View Full Version : Hibs v Dunfermline match updates

Pages : 1 [2]

06-07-2017, 08:33 PM
A very good night's work, well done the players and management.

I dislike how the Scottish league cup final of 1991 is almost always referred to as the " Skol cup final". I think it belittles a wee bit what a great achievement it was to win the league cup, especially after what the club had recently been through. Ach, its maybe just me being an old grump, but I think it makes it sound like some pre season tournament.
Just like the 2007 is fairly commonly referred to as the CIS Cup.

Lee Marvin
With McGinn playing such a huge part in preparations for the new season, I'd be mightily pee'd off to see the board sell him and completely unsettle our team.

Only a pre season friendly but brilliant to see a team mixed with youth, experience and new signings gelling so well.

Unless a ridiculous bid comes in, mcginn just simply cannot be sold this summer. Would be a disaster for us!

06-07-2017, 08:34 PM
Debut 0 -0 at Falkirk.
I was at that game at Brockville

It was one of the very few games during that period the Tornadoes failed to score a goal
Of course, Joe was no Tornado

06-07-2017, 08:34 PM
Good first game back. McGinn has to stay, different gravy out there. Good performances from the young lads too, Dylan also looked good in the first half. Great run out.

06-07-2017, 08:35 PM
Good early pre-season result with a couple of standout performances. SJM just looks far too good at this level.

06-07-2017, 08:36 PM
Good start to pre season. Hopefully hear from Lennon afterwards too.

Wish i had went to the game now

The night time KO put me off

Good start

Anyone think mcginn has been hitting the gym pre season? Looked a lot bigger this evening than last season

Unless a ridiculous bid comes in, mcginn just simply cannot be sold this summer. Would be a disaster for us!

Sadly, it's not always the offer that matters, it's the wages that are offered to the player in question.:agree:

Debut 0 -0 at Falkirk.

And could never be called "one of our own" - which I think the reference to Swanson was about.

06-07-2017, 08:37 PM
Just like the 2007 is fairly commonly referred to as the CIS Cup.

Aye, and the lager was crap too!

06-07-2017, 08:37 PM
Good early pre-season result with a couple of standout performances. SJM just looks far too good at this level.
Sshhh
Don't let him hear you say that!

06-07-2017, 08:40 PM
We have some good young players coming through. Porteous, Crane, Fraser Murray and Shaw all impressed me.

06-07-2017, 08:40 PM
Anyone think mcginn has been hitting the gym pre season? Looked a lot bigger this evening than last season

He was the same last summer. Came back looking like he'd put on a good few pounds of solid muscle.

RossScott1991
06-07-2017, 08:41 PM
Celtic we are coming for you !

06-07-2017, 08:42 PM
I was at the game. Alan Gordon dropped to make way for WFJ.
Jimmy was dropped, too

BigT-Hibeez
06-07-2017, 08:44 PM
That bad huh? Thought he was better with the slick-back 'because I'm worth it' look.

That look was Head & Shoulders above the rest..

BigT-Hibeez
06-07-2017, 08:44 PM
That look was Head & Shoulders above the rest..

I'll get ma jacket..!!

06-07-2017, 08:45 PM
Having seen the team tonight I can't wait for the Partick Thistle game.

GTMRossaK3
06-07-2017, 08:46 PM
I dislike how the Scottish league cup final of 1991 is almost always referred to as the " Skol cup final". I think it belittles a wee bit what a great achievement it was to win the league cup, especially after what the club had recently been through. Ach, its maybe just me being an old grump, but I think it makes it sound like some pre season tournament.

Totally agree - it will always be the League Cup Final to me and a very important one as I suspect it will also be for quite a few others as it was the first game I took my young son to. My son was scheduled to have a game that day but it was called off at the last moment so I managed to arrange tickets via a friend who was based in Glasgow at the time and my son and I plus two of his team mates & their Dads set off to Hampden. Given the teams were from Edinburgh & Dunfermline the traffic heading to Hampden was horrendous so we parked the car and walked the last bit. Arrived 20 mins late for kick off but my son's two team mates bought Hibs flags just outside the turnstiles only for them to walk two steps then have the sticks from the flags removed for security reasons!

