View Full Version : Hibs 4 vs 0 Montrose FT

15-07-2017, 12:59 PM
Believe Hibs have a strong team out for today, weather looking a tad iffy.

4-0 to the good guys. :flag:

15-07-2017, 01:01 PM
STARTING XI | Marciano, Gray, Fontaine, McGinn, McGeouch, S Murray, Stevenson, Boyle, McGregor, F Murray, Porteous.

5-3-2, odd choice for Montrose. Ambrose missing out.

RamYer1902
15-07-2017, 01:02 PM
Marciano

Porteous mcgregor Fontaine

Gray McGeouch McGinn LS

F. Murray

S. Murray Boyle

15-07-2017, 01:05 PM
Midfield will pass them off the park if given the chance

15-07-2017, 01:07 PM
No Swanson!

15-07-2017, 01:07 PM
No Swanson!

Suspended

15-07-2017, 01:08 PM
Ta

15-07-2017, 01:09 PM
Solid team considering Hanlon, Ambrose, Swanson and Whittaker still to come in, plus another attacker or two.

15-07-2017, 01:10 PM
Surprised to Handling on the bench. But good to see two youngsters ( Murray & Porteous) getting first team experience

15-07-2017, 01:10 PM
STARTING XI | Marciano, Gray, Fontaine, McGinn, McGeouch, S Murray, Stevenson, Boyle, McGregor, F Murray, Porteous.

5-3-2, odd choice for Montrose. Ambrose missing out.

That's not the formation though.

15-07-2017, 01:19 PM
Surprised to Handling on the bench. But good to see two youngsters ( Murray & Porteous) getting first team experience

I think Fraser Murray could save us a lot of money this year.

15-07-2017, 01:22 PM
I think Fraser Murray could save us a lot of money this year.

This. Especially if he bulks up a bit. Looking forward to watching him today.

Wull
15-07-2017, 01:23 PM
Cummon Hibees show we mean business right from the start

15-07-2017, 01:25 PM
That's not the formation though.

I was thinking more 3412 or 343. It' certainly won't be 5 at the back.

15-07-2017, 01:26 PM
More importantly since when did we move the home dug out???

steelendhibs
15-07-2017, 01:31 PM

I think we beat montrose 9-0 about 15 hears back, which is the biggest margin of victory in my life time supporting hibs. Played them again 2 years ago and think it was maybe 3-0?

Nevermind that, why are we the only pro team on the planet not to have club crested cushioned seat covers?

3-5-2 according to Hibs Official twitter

Mantis Toboggan
15-07-2017, 01:32 PM
Looking forward to seeing both Murray's in action. Considering Montrose came bottom of the entire SPFL last year I think there might be a few goals for us today.

15-07-2017, 01:34 PM
Looking forward to seeing both Murray's in action. Considering Montrose came bottom of the entire SPFL last year I think there might be a few goals for us today.

They finished 4th in their league last year

Mantis Toboggan
15-07-2017, 01:38 PM
They finished 4th in their league last year

Yes ignore me I am as usual talking nonsense. Have someone mixed up with the year they were in a play off which was about 2 seasons previous

15-07-2017, 01:42 PM

Doesn't it switch around every so often?

15-07-2017, 01:48 PM
Doesn't it switch around every so often?

Not for years that I can remember. In other news Brian Graham has just fired about 4 over the bar in the warm up. 😂

15-07-2017, 01:53 PM
Can someone turn the volume down in the West. Jesus I'm nearly going deaf!

15-07-2017, 01:53 PM
Not for years that I can remember. In other news Brian Graham has just fired about 4 over the bar in the warm up. 😂

Disgraceful.

15-07-2017, 01:57 PM
Can someone turn the volume down in the West. Jesus I'm nearly going deaf!

That's a (not so) nice change

15-07-2017, 01:59 PM
The attendance isn't looking good.

15-07-2017, 01:59 PM
Could be lowest crowd in years

15-07-2017, 02:00 PM

Swapped back. I feel better now.

15-07-2017, 02:00 PM
Turn the speakers down in ff upper too plz haha

15-07-2017, 02:03 PM
Could be lowest crowd in years

Good advert for summer football :whistle:

15-07-2017, 02:05 PM
Hibs looking good in the new shirts.

15-07-2017, 02:05 PM
so no goals yet eh, told yi we should have strengthened up top

15-07-2017, 02:08 PM
blue brazil 0 buckie 1 after 5mins

east kilbride 0 hamilton 1 after 50 mins played

15-07-2017, 02:09 PM

I hate to say "I told you so", but it's a good advert for how sheite an idea the league cup groups was.

15-07-2017, 02:12 PM

I thought crowds were meant to increase by playing competitive games in the summer?!

