View Full Version : Steven whittaker to be finalised tomorrow!

Pages : 1 [2]

09-07-2017, 07:27 PM
Defense or midfield

Depends on opposition, formation/tactics and the players available. We had 14 players who made 25+ appearances last season.

Correct, I think a lot of people are guilty of looking at a first 11 with 11 replacements behind them like it's a computer game or something.

The reality is he'd get plenty of game time throughout the season with various injuries, suspensions, change of formations not discounting he could simply displace SDG by playing better than him.

09-07-2017, 07:32 PM
Defense or midfield

Depends on opposition, formation/tactics and the players available. We had 14 players who made 25+ appearances last season.

Think you've called it re tactics. Play him central.

I've always thought Whittaker has the touch and technique to shine through the middle.

At 31, pace may be an issue if out wide. You can lose pace but you don't lose technique.

My abiding memory of Whitts is him dribbling out past three opponents from his six-yard box against Dnipro. Think we were three-one down when he did it. It showed composure, class and technique. Probably my favourite moment as a Hibs fan, the skill, guile and sheer ability was exceptional.

09-07-2017, 07:33 PM
Where would he play? Do we think he would start?

Right back spot is up for grabs in the 1st league game. Play well and you keep the jersey

09-07-2017, 07:36 PM
Correct, I think a lot of people are guilty of looking at a first 11 with 11 replacements behind them like it's a computer game or something.

The reality is he'd get plenty of game time throughout the season with various injuries, suspensions, change of formations not discounting he could simply displace SDG by playing better than him.

With SDG suspended for the first game, if Whittaker signs and plays well at right back, it would probably be his to lose?

09-07-2017, 08:13 PM
With SDG suspended for the first game, if Whittaker signs and plays well at right back, it would probably be his to lose?

Like that year with Paul Fenwick and Martin McIntosh.

09-07-2017, 08:17 PM

09-07-2017, 08:23 PM

Haha

10-07-2017, 06:42 AM
Lennon saying it might take another week to discuss and persuade him.

10-07-2017, 06:45 AM

But he has a full track suit already!

10-07-2017, 06:48 AM

The obvious response to that is that I'd be tempted to cut our losses, if he doesn't want to join us then so be it.

It's probably a good job I'm not a manager though as I'm guessing most players take some persuading, we also don't know what it is specifically he's wanting to consider. He might be getting offered significantly more cash elsewhere or he may be wanting guarantees of being first choice RB. Both of which would be fair enough for a player of his age to be considering, it could be his last deal in football, he needs to make sure he gets it right.

I think we just need to trust that NL isn't one to get mucked about and if he ever feels he is he won't be slow in pulling out the negotiations.

10-07-2017, 06:51 AM

I thought Lennon said this after the Dunfermline game as well. I'm not really the impatient type in terms of the window but this one really has been dragging on a bit.

The Leith Dutch
10-07-2017, 07:01 AM
The obvious response to that is that I'd be tempted to cut our losses, if he doesn't want to join us then so be it.

It's probably a good job I'm not a manager though as I'm guessing most players take some persuading, we also don't know what it is specifically he's wanting to consider. He might be getting offered significantly more cash elsewhere or he may be wanting guarantees of being first choice RB. Both of which would be fair enough for a player of his age to be considering, it could be his last deal in football, he needs to make sure he gets it right.

I think we just need to trust that NL isn't one to get mucked about and if he ever feels he is he won't be slow in pulling out the negotiations.

That's a really good point.

Plenty people raising the issue of us being able to pursue multiple deals at the same time - which is true - and that it's not a big deal that Whittaker is the one getting the attention when most would think a striker is the number one priority right now.

If we have an offer out to Whittaker and it's at the higher end of our wage structure (which it's presumably reasonable to assume) that means we're not offering one of our bigger wages elsewhere.

If SW decides to say no late in the window then it leaves a significant chunk of our wage budget either not on the park or needing to be spent last minute. Would also leave us looking for full back cover and possibly right side of midfield.

