View Full Version : Official Site: WHITTAKER JOINS ON A THREE YEAR DEAL

RSS Bot
15-07-2017, 09:00 AM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/7679)

15-07-2017, 09:00 AM
Wahey!

We now know the correct defition of 'imminent'

15-07-2017, 09:01 AM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/7679)Finally. Welcome back home.

Devonhibs
15-07-2017, 09:01 AM
Wow didn't know that was in the offing, welcome back:thumbsup:

15-07-2017, 09:02 AM
Quality over quantity.

Great signing, welcome back Steven.

15-07-2017, 09:03 AM
Early in the week?

BarneyHibby
Welcome Back Steven!

It must be 5pm somewhere.

15-07-2017, 09:04 AM
FFS 3 YEARS, what are you thinking Lennon?

15-07-2017, 09:05 AM
Good to hear it's finally done. Quite surprising to see us offer a 3 year deal to a 33 year old but Lennon and the club obviously have faith in him.

Now to see where he plays!

15-07-2017, 09:06 AM

Yeah, that's absolutely mad.

Bob Box Fish
15-07-2017, 09:06 AM
Welcome home.

Quality signing.

I reckon it was the 3 years that held things up.

scooby
15-07-2017, 09:08 AM
There's no smoke without fire 🔥🔥🔥

GreenOnions
15-07-2017, 09:08 AM
Quality player with bags of experience, versatility and physical presence. Exactly what we need and I'm sure he will be a big help to the younger lads coming through too. Welcome back Steven ☺

berwickhibee
15-07-2017, 09:09 AM
In 3 years time he will be 36. Aaron hughes at hearts is 37 now. Lennon has said he is in great condition.whits was always an athlete,age doesnt worry me at all. Excellent news.

Hibeewilly
15-07-2017, 09:10 AM
Fantastic signing - well done Hibs. Welcome home Steven:thumbsup:

Woah, this came out of the blue. Great signing.

Decent addition to the squad. But not sure where is going to play?

Is this tomorrow or today?

15-07-2017, 09:12 AM
Great signing and his experience will be valuable

Can he play today?

Addition to the squad is the key thing. Not everyone will be available every week. He'll start the first league game at right back so the position could be his to lose.

Great signing and his experience will be valuable

Can he play today?
Not eligible for today

Good to hear it's finally done. Quite surprising to see us offer a 3 year deal to a 33 year old but Lennon and the club obviously have faith in him.

Now to see where he plays!

Delighted this is wrapped up.

I think everyone must be a bit surprised that's it's a 3 year deal but it is a British fascination with age. Guys in Italy and France are regularly playing til they're 36+ as they've looked after themselves. Whittaker seems to fall into that bracket (as does Berra actually) so hopefully he'll be playing another 100 odd games for us

15-07-2017, 09:13 AM
Whats going on this is Saturday.Not 5pm Friday lol

15-07-2017, 09:14 AM
Good to see him back, eventually. :greengrin

Bob Box Fish
15-07-2017, 09:15 AM
Henderson next please ....

Welcome back - a versatile player who should add more depth and competition for places.

Can't play today though.

Still need a goal scoring midfielder and minimum 2 strikers - 3 if Graham leaves. We need a main striker to replace Cummings goals as lot to ask for Shaw / Murray / Boyle / Swanson (who I think will add goals).

yonder1875
Welcome back SW!

Hibeewilly
15-07-2017, 09:16 AM
Right back left back anywhere in midfield. Good players like him can play anywhere

15-07-2017, 09:17 AM
Sooo... It's not happening tomorrow then :greengrin

Over the line and over the moon :flag:

JimboHibs

Most probably on the left or right & possibly in midfield.

I'm assuming that this your attempt at humour.

15-07-2017, 09:18 AM
What are we going to talk about now?

Welcome back Steven

JimboHibs
15-07-2017, 09:18 AM
Great signing welcome back.

banchoryhibs
15-07-2017, 09:19 AM
3 years! Wow, but his experience will help bring the youngsters through too.
Maybe this was the deal maker that won him for us.
Welcome home Steven!

