View Full Version : Efe Ambrose

Pages : 1 [2]

13-07-2017, 08:23 AM
Is that a food section for big Africans or a big section of African food?

Good thinking, I'd probably check both sections as he's bound to be in the one that hasn't been checked.

Lendo
13-07-2017, 08:43 AM
The Scottish Sun reporting he is now back. Not much detail to be honest

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1278214/efe-ambrose-back-hibs-neil-lennon-awol/amp/

Lendo
13-07-2017, 08:44 AM
For those not willing to click on the Sun

Hibs star Efe Ambrose has returned to Easter Road after Neil Lennon vowed to hammer the AWOL star

EFE AMBROSE is back at Hibs – according to the defender’s representatives.

The ex-Celtic star is in hot water with boss Neil Lennon, who revealed yesterday that he couldn’t get in touch with the Nigerian.

Ambrose was given an extended summer break and Lenny urged him to return to Easter Road fast.

Keep up to date with ALL the latest news, transfers and goals from Scottish football plus fixtures, results and live match commentary

He said: “There’s no sign of Efe, so he is in a bit of trouble with the manager now. I can’t get a hold of him at all.

“He was given a bit of time off, but he is pushing the boundaries. The sooner he is back, for his sake, the better!

“I expected him back a lot sooner than this and it will be getting discussed behind closed doors.

“He’s got that to look forward to when he gets back!”

However Ambrose’s reps, StormSportsX, have claimed the 28-year-old is now back in Edinburgh.

The news will come as a relief to Lennon, who could hammer the AWOL star with a fine.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-07-2017, 08:53 AM
I think people are seriously underestimating how important a player he is for us and how much of a coup it was landing someone with his CV and especially at his age with the money we pay.

Would be an absolutely terrible situation if this doesn't end in him still being a Hibs player. Replacements of his standard don't magically grow on trees with what we pay.

Really really hoping we hear something soon!

I agree to an extent, but hanlon amd mcgregor are still the best pairing we have imo. To me ambrose coming allows us to pmay three.

13-07-2017, 09:24 AM
Are they sure its not Stormzy?

13-07-2017, 09:25 AM
Hibs is bigger than any jumped up footballer.

If he's taken the piss then he can bolt.

He wouldn't have done it to Celtic. Show some respect.

:agree: :top marks

13-07-2017, 09:27 AM
These issues come with the player. He had a similar attitude at Celtic. Lennon will deal with it.

He also didn't turn up at the sponsors event at the end of the season. The claim was he was at a Celtic event. He wasnt...he just couldnt be arsed going out for the night. :cb

13-07-2017, 09:33 AM
No doubt he is a quality player and I was delighted when he signed, but you can't ignore the fact he has done a runner without telling anyone and not responded even when publically called out. It sends the wrong message to the rest of the squad if he isn't punished severely. Hopefully we can work this mess out soon and continue like you said.

#comehomeefe

Oh I completely agree, that's not the point I was trying to make. Mostly I just wanted to highlight that I don't feel people give Hibs as much credit as they deserve for landing him and how, I'm gonna say vital, a player he is.

Agree 100% no one is bigger than the club and I also think he should be punished, because yes, if I'm another squad member I wouldn't be impressed to say the least.

13-07-2017, 09:35 AM
Hibs is bigger than any jumped up footballer.

If he's taken the piss then he can bolt.

He wouldn't have done it to Celtic. Show some respect.

Well apparently he has done it to Celtic......twice!

13-07-2017, 10:26 AM
From everything I've read about Efe and having obviously seen him play for us it seems like he's a nice guy and is even grateful that he now has a chance to play first team football and extend his stay in Scotland, something which by all accounts is very important to him and his family.

In view of that it seems very strange that he has now chosen to disrespect the club in the way he has. Having to extend his stay in Nigeria due to circumstances unknown can be accepted if it turns out it was unavoidable, failure to contact the club to let them know what those circumstances are is not.

Efe is a good player, but he is a good player in a position where Hibs are pretty well sorted for good players, every one of whom has proved their ability and commitment on and off the park ..... of all the areas of the team centre back is the one where Hibs can most afford to drop a player if he isn't cutting it. Ambrose is one of 4 players fighting it out for two spots in the team, McGregor and Hanlon are both Hibs fans who are grateful to be playing for this club and Liam Fontaine is clearly a consummate professional who 'gets' the club .... I cant imagine any one of them being happy at being left out the team for a player who cant be arsed, and neither would I be if I was them.