If this has been going on as long as the rumour has then it needs put to bed one way or another soon so that the club can finish up it's business.

10-07-2017, 07:07 AM
I think he'd be a decent signing but I'm not that fussed about him. Clearly we've made him an offer he either wants to come or not. I accept a bit of negotiation but this has dragged on for weeks. FF a Hibs Scottish Cup winner was not afforded the same amount of time as this

10-07-2017, 07:09 AM

If that's the case then sod him, either he signs now or buggers off, he's not a priority signing, a good one yes but other areas are more important than a utility player. He may be not happy coming here as a back player to Gray and TBH I see that point but this signing is taking forever and we have to sooner or later get it done or pull the plug on this one.

10-07-2017, 07:26 AM
I agree with all the comments seriously this is to drag on for another week?? I'm tempted to ask why he is getting so long to decide when it doesn't appear Fyvie got the same time?? Strikers are the priority yet how much time is being wasted on this endless pursuit of whittaker?? I do understand more than 1 player can be chased at same time but let's focus on key targets and players who WANT to come and play for us

10-07-2017, 08:17 AM
I agree with all the comments seriously this is to drag on for another week?? I'm tempted to ask why he is getting so long to decide when it doesn't appear Fyvie got the same time?? Strikers are the priority yet how much time is being wasted on this endless pursuit of whittaker?? I do understand more than 1 player can be chased at same time but let's focus on key targets and players who WANT to come and play for us

The difference being that Fyvie rejected the offer that we gave him

10-07-2017, 08:19 AM
Hope this continual drawing attention to his availability doesn't scupper a deal...

:)

10-07-2017, 08:23 AM
A bit of me is thinking that maybe it is time to draw a line under this one and move on.

10-07-2017, 08:24 AM
I love all the "sod him" "cut our losses" chat. Let the guys do their job. Plenty time.

10-07-2017, 08:24 AM
A bit of me is thinking that maybe it is time to draw a line under this one and move on.

Aye we should just not sign anyone that doesn't want to play for us right away on whatever terms the club determines as their first offer.

Mainstandman
10-07-2017, 08:43 AM
Is it tomorrow today?

10-07-2017, 08:50 AM
I love all the "sod him" "cut our losses" chat. Let the guys do their job. Plenty time.

It's about time some members realise that our signing policy isn't influenced by impatient posts on Hibs.net.

10-07-2017, 08:55 AM
He's probably waiting on an offer from Sevco.

10-07-2017, 09:01 AM
I seen jim MacArthur there is he still an agent

10-07-2017, 09:11 AM
A bit of me is agreeing with you when I see a report in the Times saying Hibs are still hopeful of securing his transfer. Gone from a definitely to a hopefully.

10-07-2017, 09:16 AM
It's early July. I'd rather we continued to pursue Lennon's first choice signing than pull out and move on to a presumably inferior 2nd choice signing.

10-07-2017, 10:01 AM
Lennon expects this to last at least another week

Hoping to get one player In this week

10-07-2017, 10:08 AM
Lennon expects this to last at least another week

Hoping to get one player In this week

Things must have changed then, in his post match interview after Dunfermline he said we would expect signings(plural!) early next week, meaning today/tomorrow. With the odd Ambrose statement ((where is he? Why isn't he training?) and the equally odd Berry transfer collapse I'm starting to get just a little bit worried.

10-07-2017, 10:11 AM
Mind weve looked decent past 2 friendlies

Still very light on numbers tho

West lower
10-07-2017, 10:19 AM
Things must have changed then, in his post match interview after Dunfermline he said we would expect signings(plural!) early next week, meaning today/tomorrow. With the odd Ambrose statement ((where is he? Why isn't he training?) and the equally odd Berry transfer collapse I'm starting to get just a little bit worried.

Carful now, someone will be along to call you a bedwetter at any moment.

hibee316
10-07-2017, 10:31 AM

Bed Wetter.

Clarence
10-07-2017, 10:43 AM
If we signed all our players in May, there would be folk saying "why are we getting them on the wage bill so early, when the season doesnae start for ages?!"

