13-07-2017, 11:28 AM
Imminent as in... 5PM?! :hyper

tomorrow :rolleyes:

13-07-2017, 11:29 AM
OK, my guess in the sweep

When Hibs.net says "Imminent" that means at 10.55pm on 31 August Deadline Day
But I really hope I'm wrong
Would love to see Stokes take on the The the The Rangers at the crumbledome in August!

13-07-2017, 11:30 AM
Stokes signing on a one year loan imminent. :wink:

You never know
There's no Stoke without fire

13-07-2017, 11:31 AM
If Stokes signs today, we should give this guy a prize.

If Stokes doesn't sign today... a lifetime ban?

Don't take this the wrong way but you average 2 posts a year so could be an agitator

:hyper :cup: :furious:

13-07-2017, 11:34 AM
If Stokes signs today, we should give this guy a prize. If Stokes doesn't sign today... a lifetime ban?

Or some of this??

13-07-2017, 11:34 AM
🙄🙄🙄

13-07-2017, 11:36 AM

Yep, unless we see the scarf above the head at 5pm, ban him.

guthrie01
13-07-2017, 11:36 AM
Be dissapointing not to get him on a perm but then again we desperately need a quality striker who will guarantee us goals this season which Stokes will no doubt bring

BegbieHSC
13-07-2017, 11:37 AM
Is he on a 2 or a 3 year deal with Blackburn? If he's out of contract at the end of a potential loan, it would be grand to snap him up on a permanent.

13-07-2017, 11:38 AM
Is he on a 2 or a 3 year deal with Blackburn? If he's out of contract at the end of a potential loan, it would be grand to snap him up on a permanent.

think he had a 3 year deal... so still 2 to run.

Souter96Mac
13-07-2017, 11:41 AM
:hyper

BegbieHSC
13-07-2017, 11:43 AM

Hear hear!

13-07-2017, 11:44 AM

Or some of this??

I already have my torch and matches ready, Aldo.

Just point me in the right direction...

13-07-2017, 11:49 AM
Don't take this the wrong way but you average 2 posts a year so could be an agitator

Or even an alligator for all we know! :wink:

Hillsidehibby
13-07-2017, 11:51 AM
I will find you, and I will kill you.......

13-07-2017, 11:53 AM

Let's hope this isn't another one that becomes a "tomorrow" signing.

13-07-2017, 11:54 AM

Or maybe he just speaks when he's got something important to say:hyper

13-07-2017, 11:55 AM
Let's hope this isn't another one that becomes a "tomorrow" signing.

150,000K at 5pm 🙈

13-07-2017, 11:57 AM

What a croc! :rolleyes:

Bleeds green
13-07-2017, 12:00 PM
Could the delay be the fact he's on about £8k a week at Blackburn wants to come to hibs but hibs can't match that and he doesn't want to lose too much. Blackburn want him off wage bill but he only wants to go to hibs as can't see him wanting to play in league 1 or 2 down south. A loan deal sees hibs pick up most of his wages and Blackburn still pay the rest then stokes keeps his pay packet and gets the move he wants

13-07-2017, 12:04 PM
What a croc! :rolleyes:

Snappy! :greengrin

13-07-2017, 12:09 PM
I'm having a mc chicken sandwich for my dinner

13-07-2017, 12:12 PM

I heard stokes and commons today with Whittaker next week after his final pay from Norwich

I have no idea if any of that is true and I'm defo not itk nor would I say my pal was either but I'll jump on the wagon

alihibs1
13-07-2017, 12:16 PM
I seriously cannot be arsed if this is a wind up. The joke about talking **** about when someone was signing was old ages ago. However if you are telling the truth then thank you and well done:)

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

13-07-2017, 12:17 PM
This forum is just full of wind up merchants

Souter96Mac
13-07-2017, 12:17 PM
Would love one of the cringy announcement videos, like Man United's for Pogba 'I'm back'

13-07-2017, 12:19 PM
I seriously cannot be arsed if this is a wind up. The joke about talking **** about when someone was signing was old ages ago. However if you are telling the truth then thank you and well done:)

don't worry mate, this is for real, I saw him on the number 26 with Jordi Cruyff, thought it was a mental coincidence but he's his new agent apparently.

:flag: :flag: :flag:

13-07-2017, 12:19 PM

If he/she is they haven't been to any games.
Think we would have heard about it :confused:

alihibs1
13-07-2017, 12:23 PM
don't worry mate, this is for real, I saw him on the number 26 with Jordi Cruyff, thought it was a mental coincidence but he's his new agent apparently.

:flag: :flag: :flag:
Were they getting the bus to Tescos?

13-07-2017, 12:24 PM
*logs off Hibs.net for the next week or two*

13-07-2017, 12:25 PM
I smell a huge pile of male farm animal excrement!

13-07-2017, 12:27 PM

Tomorrow?

13-07-2017, 12:31 PM
This forum is just full of wind

I think that's more appropriate.

This transfer window and this forum are starting to remind of that wee-known phrase "all fart and nae s***e".

Not that we want too much s***e, I suppose.

13-07-2017, 12:32 PM

One's aw zzzzzzzzzz :yawn:

13-07-2017, 12:37 PM
Whatever happened to a good old-fashioned sacrificial burning at the stake for erroneous folks with a low post count ;) ?

13-07-2017, 12:40 PM
Whatever happened to a good old-fashioned sacrificial burning at the stake for erroneous folks with a low post count ;) ?

Should be shot like the deserters in WW1. :greengrin :gun:

13-07-2017, 12:40 PM
Should be shot like the deserters in WW1. :greengrin :gun:

And then burned at the stake...

13-07-2017, 12:45 PM

Just to make sure. :agree:

13-07-2017, 12:52 PM
Hung, drawn and quartered as a punishment. Should never have been done away with.

13-07-2017, 12:54 PM
Hung, drawn and quartered as a punishment. Should never have been done away with. Hunt them down first surely (gif with pitch forks getting a good run today)

ehf
13-07-2017, 01:12 PM
Imminent as in... 5PM?! :hyper

I think he actually means "immanent".

As in:

Existing or operating within; inherent.
Example 1: 'the protection of liberties is immanent in constitutional arrangements'
Example 2: 'speculation that a particular player might sign for a particullar football club is immanent within discussions on internet fans' forums during the transfer window'

(Oxford English Dictionary)

13-07-2017, 01:17 PM
:hyper

13-07-2017, 01:19 PM
Maybe Admins could add "(rumour)" in the title until (confirmed) just to save precious time for those weary of trawling through these kind of threads.

13-07-2017, 01:20 PM
these threads are sooooooo boring now

13-07-2017, 01:47 PM
Time to have a few days off from this place I think.

13-07-2017, 02:02 PM
There will be a technical hold up on the clause where he gets to miss the game against Dundee on the 27th August.

13-07-2017, 02:03 PM
Tomorrow?

When it finally comes, tomorrow is gonna be amazing :thumbsup:

13-07-2017, 02:17 PM
these threads are sooooooo boring now
The whole place is like that the now mate. Been posting on here about six years and never have I read so much nonsense, most of which are poor attention seeking fishing attempts.

13-07-2017, 02:24 PM
The whole place is like that the now mate. Been posting on here about six years and never have I read so much nonsense, most of which are poor attention seeking fishing attempts.

Correct.

everyones a comedian.

13-07-2017, 02:35 PM
Correct.

everyones a comedian.

The next person that makes a hilarious joke about a signing tomorrow or any reference to something happening at 5pm should be launched imo.

