well should be, he needs tae sign oan at Hibs.

27-07-2017, 07:04 AM
If he wants tae be playing again for Ireland and he bloody well should be, he needs tae sign oan at Hibs.

A goal or two at ibrox on 12 aug would put him in the Irish limelight again, as quick as that

27-07-2017, 07:05 AM
I though Derek Day is when Riordan signs for us again ;-)

Riordan is signing as well as Stokes?

27-07-2017, 07:29 AM

27-07-2017, 07:41 AM
A goal or two at ibrox on 12 aug would put him in the Irish limelight again, as quick as that

Can't do that I'm afraid, that would be goading, not allowed under SPFL rules. Believe it or not, at Birkdale last week, a semi articulate Hun, a Captain of his golf club no less, actually quoted the goading thing at me. When I said " you are James Traynor & I claim my £5 " he went apoplectic, though his mates p----d themselves. Sorry to go off track but it is Hibs Net!

27-07-2017, 07:47 AM
Getting pretty bored of this saga now, wish it would just end with a definitive answer one way or another so we know what our strikeforce is going to be going into the league season.

I wouldn't say bored but wish it was settled one way or another. Still 5 weeks of the window to go. Jeez the stress of it all. Preseason is meant to be relaxation time.

27-07-2017, 08:02 AM

Holt was always on his arse, no big deal here.

renato
27-07-2017, 08:16 AM
Holt was always on his arse, no big deal here.

Yep. Apart from when he bossed the yams and the sheep, though :greengrin

27-07-2017, 08:18 AM
Yep. Apart from when he bossed the yams and the sheep, though :greengrin

He did, two great performances by him. :top marks

27-07-2017, 08:36 AM

Especially if it's as good as his last one there in a Hibs top. That defender didn't look anything special mind ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMOg0n_rVnA

wpj
27-07-2017, 08:52 AM
Are we not men. D.E.V.O. Come back stokesy. Stokesy be good. One of my fav bands. We need to whip it at training and get him shaped up. I hope we get some satisfaction with this transfers and I've got a gut feeling that defences will shrivel up when faced with Anthony.

27-07-2017, 09:46 AM

Amazeballs.

Just so long as we leave them on the bench for any European ties.

27-07-2017, 10:24 AM
Got a bad feeling about this now :-(

BlackSheep
27-07-2017, 10:29 AM
Got a bad feeling about this now :-(

Why... because its taking some time?

Niffy
27-07-2017, 10:29 AM
I'm now in the Club before player camp.
Stokes knows the longer he takes, the harder it will be for Hibs to get a decent striker in.

Fair enough he has to do things right, but if he waits until the last minute and we're left with no new strikeforce who'll be happy with that.
I just hope NL has plan B & C ready to act and bring to fruition.

Assuming we have a big budget put aside for him, it would be a travesty if that's not used up on a decent strikeforce by the end of the window because we waited too long on one player to make up his mind.

27-07-2017, 10:47 AM
I'm now in the Club before player camp.
Stokes knows the longer he takes, the harder it will be for Hibs to get a decent striker in.

Fair enough he has to do things right, but if he waits until the last minute and we're left with no new strikeforce who'll be happy with that.
I just hope NL has plan B & C ready to act and bring to fruition.

Assuming we have a big budget put aside for him, it would be a travesty if that's not used up on a decent strikeforce by the end of the window because we waited too long on one player to make up his mind.

Agree but there is still over a month left of this transfer window I wouldn't worry just yet

Also still believe that he will sign this week or next but if he doesn't then we move on

147lothian
27-07-2017, 11:13 AM
If Stokes doesn't sign soon, I can see this thread descending into a bun fight!

Souter96Mac
27-07-2017, 11:21 AM
Whilst I've got faith in Stokesy signing, I've also back Lennon to have a more than adequate plan B.

27-07-2017, 11:33 AM
If Stokes doesn't sign soon, I can see this thread descending into a bun fight!