Just think of the old 90s Grolsch adverts "Shtop, you can't rush the close sheashon recruitment."

10-07-2017, 10:49 AM

What did he say about Ambrose?

10-07-2017, 10:51 AM
What did he say about Ambrose?

Longer than expected break. But all agreed with the club.

10-07-2017, 10:52 AM
I don't care if it takes another week or so to get him in, I think he'll be a great addition. This will likely be the last playing contract of Whittaker's career, so I can understand why he would like to explore options.

Incidentally, anyone who thinks that a player not signing immediately is a clear indication of a lack of commitment is off the mark - SJM admitted in an interview recently that he was reticent to talk to Hibs, never mind sign for us, and it was his agent that talked him round. There isn't a more committed player at this football club right now.

We did some great business early in the window, and missed out on an ambitious signing (in terms of financial outlay) last week. We are clearly prepared to spend money on the right players, and I'm happy for us to wait for the right ones. Every faith in Lennon to bring in what we need.

10-07-2017, 10:53 AM
If we signed all our players in May, there would be folk saying "why are we getting them on the wage bill so early, when the season doesnae start for ages?!"

Just think of the old 90s Grolsch adverts "Shtop, you can't rush the close sheashon recruitment."

I don't think anyone would have said that to be fair.

10-07-2017, 11:11 AM
Longer than expected break. But all agreed with the club.

If it's not expected then it's not agreed. Some sort of cover up statement!

10-07-2017, 11:21 AM

I hear it is tommorrow!

10-07-2017, 11:54 AM
I love all the "sod him" "cut our losses" chat.
Unless he's been wearing Hibs pyjamas all the time he's been away I don't want him anywhere near our club.

10-07-2017, 11:57 AM
I hear it is tommorrow!

Tomorrow should only ever be spelled like that on the 2nd of May, when it may be appropriately used to refer to T.O.M. which is also S.A.D.

10-07-2017, 12:26 PM
Lennon now quoted as saying discussions may continue for another week and something about Whittaker continuing to see things are positive at the Club Haven't used exact words but interesting language
Hopefully yesterday he got the positive vibe
The article is on Hibs News 24/7

Ken
10-07-2017, 12:36 PM

In that case, if I were Hibs I'd pull the plug and terminate his contract.

We can't have players going back on their agreement as circumstances never change :grr:

10-07-2017, 01:02 PM

how can it not be agreed with the club, maybe something came up and he had to stay away longer, family issues etc

10-07-2017, 01:07 PM
how can it not be agreed with the club, maybe something came up and he had to stay away longer, family issues etc

We need to the league to start asap. This place is nuts now

10-07-2017, 01:09 PM
Think you've called it re tactics. Play him central.

I've always thought Whittaker has the touch and technique to shine through the middle.

At 31, pace may be an issue if out wide. You can lose pace but you don't lose technique.

My abiding memory of Whitts is him dribbling out past three opponents from his six-yard box against Dnipro. Think we were three-one down when he did it. It showed composure, class and technique. Probably my favourite moment as a Hibs fan, the skill, guile and sheer ability was exceptional.

Where've you been?

10-07-2017, 01:09 PM

Maybe, maybe not

High-On-Hibs
10-07-2017, 01:13 PM
Does it matter how long it takes, as long as we get the players in that we need? Lennon isn't an idiot, he knows how to play the game on and off the pitch. So just chill. :aok:

10-07-2017, 01:18 PM
Where've you been?

I meant best moment of individual skill.

On reflection, it might be beaten by Gordon Hunter going through John Colquhoun though :agree:

10-07-2017, 01:30 PM
NL saying on BBC that close to signing Whitty. Goes on to say he realises fans are becoming a bit impatient, but not to worry he has until 31st Aug & good players become avaiable later on. He is happy with recruitment to date, also makes the point Hibs willing to spend for the right player as shown by offer for Berry. Felt better having read that.:agree:

10-07-2017, 01:39 PM
Is it tomorrow today?

Tomorrow never comes.