13-07-2017, 02:47 PM
The next person that makes a hilarious joke about a signing tomorrow or any reference to something happening at 5pm should be launched imo.

to be fair, i think it's a pretty reasonable response to all the 'ITK' rubbish we've been told up to this point. that is what winds me up, and posting sarky rubbish is my way of venting. other people vent by calling people attention seeking, or suggesting that people who make jokes about transfers should be banned. no one is right or wrong, we'll all just getting antsy about the lack of signings, no point in blaming other members for your frustrations.

alihibs1
13-07-2017, 02:48 PM
Will they be launched at 5pm?

Saturday Boy
13-07-2017, 02:55 PM
Or maybe he just speaks when he's got something important to say:hyper

Imagine if that was the rulz. We'd have to close the site 😱

13-07-2017, 03:22 PM
Will they be launched at 5pm?

Just after the joint Stokes and Whittaker signing.

Blackfordhibby
13-07-2017, 04:01 PM
Just after the joint Stokes and Whittaker signing.

They're having a joint, then signing? No wonder they're taking their time.

13-07-2017, 05:40 PM
Ran out of matches.

13-07-2017, 06:55 PM
How loose is the term 'imminent'?

Does it mean in the next few minutes? Hours? Days? Weeks? .... Decades?

13-07-2017, 06:59 PM
How loose is the term 'imminent'?

Does it mean in the next few minutes? Hours? Days? Weeks? .... Decades?

5pm tomorrow.

13-07-2017, 07:02 PM

:agree: All of a sudden this site has more pricks than a porcupine. :greengrin

13-07-2017, 07:13 PM

Some complete roasters posting on here recently

13-07-2017, 07:34 PM
Agree with that statement

13-07-2017, 07:35 PM

Unless folk have consumed an 8am breakfast roll in Alfredo's their posts arnae worth a sook! ;-)

13-07-2017, 07:39 PM

Today or tomorrow? 😉

13-07-2017, 07:54 PM
Unless folk have consumed an 8am breakfast roll in Alfredo's their posts arnae worth a sook! ;-)

Does a Lorne roll at the Horseshoe bar count??

13-07-2017, 08:15 PM

Only if you have ID :thumbsup:

13-07-2017, 08:19 PM
Only if you have ID :thumbsup:

[emoji23] forgot about that. [emoji106]

13-07-2017, 08:23 PM
[emoji23] forgot about that. [emoji106]

A very funny moment though :agree: :thumbsup:

Infact, was priceless for the look on her face :faf:

13-07-2017, 08:25 PM
A very funny moment though :agree: :thumbsup: Infact, was priceless for the look on her face :faf:

It was cos everyone stopped looked at me then BOOM!! They knew what was about to happen.😂

13-07-2017, 09:06 PM

Aye!

13-07-2017, 09:12 PM

The roasting of the yams...

Big L
14-07-2017, 11:07 AM
I checked the Blackburn squad photos in Austria, never seen Stokesy, does anyone know if he traveled with them ?

14-07-2017, 11:13 AM

Hutchy kens!

14-07-2017, 11:41 AM
I checked the Blackburn squad photos in Austria, never seen Stokesy, does anyone know if he traveled with them ?

He didn't and Mowbray was talking the other day about only having one striker (Danny Graham) in his squad.

alihibs1
14-07-2017, 12:04 PM
He didn't and Mowbray was talking the other day about only having one striker (Danny Graham) in his squad.
Looks like he's on his way back to Easter Road!

14-07-2017, 12:06 PM
Waiting for tomorrow is becoming as long as the two weeks were awaiting Farid's return from injury.

Big L
14-07-2017, 02:56 PM

I read Blackburn were signing a striker from Reading, Stokes deal might follow that.

GGTTH07
14-07-2017, 03:54 PM
I'm never 'In the know', however I've been told by an ex hibs team mate of Stokes he'll 100% be a hibs player!

14-07-2017, 04:43 PM
I'm never 'In the know', however I've been told by an ex hibs team mate of Stokes he'll 100% be a hibs player!

Which one?

14-07-2017, 04:45 PM
Which one?

I'm hoping Anthony Stokes 😁

14-07-2017, 05:00 PM
The plot thickens

14-07-2017, 05:07 PM
I smell a huge pile of male farm animal excrement!

Smells awfy like the dung smell from jamboids

14-07-2017, 05:15 PM
Was told the other day that his 14k a week contract has probably been reduced to around 8k with their relegation to the 3rd tier.

I know Mowbray was wanting whoever was taking him to stump up 5k, i wonder if thats dropped now his wages are less?

Although thinking about that, Mowbray said this after the season ended, and would know about the drop in wages.

14-07-2017, 05:52 PM
Was told the other day that his 14k a week contract has probably been reduced to around 8k with their relegation to the 3rd tier.

I know Mowbray was wanting whoever was taking him to stump up 5k, i wonder if thats dropped now his wages are less?

Although thinking about that, Mowbray said this after the season ended, and would know about the drop in wages.

I'm hoping Mowbray still feels guilty about his behaviour when he brought Celtc to ER and is desperate to make it up to us. :wink:

14-07-2017, 05:58 PM
I'm hoping Mowbray still feels guilty about his behaviour when he brought Celtc to ER and is desperate to make it up to us. :wink:

I'm afraid I don't have the same admiration for Mowbray (as a manager) that a lot of folk on Hibsnet have.

14-07-2017, 06:30 PM
I'm afraid I don't have the same admiration for Mowbray (as a manager) that a lot of folk on Hibsnet have.
I'm not alone then, thank goodness.

Jag7
14-07-2017, 06:31 PM
I'm not alone then, thank goodness.

Seconded

14-07-2017, 06:35 PM
Seconded

Thirded. Just the way that he left then came back with the Celtic huddle.

14-07-2017, 06:37 PM
I'm hoping Anthony Stokes 😁

😂😂

14-07-2017, 06:55 PM
I agree r.e. mowbray - a team that often cracked under pressure and gave us some great memories, but a few too many nightmares against hearts.

14-07-2017, 07:08 PM
I agree r.e. mowbray - a team that often cracked under pressure and gave us some great memories, but a few too many nightmares against hearts.

A team of academy players and decent signings versus a team being financially doped to (literally) suicidal levels.

14-07-2017, 07:13 PM
Looks like he's on his way back to Easter Road!

The boy's purple replica top with Stokes on the back is getting looked out of the back of the wardrobe.:thumbsup:

14-07-2017, 08:12 PM
Thirded. Just the way that he left then came back with the Celtic huddle.

My memory is failing me. Did he join in the huddle or invent it? What did he do that was so bad, apart from **** off to WBA at a poor time obviously.

14-07-2017, 08:15 PM
A team of academy players and decent signings versus a team being financially doped to (literally) suicidal levels.

Exactly, their wage bill was 6-7 times ours at the time and we really had no reason to expect to beat them at that time. The "Unbeatable" Derby was one of our best ever victories against them given the circumstances and a cracking match to boot.

14-07-2017, 08:15 PM

We were still more than capable of matching them, and said team of academy players were the best generation to come through in decades. If we had turned up we would have won, and that failure is down to the manager. Not saying it legitimises their 'victories' though!

14-07-2017, 08:18 PM
We were still more than capable of matching them, and said team of academy players were the best generation to come through in decades. If we had turned up we would have won, and that failure is down to the manager. Not saying it legitimises their 'victories' though!

Do you take into account their lack of experience or is that just to be ignored?

14-07-2017, 08:22 PM
My memory is failing me. Did he join in the huddle or invent it? What did he do that was so bad, apart from **** off to WBA at a poor time obviously.
Yes , he did invent it but he joined his Celtic players in a victory huddle at ER , when he was their manager. Poor show yes but he gave us some magic moments as our boss .

14-07-2017, 08:26 PM
Yes , he did invent it but he joined his Celtic players in a victory huddle at ER , when he was their manager. Poor show yes but he gave us some magic moments as our boss .

Ta. The victory huddle **** is coming back to me now. Not that he had many opportunities to enact that in his time there. And he really created the huddle? I'd have put that as far back as Martin O'Neill.