You're right. Folk seem to have forgotten (for now) all the moans last season when our form suffered badly after he came to us on loan? If it hadn't been for his cup final performance I think there would be lots of complaints that he's the kind of player we're looking at. FWIW I think he's a good player but I still worry about his affect on the dressing room and enthusiasm for matches like away to Hamilton on a wet November night

27-07-2017, 11:42 AM
You're right. Folk seem to have forgotten (for now) all the moans last season when our form suffered badly after he came to us on loan? If it hadn't been for his cup final performance I think there would be lots of complaints that he's the kind of player we're looking at. FWIW I think he's a good player but I still worry about his affect on the dressing room and enthusiasm for matches like away to Hamilton on a wet November night

Was it not away at Inverness on a cold March night that he scored a double to get us through to the semi final of the cup?

While I think you're right about how some folk would be viewing him if he hadn't done what he had in the final, I think those folk already have that opinion. They already say, "not worth the hassle, was crap apart from one game" - which is absolute nonsense. Yes he was unfit when he started, but by March I'd say, he was one of our best performers most weeks. He worked hard in games, and didn't necessarily score a lot because he was coming really deep to collect the ball and doing a lot of the link up work. Problem is, Cummings would drop deep too and we'd end up with no striker in the box.
Good to see Simon Murray say Lennon is coaching him to do all his work between the posts rather than drifting wide which he was guilty of at Utd. Stubbs could've done with coaching Stokes/Cummings in this way.

27-07-2017, 11:46 AM
Whilst I've got faith in Stokesy signing, I've also back Lennon to have a more than adequate plan B.

I've been impressed with the quality of all our signings so far so like you, I'm confident of any plan B. Players who are coming in aren't guaranteed to be successes but they've all got a decent pedigree. Stokes is the preference just now though.

27-07-2017, 11:47 AM

Neil Lennon will manage him very well. Stubbs as much as I liked him as manager was very soft towards players. We now have a manager who can't handle losing or anything other than 100%. Stokes will be a huge success here when he arrives!

alihibs1
27-07-2017, 11:49 AM
Neil Lennon will manage him very well. Stubbs as much as I liked him as manager was very soft towards players. We now have a manager who can't handle losing or anything other than 100%. Stokes will be a huge success here when he arrives!I love your confidence TC. One article about Stokes and alot of people assume the deal is dead.

27-07-2017, 11:51 AM
Was it not away at Inverness on a cold March night that he scored a double to get us through to the semi final of the cup?

While I think you're right about how some folk would be viewing him if he hadn't done what he had in the final, I think those folk already have that opinion. They already say, "not worth the hassle, was crap apart from one game" - which is absolute nonsense. Yes he was unfit when he started, but by March I'd say, he was one of our best performers most weeks. He worked hard in games, and didn't necessarily score a lot because he was coming really deep to collect the ball and doing a lot of the link up work. Problem is, Cummings would drop deep too and we'd end up with no striker in the box.
Good to see Simon Murray say Lennon is coaching him to do all his work between the posts rather than drifting wide which he was guilty of at Utd. Stubbs could've done with coaching Stokes/Cummings in this way.

It would seem an easy problem to solve. I just think it was more simple in that Jason wasn't no1 and was unable to dovetail with stokes. Keatings and stokes looked a more natural partnership. With davey and Simon in the mix I'm sure stokes will have no problems.

hughio
27-07-2017, 11:59 AM
Neil Lennon will manage him very well. Stubbs as much as I liked him as manager was very soft towards players. We now have a manager who can't handle losing or anything other than 100%. Stokes will be a huge success here when he arrives!

Hope you're right Cat.:greengrin

Stokesy was at the Sunderland game for Lewis along with his new baby and partner.
He didn't have to be.
He must like the fact hes loved here by most here.Who wouldn't?
He's now been made the best offer the club can manage.He must know that.
Its legitimate for him and his agent to try for the best deal they can by using this offer which in any event will be far lower than the player is used to earning.

It's up to Stokesy himself and I'm sure NL will have given him a deadline.
Both know we need to do other business if Stokes the gambler pushes it too far.

27-07-2017, 12:07 PM

I believe there are members of staff who have similar concerns.

27-07-2017, 12:19 PM
Did he have any negative effect on the dressing room when we won the cup?

