View Full Version : Berwick V Hibs

10-07-2017, 09:59 AM
Anyone heading down tomorrow night?
Believe it's a 7.45pm KO, £10 and £5 for concessions
Lennon said the players that played 90 mins or so would be rested, so I presume the likes of McGinn, Marciano, Stevenson etc won't play, opportunity for a few others to stake their claim

berwickhibee
10-07-2017, 10:01 AM
£10 and £5 to get in.

10-07-2017, 10:03 AM
Lennon said the players that played 90 mins or so would be rested, so I presume the likes of McGinn, Marciano, Stevenson etc won't play, opportunity for a few others to stake their claim

I'm going to head down for this.

10-07-2017, 10:10 AM
I'm going to head down for this.

See you there

DavyfiLeith
10-07-2017, 11:27 PM
Expect a few young boys in the squad, Mackie, Murray x 2, Waugh, Campbell, Shaw,Stirling and also Crane & Martin. Resembles the squad that went to Turiff. Also expect to see Stanton & Handling

10-07-2017, 11:35 PM

Yes ill be there. It is a ten spot away end and is 40ish minutes back on train.

11-07-2017, 08:49 AM
Yes ill be there. It is a ten spot away end and is 40ish minutes back on train.

Just had a quick look at train times and there are very few seats still available on the way down (at least according to the scotrail website).

EDIT: Ignore my drivel, I looked at the wrong day :-(

11-07-2017, 09:00 AM
What time would I relaistically have to leave Edinburgh to get there in time if driving? Is it a couple of hours?

11-07-2017, 09:07 AM
What time would I relaistically have to leave Edinburgh to get there in time if driving? Is it a couple of hours?

Once you're out of Edinburgh, like past the sheriff hall area its 45-60 min on the A1.

11-07-2017, 09:12 AM
Just had a quick look at train times and there are very few seats still available on the way down (at least according to the scotrail website).

Seems to be plenty available, roughly £15 return if booked as 2 singles.

11-07-2017, 09:14 AM
Once you're out of Edinburgh, like past the sheriff hall area its 45-60 min on the A1.

Perfect. I only live 10 minutes from Sheriffhall so if I get home for before 6 it seems manageable. Cheerd.

11-07-2017, 09:25 AM
Loads of parking at the ground too

Lendo
11-07-2017, 09:43 AM
Can someone let me know how Pennet looks in the warm up?

11-07-2017, 09:49 AM
Can someone let me know how Pennet looks in the warm up?

He will have a bad spell I reckon.

21sMay
11-07-2017, 09:52 AM

11-07-2017, 10:20 AM
I shouldn't have looked on the Scotrail site, got the notion to go now. I know it will be a reserve side and will regret in the end. Although might see a couple of trialists playing.

11-07-2017, 10:23 AM

berwickhibee
11-07-2017, 11:43 AM
Perfect. I only live 10 minutes from Sheriffhall so if I get home for before 6 it seems manageable. Cheerd.

sheriffhall to Berwick in an hour. traffic in town wont be a problem,you will breeze it of you leave at 6 15:thumbsup:

JIm
11-07-2017, 12:33 PM
sheriffhall to Berwick in an hour. traffic in town wont be a problem,you will breeze it of you leave at 6 15:thumbsup:

He might even have time for a pint :thumbsup:

11-07-2017, 01:06 PM
He might even have time for a pint :thumbsup:

Big spoons in Berwick just before you go over the bridge towards the ground.

11-07-2017, 01:13 PM
Any more news about which players will be travelling ?

Another run about for JP ?

11-07-2017, 01:25 PM
Seems to be plenty available, roughly £15 return if booked as 2 singles.

Oops, I was looking at the wrong day ...

:embarrass

11-07-2017, 02:38 PM
Big spoons in Berwick just before you go over the bridge towards the ground.

It was no longer a Spoons when I was down a couple of months ago (still a boozer though).

