View Full Version : Striker Signed

Delboy4
19-07-2017, 05:48 PM
Hibernian have completed the signing of striker Deivydas Matulevicius from Belgian side Royal Mouscron, subject to international clearance.
The 6ft 3 in centre forward, 28, has signed a two year deal with the Easter Road club, becoming Neil Lennon's sixth summer signing after Danny Swanson, Simon Murray, Efe Ambrose, Ofir Marciano and Steven Whittaker.
A Lithuanian internationalist, Deivydas has played 33 times for his country, and was an unused sub against Scotland in
Deivydas said: "I am very happy to now be a part of this club. It's a big step in my career and I will do everything I can to make it a successful season for us.
"I've always watched British football and the style of play will suit me - it's more physical and you need to have a lot of fight in every game.
"It's a big club with a big history and I'm really happy to be here."
An interview with Deivydas will be available to watch on Hibs TV later this evening.

Does this mean Stokes is coming OR not..?

Baw187
19-07-2017, 05:50 PM
Ha ha ha!!! There we go, out of nowhere!

Get his You Tube reel up!

Who is going to be first then ?!😁

Another international...welcome to Hibs, Davy

19-07-2017, 05:51 PM
Thats a good signing.

Boy was class on FM12 for me.

Salt N Sauzee
19-07-2017, 05:52 PM
Da***

Anyone gets a song out of that name and I'm impressed.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Thats a good signing.

Encouraging....

🤐

😂😂😂😂😂
Welcome Deivydas Matulevicius.
Well I'm not writing that everytime. Nickname ?
Anyone got a song for our new striker yet?
👍🏻

Juice-Terry
Wow!

19-07-2017, 05:53 PM
Welcome, Davy.

hibeelovin90
19-07-2017, 05:53 PM
Thats a good signing.

Jan koller was class on fm12

19-07-2017, 05:54 PM
If any ITKers predicted this one, I'll be impressed.

hibeelovin90
19-07-2017, 05:54 PM
Hibernian have completed the signing of striker Deivydas Matulevicius from Belgian side Royal Mouscron, subject to international clearance.
The 6ft 3 in centre forward, 28, has signed a two year deal with the Easter Road club, becoming Neil Lennon's sixth summer signing after Danny Swanson, Simon Murray, Efe Ambrose, Ofir Marciano and Steven Whittaker.
A Lithuanian internationalist, Deivydas has played 33 times for his country, and was an unused sub against Scotland in
Deivydas said: "I am very happy to now be a part of this club. It's a big step in my career and I will do everything I can to make it a successful season for us.
"I've always watched British football and the style of play will suit me - it's more physical and you need to have a lot of fight in every game.
"It's a big club with a big history and I'm really happy to be here."
An interview with Deivydas will be available to watch on Hibs TV later this evening.

Does this mean Stokes is coming OR not..?

This is Holt's replacement surely?

19-07-2017, 05:55 PM
I ain't getting that on the back of my shirt! Cost more than the top itself!

Hibbycol
19-07-2017, 05:56 PM
Tune of here we go 2 in a row fits Barry to his name 😉😊

19-07-2017, 05:57 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deivydas_Matulevičius

Lol

19-07-2017, 05:57 PM
Jan koller was class on fm12

Jan Koller was pretty good once.

I imagine he works the door at a Prague gentlemans club these days.

19-07-2017, 05:58 PM
This means Graham will be away IMO.

weehissy
We`ve had mixu , let`s hope Matu is as good :thumbsup:

Salt N Sauzee
https://youtu.be/bc1EgnD2lew

Impressed.

Its Wavey Davey! One for you MattyF

https://youtu.be/dfZSn3o7HCc

19-07-2017, 05:59 PM
Played at a decent level. 33 caps for the Liths. Probably spells the end for Brian Graham.

19-07-2017, 06:00 PM
Deivydas Matulevicius

Personally, I think we should call him Sid.

19-07-2017, 06:02 PM
Leads the line very well. Not connected with the Stokes signing at all.

Changed days when Lithuanians are welcome at Easter Road?????

Welcome big man, just do us a turn.

Jan koller was class on fm12Jan Koller retired 4 months before fm12 came out mate :greengrin

19-07-2017, 06:04 PM
Deivydas Matulevicius

Winner.

19-07-2017, 06:04 PM
Someone has been swift on his Wikipedia page............

19-07-2017, 06:05 PM

Have you forgotten Trakys?

Actually I hope you have.

Hibbycol
19-07-2017, 06:06 PM
So I take it he will have the number 99 on his shirt

Quarters
SuperDeivydasMatuleviciusJambosareatrocious...

(I apologise)

Deivydas Matulevicius

:aok: i like it , just hope he doesnt turn out to be Johnny Rotten instead :greengrin

19-07-2017, 06:07 PM
Knew about this but my sources told me to keep it quiet. Welcome Davie-das marvellous

19-07-2017, 06:08 PM
Leads the line very well. Not connected with the Stokes signing at all.