27-07-2017, 12:22 PM

I can't say I would be overly disappointed if he chose not to join us. For whatever reasons, he only played a handful of games last season and I still have doubts about his professionalism and appetite for the game. We've got to trust Lennon on this one but AS's signing could turn out to be an expensive gamble which we really can't afford to take.

alihibs1
27-07-2017, 12:23 PM

I can't say I would be overly disappointed if he chose not to join us. For whatever reasons, he only played a handful of games last season and I still have doubts about his professionalism and appetite for the game. We've got to trust Lennon on this one but it could turn out to be an expensive gamble which we really can't afford to take.It would be really hard though to turn down a player who has scored nearly 100 goals in the spl.

cmcd
27-07-2017, 12:27 PM
I believe there are members of staff who have similar concerns.

I would like to know how so many supporters supposedly know Stokes had a adverse affect in the dressing room ??

27-07-2017, 12:28 PM
It would be really hard though to turn down a player who has scored nearly 100 goals in the spl.

Thats true, but times change.

27-07-2017, 12:33 PM
I would like to know how so many supporters supposedly know Stokes had a adverse affect in the dressing room ??

From direct conversation with players who were at the club at the time.

To clarify this was during his first spell at the club, heard nothing untoward during his second spell in 2016.

No supposedly about it.

BlackSheep
27-07-2017, 12:37 PM

To clarify this was during his first spell at the club, heard nothing untoward during his second spell in 2016.

No supposedly about it.

A man can mature a fair bit in 7 years.

27-07-2017, 12:39 PM
Can Ryan Portepus play up top?

27-07-2017, 12:41 PM

No supposedly about it.

so really the players havent said anything then?

IncredibleHibee
27-07-2017, 12:44 PM
During his first spell with us Yogi had problems with him , I know this for a fact. BUT he was a young boy then and at that age we are all guilty of having a bit of an ego. He is a man now with a child.

27-07-2017, 12:48 PM
It is well known that Stokes caused problems in his first spell here, even Petrie said he wasn't sold for footballing reasons at the AGM.

penihibs
27-07-2017, 12:50 PM

Was at the Inverness game that night after the disappointment of the final.
I was really impressed with the team's effort and Stokes put in a great shift and showed what it meant to him at the end when they all came down to the big noisy hibs support that made the long journey up there after the really unfortunate loss to County.
That's when I started to believe it was our year!!

27-07-2017, 12:54 PM
A man can mature a fair bit in 7 years.

Of course he can, another view could be a leopard can't change his spots.

FWIW I want him to sign big time but I would rather a two year deal as opposed to three.

27-07-2017, 12:55 PM
so really the players havent said anything then?

Eh?

27-07-2017, 12:55 PM
Was at the Inverness game that night after the disappointment of the final.
I was really impressed with the team's effort and Stokes put in a great shift and showed what it meant to him at the end when they all came down to the big noisy hibs support that made the long journey up there after the really unfortunate loss to County.
That's when I started to believe it was our year!!

You and me both mate. As you say the way the team responded to the disappointment of the league cup final.

We were fantastic that night. The drive back down the road was one of the best and we genuinely had the belief on the way down that we could go on and lift the cup.

27-07-2017, 12:56 PM
During his first spell with us Yogi had problems with him , I know this for a fact. BUT he was a young boy then and at that age we are all guilty of having a bit of an ego. He is a man now with a child.

He is a man with three children, one with his new partner, two with his ex wife.

27-07-2017, 12:58 PM
You and me both mate. As you say the way the team responded to the disappointment of the league cup final.

We were fantastic that night. The drive back down the road was one of the best and we genuinely had the belief on the way down that we could go on and lift the cup.

Agreed. The only tiny, nagging doubt was Virtanen's nervy display. Just think: if he'd been even halfway decent we might never have signed Conrad.

27-07-2017, 01:05 PM
Why... because its taking some time?

Because his Twitter/Facebook followers might realise he's not really ITK, and he measures his self worth in social media interactions.

27-07-2017, 01:08 PM
Stokes' issues in his first spell with us are pretty much common knowledge - some of his behaviour was mental. No issues second time round though.

27-07-2017, 01:10 PM
Because his Twitter/Facebook followers might realise he's not really ITK, and he measures his self worth in social media interactions.

Who does? Not sure who you mean?

27-07-2017, 01:11 PM
Stokes' issues in his first spell with us are pretty much common knowledge - some of his behaviour was mental. No issues second time round though.