10-07-2017, 01:43 PM
Tomorrow never comes.
Tomorrow belongs to me.

10-07-2017, 01:47 PM
So basically anyone who said he'd be signing tomorrow at any stage was talking out their backside.

10-07-2017, 01:48 PM
You say tomorrow, I say tomato.

10-07-2017, 01:49 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40555154

Signing tomorrow :wink:

10-07-2017, 01:49 PM
So basically anyone who said he'd be signing tomorrow at any stage was talking out their backside.

When he does sign there are going to be pages of In The Knowers posting "told you so" going by the amount of tomorrow's and done deal posts on this thread.

10-07-2017, 01:52 PM
I am guessing this maybe his last contract possibly so likely taking a bit longer due to that maybe?

10-07-2017, 02:09 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40555154

Signing tomorrow :wink:

:hyper

10-07-2017, 02:17 PM
Is he not a bit past it?

10-07-2017, 02:21 PM
Is he not a bit past it?

He could well be by the time he signs.

10-07-2017, 02:24 PM
I am guessing this maybe his last contract possibly so likely taking a bit longer due to that maybe?

I have a feeling it may be something to with an extra year being triggered if he plays so many times or something along those lines.

10-07-2017, 02:27 PM
Is he not a bit past it?

I suppose for those who thought Pennant was past it due to lack of games over the last 5 years or so then they'd have to think the same with Whittaker.

He's played less games over the last 5 years.

MKHIBEE
10-07-2017, 03:01 PM
Tomorrow belongs to me.
Next.

10-07-2017, 06:56 PM

Ha ha ha

10-07-2017, 07:02 PM

"I'm so glad to finally get back to Hibs" said the 43yr old wing back.

10-07-2017, 07:09 PM
Tomorrow!
Tomorrow!
I love ya
Tomorrow!

You're always
A day
Away!

11-07-2017, 12:29 PM
Is it tomorrow yet :confused:

11-07-2017, 12:32 PM
So it was to be finalised on the 4th of July and its now the 11th, somebody is at it!

edwards
11-07-2017, 12:35 PM
Change that tomorrow to whenever

11-07-2017, 12:35 PM
So it was to be finalised on the 4th of July and its now the 11th, somebody is at it!

Yep. Never believe any rumour posted on a Facebook/Twitter fans page. It'll be bollocks 99.99% of the time.

Souter96Mac
11-07-2017, 12:41 PM
As my local advertises: 'Free Beer Tomorrow'

11-07-2017, 02:48 PM
Gets to a point where, as with Berry, I lose the will to live & become totally disinterested in wether they sign or not.

11-07-2017, 02:52 PM
Yep. Never believe any rumour posted on a Facebook/Twitter fans page. It'll be bollocks 99.99% of the time.

And the remainder is crap......

KSA Hibee
11-07-2017, 03:11 PM

92.73% of factual information on here is made up ... fact !!

Walter
11-07-2017, 04:12 PM
Could we change the thread title, I keep getting excited when I log in then I remember 😔

11-07-2017, 04:24 PM
92.73% of factual information on here is made up ... fact !!

62.07% of stats are made up.

BS44
11-07-2017, 04:28 PM
Whittaker is in the bag.

When it does get announced does that mean I'm ITK and can start posting any random ***** I hear on the grapevine?

11-07-2017, 04:42 PM
Seems like no one knows and all the daft predictions from people wanting to seem ITK is adding to or even causing all the frustration. The only thing for sure is that we are talking to potential players.

11-07-2017, 04:57 PM
Hibs team photo for the season ahead:

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTaoULiqX5uhF8rj5YAfu2QrbE8_qdCz xem6Yp49pVxA7u7YnIH

BS44
11-07-2017, 05:33 PM
Seems like no one knows and all the daft predictions from people wanting to seem ITK is adding to or even causing all the frustration. The only thing for sure is that we are talking to potential players.