Anyway - as we know it was just the greatest of days.

Many more we hope.

06-07-2017, 08:48 PM
Having seen the team tonight I can't wait for the Partick Thistle game.
And the following game:greengrin

06-07-2017, 08:48 PM
One of these days there will be a thread on here which actually stays on topic. Or maybe not.

06-07-2017, 08:49 PM
McGinn is going to get better and better, we should be pushing the boat out to keep this lad another season rather than buying Berry. Stick 5k a week on SJMs salary for the next year.

06-07-2017, 08:50 PM
McGinn is going to get better and better, we should be pushing the boat out to keep this lad another season rather than buying Berry. Stick 5k a week on SJMs salary for the next year.

And when mcgregor, hanlon ask for the same- or even ball park the same?

06-07-2017, 08:51 PM
Any post match comments from Lennon?

06-07-2017, 08:52 PM

Reminds me of the pre season game at East End when Scott Alan was brilliant. Hope it's not a similar outcome

06-07-2017, 08:52 PM

The difference is that they'll no be getting offered that anywhere else?

06-07-2017, 08:53 PM

McGregor just signed a new 2 year contract which would take him to just short of his 34th birthday. I think we'd be fine on that one. I'd also suggest that Paul Hanlon has spent a large amount, if not his whole time at Hibs, not being the highest earner.

06-07-2017, 08:54 PM
And the following game:greengrin

Sadly I'm in Hamburg for a stag doo but il be at ibrox in spirit.

06-07-2017, 08:55 PM
Any post match comments from Lennon?

Nut, just his snapchat story from the Ocean Beach Club where he's oot his dish on Heath Ledgers. Lad.

06-07-2017, 09:01 PM
Terrible lager too.

06-07-2017, 09:03 PM
Ha ha whoosh. We're on about the skol cup final :greengrin

I've still got my old-man's video of that game - complete with full PORNO movie at the end of it !. He got a last-minute ticket from Hibs (he did some part-time scouting for Hibs) so, knowing my mum wasn't too good at operating the video, he asked the barmaid in his local - Jeannie Deans - if she would tape it for him. She agreed and also asked him if he wanted anything else - and knowing that apparently she liked watching porno's (??) the old-man jokingly said - 'Aye - stick one o' your movies on it if there's enough tape left'. It was a few days after the game he phoned me in a right state - the previous night my mum was reading a book so he put the tape on to re-live the game. Instead of switching it off when it finished, he'd went upstairs to the toilet (bear in mind both my parents at this time were in their late 60's-early 70's) and when he came back down my mum, not knowing how to switch it off, was almost on the verge of ripping the machine out of the wall ! The barmaid HAD put a porno on it - and it doesn't have a slow/gradual intro - it's right 'into it' straight after the opening-credits ! It was then that my dad realised, after almost 50 years of marriage, that my mum wasn't really into porn ! And the reason he was phoning me was to ask if I would tell my mum it was ME who'd asked the barmaid to put the porno on, which I did ............ eventually !

I have no idea if she ever really belived me ??

Feed McGraw
06-07-2017, 09:04 PM
Skol were the sponsors and put up a cup as well as the League cup itself, we actually won 2 cups that famous day :wink: I know there were two cups, but the main one`s never mentioned. :wink:

06-07-2017, 09:05 PM
I've still got my old-man's video of that game - complete with full PORNO movie at the end of it !. He got a last-minute ticket from Hibs (he did some part-time scouting for Hibs) so, knowing my mum wasn't too good at operating the video, he asked the barmaid in his local - Jeannie Deans - if she would tape it for him. She agreed and also asked him if he wanted anything else - and knowing that apparently she liked watching porno's (??) the old-man jokingly said - 'Aye - stick one o' your movies on it if there's enough tape left'. It was a few days after the game he phoned me in a right state - the previous night my mum was reading a book so he put the tape on to re-live the game. Instead of switching it off when it finished, he'd went upstairs to the toilet (bear in mind both my parents at this time were in their late 60's-early 70's) and when he came back down my mum, not knowing how to switch it off, was almost on the verge of ripping the machine out of the wall ! The barmaid HAD put a porno on it - and it doesn't have a slow/gradual intro - it's right 'into it' straight after the opening-credits ! It was then that my dad realised, after almost 50 years of marriage, that my mum wasn't really into porn ! And the reason he was phoning me was to ask if I would tell my mum it was ME who'd asked the barmaid to put the porno on, which I did ............ eventually !