:agree: SJM is quoted in the press today about Stokes, including:

“He is a good character and a good laugh and we would always welcome types like him into the dressing room and I am sure the fans will take to him again as he is a hero round here."

27-07-2017, 01:12 PM
I want Stokes to sign but it isn't a no brainer.

He has played very little football in 2 or 3 seasons and that must raise concerns about his desire and willingness to put in the required effort as there is no doubting his ability.

I would love to know what he has been doing to get fit for the coming season as he was initially well off the pace last time.

I get that there is fit and match fit but IMO he looked neither when he first showed up last time around and I wouldn't like us to be still waiting for him to get match fit into October.

Having said all of that, short of developing it from youth, getting a player with Stokes talent on the money we pay is mission impossible.

If he signs we will just have to hope that he still has the desire to get fit and turn it on week after week and Lennon is able to motivate him into doing so.

27-07-2017, 01:12 PM
Agreed. The only tiny, nagging doubt was Virtanen's nervy display. Just think: if he'd been even halfway decent we might never have signed Conrad.

Very true. Was there not something like 7 or 8 mins added time after to 90? I just remember that taking an age to pass.

RE Conrad - I'll be honest, i laughed when i seen him running out to warm up. What a legend he turned out to be in they 2 matches.

27-07-2017, 01:15 PM
Eh?

you said players from his first spell had the concerns so nothing has been said from the current players

27-07-2017, 01:17 PM
Well for what my opinion is worth, can't see the current situation being allowed to drift on for another week so kind of expect after this weekend, that NL will have advised Anthony I need a yes or no, not a give me some more time.

27-07-2017, 01:28 PM
I want Stokes to sign but it isn't a no brainer.

He has played very little football in 2 or 3 seasons and that must raise concerns about his desire and willingness to put in the required effort as there is no doubting his ability.

I would love to know what he has been doing to get fit for the coming season as he was initially well off the pace last time.

I get that there is fit and match fit but IMO he looked neither when he first showed up last time around and I wouldn't like us to be still waiting for him to get match fit into October.

Having said all of that, short of developing it from youth, getting a player with Stokes talent on the money we pay is mission impossible.

If he signs we will just have to hope that he still has the desire to get fit and turn it on week after week and Lennon is able to motivate him into doing so.

I don't think NL would tolerate AS not getting up to speed fitness wise as quickly as possible and there is a definite mutual respect existing between them anyway - so I think AS would try and get match fit quickly.

He is a big game player and this year we will have many televised games v Hearts, Celtic, The Rangers and Aberdeen - for me he always raises his game in this kind of atmosphere.

What people are also forgetting is the role Simon Murray now plays in the front line, a role very different to Jason. Murray works his socks off up top and pulls defenders away creating space. AS would love that space to play in, and also coming in off the wide areas. I loved Jason but he was a finisher, not a worker. Murray wins possession or forces errors when he has no real right to. There was a ball being ushered out of play first half v Montrose that SM ran 30 yards to close the defender down and ended up winning the ball, putting a cross in, and resulted in a corner for example. That kind of work rate will be invaluable this season against better sides where we need to press more. You'd never see Jason doing that.

A 'Stokes/Murray/Boyle' trio up top would be full of goals. Would like it agreed and announced this week however. Perfect tonic for the fans and for the first league game. I was also interested to hear NL after the Arbroath game say he wants 2 or 3 more (which includes Stokes). Surely Henderson comes into that equation, especially with the added height in the side - I know NL was critical of our set plays and lack of goals from set pieces last season.

27-07-2017, 01:33 PM
you said players from his first spell had the concerns so nothing has been said from the current players

I never said the players that told me weren't there during his second spell though:wink:

But you are correct in that I believe his second spell he behaved well.

ManBearPig
27-07-2017, 01:36 PM
Just missed Neil Lennon on sky news anyone know what was said?

Souter96Mac
27-07-2017, 01:39 PM
Just seen that supposedly Lee Erwin has been released by Leeds..