Hilarious

19-07-2017, 06:09 PM

How's his parents pensions ask Vlad

19-07-2017, 06:11 PM
When did this one play for Celtc?! Our scouting set up is a pure mess!!!!!! Lenny oot!!!!

19-07-2017, 06:13 PM
Its Wavey Davey! One for you MattyF

https://youtu.be/dfZSn3o7HCc

See you Jason Cummings, bye!

hibsdaft
19-07-2017, 06:14 PM
some derogatory quotes on Romanov and he'll be an instant favourite.

sadtom
19-07-2017, 06:14 PM
🤐

😂😂😂😂😂
Welcome Deivydas Matulevicius.
Well I'm not writing that everytime. Nickname ?
Anyone got a song for our new striker yet?
👍🏻

DM...Danger Mouse theme tune perhaps. 😊

19-07-2017, 06:21 PM
His grandparents are poor and starving, having footed a sizeable part of the bill for 2 Scottish Cups going to Gorgie.

Sid is going to arrive furious, hungry and desperate to wreak revenge on our turdshirted chums on the other side of the city.

This might make a good film.

The Revenge of the Liths.

dchibs
19-07-2017, 06:24 PM
Deivydas Matulevicius

That's what I was thinking perhaps we could sing my way or perhaps not since the yams use that tune.

19-07-2017, 06:31 PM
DM...Danger Mouse theme tune perhaps. ��

Just need his partner up top now..

http://i64.tinypic.com/257g6jm.jpg

19-07-2017, 06:43 PM
Sid appears to have had rather a lot of clubs, especially over the past 2 years.

Assuming he played in every league game this season and scored his career average, then I make it 11 goals per season.

An interesting signing.

19-07-2017, 07:16 PM

Impressed.

Tune.

canuckhibee
19-07-2017, 07:25 PM
Let's call him "Matu".

18Hibee75
19-07-2017, 08:02 PM
Anyone gets a song out of that name and I'm impressed.

Matulevicius, he's big he's mean he's vicious na na na na

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

19-07-2017, 08:13 PM
Sid appears to have had rather a lot of clubs, especially over the past 2 years.

Assuming he played in every league game this season and scored his career average, then I make it 11 goals per season.

An interesting signing.

11 goals this season fir a big lad like him would be good imho!

19-07-2017, 08:17 PM

Impressed.

Was getting a bit concerned midway through as there weren't many goals though thankfully most of the last couple of minutes are.

19-07-2017, 08:30 PM
This is the best signing so far IMO.

19-07-2017, 08:38 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if Lennons agent knew the player as with Marciano. Looks a decent signing.

Lee Marvin
19-07-2017, 08:41 PM

Steady!! Nothing you currently know about this signing can possibly make you think that. He may end up the best however...

This is a let's wait and see job

19-07-2017, 08:45 PM

Loving the optimism. I love a signing like this, completely out of the blue and completely unknown. Well played, Hibs.

19-07-2017, 08:54 PM
Loving the optimism. I love a signing like this, completely out of the blue and completely unknown. Well played, Hibs.

Kept it quiet to stop Levein and co from sniffing around.

Big L
19-07-2017, 11:08 PM
Deivydas Matulevicius

Like that, Sid Vicius !

19-07-2017, 11:39 PM
Deivydas Matulevicius

Very good! :greengrin

19-07-2017, 11:46 PM
6ft 3" but Stevenson canny cross a ball. :greengrin

Greenworld
20-07-2017, 04:27 AM
Looks to be very comfortable with ball at feet

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

dchibs
20-07-2017, 06:58 AM
So I take it he will have the number 99 on his shirt

Or 77

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
20-07-2017, 07:20 AM
Was getting a bit concerned midway through as there weren't many goals though thankfully most of the last couple of minutes are.

I was thinking the same thing... very short on goals for a handpicked highlights reel!

But he certainly looks like a link man, amd yet another big man in out team - add him and whitty in to our already big and quite physical team, should bode quite well!

20-07-2017, 08:15 AM
Let's call him "Matu".

Davey mat.

20-07-2017, 08:19 AM
I hope big Dave is decent YouTube he seems like a carthorse id rather have holty

20-07-2017, 08:20 AM
I hope big Dave is decent YouTube he seems like a carthorse id rather have holty

Is that supposed to be a sentence?

20-07-2017, 08:26 AM
Let's call him "Matu".

Too late.

20-07-2017, 08:46 AM
Is that supposed to be a sentence?

I Was educated in tranent 😉

I meant

During my visit on YouTube I searched for our new striker for video footage and from what I saw he looks like a Sunday pub player lol

-Jonesy-
20-07-2017, 08:48 AM

Impressed.

The Hives are bloody brilliant

20-07-2017, 08:51 AM

Why bother even posting pish like this?

