View Full Version : Great hibs forgotten goals

Navids Numpties
01-07-2017, 02:58 PM
Which is your favourite hibs forgotten goal? Mines is Gary deegan 30 yarded vs Aberdeen in the cup in 2013. Some strike and can barely find it on YouTube except a fan video.

01-07-2017, 03:15 PM
Stokes at Ibrox

01-07-2017, 03:16 PM
Which is your favourite hibs forgotten goal? Mines is Gary deegan 30 yarded vs Aberdeen in the cup in 2013. Some strike and can barely find it on YouTube except a fan video.

Ian Murray volley v livi I think
Fletcher volley outside of left at parkheid
Orman at Ibrox

01-07-2017, 03:33 PM
Ian Murray volley v livi I think
Fletcher volley outside of left at parkheid
Orman at Ibrox

AOB at anywhere

01-07-2017, 03:37 PM
Luke Berry v Hearts December 2017

01-07-2017, 03:46 PM
Ian Murray Vs Dundee United. He got to ball in our half and then just ran on a slight diagonal before thumping it into the top bin from the edge of the box with his right.

01-07-2017, 04:00 PM
Not many saw it. No tv cameras at the game. Crowd about 5000?

Chic Charnley's goal against Alloa in a League Cup tie - late 90's?

Saw the keeper of his line and shot from the halfway line. Sailed straight over the keeper.
Great goal - with his left foot of course.

Col_0762
01-07-2017, 04:01 PM
John O'Neil equaliser in the last minute at Tynie. Place went mental.

01-07-2017, 04:01 PM
John O'Neil equaliser in the last minute at Tynie. Place went mental.

Derek townsley set him up?

Col_0762
01-07-2017, 04:03 PM
Derek townsley set him up?

Could have been. Was that the same game Townsley missed a sitter at the Gorgie end?

Think the Townsley sitter may have been the 4-4 maybe? O'Neils goal came from the right I think, was it maybe O'Connor who crossed it?

01-07-2017, 04:09 PM
Gordon Rae volley/half volley against Rangers at ER.
Ralph Callaghan against Dundee at ER, the one where he dribbled around every Dundee player twice!

franck sauzee
01-07-2017, 04:13 PM

Saw the keeper of his line and shot from the halfway line. Sailed straight over the keeper.
Great goal - with his left foot of course.

Did he not do it a week later in a league game as well? Ball sailing through the air and had the goalie beat. Referee blows the whistle for half time and it ends up in the back of the net but didn't count

01-07-2017, 04:14 PM
Agathe vs Dundee.
or O'Connors last minute winner against the hertz in 2001.

01-07-2017, 04:28 PM
Did he not do it a week later in a league game as well? Ball sailing through the air and had the goalie beat. Referee blows the whistle for half time and it ends up in the back of the net but didn't count

Not sure. McGinlay did it v Killie in the same season I think

Col_0762
01-07-2017, 04:32 PM
Not sure. McGinlay did it v Killie in the same season I think

Was it not the week after? Charnley pointed to where he hit his from lol.

McIntosh
01-07-2017, 04:34 PM
Agathe vs Dundee.
or O'Connors last minute winner against the hertz in 2001.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QetdkEYQ-0A

the pie eater
01-07-2017, 04:42 PM
Was it not the week after? Charnley pointed to where he hit his from lol.

My memory is charnley scored his the week after Pat. Chic claiming his was further out than his.

1875STEVE
01-07-2017, 04:45 PM
Micheal Stewart volley v Aberdeen

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KJcB-xv5XA

Michael O'Neill v Motherwell

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvgDNxueTtA 2:50 in

Franck Sauzee v Falkirk 1:45 in

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_dNDskgVAU

HFCdeb
01-07-2017, 04:47 PM
David Murphy vs Livingston.

gazzag70
01-07-2017, 04:49 PM
Michael O'Neill v Motherwell

01-07-2017, 04:50 PM
Joe McBride free kick at Tynie.
Think he got a double 2-2

01-07-2017, 04:51 PM
Paul Hanlon v Dunfermline.

So good it never even went in.

Tom Hart RIP
01-07-2017, 04:52 PM
Joe's dad v Celtic at ER

portycabbage
01-07-2017, 04:53 PM
David Murphy vs Livingston.

