View Full Version : Best chippy in Edinburgh

Navids Numpties
03-07-2017, 06:06 PM
Dinos craigentinny for me, fish are huge and chips are brilliant.

03-07-2017, 06:16 PM
Giovannis in northfield or the Montgomery IMO.

03-07-2017, 06:45 PM
Comiston Fry is always pretty good, and then just up the road you have Stefanos which must be a top contender for worst chippy in Edinburgh.

03-07-2017, 06:48 PM
I really have no idea as only tried a few
Eatalia Leith Walk is probably the best of them. A few years ago I would have said the Barbecue but sadly no longer.

Stubbsy2016
03-07-2017, 07:08 PM
The Pentland Fry (Juniper Green)

03-07-2017, 07:17 PM
Giovannis or Eatalia. Both already mentioned.

Chip Inn at Oxgangs used to be brilliant when I was young but it's awful now.

beensaidbefore
03-07-2017, 07:23 PM
Giovannis or Eatalia. Both already mentioned.

Chip Inn at Oxgangs used to be brilliant when I was young but it's awful now.

Agree, chip inn is rank, as is the top chippy now. Both used to be ace in the 80s n 90s. Concorde at tollcross or globetrotter at bruntsfield are the best IMO. Same guys have run them for years and stuff is always well cooked.

03-07-2017, 07:39 PM
Giovannis in northfield or the Montgomery IMO.

The Montgomery being the one at the bottom of Montgomery Street across from Joseph Pearce? I've never been in there but always thought it looks like an absolute hole from outside so I'm surprised to here that.

Anyway, my picks would be either Lalba Doro, The Jubilee or Francos. Francos has recently just changed ownership after Nino and Franco have retired, so I'll have to reserve judgement on that until I've tried it a few more times under new ownership, but it was always my favourite.

03-07-2017, 07:48 PM
Javits

03-07-2017, 07:49 PM
The Montgomery being the one at the bottom of Montgomery Street across from Joseph Pearce? I've never been in there but always thought it looks like an absolute hole from outside so I'm surprised to here that.

Anyway, my picks would be either Lalba Doro, The Jubilee or Francos. Francos has recently just changed ownership after Nino and Franco have retired, so I'll have to reserve judgement on that until I've tried it a few more times under new ownership, but it was always my favourite.

Aye that's the one. My sister in law lives a few doors along from it and it's a bit of a family tradition for my wife's folks to get a chippy from there when they're over. We used to live at abbeyhill and would get a chippy from there quite regularly till we left Edinburgh a couple of years ago.

While I wouldn't say it resembles a "hole" personally, I would say a chip shop is better judged on the taste of it's fish suppers than it's appearance from across the road. IMO of course :greengrin

03-07-2017, 07:50 PM
Nerd Alert:

The secret to frying both fish and chips (or any foodstuffs) is what oil or fat the product is fried in.

You want to be frying battered fish in beef dripping as this has a high melting-point. You drop the battered fish into beef dripping and it immediately seals and the fish steams within the sealed batter. You drop the exact same into vegetable oil (which chippies now use) and the oil seeps through the batter into the fish before it seals on the outside. The same goes for the chips - they become soggy.

Beef dripping is shunned these days as being unhealthy - but give me a chippy that fries in animal fat and I'll be first in the queue.

03-07-2017, 08:16 PM
Used to be the barracuda in northfield, until giovavannis bought him out due to the fact he was so successful. Won chippy of the year last year

ColinNish
03-07-2017, 08:20 PM
Angelo's, Lochend. 😊

MountcastleHibs
03-07-2017, 10:02 PM
Used to be the barracuda in northfield, until giovavannis bought him out due to the fact he was so successful. Won chippy of the year last year

I would second this. Although, they sold up to go back to his home country (Albania I think) to look after an elderly relative. Worked for both parties!

03-07-2017, 10:09 PM
Angelo's, Lochend. 😊

That's good.

The Montgomery is very good. I love it for the sit doonery and the take away. My sit doonery of choice.

I live in North Easter Road and Leith Walk. The chippy on Easter Road is rank. I gave it another chance the other week and it will be a long time before I try it again. The one at the foot of Leith Walk is no better!

