View Full Version : Official Site: HIBERNIAN SIGN STRIKER MATULEVICIUS

RSS Bot
19-07-2017, 05:50 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/7702)

19-07-2017, 05:52 PM
Interesting signing, came out of nowhere that one. Need a nickname for him though as I've no idea how to pronounce that. Matty is easier.

19-07-2017, 05:53 PM
Holt ****, it's another Edwin de Graaf! Literally no-one knew anything about this, I'm guessing.

Scoring record doesn't look fantastic, but assuming he was signed for the "Grant Holt" role and was our backup if the Church deal didn't work out. Seems fine, let's see what happens.

19-07-2017, 05:54 PM
Boom!

Suburban Hibby
19-07-2017, 05:55 PM
There's the target man- now for the foil....Stokesy....

19-07-2017, 05:58 PM
my lith mate from work says he's like a lithuanian Brian Graham :greengrin

Welcome! Completely out of nowhere. Just a couple more and that hold be us.

Souter96Mac
Interesting, another internationalist. Fills the target man role

19-07-2017, 06:02 PM
Who.
hes a lith so must be pish.
Not hibs class
Thats us not signing stokes now
Should have kept holt

Feel free to add.....its the hibs .net way

BarneyHibby
19-07-2017, 06:06 PM
Hope he's is Brian Graham replacement.

19-07-2017, 06:09 PM
Never heard of him but let's give him a chance

19-07-2017, 06:12 PM
Interesting signing, came out of nowhere that one. Need a nickname for him though as I've no idea how to pronounce that. Matty is easier.

Used to be the case but I'm married now.

19-07-2017, 06:17 PM
On paper a decent signing.

1 in 4 in the Belgian league is hopefully about 1 in 3 over here which would be just fine by me.

19-07-2017, 06:18 PM
Definitely a Lennon choice, big target man for Murray, Boyle, Stokes(hopefully) and Shaw to feed off.

Good luck to him, love a signing out of the blue!

yonder1875
19-07-2017, 06:19 PM
Guys gonna be a cult hero.

Humo
19-07-2017, 06:20 PM
Malonga 2.0 you heard it here first

I'd never heard of Latapy before we signed him😉 Good to get the target man Lennon wanted in. One more striker and maybe a midfielder and the squad is complete 🇳🇬

Having a look at some videos on YouTube and his link up play seems to be one of his main assets.

19-07-2017, 06:21 PM
No idea how to pronounce his name.

I think I'll call him 'Dave'.

Welcome to the club Dave.

19-07-2017, 06:23 PM
Good luck to him. I know absolutely nothing about him so I'm certainly willing to give him a chance. It would seem that he's been signed as a target man rather than a goalscorer so hopefully he can be just as effective as Grant Holt.

19-07-2017, 06:25 PM
No idea how to pronounce his name.

I think I'll call him 'Dave'.

Welcome to the club Dave.

So is his name Rodney?

19-07-2017, 06:26 PM
He seems to have had a lot of clubs and doesn't exactly have a great scoring record.

Target man with another striker to partner him?

19-07-2017, 06:27 PM
Having a look at some videos on YouTube and his link up play seems to be one of his main assets.
Looks very much a team player , very unselfish and fairly likes to score a header . Welcome aboard Sid .

19-07-2017, 06:28 PM
Welcome to the club, Dave. Saw this coming a mile away btw.

Plenty of big strikers have had a lot of success for other clubs in Scotland, Higdon, Daly and Kyle to name but a few. Hope he has a similar impact for us!

19-07-2017, 06:29 PM
Underwhelmed

19-07-2017, 06:30 PM
Underwhelmed

Seen him play often then?

Clearly not hibs class, does he not even have his own webpage [emoji854]

Arch Stanton
So is his name Rodney?

Mathew surely.

Mathew Vicious. Sid's Lithuanian cousin.

19-07-2017, 06:31 PM
Valdas Trakys mk 2 :greengrin

19-07-2017, 06:31 PM
Underwhelmed

That's the spirit.

19-07-2017, 06:32 PM
Haha! Almost have the feeling Hibs were trolling .net with this one given the hysterics and this being pulled out of nowhere:greengrin.

If this was a boxing match one fighter would've been on the ropes for 11 rounds and then comes out with an uppercut for the TKO.

Welcome Deivydas :thumbsup:

Callum7
19-07-2017, 06:32 PM
Clearly not hibs class, does he not even have his own webpage [emoji854]

Clearly not looking hard enough :wink: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deivydas_Matulevičius

19-07-2017, 06:34 PM
Spoke to my mate who regularly goes to games in the belgian and romanian leagues and he said he is pish :greengrin

19-07-2017, 06:36 PM
Valdas Trakys mk 2 :greengrin

Trakys was nowhere near as bad as folk make out. I'm assuming he's the replacement for Holt. A replacement for Cummings and perhaps Graham next...

19-07-2017, 06:37 PM
So is his name Rodney?

Nice one!

19-07-2017, 06:40 PM
On paper a decent signing.

1 in 4 in the Belgian league is hopefully about 1 in 3 over here which would be just fine by me.

Targetmen can't really be judged on goal scoring stats.

I love a foreign signing with a raj name, absolutely love it.

19-07-2017, 06:43 PM
I just link Lithuanians with that lot!!