Was that the one where he curled with his weaker foot? Doesn't count if so as I've remembered it 😉

For some reason I thought of two Colin Nish goals, one a 30 yard chip and the other where he beat 3 defenders (ok they fell on their *****, it wasn't the most mazy of dribbles)

Theinsider
01-07-2017, 05:05 PM
Orman vs Rangers....

Super_JMcGinn
01-07-2017, 05:11 PM
Ralph Callaghan against Dundee at ER, the one where he dribbled around every Dundee player twice!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glHjPwhAPdI

HFCdeb
01-07-2017, 05:15 PM
Was that the one where he curled with his weaker foot? Doesn't count if so as I've remembered it 😉

For some reason I thought of two Colin Nish goals, one a 30 yard chip and the other where he beat 3 defenders (ok they fell on their *****, it wasn't the most mazy of dribbles)

Haha aye but it's always a goal worth mentioning.

01-07-2017, 05:16 PM

For some reason I thought of two Colin Nish goals, one a 30 yard chip and the other where he beat 3 defenders (ok they fell on their *****, it wasn't the most mazy of dribbles)Was a total fluke of a cross that went over the goalies head and in.

01-07-2017, 05:18 PM
Tam McManus at Ibrox.

Lost 5-2. A missed penalty was the turning point.

01-07-2017, 05:20 PM
My memory is charnley scored his the week after Pat. Chic claiming his was further out than his.

Charnley scored first, up the slope from inside our half. McGinlay was the next home game against Killie and was down the slope. I remember him as being just outside the centre circle, on the East Terrace side and in their half.

andy1875
01-07-2017, 05:24 PM
Zitelli overhead kick against Dundee at Dens.

Sure it was around 2001.

We were right behind the goals, an absolute peach.

01-07-2017, 05:43 PM
Bobby Duncan's opening goal in Hibs 5-0 destruction of Napoli. November 29, 1967.

In doing so, Hibs overturned a three goal deficit from the first leg in Italy, and became the first Scottish club in eight attempts to overcome Italian opposition in a two leg contest.

Hibs had beaten Racing Club of Paris in the previous round, but Hibs went out 2-1 (robbed) to Leeds United in the next round.

Changed days indeed.

01-07-2017, 05:45 PM
Benji vs. Aberdeen in Scottish Cup. Everyone talked about the Michael Stewart goal, but I loved Benji's.

01-07-2017, 05:51 PM
Luke Berry v Hearts December 2017

Yes, but which of his 5 goals are you meaning?

MartinfaePorty
01-07-2017, 05:52 PM
Andy Watson late 1980s at Tannadice. Curled a beauty into the top corner to put us 2-1 up and it turned out to be the winner.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

MartinfaePorty
01-07-2017, 05:52 PM
Andy Watson late 1980s at Tannadice. Curled a beauty into the top corner to put us 2-1 up and it turned out to be the winner.

01-07-2017, 05:55 PM
Bobby Duncan's opening goal in Hibs 5-0 destruction of Napoli. November 29, 1967.

In doing so, Hibs overturned a three goal deficit from the first leg in Italy, and became the first Scottish club in eight attempts to overcome Italian opposition in a two leg contest.

Hibs had beaten Racing Club of Paris in the previous round, but Hibs went out 2-1 (robbed) to Leeds United in the next round.

Changed days indeed.

Better known as FC Porto :wink:

Duncan's goal was a beaut, though.

portycabbage
01-07-2017, 06:34 PM
Was a total fluke of a cross that went over the goalies head and in.

Must be a different goal! The one I'm talking about he'd cut inside and picked his spot, probably not far wide of the D when he took it, definitely not a cross!

01-07-2017, 06:40 PM
Peter Cormack's goal from the half way line against Dunfermline at Easter Road in the mid 60's. I was in the east terracing and as soon as the ball was struck you knew it was going to be a goal. Thirty years later Beckham did a Cormackesque against Wimbledon.

_hucks_
01-07-2017, 06:47 PM
Charnley scored first, up the slope from inside our half. McGinlay was the next home game against Killie and was down the slope. I remember him as being just outside the centre circle, on the East Terrace side and in their half.

My first match. Beat them 4-0. McGinaly was my favourite player from then until he left

Paloschi
01-07-2017, 06:54 PM
The most cult goal has to be Benji v the yams. That celebration!