Considering you were only 4 years old at the time I'd have trouble believing it too 🤔

06-07-2017, 09:06 PM
Terrible lager too.

Kestrel enough said

Cardinal Hibernian
06-07-2017, 09:06 PM

Debbie does Dunfermline?

06-07-2017, 09:09 PM

Superb 😄

06-07-2017, 09:11 PM
Debbie does Dumydkes

06-07-2017, 09:12 PM

Post of the season.

06-07-2017, 09:12 PM
How was Boyle's hair?

Every once in a while, but only rarely, the killer question is asked

06-07-2017, 09:13 PM
Was there a game of association football on tonight?

RossScott1991
Berry deal off Whittaker deal on - lennon sky sports

Jimmy was dropped, too

Jimmy played Mick, it was only Gordon who was dropped. The following week though Gordon came back in for the cup game at Perth & Jimmy scored all 3 in a 3-1 win.

Feed McGraw
Just like the 2007 is fairly commonly referred to as the CIS Cup. Yup, that one too. Sponsors dream the league cup is. Its like saying the " The William Hills" cup when referring to the Scottish cup ! :rolleyes:

06-07-2017, 09:15 PM

Then we say no. You think the whole squad get the same wages? I'm pretty sure they realise that they don't have the same bargaining power as McGinn. A bit like how I don't ask for the same wages as the CEO of my company when i find out he gets multiples of my salary.

06-07-2017, 09:18 PM

At last, a bit of clarity from Lennon.

06-07-2017, 09:21 PM
At last, a bit of clarity from Lennon.

What he say

06-07-2017, 09:24 PM
Considering you were only 4 years old at the time I'd have trouble believing it too 🤔

Oh God I wish !!

Debbie does Dumydkes

Close - Dumbiedykes :wink:

06-07-2017, 09:25 PM

Tears were running down my face, so so funny. Superb.

06-07-2017, 09:26 PM

Did they ask him his source?

06-07-2017, 09:27 PM
What he say

Berry deal off, Whittaker deal on

06-07-2017, 09:34 PM
We improved tenfold in the 2nd half. Murrays work rate up front made a big difference. He's very quick and never stops which caused them to give us a lot of the ball. I like him.

Swanson done well and took his goal well. I thought Pennant was fine, he looked rusty but he tried a few passes which required a bit vision to see. They didn't always come off. I'd give him another game or 2 to see if he can get fully up to speed.

Of the old head McGinn was immense when he came on, Stevenson looked very good and Bartley was his usual bar one poor pass. Rocky maybe fortunate with the disallowed goal but had a great save as well.

Yoingsters wise. Crane was shaky imo and got away with one mistake which could have been punished. Shaw needs to add a bit weight but took his goal well, Porteous done very well when he settled, Scott Martin was neat and tidy and Fraser Murray looks a very exciting prospect.

06-07-2017, 09:35 PM
Good to hear the young lads did well. How about Pennant - worth another run on Sunday?

06-07-2017, 09:36 PM
Jimmy played Mick, it was only Gordon who was dropped. The following week though Gordon came back in for the cup game at Perth & Jimmy scored all 3 in a 3-1 win.
Bow to your better memory.Brian
Tonic wine was cheap back then!

Joe was a good player, that is not in dispute,but should have been seen as an addition/compliment to the squad.rather than replacing players who were on form (your recollection of the next game shows that)
It's a pity Eddie did not share that view at the time
He realised that too late.The players were soon gone.
And the rest, as they say is.....

Back to the present

Good start tonight.
Lets hope for some more happy days/good football to be celebrated at The Holy Ground.

06-07-2017, 09:40 PM
Just back from game..

Keepers - both fine and both made 1 excellent save each.

Gray - legend - though needs competition to keep up standards.