15-07-2017, 02:12 PM
Cracking shot by Boyle hits the post

15-07-2017, 02:13 PM
Boyle slips in Murray who shoots wide from a narrow angle

1-0 Hibs

Delighted that we resigned Boyle. Very dangerous player when he drives with the ball, great option to have and enjoyable to watch

15-07-2017, 02:14 PM
Murray with the goal after a great cross from Stevenson

1-0, Simon Murray ex-Arbroath. Mon the Lichties. :wink:

I was looking for the teams on BBC Scotland, eventually found them under the heading "line ups from Links Park" They truly are a useless shower.
.................................................. .................................................. ......
They are now reporting that Charlie Mann is in Montrose watching a relative playing for Montrose against Hibs!!

Nice header by Murray

Dunfy 1 Elgin 0
Peterhead 1 East Fife 0
Queens Park 0 Murrawell 1

I hate to say "I told you so", but it's a good advert for how sheite an idea the league cup groups was.
Agree, takes me back years & it was a failure then.

Murray with the goal after a great cross from Stevenson

what murray ?

15-07-2017, 02:15 PM
What a brilliant team goal that was btw! Starting to become a big fan of Simon Murray! I had my reserves about him initially but he's had a great start in the green

15-07-2017, 02:16 PM
what murray ?

Simon

EH6 Hibby
15-07-2017, 02:17 PM
Is there a radio link or is it just open all mics?

goaaal the cabbage

what murray ?

Simon, pardon me for being back dunce and forgetting there are two Murrays playing today.

Topographic Hibby
15-07-2017, 02:18 PM
I was looking for the teams on BBC Scotland, eventually found them under the heading "line ups from Links Park" They truly are a useless shower.
Noticed that as well. Don't forget, we are paying for that service......

15-07-2017, 02:18 PM
never hurry a murray

15-07-2017, 02:19 PM
33 is the new Fraser

15-07-2017, 02:20 PM
I think Simon Murray will turn out to be a really good signing.

15-07-2017, 02:20 PM
.................................................. .................................................. ......
They are now reporting that Charlie Mann is in Montrose watching a relative playing for Montrose against Hibs!!
It is with out a doubt one of the convoluted sites to navigate.

15-07-2017, 02:22 PM
I thought crowds were meant to increase by playing competitive games in the summer?!

If football was regularly to be played in the summer many folk would change their holidays accordingly. League fitba crowds would IMO definitely go up. This format really isnt really a good comparison to make is it?

15-07-2017, 02:22 PM
Simon to Fraser, the Two Murrays team up to make it two

15-07-2017, 02:23 PM
Really well worked goal.

2-0 Hibs :flag:

DaveSo

I noticed that too unbelievable they can get the venue wrong and compound it by still reporting it.
Total amateurs.

15-07-2017, 02:24 PM
BBC Scotland sports page!

WTF!

Avuncular Charlie

Montrose 0-0 Hibernian

Posted at
15:11

Our reporter at Links Park, Charlie Mann, is struggling to contain his pride - and why should he - at the prospect of reporting on his nephew, Matthew Wallace. The youngster is on the Montrose bench for their match against Hibs and Charlie thinks he has a good chance of coming on as a sub.

15-07-2017, 02:24 PM
Fraser Murray looks a find with his passing and running. Nicely finished goal too.

15-07-2017, 02:25 PM
2-0 Hibs Fraser Murray. Really like the look of him, great first touch and good movement.

If football was regularly to be played in the summer many folk would change their holidays accordingly. League fitba crowds would IMO definitely go up. This format really isnt really a good comparison to make is it?

A lot of families wait until the first week or two of the school holidays. Seen a few Hibees out in Spain this week who will be at Easter Road every week but won't make games in July.

But for now anyway Mon the Hibs. Good start to his Hibs career for S.Murray.

never hurry the murrays

Nemo

well it's summer now and pissing it doon in gorebridge :greengrin

15-07-2017, 02:27 PM

WTF!

Avuncular Charlie

Montrose 0-0 Hibernian

Posted at

Our reporter at Links Park, Charlie Mann, is struggling to contain his pride - and why should he - at the prospect of reporting on his nephew, Matthew Wallace. The youngster is on the Montrose bench for their match against Hibs and Charlie thinks he has a good chance of coming on as a sub.

that is absolutely astonishing....and utterly amateur

15-07-2017, 02:29 PM
2-0 Hibs Fraser Murray. Really like the look of him, great first touch and good movement.

Never heard of him before today, a youth player I presume? Great to see some players come through the ranks.

BH Hibs
15-07-2017, 02:29 PM

WTF!

Avuncular Charlie

Montrose 0-0 Hibernian

Posted at

He must be wondering where the rest of the players are.