01-07-2017, 07:05 PM

Changed days indeed.

Has anyone forgotten Bobby's goal?

I'd go for Joe McClelland in a friendly against Bolton when he ran down the left wing cut along the penalty box line and thrashed the ball into the net-final result 5-2 Hibs.As Joe usually spent his time putting wingers into the crowd as those that saw him will recall so it was outstanding.

01-07-2017, 07:08 PM

That's been hidden well! I only mananged to listen to the games way back but it was always "and Watson screws it over the bar from 6 yards out / open goal"

Souter96Mac
01-07-2017, 07:16 PM

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BX6uPTPd_m8
About 5:20

01-07-2017, 07:16 PM

Ralphie was my sister's favourite player. Harry Gilzean produced a badge after that goal and my sister wore it proudly on her scarf. I'll need to ask
her if she still has it. Great goal and one of the few bright spots - other than Georgie boy's arrival - that season.

01-07-2017, 07:17 PM
Stuart Beedie Thunderbolt V Hamilton in midweek cup tie around about 86/87. He hit the ball so hard that it had bruises and the net had to be treated for concussion

01-07-2017, 07:27 PM
Not goal but game, we beat Dundee Utd 5-0 at the start of the 94/95 season and we looked phenomenal.

There were two cracking goals from O'Neill and Jackson, two lobs and Harper looked electric when he came on. I think he was just 17 at the time.

Found it on youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L6crqsUpawc

Jackson scored a few peaches for us https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wp9Q-nNUKLw his first here is stunning! He liked a goal against Utd.

01-07-2017, 08:27 PM

Changed days indeed.

eg it was Porto they beat, surely?

01-07-2017, 08:29 PM
Stephen Glass. Volley against Aberdeen. Came over his head, kept his eye on it, and smashed it into the net. Quality goal!

01-07-2017, 08:29 PM
I remember Chris Jackson scoring an absolute screamer at the PBS (sadly we lost 2-1) and I'd like to echo the selection of Joe McBride senior against Celtic at ER

01-07-2017, 08:30 PM
August 1997 3 days after my first daughter was born( only reason I remember it).

Hibs get an indirect free kick inside 18 yd box against Utd. Chic Carnley plays a clever angled pass and Paul Tosh scores from an acute angle. When do you ever see one of those scored?

SmashinGlass
01-07-2017, 09:12 PM
Zitelli overhead kick against Dundee at Dens.

Sure it was around 2001.

We were right behind the goals, an absolute peach.

Must have been pretty close to where I was sitting too as I was also right behind it. An absolute peach indeed. He also scored another raker that season against Motherwell at fir park in a Sunday night game. Just inside the box, narrow angle and hammered it into the roof of the net, beating the keeper in a ridiculous fashion

alihibs1
01-07-2017, 09:19 PM
David Wotherspoon v Inverness. Volley from about 30 yards.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

01-07-2017, 09:24 PM
Yes, but which of his 5 goals are you meaning?

The rabona with his weaker foot from near the left corner flag, although his 'George weah' effort when he ran through the entire hearts team was good n aw.

01-07-2017, 09:31 PM
AOB at anywhere

Benjis 30 yard raker at Stirling Albion in AOBs first game

01-07-2017, 09:41 PM
Neil Orr curler from the corner of the box with his wrong foot straight into the top corner v Aberdeen in 1990. A 3-2 win at ER. I was shouting at him not to shoot!

01-07-2017, 09:50 PM
Ian Murray Vs Dundee United. He got to ball in our half and then just ran on a slight diagonal before thumping it into the top bin from the edge of the box with his right.

This is goal i thought was v livi. Yes a cracker

01-07-2017, 09:54 PM
Joe's dad v Celtic at ER

Absolutely superb :agree: His second that day [2-0], Hibs first game with Tom Hart on board.

For me Pat Stanton's cracker against Bobby Clark in Joe Baker's return to ER. First goal Clark had conceded in over 1,155 hours [12+ matches].

01-07-2017, 09:59 PM
Absolutely superb :agree: His second that day [2-0], Hibs first game with Tom Hart on board.

For me Pat Stanton's cracker against Bobby Clark in Joe Baker's return to ER. First goal Clark had conceded in over 1,155 hours [12+ matches].