14-07-2017, 08:27 PM
Ta. The victory huddle **** is coming back to me now. Not that he had many opportunities to enact that in his time there. And he really created the huddle? I'd have put that as far back as Martin O'Neill.

As a player.

14-07-2017, 08:28 PM

Mogga was a cracking manager if stubbsy hadn't won us the cup he's be my favourite. Right manager right time.

Tony Mowbray, mark Venus, Craig levein's a f****ng p***s.

14-07-2017, 08:31 PM
As a player.

Ah. Can't grumble about that then. He was a pretty well regarded club man and he's left a bit of a legacy at Parkhead in that respect. Think I can forgive him having a cuddle with his team after a win.

14-07-2017, 08:31 PM
Do you take into account their lack of experience or is that just to be ignored?

I'm speaking of 3 games in the season 05-06 where we conceeded 4 goals. Players like riordan, o'connor, whitty, brown, thomson had been in the first team for 2-3 full seasons by that point, so they were not all that inexperienced. The only mitigating factor from a hibs performance point of view is the injuries and suspensions we had for the semi final. My ultimate point is that loosing 3 times by 3/4 goals to your biggest rivals in one season when they aren't actually that much better than you is unacceptable, regardless of what that team cost to put together (because while it was expensive team, it wasn't exactly value for money they were getting). If we had lost 1/2 nil on 3 occassions i wouldn't be overly critical of mowbray but the fact is the team bottled it big time.

14-07-2017, 08:34 PM
I'm speaking of 3 games in the season 05-06 where we conceeded 4 goals. Players like riordan, o'connor, whitty, brown, thomson had been in the first team for 2-3 full seasons by that point, so they were not all that inexperienced. The only mitigating factor from a hibs performance point of view is the injuries and suspensions we had for the semi final. My ultimate point is that loosing 3 times by 3/4 goals to your biggest rivals in one season when they aren't actually that much better than you is unacceptable, regardless of what that team cost to put together (because while it was expensive team, it wasn't exactly value for money they were getting). If we had lost 1/2 nil on 3 occassions i wouldn't be overly critical of mowbray but the fact is the team bottled it big time.

Not facts, your opinion.

14-07-2017, 08:39 PM
Not facts, your opinion.

Gretna did give them a harder time in that final than we did in the semi though. And we had pumped the Huns away and Falkirk away to get there. It was pretty awful I'm sure you'll agree.

14-07-2017, 08:44 PM

Graham Stack joined in as well. Now that was comedy gold. Stack in the middle with you :greengrin

14-07-2017, 08:47 PM
Gretna did give them a harder time in that final than we did in the semi though. And we had pumped the Huns away and Falkirk away to get there. It was pretty awful I'm sure you'll agree.

It was, our players barely turned up. Then again we were hardly at full strength, had lost O'Connor who won a Russian Cup Final for his new club at the end of that season, Riordan was unjured and the Hearts team with a 10M pound wage bill were in better form. Gretna (RIP) busted a gut (at full strength) in the final as they should have and were also another team being financially doped. That's not excuses, just the way things panned out.

14-07-2017, 08:50 PM

We scored 14 goals in 3 cup ties, 2 away from home, then sold our striker, who had scored in every round, before the semi final. Even worse, it was long after our window had closed but unfortunately the Russian one was still open. Not sure I've yet forgiven RP for that decision.

14-07-2017, 08:51 PM
Mowbray was one in a long list of managers who treated derbies like they were "just another game", and paid the price accordingly. However, I became a fan in his second season so didn't experience his team at their peak.

14-07-2017, 09:06 PM
It was, our players barely turned up. Then again we were hardly at full strength, had lost O'Connor who won a Russian Cup Final for his new club at the end of that season, Riordan was unjured and the Hearts team with a 10M pound wage bill were in better form. Gretna (RIP) busted a gut (at full strength) in the final as they should have and were also another team being financially doped. That's not excuses, just the way things panned out.

IIRC we were also missing Killen & Stewart. The talent we had up front that season was ridiculous. Derek, Gaz, Fletch, Benjy, Killen,not to mention Paul Dalglish & the Mali Magician!

14-07-2017, 09:07 PM
A team of academy players and decent signings versus a team being financially doped to (literally) suicidal levels.Those academy players were top class players. Brown, Thomson, Whitty, O'Connor and Riordan were all top 5 at their roles in the league at the time. Add Murphy, Boozy, Caldwell etc and you should have more derby wins that he managed.

That being said, I very much look back on Mowbrays time well, were we ****ing great to watch after a few boring years. 3rd and 4th in his 2 seasons in a much better SPL.

15-07-2017, 01:22 AM

Riordan suspended. Brown injured.

15-07-2017, 06:11 AM
As a player.

They stole the huddle idea from Athlelc Bilbiho.

alihibs1
15-07-2017, 08:56 AM
Sunsport reporting that Hibs could be out priced:(:(

15-07-2017, 09:12 AM
Sunsport reporting that Hibs could be out priced:(:(

Just saw that on twitter but they didn't name another club. Could be his agent playing Hibs in the press to squeeze a wee bit more out of us

15-07-2017, 09:15 AM
Just saw that on twitter but they didn't name another club. Could be his agent playing Hibs in the press to squeeze a wee bit more out of us

I'd it's a loan why would his agent be trying to squeeze more money out of us? He'll get same wage regardless. More likely just paper talk because there's nothing else to write about.

ElginHibbie
15-07-2017, 09:17 AM
I'd it's a loan why would his agent be trying to squeeze more money out of us? He'll get same wage regardless. More likely just paper talk because there's nothing else to write about.

Not a loan though, reported he's closing to agreeing a pay off

15-07-2017, 09:21 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1287756/neil-lennons-hibs-fear-they-are-about-to-be-priced-out-of-move-for-ex-celtic-star-anthony-stokes/amp/

Sun reporting he has agreed a pay off with Blackburn. Let's hope his desire to move to Edinburgh sways him instead of the cash. With Elvis to pay I'm sceptical that he'll choose us.

15-07-2017, 09:22 AM
I'd be gutted if Stokes had everything lined up with Hibs to get the deal done and then chased the money elsewhere. Can understand that it's hard to turn away what would likely be several hundreds of thousands of pounds though.

That's a much easier decision to make when you're not the one making it.

Hopefully Hibs move very quickly to get him to agree terms and commit pen to paper on a contract.

15-07-2017, 09:30 AM
Interesting that Kenny Millar on Twitter having given it big licks all summer that stokes was Defo signing...appears to be back tracking this morning saying he is "less positive now"...thats concerning me. Hope there are other irons in the fire in case this all goes t##s up

15-07-2017, 09:31 AM
I'd be gutted if Stokes had everything lined up with Hibs to get the deal done and then chased the money elsewhere. Can understand that it's hard to turn away what would likely be several hundreds of thousands of pounds though.

That's a much easier decision to make when you're not the one making it.

Hopefully Hibs move very quickly to get him to agree terms and commit pen to paper on a contract.

Matty it would. Hope he doesn't chase the cash and see's sense and come back and play every week!

We shall see!

15-07-2017, 09:39 AM
Does everyone have their meltdown hat at the ready :greengrin

15-07-2017, 09:39 AM
Interesting that Kenny Millar on Twitter having given it big licks all summer that stokes was Defo signing...appears to be back tracking this morning saying he is "less positive now"...thats concerning me. Hope there are other irons in the fire in case this all goes t##s up

He didn't at any point say that Stokes was definitely signing. No point in just making things up.

