View Full Version : Danny Graham.

29-06-2017, 09:59 PM
Just seen on twitter he's been liked to us on loan. Can't say I know much about him to be honest.

29-06-2017, 10:00 PM
Had a couple of really good seasons at Swansea few years ago I think.

29-06-2017, 10:01 PM
Would be a superb signing

dmc1875
29-06-2017, 10:01 PM
Heard this randomly today also. Ex EPL player. Scored a great goal against Man United that Mourinho applauded last season...

29-06-2017, 10:02 PM
Would be a fantastic signing. Been fairly prolific for Blackburn though so I doubt there's much in it.

franck sauzee
Just seen on twitter he's been liked to us on loan. Can't say I know much about him to be honest.

I associate him with Watford but not been there for 6 years! He played a lot for Blackburn last year and scored 1 in 3. Would take him

Ianhibee

English Premier League player - can't be bad? A bit experience is grand but hope majority of transfers in are younger guys with potential - like Murray...

29-06-2017, 10:03 PM
First a signing now a proper rumour! It's like Christmas today.

Souter96Mac
Don't really see why Mowbray would keep Stokes but shift Graham on to us. Stokes hardly featured last year, even after his injury, whilst Graham was one of their better strikers. Would be on a fair chunk as well. Would be a good signing don't get me wrong, but can't see it.

Doesn't seem to be prolific, but I think would add a physical presence. More a replacement for Holt than Cummings - hoping Stokes is the replacement for Cummings !

Presume that means we can't get Stokes

29-06-2017, 10:04 PM
I associate him with Watford but not been there for 6 years! He played a lot for Blackburn last year and scored 1 in 3. Would take him

I'd take that, I've looked at his Wiki page seems to have done alright. Could be a good signing if it happens.

29-06-2017, 10:04 PM
Would be a good signing. Would be surprised if this happened though.

JJP
29-06-2017, 10:05 PM
Can't see this one happening.

29-06-2017, 10:06 PM

He's better than Stokes.

We'll be in for both.

29-06-2017, 10:06 PM
Don't really see why Mowbray would keep Stokes but shift Graham on to us. Stokes hardly featured last year, even after his injury, whilst Graham was one of their better strikers. Would be on a fair chunk as well. Would be a good signing don't get me wrong, but can't see it.

The article in the Sun says that he doesn't want to play in League One and Blackburn would be happy for someone to take a percentage of his wage on for the season. Would be surprised if it happened. Sounds more like he's one on the list but could be too unrealistic.

29-06-2017, 10:10 PM
Would be a ridiculously good signing. Can't see it though. Will be clubs down south that would pay far more of his wages.

29-06-2017, 10:11 PM
I heard hearts are after him

MacGruber
29-06-2017, 10:13 PM
Danny Graham would be a phenomenal signing at our level. God I hope this is true but can't see it based on his CV and wages. If we could pull this off though it would be a major coup.

Danny Graham over Lafferty all day long. Really hope so

Bob Box Fish
29-06-2017, 10:15 PM
Deary me this guy is a donkey saw him play a few times for sunderland I would even take lafferty before him....

29-06-2017, 10:15 PM
Would be a great signing, he can work opposition defenders and score, does not play at it like Holt did for most of last season.

Have my doubts he'd come to us, but i would love to see us sign him.

18Hibee75
29-06-2017, 10:19 PM
Watched Blackburn quite a lot last season as I have family there. Strong player who has got a good strike on him, IMO would be a great move for us, Shame only a loan though!

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

29-06-2017, 10:19 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170629/e0cdbbf31610d4d2d9a010d5ecac1012.png

29-06-2017, 10:20 PM
Was heavily linked with Celtic last summer

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/blackburn-make-big-offer-celtic-8244403

29-06-2017, 10:21 PM
I heard hearts are after him

Don't... just don't!!! 😁

29-06-2017, 10:23 PM
If this were to come off it would be a sensational signing.

29-06-2017, 10:25 PM
That would be a phenominal signing. Can't see it happening in all honesty though.

29-06-2017, 10:36 PM
Met him a few times, absolute gent and a top player. Would be shocked if we got him, had a tough time infront of goal the last few years but a very good player.