Was at that game as a young kid....always thought it was Alan Gordon that scored that. Thx for setting me straight.

01-07-2017, 10:04 PM
David Wotherspoon v Inverness. Volley from about 30 yards.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Goal here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UIbZ3j5HQhE

Spoony (along the rest of the team) was so good in the first few months of that season

Here's another cracker from him a few weeks later https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqfW9gZ-nOk

saltandsauce
01-07-2017, 10:08 PM

Was it lashing of rain that day

01-07-2017, 10:14 PM
Colin Harris v Huns at Ibrox 1985. Unexpected 1-0 win and unexpected scorer.

Joe McBride v Mini Huns at Swynie 1986. Scored two late goals. I can't remember if the free kick was first or second.

Stephen Glass v Sheep at ER December 2004. Sweet strike in a 2-1 win when both us and the Sheep were going well.

01-07-2017, 10:19 PM

Have to agree with above two and add, Alan Gordon's header to make it Seven (7) 1st Jan 1973, along with Micky Edwards goal (second) against the old huns at Hampden Cup Semi Final pissing with rain and only about 5,000 Hibees there on a Wed night.
Too many other's to mention.

hibIBZ
01-07-2017, 10:21 PM
A vague memory of joe tortolano scoring a great strike from outside the box in a Scottish cup match v Stenhousemuir, not sure on the year, maybe 94 or 95??

eezyrider
01-07-2017, 10:30 PM
As already said it has to be Chic Charnley's goal v Alloa. He kicked the ball from his own half, up the slope.

The game wasn't televised so there's no footage of that great moment.

EZ

TelaStella
01-07-2017, 11:01 PM
As a youngster Deek's screamer against the yams at Easter Road always felt like my favourite hibs goal, unbelievable strike. In more recent times Sparky's free kick in the 2-1 game at Tynie will go down as one of the greatest, perhaps even better than Caldwell's last minute winner. Lewy's winner at Ibrox a few years ago too will always stick with me. Fantastic night that and no player deserved it more.

01-07-2017, 11:03 PM

Great goal - with his left foot of course.I saw it.Up the slope too.

01-07-2017, 11:05 PM

Joe McBride v Mini Huns at Swynie 1986. Scored two late goals. I can't remember if the free kick was first or second.

Stephen Glass v Sheep at ER December 2004. Sweet strike in a 2-1 win when both us and the Sheep were going well.mental scenes at the equaliser. Free kick was first then a scrambled second i remember. Earlier than 86.

01-07-2017, 11:09 PM
Paul Wrights late strike on his debut against Aberdeen.

01-07-2017, 11:16 PM
To be fair....

Are any of these great hibs goals truly forgotten if we can reminisce about them?

As soon as they are remembered and discussed - they are no longer forgotten

The Schroedingers Cat syndrome of hibs goals

Sorry if this ruins people's fun!

01-07-2017, 11:16 PM
Was at that game as a young kid....always thought it was Alan Gordon that scored that. Thx for setting me straight.

Baker 'scored' first but it was ruled offside. Stanton scored the first goal that counted and Joe added a second.

dhmf
01-07-2017, 11:45 PM
Orman vs Rangers....

One of my favourite games ever even though it was just 2-2, the angle we had from the away end was perfect to see it nestle in the top corner.

dhmf
01-07-2017, 11:48 PM
Riordan volley at pbs,was such a sweet strike even though we lost.

01-07-2017, 11:57 PM
One of my favourite games ever even though it was just 2-2, the angle we had from the away end was perfect to see it nestle in the top corner.

He looked more shocked than anyone. I was at family funeral in west. Went game in suit then back to wake.

02-07-2017, 12:10 AM
Jimmy O'Rourke's 25 yarder against Celtc in the Dryburgh Cup final.

darwenhibby
02-07-2017, 12:16 AM
Paul Kane's header from a corner before halftime against yams 17 October 1987
V yams
Hadn't beat them for a long time
2nd half seemed to last forever

02-07-2017, 12:17 AM
To be fair....

Are any of these great hibs goals truly forgotten if we can reminisce about them?

As soon as they are remembered and discussed - they are no longer forgotten

The Schroedingers Cat syndrome of hibs goals

Sorry if this ruins people's fun!