Ryan69
19-07-2017, 06:45 PM
Spoke to my mate who regularly goes to games in the belgian and romanian leagues and he said he is pish :greengrin

Must be some traveller to manage to regularly go to all these games in completely different countries,that are nowhere near eachother.

Think your talking out your a55 mate!

19-07-2017, 06:46 PM
Must be some traveller to manage to regularly go to all these games in completely different countries,that are nowhere near eachother.

I'm not sure...but i think it was a joke.

Trakys was nowhere near as bad as folk make out. I'm assuming he's the replacement for Holt. A replacement for Cummings and perhaps Graham next...

Come on, the guy was absolutely murder.

Never heard of him but let's give him a chance

this!

19-07-2017, 06:47 PM
I would have much preferred we had signed Simon Church.

Based on nothing more than his Wiki profile I can't see this guy being the real deal.
BUT
I hope I am wrong and will of course give him every encouragement from the East.

P.S. we really need Stokes or equivalent now

19-07-2017, 06:49 PM

19-07-2017, 06:50 PM
Our version of Jayden Stockley IMO.

19-07-2017, 06:54 PM

Based on nothing more than his Wiki profile I can't see this guy being the real deal.
BUT
I hope I am wrong and will of course give him every encouragement from the East.

Hibs can't win with folk like you.

If this had been rumoured and dragged on for ages folk would have moaned, it goes this way folk moan, people actually thinks Simon Church was worth spending outwith our budget for. Staggering.

19-07-2017, 06:59 PM
Well that was a welcome surprise.

Know nothing about the guy so not going to get too excited but hopefully he can do the business.

19-07-2017, 07:00 PM

BUT

only quickly checked but hasnt this new guy scored more goals than church, maybe not the best of opposition but still got to score

19-07-2017, 07:01 PM
UnderwhelmedKno a lot about him do.you??

beensaidbefore
19-07-2017, 07:02 PM
Great news. Hopefully a roaring success.

19-07-2017, 07:04 PM

BUT

Rubbish, Church was not being overly welcomed on here & had a pretty lack luster profile, think your just tryingvto be provocative for its sake alone.

19-07-2017, 07:05 PM
Used to be the case but I'm married now.

You slag :greengrin

19-07-2017, 07:06 PM
Definitely the right type of striker to play alongside a goalscorer. Hopefully we get Stokes and a right midfielder now. The only addition to that would be a goal scoring midfielder. Be a good squad if we can make 3 more good quality signings. Fingers crossed we can do that

19-07-2017, 07:07 PM
Welcome Davy Mat

19-07-2017, 07:07 PM
Underwhelmed
And so it starts.

19-07-2017, 07:09 PM
Underwhelmed

Deary me.

I'd have bitten your hand off for us to sign an international target man earlier this morning.

Lennys played a blinder here.

19-07-2017, 07:10 PM
Looking at the level he has generally being playing at I can't see him being on a big wage so it's probably a minimal risk signing.

19-07-2017, 07:13 PM
Folk who are unhappy need to have a word .. there is completely no basis to form any opinion good or bad on the guy. Hibs have obviously watched the guy and rate him highly enough to sign him.

Can these people not just wait and actually watch the guy play before writing him off.. some proper clowns posting on here these days without any evidence to back up their pish

19-07-2017, 07:14 PM
For weeks we've been crying out for signing news on a striker...we finally get some and still some are moaning....only on Hibs.net!! I love these kind of signings right out the blue and an unknown quantity....am willing to trust the manager in this one. Now let's get Stokesy over the line pls

19-07-2017, 07:15 PM
Folk who are unhappy need to have a word .. there is completely no basis to form any opinion good or bad on the guy. Hibs have obviously watched the guy and rate him highly enough to sign him.

Can these people not just wait and actually watch the guy play before writing him off.. some proper clowns posting on here these days without any evidence to back up their pish

Dunno like. He's not even come close to scoring yet :grr:

19-07-2017, 07:17 PM
Come on, the guy was absolutely murder.

His performances in the game at Ibrox vs Oldco and Easter Road vs Motherwell are as good a target man centre forward performance that you'll see.

19-07-2017, 07:18 PM
Every striker we've signed since the turn of the milennium has turned out to be really good.

Actually I think there was one duffer - just can't remember his name!

19-07-2017, 07:24 PM

Got to be Sid surely! :-)

19-07-2017, 07:31 PM
Got to be Sid surely! :-)

Could be. Deivy is a shout as well.

19-07-2017, 07:39 PM
I wish we'd sign someone who wasn't at Celtic.

What's happened to our scouting?

I just miss a surprise signing.

Simon Church is pish

*Hibs scouting lands the club a surprise signing with more international caps than Church who has never played for Celtic or Lennon before*

He's pish, I wish we'd signed Church.

Lol @ .net

Roxyhibee
19-07-2017, 07:39 PM
Very positive feeling about this. Well done Hibs.

19-07-2017, 07:40 PM

Impossible for some folks unfortunately. Bizarre tho it is.

19-07-2017, 07:47 PM

Impossible for some folks unfortunately. Bizarre tho it is.

19-07-2017, 07:51 PM
I wish we'd sign someone who wasn't at Celtic.

What's happened to our scouting?

I just miss a surprise signing.

Simon Church is pish

*Hibs scouting lands the club a surprise signing with more international caps than Church who has never played for Celtic or Lennon before*

He's pish, I wish we'd signed Church.