29-06-2017, 10:37 PM
I really can't see this happening. It would be an outstanding signing if it came off. As someone said earlier, I'm not sure why Blackburn would be against Stokes coming here but would be happy to loan us Graham.

29-06-2017, 10:41 PM
Doesn't seem to be prolific, but I think would add a physical presence. More a replacement for Holt than Cummings - hoping Stokes is the replacement for Cummings !

Am I the only one who thinks Murray is JCs replacement? 18 goals for United suggests he's a goal scorer

29-06-2017, 10:43 PM
Am I the only one who thinks Murray is JCs replacement? 18 goals for United suggests he's a goal scorer

A poor United too

29-06-2017, 10:49 PM
Deary me this guy is a donkey saw him play a few times for sunderland I would even take lafferty before him.... at the risk of being a pessimist again I certainly hope he isn't the only addition we plan on bringing in up front. Hes not a goalscorer and we need one.

JJP
29-06-2017, 10:49 PM

No. I agree with you.

29-06-2017, 10:58 PM
http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/15381356.Rovers_to_step_up_striker_search_as_Tony_ Mowbray_looks_to_add_competition_to_last_season_s_ top_scorer_Danny_Graham/

Unfortunately doesn't sound likely after reading that.

Up The Bracket
29-06-2017, 10:59 PM
His goal record speaks for itself really, nearly 100 goals in the top 2 Tiers in England, would be very surprised if we managed to pull it off, one would suspect it's perhaps his agent trying to band his name around but he would be a terrific signing, don't understand how anyone could suggest otherwise.

29-06-2017, 11:01 PM
Always thought he was a good player and would be a great signing.

29-06-2017, 11:02 PM
Certainly has a lot of experience at a good level and scored a decent number last season for a poor side in a league full of good defenders, at least as good as he would find in the Scottish premiership anyway.

The only reservations I would have is that he would be a loan player and not just that but out on loan because 'allegedly' he has chucked the toys oot the pram coz he feels he's too good to play in league 1 for a club he after all helped get relegated ...... If he isn't prepared to put his shoulder to the wheel to help the team which let down the club and he was part of redeem itself what would his commitment on the park for Hibs be like?

I'm not against loan players in principle .... Ambrose, Shinnie and Commons did OK for us last season, more than OK in the case of Ambrose and Commons and Shinnie had good moments too.
But like everybody else who lived through the 11/12 season I also have a healthy mistrust of loanees .... young and hungry with a top notch attitude like Henderson is great, but a guy out on loan for the reasons Graham appears to have, not so great.
Perhaps if he thinks he's too good for English league 1 he will think the Scottish premiership will be a skoosh for him, a league littered with the carcasses of ex English league players who came up here thinking all they would have to do is stroll about and who found to their cost that it simply isn't the case.

29-06-2017, 11:05 PM
Would be a brilliant signing but I really can't see it. Fingers crossed though.

29-06-2017, 11:09 PM
Also suggests if we are looking at bringing in a loan striker then we won't be signing another forward permanently? Just my take on it 🤷🏻*♂️

29-06-2017, 11:15 PM
Also suggests if we are looking at bringing in a loan striker then we won't be signing another forward permanently? Just my take on it 🤷🏻*♂️

Or ones a loan and one will be permanent! Just have to wait and see.

29-06-2017, 11:18 PM

Exactly [emoji106] been a crazy last few days [emoji85]

29-06-2017, 11:22 PM
Exactly [emoji106] been a crazy last few days [emoji85]

Plus every agent across the land knows we are looking for strikers so we will be linked with every tom dick and harry until we sign someone ⚽️

Nemo
29-06-2017, 11:25 PM
Wow, we must not have a plan after all, after selling JC.

Or Murrays it!

29-06-2017, 11:26 PM
http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/15381356.Rovers_to_step_up_striker_search_as_Tony_ Mowbray_looks_to_add_competition_to_last_season_s_ top_scorer_Danny_Graham/

Unfortunately doesn't sound likely after reading that.

From the same article.."Stokes endured a difficult opening season at Ewood Park, failing to find the net, or start a Championship fixture, since August".

29-06-2017, 11:34 PM
at the risk of being a pessimist again I certainly hope he isn't the only addition we plan on bringing in up front. Hes not a goalscorer and we need one.