Anything not on tele I suppose. Only those who seen will remember. Wish was more footage gordon smith to see appreciate what elders told us.

beensaidbefore
02-07-2017, 12:45 AM

I remember a Paul Wright header into the cowshed end, we were right up the front behind the goals, and as a wee boy it was a goal that stuck in my mind for some reason. Cant even remember who it was against. Any stattos out there who could fill in the blanks?

Edit: think my favorite goal is Keith Wright in the final. Other is for nostalgia purposes.😀

02-07-2017, 03:35 AM
Charnley took a shot from a million miles out against Celtc on first day of the season. Didn't go in, and I remember the groans when he punted it against Alloa. Turned alright that time, though.

02-07-2017, 04:43 AM
Riordan's first of his second spell away at Hamilton was a beauty. I was sitting right in line with the left hand post as he curled it in from just inside the box from the right as you look at it from the away end.

An absolute belter.

https://youtu.be/CdwzbEe_6s4?t=46

02-07-2017, 06:03 AM

It was January 1971, Alan joined us the following January.

02-07-2017, 06:09 AM
Must have been pretty close to where I was sitting too as I was also right behind it. An absolute peach indeed. He also scored another raker that season against Motherwell at fir park in a Sunday night game. Just inside the box, narrow angle and hammered it into the roof of the net, beating the keeper in a ridiculous fashion

Was just about to post about that Motherwell goal.

Ball just about went right through the net he hit it so hard.

Topographic Hibby
02-07-2017, 07:29 AM
I saw a few of the crackers on here such as Chico's up the slope goal v Alloa. Definitely in his own half.......

And Ralph's goal against Dundee where he beat the entire Dee backline.....twice, before slotting home. Think we won 5-2 or 5-3 if memory serves, all while a running pitch battle was going back and forth along Albion Terrace - great view from high on the East!!

Surely the ultimate forgotten goal is the 1902 winner! :wink:

Thank you Sir David.....!! :not worth

PaulC
02-07-2017, 08:07 AM

Colin Harris also scored the winner in a second win at Ibrox (the following season i seem to remember) - score 1-2

Col_0762
02-07-2017, 08:17 AM
Tam McManus header at Killie in injury time, QF of the cup. The stand was literally rocking. Maybe not as great a goal as most on here but for importance at the time it was tremendous!

Anyone mentioned Marc Libbra's at Celtic Park yet? That was a peach. McManus at Ibrox as well, similar to Orman's there.

Yuillsy
02-07-2017, 08:23 AM
Neil Orr curler from the corner of the box with his wrong foot straight into the top corner v Aberdeen in 1990. A 3-2 win at ER. I was shouting at him not to shoot!
This!! I was in the old cowshed with my Dad, what a game.
Barry Prenderville with a 35 yard rocket v Morton in 98/99!!

02-07-2017, 08:27 AM

Charnley's was definitely first.

02-07-2017, 09:36 AM
Ally Scott with a scissors volley from about 35yrds at ER against the Hun late 70's.

02-07-2017, 09:51 AM
It was January 1971, Alan joined us the following January.

Misty memories of a 5 year old. Remember being behind the goals watching it. Had been reading in the sports pages about Clark"s record before the game.

02-07-2017, 09:53 AM
Baker 'scored' first but it was ruled offside. Stanton scored the first goal that counted and Joe added a second.

Cheers [emoji106]. That rings a bell...was behind the goal where both were scored iirc. Magic !

blaikie
02-07-2017, 09:57 AM
Sproules last goal before he joined Bristol, was against Celtic sure it was Browns last game as well before he joined them!

02-07-2017, 09:58 AM
Not a major game or anything, but I always had fond memories of Steven Glass's late winner against Aberdeen at ER...

02-07-2017, 10:03 AM
Not a major game or anything, but I always had fond memories of Steven Glass's late winner against Aberdeen at ER...

Me too. Both teams were competing for a European spot and going into that game we were seven points behind Aberdeen so it was important that we grabbed all three points.

02-07-2017, 10:09 AM
Better known as FC Porto :wink:

Duncan's goal was a beaut, though.

You're right. My mistake.

Has anyone forgotten Bobby's goal?

I remember it like it was yesterday.

eg it was Porto they beat, surely?

It was indeed Jonnyboy. My bad. See above.