27-07-2017, 01:53 PM
Neil Lennon will manage him very well. Stubbs as much as I liked him as manager was very soft towards players. We now have a manager who can't handle losing or anything other than 100%. Stokes will be a huge success here when he arrives!100% this Lennon will man manage him properly and won't tolerate any attitude...exactly what Stokesy needs at this stage in his career TC [emoji106][emoji106]

27-07-2017, 02:01 PM
I don't think NL would tolerate AS not getting up to speed fitness wise as quickly as possible and there is a definite mutual respect existing between them anyway - so I think AS would try and get match fit quickly.

He is a big game player and this year we will have many televised games v Hearts, Celtic, The Rangers and Aberdeen - for me he always raises his game in this kind of atmosphere.

What people are also forgetting is the role Simon Murray now plays in the front line, a role very different to Jason. Murray works his socks off up top and pulls defenders away creating space. AS would love that space to play in, and also coming in off the wide areas. I loved Jason but he was a finisher, not a worker. Murray wins possession or forces errors when he has no real right to. There was a ball being ushered out of play first half v Montrose that SM ran 30 yards to close the defender down and ended up winning the ball, putting a cross in, and resulted in a corner for example. That kind of work rate will be invaluable this season against better sides where we need to press more. You'd never see Jason doing that.

A 'Stokes/Murray/Boyle' trio up top would be full of goals. Would like it agreed and announced this week however. Perfect tonic for the fans and for the first league game. I was also interested to hear NL after the Arbroath game say he wants 2 or 3 more (which includes Stokes). Surely Henderson comes into that equation, especially with the added height in the side - I know NL was critical of our set plays and lack of goals from set pieces last season.

I think this is a great shout actually. Stokes and Jason never really clicked for me, too similar in too many ways. I think though Stokes with Dave next to him to win the high balls and take some of the physical stuff, and/or Murray alongside who will run and chase all day could work perfectly.

3 very different players hopefully bringing a different but important skill set to our attack. With better options out wide than when Stokes was last here I think the team will be set up for someone like him to thrive. A 3 year deal for me all the way.

27-07-2017, 02:07 PM

Totally agree with this post.

27-07-2017, 03:26 PM
http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/10964108/lennon-hopeful-on-stokes-move

Firestarter
27-07-2017, 03:28 PM
http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/10964108/lennon-hopeful-on-stokes-move

I was about to say "nothing new then" but any excuse to see his goals in the final is good enough for me :greengrin

27-07-2017, 03:31 PM

Good to hear Lennon say the club have done everything possible for him in this transfer window.

27-07-2017, 03:32 PM
Good to hear Lennon say the club have done everything possible for him in this transfer window.

If he doesn't sign now then it is clear he doesn't want to play for us or the offer just wasn't good enough.

27-07-2017, 03:35 PM
Sherlock lives:greengrin

BlackSheep
27-07-2017, 03:36 PM

If I can play Devil's Advocate for a second... Im not sure this is promising, to say the board have done everything certainly does not suggest its happening, just that we, as has been said many times, have offered him the bestest best best deal that we can.

27-07-2017, 03:43 PM
If I can play Devil's Advocate for a second... Im not sure this is promising, to say the board have done everything certainly does not suggest its happening, just that we, as has been said many times, have offered him the bestest best best deal that we can.

If I can play the other Devil's Advocate for a third .... it's not the first time we've heard Hibs won't meet the asking price/demands of a player - especially after lengthy discussions. I ain't saying it's Hibs fault, just pointing out this is not uncommon.
One wonders sometimes. :hmmm:

27-07-2017, 03:43 PM
If he's signs great if not we move on. This transfer window has shown that we can attract international players on our budget so I'm sure Lennon will have alternatives in mind

27-07-2017, 03:44 PM

Im happy knowing the manager is being supported to the best of our abilities. If it doesn't happen he's made his choice and we move to other targets.

The_Sauz
27-07-2017, 03:44 PM
I never said the players that told me weren't there during his second spell though:wink:

But you are correct in that I believe his second spell he behaved well.
Do you think!!
I saw him and this bald guy cause a riot in Glasgow on the 21st May 2016 :grr:

27-07-2017, 03:47 PM
Do you think!!
I saw him and this bald guy cause a riot in Glasgow on the 21st May 2016 :grr:

Emmm, it was Hendo's fault - twice!

27-07-2017, 03:49 PM
Not looking good then, think we will be disappointed