View Full Version : Lewis Stevenson Testimonial - v Sunderland Sunday 9th July *kick off 2pm*

Pages : 1 [2]

09-07-2017, 02:33 PM
2-2. Simon Murray!

09-07-2017, 02:34 PM
Really poor challenge on Bartley, big reaction from him and no wonder.

In a league game the guy would walk. Straight legged on him.

Souter96Mac
09-07-2017, 02:35 PM
Hmm..will there be a late, controversial penalty awarded to Hibs I wonder..

09-07-2017, 02:36 PM
Gray and Bartley replaced by Murray and Martin. Murray also off, Shaw on.

09-07-2017, 02:37 PM
Was that Cattermole with the challenge?

Salt N Sauzee
09-07-2017, 02:37 PM
Lee Cattermole is a horrible little rat.

09-07-2017, 02:38 PM
Who's at RB after Gray went off?

Martin.

Martin.

Was that Cattermole with the challenge?

It was. Dirty ****.

09-07-2017, 02:39 PM
Lee Cattermole is a horrible football player.

It was. Dirty ****.

I thought so. He is a career animal.

Certainly got plenty previous.

Twiglet
09-07-2017, 02:41 PM
Who's 21 for Sunderland? Absolute rocket.

09-07-2017, 02:42 PM
Cattermole is one of the worst anti football players in England awful player who uses late and over the top tackles in an attempt to make up for his many shortcomings at top level football. He is second only to Ryan Shawcross but doing his best to catch him up.

09-07-2017, 02:44 PM
Shaw hits the underside of the bar after Graham was denied by a last ditch challenge.

Stevenson subbed.

09-07-2017, 02:46 PM
9309 crowd. 900 from Sunderland

09-07-2017, 02:47 PM

So is his surname

09-07-2017, 02:47 PM

Good crowd all things considered.

RamYer1902
09-07-2017, 02:48 PM
9309 is a very good crowd. Shut me up about the 7k estimate.

09-07-2017, 02:48 PM

That's a great crowd. Anyone recall the Harry Potter testimonial attendance? 😁

09-07-2017, 02:50 PM
Brian Graham has had a very good game since coming on.

09-07-2017, 02:50 PM
2-2.

Good performance all told bar a crazy 20 minutes when we lost all shape. Think their step up in pace caught us out a bit

09-07-2017, 02:52 PM
Brilliant game to watch. Ollie Shaw off the bar and post shot away from a win.

MartinfaePorty
09-07-2017, 02:54 PM
Entertaining for a friendly. Poor start to both halves but better as they went on. Much better when went 2 up front.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

09-07-2017, 02:56 PM
Puts a lump in your throat that.

09-07-2017, 02:59 PM

I know of 2 of Piggery Park persuasion but at least they've contributed to the pot.

norwayhibs
09-07-2017, 03:05 PM
Good game , very fitting that Lewis was given a lap of honour to sunshine on Leith. Fantastic servant for Hibernian FC. A Club legend.:flag:

Jag7
09-07-2017, 03:09 PM
Who scored for Hibs ? Ignore that. Missed a page with our goals !!😳

09-07-2017, 03:12 PM
Find it a bit embarrassing tbh. Sorry if I hurt your feelings on patriotism.

You embarrass way too easily in my opinion.

DTS
09-07-2017, 03:14 PM
All things considered another good result and performance. Slow start to the second half but you've got to consider the fact they had 11 fresh players whilst we didn't make a change. Pennant shaw graham and Murray all looked good coming off the bench. Porteous should not be loaned out.

09-07-2017, 03:17 PM
Anyone know where Ambrose is?

09-07-2017, 03:17 PM
Fraser Murray was very good again.

09-07-2017, 03:24 PM
The Sunderland view https://www.safc.com/news/team-news/2017/july/hibernian/report-v-hibs

09-07-2017, 03:27 PM
The Sunderland view https://www.safc.com/news/team-news/2017/july/hibernian/report-v-hibs

As a side note, I quite like the layout of that match review..