Lol @ .net

https://images.gr-assets.com/hostedimages/1450132770ra/17381339.gif

Quite a few on here suggesting another new striker to link up with him. I'd like to see him and Simon Murray together. Could be a pairing that just clicks. Some interesting doctoring of his Wiki page. He must be the smallest targetman of all time.

my lith mate from work says he's like a lithuanian Brian Graham :greengrinSo he's nae Stockton then by the sounds of it [emoji6]

Tom Hart RIP
19-07-2017, 07:52 PM
His performances in the game at Ibrox vs Oldco and Easter Road vs Motherwell are as good a target man centre forward performance that you'll see.

Agree 100% Never understood the slagging he gets on here.

19-07-2017, 07:54 PM
I wonder if he's been training with us, or has he just been scouted and signed on the back of that?

19-07-2017, 07:55 PM
So he's nae Stockton then by the sounds of it [emoji6]

His tees oot already!

19-07-2017, 07:57 PM
Clearly not looking hard enough :wink: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deivydas_Matulevičius

Welcome to Hibs Deivydas.

Haha, wiki page has him at 4 ft 10 1⁄2.

19-07-2017, 08:00 PM
Based on absolutely nothing I predict this guy will be a roaring success, a cult hero who will go down in folklore for a late winner against them at New Year.

Absolutely no basis for that prediction but it's about as relevant an opinion as saying I'm underwhelmed or disappointed with a guy I've never heard of.

Keyser Sauzee
19-07-2017, 08:04 PM
Goal scoring record leaves a little to be desired but targetmen bring more to the table than just goals so I'm optimistic about this signing. Might mean the end of the road for Graham tho

19-07-2017, 08:06 PM
I know it's nothing to go on but there's a YouTube video of highlights and from that he looks intelligent footballer

Clarence
19-07-2017, 08:06 PM

Davey MentalVicious

19-07-2017, 08:08 PM
Hibs 1-0 Hearts (Matulevicius 88')

Getting in there early.

19-07-2017, 08:15 PM
Goal scoring record leaves a little to be desired but targetmen bring more to the table than just goals so I'm optimistic about this signing. Might mean the end of the road for Graham tho

is he actually a target man or is everyone just assuming that because he's big ?

he scored 19 goals 1 season finishing top scorer of the league

ACLeith
19-07-2017, 08:15 PM
Hibs 4-0 Hearts (Stokes 35, Swanson 50, Matulevicius 88', Gray 90+2)

Getting in there early.
Fixed that for you
👍

Cat Stanton
19-07-2017, 08:18 PM
is he actually a target man or is everyone just assuming that because he's big ?

He's a big pudding.

At least that's what his Wiki page hints at:

"Matulevičius has also previously played for Interas-AE Visaginas, FC Vilnius, where he formed a lethal partnership with S. Anderson including a unique double celebration involving rice pudding"

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deivydas_Matulevičius

OsloHibs
19-07-2017, 08:20 PM
Hmm.

19-07-2017, 08:21 PM
https://i.imgflip.com/1src5v.jpg (https://imgflip.com/i/1src5v)via Imgflip Meme Generator (https://imgflip.com/memegenerator)

Keyser Sauzee
19-07-2017, 08:21 PM

No I didn't assume it, a quick look at his video on YouTube shows he's a target man. Also 1 swallow doesn't make a summer however like I said I'm optimistic about this signing, even more so after watching the YouTube video.

19-07-2017, 08:28 PM

The guy said it himself.

"I've always watched British football and the style of play will suit me - it's more physical and you need to have a lot of fight in every game."

He's a younger, fitter version of Holt from the looks of him. A bit of a battering ram to battle with defenders.

19-07-2017, 08:29 PM
Welcome to the Hibees. I think Lennon signed Wanyama from a Belgian team, IIRC.

19-07-2017, 08:30 PM
So the club hasnt just been sitting by the phone waiting for Stokesy to call? Good to see us going about our business in a quiet manner

I know literally nothing about this guy but he wears the green and white now so is part of our army. Welcome to the club big fella 💚

Doubt he'll be involved on Friday if we're waiting on international clearance?

19-07-2017, 08:46 PM
4 minute long interview with Deivy up as freeview on Hibs TV.

https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/video/vod/4153

19-07-2017, 08:48 PM
He was quality that night against Motherwell.

Welcome aboard and he gets my full backing.

19-07-2017, 08:48 PM
Welcome to the Hibees. I think Lennon signed Wanyama from a Belgian team, IIRC.

Marcianos agent that Lennon is pals with does a lot of work between Israel and Belgium.

I can't remember how I read that but think I was doing some detective work when I was very very bored and trying to guess a signing back in January.

scooby
19-07-2017, 08:55 PM

Haha, Lennon's a former Scottish International apparently, and he's here to spy on Scottish players for Lithuania.
Welcome to the Hibees!

19-07-2017, 08:57 PM
Haha, Lennon's a former Scottish International apparently, and he's here to spy on Scottish players for Lithuania.
Welcome to the Hibees!

Aye he didn't seem to quite understand a couple of questions but his English is certainly better than my Lithuanian so you won't find me criticising. :greengrin

19-07-2017, 08:58 PM

BUT

I'll base my optimism on our manager and not you. Assumptions need validation my friend.