One of the reasons Hibs have progressed in the way we have over the last three years is because we have had a happy dressing room without any 'billy big baws' types who think the rules that apply to the other players don't apply to them ...... If there is any sign that Efe Ambrose, or any other player for that matter, is going to disrupt that harmony I would want Hibs to punt him quick smart, no matter how good they are.

Lets hope Mr Ambrose has a decent explanation and an apology at hand when he meets NL so that we can move on and concentrate on what's going to be a challenging season for us.

13-07-2017, 10:38 AM
Well apparently he has done it to Celtic......twice!

which is maybe why he doesn't play for them any more.

13-07-2017, 10:49 AM
From everything I've read about Efe and having obviously seen him play for us it seems like he's a nice guy and is even grateful that he now has a chance to play first team football and extend his stay in Scotland, something which by all accounts is very important to him and his family.

In view of that it seems very strange that he has now chosen to disrespect the club in the way he has. Having to extend his stay in Nigeria due to circumstances unknown can be accepted if it turns out it was unavoidable, failure to contact the club to let them know what those circumstances are is not.

Efe is a good player, but he is a good player in a position where Hibs are pretty well sorted for good players, every one of whom has proved their ability and commitment on and off the park ..... of all the areas of the team centre back is the one where Hibs can most afford to drop a player if he isn't cutting it. Ambrose is one of 4 players fighting it out for two spots in the team, McGregor and Hanlon are both Hibs fans who are grateful to be playing for this club and Liam Fontaine is clearly a consummate professional who 'gets' the club .... I cant imagine any one of them being happy at being left out the team for a player who cant be arsed, and neither would I be if I was them.

One of the reasons Hibs have progressed in the way we have over the last three years is because we have had a happy dressing room without any 'billy big baws' types who think the rules that apply to the other players don't apply to them ...... If there is any sign that Efe Ambrose, or any other player for that matter, is going to disrupt that harmony I would want Hibs to punt him quick smart, no matter how good they are.

Lets hope Mr Ambrose has a decent explanation and an apology at hand when he meets NL so that we can move on and concentrate on what's going to be a challenging season for us.

Whilst I get that Efe should be apologising to NL if it was just an extended break, I don't agree with the bit in bold.

We have progressed as we have done due to having very good football players. We have had many players over this period who have "baggage" attached to them, Scott Allan, Stokes, even JC had some form of attitude problem. All extremely good players though and players we need at the club if we want to progress even further. Efe is no different, a class act on his day and one I am certainly grateful for having.

13-07-2017, 10:54 AM
There's a clip in the new DVD of Marv talking about players in the dressing room - he gets to Efe and says 'he's decided to come in today.' Pretty strange trait but I hope it's sorted out.

Mikey_1875
13-07-2017, 11:13 AM
Seen a link on facebook saying he has now returned. Not sure how credible the site is though.

13-07-2017, 11:14 AM
Good thinking, I'd probably check both sections as he's bound to be in the one that hasn't been checked.

Good advice, he was down there stocking up on ingredients for his jollof rice. Told him he'd better get back sharpish. Dropped his palm oil and off he went.

Says thanks to hibs.net for alerting him!

13-07-2017, 11:16 AM
I wonder if it could be the case that Efe was given an 'extended break' without an actual set timescale to come back.. NL thought he would be back sooner than he would but Efe didn't realise he was due back a certain time as no set date was agreed thus leading to confusion.

Could have just kept his phone off during this time as well much like many of us do on holiday which is why he couldn't be reached.

Of course i'm just playing devils advocate here. Fingers crossed it all gets sorted out, Efe will be a big player for us next year :agree:

BlackSheep
13-07-2017, 11:19 AM
I read somewhere this morning that he was at a funeral. If this is the case then one could see why he may have wanted an extended extended break.... and even not want to be in contact with anyone.

13-07-2017, 11:23 AM
Good advice, he was down there stocking up on ingredients for his jollof rice. Told him he'd better get back sharpish. Dropped his palm oil and off he went.

Says thanks to hibs.net for alerting him![emoji1]

13-07-2017, 11:31 AM
Whilst I get that Efe should be apologising to NL if it was just an extended break, I don't agree with the bit in bold.

We have progressed as we have done due to having very good football players. We have had many players over this period who have "baggage" attached to them, Scott Allan, Stokes, even JC had some form of attitude problem. All extremely good players though and players we need at the club if we want to progress even further. Efe is no different, a class act on his day and one I am certainly grateful for having.