Frogga
11-07-2017, 03:40 PM
I've got a week off so managed to convince my Girlfriend to come on a day trip via St Abbs and Eyemouth, which conveniently ends in Berwick. Currently sitting in a pub in Berwick and the sun is shining. Looking forward to the game!

11-07-2017, 03:48 PM
I've got a week off so managed to convince my Girlfriend to come on a day trip via St Abbs and Eyemouth, which conveniently ends in Berwick. Currently sitting in a pub in Berwick and the sun is shining. Looking forward to the game!

What is St Abbs like these days?

Last time I was there (many years ago) it felt like the type of place they could have filmed Deliverance

Frogga
11-07-2017, 04:24 PM
St Abbs is a nice wee place - only took us half an hour to do the full tour. Yeah, I'm sure the locals could get up to all sorts and no one would ever know, it's quite off the beaten track!

11-07-2017, 04:26 PM
Hopefully Simon Church gets a game tonight. See what he's like.

11-07-2017, 04:33 PM
Hopefully Simon Church gets a game tonight. See what he's like.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170711/84fb9638198e11f5fc29612792aceb78.png

Doesn't seem to be

BH Hibs
11-07-2017, 04:33 PM
It was no longer a Spoons when I was down a couple of months ago (still a boozer though).

Was there a couple of weeks ago some other franchise bought it over. They were selling Guinness for £2.40 a pint though. Much cheapness.

11-07-2017, 05:00 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170711/84fb9638198e11f5fc29612792aceb78.png

Doesn't seem to be

Boooooo!

11-07-2017, 05:25 PM
St Abbs is a nice wee place - only took us half an hour to do the full tour. Yeah, I'm sure the locals could get up to all sorts and no one would ever know, it's quite off the beaten track!

Fantastic wee village which is well worth a visit.

11-07-2017, 05:31 PM
Just about to leave Eyemouth, nice afternoon in The Fleet investing in some thoroughbred action. Put about £100 worth of bets on and seem to have won roughly a fiver!

edwards
11-07-2017, 05:31 PM

Fantastic wee village which is well worth a visit.

Was there on Saturday weather pretty decent spent many a holiday there when my children were younger loved it and Coldingham Bay best beach in Scotland

11-07-2017, 05:34 PM
Was there on Saturday weather pretty decent spent many a holiday there when my children were younger loved it and Coldingham Bay best beach in Scotland

That part of the coastal Borders and the North Northumberland areas are wee hidden gems.

11-07-2017, 05:45 PM
The wee beach at Eyemouth was teaming with bairns, took me back 40 years when I used to do the same thing. :-)

therealgavmac
11-07-2017, 05:50 PM

I saw what you did their

11-07-2017, 05:53 PM
Ground not even open yet. Not sure we're getting in tonight!

11-07-2017, 05:58 PM
Andrew Blake trialist. Wiki brings up a New Zealand midfielder.

11-07-2017, 05:59 PM

I got that the 2nd time I searched.

AugustaHibs
11-07-2017, 05:59 PM
I got that the 2nd time.

He sounds good at finding the holes....

11-07-2017, 06:00 PM
He sounds good at finding the holes....

Indeed.

11-07-2017, 06:00 PM
Is the game being covered by HibsTV at all tonight?

11-07-2017, 06:01 PM
I got that the 2nd time I searched.

At least I've a good excuse for 'material!' now.

lugz
Danny Handling on the bench, is he not away?

Is he wearing number 7?

11-07-2017, 06:03 PM
Danny Handling on the bench, is he not away?

I think you know the answer to that.

11-07-2017, 06:03 PM
Blake is an academy trialist. Right back.

lugz
11-07-2017, 06:05 PM
I think you know the answer to that.

Genuinely thought he signed for Raith, was shocked when i saw his name.

11-07-2017, 06:12 PM
Genuinely thought he signed for Raith, was shocked when i saw his name.