15-07-2017, 02:31 PM
Never heard of him before today, a youth player I presume? Great to see some players come through the ranks.

He's looked very good in the pre season games. Has a great touch, can pick a pass and can obviously finish, encouraging!

15-07-2017, 02:32 PM
Some decent play from us so far here. Both the Murrays and Boyle looking sharp.

15-07-2017, 02:41 PM
He's looked very good in the pre season games. Has a great touch, can pick a pass and can obviously finish, encouraging!

Not just pre season fraze, he didn't look out of place one bit at the tail end of last season.

High hopes for the lad

angus hibee
He must be wondering where the rest of the players are.
I live next door to Links Park/ Cant be much of a crowd. Its very quiet

Ross co 1 Alloa 0

15-07-2017, 02:42 PM
well it's summer now and pissing it doon in gorebridge :greengrin

Exactly. Would rather be out in the cold than out in the pissing rain. Least in winter I've a heavy jacket on stopping me from getting wet when it does rain.

15-07-2017, 02:42 PM
Worse warm up than Penants last week ? :)

15-07-2017, 02:43 PM
Exactly. Would rather be out in the cold than out in the pissing rain. Least in winter I've a heavy jacket on stopping me from getting wet when it does rain.

There's nothing stopping you from getting a light rain jacket lol

15-07-2017, 02:49 PM
What's the story with the ultras/singing section? League games only for the "wall of noise"? Lucky if there is 20 in the new area set aside :greengrin

MartinfaePorty
15-07-2017, 02:51 PM
TVs switched off in East concourse. Petrie!

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

15-07-2017, 02:52 PM

Don't agree with that at all. School holidays will still be school holidays so families will still mostly go away then. Even if they don't, where they all going on holiday to in winter? Not many short haul places to fly to with guaranteed sunshine and out door pools in winter. And what about those who holiday in the UK? Where they going on holiday in winter time :confused:.

15-07-2017, 02:53 PM
Training game. Glad Murray, the ginger one, has got off the mark though. Always good for a striker to score early doors.

15-07-2017, 02:53 PM

Just standing typing this in my polo shirt. Very muggy so the light shower is welcome. Hibees knocking the ball about well.

15-07-2017, 02:54 PM
Enjoying a glass of red on my balcony in Rome being updated of the score from one of my brothers at the game. Happy with the wine and the score so far!

15-07-2017, 02:54 PM
Training game. Glad Murray, the ginger one, has got off the mark though. Always good for a striker to score early doors.
He scored against Sunderland already.......

15-07-2017, 02:55 PM

Aye but competitive games.

15-07-2017, 02:55 PM
Hibs cruising so far.

Marciano distribution good.

Defense yet to be troubled really with porteous looking comfortable in possession.

McGeouch running the game, with Fraser Murray looking good.

SJM forgot his shooting boots today.

Simon Murray - good work rate and header, could have added at least one more.

Boyle, unlucky hitting the beans on toast, touch and build up play has been poor.

All in all, look like we could go up a few gears if required, very comfortable.

15-07-2017, 03:04 PM
Really poor miss from Murray. Sitter.

Keyser Sauzee
15-07-2017, 03:04 PM

No player counts friendly goals, neither should u.

15-07-2017, 03:05 PM
Let off there as montrose #9 left all alone in the middle but stuck it past the post.

15-07-2017, 03:05 PM
Montrose #9 misses a sitter, closely followed by Murray and Gray.

15-07-2017, 03:06 PM

Official goal police alert 🚨

Nemo
15-07-2017, 03:06 PM
St Johnstone 3
Sunderland 0

good result

15-07-2017, 03:08 PM
Dearie me, all I meant was that he was already off the mark in a Hibs jersey. I'll be more careful in future to avoid antagonizing the .net polis........

15-07-2017, 03:08 PM
St Johnstone 3
Sunderland 0

good result

Indeed, great score.

15-07-2017, 03:09 PM
Easy 2nd for Simon Murray.

15-07-2017, 03:09 PM
Do I hear 3?

15-07-2017, 03:10 PM
Simon Murray again, 3-0

15-07-2017, 03:11 PM

15-07-2017, 03:14 PM
Enjoying a glass of red on my balcony in Rome being updated of the score from one of my brothers at the game. Happy with the wine and the score so far!

Show off:-)

Jason who?

We are going to skoosh this league.

15-07-2017, 03:15 PM
Three goals for SM in three games. Jason who?

15-07-2017, 03:15 PM
Scott Martin on for Dylan.

15-07-2017, 03:17 PM
Jason who?

Beat me to it ya erse........ :greengrin

15-07-2017, 03:18 PM

Melting by a pool in Gran Canaria doing much the same :-)

15-07-2017, 03:19 PM
Tickets for the final go on sale on Monday.:wink:

15-07-2017, 03:21 PM
Beat me to it ya erse........ :greengrin

If yir no fast, yir last.