09-07-2017, 03:29 PM

Not a very one sided report that is it? :confused:

09-07-2017, 03:32 PM
Does anyone know if the t-shirts being sold outside the East were "official"?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

09-07-2017, 03:34 PM
Good work out. I thought we played well but didn't look like scoring until we went up and scored two goals. [emoji3]

09-07-2017, 03:37 PM

Stevenson celebrating 17 years at the club?

LS16
09-07-2017, 03:43 PM
The shape we played for most of the game (4-1-4-1) made it really hard to support Murray up top. More to do with lack of options than our first choice formation I hope...On another note, McGinn was extremely good, looked really sharp and passing range was impressive yet again

The Leith Dutch
09-07-2017, 03:44 PM
I get where you're coming from, I was only joking. Will be the toughest team we'll face til the league starts.

Pish as they were last year I'd imagine they're probably going to be tougher than anyone bar Celtic this year.

cmcd
09-07-2017, 03:50 PM
Pish as they were last year I'd imagine they're probably going to be tougher than anyone bar Celtic this year.

I thought Dylan McGeough was outstanding in the first half . Looked back to his old self

alihibs1
09-07-2017, 03:50 PM
A striker is badly needed. Stokes and Murray upfront could be a shout.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

09-07-2017, 03:59 PM
A striker is badly needed. Stokes and Murray upfront could be a shout.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Seems convenient that he was there a day after pulling out of a Blackburn game "injured".

Also seems convenient Fraser fyvie was there 🤔

09-07-2017, 04:00 PM
Really enjoyed that, good crowd for Lewis and thought the young guys stood up well, was also nice to get a bit of bite in a pre-season friendly.
We won't be playing teams with that quality every week, they're hardly world beaters but comfortable & strong through their whole team. Cattermole is a funny though.
Their fans were also okay, apart from the GSQueenie rubbish.
Need a couple more players & we'll be well ready for the new season.

09-07-2017, 04:02 PM
Martin Boyle was very good today I thought.

09-07-2017, 04:04 PM
Was a pleasure going along today and paying tribute to Lewis. A very hard working, model professional and the nicest guy you could ever wish to meet.

Lewis, your a credit to this great club, thank you for the last 10 years!

09-07-2017, 04:05 PM
Martin Boyle was very good today I thought.

I agree, brilliant pace. If only his finishing was better at times!

09-07-2017, 04:08 PM
No it's not.

It's Donald where's yer troosers.

LOL! It's the theme tune from The Archers.......

09-07-2017, 04:08 PM
Decent game against a pretty good Sunderland side who although got relegated are still better than anyone bar Celtic in the SPFL.

Played a 4-1-2-3 with 1 up top and 2 wide men, didn't really work against Sunderland and Murray is good or strong enough to play that lone role, looked better going 4-4-2.

Not going to say too much about any players as it was a testimonial and a good workout against a decent team but have to say I was really impressed with Porteous, strolled the game and his reading of play was superb, also of note was Fraser Murray and Martin, both composed and didn't look out of place at all.

09-07-2017, 04:20 PM

Seems to have disappeared .Presumably injured.Makes us really light at centre half.

09-07-2017, 04:29 PM

No idea what's going on there at all but like a lot of other things at the club at the moment there is no communication. We were supposed to be in a new era where communication with the fans was going to be up front but there has been practically nothing from the club over the summer.

On a side note to to players and on the subject of communication, what's the score with the BTG bar, "looking into it" is still the last we've heard. That's not good enough for record season ticket sales and the space and facilities in a modern stadium like Easter Road.

09-07-2017, 04:30 PM
Martin Boyle was very good today I thought.Thought he was fantastic all game mate [emoji106]

09-07-2017, 04:36 PM
Thought he was fantastic all game mate [emoji106]

He was. The new streamlined heid seems to have given him even more pace.