41 goals for Watford in 98 games in the Championship
21 in 62 for Swansea in the Premier league

Cummings wont score 41 in his first 100 Championship games, Danny Graham is as good as goal scorer as Hibs can hope to find. Would be an excellent signing if we could pull it off.

29-06-2017, 11:37 PM

Jermain Permanent?

I'll get my coat

29-06-2017, 11:44 PM
TBH most signings now are 2yr deals a loan for a season doesn't concern me in principle.

My only concerns about a loan are attitudes and motivation as we have had some howlers. It all depends on the players attitude. Liam Henderson had a perfect attitude during loan as good as any permanent player.

29-06-2017, 11:52 PM
Would be an excellent signing but surely there's next to no chance.

29-06-2017, 11:53 PM
Think we're punching here. Don't underestimate this, it would be an outrageous signing for us, even on loan.

yonder1875
30-06-2017, 12:03 AM
No danger.

30-06-2017, 12:37 AM
No danger.

He will be on a muckle wage and our couple of grand a week towards it won't be what Blackburn are looking for.

polarbear
30-06-2017, 12:59 AM
Excellent player. Not very likely IMO.

30-06-2017, 02:06 AM
I always used to get Brian and Danny Graham mixed up for some daft reason so I know who this guy is due to the constant need to remind myself :-D

While he's a slightly different animal to Grant Holt, he's a lot more mobile and would walk this league. One things for sure is that he is a class above Kyle Lafferty and signing him for any amount of time would be a coup. He's the real deal.

I can't see it happening though.

30-06-2017, 03:36 AM
Absolutely no chance.

30-06-2017, 04:21 AM
What I find odd is, the article states that he dosn't fancy LG1 but is willing to play in the SPL, which if you believe the media is worse than LG1 in Engerland??

30-06-2017, 04:52 AM
Some folk are never happy. So we are linked with a player and he's now a donkey blah blah blah

Bloody hell they would prefer Lafferty over Graham. Holy ***** some folk really need to get a grip!

30-06-2017, 04:55 AM

:agree:seems to have gone under the radar a bit. He's going to be a good player for us.

30-06-2017, 04:56 AM
Danny Graham twice the player Lafferty is but can't see him coming to us. In saying that I never thought we'd sign Ambrose

30-06-2017, 04:59 AM
Ffs, first Lennon is making no effort to sign anyone, jetting off to La Manga for pool parties, hibs net in meltdown. Now he's being linked with every Tom dick and jermaine :grr: Petrie!

30-06-2017, 05:16 AM
Not even going to get my hopes up for Danny Graham. He would be an outrageous signing for a club like us.

30-06-2017, 05:52 AM
Not even going to get my hopes up for Danny Graham. He would be an outrageous signing for a club like us.

He probably just wants to win things, given our recent record he'll see us s sure thing 😁

30-06-2017, 05:54 AM
Some folk are never happy. So we are linked with a player and he's now a donkey blah blah blah

Bloody hell they would prefer Lafferty over Graham. Holy ***** some folk really need to get a grip!

Is it not just one person that's said that? Whole thread is full of people that'd be delighted with him signing.

Can't see it myself though, the story sounds a bit speculative to me.

30-06-2017, 05:56 AM
Would be an incredible signing. Newcastle boy I think so might be some mileage in It. Would imagine if we got him fit he would score a bucket full in Scotland.

30-06-2017, 05:57 AM
Is it not just one person that's said that? Whole thread is full of people that'd be delighted with him signing.

Can't see it myself though, the story sounds a bit speculative to me.

Folk - yeah your right. It was early though Bingo.

30-06-2017, 06:53 AM
I've got mixed feelings here. I've seen DG a few times & he was indifferent at best. He's not a great footballer, nor is he IMO a natural goalscorer. However he's strong, was fast & works his socks off. In fact he'll be a great foil for JC. 😂Its possible he could be a star in Scotland but Holt was meant to be prolific & so was Kuqi though I accept DG is closer to his prime than those 2. Still he's over 30 so NL can calm down after signing a bairn in goal!