15-07-2017, 03:23 PM
Did the ref just speak with Porteous? Thought that was a hard but fair tackle he put in

15-07-2017, 03:24 PM
Graham on for Fontaine, back 4 now.

15-07-2017, 03:25 PM
What's the official attendance? or am I to soon.

15-07-2017, 03:25 PM

I'm also in Rome, but in a cafe bar on the Heineken 👍

15-07-2017, 03:28 PM
Seagulls are back.

15-07-2017, 03:28 PM
What's the official attendance? or am I to soon.

Not bad if the seagulls have paid to get in as well.

15-07-2017, 03:29 PM
James Keatings slots penalty for Dundee United.

15-07-2017, 03:30 PM
NHC Sam Stanton brought down in the box and Keitings scored from the spot.
2-0 Dundee Utd

15-07-2017, 03:31 PM
NHC Sam Stanton brought down in the box and Keitings scored from the spot.
2-0 Dundee Utd

Harris scored for Falkirk too.

15-07-2017, 03:33 PM
Seagulls are back.

That's probably doubled the attendance.

15-07-2017, 03:33 PM

Simon Murray is quoted on the official site after the Sunderland game...

"I'm delighted to get off the mark, on such a big occasion too"

15-07-2017, 03:38 PM
Simon Murray is quoted on the official site after the Sunderland game...

"I'm delighted to get off the mark, on such a big occasion too"
That goal won't be counted in his total for the season, he's making his debut for hibs today.

15-07-2017, 03:39 PM
Pre season friendlies are all about getting the team ready for the start of the season its their only reason d'etre, regarless of any results. Win 5 pre season games on the trot but then lose your opening game or two of the new season represents a bad pre season IMO. Losing games but winning your openers means a good pre season. Its not about the results its about being ready for the coming season.

15-07-2017, 03:44 PM
One more Hibs please :thumbsup:

15-07-2017, 03:45 PM
Brian Graham from the spot 4 0.

Get in :flag:

hibee62
Horrendous reaction in the east when graham took the ball. A very audible number of boos, eventually drowned out by the majority.

F Murray MOTM

15-07-2017, 03:47 PM
Horrendous reaction in the east when graham took the ball. A very audible number of boos, eventually drowned out by the majority.

That's brutal.

15-07-2017, 03:48 PM

Thats pathetic. Who do these people think they are ffs 😬

15-07-2017, 03:49 PM

Seriously? Other than not being Jason Cummings what has the guy ever done other than give his very best?

Good that Graham is off the mark as well.

Maybe they just wanted Murray to have his chance at the Hat Trick?

Thats a shame. The lad has struggled a bit with us but he doesnt deserve that and its not exactly going to do his confidence alot of good. Glad he tucked the penalty away. Keep your head up Brian.

Murray was off.

hibee62
15-07-2017, 03:50 PM

Already subbed off, similar reaction when graham came on.

That wouldve been amazing: hed already been subbed

Murray was off.

OK, sorry, didn't notice that :greengrin

You turn your back for two minutes....

Kavinho
15-07-2017, 03:51 PM
I'm also in Rome, but in a cafe bar on the Heineken 👍

Croatian island of Korcula for me.
Hidden gem.

All the sweeter for an alcoholic Fanta orange thingy and the updates ticking along nicely

15-07-2017, 03:52 PM

Absolute ****ing idiots I'm afraid. No other way to describe these people.

15-07-2017, 03:52 PM
Solid start that. Good to see a few goals too. Be a good test on the TV next week.

15-07-2017, 03:54 PM
A four goal win with porteous, f. Murray, shaw and martin getting game time. Good run out by all accounts

15-07-2017, 03:55 PM

Ridiculous and growing amount of people, not just Hibs fans, seem to think they have a god-given right to judge who is good enough for their team. And even worse, have the delusion to think they are important enough to voice disapproval whenever they want.

Football fans can't half be vain and obnoxious these days.

Thats a shame. The lad has struggled a bit with us but he doesnt deserve that and its not exactly going to do his confidence alot of good. Glad he tucked the penalty away. Keep your head up Brian.
Liam Craig got the same treatment & he's never said a bad word about his time at Hibs.

coco22
Believe Hibs have a strong team out for today, weather looking a tad iffy.

4-0 to the good guys. :flag:

Good shout 👏🏼

15-07-2017, 03:58 PM
Good shout 👏🏼

Clearly fixed.

15-07-2017, 03:59 PM

Ridiculous. The guy hasn't been outstanding for us but there's also been many worse and his attitude can't be questioned.