15-07-2017, 09:43 AM
He didn't at any point say that Stokes was definitely signing. No point in just making things up.I never meant that mate sorry but he did say last week he fully expected him to sign...im as desperate as any of us to see him come back...but Kenny doesn't appear confident anymore

15-07-2017, 09:44 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1287756/neil-lennons-hibs-fear-they-are-about-to-be-priced-out-of-move-for-ex-celtic-star-anthony-stokes/amp/

Sun reporting he has agreed a pay off with Blackburn. Let's hope his desire to move to Edinburgh sways him instead of the cash. With Elvis to pay I'm sceptical that he'll choose us.

The Elvis case may be an issue - he has / had a £200,000 fine to pay!

I think his girlfriend (if they are still together ) was from Edinburgh or near by so that may help.

bruno
15-07-2017, 09:45 AM

Kenny Miller is not that daft to have been saying that Stokes is defo signing

Think you need to re check his tweets

BlackSheep
15-07-2017, 09:56 AM
The Elvis case may be an issue - he has / had a £200,000 fine to pay!

I think his girlfriend (if they are still together ) was from Edinburgh or near by so that may help.

Give home a big signing on fee then.... if we are that keen on him then stump up

15-07-2017, 10:01 AM
Hibs should spend the 250K that we seem to have floating about on his signing on fee.

Cummings fee hasn't been spent and we NEED quality up top. I'll be pretty disappointed if the board fail in getting him.

15-07-2017, 10:04 AM
Have these other clubs been sniffing around all the time or is it convenient for the press to spice things up a bit now that he is imminently available?

15-07-2017, 10:08 AM
Another Scottish club were showing an interest earlier in the week. I do t know who the club were, I assumed Aberdeen at the time.

15-07-2017, 10:10 AM

I've always had my doubts as to whether he was a realistic prospect, but here's hoping.

15-07-2017, 10:11 AM
Another Scottish club were showing an interest earlier in the week. I do t know who the club were, I assumed Aberdeen at the time. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I can only be Aberdeen BH. He won't get a game at Celtic and won't sign for Sevco so that leaves the Dons.

I'd be very disappointed if he chased the money and ended up there!!

15-07-2017, 10:12 AM
Another Scottish club were showing an interest earlier in the week. I do t know who the club were, I assumed Aberdeen at the time.

Aberdeen can **** right off

15-07-2017, 10:35 AM

Think you need to re check his tweetsThere you go mate...https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170715/c9490148ce707ee31bc4d6b8289cbd6a.jpg

BlackSheep
15-07-2017, 10:37 AM
So who exactly are these supposed new suitors then...,, I hate the 'exclusive' articles that simply throw the cat among the pigeons without even a hint at who else is interested.

15-07-2017, 10:40 AM
So who exactly are these supposed new suitors then...,, I hate the 'exclusive' articles that simply throw the cat among the pigeons without even a hint at who else is interested.

If they are blowing us out of the water in terms of wages then I'd guess it's English clubs. Aberdeen might be able to offer him a bit more than us but I'm confident he'd come to us instead of them if it was a choice between the two.

heidtheba
15-07-2017, 10:40 AM

Or Lennon's response could simply be "we're not prepared to pay any more" rather than "we couldn't afford to pay any more". There will be a lot of clubs expecting the Cummings cash (and the pressure from us to find a replacement) to 'up' the level of fees/wages. Maybe the club is playing a blinder here in terms of making it clear that this won't hold us to ransom. Or maybe we're penny-pinching. I'd hope it was the former.

15-07-2017, 10:47 AM

A Dublon judge set that case aside. Elvis must now go thru civil court if he wants to take the case further but civil actions cost.

15-07-2017, 10:56 AM

Gave zibi a 3 year deal after the 2006 semi final and hid it from the fans.

15-07-2017, 11:02 AM

Now that was a disgrace.

15-07-2017, 01:49 PM

That was such a bad decision it could only have been done for spite against the club for some personal reason.
If not, then put it down to just one of his many bloomers.

15-07-2017, 04:39 PM

Hid it from the fans?

1875Sean
15-07-2017, 04:42 PM

Think you need to re check his tweets

If you read his twitter now he is less confident of it happening, he had obv heard of other teams offers

15-07-2017, 05:41 PM
Since Anthony left Hibernian,he appears to be in Edinburgh(or Dublin) every other week or so!
Clearly loves our fair City.

Aberdeen?
If he chooses to return to Scotland.. it could surely only be back with Hibernian.

15-07-2017, 05:45 PM

I'd imagine that as soon as it became known that we were interested, Levein will have suddenly become desperate to get his wonky big 6-fingered hands on him.

15-07-2017, 06:02 PM
If he comes fine if he doesn't then we are in no worse shape than we were last week

15-07-2017, 08:29 PM

Hid it from the fans?

That was a question if you're still about. Hid it from the fans?

15-07-2017, 08:33 PM
Fingers crossed hes signed next week

15-07-2017, 08:34 PM

That was my recollection as well tbf.

He gave him a 3 year deal and just never announced it.

Bizarre

15-07-2017, 08:38 PM
That was my recollection as well tbf.

He gave him a 3 year deal and just never announced it.

Bizarre

Tony Mowbray, whilst managing, coaching and picking the team was also responsible for announcing contract deals?
Absolute ****ing garbage more than bizarre.

15-07-2017, 09:11 PM

Apologies, I never saw this. My recollection was that he gave him a new contract not long after the 06 semi but there was no announcement at all from the club. I can't think of us ever renewing a contract of a first team player at the club and not announce it to the press. There were rumours on message boards about it a couple of months later but no confirmation. I think it only came out that he had a new 3 year deal after Mowbray left.

15-07-2017, 09:18 PM
Apologies, I never saw this. My recollection was that he gave him a new contract not long after the 06 semi but there was no announcement at all from the club. I can't think of us ever renewing a contract of a first team player at the club and not announce it to the press. There were rumours on message boards about it a couple of months later but no confirmation. I think it only came out that he had a new 3 year deal after Mowbray left.

That's exactly how I remember it happening!!!

15-07-2017, 09:22 PM

He, Tony Mowbray though, sanctioned this contract on his own (without board approval?) and thereafter deliberately hid it (as you suggested) from the media and therefore the general public? And me a shareholder of this very organisation......bollocks.

15-07-2017, 09:26 PM
He, Tony Mowbray though, sanctioned this contract on his own (without board approval?) and thereafter deliberately hid it (as you suggested) from the media and therefore the general public? And me a shareholder of this very organisation......bollocks.

There was no suggestion of hiding it from the board. His contract was renewed. There was no communication to tell fans about this. Rumours were rife on message boards. Eventually it was confirmed - I'm sure after Mowbray had left the club!!

15-07-2017, 09:29 PM

My recollection was actually a 4 year contract but it was definitely announced when Mowbray was still here. I remember him indignantly talking about his 'highly competent' goalkeeper which really did make me lose faith in him.

There was definitely a delay in announcing it though.

15-07-2017, 09:31 PM

Ok, you win. It never happened.

15-07-2017, 09:32 PM
There was no suggestion of hiding it from the board. His contract was renewed. There was no communication to tell fans about this. Rumours were rife on message boards. Eventually it was confirmed - I'm sure after Mowbray had left the club!!

How on earth would this be down to Mowbray? Managers announce contract renewals? The suggestion is that Tony Mowbray hid this deal from the fans.

15-07-2017, 09:33 PM
Eddie Turnbull thought Roddie McKenzie could do a job for Hibs. Every manager makes mistakes in the transfer market. Every one.

15-07-2017, 09:34 PM
My recollection was actually a 4 year contract but it was definitely announced when Mowbray was still here. I remember him indignantly talking about his 'highly competent' goalkeeper which really did make me lose faith in him.

There was definitely a delay in announcing it though.

Different again.

15-07-2017, 09:36 PM
Ok, you win. It never happened.

I don't think it did. Let's talk about it at the next HSL meeting to make sure there's no likelihood of it ever happening again. Unless you're on Netflix that night.