Welcome back Steven

Stokes? :greengrin

Yeah, that's absolutely mad.

Not really, he has a wealth of experience and that's great. He will still be able to play at a high standard for most of this contract, and remember his quality, it's still there.

Even if he does not play every game, he will still come in and we won't notice any loss in quality.

In fact, he will start as our right back as SDG is suspended, it will be his place to lose.

15-07-2017, 09:20 AM
Hats off to the poster (cant remember who it was) who said we couldnt announce it until the 15th.

15-07-2017, 09:24 AM
Hallelujah!

15-07-2017, 09:24 AM
Great signing and 3 years is a great bit of business he will likely start and finish his career with hibs. Well done HFC

15-07-2017, 09:25 AM
Never seen that coming and to think wasn't even talked about on here totally under the radar signing,

But on a serious note. 3 years is a long time, but if Lennon thinks he's fit and worth the 3 years I'm happy with that. However genuine concern now will Lennon be here in 2years time especially for his last year under contract and what if SW's legs have gone and another manager has signing restraints due to paying SW and not fit to play?

Well we'll know the answer in 3 years, but I for one think this will be a good signing for us.

BH Hibs
15-07-2017, 09:25 AM
Welcome back Steven.

15-07-2017, 09:27 AM
His last contract probably so understand why it took its time.

Bottom line is we have a damn fine player on the books.

15-07-2017, 09:29 AM
Delighted this is wrapped up.

I think everyone must be a bit surprised that's it's a 3 year deal but it is a British fascination with age. Guys in Italy and France are regularly playing til they're 36+ as they've looked after themselves. Whittaker seems to fall into that bracket (as does Berra actually) so hopefully he'll be playing another 100 odd games for us

I agree, I don't think we'd have given him that length of contract without being very sure about his condition. Full backs in their mid thirties are pretty rare and Lennon mention him playing midfield a couple of days ago so wondering if that's where he might end up.

15-07-2017, 09:31 AM
I thought Hibs didn't do weekend announcements as someone pointed out, welcome back Whitty 😁

Slavers
15-07-2017, 09:31 AM
In 3 years time he will be 36. Aaron hughes at hearts is 37 now. Lennon has said he is in great condition.whits was always an athlete,age doesnt worry me at all. Excellent news.

This. Whittaker is a natural athlete, he will be the type of player that will be looking for a new deal at the end of this 3 years.

15-07-2017, 09:33 AM

Welcome back StevenThe Stokes saga continues mate...and then there's Hendo so don't worry lol

15-07-2017, 09:34 AM
He will end his career here, I think he has 2 seasons in him playing consistently as he's always been very fit, that third year will be winding down/random cover from the bench unless he's one of those players that just keeps going.

Still it's a good deal and provides more depth and quality to our squad, this and Ambrose are the type of signings that we'd have no chance of making last year in that horrible pish league.

15-07-2017, 09:34 AM
This. Whittaker is a natural athlete, he will be the type of player that will be looking for a new deal at the end of this 3 years.

He’ll be keen to stay at that point to win our 4th Scottish Cup in a row. Or 5th out of 6 years.

SON OF PADDY
15-07-2017, 09:36 AM
Hats off to the poster (cant remember who it was) who said we couldnt announce it until the 15th.

Was probably Mr Whittaker himself. 😁

wallmack
15-07-2017, 09:36 AM
welcome back

15-07-2017, 09:37 AM
Welcome back, 3 years is a wee bit of a risk for a player whose trump card is athleticism but he looks fit as a flea and Kenny Miller, who recently has been one of the best players in Scotland, will be 38 in December. I think this is a very good bit of business for Hibs and Whittaker.

15-07-2017, 09:43 AM
Was probably Mr Whittaker himself. 😁

To be fair, we've had all sorts of dates bandied about, so someone had to get it right eventually. Signing date bingo!

15-07-2017, 09:45 AM
Excellent news,,,who`s next. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

15-07-2017, 09:47 AM
Woohoo 😀

15-07-2017, 09:48 AM
Brilliant signing!