EH6 Hibby
15-07-2017, 04:02 PM

I'm in Gran Canaria too. I however, am crying tears of pride on my balcony.

15-07-2017, 04:05 PM
Good shout 👏🏼

Clearly fixed.

15-07-2017, 04:09 PM
Jason who?

Listen to the 'glass half empty's', and you'd think we were going to be fielding only 10 men this season.

15-07-2017, 04:09 PM
I was impressed with Graham when he came on. His hold up and link up play looks like it's really improved.

15-07-2017, 04:10 PM
What was the official attendance?

aiden15088
15-07-2017, 04:16 PM

Nemo
15-07-2017, 04:16 PM

5226 according to the bbc

15-07-2017, 04:21 PM
5226 according to the bbc

Not too bad for a game not on the season ticket, against unglamorous opposition and lots of fans on holiday.

15-07-2017, 04:22 PM

Embarrassing.

Wee Effen Bee
15-07-2017, 04:26 PM
I'm in Gran Canaria too. I however, am crying tears of pride on my balcony.

Yep, Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria for me too. Absolutely roasting despite dust storm from Morocco causing a haze. ☀️

15-07-2017, 04:27 PM
Fraser Murray excellent.
Ryan P excellent
Dylan best player on the park first half.
Simon Murray great work rate, will score plenty. Plenty people complaining caused he missed a few - they obviously forget all the changes Cummings would miss in a game.
SJM good first half - poor second.

I really wish our wing-backs would actually get to the byline. No idea why we always turn back inside - especially on Grays side.

Overall a very good workout for the team.

15-07-2017, 04:33 PM
Fraser Murray excellent.
Ryan P excellent
Dylan best player on the park first half.
Simon Murray great work rate, will score plenty. Plenty people complaining caused he missed a few - they obviously forget all the changes Cummings would miss in a game.
SJM good first half - poor second.

I really wish our wing-backs would actually get to the byline. No idea why we always turn back inside - especially on Grays side.

Overall a very good workout for the team.

I don't think either are really properly comfortable crossing the ball. Cutting inside means there's an option for a pass, taking it to the byline makes it more likely they'll need to cross it.

15-07-2017, 04:34 PM
Embarrassing.

It's not really, playing Montrose in a group section match is no more attractive than a pre-season friendly.

15-07-2017, 04:35 PM
I don't think either are really properly comfortable crossing the ball. Cutting inside means there's an option for a pass, taking it to the byline makes it more likely they'll need to cross it.

We can surely do it against a team like Montrose!

15-07-2017, 04:38 PM
We can surely do it against a team like Montrose!

A cross is a cross, doesn't really make a difference who it's against I would imagine! I would like to see them go to the byline more as well. Much harder for the other team if we're harder to predict.

15-07-2017, 04:46 PM
Very comfortable today - 4 nil going on a lot more.

Everyone pretty solid - don't think Rocky had a save - though they had one chance - diagonal over Gray which the guy put wide.

Good start by both Murrays.

Simon - will score goals and good return already.

Fraser - he could be the missing link in the attacking midfield role to score goals - but quite a lot to ask from a 17 year old.

We need to get better at freekicks - hopefully Swanson will take over on that front - Swanson will improve our quality from corners too.

Still think looking at our bench we need more depth.

I know today no Efe, Hanlon, Swanson and SW but need a little more quality.

Interesting to see without Cummings - others are chipping in with goals which we have wanted for a while.

Final trivial moan - seagulls again and they still haven't that bit of grass in front of the east stand / PA system stil crap.

High-On-Hibs
15-07-2017, 04:50 PM
Good solid performance today. I think the players intentionally took their foot off the gas at 2-0 up, as there was no real need to put more into the game than needed. Some of the passing in the first half hour was the best i've seen in quite some time. Good to see balls being played in the space in front of the wingers, rather than directly to them or behind them. Was surprised at the amount of space Montrose left on the wings, especially on Stevensons side. Despite the odd lapse in concentration, it was comfortable overall.

Craigmount Hibs
15-07-2017, 04:54 PM
Like many others have said, change their holidays to when? I was disappointed to miss Lewis's game last week and today's - my flight home from my summer hols means I will be in Dingwall on Friday tho. 👍

Every year we get the same nonsense about "crowds would go up in the summer". I appreciate increased crowds in summer is your opinion, but mine is that season ticket sales would plummet if ever summer football became reality. I hope it never does and this rubbish league cup format is changed next season.

Badge
15-07-2017, 05:02 PM
Was Ozyhiby at the game today?. Told us about 10 days ago we were nowhere near ready for today's game. Is 4-0 nowhere near ready?

Wee Effen Bee
15-07-2017, 05:03 PM
Embarrassing.

Yes, some your posts definitely are but I'm sure we have all posted some guff at some point.