Thats allowed. ;-)

11-07-2017, 06:14 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170711/788056d8e2feff1736b9c089441fde8d.jpg

Nice and sunny

Souter96Mac
11-07-2017, 06:26 PM
Interesting side with all the youth in there. Will also be good to see how we do against Berwick, a similar side to Montrose, with a very rotated squad. I'm all for giving the young lads a chance against the likes of Montrose if they are putting in some decent performances, e.g. Porteous, Murray and Shaw, and/or others

11-07-2017, 06:31 PM
Interesting side with all the youth in there. Will also be good to see how we do against Berwick, a similar side to Montrose, with a very rotated squad. I'm all for giving the young lads a chance against the likes of Montrose if they are putting in some decent performances, e.g. Porteous, Murray and Shaw, and/or others

What is the team?

11-07-2017, 06:38 PM
What is the team?

STARTING XI | Laidlaw, Blake (T), Porteous, Waugh, Pennant (T), Swanson, Martin, Graham, Crane, Shaw, F Murray.

11-07-2017, 06:39 PM
STARTING XI | Laidlaw, Blake (T), Porteous, Waugh, Pennant (T), Swanson, Martin, Graham, Crane, Shaw, F Murray.

Many Thanks

and the subs please?

w pilton hibby
11-07-2017, 06:40 PM
Many Thanks

and the subs please?

SUBS | P Martin, Mackie, Stirling, Stanton, Handling, I Murray.

11-07-2017, 06:40 PM
Many Thanks

and the subs please?

Fuzzywuzzy
11-07-2017, 06:44 PM
I do like the look of Scott Martin. Seems quite strong laddie and communicates quite well

11-07-2017, 06:46 PM

Thanks

Down to the bare bones

11-07-2017, 06:46 PM

Pretty much our 2nd string with our current squad when you factor in unavailable players. Swanson being the only first 11 player out there. Does highlight that we are lacking squad depth , although i do like to see young players given a chance rather than having squad players who are unlikely to break into the side

11-07-2017, 06:48 PM
I do like the look of Scott Martin. Seems quite strong laddie and communicates quite well

Agreed, I particularly like how the young players have a bit of attitude and dig about them

11-07-2017, 06:50 PM
Be really interesting to see how Porteous , crane , martin , murray , and Shaw play. Would love to see them play a decent part in our squad for next season

11-07-2017, 06:51 PM
whats happened to hibs tv, no live match? just reruns of lewies post testimonial interview

Billy
11-07-2017, 06:56 PM
whats happened to hibs tv, no live match? just reruns of lewies post testimonial interview

There are no facilities for an audio or video broadcast.

11-07-2017, 06:58 PM
There are no facilities for an audio or video broadcast.

i thought they announced that there would be.....oh well that explains it:confused:

11-07-2017, 06:59 PM
B Graham double tonight.

11-07-2017, 07:00 PM
That part of the coastal Borders and the North Northumberland areas are wee hidden gems.
Seahouses great.

11-07-2017, 07:07 PM
Thanks

Down to the bare bones

It's a good chance to judge if any of these lads are looking like they're ok to play a part this season before we go spending our money. If one really takes their chance then it's more money to spend on one player rather than the finds being needed for two, less expensive and possibly lower quality players.

If we don't add to the squad before the start of the season though I'd agree, that would be a worrying bench.

11-07-2017, 07:08 PM
Graham blasts pen over the bar.

ShinyFantastic
11-07-2017, 07:11 PM
Graham blasts pen over the bar.

Even that is an understatement.

11-07-2017, 07:11 PM

Realistically we have two chances of silverware. One starts this Saturday against Montrose.,I'll be raging if Lennon doesn't field his strongest team to start.

11-07-2017, 07:12 PM
B Graham double tonight.

at last 61
11-07-2017, 07:13 PM
You would have thought swanson would be taking the penalties me thinks he may take the next one

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Slim Shady
11-07-2017, 07:13 PM
B Graham double tonight.

Unfit and Berwicks best player so far.......

11-07-2017, 07:14 PM
It's a good chance to judge if any of these lads are looking like they're ok to play a part this season before we go spending our money. If one really takes their chance then it's more money to spend on one player rather than the finds being needed for two, less expensive and possibly lower quality players.