30-06-2017, 07:05 AM
Can't say I've heard of him before but a twin strike force of Graham and Graham would cause mayhem among fans, punters and the opposition!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40453879

woodythehibee
30-06-2017, 07:19 AM
Only 31 and would score a tonne of goals up here. No doubt about that

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Souter96Mac
30-06-2017, 07:20 AM
If there is any truth in this it would be a cracking signing, even if it was just a loan. Still have my doubts but we shall see! I appreciate the league cup is a competition we should go for, but the league start is still 5 weeks away, still plenty time to get some quality strikers in, as well as a winger or two and a centre mid I think

Baw187
30-06-2017, 07:20 AM
Mair chance of signing Heather Graham.

The Leith Dutch
30-06-2017, 07:25 AM
Only 31 and would score a tonne of goals up here. No doubt about that

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

I think he'd be an excellent signing but I wouldn't expect a huge number of goals.

Once he's got his feet under the table his past suggests he's around a 1 in 3 player.
10 goals and replacing Holt's physicality up front would do me nicely :)

30-06-2017, 07:42 AM
I really wonder just who Hibs fans think we should be signing. Not so much on this thread, althought there are plenty others where this applies, but Facebook and the likes is full of 'another loan. Yawn', 'he's a donkey', 'no thanks, doesn't score' and other such pish.

Every player we are linked with seems to be torn apart before they are even through the door with the negatives highlighted and the positives played down. Danny Graham would be a top drawer signing for any club in Scotland with the exception of Celtic and if we got him for a year it would be a sound bit of business. We don't have the kind of money that buys you a 20 goal a season striker in their prime. We either produce one ourselves (Shaw may fit the bill in time) or we look to bring in guys like Danny Graham on deals that suit all parties.

30-06-2017, 07:45 AM
I've got mixed feelings here. I've seen DG a few times & he was indifferent at best. He's not a great footballer, nor is he IMO a natural goalscorer. However he's strong, was fast & works his socks off. In fact he'll be a great foil for JC. 😂Its possible he could be a star in Scotland but Holt was meant to be prolific & so was Kuqi though I accept DG is closer to his prime than those 2. Still he's over 30 so NL can calm down after signing a bairn in goal!

I've seen him a few times and he's a lot better than you describe. He's been around the top 2 leagues in England and scores goals so I think he'd be a great signing. Murray and Graham upfront would be an extremely hard working strike force

Lee Marvin
30-06-2017, 07:47 AM
Literally no chance of us signing Graham, unfortunately.

Yuillsy
30-06-2017, 07:48 AM
She'd definitely help shift more season tickets!

30-06-2017, 07:48 AM
The vast majority of people moaning about Danny Graham cant be Hibbys. Simple as that i think.

30-06-2017, 07:50 AM

Literally no chance, on a loan? How come?

30-06-2017, 07:51 AM
Danny Graham would be a massive signing for Hibs, I just can't see us having a chance of signing him to be honest.

Sergio sledge
30-06-2017, 07:55 AM
Would Brian and Danny be the first set of brothers to play for us since the Showumnis?

30-06-2017, 07:56 AM
He scored 7 goals in 18 appearances in the English Championship last season (which is more than double what Lanky Lafferty has scored in the past 3 years combined) which is a goal every 2.5 games. That is a pretty decent return playing for a poor team in a league where the standard of football is far higher than in Scotland.

If we were to get him he would be a fantastic signing.

Salt N Sauzee
30-06-2017, 07:57 AM

Well there obviously is a chance or Lennon wouldn't waste his time inquiring about him.

30-06-2017, 07:57 AM
Would Brian and Danny be the first set of brothers to play for us since the Showumnis?

Nah we had the Logan brothers who shared the same shirt.

30-06-2017, 08:00 AM
The same article says Mowbrays looking to offload Stokes . Also says Graham doesn't want to drop to League one . Maybe Mowbray will do us a two for one deal :)

Greenworld
30-06-2017, 08:02 AM
We will see how prolific Jason is down there a lot harder . The guy is a very good player

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

E10 Rifle
30-06-2017, 08:02 AM

Now that would definitely help with season ticket sales

30-06-2017, 08:14 AM
From what I know about him he'd be a massive upgrade on Holt.