South of Pilrig the Tail End and the one at the end of McDonald Road are tasty good but poor value. For both of them I always check the number of chips before my change. You're more likely to get fewer chips in the bag than £s change from a 20!!

03-07-2017, 10:14 PM
Nerd Alert:

The secret to frying both fish and chips (or any foodstuffs) is what oil or fat the product is fried in.

You want to be frying battered fish in beef dripping as this has a high melting-point. You drop the battered fish into beef dripping and it immediately seals and the fish steams within the sealed batter. You drop the exact same into vegetable oil (which chippies now use) and the oil seeps through the batter into the fish before it seals on the outside. The same goes for the chips - they become soggy.

Beef dripping is shunned these days as being unhealthy - but give me a chippy that fries in animal fat and I'll be first in the queue.

Exactly right. Chippies in Co Durham used beef dripping in the main between 2001-5 when I lived there and no doubt many still do. Took me straight back to my younger days in Edinburgh. When we first moved down my dad went to the local chippy in Bishop Auckland to get our tea. My youngest brother who'd helped drive the van down was and still is vegetarian. When my dad asked what was available for my brother the immortal reply was "nowt!" :greengrin He had to make do with an egg sandwich while we tucked in to fish and chips.

A chippy in Edinburgh using beef dripping would go down a storm. It's also proven to be not as bad for you as was made out in the early 80's when the switch was made.

03-07-2017, 10:31 PM
Exactly right. Chippies in Co Durham used beef dripping in the main between 2001-5 when I lived there and no doubt many still do. Took me straight back to my younger days in Edinburgh. When we first moved down my dad went to the local chippy in Bishop Auckland to get our tea. My youngest brother who'd helped drive the van down was and still is vegetarian. When my dad asked what was available for my brother the immortal reply was "nowt!" :greengrin He had to make do with an egg sandwich while we tucked in to fish and chips.

A chippy in Edinburgh using beef dripping would go down a storm. It's also proven to be not as bad for you as was made out in the early 80's when the switch was made.

I happened to have a fish supper (it was actually a lunch) in a chippie in a hell-hole in Humberside (Witheringsea) at the back-end of last year and they were frying in dripping. I ordered a skate-wing and I swear it was possibly the best piece of fish I've ever eaten...and trust me, as a food writer, I've eaten untold fried fish.

One simply doesn't get those sort of eats down south - nor in Scotland these days. Chippies cooking in veg oil/rapeseed oil should be swerved - they are worse for you health wise than a good quality dripping fried meal.

BTW - I'm not promoting the trait of frying in beef dripping - but every now and again it is worth it - I only live once and know what I want to eat!

03-07-2017, 10:44 PM
Aye that's the one. My sister in law lives a few doors along from it and it's a bit of a family tradition for my wife's folks to get a chippy from there when they're over. We used to live at abbeyhill and would get a chippy from there quite regularly till we left Edinburgh a couple of years ago.

While I wouldn't say it resembles a "hole" personally, I would say a chip shop is better judged on the taste of it's fish suppers than it's appearance from across the road. IMO of course :greengrin

Most definitely, it could look like a war zone inside as long as the food was good. I'll need to give the Montgomery a try, I would never have gave it a go off my own back. :agree:

Mr Grieves
03-07-2017, 10:49 PM
Angelo's, Lochend. 😊

Another vote for Angelo's from me. No matter if you're getting a supper, pizza or kebab it's all good, and delivery is always speedy.

04-07-2017, 12:04 AM
Jubilee at Granton for a nice fish supper, and Javits round the corner is just as good as any other chippy in town.

04-07-2017, 12:53 AM
I've always enjoyed a Pierinos.

04-07-2017, 01:12 AM
I happened to have a fish supper (it was actually a lunch) in a chippie in a hell-hole in Humberside (Witheringsea) at the back-end of last year and they were frying in dripping. I ordered a skate-wing and I swear it was possibly the best piece of fish I've ever eaten...and trust me, as a food writer, I've eaten untold fried fish.

One simply doesn't get those sort of eats down south - nor in Scotland these days. Chippies cooking in veg oil/rapeseed oil should be swerved - they are worse for you health wise than a good quality dripping fried meal.

BTW - I'm not promoting the trait of frying in beef dripping - but every now and again it is worth it - I only live once and know what I want to eat!