If we don't add to the squad before the start of the season though I'd agree, that would be a worrying bench.

Even if we don't add to our squad our bench would be nothing like it is tonight. Laidlaw, Hanlon, Ambrose, Porteous, Crane, Martin, F Murray, Graham & Shaw didn't start on Sunday.

ShadesLongThrow
11-07-2017, 07:15 PM
From the Hibs Twitter feed, it looks like we've launched several chances over the bar. Maybe the compromise to Cathro's no goal posts suggestion is just to remove the bar?

11-07-2017, 07:29 PM
Graham had a go at a fan.

11-07-2017, 07:31 PM

What for ?

11-07-2017, 07:31 PM

Did the fan have a go at him first?

11-07-2017, 07:32 PM

Did he miss? Murray hits post.

11-07-2017, 07:34 PM

Aye then Graham shouted back at the fan.

Wouldn't have had a reason to otherwise - not that I'm excusing Graham of course.

Is he wearing number 7?

Saw what you did! Crossed my mind as well. Great telly programme from back in the day

11-07-2017, 07:36 PM
How has Pennant looked?

AlanRuff

Yes

Then they both just have to man up and get on with it. Both at fault imho

Takes a particular type of erse to abuse a player at a pre season game.

Twiglet
11-07-2017, 07:37 PM
What for ?

Someone was verbally abusing him. When Graham shouted back at him the bloke shouted at him again.

11-07-2017, 07:37 PM

Yon Norman Einstein that Joe Theisman goes on about... FFS some folks.

11-07-2017, 07:38 PM

Assuming the fan had a pop first then my money is on that supporter being an utter trumpet.

Imagine travelling to Berwick for a pre-season friendly, that means nothing, and going to the lengths of shouting abuse at one of your own players.

Beggars belief and If that is what's happened im pleased Graham has had a pop at him.

11-07-2017, 07:38 PM
Aye great idea from an idiot fan. Give the guy stick at a friendly. Honestly we have some absolute roasters in our support sometimes

guthrie01
11-07-2017, 07:39 PM

Thought the days of abusing our own players where over...

Graham hasn't been too impressive thus far but deserves full support when playing

Hope he scores a hat trick now

11-07-2017, 07:40 PM
Someone was verbally abusing him. When Graham shouted back at him the bloke shouted at him again.

Verbal abuse of a Hibs player - some fan.

11-07-2017, 07:41 PM
Thought the days of abusing our own players where over...

Graham hasn't been too impressive thus far but deserves full support when playing

It's restricted to online forums mainly never spills over :/

Half time..

Berwick a tidy side.

Pitch slow.

Hibs looking ok but obvious several players getting used to each other.

Fraser Murray hit post with unbelievable turn and shot from distance.

Pennant doing fine - Shaw and Swanson coming into game.

Berwick had 1v1 but Laidlaw stayed big and forced him wide.

Porteous again looking decent at the back.

Yon Norman Einstein that Joe Theisman goes on about... FFS some folks.

Yeah i suppose i should just make assumptions it is always easier :aok:

guthrie01
11-07-2017, 07:44 PM
Half time..

Berwick a tidy side.

Pitch slow.

Thanks for update, how is Scott Martin doing ?

11-07-2017, 07:45 PM
Half time..

Berwick a tidy side.

Pitch slow.

How's the right back trialist doing?

Does he have a New Zealand accent?

Slim Shady
11-07-2017, 07:47 PM
Cannae hear him as Graham keeps shouting over him.

11-07-2017, 07:47 PM
Half time..

Berwick a tidy side.

Pitch slow.

Porteous again looking decent at the back.Cheers for the summary [emoji106]

11-07-2017, 07:54 PM
47 | A cross in from Pennant finds Swanson, but the former Berwick player sees his shot blocked and deflected out for a corner

49 | Shaw sees his shot from Graham's knock-down blocked en route to goal

52 | Waugh makes a brave block and is currently receiving treatment on the park. Thankfully he is able to get up and walk off the park

56 | Black swings in a cross and Brennan is unable to hold onto the ball under pressure from Graham

SUB | Waugh comes off for Stirling in the 57th minute for Hibernian

SUBS | Handling and Stanton come on in place of Swanson and Graham

11-07-2017, 08:02 PM
Takes a particular type of erse to abuse a player at a pre season game.