Yes we have, but their 'baggage' didn't manifest itself in deliberate flouting of the rules the manager put in place .... Scott Allan was trying to engineer a move to a bigger club for bigger wages, which though unsavoury was a decision taken as he saw it to further his career. I cant recall Stokes causing any bother when he was here and as for Cummings, he was dropped because the manager thought he was off form and needed a kick up the bum and he did a couple of daft things during his leisure time, but none of it was consciously sticking two fingers up to the club.

Efe on the other hand has simply for whatever reason decided that extending his visit to Nigeria is more important to him than respecting his club, the clubs manager, his team mates and the clubs supporters .... It has to made clear to him that he is no more and no less important to Hibs than any other player .... its one thing making allowances for a wayward genius, its quite another allowing a player just in the door who has yet to prove his worth to the club to think he is more important than the rest of his colleagues .... if he is that will kill the dressing room.

13-07-2017, 11:36 AM
Not normally an in ITKer but I have been told from a reliable source the Efe's extended leave was due to him taking it upon himself to personally find a striker to replace Jason's goals after reading on .net how disappointed the fan base were with the choices Neil was making.

I'm expecting an announcement imminently.

13-07-2017, 01:28 PM
Efe is back at East Mains

I hope that it all gets sorted and there is no animosity.
We. it appears ,have had a great dressing room in recent times.
Let us hope it stays that way

DTS
13-07-2017, 01:31 PM
https://stv.tv/amp/1393441-efe-ambrose-returns-to-hibs-after/

Apology accepted and everyone moves on.. no wonder we're all hating this close window though as according to stv he's been our only singing

13-07-2017, 01:33 PM
That STV story is a joke.

Efe is our only summer signing, is he? I must have imagined Danny Swanson, Simon Murray and Ofir Marciano joining us then...

13-07-2017, 01:34 PM

Apology accepted and everyone moves on.. no wonder we're all hating this close window though as according to stv he's been our only singing

So no public flogging?

That's *****, Hibs. Get it together, FFS.

13-07-2017, 01:35 PM
about effin time Efe

13-07-2017, 01:39 PM
Good:greengrin

JimboHibs
13-07-2017, 01:44 PM
That STV story is a joke.

Efe is our only summer signing, is he? I must have imagined Danny Swanson, Simon Murray and Ofir Marciano joining us then...

It does mention Swanson,Marciano etc

13-07-2017, 01:45 PM
It does mention Swanson,Marciano etc

It genuinely didn't when I read it about 10 minutes ago. They've got some quick editors!

13-07-2017, 01:46 PM
Flipping brilliant, hope folk can put their pitchforks away and support the guy on the park when the season starts!

xyz23jc
13-07-2017, 01:46 PM
" He comes back when he wants, he comes back when he wants... Efe Ambrose he comes back when he wants....." :greengrin:duck:

13-07-2017, 02:03 PM
Surely Lennon sacked him, and while he was at it, told Whittaker to piss off too?

13-07-2017, 02:38 PM
Done. Nothing story. Let's move on now.

13-07-2017, 05:48 PM
Seems like he's had a valid reason for not returning on time which is good enough for me. Lennon's happy with his explanation so that's the matter closed.

Time to move on and welcome back Efe.

Wee Effen Bee
13-07-2017, 07:49 PM
Seems like he's had a valid reason for not returning on time which is good enough for me. Lennon's happy with his explanation so that's the matter closed.

Sod that. There were people on this site last couple of days demanding Efe be punished severely - despite not knowing the reason for His late return (where are they today?) I think they were correct and Efe should publicly have his ankles broken.
With Efe in training and Lennon saying he was hoping for 2 or even 3 signings within a week, can all negative doomsayers shut da*** up.:greengrin

13-07-2017, 10:06 PM

Exactly. Lennon's not the type to let anyone take the mickey so if he's happy with the explanation then I'm happy.

13-07-2017, 10:13 PM
Sod that. There were people on this site last couple of days demanding Efe be punished severely - despite not knowing the reason for His late return (where are they today?) I think they were correct and Efe should publicly have his ankles broken.
With Efe in training and Lennon saying he was hoping for 2 or even 3 signings within a week, can all negative doomsayers shut da*** up.:greengrin

To be fair I think most people were reacting to the interview that Lennon gave a couple of days ago after the Berwick Rangers game. He sounded furious and it seemed very much as if Ambrose was at it.

Lennon has now clarified the situation and all seems good again. Perhaps he shouldn't have used the language that he used the other night when he didn't know the full facts at that point - saying that Ambrose would be in big trouble when he returned etc. I think that's what lead most people to assume that Ambrose was in the wrong and treating the club badly, hence the calls to sack him.