I just can't see it though. Given his age and the standard he's been playing at I'm sure he'll get a English Championship club willing to either sign him out right or pay a much higher percentage of his wages to take him on loan

30-06-2017, 08:14 AM
I really wonder just who Hibs fans think we should be signing. Not so much on this thread, althought there are plenty others where this applies, but Facebook and the likes is full of 'another loan. Yawn', 'he's a donkey', 'no thanks, doesn't score' and other such pish.

Every player we are linked with seems to be torn apart before they are even through the door with the negatives highlighted and the positives played down. Danny Graham would be a top drawer signing for any club in Scotland with the exception of Celtic and if we got him for a year it would be a sound bit of business. We don't have the kind of money that buys you a 20 goal a season striker in their prime. We either produce one ourselves (Shaw may fit the bill in time) or we look to bring in guys like Danny Graham on deals that suit all parties.

There's a lot of natural pessimists around who've had slim pickings the last couple of years. They're taking their chances when they can. They'll whinge about Graham coming here and if it doesn't happen they'll whinge we missed a target.

Also bare in mind there are subversive types from the likes of the yams undermining our feel good factor.

30-06-2017, 08:15 AM
41 goals for Watford in 98 games in the Championship
21 in 62 for Swansea in the Premier league

Cummings wont score 41 in his first 100 Championship games, Danny Graham is as good as goal scorer as Hibs can hope to find. Would be an excellent signing if we could pull it off. Quite a while ago that his record was near that level. I think as long as we bring someone else to play with him ill happily take the guy but I'm just on the fence a wee bit with this one. As many folk say its perhaps a Holt replacement more than one for Jason and I suppose Graham has been playing half decent despite relegation whereas Holt was listed as Wigans worst ever player in four four two last year and i rated him at us.

I would just like to see us look for some younger gems and polish them up a bit and not continuously look for over the hill journeyman.

30-06-2017, 08:15 AM
Would be amazed if this is true. Would be a brilliant signing.

30-06-2017, 08:16 AM
This would be a wow signing if any truth in it? Anthony Stokes couldn't get near the Blackburn team last season because they had Graham! Great pedigree, better player than Stokes(who I rate highly), different league to that huddy Lafferty!! Can't see it but please make this happen:pray:

30-06-2017, 08:16 AM
There's a lot of natural pessimists around who've had slim pickings the last couple of years. They're taking their chances when they can. They'll whinge about Graham coming here and if it doesn't happen they'll whinge we missed a target.

Also bare in mind there are subversive types from the likes of the yams undermining our feel good factor.

Who cares about the yams. They know we'll finish above them this year and its destroying them, they're grabbing on to anything they can, even if its a nine fingered banjo plucker whos just escaped from deliverance...

30-06-2017, 08:17 AM

Thats where you are going wrong. :greengrin

If you think this place is full of zoomers multiply by a factor of 20 for facebook. :greengrin

Graham would be an amazing signing.

Maybe he knows Lennon from his time down there, maybe he has young kids and money isnt the only reason players sign, maybe he has seen how Holt got on, maybe being from Newcastle living in Edinburgh (an amazing city by the way) would mean proximity to his home town would be a huge consideration etc, etc

30-06-2017, 08:21 AM
Quite a while ago that his record was near that level. I think as long as we bring someone else to play with him ill happily take the guy but I'm just on the fence a wee bit with this one. As many folk say its perhaps a Holt replacement more than one for Jason and I suppose Graham has been playing half decent despite relegation whereas Holt was listed as Wigans worst ever player in four four two last year and i rated him at us.

I would just like to see us look for some younger gems and polish them up a bit and not continuously look for over the hill journeyman.

Murray would come into the latter category, only 25 and a bit raw but something to prove also hopefully Oli Shaw kicks on this year.

30-06-2017, 08:21 AM

This!!

30-06-2017, 08:25 AM
The same article says Mowbrays looking to offload Stokes . Also says Graham doesn't want to drop to League one . Maybe Mowbray will do us a two for one deal :)

That would be a fine CF pairing EGB!

Lets see how it all pans out and no one nips in ahead of us!

Wonder why the Yams haven't been linked with him too?

30-06-2017, 08:25 AM
Looks good on his youtube videos...scores goals left footed and right footed......id take him over hearts new 20 goals a season laugherty

30-06-2017, 08:27 AM
Could we arrange a reduced bundle deal with Tony M for Graham, Stokes, Mulgrew & Conway?