11-07-2017, 08:03 PM
61 | Crane is able to get a cross into the box, Shaw can't quite connect with the ball and neither can the onrushing Handling

63 | McKenna gets down the right wing and swings in a cross, but it fizzes across the six yard box without any takers for Berwick

64 | Pennant cuts in-field and is able to tuck the ball into the path of Shaw, who sees his shot deflected wide for a corner

OsloHibs
11-07-2017, 08:07 PM
What's the score?

Twiglet
11-07-2017, 08:07 PM
Graham and Swanson came off and Graham handed captains armband to Scott Martin. Were replaced by Stanton and Handling.

11-07-2017, 08:08 PM
What's the score?

0-0

Twiglet
What's the score?

Still 0-0

What's the score?

Dont think there is one ...

11-07-2017, 08:09 PM
I was really hoping that Graham would grab a couple of goals tonight. As things stand I hope we don't have to rely on him during the group stages. Like an earlier poster, I really want to win the league cup.

11-07-2017, 08:09 PM
Gone 4-2-3-1

Mostly youth on now.

Stanton playing deep. Murray gone to left.

11-07-2017, 08:10 PM
68 | Hibs continue to apply some pressure on the Berwick goal and are able to force a corner

68 | A whipped cross finds Crane who then sends an unorthodox header towards goal, but it bounces in the 6 yard box and goes over the bar

Twiglet
11-07-2017, 08:13 PM
1-0 Handling

Souter96Mac
11-07-2017, 08:13 PM
1-0 handling

OsloHibs
11-07-2017, 08:15 PM
Thanks for the update on the score... I like to think my question brought us a bit of luck!!!

11-07-2017, 08:17 PM
I was really hoping that Graham would grab a couple of goals tonight. As things stand I hope we don't have to rely on him during the group stages. Like an earlier poster, I really want to win the league cup.

As far as I'm concerned the season starts on Saturday as opposed to the 'in 4 weeks' a lot of people seem to be suggesting. We have a relatively realistic chance of success in 2 trophies and the LC is one of them.

It's also a chance to get a team playing together before the season starts. In Stubbs 1st season Hearts got away from us because it took weeks to get Allan fit and we had to bring in Malonga late due to Farids injury (admittedly that was outwith our control). I say it every year but we have to hit the ground running. It's no coincidence that we did that last season and finally got promoted after 2 stuttering starts cost us.

11-07-2017, 08:18 PM
Tap in for Handling after mix up by Berwick at the back

Souter96Mac
11-07-2017, 08:19 PM
Pennant off, will that be the last we see of him??

Twiglet
11-07-2017, 08:20 PM
Was from a clearance from the back on right. Handling chased and despite 3 outfield players being with him keeper came out to clear. Ball bounced around a little and bounced in front of Danny who was able to round keeper and roll in to net.

2-0 Oli Shaw

Souter96Mac
2-0 shaw

Saw the goal on sky, keeper and defender made a right hash of dealing with a long ball.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

11-07-2017, 08:21 PM
Danny H started as a striker. May be needed in next few weeks!

11-07-2017, 08:28 PM
Danny H started as a striker. May be needed in next few weeks!

I always felt he had a tonne of ability but was worried we wouldn't see it fulfilled at hibs. Maybe, just maybe...

11-07-2017, 08:32 PM
I always felt he had a tonne of ability but was worried we wouldn't see it fulfilled at hibs. Maybe, just maybe...

Hopefully he kicks on

Frogga
11-07-2017, 09:56 PM
That game was pretty dire! I'm struggling to find many positives or negatives to take away from that. I think the young players showed promise without anyone really excelling. Handling and Stanton made a difference when they came on. Graham needs to improve quickly or he will be gone very soon.

