View Full Version : Pubs in Dingwall

19-07-2017, 08:21 AM
I'm working up near Dingwall on Friday so going to the game on my lonesome

which pubs do the hibs fans usually drink in when playing ross county?

19-07-2017, 08:26 AM

The Mallard. On the station platform.

19-07-2017, 08:55 AM
The Mallard. On the station platform.

Cheers buddy.

19-07-2017, 09:41 AM

As mentioned there is The Mallard, quite literally on the platform. A bit further on there's Oscars Bar which has tended to be a mix of fans when I've been in. There's also a hotel, the name escapes me that had a bar that welcomed football fans.

Mallard probably the best bet as it's a cosy wee pub and easy walk to the ground.

NthCarolinaHibs
19-07-2017, 09:49 AM
National Hotel?

19-07-2017, 10:37 PM
Mallard is a more than decent place for a few pre match drinks. The short cut scramble up the banking from platform onto the bridge and road down to ground is always a challenge after a long liquid trip. A rare opportunity also presents itself to dine at Wimpy, not many left in the country now.

20-07-2017, 07:44 AM
Does the mallard do food?

BS44
20-07-2017, 09:14 AM
Aside from Johnny Foxes what's the other decent boozers in Inverness? I'm pitching up there about two o'clock tomorrow afternoon

hibeesdude
20-07-2017, 09:36 AM
There's one just across the river from Primark on a corner can't remember name but you'll find it on Google maps
Nice wee boozer

Northern Hibby
20-07-2017, 09:40 AM
Castle Tavern in Inverness 😁

hibeesdude
20-07-2017, 09:42 AM
Castle Tavern in Inverness 😁
That'll be the one...

highland hibbee
20-07-2017, 09:43 AM
There's one just across the river from Primark on a corner can't remember name but you'll find it on Google maps
Nice wee boozer

Sorry but the River and Primark is Inverness.

The Caley which is about 300 metres up the High Street from the train Station is a good pub, get a great pint in there.
The Mallard is now run by Sean Kennedy who had the National years ago, ,so it will be well run and a fair chance extra staff for the game
the Viking is part of the National Hotel which is 100 metres from the train station and straight across the road is the County Tavern, which has the 147 club upstairs, think it's still open.
oscars is run by Martin Keyes who is a big Celtic fan, but also loves his football, it's about ten minutes walk from the train station, up the high street and continue onto Mill Street out the Strathpeffer Road.

hibeesdude
20-07-2017, 09:45 AM
Previous post said Inverness hence that suggestion 😁

Northern Hibby
20-07-2017, 10:02 AM
That'll be the one...

No That's my pub, think the pub you're thinking is was called Findlay.

P.s I work in The Tavern, not actually my pub but you know what I mean 😁

hibstag
20-07-2017, 10:04 AM
Sorry but the River and Primark is Inverness.

The Caley which is about 300 metres up the High Street from the train Station is a good pub, get a great pint in there.
The Mallard is now run by Sean Kennedy who had the National years ago, ,so it will be well run and a fair chance extra staff for the game
the Viking is part of the National Hotel which is 100 metres from the train station and straight across the road is the County Tavern, which has the 147 club upstairs, think it's still open.
oscars is run by Martin Keyes who is a big Celtic fan, but also loves his football, it's about ten minutes walk from the train station, up the high street and continue onto Mill Street out the Strathpeffer Road.

I think your distances are kinda out... Caley is a wee 3/4 mins down the high street but Oscars (pockets to the old school) is on the western outskirts of town at least a 25/30 mins walk (amost as far from the ground going west as you could get without leaving town)

i think the Viking is closed and is a coffee shop now

Mallard now has a easy walkway across the railway line to the ground.

Bar at ground very good though

james62
20-07-2017, 03:03 PM
Does anyone know how late the boozers are open for after the match?

Northern Hibby
21-07-2017, 07:43 AM
Dingwall or Inverness?

25-07-2017, 12:04 AM
Does anyone know how late the boozers are open for after the match?I was amazed to see that the Mallard was open until 3 am. was good.

25-07-2017, 12:06 AM
us auld yins left at 1 am, had to escort my chum, back to our humty hotel, as he was tired and emotional.