Blackburn are a basket case financially but these guys must all be on wages way beyond what we can offer. The Graham link does seem far-fetched.

30-06-2017, 08:31 AM
Can't see it happening but he'd be a great signing. He'd score loads against the likes of Ross County, Killie, Hamilton and Hearts.

30-06-2017, 08:31 AM

Or as the American Pickers say, we can do a bundle.

30-06-2017, 08:40 AM
We can sell strikers for a million but there is no way we would or could pay even half of that in a transfer fee, so it comes down to unattached players or loanees, as opposed to 'established' strikers...or at least top ones.

Wish it was different, but it's not!

I'd take Graham on a season long loan....I would have taken Lafferty....but as someone pointed out, we can keep pooh poohing potential targets, but sooner or later we have to sign someone....and universal agreement won't be forthcoming.

Marco G
30-06-2017, 08:50 AM
We can sell strikers for a million but there is no way we would or could pay even half of that in a transfer fee, so it comes down to unattached players or loanees, as opposed to 'established' strikers...or at least top ones.

I'd take Graham on a season long loan....I would have taken Lafferty....but as someone pointed out, we can keep pooh poohing potential targets, but sooner or later we have to sign someone....and universal agreement won't be forthcoming.
Very true and luckily Neil Lennon and co will not care a hoot what we are thinking about potential targets! It's all about keeping under the radar until the deals are done imo.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

green with envy
30-06-2017, 08:51 AM

Must be true if D McGregor tweeted it.

30-06-2017, 08:54 AM

I think we would and could pay a fee up to a point for the right player. We have done so for Marciano and McGinn etc.

The Captain....
30-06-2017, 09:09 AM
I very much doubt we'll get anywhere near the percentage of wage that Blackburn will be looking for unfortunately. If we do it would be a superb deal imo..I think Graham would be difficult to handle in this league...he's strong, decent on the deck and would chip in with a dozen goals plus in my estimation.

I fear this is us just being linked with another 'name' we have no chance of getting for whatever reason. It's happened quite a lot with strikers in the past 6 months.

I'm also starting to believe that Lennon sees Murray as a starting striker..which I didn't consider seriously before. Time will tell obviously but I wouldn't be surprised if we only brought in one striker. Maybe Lennon also sees Martin Boyle as another option..he seems to have a lot of time for the squirrel.

30-06-2017, 09:26 AM
First of all let me say I'd be very happy if we signed DG but IMO comments such as him scoring for fun in SPL are way off the mark. It's now at least 4 seasons since DG could in any way be described as prolific. In that time he played 40 times for Sunderland & scored once. He also played 41 times for Hull, Wolves & M'boro combined & scored 8. His 7 goals in 18 appearances for Blackburn sounds ok until you realise about half were pens & he only scored 2 goals in 2017. So in last 4 years he's scored 16 goals from 99 appearances. I'm not being pessimistic, only realistic. As I said I'll be happy if we get him but we should not build him up to be the next messiah scoring 20 a season, that can only result in disappointment. IMO we also still need a genuine goal poacher. I'm very happy with Simon Murray & I've always thought he'll be a starter for us but we really need a penalty box player, unfortunately every other club wants one of those!

21sMay
30-06-2017, 09:26 AM
Graham would score more goals than Cummings did in a season for us. Unfortunately I can't see us being able to bring him in due to wages

The Leith Dutch
30-06-2017, 09:27 AM
I very much doubt we'll get anywhere near the percentage of wage that Blackburn will be looking for unfortunately. If we do it would be a superb deal imo..I think Graham would be difficult to handle in this league...he's strong, decent on the deck and would chip in with a dozen goals plus in my estimation.

I fear this is us just being linked with another 'name' we have no chance of getting for whatever reason. It's happened quite a lot with strikers in the past 6 months.

I'm also starting to believe that Lennon sees Murray as a starting striker..which I didn't consider seriously before. Time will tell obviously but I wouldn't be surprised if we only brought in one striker. Maybe Lennon also sees Martin Boyle as another option..he seems to have a lot of time for the squirrel.