15-07-2017, 09:36 PM
That's exactly how I remember it happening!!!

Me 2

15-07-2017, 09:41 PM
I don't think it did. Let's talk about it at the next HSL meeting to make sure there's no likelihood of it ever happening again. Unless you're on Netflix that night.

Make sure what doesn't happen again?

15-07-2017, 09:44 PM
Eddie Turnbull thought Roddie McKenzie could do a job for Hibs. Every manager makes mistakes in the transfer market. Every one.
Ask Doddie about Eddie Turnbull buying Joe Harper........ :greengrin

BH Hibs
15-07-2017, 09:55 PM
Ask Doddie about Eddie Turnbull buying Joe Harper........ :greengrin

Better crank up the swear filter. :greengrin

15-07-2017, 10:03 PM
And back to the original thread...any news on Stokes?

15-07-2017, 10:37 PM
And back to the original thread...any news on Stokes?

Hes not coming...probably never was but we're bound to find someone else nowhere near as good

15-07-2017, 10:54 PM
STOKES SETBACK Neil Lennon’s Hibs fear they are about to be priced out of move for ex-Celtic star Anthony Stokes
SunSport revealed Neil Lennon’s desire to bring the Scottish Cup hero back to Easter Road for a third stint but Stokes has had other offers that ‘blow Hibs out of the water’ in terms of wages
EXCLUSIVE
By Kenny Millar
15th July 2017, 9:43 am Updated: 15th July 2017, 10:28 am

HIBS fear they are about to be priced out of a move for Anthony Stokes.

SunSport revealed Neil Lennon’s desire to bring the Scottish Cup hero back to Easter Road for a third stint and after a series of talks with the striker both the Hibees boss and club chiefs were increasingly optimistic that a deal could be struck.

Stokes is understood to have told them that it was his wish to return and he took in Lewis Stevenson’s testimonial match against Sunderland last Sunday.

Complex, protracted negotiations between the player and Blackburn over a severance package to bring about an early end to his contract had stalled negotiations, but it’s thought an agreement HAS finally been reached on that front.

However, that’s alerted rival suitors to Stokes’ availability with the former Republic of Ireland international having had alternative offers that ‘blow Hibs out of the water’ in terms of wages.

Lennon is said to have told Stokes that he can get the best out of him – as he did during their time together at Celtic – after a troubled spell with Rovers.

Former Hibs boss Tony Mowbray is keen to offload the 28-year-old, who managed only four goals last season at Ewood Park, and said previously that his absence from the first-team squad was to do with ‘personal issues’.

As well as Lennon, there are others close to Stokes who have made the same pitch to him, advising that he would be better off back in an environment he’s thrived in twice before, but his head has been turned by more lucrative options.

Hibs haven’t yet thrown in the towel but are continuing to pursue other targets, with top scorer Jason Cummings’ departure to Nottingham Forest leaving Lennon with only summer signing Simon Murray and highly-rated youngster Oli Shaw to choose from – with Brian Graham having been told he can leave if he finds another club.

They retain an interest in in-demand Motherwell striker Louis Moult but, like Aberdeen, are some distance apart from the Steelmen in their valuation of the 25-year-old.

In a boost for the Hibees, they have agreed a deal to bring right-back Steven Whittaker back to Easter Road and – a move first reported by SunSport.

After formally cutting ties with Norwich, Whittaker will be unveiled next week after penning a three-year deal.

Whittaker said: “I am delighted to be back at Hibernian. When I decided to return to Scotland, Hibernian was the club I hoped to come to. While the discussions have taken a while, they have always been positive and I am very pleased to be back playing at Easter Road for the Hibernian fans, and I hope I can play my part in ensuring a successful return to the top flight.”

16-07-2017, 01:24 AM
I still can't believe that anyone can quote or take anyone that writes of that rag seriously.

16-07-2017, 02:37 AM
I still can't believe that anyone can quote or take anyone that writes of that rag seriously.

If you would actually pay attention to your sources rather than blindly dismissing them then you'd know that Kenny Millar is easily the most reliable journalist when it comes to Hibs transfers, doesn't matter what sheity paper he's working for

16-07-2017, 03:47 AM
Reading this article suggests to me we're going to fail to sign Stokes. It almost sounds like it's been leaked to the Press on purpose to prepare us for the disappointment.
The scenario of us going for a popular player then failing to sign them just before the window closes has been played out so many times in the past. In fact, it's probably had more performances than "The Mouse Trap".
I'm still hoping he signs for us though.

16-07-2017, 05:37 AM
If you would actually pay attention to your sources rather than blindly dismissing them then you'd know that Kenny Millar is easily the most reliable journalist when it comes to Hibs transfers, doesn't matter what sheity paper he's working for

Whilst Kenny Millar has his finger on the pulse when it comes to Hibs, there has also been a very noticeable softening recently towards Hearts related stories, perhaps due to his liking of Cathro, to which i find a tad bizarre.

No true Hibby can surely write anything remotely positive about them haha.

16-07-2017, 05:38 AM
Reading this article suggests to me we're going to fail to sign Stokes. It almost sounds like it's been leaked to the Press on purpose to prepare us for the disappointment.
The scenario of us going for a popular player then failing to sign them just before the window closes has been played out so many times in the past. In fact, it's probably had more performances than "The Mouse Trap".
I'm still hoping he signs for us though.

If other teams are offering wages far in excess of our offer then it's game over, he won't be coming to Hibs.

16-07-2017, 06:58 AM
If other teams are offering wages far in excess of our offer then it's game over, he won't be coming to Hibs.
Yes this deal is dead in the water. The boys got bills to pay. But who would take him?

16-07-2017, 07:02 AM
Make sure what doesn't happen again?

Underhand moves by the people at our club, deliberately hiding stuff from the fans, the part owners.

16-07-2017, 07:14 AM
Yes this deal is dead in the water. The boys got bills to pay. But who would take him?

Aberdeen ?

16-07-2017, 07:16 AM
Aberdeen ?

If he ends up at Aberdeen this place will go into meltdown , alot of folk will find it hard to accept if we lose out on him for the sake of a grand or 2 a week

16-07-2017, 07:22 AM
If he ends up at Aberdeen this place will go into meltdown , alot of folk will find it hard to accept if we lose out on him for the sake of a grand or 2 a week

Justifiably so as well imo.

HibbySpurs
16-07-2017, 07:27 AM

If he ends up at the sheep then that's a PR disaster for the club. We are meant to be aiming for 2nd according to our manager yet if this was true it would mean we had lost out to one of our rivals for that spot on a key player as we couldn't compete with them for wages.

This right after Lafferty blanked us (regardless if people wanted him or not) for Hearts does not bode well in my opinion.

16-07-2017, 07:29 AM

Turkey.

Col_0762
16-07-2017, 07:35 AM
If he ends up at the sheep then that's a PR disaster for the club. We are meant to be aiming for 2nd according to our manager yet if this was true it would mean we had lost out to one of our rivals for that spot on a key player as we couldn't compete with them for wages.

This right after Lafferty blanked us (regardless if people wanted him or not) for Hearts does not bode well in my opinion.

As annoying as it is, they're probably more attractive an option than us at the moment. In fact, not probably, they are. Stokes is no different to anyone and will go to who pays the higher wages. After his court case he needs the dosh I would imagine. Hope we get him back though. Great wee player.

16-07-2017, 07:42 AM
Turkey.

The boy failed to settle in Blackburn because of the distance between friends/family. He'd be an absolute disaster if he went over to Turkey.

16-07-2017, 07:50 AM

An extra grand or two a week in wages for one player is a considerable amount of money for Hibs. We just can't blow £50 - 100 k to outbid anybody.