15-07-2017, 05:03 PM
Like many others have said, change their holidays to when? I was disappointed to miss Lewis's game last week and today's - my flight home from my summer hols means I will be in Dingwall on Friday tho. 👍

Every year we get the same nonsense about "crowds would go up in the summer". I appreciate increased crowds in summer is your opinion, but mine is that season ticket sales would plummet if ever summer football became reality. I hope it never does and this rubbish league cup format is changed next season.

Im pretty sure there wasnt 10000 away in Alicante today. Under 6k is very poor no matter the time of year or the opposition. Bottom line is that a lot of people just couldnt be arsed going to the game today. Thats obviously completely up to them but lets not kid on its not a poor attendance.

15-07-2017, 05:04 PM
Yes, some your posts definitely are but I'm sure we have all posted some guff at some point.

Aye very good. Enjoy your holiday.

15-07-2017, 05:05 PM
Embarrassing.

hardly, halfway through the school holidays, plus playing a team with very few fans, there was never going to be a big crowd

High-On-Hibs
15-07-2017, 05:09 PM
Was Ozyhiby at the game today?. Told us about 10 days ago we were nowhere near ready for today's game. Is 4-0 nowhere near ready?

We're not quite there yet, still a couple of decent signings away to carry us on through out the season. But what we have right now is looking very good indeed.

15-07-2017, 05:11 PM
hardly, halfway through the school holidays, plus playing a team with very few fans, there was never going to be a big crowd

About 800 less than the same fixture 2 years ago. A bit disappointing.

15-07-2017, 05:12 PM
I was impressed with Graham when he came on. His hold up and link up play looks like it's really improved.

I have no idea what people's problem with Graham is.

He did well when he came on against Sunderland last week.

His link up play was excellent today. I don't remember him losing the ball or setting a foot wrong the whole time he was on the park. He got under a couple of back post crosses but they were both overhit and nobody would have stood a chance of doing more with them than Graham did.

He won't be one of our highest earners, he came in as a squad player, played a small part last season but did what we asked of him when called upon.

I actually think he's quite useful. He knocks his pan in, looks like he's desperate to impress and always wants to score.

We've had so many utter impostors over the years we should show a bit of respect and appreciation for a guy who is a totally wholehearted and reasonably handy squad player.

For every f****y who boos him, I'm sure there are at least a dozen of us who are quietly urging him to succeed.

15-07-2017, 05:13 PM
Someone needs to post league cup attendances from the last few seasons.

Did anyone expect we would have more today?

Also interested to see attendances around Scotland today.

Bottom line Hibs against a part time team which isn't included in a ST price isn't attractive for many to go and see. Glory hunters maybe but that's what happens when you win the Scottish Cup ;)

15-07-2017, 05:14 PM
About 800 less than the same fixture 2 years ago. A bit disappointing.

You mean the match on 1st August 2015, just before the season started, in a knockout round.

And you compare these fixtures?

Give me strength......

15-07-2017, 05:17 PM

His link up play was excellent today. I don't remember him losing the ball or setting a foot wrong the whole time he was on the park. He got under a couple of back post crosses but they were both overhit and nobody would have stood a chance of doing more with them than Graham did.

He won't be one of our highest earners, he came in as a squad player, played a small part last season but did what we asked of him when called upon.

I actually think he's quite useful. He knocks his pan in, looks like he's desperate to impress and always wants to score.

We've had so many utter impostors over the years we should show a bit of respect and appreciation for a guy who is a totally wholehearted and reasonably handy squad player.

For every f****y who boos him, I'm sure there are at least a dozen of us who are quietly urging him to succeed.

Agreed. We have had worse and he offers us something different right now we don't have.

He's not Grant Holt but he will put himself about and give his all.

If you watch the yams new signing Cole Stockon he's less mobile and Graham will score more.

Hibs fans always need a scapegoat and seems this season Graham is an easy option.

15-07-2017, 05:18 PM
You mean the match on 1st August 2015, just before the season started, in a knockout round.

And you compare these fixtures?

Give me strength......

If I had the power to do so I would :confused:

15-07-2017, 05:19 PM

It's the hibs way [emoji53] there's always 1 player gets it tight no matter how hard he try's. Michael Renwick was a player never given a chance by the fans so much so even MacLeish said something about it publicly

15-07-2017, 05:21 PM
And it's a good attendance for my NFL Fantasy league guess [emoji106]

High-On-Hibs
15-07-2017, 05:22 PM

Heard several boos coming from the south side of the east stand when he came on. What's wrong with some people? :crazy:

15-07-2017, 05:23 PM
Heard several boos coming from the south side of the east stand when he came on. What's wrong with some people? :crazy:

No Fyvie, so new scapegoat of choice required.