19-07-2017, 09:03 PM
He will be the New Paco Luna!

inglisavhibs
19-07-2017, 09:05 PM
Underwhelmed
Why? He has played 200 first team games so must do something right. Five international goals and should be at his peak (just turned 28). Time will tell but we needed some strength up front.

HFCdeb
19-07-2017, 09:10 PM

Thanks for sharing. He seems really keen to work hard and do well :)

19-07-2017, 09:10 PM
Basically no-one knows how this signing is going to turn out or even how it's likely to turn out as I doubt if anyone here had even heard of him before tonight, never mind seen him play.

I think we should therefore trust the judgement of our manager and the rest of the scouting team who have decided that he is good enough to get a deal for us and wait until we actually see him play before forming any opinions about how good he is.

This guy is unlikely to be the last striker that we bring in to the club this summer as I would think that Lennon is still after a proven goal scorer. I think he has undoubtedly been brought in as a physical presence up front, to do a similar job that Grant Holt did last season and if he scores the odd goal every now and then, then that's great.

If, after a couple of months, he's been absolutely murder then by all means criticise the decision to bring him in but not when he's just in the door and literally no-one knows anything about him or the qualities that he brings to the side.

Souter96Mac
19-07-2017, 09:11 PM
Wonder when this deal started since Church turned us down this week. Were we planning both, or vying for one.

headshrinker
19-07-2017, 09:12 PM
Based on absolutely nothing I predict this guy will be a roaring success, a cult hero who will go down in folklore for a late winner against them at New Year.

Absolutely no basis for that prediction but it's about as relevant an opinion as saying I'm underwhelmed or disappointed with a guy I've never heard of.
Spot on!!!

19-07-2017, 09:15 PM
This site is murder. Loafs writing big Dave off already. Hes had 33 international caps, hopefully a lot more playing for the Hibees. Welcome to the club

19-07-2017, 09:17 PM
Basically no-one knows how this signing is going to turn out or even how it's likely to turn out as I doubt if anyone here had even heard of him before tonight, never mind seen him play.

I think we should therefore trust the judgement of our manager and the rest of the scouting team who have decided that he is good enough to get a deal for us and wait until we actually see him play before forming any opinions about how good he is.

This guy is unlikely to be the last striker that we bring in to the club this summer as I would think that Lennon is still after a proven goal scorer. I think he has undoubtedly been brought in as a physical presence up front, to do a similar job that Grant Holt did last season and if he scores the odd goal every now and then, then that's great.

If, after a couple of months, he's been absolutely murder then by all means criticise the decision to bring him in but not when he's just in the door and literally no-one knows anything about him or the qualities that he brings to the side.

This exactly.

19-07-2017, 09:18 PM
Got to trust Lennon with this one lol
Good luck to the boy

19-07-2017, 09:19 PM
Thanks for sharing. He seems really keen to work hard and do well :)

He's up for a battle and looks strong. Perfect for the derby.

19-07-2017, 09:24 PM

Can these people not just wait and actually watch the guy play before writing him off.. some proper clowns posting on here these days without any evidence to back up their pishI`ve just read the whole thread and 1 person said " underwhelmed " and 1 other said he`d have preferred Church , the rest said " welcome to Hibs " etc. so I think it`s inaccurate to say that fans are writing him off before he`s played or to call folk " clowns " for not being overenthusiastic about a signing . Let`s hope you`re right and that " we have watched him and rate him highly " but do you really think that`s true ? All of us hope he`ll make an impact this season ( which will probably mean selling him next summer - probably plan for us and player ) but main thing is that we have a scouting network which is constantly looking for new signings at all ages and levels all over the world . And I`m saying that knowing we can`t compete with big clubs . Maybe there is an opportunity for a supporter initiative to finance searching for new players but that is best for another thread .

I seen he's came from a club. Do you think we have paid a fee?

HFCdeb
He's up for a battle and looks strong. Perfect for the derby.

Hoping for a Mixu part 2 💚

19-07-2017, 09:36 PM
Underwhelmed

So am I

By your post 🙄

19-07-2017, 09:37 PM
Edinburgh's Scottish cup winners sign a Lithuanian striker

http://cdn.arn.com.au/media/7602125/whatyearisit.jpg?width=500&height=307.5571177504394

19-07-2017, 09:46 PM
This site is murder. Loafs writing big Dave off already. Hes had 33 international caps, hopefully a lot more playing for the Hibees. Welcome to the club

Sent from my SM-G935F using TapatalkHow many Loafs / Loaves have written him off ? 1 or maybe 2 ? Everyone else hoping we`ve hit luck and signing will lead to loads of goals and attacking play . Like you say welcome to Hibernian .

19-07-2017, 09:59 PM
Hibs 1-0 Hearts (Matulevicius 88')

Getting in there early.

F ck it I'll stick £20 on that lets hope it's a foregone conclusion.

Green Cabbage 7
19-07-2017, 10:04 PM
He looks some size off unit, certainly have a batter ram there.

19-07-2017, 10:05 PM
F ck it I'll stick £20 on that lets hope it's a foregone conclusion.

Love that. I'm claiming ITK status if it comes through mind. :wink:

Banter
19-07-2017, 10:15 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bc1EgnD2lew

19-07-2017, 10:27 PM
I seen he's came from a club. Do you think we have paid a fee?

Kenny Millar's article in the Sun a couple of hours ago said he quit from Royal Mouscron so don't know if that means they agreed with him to terminate his contract and he therefore became a free agent.