Very impressed with the transfer dealings so far in Marciano on a 4YD and whitty on 3YD

15-07-2017, 09:53 AM
Henderson next please ....

Stokes first, then Henderson.

15-07-2017, 09:55 AM
Henderson, Stokes and another top drawer striker please.

15-07-2017, 10:02 AM

This. Unfortunately lost in amongst all the awful 5pm and tomorrow patter.

15-07-2017, 10:03 AM
Stokes first, then Henderson.

Yup - we needs goals and a main striker.

As much as I would love Henderson to join I don't know where he would play and we need strikers or we will have lots of draws this season.

15-07-2017, 10:06 AM
Suspect the only sticking point on this deal has been the length of contract, with Hibs offering 2 years and the players representatives wanting 3.
Has just turned 33 so will play his last game of his contract before his 36th birthday.
Hope he still has what he had.

Roxyhibee
15-07-2017, 10:06 AM
Great signing. 3 year deal is good business too - Whittaker will give us so much in that time.

Anyone with any fears about his age and physical fitness should remember the likely Wimbledon Champions this year are going to be 37 and 35 in one of the hardest sports going. Longevity in sport has completely transformed this past few years with better physiology information and knowledge.

15-07-2017, 10:07 AM
The Stokes saga continues mate...and then there's Hendo so don't worry lol

Yip & throw Church in to satisfy those of a negative persuasion:hibees

gogsy23
15-07-2017, 10:08 AM
Welcome home whitty. 3yr deal to boot 👍👏👏👏

15-07-2017, 10:09 AM
Great signing, it will be interesting to see where Lennon plays him.

TelaStella
15-07-2017, 10:10 AM
Welcome home big man can't wait to see you pulling on the colours again

15-07-2017, 10:12 AM
Whittaker Ambrose and Marciano must represent as good a window as we have had particularly when we still have more to come.

15-07-2017, 10:18 AM
Great signing. 3 year deal is good business too - Whittaker will give us so much in that time.

Anyone with any fears about his age and physical fitness should remember the likely Wimbledon Champions this year are going to be 37 and 35 in one of the hardest sports going. Longevity in sport has completely transformed this past few years with better physiology information and knowledge.

Good point.

If footballers look after themselves and avoid injuries they can often play well into their late 30s.

And none of us know the terms of the contract beyond the headline '3 year deal'. It could be structured in 1,000 different ways.

Welcome back Steven. One more medal at least eh? :wink:

15-07-2017, 10:23 AM
about time, welcome home!

15-07-2017, 10:27 AM
I wont believe this till 3 years from now

15-07-2017, 10:28 AM
Welcome home Steven! Now that Lafferty is at Hearts and Whittaker is here, I'll have no one to boo or cheer at Norwich games. :boo hoo:

15-07-2017, 10:31 AM
On top of his footballing ability he's a good pro and will set a good example to the youngsters in the squad.

Welcome back Whitty.

15-07-2017, 10:32 AM
A great signing ,,, can play RB, LB and midfield ... 3 years is a bit of a surprise, but his fitness doesn't seem in any doubt and his ability certainly isn't.

Welcome back Steven :aok:

EskbankHibby
15-07-2017, 10:41 AM
Whittaker Ambrose and Marciano must represent as good a window as we have had particularly when we still have more to come.

Agreed, 3 experienced internationals. Great business by the club.

15-07-2017, 10:41 AM
Really good signing.

15-07-2017, 10:43 AM
Fantastic signing.

Great to have him back

Bluto
15-07-2017, 10:44 AM
Great to hear this one is finally over the line and what a great addition it is to have one of our own back where he belongs. Now can we switch off the alarm bells and restore our trust in the club and have some faith in our manager. Still over a month until the window closes and I think it's all coming together quite nicely, albeit in the slow lane but good things come to those who wait.

15-07-2017, 10:50 AM

Protecting his potential sell on value, duh!!!!!!

15-07-2017, 10:54 AM

That's was me!

For the first time ever I was ITK!