15-07-2017, 05:27 PM

Some clowns were booing when went to get the ball for the penalty. I actually quite like him as he offers something different to other strikers

15-07-2017, 05:30 PM
Quite liked Simon Murray today, rather impressive. I realise it was against Montrose but never the less.

15-07-2017, 05:31 PM

I've fancied that down the years the scapegoat is usually the one who scores important goals against the jambos at some point- Liam Craig, James Collins, David Wotherspoon to name a few.

15-07-2017, 05:32 PM
Quite liked Simon Murray today, rather impressive. I realise it was against Montrose but never the less.

Put himself in the right places at the right time which is always good, also worked his socks off, a lot of potential with this guy

15-07-2017, 05:35 PM
I quite like Brian Graham. I think Murray will be a far bigger player for us, but Graham has done very little wrong and still scores at a decent rate especially when he rarely gets a good run in the team. Some nice touches today, good work rate, got in the box and his attitude in grabbing the ball for the penalty is what I want to see in a player. Considering how sparingly he has been used it would have been easy for him to go in the huff but he looks like he has a great appetite for the game.

15-07-2017, 05:38 PM
No Fyvie, so new scapegoat of choice required.

This :agree:

Fyvie last season - Graham now

You would think we had James Collins or Vine back playing for us!

15-07-2017, 05:46 PM
Some clowns were booing when went to get the ball for the penalty. I actually quite like him as he offers something different to other strikers

Peoples frustrations can get the better of them, but bottom line is, no supporter should ever boo their own player, especially when about to take a penalty for their team.

What do you if he misses? Cheer?

15-07-2017, 05:58 PM
Peoples frustrations can get the better of them, but bottom line is, no supporter should ever boo their own player, especially when about to take a penalty for their team.

What do you if he misses? Cheer?

Round about me in the east it was a case.of "aw naw " as against boos ...after his PK on Tuesday a bit understandable and especially as on Tuesday after the PK miss he was poor head went.right down ! I get why he was.on the PK today, NL obviously wants his trikers used to scoring to get their confidence up ..scoring that PK today was a big pressure kick for Graham imagine if he had missed it ...!!!

15-07-2017, 06:17 PM
Hibs played some really nice stuff in the first half especially and McGeouch absolutely bossed it until he went off, my MOM even if he didn't play the full 90 .... some of the long range diagonal balls from him and McGinn were superb in the first 45 minutes.

We definitely eased off a bit in the 2nd half and it seemed to affect McGinn who went back to his bad habit from last season of giving the ball away with some poor short range passes ..... I liked the look of Porteous and I've no idea why the ref spoke to him for what was a crunching but fair tackle in the 2nd half, it was good to see that the lad isn't afraid of a 50/50 :greengrin

Both Murrays had good games ...... Simon could and should have had a hat trick, but the keeper stood up well to him when he got in one on one. I didn't hear the alleged booing of Graham when he came on, but there certainly was a reaction from the crowd when he grabbed the ball for the penalty, probably because he put his last one in the Tweed .... good for him for taking the responsibility.

Finally poor Oli Shaw .... so unlucky to only hit the bar against Sunderland and then today he blazed pretty high over from a good position and then made a hash of a chance that came close to the sitter variety right at the end .... his movement was excellent though and its only a matter of time till he scores for us.

15-07-2017, 06:24 PM
McGinn...his bad habit... of giving the ball away with some poor short range passes

NN, just highlighting an important part of your excellent summary for the benefit of any other clubs looking in.

15-07-2017, 06:37 PM
Young Porteous comes across VERY well in his interview.

We've got a prospect there.

15-07-2017, 06:39 PM
Very impressed with Porteous today, composed on the ball and pinged a few really good passes about. F Murray got MOM and he was good although he wasn't as good as McGeoch who was excellent in the first half. Simon Murray's first touch wasn't nearly as bad as I was expecting after reading last weeks reports on here. He must be a bit of a nightmare to play against as he is constantly running off his markers and looking for the ball - he never stops, and took both his headers well. Lennon said after the game that we are still looking to bring in another 2 or 3 quality signings as he feels the squad is a little light, which was good to hear. All in all a good day out apart from the rats with wings dive bombing the FF lower and spoiling the view from the upper. Sooner we're allowed to shoot the bloody things the better.

15-07-2017, 06:40 PM
Young Porteous comes across VERY well in his interview.

We've got a prospect there.

Assuming we get Hanlon back fully fit we have 2 top class CHs for the next 5year plus. He's super player.

15-07-2017, 06:43 PM
Worth a look for anyone who's interested.

https://www.facebook.com/HibernianFootballClubOfficial/videos/1367253440040380/

Comes across like he's in his 30s.