Hibeewilly
13-07-2017, 10:25 PM
Welcome back Efe. You can become a Hibs great mate. GGTTH

13-07-2017, 11:37 PM
To be fair I think most people were reacting to the interview that Lennon gave a couple of days ago after the Berwick Rangers game. He sounded furious and it seemed very much as if Ambrose was at it.

Lennon has now clarified the situation and all seems good again. Perhaps he shouldn't have used the language that he used the other night when he didn't know the full facts at that point - saying that Ambrose would be in big trouble when he returned etc. I think that's what lead most people to assume that Ambrose was in the wrong and treating the club badly, hence the calls to sack him.Good point. Thing is we all mouth off at times then wish we hadnt been so hasty. If NL is happy now thats good enough for me

Wee Effen Bee
13-07-2017, 11:46 PM

Lennon has now clarified the situation and all seems good again. Perhaps he shouldn't have used the language that he used the other night when he didn't know the full facts at that point - saying that Ambrose would be in big trouble when he returned etc. I think that's what lead most people to assume that Ambrose was in the wrong and treating the club badly, hence the calls to sack him.

Aye, fair point SDG - to a degree. I thought that NL was hamming it up in that interview and was displaying an air of pedantry with his choice of words - as if he were indeed the teacher waiting on wee Jimmy, who was always late, to give him a big row in front of the class.:greengrin

14-07-2017, 06:13 AM

Not for me. I watched it on SSN and Lennon had a wee twinkle in his eye, he was being tongue in cheek and appears to have handled it well.

I think lots on here read the interview transcript (without benefit of TV pictures) and leapt to the conclusion that NL "was furious".

A bit like reading too much into a text message, when hearing it F2F gives a different impression?

Salt N Sauzee
14-07-2017, 06:55 AM

Folk calling for his contract to be torn up look just a little bit stupid now :rolleyes:

14-07-2017, 07:07 AM

100% correct. To be fair our resident deep undercover posters ( they know that we know) were fuelling this pish and as usual the dafties jumped on the bandwagon.

Ambrose is one of our biggest signings in years and he will play his part over the season in one of the best defences in Scotland. Welcome back to the big fellae, looking forward to seeing him strut his stuff this season coming.

14-07-2017, 07:23 AM
Folk calling for his contract to be torn up look just a little bit stupid now :rolleyes:

Which adds up to the sum total of nobody ............ Like a few folk I was concerned that Efe was taking the piss and posted to say so, but like everybody else I was prepared to see what he had to say before making my mind up about the situation. NL seems to have accepted his explanation so that's good enough for me and we move on, perhaps with the proviso that Efe puts the clubs number into his mobile phone, because his failure to let the club know what was going on appears to be at the root of the problem.

I would also say that we shouldn't forget the bollox the fans of this club had to endure in the years leading up to our relegation, a situation that has only recently been rectified by the introduction of Leeann Dempster followed by winning the Scottish cup ........ We are on an upward trajectory and anything that appears to have potential to put that in peril isn't going to make me happy and that includes any possible disruption in the dressing room.

Salt N Sauzee
14-07-2017, 08:07 AM
Which adds up to the sum total of nobody ............ Like a few folk I was concerned that Efe was taking the piss and posted to say so, but like everybody else I was prepared to see what he had to say before making my mind up about the situation. NL seems to have accepted his explanation so that's good enough for me and we move on, perhaps with the proviso that Efe puts the clubs number into his mobile phone, because his failure to let the club know what was going on appears to be at the root of the problem.

I would also say that we shouldn't forget the bollox the fans of this club had to endure in the years leading up to our relegation, a situation that has only recently been rectified by the introduction of Leeann Dempster followed by winning the Scottish cup ........ We are on an upward trajectory and anything that appears to have potential to put that in peril isn't going to make me happy and that includes any possible disruption in the dressing room.

Strange, I counted at least 5 posts calling for him to be punted in the earlier pages on this thread. :hmmm: (Never actually seen your post on it though)

Knew he'd have a valid excuse as he doesn't seem the type to slack or take liberties. Glad it's sorted now but what a hysterical overreaction it caused not just on here but particularly on Facebook as well.

Now we can all go back to wetting ourselves over the apparent lack of signings we're making :panic:

Lang Toun Hibs
14-07-2017, 03:16 PM

I can confirm this is the case - not ITK but proof attached for all to see...and yes, it was closed so he is clearly no longer here in Plozevet, France. 'Bonjovi tout le monde!'

Hope the attachment works!

14-07-2017, 03:32 PM
These days you can text from almost anywhere. You really have to have a damned good reason for not getting in touch.