Not likely to happen again unfortunately :-(

sadtom
15-07-2017, 11:17 AM
Fantastic.
Welcome home Steven.
He always struck me as a sensible laddie and a model pro. As long as he stayed injury free i never had any doubts he could play well into his mid/late 30's.
I think some folk dont realise what a great signing this is. He was a terrific player when he left us, now he's back a few are wondering if he will be as good. He wont...he'll be better. More experienced and built like a brick s**thouse. I reckon we'll be raving about him in the coming weeks.
His versatility is a great bonus too.
He can be used as cover for either full back but i reckon he will be more used in midfieled, his original position. Or if we play 3 at the back he'll be in the wing-back role and one of the 1st names on the teamsheet.
Excellent bit of business Hibs.

15-07-2017, 11:17 AM
There's no smoke without fire 🔥🔥🔥

However, there is fire with a Stokes. :greengrin

15-07-2017, 11:21 AM

Add in Swanson and potentially Stokes and it's been terrific. With Murray as let's say a backup option and the rise of Fraser Murray, Porteous, Shaw etc I'd say we are looking very strong.

15-07-2017, 11:22 AM
Good signing :hyper

15-07-2017, 11:23 AM
FWIW one of my Norwich supporting friends this morning:

'Yeah cracking going forward, really good if he's got a winger ahead of him that understands his game. Loves a 1-2 and overlapping'

'He's still pretty rapid'

'A tank of a penalty taker'

'Poor in 1 on 1 defending situations and with players cutting inside'

Overall thinks he's still a very good player.

15-07-2017, 11:40 AM
3 years? Wonder if length of contract was part of the delay?

Anyway great signing and competition for both right back and right midfield.

15-07-2017, 11:42 AM
Great signing sure to add to the quality of the squad and he knows exactly what is needed to be a Hibs player!

Welcome home Steven.

highland hibbee
15-07-2017, 11:45 AM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/7679)

Well done Hibs!!!

15-07-2017, 11:46 AM
3 years? Wonder if length of contract was part of the delay?

Anyway great signing and competition for both right back and right midfield.

Don't know whether he has any coaching aspirations but you'd imagine Hibs might think about getting him involved in that side of things given the length of the deal.

1875STEVE
15-07-2017, 11:48 AM
Superb signing.

The boy is an athlete, no worries whatsoever with a 3 year deal. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

3rd international signed this window. :thumbsup:

15-07-2017, 12:20 PM
In regards to him being signed until he turns 36; Kenny Miller is already 37 and he seems to be still going strong.

15-07-2017, 12:25 PM
Not sure why people get hung up on age. If you're good enough and fit enough the you're the right age.

Just look at Roger Federer.

15-07-2017, 12:27 PM
Welcome back!

Remember first seeing Whitty alongside OConnor and co in preseason against Craigroyston at St Marks park - stood next to Hibs.net Jamsie. whitty Scored from a free kick iirc? Got forward at will with drive.

15-07-2017, 12:27 PM
Totally out of left field Shockoronney I am just gob smacked took me by surprise.
Well done Hibs good luck Whitty :greengrin

15-07-2017, 12:28 PM
Marciano, Murray, Swanson, Ambrose and Whittaker.

Not a bad window.

15-07-2017, 12:30 PM
Who?

15-07-2017, 12:33 PM
welcome home Steven

15-07-2017, 12:39 PM
Very happy about this. Love Whitty as a player.

15-07-2017, 12:39 PM
Not sure why people get hung up on age. If you're good enough and fit enough the you're the right age.

Just look at Roger Federer.

The main drawback with signing older players is the lack of pace and he certainly seems to still have pace to burn. Even when he does inevitably lose a few yards, he'll still be relatively quick and his experience will see him move into a different role.

Great signing.

15-07-2017, 12:50 PM

Agree. Im glad the club were able to go the three years. His experience and quality will be great. I wouldnt be surprised if he is still got it at SPL level three years from now..

Looking forward to the odd mazy run now...

15-07-2017, 01:12 PM
Protecting his potential sell on value, duh!!!!!!

15-07-2017, 01:23 PM
Marciano, Murray, Swanson, Ambrose and Whittaker.