20-07-2017, 08:55 AM

Did you even watch it? Great hold up play, decent first touch, brings others player in.... You were maybe watching an Adele video?

20-07-2017, 08:56 AM
I Was educated in tranent 😉

I meant

During my visit on YouTube I searched for our new striker for video footage and from what I saw he looks like a Sunday pub player lol

I've not seen much of him tbh, mind sharing the videos where he looks like a Sunday pub player

20-07-2017, 09:01 AM
Welcome aboard fella. Have a good feeling based, as stated before, that the club are giving him the 2yrs. These are people who have actually done research on his character & seen him play. Some of the uneducated comments on here are ridiculous.

GreenOnions
20-07-2017, 09:02 AM
Did you even watch it? Great hold up play, decent first touch, brings others player in.... You were maybe watching an Adele video?

I agree. It's impossible to make a definitive assessment based on these clips but I thought what was shown looks very positive. If he can reproduce exactly that in the Premiership he'll be a valuable addition to the squad.

Re Adele: I think Matulevicius looks like a creative type whilst Adele is more about breaking things up.

20-07-2017, 09:10 AM
I think he's going to be great. Yes, its impossible to tell from a Youtube clip but FWIW I thought Juanma for them looked pish on his youtube clip (the jumbos were drooling over it).

Big Davie will suit our game with pace and power. Watch this space Simon Murray to be top scorer outside Celtic this year all due to this boys assists...

20-07-2017, 09:15 AM
SuperDeivydasMatuleviciusJambosareatrocious...

(I apologise)

So you should! :greengrin

Or 77

666?

20-07-2017, 09:28 AM
I'm sorry Davy and fellow forum members just with all the stokes hype bit unfair

capitals_finest
20-07-2017, 09:52 AM
First impression he looks like another big physical player that could do a job for us. I don't think we can add much to that until we see him play 90 minutes.

20-07-2017, 10:06 AM

Was never the fault of the Lithuania players back then, it was the dictator and club with no money that were breaking the rules that got to us. I think the Maroon plebs were more peeved than us about the amount of Lithuania boys coming in.

20-07-2017, 10:14 AM
I think he's going to be great. Yes, its impossible to tell from a Youtube clip but FWIW I thought Juanma for them looked pish on his youtube clip (the jumbos were drooling over it).

Big Davie will suit our game with pace and power. Watch this space Simon Murray to be top scorer outside Celtic this year all due to this boys assists...

I think you may be right, I've got a feeling we'll be pleasantly surprised by how many times Murray hits the back of the net

20-07-2017, 10:25 AM
It's all about options and Sid brings another option.

20-07-2017, 04:04 PM

I was chasing pavements🤚 as long as he scores against the yams

20-07-2017, 04:10 PM
Or 77

Brilliant. I get it punk!
Sid 77 would maybe encourage me to buy a shirt for the first time in years. Destroy!

tynehibs
20-07-2017, 04:28 PM
Could provide holidays in the sun while yams are friggin in the riggin

20-07-2017, 04:32 PM
His pigeon English makes him sound pretty vacant but I'm sure he'll take some bodies out !!! Be a swindle if he doesnt

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

20-07-2017, 05:04 PM
His pigeon English makes him sound pretty vacant but I'm sure he'll take some bodies out !!! Be a swindle if he doesnt

18923 If he dies, he dies! :take that

Wee Effen Bee
20-07-2017, 05:27 PM
God he is honking! Never seen him play and never even heard of him before today but I am ITK about football because I played for my school team. I also amateur/semi pro so I have more clout than all you who haven't even played for a team. :greengrin
This site is so pishy at times: complaints about looking at crap players and then not buying players quickly. Complaints the players we then bring in are not as good as players bought by other teams. Complaints we bought players in for the wrong positions and then the players were too old and now they just aren't good enough. The next time Hibs are seeking to appoint a manager there will be about 100 applicants from this board alone.:agree:

20-07-2017, 05:49 PM

How's yer pigeon Lithuanian?

20-07-2017, 06:49 PM
How's yer pigeon Lithuanian?
Im more interested in whether he speaks seagull. That might solve a few problems.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

20-07-2017, 07:03 PM

I think his grasp of English is brilliant compared with how 99% of Scottish players could converse in France, Germany, Italy or any other foreign country. Most of them sound pretty vacant at times, just trying to talk in English.:greengrin

West lower
20-07-2017, 07:06 PM
Ever since YouTube made yon Dutch punter a few years back appear like the new Pat Mcginlay, I wouldn't be basing an opinion from video clips. Or Wiki, and certainly not stats off some video game , which I have seen mentioned in past threads.

20-07-2017, 07:12 PM
Cmon everybody. He will do us no wrong. Glad he never came from Birmingham though. He'd have been a bloody disgrace.. I wanna see him take free kicks up and over the wall. We could be his stepping stone.

I'm out.