19-07-2017, 10:30 PM
I am actually quite excited with this signing. I like when we get someone 'out of the blue'.

Nothing certain either way, but from the 6 minute YouTube video I watched I was impressed with his work rate, his touch and awareness of the players around him.

Welcome.

1875STEVE
19-07-2017, 10:32 PM
Some of the comments about this signing on twitter are a joke.

Cheap option
Cummings money in farmers pocket
Apparently when we get of a player, when someone else comes in they get that exact wage, so Forster out, Ambrose in, on the same wage. :rolleyes:
No ambition this window......

Also, Farmers made MILLIONS from Hibs.

I despair sometimes.

19-07-2017, 10:32 PM
Hope his international clearance comes through quicker than Rocky's did.

Austinho
19-07-2017, 10:37 PM
Some idiot on the dark side of town thinks it's funny to mess with his Wikipedia page. Apparently he's 3ft tall, scored 200 times for Lithuania, and is 44 years old.

Hilarious.

19-07-2017, 10:38 PM
Looks pretty decent. I predict any striker playing along beside him to score a bucket load.

19-07-2017, 10:40 PM
Some idiot on the dark side of town thinks it's funny to mess with his Wikipedia page. Apparently he's 3ft tall, scored 200 times for Lithuania, and is 44 years old.

Hilarious.

And they are still interested in him

19-07-2017, 10:44 PM
Some of the comments about this signing on twitter are a joke.

Cheap option
Cummings money in farmers pocket
Apparently when we get of a player, when someone else comes in they get that exact wage, so Forster out, Ambrose in, on the same wage. :rolleyes:
No ambition this window......

Also, Farmers made MILLIONS from Hibs.

I despair sometimes.

Stop following Bradley Welsh on Twitter.

19-07-2017, 10:45 PM
Only got that youtube video, seemed to go out wide and was also getting on end of things. Most interesting was sone of his one touch lay offs were nice.

I think and hope we have a very useful player on the books. With the right partner I think this can work Murray will do well off those flicks.

19-07-2017, 10:58 PM
Having watched the YouTube highlights he is similar in style to Gary Hooper. Big, strong lad with a good touch. Brings others into play and plays the width of the 18 yard box. Time will tell but quite excited about this signing.

19-07-2017, 11:00 PM
Generally, Lithuanian players are good technically so if we've got someone who can also mix it then we could be laughing.

P.s. Facebook is full of ********s.

19-07-2017, 11:04 PM
With the name ending in VICIUS he sounds like a Lithuanian gladiator, and at 6 foot 4 he'll be a ****ing nightmare for centre backs up and down the land, braw.

ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?!! :greengrin

19-07-2017, 11:06 PM

Pah!

19-07-2017, 11:06 PM
If we end up with Stokes as well we could have a very interesting and exciting attack this season

I know it's just a youtube video but he looks like a genuinely good footballer there

19-07-2017, 11:08 PM
The mood was starting to turn a bit downbeat?..this signing has definitely got the place dancin!

19-07-2017, 11:13 PM
If we can also get Stokes over the line our squad will be looking very decent. Still felt like we are an attacking midfielder short, however Fraser Murray has shown he's more than deserving of a place in the team so that could be that position filled.

19-07-2017, 11:14 PM
The YouTube video was made by his agents it would seem.

Sioux
19-07-2017, 11:15 PM

Hilarious.

The most pathetic bunch of morons that God ever put toes (6) on.

20-07-2017, 12:04 AM
My initial thoughts on finding out we have a new striker ( of Lithuanian origin) was: " errr, who is he and what can we expect from him?"
Momentarily I doubted he was what we needed and that our club (after having missed out on "household name" strikers) had become desperate to sign anyone up front, but then the realisation that our club is not run by fools and reactionaries had me thinking straight again. For Leeann to okay a 2 year contract, she ( and let's not forget dear old Rod) must have been convinced by Lennon's conclusions that this guy is very much a piece of the jigsaw he is putting together, if our club is to seriously compete at the top end of the table.

He is perhaps an unknown element, though his height would suggest a 'target man' role, and if he brings us a bit more than what Grant Holt did, physicality and MORE goals, then perhaps we have a player we are going to love on our books.
I'm now quietly excited by this signing and can't wait to see what damage he will inflict on SPL defences, especially that Jambo rearguard.

ChicagoHibee
20-07-2017, 12:14 AM
If we end up with Stokes as well we could have a very interesting and exciting attack this season

I know it's just a youtube video but he looks like a genuinely good footballer there

Agreed. Two strikers that are 6'1" and 6'3" would overpower a lot of CBs in this league.

20-07-2017, 12:40 AM
Just had a nerdy look at some of his stats.

His overall goal record is 1 in 3.6, including all appearances. (If you factor out his sub appearances his record is 1 in 2.4, but obviously that's not perfect as some percentage of goals will be from the bench).

Interestingly, he has only been on the losing side in one single game in which he scored. When he's scored, his side have won 88% of the time and he has scored the game winning goal 42% of the time. If you include assists, he's been directly involved in a goal 1 in every 2.6 games, that is to say he creates or scores a goal 37% of the time he plays in a match, be that from the bench or from the start.

A quick comparison to Simon Church - who creates or scores a goal 24% of the time he plays, has won 65% of the games he has scored in and has scored the winning goal 31% of those times.