Whittaker is signing. So, anyone on here who has posted previously that Whittaker is coming to Hibs will shortly be proved to have been correct

11-07-2017, 06:15 PM
Whittaker is signing. So, anyone on here who has posted previously that Whittaker is coming to Hibs will shortly be proved to have been correct

Nah, not really the point.

11-07-2017, 06:18 PM
Tomorrow belongs to me.

Well, its only a day away!

11-07-2017, 06:19 PM

If he is, why hasn't he already? Until pen is on paper, he could "get an offer he can't refuse" and boom!!! There goes another target.
I'll believe it when I see it.

11-07-2017, 07:38 PM
If he is, why hasn't he already? Until pen is on paper, he could "get an offer he can't refuse" and boom!!! There goes another target.

Lennon said after the testimonial they are in talks and edging closer to a deal but it may take another week So clearly not done deal but there is a deal there to be done and Lennon sounded hopeful
But yea until its signed someone could come along and temp him to move elsewhere but dint think he is just stalling and waiting for a better deal else where .But he clearly wants the best deal he can get hence the protracted negotiations

11-07-2017, 07:44 PM
Lennon said after the testimonial they are in talks and edging closer to a deal but it may take another week So clearly not done deal but there is a deal there to be done and Lennon sounded hopeful
But yea until its signed someone could come along and temp him to move elsewhere but dint think he is just stalling and waiting for a better deal else where .But he clearly wants the best deal he can get hence the protracted negotiations

So tomorrow then:greengrin

11-07-2017, 07:51 PM
So tomorrow then:greengrin

Yeh, if you say that on Friday.

12-07-2017, 05:58 PM

Whittaker not yet being made official is a 'contract technicality' according to Kenny Millar on twitter

12-07-2017, 06:01 PM
Whittaker not yet being made official is a 'contract technicality' according to Kenny Millar on twitter

This deal will probably be announced on the final minute of deadline day the way it's going. The guys a free agent and not heard any other club that is in for him other than ourselves. I'd understand if it was this long if he was under contract at another club and we were in discussions with them to buy him.

Nemo
12-07-2017, 06:10 PM
is he worth aw this chasing, im asking myself.

BegbieHSC
12-07-2017, 06:11 PM
is he worth aw this chasing, im asking myself.

Me too. I do hope that it's done and announced, and it stops our collective transfer window meltdown for a couple of hours at least.

12-07-2017, 06:11 PM
All this delay makes me think he clearly doesn't want to be here much.

12-07-2017, 06:13 PM

which means what?

12-07-2017, 06:25 PM
which means what?

There's a signature missing?

12-07-2017, 06:26 PM
which means what?
He hasn't signed yet.

12-07-2017, 07:30 PM

Is the "contract technicality" his signature missing? :wink:

High-On-Hibs
12-07-2017, 07:35 PM
I reckon it will take 2 more tomorrows. What say you? :wink:

12-07-2017, 08:59 PM
Two hours till midnight..... Will he sign?!

Does anyone care anymore?!

TheHarpy76
12-07-2017, 09:05 PM
https://youtu.be/JuntWQBJ5GM

12-07-2017, 09:10 PM
Me too. I do hope that it's done and announced, and it stops our collective transfer window meltdown for a couple of hours at least.

Thank the Lord I'm on hols sitting outside on hols and its 24 degrees having a cold beer. Certainly not stressed where I am sitting. Be glad to get back to lovely mild Edinburgh and the stress of another transfer window.NOT.

edwards
12-07-2017, 09:11 PM
https://youtu.be/JuntWQBJ5GM

Classic but now FARSICAL

13-07-2017, 02:11 AM
He's in Edinburgh, he was at the Sunderland game, our season starts on Saturday, he's now missed pre season training.........and the message is 'a contract technicality ' is preventing him from signing?

Fitba seems to have got very very complicated in recent times.

I'm getting a bit fed up with some players apparent lack of urgency/enthusiasm to commit.

13-07-2017, 05:16 AM
Why would he be keen to sign?

This move represents a huge step down in level of football and money.

13-07-2017, 05:33 AM
He's in Edinburgh, he was at the Sunderland game, our season starts on Saturday, he's now missed pre season training.........and the message is 'a contract technicality ' is preventing him from signing?