11-07-2017, 09:59 PM
My summary of the game..

Laidlaw - not much to do - except 1st half when stood up for 1v1.

Trialist right back - if only 19 did ok. Looks quick - decision making a bit suspect and some slack passes - would need to see more of.

Centre backs - solid - though Porteous again strolled it and definitely improving every game.

Crane - I want more from him - lots of potential still

Martin - for me probably best player - won ball - got on ball

Pennant - fine - you can see the class and still feel like he's cruising through games - few times turned it on and looked different class. Would possibly sign as could add something to squad if he stays positive and not a bad influence.

Swanson - in and out of the game - caused problems and won penalty (should have taken it).

Murray - first half wasn't too involved but had a great turn and shot which hit post - still a talent and like him wide linking up more than central.

Shaw - another goal - didn't get much service 1st half but still created some chances. Will keep getting better.

Graham - easy to pick up - not cool - he's doing best - for me will be squad player but still can score and contribute this season.

Subs..

Handling - tap in goal - needs more sharpness
Stanton - got involved - hard to tell what he can offer

Will these 2 stay? Odd playing if they aren't in any plans.

Other young players ok - not much time to view.

Overall a decent work out. Berwick better than I thought and more minutes for squad players but not a classic.

11-07-2017, 10:17 PM
I thought we had got shot of handling and stanton

11-07-2017, 10:34 PM
Thought Stanton was head & shoulders above everyone else on the pitch. Hope we keep him to be honest. Tempo of game quickened after he came on. IMO the only way Graham gets a hibs strip is if he goes to the shop and buys one.Terrible player, offers us nothing. 6'4" standing up, 5'6" when he jumps for a cross. Huddie.

11-07-2017, 11:08 PM
I thought we had got shot of handling and stanton

I wonder if we've decided that since we can't agree a pay off and no one is offering to pay for them we might as well see what they can offer and use them this season since we're paying for their services?

11-07-2017, 11:11 PM
Grahams penalty was a shocker! They found the ball in the tweed.

11-07-2017, 11:14 PM
I wonder if we've decided that since we can't agree a pay off and no one is offering to pay for them we might as well see what they can offer and use them this season since we're paying for their services?

Making up the numbers tonight I'd say.

Slim Shady
11-07-2017, 11:25 PM
Thought Stanton was head & shoulders above everyone else on the pitch. Hope we keep him to be honest. Tempo of game quickened after he came on. IMO the only way Graham gets a hibs strip is if he goes to the shop and buys one.Terrible player, offers us nothing. 6'4" standing up, 5'6" when he jumps for a cross. Huddie.

Was blowing out his hoop after 10 mins. Continuously have the ball away and as for the pen. Holy ****.

He's honking.

12-07-2017, 01:41 AM
Assuming the fan had a pop first then my money is on that supporter being an utter trumpet.

Imagine travelling to Berwick for a pre-season friendly, that means nothing, and going to the lengths of shouting abuse at one of your own players.

Beggars belief and If that is what's happened im pleased Graham has had a pop at him.:agree: especially as big Graham is tough enough tae rip his lips oaf ! lol

12-07-2017, 07:06 PM
Just watching the highlights and my god...I'm still to see Graham have a really good game for us. He also looks slower than ever.

12-07-2017, 09:13 PM
Was blowing out his hoop after 10 mins. Continuously have the ball away and as for the pen. Holy ****.

He's honking.

Amazing that of the 4 strikers we had last season he's the guy who's left.

13-07-2017, 07:47 PM
Amazing that of the 4 strikers we had last season he's the guy who's left.

Not really, who would want him?

13-07-2017, 09:50 PM
Not really, who would want him?

Nobody else has chuckled yet G but, I'll give you a point for that.

14-07-2017, 12:05 PM
Just watching the highlights and my god...I'm still to see Graham have a really good game for us. He also looks slower than ever.

I'm not a fan at all but he was okay when coming on v Sunderland. Great chest down for Oli.

Would like him replaced though, or further down the pecking order at least.