Overall, I thought his initial record didn't look stunning, however upon revision it's actually pretty impressive. I haven't a single clue as to the standards of the Romanian, Lithuanian, Kazach or Polish top flights, but he's done pretty well. Clearly there is more to his game than scoring goals so I'm pretty excited about this guy.

20-07-2017, 04:25 AM
The YouTube video was made by his agents it would seem.

........ and I bet they had a stunt double playing his part. :rolleyes:

20-07-2017, 06:46 AM
Welcome Deivydas :aok:

Like Simon Murray, you come across as a genuine guy who will work their hardest for us - wish you all the best and look forward to you knocking them in for us. Has my backing.

20-07-2017, 07:03 AM
The thing to bear in mind when examining his scoring record is that his club in Belgium had a poor season last year, coming second bottom and avoiding relegation by 1 point. Chances will have been few and far between, hopefully we will see his stats improve with better service and more chances on offer. Looks like it could be a great signing to me...add Stokes, Hendo and Commons and I'll be happy :greengrin

20-07-2017, 07:11 AM
Welcome to hibernian,

20-07-2017, 07:24 AM
Stop following Bradley Welsh on Twitter.

He's really good on The Chase though.

scooby
20-07-2017, 07:31 AM

His overall goal record is 1 in 3.6, including all appearances. (If you factor out his sub appearances his record is 1 in 2.4, but obviously that's not perfect as some percentage of goals will be from the bench).

Interestingly, he has only been on the losing side in one single game in which he scored. When he's scored, his side have won 88% of the time and he has scored the game winning goal 42% of the time. If you include assists, he's been directly involved in a goal 1 in every 2.6 games, that is to say he creates or scores a goal 37% of the time he plays in a match, be that from the bench or from the start.

A quick comparison to Simon Church - who creates or scores a goal 24% of the time he plays, has won 65% of the games he has scored in and has scored the winning goal 31% of those times.

Overall, I thought his initial record didn't look stunning, however upon revision it's actually pretty impressive. I haven't a single clue as to the standards of the Romanian, Lithuanian, Kazach or Polish top flights, but he's done pretty well. Clearly there is more to his game than scoring goals so I'm pretty excited about this guy.

I think he'll be a good signing for us, from the youtube clips it looks like he's an intelligent player.

20-07-2017, 07:46 AM
While none of us know how he will pan out, he does look a lot more mobile than Holt, and we definitely needed a more mobile target man than he was.

Stokes and Henderson and we are good to go. :thumbsup:

20-07-2017, 07:46 AM
As we seem to prefer a target man up front he looks very decent for the spl. Seems a positive guy who I can see doing loads of assists for Murray and hopefully stokes. Also Boyle could he ideal playing wide as well. Quietly Confident(only looking at the you tube videos like everybody else) that he will do well. With the signings we've made like whittaker and swanson we must surely be top six. Get stokes in and another wide man then we can aim higher. I'm sure Nl has said 5th is the minimum he expects and will see 3Rd as our target.

20-07-2017, 07:56 AM
Only thing I'm worried about is certain players take longer to settle at foreign teams, hope he settles and gets into a game quickly as the Doom and Gloom brigade will be on his case straight away.

If he does settle quickly I think we will have one hell of a battering ram on our books, that may have Stokes to partner him. This would leave Boyle and Murray to come on in last 30-20 minutes to terrify defences with their pace.

If only it was that easy we'd all be managers.

20-07-2017, 08:27 AM
Only thing I'm worried about is certain players take longer to settle at foreign teams, hope he settles and gets into a game quickly as the Doom and Gloom brigade will be on his case straight away.

If he does settle quickly I think we will have one hell of a battering ram on our books, that may have Stokes to partner him. This would leave Boyle and Murray to come on in last 30-20 minutes to terrify defences with their pace.

If only it was that easy we'd all be managers.

Don't think settling in will be a problem. This guy has been away from home for a long time now.

20-07-2017, 09:12 AM
Is a Hibs fan not allowed to say he is underwhelmed by a signing on here without being slaughtered?

I completely get his point regarding the announcement of an unknown striker. He's not criticising the player as he knows nothing about him other than what is in print. He is just saying his expectation of a known player has not yet been met. I can't understand why everyone jumps on a person giving his honest opinion.

20-07-2017, 09:28 AM
While none of us know how he will pan out, he does look a lot more mobile than Holt, and we definitely needed a more mobile target man than he was.

Stokes and Henderson and we are good to go. :thumbsup:

Stokes, Hendo, Commons, Fyvie, Pennant and Samaras and we are good to go.

Greenworld
20-07-2017, 12:23 PM
LOL maybe two / three out of that lot

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

20-07-2017, 12:35 PM
Is a Hibs fan not allowed to say he is underwhelmed by a signing on here without being slaughtered?

I completely get his point regarding the announcement of an unknown striker. He's not criticising the player as he knows nothing about him other than what is in print. He is just saying his expectation of a known player has not yet been met. I can't understand why everyone jumps on a person giving his honest opinion.

Surely to god somebody cant be underwhelmed by something or someone that they know nothing about ... it makes no sense. Indifferent you could say , but how the hell can anybody be underwhelmed by something they dont know?

20-07-2017, 12:39 PM
Surely to god somebody cant be underwhelmed by something or someone that they know nothing about ... it makes no sense. Indifferent you could say , but how the hell can anybody be underwhelmed by something they dont know?