09-07-2017, 04:37 PM
He was. The new streamlined heid seems to have given him even more pace.Even tho it makes him look like an attacking David Gray lol...had me confused.com once or twice today [emoji23]

Velma Dinkley
09-07-2017, 04:40 PM
Match highlights. (https://www.safc.com/news/team-news/2017/july/hibernian/highlights-hibs-v-sunderland)

09-07-2017, 04:56 PM
Match highlights. (https://www.safc.com/news/team-news/2017/july/hibernian/highlights-hibs-v-sunderland)

xyz23jc
09-07-2017, 05:05 PM
:thumbsup:I'll second that emotion! Looked like a good game, think Murray will be a great addition! Why no NL's green white army emoji! :grr:
Petrie.....! :greengrin

09-07-2017, 05:07 PM
No idea what's going on there at all but like a lot of other things at the club at the moment there is no communication. We were supposed to be in a new era where communication with the fans was going to be up front but there has been practically nothing from the club over the summer.

On a side note to to players and on the subject of communication, what's the score with the BTG bar, "looking into it" is still the last we've heard. That's not good enough for record season ticket sales and the space and facilities in a modern stadium like Easter Road.

Agreed, if it was run properly there is no reason why a supporter's bar can't be a hit with fans and make the club a decent amount of cash on matchdays.

It'd be nice to hear what's up with Ambrose as he was nowhere to be seen against Dunfermline either.

09-07-2017, 05:08 PM
https://www.safc.com/news/team-news/2017/july/hibernian/highlights-hibs-v-sunderland

Highlights here.

09-07-2017, 05:11 PM

3,500 was quoted at the time?????

09-07-2017, 05:12 PM
Agreed, if it was run properly there is no reason why a supporter's bar can't be a hit with fans and make the club a decent amount of cash on matchdays.

It'd be nice to hear what's up with Ambrose as he was nowhere to be seen against Dunfermline either.

BTG bar IMHO doesn't even need to make money, it's a facility for the fans that every major club should have. I was in the Edinburgh City club today (old Loch Inn) who are charging £20 membership, good beer, good prices and seems well run. WTF can Hibs not have something to rival that in their massive stadium is beyond me. If BTG was not fit for purpose (LD words), they should fix it and make it fit for purpose.

09-07-2017, 05:25 PM
Because we're a Scottish club....who play in Scotland...and it's our countries national anthem? It was of course in response to them signing God Save The Queen. However your outrage at our anthem being sang is a bit, strange.

Just to be pedantic, it's not our national anthem. God Save The Queen remains Scotland's official anthem despite several attempts to open a debate on the issue. Flower of Scotland is often used as an unofficial anthem. Both anthems are, in my view, utter dirges. There must be something better out there.

09-07-2017, 05:48 PM
Thought he was fantastic all game mate [emoji106]

He was. The new streamlined heid seems to have given him even more pace.

Even tho it makes him look like an attacking David Gray lol...had me confused.com once or twice today [emoji23]

My first sight of him this year. Reminded me a character you could only make with this toy.... 18880

pollution
09-07-2017, 05:55 PM
Nice one

09-07-2017, 06:00 PM
Great ball by Rodwell that's what 10 mill buys you

John mcginn must be worth 10 mill...as well as his pass to Gray was every bit as good ..?? 😁 oh no he cant be, he plays in Scotland........

09-07-2017, 06:05 PM
I agree, brilliant pace. If only his finishing was better at times!

I reckon Lennon has been working on his decision making, marked improvement towards the end of last season, can only get better.

09-07-2017, 06:05 PM
Since 2007 until now we have had some complete duds as mangers, dreadfful results and some of the worst times in many years.

He stuck with us and it would have been very easy to call it a day with Hibs through all the ***** managers and play.

He has been a steady player whom has been loyal to the club, would have been easy to stay here if finishing 2nd and 3rd but we weren't.

Credit to him for seeing it out and getting the reward of last years cup.

09-07-2017, 06:06 PM
Aye, starting with the midfield thinking they don't need to defend.

Yip ....Bartley sitting on top of our centre halves needed to be out and picking up not giving them too much free possession ! Changed to a 4-4-2 and we look a lot better !!

09-07-2017, 06:23 PM
Gratz to Lewis great achievement hopefully enjoyed his day [emoji106]

09-07-2017, 08:44 PM
Even tho it makes him look like an attacking David Gray lol...had me confused.com once or twice today [emoji23]

Once Dylan shaves off his remaining two hairs we will be have a skinhead right wing.

Right flank might be a better way of putting it