Navids Numpties
04-07-2017, 01:25 AM
Ew. Angelos delivery is rapid but the food is absolutely shhite. Always dinos for me. Formerly Craigentinny Express till it got burned down. Supposedly a insurance job. Anyway 20% if u order online though so that's a plus side to it.

ColinNish
04-07-2017, 05:22 AM
Ew. Angelos delivery is rapid but the food is absolutely shhite. Always dinos for me. Formerly Craigentinny Express till it got burned down. Supposedly a insurance job. Anyway 20% if u order online though so that's a plus side to it.

Ah well, currently 3 votes to 1 against you. Says it all.

04-07-2017, 05:27 AM
I would second this. Although, they sold up to go back to his home country (Albania I think) to look after an elderly relative. Worked for both parties!
The guys brother still works in there. He told me that when Giovanni's bought it they made him sign an agreement that he wouldn't open another chippy in the area. They were such a lovely couple, they built a huge house for his parents over in Albania, once a year they would go over there and he said he was treated like a king by his family. The night he closed I got a delivery and he didn't charge me for it. The brother said that they're going to open another shop at some point, but he didn't know where.

04-07-2017, 05:42 AM
The only problem with chippy deliveries is that batter doesn't travel well.

04-07-2017, 06:48 AM
Montgomerys was always chippy of choice, superb chips. Now it's Merdos which while good is not in same league.

Do the same couple still run Montgomerys? Nice friendly people.

04-07-2017, 06:57 AM
Used to rate the Barbeque and the Corbie. Both have taken a nosedive.

The Jubilee is probably the best in NorthWest Edinburgh though there isn't much competition.

04-07-2017, 07:10 AM
Gorgie Fish Bar is the best in the area.

04-07-2017, 08:00 AM
I really have no idea as only tried a few
Eatalia Leith Walk is probably the best of them. A few years ago I would have said the Barbecue but sadly no longer.

Back in the 80s my old boss said the best fish supper was buying chips from the Barbecue and fish from St Johns

04-07-2017, 08:11 AM
The only problem with chippy deliveries is that batter doesn't travel well.
IT does if you get Liam Henderson to deliver :wink:

04-07-2017, 02:42 PM
Javits

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

04-07-2017, 03:19 PM
Giovannis in Norhtfield is where I tend to go, especially their grilled chicken kebabs.

I am still on the hunt for what I would describe as the best chippy pizza, giovannis are decent but not enough toppings.

I used to LOVE to BBQ opposite PC McDonalds on st johns road, but last few years its got worse.

Tailend as others said is good, but more expensive.

I have tried both Angelos and Dinos in lochend and they were both decent enough, im sure the chips in Dinos were really good. but it was a while ago i was last there so memory might be playing tricks.

I got a munchie box when half cut about 6 month ago form the rig at the bottom of restalrig road next to the links tavern and it was somthing else. Albeit I was pished it went down a treat, especially as it was a pizza and not pittas that came with it. Im sure most munchie boxes do that now but tend to be a bit more expensive.

BUt as i said, still on the look out for a top end chippy pizza (I prefer them to domios, papa johns etc) so any recommendations on that front would be appreciated

04-07-2017, 03:28 PM
L'alba d'oro in Stockbridge was an old favourite as was l'aquila bianca (now closed). Globetrotter at bruntsfield also good.

04-07-2017, 03:35 PM
L'alba d'oro in Stockbridge was an old favourite as was l'aquila bianca (now closed). Globetrotter at bruntsfield also good.

L'Aquila Bianca was the best I've had in Edinburgh.

04-07-2017, 03:51 PM
Nerd Alert:

That's interesting as I was at a steak restaurant in Dublin and they had beef dripping chips and they were just outstanding chippy chips. Definitely much better!

04-07-2017, 04:04 PM
Jubilee at Granton for a nice fish supper, and Javits round the corner is just as good as any other chippy in town.

West Granton Road is a gauntlet of class takeaway outlets!

04-07-2017, 04:27 PM
Is the Tailend on Leith Walk still on the go? They used beef dripping but I haven't been down for a few years ...

05-07-2017, 07:30 AM
Is the Tailend on Leith Walk still on the go? They used beef dripping but I haven't been down for a few years ...