I'm getting a bit fed up with some players apparent lack of urgency/enthusiasm to commit.

Benitez feels the same.

13-07-2017, 08:45 AM
Getting fed up now. If he's not committed to signing and is waiting for something better then withdraw the deal and offer it to Fyvie. We don't need more defenders.

13-07-2017, 09:01 AM
I reckon it will take 2 more tomorrows. What say you? :wink:

I agree, it's looking like a 5.00pm signing then too.

13-07-2017, 09:06 AM
Getting fed up now. If he's not committed to signing and is waiting for something better then withdraw the deal and offer it to Fyvie. We don't need more defenders.

Given the approach we took with Fyvie, I'd guess that there is some other issue that is holding it up.

Slightly different scenarios as well in that Fyvie did actually reject our offer in the first place.

13-07-2017, 09:10 AM

Fyvie wasn't committed to signing either, which is why he is currently without a club.

13-07-2017, 09:10 AM
Given the approach we took with Fyvie, I'd guess that there is some other issue that is holding it up.

Slightly different scenarios as well in that Fyvie did actually reject our offer in the first place.

Seen a journalist state that if he doesn't sign anywhere for X amount of days after his contract expires, he is due a lump sum which is £50k tax free, from Norwich. Supposedly the reason for pen not being put to paper yet.

Sioux
13-07-2017, 09:15 AM
Seen a journalist state that if he doesn't sign anywhere for X amount of days after his contract expires, he is due a lump sum which is £50k tax free, from Norwich. Supposedly the reason for pen not being put to paper yet.

Well that paints a different picture! Perhaps explains NL's comments about 15th July or whatever date he did mention.

13-07-2017, 09:18 AM
Whittaker is obviously holding out to see if he can get a better deal elsewhere. Maybe Rangers will come back in for him.

13-07-2017, 09:20 AM

I guess in football a bird in the bush, isn't worth two in the hand. Especially with an ex Premier League player who you assume has a significant amount of financial reserves and no mortgage. Different if you were a just getting by player with a mortgage to pay.

Can't blame a player for wanting to keep his options open.

13-07-2017, 09:21 AM

In that case, what's the worry? He'd be daft to sign away £50k cash.

13-07-2017, 09:25 AM
In that case, what's the worry? He'd be daft to sign away £50k cash.

I suppose the worry is that until pen is put top paper a better deal can materialise elsewhere.

As someone once said "a verbal agreement isn't worth the paper it is written on"😊

13-07-2017, 09:26 AM
Whittaker is obviously holding out to see if he can get a better deal elsewhere. Maybe Rangers will come back in for him.

No chance.

13-07-2017, 09:28 AM

Not trying to pour cold water on this, but I'd doubt that a lump sum of £50k would be tax-free.

13-07-2017, 09:29 AM
Not trying to pour cold water on this, but I'd doubt that a lump sum of £50k would be tax-free.

Maybe it's an EBT...

13-07-2017, 09:35 AM

£30k redundancy tax free with remainder taxable?

I didn't have any numbers but the story kind of agrees with the circumstances that were alluded to me

13-07-2017, 09:41 AM

But a lump sum of £50k with 47% deducted is better than nothing. Unless it's structured as a redundancy payment 🤔.

13-07-2017, 09:45 AM
£30k redundancy tax free with remainder taxable?

I didn't have any numbers but the story kind of agrees with the circumstances that were alluded to me

Hmmm.. not sure redundancy would apply here. It's a post that is made redundant, not an employee. So, unless Norwich have a specific post for "balding, over-the-hill Scottish full-back who once won a diddy cup with... who was it again?", it won't be that.

Termination payments, which are also common, are tax-free up to £30k, but only if they're ex-gratia. ie not contracted. Spurs had a case which brought that into focus http://realbusiness.co.uk/law/2016/10/24/tottenham-fc-kicks-off-employment-termination-payment-tax-clarification/

13-07-2017, 09:49 AM
Hmmm.. not sure redundancy would apply here. It's a post that is made redundant, not an employee. So, unless Norwich have a specific post for "balding, over-the-hill Scottish full-back who once won a diddy cup with... who was it again?", it won't be that.