Fontaine / McGregor - usual steady

Porteous - seen a lot of him for Dev team and he's the next Paul Hanlon.

Crane - seen him play better but still fine - combined well with Swanson for goal.

Bartley - again usual solid self

Dylan - such a talent hopefully he plays more games this season

Pennant - strolled it - corners bit dodgy but free kick and goal very good. Would like to see him against better players.

Swanson - already one of my favourite players - cuts in during game - took goal well - looks busy. Finally someone to play left who is comfortable on that side. Excellent corners from left.

Graham - fine - though still a squad player - adds something different.

Fraser Murray - looks better and better - another impressive young talent.

Shaw- not much service - better 2nd half - took goal well - the next Cummings - proven goals at Dev level.

Simon Murray - like Boyle - works and works - you have to love that. Clever movement and looked dangerous. Only matter of time before he scores.

Stevenson / Boyle - usual

McGinn - WE MUST KEEP HIM

Scott Martin - good energy - made tackles - will improve again this season and still young

Overall very comfortable - controlled game without looking in any trouble.

Good traveling crowd midweek and encouraging start. Still missing a real main striker I feel but what stood out as players know each other well and pretty settled side even playing 2 different sides this evening with lots of youth.

BlackSheep
06-07-2017, 09:51 PM
Just back from game..

Crane - seen him play better but still fine - combined well with Swanson for goal.

Pennant - strolled it - corners bit dodgy but free kick and goal very good. Would like to see him against better players.

Swanson - already one of my favourite players - cuts in during game - took goal well - looks busy. Finally someone to play left who is comfortable on that side. Excellent corners from left.

Shaw- not much service - better 2nd half - took goal well - the next Cummings - proven goals at Dev level.

Simon Murray - like Boyle - works and works - you have to love that. Clever movement and looked dangerous. Only matter of time before he scores.

Scott Martin - good energy - made tackles - will improve again this season and still young

Good traveling crowd midweek and encouraging start. Still missing a real main striker I feel but what stood out as players know each other well and pretty settled side even playing 2 different sides this evening with lots of youth.

Totally agree. I know it's only preseason but that was comfortable against a team that gave us a few good games last year.

06-07-2017, 09:57 PM
Berry deal off Whittaker deal on - lennon sky sportsAny mention of strikers at all??

dmc1875
06-07-2017, 09:57 PM
Would like to see more of Pennant. Thought Porteous and F Murray did great. Mcginn makes a massive difference and so did Simon Murray.

06-07-2017, 09:58 PM
A decent run out for the players tonight, McGinn was very good, can't say anyone was poor, it's all about fitness just now and it helps when you get a good result for a bit of confidence.

CraigK
06-07-2017, 09:58 PM
Lennon interview on the Dunfy website: http://www.dafc.co.uk/story.php?t=Managers_Post_Hibs&ID=10052

1875Sean
06-07-2017, 10:03 PM
Seen on twitter sky cams were there anyone seen highlights yet?

06-07-2017, 10:06 PM

:faf: Absolutely brilliant Deansy. I take it the tape was well worn out eventually? :greengrin

Wee Effen Bee
06-07-2017, 10:07 PM
One of these days there will be a thread on here which actually stays on topic. Or maybe not.

...anyway, what's your choice: Star Wars or Star Trek?

06-07-2017, 10:18 PM
Just back from game..

I know one swallow does not make a summer but that's exactly the sort of feedback I was hoping to hear from the game. Yes we need to add more to our squad, few, l if any would disagree. I don't think we are the 7 or 8 away that some have suggested. If we keep McGinn and Dylan then we're only 3 or so away from a good squad if the youngsters are ready to take their chance. It seems on tonight they are.

Obviously they won't be consistent all season but if they're ready when we need them and we, as a fans base, continue to back them even when things don't go right, we could have the makings of another golden generation.

Personally I'd welcome Fyvie back and Graham has scored goals at this level so I'm happy if Neil thinks he's got a role to play. It's going to be a very different season this year and maybe he's ready to roll the sleeves up and come out fighting. Here's hoping.

Thanks to those who made it tonight for the updates and feed back.