It is. It would be my chippy of choice in the Leith Walk/Easter Road area (on the very rare occasion I get a chippy now as my wife isn't the biggest fan of chippies)

However, I would add my vote to Angelos at Lochend. It's chippy stuff is excellent as is their other stuff (kebabs, etc.). Not been for a while, but my parents go regularly and say it is still as good.

05-07-2017, 04:53 PM
Giovannis in Norhtfield is where I tend to go, especially their grilled chicken kebabs.

I am still on the hunt for what I would describe as the best chippy pizza, giovannis are decent but not enough toppings.

I used to LOVE to BBQ opposite PC McDonalds on st johns road, but last few years its got worse.

I have tried both Angelos and Dinos in lochend and they were both decent enough, im sure the chips in Dinos were really good. but it was a while ago i was last there so memory might be playing tricks.

I got a munchie box when half cut about 6 month ago form the rig at the bottom of restalrig road next to the links tavern and it was somthing else. Albeit I was pished it went down a treat, especially as it was a pizza and not pittas that came with it. Im sure most munchie boxes do that now but tend to be a bit more expensive.

BUt as i said, still on the look out for a top end chippy pizza (I prefer them to domios, papa johns etc) so any recommendations on that front would be appreciated

Anima (next door and owned by Lalba Doro) is outstanding for pizza. I will however say that seeing as it's a designated pizza/pasta shop seperate from the chippy I'm not sure it qualifies as a chippy pizza. :agree:

05-07-2017, 05:05 PM
Anima (next door and owned by Lalba Doro) is outstanding for pizza. I will however say that seeing as it's a designated pizza/pasta shop seperate from the chippy I'm not sure it qualifies as a chippy pizza. :agree:

Anima pizzas are very gokd, used to go quite often when I lived nearby.

Regards L'Alba Doro it is, in my opinion, the most overrated chippy in Edinburgh. It's fine but nowhere near the best. Not sure if it used to be better and the reputation has stuck or it gets extra points for looking good and being in a nice area but I always thought it was decent and nothing more.

05-07-2017, 05:41 PM
Average chippy's in Edinburgh infact best one I had was near tynecastle. Decent chippy that one.

Too many of the chippy's sell too much stuff including burgers and pizzas. A chippy should have fried food only!

The best chippies are in Yorkshire you have Murgatroyds, Weatherby whaler and blakley's in brighouse. Outstanding. Also bits need to be provided to add to your dinner 😁

05-07-2017, 07:17 PM
Average chippy's in Edinburgh infact best one I had was near tynecastle. Decent chippy that one.

Too many of the chippy's sell too much stuff including burgers and pizzas. A chippy should have fried food only!

The best chippies are in Yorkshire you have Murgatroyds, Weatherby whaler and blakley's in brighouse. Outstanding. Also bits need to be provided to add to your dinner 😁

Bits are nowt but trade waste, cannae believe folk ask for them at some chippies. Like going to subway and asking for they bits of lettuce and tomato that have fell out the tubs.

05-07-2017, 07:54 PM
Bits are nowt but trade waste, cannae believe folk ask for them at some chippies. Like going to subway and asking for they bits of lettuce and tomato that have fell out the tubs.

They've got the cheek to charge you for them as well.

05-07-2017, 10:35 PM
Angelos is decent, super fast delivery too, sometime can have it in 10/15mins if that

05-07-2017, 10:36 PM
Pierinos on Bernard street for pizzas

05-07-2017, 11:16 PM

That's interesting as I was at a steak restaurant in Dublin and they had beef dripping chips and they were just outstanding chippy chips. Definitely much better!

I couldn't remember the exact melting point of beef dripping as it was years ago that I worked on a paper on the subject. I have the printed document somewhere at home but it could take days to locate it as my old PC crashed and I lost a lot of old work stuff. Here's an interesting link to a reseller of beef dripping: http://www.nortechfoods.co.uk/dripping-frying/

I don't own a 'chip pan' nor a deep frier (the Mrs isn't keen on the idea and I'm not going to win the argument) but I might buy some dripping and try to shallow fry a few items to see how they turn out (I'm thinking some tempura veg and breaded fish fillet and/or whitebait).