Could be neither underwhelmed or overwhelmed i.e. just whelmed?

20-07-2017, 12:39 PM

Exactly

20-07-2017, 12:54 PM
Exactly

How many dozens of nobody's join the EPL every season, and for millions, and yet we don't hear the English fans whine. Managers know what they are doing (most of the time), fans only think they can. :agree:

20-07-2017, 02:17 PM
I know nothing at all about the guy, but from his interview he seems intelligent and keen to do well, he has 33 caps for Lithuania (and are Lithuania any worse than Scotland are right now?) and he has NL's confidence.

Danny Swanson, Efe Ambrose, Simon Murray, Rocky, Whitty ...

Any real reason to 'assume' that Dave'll be any worse a signing than any of those?

A big solid CF who looks a lot more mobile than Holt and well able to link up with the other attackers. At least he seems to know what 'running off the ball' means.

I'm happy. Not ecstatic. But happy.

Welcome to Leith, big man.

20-07-2017, 02:26 PM
Our very own Leithuanian.

Welcome to the greatest club in the world, Davy lad.

20-07-2017, 03:27 PM

Overwhelmed. :greengrin

20-07-2017, 03:30 PM

Come off it, you're splitting hairs! You need to read the definition again. Even if he is disappointed by the announcement of a player he has never heard of then underwhelmed is the correct term.

20-07-2017, 03:32 PM
Exactly

Exactly wrong.

20-07-2017, 03:35 PM

How many dozens of nobody's join the EPL every season, and for millions, and yet we don't hear the English fans whine. Managers know what they are doing (most of the time), fans only think they can. :agree:

I'd be willing to bet they are no better or worse than we are.

20-07-2017, 04:49 PM

Exactly! Just my opinion 👍🏻

20-07-2017, 04:56 PM
Come off it, you're splitting hairs! You need to read the definition again. Even if he is disappointed by the announcement of a player he has never heard of then underwhelmed is the correct term.

You are spectacularly missing the point here though arent you? Look at your post , you are saying yourself that underwhelmed is the correct term for a disappointing signing... How can anyone be dissapointed by somebody they know nothing about, its bizarre , just like your reasoning with it.

20-07-2017, 05:25 PM
You are spectacularly missing the point here though arent you? Look at your post , you are saying yourself that underwhelmed is the correct term for a disappointing signing... How can anyone be dissapointed by somebody they know nothing about, its bizarre , just like your reasoning with it.

No you my friend are missing the point nothing bizarre about it. Let me explain simply so you underderstand. If Hibs announce the signing of a player I have heard of but never actually seen I can be excited about the prospect of him joining us. However if Hibs announce the signing of a player I have never heard or seen play then I might well be disappointed by that announcement. It's as simple as that, no more no less!

20-07-2017, 05:26 PM
Exactly! Just my opinion 👍🏻

Too hard for some on here to understand or so it seems.

20-07-2017, 06:24 PM
No you my friend are missing the point nothing bizarre about it. Let me explain simply so you underderstand. If Hibs announce the signing of a player I have heard of but never actually seen I can be excited about the prospect of him joining us. However if Hibs announce the signing of a player I have never heard or seen play then I might well be disappointed by that announcement. It's as simple as that, no more no less!

No you are missing the point little chum ... Let me explain this in case you are having a problem grasping the basics here. To be overwhelemed or underwhelmed by a specific player signing then you would have to know who the player is to be excited or dissapointed. Its not even that difficult to grasp to be honest.

Now taking the above into account how can somebody be dissapointed in a signing they know nothing about. What you are saying is just daft , and so is the clown who is "underwhelmed"

20-07-2017, 06:25 PM
Too hard for some on here to understand or so it seems.

Would seem so

20-07-2017, 07:02 PM
No you are missing the point little chum ... Let me explain this in case you are having a problem grasping the basics here. To be overwhelemed or underwhelmed by a specific player signing then you would have to know who the player is to be excited or dissapointed. Its not even that difficult to grasp to be honest.

Now taking the above into account how can somebody be dissapointed in a signing they know nothing about. What you are saying is just daft , and so is the clown who is "underwhelmed"

Read my post again and stop playing the fool FFS. A big hint is the announcement bit!!!!

20-07-2017, 07:03 PM
Would seem so

You still here trying get to make an argument out of an innocent remark from a fellow fan and name calling too.....pathetic.

20-07-2017, 07:11 PM
Read my post again and stop playing the fool FFS. A big hint is the announcement bit!!!!

🙈

20-07-2017, 07:12 PM
You still here trying get to make an argument out of an innocent remark from a fellow fan and name calling too.....pathetic.

20-07-2017, 07:12 PM

Thanks for that, good work.

You get a feel about players and we haven't seen him yet. My sense or hope is that he might be a bit Mixu, he will set up nicely for Murray or Stokes (fingers crossed) and actually bag a few himself

20-07-2017, 07:16 PM

You get a feel about players and we haven't seen him yet. My sense or hope is that he might be a bit Mixu, he will set up nicely for Murray or Stokes (fingers crossed) and actually bag a few himself

Like all relatively unknown players we can only hope the manager has unearthed a player that he is able to get the performances from that we require. Here's hoping he can.

20-07-2017, 07:49 PM
Can't believe some folk are writing him off already simply because they haven't heard of him before.