16-07-2017, 07:56 AM
An extra grand or two a week in wages for one player is a considerable amount of money for Hibs. We just can't blow £50 - 100 k to outbid anybody.
In this case we should because he's proven quality. If we can bid 250 grand for Berry we can afford to give it to Stokes as a signing on fee.

16-07-2017, 08:00 AM
In this case we should because he's proven quality. If we can bid 250 grand for Berry we can afford to give it to Stokes as a signing on fee.

Add in the sale of Cummings, record st sales and decent cup runs we should definitely be able to afford that.

16-07-2017, 08:04 AM
Add in the sale of Cummings, record st sales and decent cup runs we should definitely be able to afford that.

Perhaps the club are thinking beyond one (legendary) player and thinking more that we shouldnt spend it all on one marquee name?

We need a squad to compete in 3 competitions - wouldnt be clever to spend all the cash on Stokes and he gets injured in August.

16-07-2017, 08:08 AM
Absolutely. I've never really been one to criticise the board for penny pinching but if that's the case Stokes and the support deserve better.

Can they not see how short we are up top and we've got genuine talent willing to sign if we give him a half decent offer. Just shell out for once ffs

16-07-2017, 08:10 AM
What price momentum?

You break the bank for your cup winning, Derby winning talismanic goalscorer.

Everything else is a footnote

16-07-2017, 08:16 AM

If its aberdeen then were not just outbidding anybody , its the team we are hoping to compete with for 2nd/3rd place and european slots . As someone said previously losing out on him to the sheep would be a massive PR disaster and a kick in the teeth to the 12k people who bought a ST

16-07-2017, 08:24 AM
If its aberdeen then were not just outbidding anybody , its the team we are hoping to compete with for 2nd/3rd place and european slots . As someone said previously losing out on him to the sheep would be a massive PR disaster and a kick in the teeth to the 12k people who bought a ST

They have a new director with millions in cash to throw at them. We can't compete with that. If we matched them and they want the player they would simply up their bid. That's the reality.

16-07-2017, 08:26 AM
I'd be surprised if Stokes went elsewhere. He's adored by the Hibs support and has legendary status. He won't get that anywhere else.

16-07-2017, 08:43 AM
If he goes to a club in England or abroad then I can accept this but if he ends up at Aberdeen by us being 'blown out of the water' in money offered I will be raging! Especially after the signings they have already made. Don't let this happen Hibs

Slavers
16-07-2017, 08:51 AM
I'd be very surprised and disappointed if it's Aberdeen going to blow us out the water with wages on offer to Stokes. I don't think it will be.

I think some English championship team will make a big wages offer to him. Possibly Nottingham Forrest? I'm just guessing.

I'd love Stokes back but we may need to take it on the chin if he moves to an English championship team for between 8 to 10 grand a week.

16-07-2017, 08:57 AM
I'd be very surprised and disappointed if it's Aberdeen going to blow us out the water with wages on offer to Stokes. I don't think it will be.

I think some English championship team will make a big wages offer to him. Possibly Nottingham Forrest? I'm just guessing.

I'd love Stokes back but we may need to take it on the chin if he moves to an English championship team for between 8 to 10 grand a week.

if he moves to the championship for 10k a week fair enough . If he goes to the sheep for a few quid more than we offered it wont go down well

16-07-2017, 09:02 AM
They have a new director with millions in cash to throw at them. We can't compete with that. If we matched them and they want the player they would simply up their bid. That's the reality.

I think people are getting carried away with Aberdeens budget and this new director. So far this summer they've signed well but they are in profit and the wage bill is probably lower than last year.

If there are teams able to "blow Hibs out of the water" financially for Stokes, they won't be in Scotland.

16-07-2017, 09:06 AM
I wouldnt go chasing after Stokes with daft amounts of money. If we played Sevco every week he would be a sensation but Im not sure he has got the desire to get up for every game. In fact, other than Sevco I can only recall him playing really well up at ICT in the replay. Im not doubting his talent but I think his attitude is questionable. I remember watching Commons in the 3 nil win against Dundee Utd and admiring his attitude....if Stokes could add that commitment he would be some player. If he prices himself out of a move to Hibs we will focus on other targets.

16-07-2017, 09:10 AM
I wouldnt go chasing after Stokes with daft amounts of money. If we played Sevco every week he would be a sensation but Im not sure he has got the desire to get up for every game. In fact, other than Sevco I can only recall him playing really well up at ICT in the replay. Im not doubting his talent but I think his attitude is questionable. I remember watching Commons in the 3 nil win against Dundee Utd and admiring his attitude....if Stokes could add that commitment he would be some player. If he prices himself out of a move to Hibs we will focus on other targets.

He would score goals for us I think that's almost guaranteed. If he stayed fit he would probably get about 15 in the league which could prove invaluable.

16-07-2017, 09:15 AM
I think people are getting carried away with Aberdeens budget and this new director. So far this summer they've signed well but they are in profit and the wage bill is probably lower than last year.

If there are teams able to "blow Hibs out of the water" financially for Stokes, they won't be in Scotland.

I'm not saying they will blow us out of the water. I'm not even sure they would offer anything like £1k a week more than us. If they did though we would struggle to match it.

16-07-2017, 09:17 AM
He would score goals for us I think that's almost guaranteed. If he stayed fit he would probably get about 15 in the league which could prove invaluable.

He managed 9 in half a season last time when not fully fit, I'm certain he could score 20 in s full season.

16-07-2017, 09:23 AM

Agree totally

16-07-2017, 09:24 AM
I'd take Stokes back but as another poster already mentioned, we shouldn't be breaking the bank to get him.

He had the game of his life against sevco in the final for which will forever make him a legend but other than that he didn't live up expectations. If we were guarenteed to get the Stokes we saw in the cup final week in week out then yes we should maybe extend ourselves a bit in getting him but we're not. In a poor league like the championship, he should have bagged far more goals. When we signed him I was very excited and like many others, thought he would absolutely stroll the championship but he didn't.

16-07-2017, 09:27 AM

All about opinions. I thought Stokes worked really hard and showed tremendous attitude. He didnae particularly gel with Cummings, but I thought he always put in a full shift.

Stokes comws with baggage, signing him carries risk for Hibs, but he also offers qualities we couldnt otherwise afford. Cash will decide his next move and I would be very surprised if he ends up at Hibs.

16-07-2017, 09:27 AM
I don't get where this Stokes didnt try thing comes from

He had far better workrate than Jason

16-07-2017, 09:29 AM
I'm not saying they will blow us out of the water. I'm not even sure they would offer anything like £1k a week more than us. If they did though we would struggle to match it.

I was quoting the Sun article, that said there were teams who could blow us out the water

To be honest, their story doesn't make much sense. Are there really teams who have only be become aware of Stokes availability now that he has agreed a pay off? His situation has been well publicised

16-07-2017, 09:34 AM
If Stokes is coming back to Scotland then it will be to Hibs, there's no way he would go to Aberdeen in place of us even if the money was better, and it wouldn't be much better anyway. Come home Stokesy :scarf:

Big L
16-07-2017, 09:38 AM
Stokes will score goals in Scotland, he's proved he is effective at this level. Saying that, I can't see many English clubs chasing his signature because his scoring record down south is abysmal.
Sun 36-3 Sheffield U 12-0 Crystal Pal 13-1 Blackburn 8-1. 5 goals in 69 games speaks for itself. I can understand Aberdeen wanting him, it means they put one over on us and they get a player who scores goals in scotland.

darwenhibby
16-07-2017, 09:39 AM
As much us Stokes was a major influence in us winning the Scottish cup
There is no loyalty from the guy
He doesn't share the same passion for hibs as we all do
He will go to who offers the best deal
Remember will you be back at Easter Road ?
"Probably for a pint!"