It's not outwith the realms of possibility which I'd imagine may cause the expulsion of levels of urine that Gary Locke could only fantasize about.

Putting the bedwetting aside for a second he scores at around 1 in 3. Pretty much bang on that last two seasons for a relatively poor Dundee Utd side.

That would suggest a return of around 10 - 12 goals if we started him which would actually be pretty solid. If through a combination of a little more experience plus playing in a better side surrounded by better players he was to improve even a little then that wouldn't be too shabby at all.

It would certainly be acceptable if the other striker we signed did similar and Swanson chips in with a similar tally to his St Johnstone haul from last season.

30-06-2017, 09:40 AM
Graham would score more goals than Cummings did in a season for us. Unfortunately I can't see us being able to bring him in due to wages

No chance. His record suggests about 10 a season.

30-06-2017, 09:49 AM
No chance. His record suggests about 10 a season.

he has scored at a much higher level than any of our current strikers

30-06-2017, 09:54 AM
he has scored at a much higher level than any of our current strikers

He wouldn't get anywhere near Cummings total. Be lucky if he gets ten

30-06-2017, 09:55 AM

Cummings has the total of zero goals in this league.

The Captain....
30-06-2017, 09:57 AM
First of all let me say I'd be very happy if we signed DG but IMO comments such as him scoring for fun in SPL are way off the mark. It's now at least 4 seasons since DG could in any way be described as prolific. In that time he played 40 times for Sunderland & scored once. He also played 41 times for Hull, Wolves & M'boro combined & scored 8. His 7 goals in 18 appearances for Blackburn sounds ok until you realise about half were pens & he only scored 2 goals in 2017. So in last 4 years he's scored 16 goals from 99 appearances. I'm not being pessimistic, only realistic. As I said I'll be happy if we get him but we should not build him up to be the next messiah scoring 20 a season, that can only result in disappointment. IMO we also still need a genuine goal poacher. I'm very happy with Simon Murray & I've always thought he'll be a starter for us but we really need a penalty box player, unfortunately every other club wants one of those!

Pretty balanced view imo..the impression.I get with Graham is that he's struggled with injuries and form the past few seasons. A season where he is more or less a certain starter at a club who will create chances..I think he'd get double figures based on the ability he's shown in the past at Swansea for instance. I'm not saying he'd score for fun..but he'd contribute more than say Holt did imo.

I'd have loved us to push the boat out for Moult personally but it looks we can't stretch to that financially and I think Graham sounds a very decent alternative.

Probably academic as I just cannot see us coming up with the money to make this happen.

30-06-2017, 09:58 AM

Good lord, in 38 games you think Danny Graham would be lucky to get 10 goals vs Hamilton, Ross County, Killie etc?

Gonna have to disagree there, Brian Graham would probably score more than that.

30-06-2017, 09:59 AM

The OP never mentioned this league, he only said DG would score more than Cumming's season total. That IMO is nonsense.

30-06-2017, 10:03 AM

Whilst this statement is undoubtedly true, people saying this are being disingenuous.

I have absolutely no doubt whatsoever Jason would score loads of goals in the Scottish Premier but just hasn't had the opportunity to do it................yet!

Souter96Mac
30-06-2017, 10:13 AM
My blackburn supporting mate said he'd be gutted if they lost Graham, he was more than happy to give us Stokes instead.

30-06-2017, 10:14 AM
Whilst this statement is undoubtedly true, people saying this are being disingenuous.

I have absolutely no doubt whatsoever Jason would score loads of goals in the Scottish Premier but just hasn't had the opportunity to do it................yet!

In the same way that Danny Graham hasn't had the opportunity to do it................yet?

CorrieHibs
30-06-2017, 10:15 AM

Well said.

30-06-2017, 10:18 AM
My blackburn supporting mate said he'd be gutted if they lost Graham, he was more than happy to give us Stokes instead.

Mine too, he'll be spewing if we get Graham :greengrin

30-06-2017, 10:22 AM
Can't help but think Hibs have pulled a master stroke here in rushing/panicking Hertz into signing Laugherty and blowing their budget whilst we sign a much better striker:hibees

30-06-2017, 10:29 AM

In 3 lower league seasons he scored 7 goals in 13 cup appearances against premier teams.