How many people had heard of Malonga, Benji, Zemmama etc. before they signed for hibs? Clearly Lennon and his team have seen something in him and thats good enough for me.

Welcome to hibs big guy, looking forward to seeing what you have to offer :thumbsup:

malcolm
20-07-2017, 08:27 PM

So are there .net basic emotion rules?

Rule number 1. All emotions and feelings must be rational and utterly logical
Rule number 2. You are only allowed to express feelings on the board that meet Rule number 1

Hing aboot we'd better shut the board down now :wink:

20-07-2017, 08:54 PM

Yep, still in agreement with what you're saying.

Underwhelmed by someone you know nothing about 😂😂😂

20-07-2017, 08:57 PM
Like all relatively unknown players we can only hope the manager has unearthed a player that he is able to get the performances from that we require. Here's hoping he can.

Manager or scout has seen him.

Manager or scout thinks he fits with how the manager wants us to play.

Boy turns up and does what's asked of him.

Boy scores a hat-trick at Tynecastle after we've gone two down.

I'm expecting nothing less.

Being serious, I'm hoping the first three points stand true. He looks the part but we won't know until we see him play.

Like the look of him a lot.

20-07-2017, 09:02 PM
Definition:
If you are underwhelmed by something, you are not impressed or excited by it.

I am not impressed or excited by this player as I have never heard of him.

Therefore wait for it..........I am underwhelmed

Here endeth the lesson.

20-07-2017, 09:16 PM
If my life ever gets so boring that I spend 12 hours arguing for or against the use of "underwhelmed" to describe a transfer can someone please put me out of my misery.

20-07-2017, 09:19 PM
If my life ever gets so boring that I spend 12 hours arguing for or against the use of "underwhelmed" to describe a transfer can someone please put me out of my misery.

No problem mate, just let me know ;-) Always happy to help a fellow Hibee.

20-07-2017, 09:57 PM
Presumably Lennon's same agent contact that recommended Marciano had a hand in this deal. Matulevicius's club Royal Excel Mouscron is the club Rocky was on loan to before he came to us.

20-07-2017, 10:10 PM
Definition:
If you are underwhelmed by something, you are not impressed or excited by it.

I am not impressed or excited by this player as I have never heard of him.

Therefore wait for it..........I am underwhelmed

Here endeth the lesson.

Seriously could you just post a bit less...your constant attention seeking is getting on my nerves.

20-07-2017, 10:12 PM

It seems some folks just put things on.net just to get a reaction similar to those on Facebook and Twitter. It's a strange social media world we live in when some seem to take some weird pleasure if their wind ups get a reaction. Different strokes and all that but would have thought that the vast majority of hibs fans must be very pleased with the signings with stokes and commons hopefully to come and probably one other signing as well. The comments section on hibs stories in the Scotsmen/evening news seem full of negative posts about our club. Me thinks some of these guys having got their posts blocked their are coming on here looking for a reaction. Pretty sad if you ask me. No doubt they run and tell their mates if they get a reaction. The joys of being allowed to say what you want on here.

20-07-2017, 10:16 PM
Presumably Lennon's same agent contact that recommended Marciano had a hand in this deal. Matulevicius's club Royal Excel Mouscron is the club Rocky was on loan to before he came to us.

We're both of them at Mouscron at the same time?

20-07-2017, 10:20 PM
Having watched the YouTube highlights he is similar in style to Gary Hooper. Big, strong lad with a good touch. Brings others into play and plays the width of the 18 yard box. Time will tell but quite excited about this signing.

We could end up with a partnership of two big strikers up front - Simon and Dave.

This bloke is a solid big fella and does not look like the man who will be pushed about by anyone. 28 years of age and has been playing in the Belgian second tier - which is probably a higher standard than the SPL by a mile.

I'm moderately pleased with this signing, and gearing up to becoming genuinely enthused. :greengrin

20-07-2017, 10:22 PM
Seriously could you just post a bit less...your constant attention seeking is getting on my nerves.

Put me on ignore then!

20-07-2017, 10:31 PM
We're both of them at Mouscron at the same time?

No, Dave was only there for a brief period at the start of this year.

20-07-2017, 10:33 PM
No, Dave was only there for a brief period at the start of this year.

Loving his nickname, still makes me laugh every time I see it. :tee hee:

20-07-2017, 10:36 PM

No bother! I was bored. :wink:

20-07-2017, 10:38 PM
Loving his nickname, still makes me laugh every time I see it. :tee hee:

Was just going to mention this, seemed to be the first thing that came not folks' heads and it's stuck. Simon Murray calling him Dave in the paper now as well. 😂

21-07-2017, 01:33 PM
Anyone know if international clearance came through in time for big Dave to make his debut tonight?

21-07-2017, 01:38 PM
Anyone know if international clearance came through in time for big Dave to make his debut tonight?

It should have done. If he was a free agent I believe he holds his own registration so it would not have needed transferred from one governing body to another which is the usual cause of hold-ups.

Lee Marvin
21-07-2017, 01:50 PM
We could end up with a partnership of two big strikers up front - Simon and Dave.

This bloke is a solid big fella and does not look like the man who will be pushed about by anyone. 28 years of age and has been playing in the Belgian second tier - which is probably a higher standard than the SPL by a mile.

I'm moderately pleased with this signing, and gearing up to becoming genuinely enthused. :greengrin

He was playing in the Belgian top tier, not 2nd