Lang Toun Hibs
14-07-2017, 03:41 PM
These days you can text from almost anywhere. You really have to have a damned good reason for not getting in touch.

To be fair it wouldn't be easy to text whilst setting up a kebab shop...hygiene and all that.

14-07-2017, 04:16 PM
To be fair it wouldn't be easy to text whilst setting up a kebab shop...hygiene and all that.

I don't know Efe personally but he has the look of a fellow for whom food hygiene is paramount.

In that respect he's a great role model for younger players thinking of diversifying into the fast food takeaway market.

14-07-2017, 04:28 PM

Like leaving your mobile and numbers behind? Should still have called the club tho.

14-07-2017, 04:30 PM
Not for me. I watched it on SSN and Lennon had a wee twinkle in his eye, he was being tongue in cheek and appears to have handled it well.

I think lots on here read the interview transcript (without benefit of TV pictures) and leapt to the conclusion that NL "was furious".

A bit like reading too much into a text message, when hearing it F2F gives a different impression?

Situational management. Find out more info before making a decision that might be the wrong one.

14-07-2017, 04:32 PM
Like leaving your mobile and numbers behind? Should still have called the club tho.

Jason had his plug adaptor.

14-07-2017, 04:51 PM
Jason had his plug adaptor.

Youve cracked that one already. I laughed the first time. It got a grrrr this time.

14-07-2017, 04:52 PM
Ambrose will prove to be the signing of the decade for the Hibs and I'm sure he will become a legend. The lad is a cut above and in a comfortable environment he will excell. Hibs 2017/18 player of the season I think. Very likeable character and an excellent footballer.

portyhibernian
14-07-2017, 04:54 PM
Ambrose will prove to be the signing of the decade for the Hibs and I'm sure he will become a legend. The lad is a cut above and in a comfortable environment he will excell. Hibs 2017/18 player of the season I think. Very likeable character and an excellent footballer.

Poor communicator though! (Sorry)

14-07-2017, 05:06 PM
Youve cracked that one already. I laughed the first time. It got a grrrr this time.

I'm old.

I can't remember what I had for ....

The Pointer
14-07-2017, 05:07 PM
This incident highlights the differences between footballers and professional athletes. I'm not disputing Ambrose's ability, but if he thinks it's OK to stay away longer than Lennon permitted, with no way of contacting him, then that shows a poor attitude to his employer.

If I did that, I'd get disciplined so why should footballers be treated differently? Unless of course Lennon did give him verbals on his return but we probably won't find out.

14-07-2017, 05:12 PM
Ambrose will prove to be the signing of the decade for the Hibs and I'm sure he will become a legend. The lad is a cut above and in a comfortable environment he will excell. Hibs 2017/18 player of the season I think. Very likeable character and an excellent footballer.Will all due respect, he wont top the guys that won us the cup for the first time in 114 years.

14-07-2017, 05:25 PM
Will all due respect, he wont top the guys that won us the cup for the first time in 114 years.
True mate but think he'll be a massive player over the coming years. Egg on my face if I'm wrong lol

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

14-07-2017, 05:26 PM
Poor communicator though! (Sorry)
🤣

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

OxoHibby
14-07-2017, 08:36 PM
This incident highlights the differences between footballers and professional athletes. I'm not disputing Ambrose's ability, but if he thinks it's OK to stay away longer than Lennon permitted, with no way of contacting him, then that shows a poor attitude to his employer.

If I did that, I'd get disciplined so why should footballers be treated differently? Unless of course Lennon did give him verbals on his return but we probably won't find out.

The incident more highlights the difference between levels in the game or the difference between good and great in any professional sport. Efe and Ronaldo are both good footballers. OK Ronaldo more so but Ronaldo also works really hard at his game and athleticism

14-07-2017, 09:04 PM

Most employers would provide an employee the opportunity to explain themselves.

No idea what point you are making about athletes and footballers. Other than the fact Ambrose is an athletic specimen are you suggesting no other sport would have individuals who have missed training or have had communications issues?

14-07-2017, 09:15 PM
Whether Lennon was happy with his explanation or not (I very much doubt he would be) surely no one expects the club to discuss their disciplinary issues in public. The statement puts it to bed for the fans, leave no ill will towards Ambrose and allows the club to go about their business with employees on a confidential basis as one would expect.

14-07-2017, 09:47 PM
Will all due respect, he wont top the guys that won us the cup for the first time in 114 years.

Winning it. Again might help though.. :wink:

But seriously, nothing will beat that day.