16-07-2017, 09:41 AM
As much us Stokes was a major influence in us winning the Scottish cup
There is no loyalty from the guy
He doesn't share the same passion for hibs as we all do
He will go to who offers the best deal
Remember will you be back at Easter Road ?
"Probably for a pint!"

you could say the same for almost every single footballer on the planet though

16-07-2017, 09:44 AM
As much us Stokes was a major influence in us winning the Scottish cup There is no loyalty from the guy He doesn't share the same passion for hibs as we all do He will go to who offers the best deal Remember will you be back at Easter Road ? "Probably for a pint!"

Rubbish.

Not many players in this modern era will ever show any sort of passion/loyalty for any club. Those players are a dying breed. Lewis is one but not many others are 1 team players throughout their career!

16-07-2017, 10:15 AM
Perhaps the club are thinking beyond one (legendary) player and thinking more that we shouldnt spend it all on one marquee name?

We need a squad to compete in 3 competitions - wouldnt be clever to spend all the cash on Stokes and he gets injured in August.

True but what this team really needs is quality upfront.

HibbySpurs
16-07-2017, 10:17 AM
As annoying as it is, they're probably more attractive an option than us at the moment. In fact, not probably, they are. Stokes is no different to anyone and will go to who pays the higher wages. After his court case he needs the dosh I would imagine. Hope we get him back though. Great wee player.

Sadly I agree that on recent league history of course they would be a more attractive option but the more worrisome aspect would be if Aberdeen could seriously outmuscle Hibs in terms of wages.

16-07-2017, 10:40 AM
STOKES SETBACK Neil Lennon’s Hibs fear they are about to be priced out of move for ex-Celtic star Anthony Stokes
SunSport revealed Neil Lennon’s desire to bring the Scottish Cup hero back to Easter Road for a third stint but Stokes has had other offers that ‘blow Hibs out of the water’ in terms of wages
EXCLUSIVE
By Kenny Millar
15th July 2017, 9:43 am Updated: 15th July 2017, 10:28 am

HIBS fear they are about to be priced out of a move for Anthony Stokes.

SunSport revealed Neil Lennon’s desire to bring the Scottish Cup hero back to Easter Road for a third stint and after a series of talks with the striker both the Hibees boss and club chiefs were increasingly optimistic that a deal could be struck.

Stokes is understood to have told them that it was his wish to return and he took in Lewis Stevenson’s testimonial match against Sunderland last Sunday.

Complex, protracted negotiations between the player and Blackburn over a severance package to bring about an early end to his contract had stalled negotiations, but it’s thought an agreement HAS finally been reached on that front.

However, that’s alerted rival suitors to Stokes’ availability with the former Republic of Ireland international having had alternative offers that ‘blow Hibs out of the water’ in terms of wages.

Lennon is said to have told Stokes that he can get the best out of him – as he did during their time together at Celtic – after a troubled spell with Rovers.

Former Hibs boss Tony Mowbray is keen to offload the 28-year-old, who managed only four goals last season at Ewood Park, and said previously that his absence from the first-team squad was to do with ‘personal issues’.

As well as Lennon, there are others close to Stokes who have made the same pitch to him, advising that he would be better off back in an environment he’s thrived in twice before, but his head has been turned by more lucrative options.

Hibs haven’t yet thrown in the towel but are continuing to pursue other targets, with top scorer Jason Cummings’ departure to Nottingham Forest leaving Lennon with only summer signing Simon Murray and highly-rated youngster Oli Shaw to choose from – with Brian Graham having been told he can leave if he finds another club.

They retain an interest in in-demand Motherwell striker Louis Moult but, like Aberdeen, are some distance apart from the Steelmen in their valuation of the 25-year-old.

In a boost for the Hibees, they have agreed a deal to bring right-back Steven Whittaker back to Easter Road and – a move first reported by SunSport.

After formally cutting ties with Norwich, Whittaker will be unveiled next week after penning a three-year deal.

Whittaker said: “I am delighted to be back at Hibernian. When I decided to return to Scotland, Hibernian was the club I hoped to come to. While the discussions have taken a while, they have always been positive and I am very pleased to be back playing at Easter Road for the Hibernian fans, and I hope I can play my part in ensuring a successful return to the top flight.”

Sounds like an agent's negotiating tactic to try and squeeze a bit more cash out of Hibs.

inglisavhibs
16-07-2017, 11:03 AM
Sounds like an agent's negotiating tactic to try and squeeze a bit more cash out of Hibs.
It will be Blackburn trying to get a bigger percentage of his wages from another club. Hibs will be offering quite a small portion of his current wages.

Big L
16-07-2017, 11:06 AM
It will be Blackburn trying to get a bigger percentage of his wages from another club. Hibs will be offering quite a small portion of his current wages.

If he has agreed a settlement to leave he will be a free agent!

inglisavhibs
16-07-2017, 12:23 PM
If he has agreed a settlement to leave he will be a free agent!
not aware of any settlement.

16-07-2017, 12:33 PM
not aware of any settlement.It's in the sun article.from yesterday
..hes agreed a settlement with Blackburn to leave

Tha Cabbage Kid
16-07-2017, 12:45 PM
How much more money could the don's offer than us in terms of wages??

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

Lee Marvin
16-07-2017, 12:52 PM
How much more money could the don's offer than us in terms of wages??

Why are people worrying about aberdeen. Even if they can offer a little more money, it'll be nowhere near enough to balance out thr positives of joining hibs over them:

-Neil lennon is the manager who has got the best out if him
-Hibs fans absolutely love him
-His girlfriend lives and works in edinburgh

English teams maybe. Aberdeen, no chance.

Tha Cabbage Kid
16-07-2017, 12:57 PM
Why are people worrying about aberdeen. Even if they can offer a little more money, it'll be nowhere near enough to balance out thr positives of joining hibs over them:

I for one am not worried about Aberdeen. But it would appear (according to most) that Aberdeen are able to offer a lot more money then we are able to afford. So my question is- how much more money are Aberdeen able to pay a player then what we could?

RedHibby
16-07-2017, 12:57 PM
If it comes down to money he will not come to us. No loyalty in football everything come down to money which is ruining the game.

Souter96Mac
16-07-2017, 12:58 PM
Unless Aberdeen can offering him onwards of 6/8 grand, no chance hes heading up there. Stokesy knows

16-07-2017, 01:11 PM
I for one am not worried about Aberdeen. But it would appear (according to most) that Aberdeen are able to offer a lot more money then we are able to afford. So my question is- how much more money are Aberdeen able to pay a player then what we could?

I'm not sure we should really care...if they have a bigger budget then they have a bigger budget. Hibs fans should know damn well that just paying players more money does not equate to you having a better side or finishing higher in the league.

In Scotland terms there are only two or three clubs that will have a larger player budget so in terms of competition for players between Scottish clubs we are in an excellent position.

Ken
16-07-2017, 01:14 PM
If people on here keep on saying Stokes would choose Aberdeen over us, it'll soon be a hibs.net 'fact', where in reality Aberdeen probably aren't interested and it'll be English clubs that are interested now.

I'm staying optimistic we can sort a deal

16-07-2017, 01:15 PM
Stokes is a quality player, that is without question.

When he was here the last time he was lacking a bit of match sharpness and IMO him and Cummings up front together didn't always work, particularly against teams sitting in and defending in numbers.

Get him back on a 2/3 year deal, get him fit and play him against premiership opposition with a strike partner that will do a lot of the running, drawing defenders and giving stokes space in the final third and he will absolutely score goals up here.

I believe the budget and the desire is there to get him but the reality is we are in no position to compete with any english club from League 1 and above when it comes to wages and if he gets an offer of even £10k to £15k a week then we can't do anything to counteract it. Our best hope is that Stokes wants to go somewhere he is comfortable close to home & family, where he is loved by the fans and knows he will be first name on the team sheet.