Like all eats - it's all about moderation and balancing your diet.

06-07-2017, 03:13 AM
All depends on the age of the pan they're frying in IMHO. I worked in two chippies when i was younger (first job was cutting and peeling) both used the same tatties same oil and the same cooking time only difference was the age of the pan one was about 3 years old crap soggy chips one was about 45 years old great crisp chips.

High-On-Hibs
06-07-2017, 01:18 PM
Always get a really decent Kebab from Groathill, their fish aint too shabby either.

haagsehibby
06-07-2017, 03:03 PM

Good to hear the Jubilee is still going strong. I grew up in Royston so it was our local chippy, but not been down that way since my Mum moved about 15 years ago.

pollution
06-07-2017, 04:09 PM
Anima pizzas are very gokd, used to go quite often when I lived nearby.

Regards L'Alba Doro it is, in my opinion, the most overrated chippy in Edinburgh. It's fine but nowhere near the best. Not sure if it used to be better and the reputation has stuck or it gets extra points for looking good and being in a nice area but I always thought it was decent and nothing more.I agree with that 100%.
It was a good chippy a quarter of a century ago and I think those who remember it do so through alcohol tinged glasses.

06-07-2017, 04:57 PM
All depends on the age of the pan they're frying in IMHO. I worked in two chippies when i was younger (first job was cutting and peeling) both used the same tatties same oil and the same cooking time only difference was the age of the pan one was about 3 years old crap soggy chips one was about 45 years old great crisp chips.

Oil got hotter much quicker in the old pan.

06-07-2017, 06:32 PM

They are outstanding. Try some one day I think you would be a fan.

06-07-2017, 06:32 PM
They've got the cheek to charge you for them as well.

Never has anyone been charged for them? Freebies every occasion I have been in a chippy.

06-07-2017, 09:18 PM
Never has anyone been charged for them? Freebies every occasion I have been in a chippy.

I was in Scarborough many years ago and my mate ordered the same thing as me, but he asked for bits and his bill was more expensive. Tbf that's my only experience of this and it might not be commonplace

Mantis Toboggan
07-07-2017, 05:07 PM
Was in lytham earlier in the year and had probably the best chippy I've ever had. Even the picture of Gordon Ramsay on the wall couldn't put me off.

The Corbie is alright. The ones in town are largely stinking.

07-07-2017, 05:29 PM
I'm always impressed by the chippies in Edinburgh when I visit. I especially like a white pudding supper with curry sauce.

I usually end up at the Clam Shell as it's near where I sometime stay. I used to like Bratisani's but that's long gone. The Frying Scotsman is also away.

Decent chip shops are thin on the ground in London. The Fryers Delight on Theobalds Road is a cracker. My local Toff's is pretty good too.

Glasgow chip shops were utter ***** when I lived there with the exception of the Grove in Finnieston and the Chip Chick Inn in Hyndland.

07-07-2017, 07:13 PM
Chippies in Edinburgh are generally poor. You ask for a fish supper and you're like "where's the rest of it?". Ones in Fife blow them out of the water, even in Dunfermline, which isn't really Fife.

If I had to chose one in Edinburgh it would be Francos at Summerhall. Cheap and cheerful...£3.50 for a decent sized hamburger supper is great.

ColinNish
07-07-2017, 07:26 PM
Chippies in Edinburgh are generally poor. You ask for a fish supper and you're like "where's the rest of it?". Ones in Fife blow them out of the water, even in Dunfermline, which isn't really Fife.

If I had to chose one in Edinburgh it would be Francos at Summerhall. Cheap and cheerful...£3.50 for a decent sized hamburger supper is great.

Dunfermline really isn't Fife. Gonna explain that one to me? 😂

07-07-2017, 07:52 PM
Dunfermline really isn't Fife. Gonna explain that one to me? 😂

It's not as Fife-ish as the rest of Fife.

So I'm constantly told (sitting in my housing scheme where 50% of the people are from Edinburgh) :-D

Mantis Toboggan
07-07-2017, 08:29 PM

So I'm constantly told (sitting in my housing scheme where 50% of the people are from Edinburgh) :-D

Is not being Fife ish intended as a good or a bad thing in this context?