Not a bad window.

Your spot on but we needs strikers

15-07-2017, 01:40 PM
Gonna miss Mark Venus shouting "Whitteeeeee, Whitteeeeee":greengrin

15-07-2017, 01:41 PM
Your spot on but we needs strikers

:agree: Hibs were incredibly lucky with Cummings. He was brought in at a time of desperation (relegation POs) and has filled the lead striker/goal scorer role for 3 straight years amazingly well. Everyone else we've brought in since has blown hot and cold. Looks like we've finally got a goalkeeper and defence worthy of the Prem but badly need 1 or 2 goal scorers to finish the job. Without them, it's going to be a hard slog.

15-07-2017, 01:46 PM
I'm so relieved that Hearts didn't come in and steal him - they ALWAYS do that. Maybe they'll go for Hendo now?
This signing saga thread must be right up there with War & Peace. :rolleyes:

15-07-2017, 01:47 PM
A quality signing.
Welcome Steven and well done Hibs for getting this over the line, eventually!

15-07-2017, 02:01 PM
Delighted that we've secured him! What folk also forget is he literally only turned 33 just 3 weeks ago! The 3 year deal doesn't concern me in the slightest. He was always a very fit player.

We've signed quality here.

random sub
15-07-2017, 03:15 PM
Welcome back Whittaker- a bit of craft, graft and athleticism....and the odd goal or two!

15-07-2017, 03:19 PM
Welcome Steven!

15-07-2017, 03:30 PM
Good players always welcome at Easter Road. Welcome back Whitty :flag:

15-07-2017, 03:49 PM
Gives us a selection headache that's always nice to have. Good signing!

15-07-2017, 04:15 PM
Was one of the best players in the golden generation

15-07-2017, 04:20 PM
Was one of the best players in the golden generation

Best career of the golden generation IMO.

Multiple trophies, including one with Hibs. European final. Scotland caps. Played in the premier league. No bad.

15-07-2017, 04:23 PM

Both our full backs are under pressure ...much needed competition in my eyes for them ..

15-07-2017, 05:17 PM
Both our full backs are under pressure ...much needed competition in my eyes for them ..

15-07-2017, 05:24 PM
If you said to me at the beginning of last season that we would have Ambrose, Swanson and Whittaker in the squad next season I would have been delighted. Great upgrade on what we originally had, get rid of Graham and bring in two decent strikers along with another creative midfielder we are ready to go

High-On-Hibs
15-07-2017, 05:31 PM
He's an experienced player who keeps himself in tip top condition who could play quite comfortably at this level, even at 40. 3 years isn't a problem.

Wee Effen Bee
15-07-2017, 07:34 PM
"Ahm no gon back if we dinnae sign sumday, ivry other team's bote mair than us...

Hibs signed Rocky, Swanson, Efe, Murray early doors -

"...aye bit they dinnae count cos Efe ind Rocky were here last year...plus, Hibs are sitting on their erses and no signing good players. Murray is shight anaw

Hibs admit working like beavers behind the scenes but lose out on a couple of players - announce the signing Whitaker - ex internationalist, extremely fit and shed loads of experience -

"...aye bit they didnae give us hints ind tell us they were gaun aboot their business in a professional manner and Whitaker is too auld ttae gie a 3 year contract!"

He can play any full back position and anywhere across the midfield. He is a consummate professional who has looked after himself and will be a positive role model for the young team. He may even bring some of his experience onto the coaching field -

"he'll be 36which is far too auld take be playing fur us…"

He will be 36 at the end of his contract!

"…aye, aye bit where's he gonnae play? We should be signing forwards! anywiy"

15-07-2017, 09:43 PM
Best career of the golden generation IMO.

Multiple trophies, including one with Hibs. European final. Scotland caps. Played in the premier league. No bad.

A very good career but i think Fletcher pips him imho

15-07-2017, 09:47 PM
A very good career but i think Fletcher pips him imho

Not for me. Think Fletcher has under achieved on the football front, even if his bank balance says different. After his first 6 months at Sunderland it's all been a bit down hill for him.