16-07-2017, 01:17 PM
I'm not sure we should really care...if they have a bigger budget then they have a bigger budget. Hibs fans should know damn well that just paying players more money does not equate to you having a better side or finishing higher in the league.

In Scotland terms there are only two or three clubs that will have a larger player budget so in terms of competition for players between Scottish clubs we are in an excellent position.

I think we should care to be honest. Aberdeen's turnover is around 5 million more than us with a similar size support which is allowing them to cement their place as the second best team in the country.

Not sure how they are managing to get that sort of revenue with crowds averaging around 11,500.

16-07-2017, 01:20 PM
Sadly I agree that on recent league history of course they would be a more attractive option but the more worrisome aspect would be if Aberdeen could seriously outmuscle Hibs in terms of wages.

Aberdeen's turnover in 2016 was £ 13.414 million , and £ 13.077 million the year before.

That's more than double our corresponding turnover.

Not hard to see why we can get out-muscled wage-wise.

16-07-2017, 01:22 PM
I think we should care to be honest. Aberdeen's turnover is around 5 million more than us with a similar size support which is allowing them to cement their place as the second best team in the country.

Not sure how they are managing to get that sort of revenue with crowds averaging around 11,500.

That's interesting.

I would slso like to know what they are doing that we are not that generates £5m additional turnover.

16-07-2017, 01:23 PM

I think they have had a couple of lucrative Euro games with TV coverage. Also, in a one team city they get widespread support from local businesses.

16-07-2017, 01:23 PM

I think Aberdeen's overall support is going to be much larger than ours despite it not being reflected in thier attendances.

They have very little in the way of competition for support between Dundee and Inverness so there will be a massive amount of fans up there supporting the club and buying merchandise etc as opposed to us having to share a city with Hearts and contend with the gloryhunting old-firm fans that are much much more prevalant across central scotland than in the north.

And,as above, local business support and sponsorship will be better

16-07-2017, 01:30 PM
I think Aberdeen's overall support is going to be much larger than ours despite it not being reflected in thier attendances.

They have very little in the way of competition for support between Dundee and Inverness so there will be a massive amount of fans up there supporting the club and buying merchandise etc as opposed to us having to share a city with Hearts and contend with the gloryhunting old-firm fans that are much much more prevalant across central scotland than in the north.

I'd disagree that their overall support would be much larger than ours. If you look at the clubs respective average attendances over the years and how many both bring to semis and finals I would say there is not much in it.

16-07-2017, 01:40 PM

English teams maybe. Aberdeen, no chance.100% this imo

16-07-2017, 01:43 PM

Would go as far as to say , thats a load of absolute rubbish mate. The Edinburgh metro area covers a population of almost treble of Aberdeen and its surrounding area ..Dunno how familiar you are with the area , but there are swaths of Huns up their too.

16-07-2017, 01:44 PM
I'd disagree that their overall support would be much larger than ours. If you look at the clubs respective average attendances over the years and how many both bring to semis and finals I would say there is not much in it.

I know that but i wasn't referring to attendances. If it was just down to those that go to the matches then there wouldn't be much of a discrepancy between the clubs turnovers.

I'm talking about the fact that Aberdeenshire has a population roughly the same as Edinburgh with only 1 successful premiership club operating in it and Aberdeen have about a 40 mile radius from thier home where they are the "local" top-flight football club. They will be raking it in in merchandise sales because of this.

Lots of big businesses operate in Aberdeen and will provide the club with income through corporate/hospitality purchases and sponsorship with Aberdeen will be a lot more valuable due to lack of competition in the local market and for the level of exposure they can offer.

16-07-2017, 01:46 PM
I know that but i wasn't referring to attendances. If it was just down to those that go to the matches then there wouldn't be much of a discrepancy between the clubs turnovers.

I'm talking about the fact that Aberdeenshire has a population roughly the same as Edinburgh with only 1 successful premiership club operating in it and Aberdeen have about a 40 mile radius from thier home where they are the "local" top-flight football club. They will be raking it in in merchandise sales because of this.

Lots of big businesses operate in Aberdeen and will provide the club with income through corporate/hospitality purchases and sponsorship with Aberdeen will be a lot more valuable due to lack of competition in the local market and for the level of exposure they can offer.

You are comparing Greater Aberdeen with City of Edinburgh populations. What about greater Edinburgh?

16-07-2017, 01:53 PM
You are comparing Greater Aberdeen with City of Edinburgh populations. What about greater Edinburgh?

Obviously much larger but there are still two premiership football clubs in close proximity to each other competing for supporters in that area with glasgow and the old-firm only 50 miles away for the glory-hunters.

You have to travel over 60 miles from aberdeen to get to Dundee and 100 miles to get to Inverness, both much less attractive teams to support than Aberdeen.

inglisavhibs
16-07-2017, 01:57 PM
It's in the sun article.from yesterday
..hes agreed a settlement with Blackburn to leave

still think he is a blackburn player, at the moment.

16-07-2017, 02:00 PM
Obviously much larger but there are still two premiership football clubs in close proximity to each other competing for supporters in that area with glasgow and the old-firm only 50 miles away for the glory-hunters.

You have to travel over 60 miles from aberdeen to get to Dundee and 100 miles to get to Inverness, both much less attractive teams to support than Aberdeen.

I actually think the numbers of old firm fans in Edinburgh is overestimated. The vast vast majority of football supporters in the city support Hibs or Hearts.

16-07-2017, 02:01 PM

Do you think he would join Hibs on £500 a week less than Aberdeen because our fans love him?

Fergos
16-07-2017, 02:02 PM
That's interesting.

I would slso like to know what they are doing that we are not that generates £5m additional turnover.

Aye very interesting, I also would like to know.

The years quoted are 2 of our 3 in the Championship and pre Scottish Cup win our gates weren't that brilliant, but not enough of a deficit I'd imagine to make their overall turnover double ours.

16-07-2017, 02:08 PM
Do you think he would join Hibs on £500 a week less than Aberdeen because our fans love him?

He might if Aberdeen are offering £10,000 and we are offering £9,500 :greengrin

However, back in the real world.....

Although accepting a few hundred pounds might less at Hibs might still 'save' him some money. Cut out all the travelling down to the Harp And Castle on his off days and he would get considerably more free pints in Leith than he would in Aberdeen. Well, if he got one free pint in Leith that would be more then he would get in the Granite Wallet city. :wink:

16-07-2017, 02:27 PM
Not a chance

.... Points 1 and (maybe more importantly) 3 might though.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

mcfly
16-07-2017, 02:41 PM
I think we all need to calm down and stop speculating.

With the exception of a few Itk people and hibs management no of us know anything about our targets.

Simon Murray has 3 in 2 games and if we start the season with him as main striker so be it.

Why go all in like hearts early doors ? Transfer window is until 31 august - I'd rather we waited and got our targets than go all in now.

Good players will be signed - keep the faith

16-07-2017, 02:43 PM

Yeah there are 60 miles , 100 miles , but basically next to nobody there. We have a far greater catchment population and nobody bigger than us within it. As i said earlier Aberdeenshire is full of Huns , and plenty Celtic fans too. Lets not pretend that Aberdeen have more fans than they do, because the surrounding area is large.

16-07-2017, 02:50 PM

Not just because of that but putting it all together I'm sure he would

Not only do the fans love him but Hibs will undoubtedly have a place in his heart after the 21st of may and he has already had success in two spells here

Not to mention the fact that he has an excellent relationship with Lennon

16-07-2017, 02:51 PM

That's exactly where I am with Stokes also

The_Sauz
16-07-2017, 02:59 PM
Did Stokes not say in the Cup DVD, that Hibs were the only other club (Celtic being the other) that he would play for in Scotland :confused:

16-07-2017, 03:32 PM
It will be a bit of a pisser if we have done all the negotiations to get him a severance deal then another club just nips and says sign here.