15-07-2017, 07:34 PM
Assuming we get Hanlon back fully fit we have 2 top class CHs for the next 5year plus. He's super player.

ambrose is only on a 2 year contract though😀

15-07-2017, 07:59 PM

Great interview, a smart, personable & articulate young man. Now where's my daughter! :wink:

15-07-2017, 08:05 PM

Good interview.

Porteous
Fraser Murray
Olli Shaw

These 3 have a massive future at the club - all very different but play with intelligence and ifthey stay focused and injury free will do very well.

Every time I've watched them I've been impressed and even last season with the development team they were a joy to watch.

Hibs also have a few other young prospects coming through which looks good for the future.

15-07-2017, 09:17 PM
Just standing typing this in my polo shirt. Very muggy so the light shower is welcome. Hibees knocking the ball about well.

Polo shirt? You should be wrapped up like an Eskimo freezing yer t*ts off to watch a game of football.

Polo shirt? It's just not normal!

15-07-2017, 09:19 PM

I said we were nowhere near ready for the new season. I never doubted we would have enough to deal with Montrose.

Badge
15-07-2017, 09:24 PM
I said we were nowhere near ready for the new season. I never doubted we would have enough to deal with Montrose.

Sorry to disagree but you said new season started today and we were nowhere near ready. In my reply I gave you a team for today based on players who were signed at that time. If you meant 5 August you made your comment almost 5 weeks before the Partick game and surely that was far too early to be saying that. There's still 3 weeks to go before the game and lots will happen between now and then

15-07-2017, 11:14 PM

Impressive interview ... recognising what he needs to improve and no false modesty, had a very good game today and definitely looks a real prospect.

15-07-2017, 11:29 PM
Good interview.

Porteous
Fraser Murray
Olli Shaw

These 3 have a massive future at the club - all very different but play with intelligence and ifthey stay focused and injury free will do very well.

Every time I've watched them I've been impressed and even last season with the development team they were a joy to watch.

Hibs also have a few other young prospects coming through which looks good for the future.

I do hope so. It's about time some of the kids broke through.

JC aside, no one has come through the youth ranks to cement a place in the 1st team squad for years

16-07-2017, 12:04 AM
I was at the game and it was okay. 4-0 against a League 2 side isn't anything to get too carried away about but it was a comfortable win and the team will get stronger every time they play together. Simon Murray runs around a lot and works hard, and credit to him, he chipped in with a couple of goals, Fraser Murray still looks quite raw but also looks as if he'll be a really good player in the future. Took his goal really well. Probably the best indication of how this current Hibs team is progressing will be when we play Ross County, but that's just my opinion.

16-07-2017, 07:28 PM
I was at the game and it was okay. 4-0 against a League 2 side isn't anything to get too carried away about but it was a comfortable win and the team will get stronger every time they play together. Simon Murray runs around a lot and works hard, and credit to him, he chipped in with a couple of goals, Fraser Murray still looks quite raw but also looks as if he'll be a really good player in the future. Took his goal really well. Probably the best indication of how this current Hibs team is progressing will be when we play Ross County, but that's just my opinion.

Probably the most one sided game I can ever remember

Hibs looked very good for first 25 - 30 minutes then when the game was won took their foot of the gas big time and got pretty sloppy for about half an hour before cranking it up again later.

I would like to think they were conserving energy and it was very close and muggy yesterday.

When they were at it in the first 25-30 McGinn and McGeouch were very good. I love watching McGeouch he just oozes class and composure.

Both Murray's were very good, but Simon's first touch and control are a bit iffy and he needs to become a better finisher.

The goalie made two good saves from him but his lack of precision made them saveable whereas they shouldn't have been.

He will do fine for us though and will maybe improve when he calms down a bit as he may be trying too hard to impress.

Fraser is very slight, but a really intelligent footballer with a good touch, it will be interesting to see how he fares in the hurly burly of the SPL.

Porteous is going to be a great player in a very difficult role for a young man and is also a good footballer with a good pass and weight of pass on him. I would class him as more Hanlon that McGregor but with a harder physical presence and rougher edge than a younger Hanlon.

A good team performance where everyone played their part with no failures. Not a team robust enough IMO for the rigours of the SPL but with plenty of players who weren't available yesterday to come into contention.

We could do with IMO another couple of strikers and another creative midfielder but other than that are good to go.

I am more convinced than ever that we were right to let those we did leave, leave including Fyvie, but with the possible exception of Keatings (depending on what forward replacements we bring in)

If Murray was signed as Keatings replacement I would be okay with that as IMO other than the odd spectacular goal and his set plays Keatings all round game wasn't what we required.

If he wasn't scoring his contribution was minimal and Murray has a better all round game

myquest9
16-07-2017, 08:45 PM
What a game