07-07-2017, 09:05 PM
The Corbie at Davy Mains is good.

Staff are pretty amusing: most of the times I go, they're arguing with each other.

Scran is good.

07-07-2017, 09:10 PM

Best fish supper I ever had was in Arbroath.

ColinNish
07-07-2017, 09:11 PM

Lol, I'd say its the epitome of Fifeness.
(6 fingers/toes) 😉

07-07-2017, 09:11 PM
Is not being Fife ish intended as a good or a bad thing in this context?

As far as this thread goes, Fife-ish is most definitely a good thing.

07-07-2017, 09:32 PM
Best fish supper I ever had was in Arbroath.

Best I ever had was in Poland.

10-07-2017, 01:10 PM
Gold sea on ferry road or piernos on Bernard street can't separate them

10-07-2017, 02:10 PM
Not technically Edinburgh but Jaz's Fish Bar in Musselburgh is pretty decent.

10-07-2017, 02:54 PM
Gold sea on ferry road
Know someone in that tenement block and also know for a fact that Gold Sea were the only one of a dozen occupiers who wouldn't pay their share of a fairly small roof repair bill. So they definitely won't get my custom!

10-07-2017, 04:59 PM
Know someone in that tenement block and also know for a fact that Gold Sea were the only one of a dozen occupiers who wouldn't pay their share of a fairly small roof repair bill. So they definitely won't get my custom!
They could've used their overly cooked rump steaks to fix the roof free of charge.

beensaidbefore
10-07-2017, 04:59 PM
Gold sea on ferry road or piernos on Bernard street can't separate them

Piernos lunchtime aint so great. Half oven baked pizza, undercooked and chips over by quite a bit. Never been back so maybe a once off.

10-07-2017, 06:19 PM
Piernos lunchtime aint so great. Half oven baked pizza, undercooked and chips over by quite a bit. Never been back so maybe a once off.

Pierinos pizzas are brilliant so I suspect it would have been a one-off.

I guess it's all about how you like your pizzas though.

I get different types of food from them quite a lot, although I've never ever had anything at lunchtime so I don't know if they might do it differently then?

HibbyDave
11-07-2017, 07:01 AM
Is the deep sea opp Playhouse any good?
There is a good chippie in Kirkliston too think it's called Fourways.

Mathias Jack
14-07-2017, 11:55 AM
Stayed out that way for a bit, Fourways is indeed a decent chippy! Whatever you do, DO NOT get a donner kebab from the Deep Sea, terrible.

Angelos is decent, but went to Eatalias a few weeks ago; got a jumbo smoked sausage supper, was a bit on the steep side but 100% worth it! Cafe Piccante on London Road is also very good too (although the Broughton Street one is very good too).

14-07-2017, 12:26 PM
Obviously outside Edinburgh but the Rainbow in Mussy is right back on form again.

Whereas the St Andrews in Porty has gone right downhill.

14-07-2017, 12:41 PM
Cafe Piccante is rank and overpriced IMO.

Pierinos top notch , as is the Gold Sea. The Gorgie Fish Bar is the top dog of the Chippy world in the west of the city.

14-07-2017, 12:58 PM
Cafe Piccante is rank and overpriced IMO.

Pierinos top notch , as is the Gold Sea. The Gorgie Fish Bar is the top dog of the Chippy world in the west of the city.

I can't comment on either Piccante as I've never eaten one sober.

Rapido just down Broughton Street from Piccante used to be pretty decent though iirc.

14-07-2017, 03:34 PM
Globetrotter in bruntsfield does cracking pizzas, highly recommend!

14-07-2017, 03:37 PM
Worst one is definatly The Kingfisher. Not sure where its located but we ordered one from there on JustEat one night (i think our normal one was shut that night for some reason). Took over 2 hours to arrive, when it did arrive the food was freezing cold and absolutely rotten. Will never order from there again.

Should have looked at their reviews first because there is countless reviews on it saying its very poor.

14-07-2017, 03:38 PM

Globetrotter in bruntsfield, best for pizzas :aok:

14-07-2017, 04:28 PM
I can't comment on either Piccante as I've never eaten one sober.

Rapido just down Broughton Street from Piccante used to be pretty decent though iirc.