Termination payments, which are also common, are tax-free up to £30k, but only if they're ex-gratia. ie not contracted. Spurs had a case which brought that into focus http://realbusiness.co.uk/law/2016/10/24/tottenham-fc-kicks-off-employment-termination-payment-tax-clarification/

Ha ha, at last a bit humour to the situation, instead of folk hanging Steven out to dry for no reason.

Interesting, thanks for that

Do you think failure to take up an option would enable Norwich to use the same argument Spurs successfully did?

13-07-2017, 09:50 AM

It may well have been £30k.

13-07-2017, 09:53 AM
Ha ha, at last a bit humour to the situation, instead of folk hanging Steven out to dry for no reason.

Interesting, thanks for that

Do you think failure to take up an option would enable Norwich to use the same argument Spurs successfully did?

You may be right in this. And, after all, it's not just about SW reducing his tax, it's also about Norwich reducing their NI liability.

In that light, without knowing the letter of SW's contract, the timing could be crucial.

13-07-2017, 10:26 AM
How much longer are we going to allow this saga to go on.

13-07-2017, 10:34 AM

Until 5pm , then we can all march on ER with pitchforks and stuff.

BlackSheep
13-07-2017, 10:36 AM
Ibrahimovic had a similar clause in his PSG contract, I think his was a loyalty bonus if he didn't sign for anyone before the end of June last year or something.

It's not hard to see players having similar clauses in their contracts these days

13-07-2017, 10:38 AM

How much longer are folk like you going to keep repeating that statement about a situation you know nothing about?

Any excuse to criticise the club.

Don't you think that if the club had any concerns about the situation they would have acted / will act?

I really don't get the mindset of Hibs "supporters" who really cant wait to criticise the club they purport to support and are never prepared to give the club the benefit of any doubt or to believe that the people that are entrusted with the running of it and are who are in full possession of the facts know better than they do.

Arrogance or stupidity? Its impossible to tell.

13-07-2017, 10:45 AM
How much longer are folk like you going to keep repeating that statement about a situation you know nothing about?

Any excuse to criticise the club.

Don't you think that if the club had any concerns about the situation they would have acted / will act?

I really don't get the mindset of Hibs "supporters" who really cant wait to criticise the club they purport to support and are never prepared to give the club the benefit of any doubt or to believe that the people that are entrusted with the running of it and are who are in full possession of the facts know better than they do.

Arrogance or stupidity? Its impossible to tell.

It's the same as the "anything good = thanks to Leeann, anything bad (real or surmised) = down to Petrie" posts.

13-07-2017, 10:48 AM
Until 5pm , then we can all march on ER with pitchforks and stuff.
Reminded me of Young Frankenstein....
Lol. Could be what NL alluded too last sunday

Salt N Sauzee
13-07-2017, 10:51 AM
Steven's motor as East Mains today.

13-07-2017, 10:53 AM

Nice motor.

Salt N Sauzee
13-07-2017, 10:57 AM
Nice motor.

Yep!

Will probably cost him half his new wage packet to run it to and from training.

Tobias Funke
13-07-2017, 10:57 AM

Nice to see he has it back in action. It was sitting in Dobbies car park on Monday night with one of its back wheels missing.

13-07-2017, 11:08 AM

I saw this one there as well...Kyle Laugherty must be there too to finally having his chat with Neil Lennon !

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/05/23/10/2900054300000578-3093857-image-m-2_1432374770372.jpg

13-07-2017, 11:43 AM
I saw this one there as well...Kyle Laugherty must be there too to finally having his chat with Neil Lennon !

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/05/23/10/2900054300000578-3093857-image-m-2_1432374770372.jpg[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

13-07-2017, 12:04 PM

Hope that wasn't him that dented the lamppost. Maybe that's the holdup with his contract as both parties decide who pays for the damage.

