View Full Version : Fathers & sons

10-07-2017, 10:40 AM
Dreich day, so I thought I'd start this thread...

Fathers and sons who have played for us? I can think of these ones, but there must be more:-

Murray (Gary and Simon)
McBride (Joe and Joe)
Paterson (John and Craig)
Cropley (Alex and Jordan)

Does Kenny Dalglish count? :greengrin

My Dad thinks Bobby Flavell (from the 80's); that his Dad played for us in the 50's.

10-07-2017, 10:47 AM
McGraw (Alan and Mark)

10-07-2017, 11:03 AM
Andy Goram's dad, Lewis, was signed to Hibs but never played for the first team.

10-07-2017, 11:04 AM
Paul Kane and his dad?

SuperAllyMcleod
10-07-2017, 11:21 AM
Jimmy O'Rourke and his son Jamie.

10-07-2017, 11:38 AM

Fathers and sons who have played for us? I can think of these ones, but there must be more:-

Murray (Gary and Simon)
McBride (Joe and Joe)

My Dad thinks Bobby Flavell (from the 80's); that his Dad played for us in the 50's.

Mrs Colr met Bobby Flavell in the Monklands Hospital when she was training. He was in for a few days. She said he was quite a character but none of the staff beleived that he'd been a footballer/manager and thought he was just havering!!!

10-07-2017, 11:43 AM
Mrs Colr met Bobby Flavell in the Monklands Hospital when she was training. He was in for a few days. She said he was quite a character but none of the staff beleived that he'd been a footballer/manager and thought he was just havering!!!

This guy?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Flavell_(Scottish_footballer)

If it is, he wisny havering :greengrin

If it is him, my auld man might be havering, because he wasn't at Hibs.....

Halmyre Hibee
10-07-2017, 11:53 AM
This guy?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Flavell_(English_footballer)

TrinityHibby
10-07-2017, 01:20 PM

Murray (Gary and Simon)
McBride (Joe and Joe)

Brazil (Ally and Benny) 😂😂

Time For Heroes
10-07-2017, 01:22 PM
Andy Goram x 2, does that count? 😆

10-07-2017, 01:41 PM
This guy?

That's him.

10-07-2017, 02:57 PM
Pretty sure neither Jimmy Kane nor Jamie O'Rourke played a 1st team game for Hibs. If it's just players who were on our books then Jordan Cropley comes to mind & I think there's a few more.

Tom Hart RIP
10-07-2017, 03:31 PM
Murdo's dad was on Hibs books but I don't think he played any first team games

10-07-2017, 06:27 PM
Alex Miller and Greig Miller?

10-07-2017, 06:32 PM

There was another brother as well

10-07-2017, 06:39 PM
There was another brother as well

Greg and Graeme. They defo got fast tracked lol.

Tomsk
10-07-2017, 06:40 PM
Pretty sure neither Jimmy Kane nor Jamie O'Rourke played a 1st team game for Hibs. If it's just players who were on our books then Jordan Cropley comes to mind & I think there's a few more.

No offence intended but Jamie O'Rourke was nowhere near good enough to play for Hibs.

10-07-2017, 07:05 PM
Alex never played for Hibs though.

10-07-2017, 08:02 PM
Alex never played for Hibs though.

Not even 5's at training?

10-07-2017, 08:13 PM
Greg and Graeme. They defo got fast tracked lol.

Because they were brilliant 😳

davemcbain
10-07-2017, 08:17 PM
Can't recall is Stuart Turnbull was Eddie's son (or even if he was Stuart or Stewart if I'm honest).

10-07-2017, 08:19 PM
Can't recall is Stuart Turnbull was Eddie's son (or even if he was Stuart or Stewart if I'm honest).
God I hope not.

IIRC, Stuart was born in southern Africa.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

10-07-2017, 08:19 PM
Not father and son but the Showunmi brothers were a great success for us back in the day.

10-07-2017, 08:20 PM
Did Enoch Eric and Thomas Showumni's dad Shuggy ever play for us?

Conj
10-07-2017, 09:03 PM
The McGraws, Allan and Mark

10-07-2017, 10:24 PM

Murray (Gary and Simon)
McBride (Joe and Joe)

Jordan didn't play for the first team did he?

10-07-2017, 10:59 PM

Was on the muddy field against Barca in 2008:

HIBS McNeil (Grof 82), van Zanten, Hanlon, Hogg (Canning 73), Jones, Murray (Thicot 46), Stevenson (Chisholm 46), Shiels (Rankin 73), Fletcher (Fletcher 65), Nish, O'Brien (Cropley 82).

BARCELONA Valdes (Pinto 46), Corcoles (Keita 65), Marquez (Caceres 46), Henry (Bojan 46), Pique, Dani Alves (Abraham 46), Vazquez (Crosas 30), Pedro (Hleb 65), Gudjohnsen (Eto'o 65), Sergio (Toure 46), Messi (Jeffren 46).

10-07-2017, 11:03 PM

11-07-2017, 06:32 AM
No offence intended but Jamie O'Rourke was nowhere near good enough to play for Hibs.

Jamie would admit that himself but he did feature for Whitehill Welfare in a SC tie at ER v Celtic in the 90s IIRC.

11-07-2017, 07:07 AM
Was on the muddy field against Barca in 2008:

HIBS McNeil (Grof 82), van Zanten, Hanlon, Hogg (Canning 73), Jones, Murray (Thicot 46), Stevenson (Chisholm 46), Shiels (Rankin 73), Fletcher (Fletcher 65), Nish, O'Brien (Cropley 82).

BARCELONA Valdes (Pinto 46), Corcoles (Keita 65), Marquez (Caceres 46), Henry (Bojan 46), Pique, Dani Alves (Abraham 46), Vazquez (Crosas 30), Pedro (Hleb 65), Gudjohnsen (Eto'o 65), Sergio (Toure 46), Messi (Jeffren 46).
Who was the Fletcher that Fletcher replaced? Was it his Dad?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

11-07-2017, 08:28 AM

Who was the Fletcher that Fletcher replaced? Was it his Dad?

Not sure. That's the Re**rd's listing. The Daily Fail has

HIBERNIAN (4-4-2): McNeil; van Zanten, Hogg, Jones, Hanlon; Murray, Stevenson, Shiels, O'Brien; Nish, Fletcher. Subs: Grof, Canning, Chisholm, Rankin, Cropley, Morais

Referee: Craig Thomson.

So I'm thinking probably Morais and Thicot are the same person, and Fletcher just stepped off the pitch momentarily for a drink in the July heat and the Re**rd recorded that as a substitution. Fletcher does have a brother Enoch, though, if that helps.

11-07-2017, 09:18 AM
Pat Stanton and Sam Stanton.

11-07-2017, 10:47 AM
Look at me. I am old but I'm happy.

11-07-2017, 11:49 AM
Pat Stanton and Sam Stanton.

John Collins and James Collins :greengrin

Saturday Boy
11-07-2017, 12:04 PM