Rapido was very good when I lived in Broughton but that's a good few years ago now.

Remember a bunch of us going in after a good sesh on the beers, looking for bags of chips. They were short on potatoes and told us they were only doing chips as part of a supper.

Cue requests for a brown sauce supper, a roll super, a pickled onion supper, a salt and vinegar supper and so on and so on, much to the exasperation of the poor staff!

16-07-2017, 09:20 AM
Chip shops are bad for you.

16-07-2017, 03:07 PM

Oh well, now we know.

16-07-2017, 03:40 PM
Not cooked in a nice hot beef dripping oil where almost all the oil falls off when served (like when I was in Scarborough last week), however you're totally correct if yer in Edinburgh and they're cooked in vegetable oil where the lower temperatures mean that some of the oil seeps into whatever is being cooked. :agree:

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

17-07-2017, 11:38 PM

Chip shops make nice food.

18-07-2017, 12:18 AM

correct, i'm struggling to think of any food that comes out of a chippy that is actually nutritious, unless it's a tin of beans

High-On-Hibs
18-07-2017, 01:12 AM
correct, i'm struggling to think of any food that comes out of a chippy that is actually nutritious, unless it's a tin of beans

A Mars Bar? :dunno:

Got to be more nutritious than a fried Mars Bar. :wink:

18-07-2017, 10:42 AM
A chicken kebab is pretty healthy if served with a good serving of salad and without certain sauces. There are 2 types of chicken kebabs though one thats cooked on a skewer which is pretty healthy and the other stuff cooked in the same way as a donor which is minging.

18-07-2017, 04:06 PM
A chicken kebab is pretty healthy if served with a good serving of salad and without certain sauces. There are 2 types of chicken kebabs though one thats cooked on a skewer which is pretty healthy and the other stuff cooked in the same way as a donor which is minging.

None of which are served in a good old fashioned fish and chip shop.

18-07-2017, 04:26 PM
That's true, but there aren't many of them around anymore.

18-07-2017, 04:40 PM
The last time I checked, potatoes were vegetables and fish was meat.

A side of onion rings and you're nearly half-way towards your five a day.

19-07-2017, 10:15 AM

Pretty much every chippy mentioned on this thread will sell chicken kebabs.

19-07-2017, 11:18 AM
Pretty much every chippy mentioned on this thread will sell chicken kebabs.

Plenty mentioned in fact don't sell kebabs. But that's not the point I was making anyway. I love a chicken kebab too.

Navids Numpties
19-07-2017, 08:13 PM
Well I slated Angelos earlier on in the thread despite many kudos. Just ordered one came within 10 mins and it was sublime.

19-07-2017, 08:46 PM
Great thread and very much appreciated as an out of towner. Any chance anyone can collate the posts and form a league table.:wink:

HibernianJK
19-07-2017, 10:20 PM
Well I slated Angelos earlier on in the thread despite many kudos. Just ordered one came within 10 mins and it was sublime.

Is that the one just up at Lochend astro?

Used to love getting a chippy from there after night games at ER.

andy1875
21-07-2017, 07:51 AM
Is that the one just up at Lochend astro?

Used to love getting a chippy from there after night games at ER.

Sure is.

I think its a great chippy.

Joyce who serves is a Hibby as well and loves a blether about the football.

A good bunch of folk in there, and the food is good.

22-07-2017, 12:14 PM
Not cooked in a nice hot beef dripping oil where almost all the oil falls off when served (like when I was in Scarborough last week), however you're totally correct if yer in Edinburgh and they're cooked in vegetable oil where the lower temperatures mean that some of the oil seeps into whatever is being cooked. :agree:

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

My girlfriend comes from Scarborough and a trip to visit her family usually includes going to the chippy. Fish and chips with "scraps" - yum.

22-07-2017, 12:34 PM
Been plenty good ones mentioned on here. Tail end, the Montgomery and the dolphin are all good in Leith. Quite like a sit in at the city restaurant near the bridges on the odd occasion. Big mark up on the take away prices but the foods very decent quality. the bottles of chippy sauce on each table to pour what you want is quite a good novelty.

yonder1875
23-07-2017, 01:42 AM
Globetrotter at Bruntsfield Place always been my favourite in Edinburgh.