13-07-2017, 01:01 PM
Nice to see he has it back in action. It was sitting in Dobbies car park on Monday night with one of its back wheels missing.

Steven does like to play a joke or two.

13-07-2017, 01:25 PM
Hope that wasn't him that dented the lamppost. Maybe that's the holdup with his contract as both parties decide who pays for the damage.

13-07-2017, 01:29 PM

Better delete that sharpish. Tam will be on here soon to tell us its scuppered the deal.

13-07-2017, 01:34 PM
You may be right in this. And, after all, it's not just about SW reducing his tax, it's also about Norwich reducing their NI liability.

In that light, without knowing the letter of SW's contract, the timing could be crucial.

Sad state of affairs when we start discussing teams trying to reduce their NI liability on a football forum!!

How did you even come up with this? You really think that Norwich give a damn about a few grand NI conts?

Man, we really need the season to start and consign this kinda chat to the bin.

Or an accountants forum, if there is such a thing!!

13-07-2017, 01:42 PM
Sad state of affairs when we start discussing teams trying to reduce their NI liability on a football forum!!

How did you even come up with this? You really think that Norwich give a damn about a few grand NI conts?

Because the claim was made that SW was delaying signing to take advantage of some reputed tax-free payment. I added my view on whether that was likely.

Is that ok?

xyz23jc
13-07-2017, 01:50 PM

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/05/23/10/2900054300000578-3093857-image-m-2_1432374770372.jpg

SUPERB! :greengrin:thumbsup::agree:

Weststandwanab
13-07-2017, 01:54 PM

There are do not ask !

13-07-2017, 02:50 PM
Because the claim was made that SW was delaying signing to take advantage of some reputed tax-free payment. I added my view on whether that was likely.

Is that ok?

Of course. I wasn't having a go at you, more just a tongue in cheek remark really!!

Apologies.

13-07-2017, 02:51 PM
Of course. I wasn't having a go at you, more just a tongue in cheek remark really!!

Apologies.

No worries, mate.

This "phoney war" is p'ing everyone off :greengrin

13-07-2017, 02:53 PM
No worries, mate.

This "phoney war" is p'ing everyone off :greengrin
Not me CWG - I'm as happy as a clam and relaxed about the whole thing. Too old to get hysterical about football ......:greengrin

13-07-2017, 02:55 PM
Not me CWG - I'm as happy as a clam and relaxed about the whole thing. Too old to get hysterical about football ......:greengrin

You should hear the clams on Cramond Beach, HH. They're raging that Whittaker hasn't signed yet.

13-07-2017, 02:58 PM
You should hear the clams on Cramond Beach, HH. They're raging that Whittaker hasn't signed yet.
Tell them to come and see me - clams are always given a warm welcome at Chez Hobo...... :greengrin

13-07-2017, 08:47 PM
"If you would like to follow me Steven we can get this signed in the office"

https://m.popkey.co/a47900/Owkx9.gif

CorrieHibs
13-07-2017, 10:24 PM
http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2017/07/13/hibs-boss-neil-lennon-lauds-steven-whittaker-former-rangers-norwich-ace-prepares-sign-awol-efe-ambrose-returns-work-simon-church-anthony-stokes/

McIntosh
13-07-2017, 11:05 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/hibs-set-to-announce-signing-of-steven-whittaker-1-4503672

15-07-2017, 09:06 AM
Boom! Kinda

15-07-2017, 09:18 AM
Old news ..... close this thread now, admins. :greengrin. :flag:

15-07-2017, 09:18 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/7679

15-07-2017, 09:29 AM
Thank goodness it's finally tomorrow! but if this is tomorrow then when is today!?

15-07-2017, 09:33 AM
Thank goodness it's finally tomorrow! but if this is tomorrow then when is today!?
An they said tommorrow never comes!

Time For Heroes
15-07-2017, 09:37 AM
Just heard from someone in the know, he is definately signing tomorrow. FACT.

Green Blood
15-07-2017, 09:40 AM
And breathe!!!!