06-07-2017, 10:31 PM
I know one swallow does not make a summer but that's exactly the sort of feedback I was hoping to hear from the game. Yes we need to add more to our squad, few, l if any would disagree. I don't think we are the 7 or 8 away that some have suggested. If we keep McGinn and Dylan then we're only 3 or so away from a good squad if the youngsters are ready to take their chance. It seems on tonight they are.

Obviously they won't be consistent all season but if they're ready when we need them and we, as a fans base, continue to back them even when things don't go right, we could have the makings of another golden generation.

Personally I'd welcome Fyvie back and Graham has scored goals at this level so I'm happy if Neil thinks he's got a role to play. It's going to be a very different season this year and maybe he's ready to roll the sleeves up and come out fighting. Here's hoping.

Traffic was a bummer coming back, can be the only moan tonight.

06-07-2017, 10:32 PM

Was good seeing the warm up tonight thinking...

We look rather settled and players know each other and the system being asked from them.

Still long way to go but like I said a mixture of teams in each half and also missing Efe and Hanlon!!

Swanson / Shaw and Simon Murray are going to be interesting to see how they all do this season.

Swanson and Murray will 100% be fans favourites with their style.

Graham has already scored many for Ross County and I would keep him. Good professional who will contribute.

Young players have serious potential - hopefully they get some game time and keep improving.

06-07-2017, 10:36 PM
Traffic was a bummer coming back, can be the only moan tonight.

Can only thank the people who closed junction 1, and send us all through Rosyth

E10 Rifle
06-07-2017, 10:43 PM
Hopefully the first of many in a Hibs jersey for Danny :aok:

Neil Orr
Paul Wright

both possibilities

(and may have been mentioned as I couldn't be bothered reading through all the threads before I forgot this)

06-07-2017, 10:44 PM

Jim Traynor at it again. His influence knows no bounds.

06-07-2017, 10:45 PM
Neil Orr
Paul Wright

both possibilities

(and may have been mentioned as I couldn't be bothered reading through all the threads before I forgot this)
Nah, it was about "one of our own" scoring on their debut.

06-07-2017, 10:46 PM
Any mention of strikers at all??

Samaras

06-07-2017, 10:52 PM

I never followed the directions and took the left as you came of the motorway and came through the wee town (forget it's name) and came out under the rail bridge, no hold up that way. :greengrin

Decent night of football was the main thing.

Bartley will be a superb player for us this season.

06-07-2017, 11:26 PM

One of the great posts :aok::flag:

E10 Rifle
06-07-2017, 11:29 PM
Nah, it was about "one of our own" scoring on their debut.

Does 'one of our own' mean 'ITK'?

07-07-2017, 12:54 AM
Does 'one of our own' mean 'ITK'?

Not if it's on the NITK thread.

07-07-2017, 06:55 AM
I noticed Nl said on his dunfy interview that the transfer window runs to Aug 31 hinting that's he's not rushing any transfers and the pursuit of the likes of stokes could be a long drawn out affair which might explain why he's taking so long to get a striker in. I'm afraid there could be a long wait for the 5pm press conference at East mains.

cocteautwin
07-07-2017, 07:29 AM

I had to sign in just to say that is brilliant. Choking on my tea with tears running down my face.

Cardinal Hibernian
07-07-2017, 02:33 PM
I had to sign in just to say that is brilliant. Choking on my tea with tears running down my face.
This is an absolute classic - one of the funniest and most hilarious things I have read on this forum. I thought my memories of that League Cup final in 1991 were complete. What an addition and thank you for sharing. Give that man honorary hibs.net membership.

Cardinal Hibernian
07-07-2017, 02:35 PM

This is an absolute classic - one of the funniest and most hilarious things I have read on this forum. I thought my memories of that League Cup final in 1991 were complete. What an addition and thank you for sharing. Give that man honorary hibs.net membership.

07-07-2017, 06:21 PM
How nice to see football played on a lush green park, with the fans wearing t shirts and shorts
Bring on summer football please!

07-07-2017, 09:32 PM
Not if it's on the NITK thread.

I've no idea what you're talk about...