The Leith Dutch
30-06-2017, 10:29 AM

It does raise an interesting point though.

Seen quite a few posts that basically had Cummings down as a stick on for 20 goals this season.

I'm far from certain he would have - he never managed 20 in the league at the lower level of the Championship.

Don't get me wrong he's a great wee player.....bags of confidence and played a massive, massive part in our promotion but his previous form wouldn't point to a 20 league goal season.

Pure speculation of course and I'm sure that whoever we bring in will need to score 20+ to avoid Cumming's fictional 2017/18 SPL Season with Hibs being the best goalscoring performance ever by a Hibs striker :)

Tobias Funke
30-06-2017, 10:36 AM
Loving the experts on here speculating on Grahams likely goals total and comparing this to Cummings when its completely and utterly irrelevent. They played at totally different levels of football.

Graham could play in the SPFL for us and score once or score 40. Nobody can predict how well he might do, if he does indeed sign.

30-06-2017, 10:41 AM
Cant believe theres even a discussion on whether this would be a good signing. I know theres no guarantees in terms of return but in terms of potential return someone like DG has the pedigree to do the business. He's scored at the highest level & is still young (we are only looking at a year long loan) so really he's in his prime. As has already been mentioned people who are moaning, what are they expecting from us? We have already seen someone like Boyce moving for 500k, way beyond what we can afford. Getting someone like this who is still at a good age & can pass on massive experience to Oli Shaw & Murray. For me its a no brainer if we can pull it off.

30-06-2017, 10:48 AM
The risk with players like Graham isn't his ability, it's his commitment. Holt worked out well, but we've had transfers like these go wrong many times (JJ, Kuqi etc.).

30-06-2017, 10:49 AM
The risk with players like Graham isn't his ability, it's his commitment. Holt worked out well, but we've had transfers like these go wrong many times (JJ, Kuqi etc.).

From what I've seen of DG he does seem to be one of these players that gives everything to the cause...and he's a bit younger than those you have mentioned

30-06-2017, 10:52 AM

I understand what you're saying, and obviously any signing is a risk, but it's not that straightforward. Firstly, if DG had been prolific in the leagues he has played in in the last few seasons, there's no way that he would even be linked with us. Also, there are numerous examples of players with far from outstanding records down south coming up here (or back here) and rattling them in.

Adam Rooney is the most obvious recent example - prolific with Inverness in the First Division and SPL, goes down south to several clubs without making much of an impression (averaged eight goals a season over three years, most at clubs League One or below), and then comes back to Aberdeen and probably has the best ever SPL scoring ratio of anyone outside the Old Firm. Scott Sinclair had scored 3 goals in 57 games over 4 years before he signed for Celtic, look what he did when he came here.

There are other examples further down the league as well - Jon Daly and Michael Higdon were hardly prolific down south, then came up here and scored large amounts of goals. Kevin Kyle did well at Killie and Hearts after scoring hardly any goals in his career in England.

Of course there are plenty examples of high expectations leading to very little also, but it's certainly not crazy to think that at 31, someone with Graham's quality could score 20 plus goals in Scotland. His most recent season was a productive one too.

30-06-2017, 10:54 AM

Blimey, we're casting doubt on his commitment now :faf: Incredibly negative.

30-06-2017, 10:58 AM
Danny Graham hasn't scored in the Champions League or won the World Cup. He's obviously mince. I say we go for Danny Cadamarteri as he's already played and scored in the SPL.

30-06-2017, 11:07 AM
tbh, I think we've got more chance of signing Billy Graham - maybe if we all prayed? :wink:

RossScott1991
30-06-2017, 11:13 AM
Graham on loan - Stokes signed officially - would be excellent business!

I still feel Stokesy deal isn't dead yet, ive got a feeling we might just get him

cmcd
30-06-2017, 11:18 AM

No J. I agree with you Murray may turn out to be a very good signing. Here's hoping

30-06-2017, 11:38 AM
From what I've seen of DG he does seem to be one of these players that gives everything to the cause...and he's a bit younger than those you have mentioned

Agreed, his style of play was very committed so I doubt he would be lacking in that regard. In saying he doesn't want to drop a level he clearly wants to keep his career moving forward.

Crazyhorse
30-06-2017, 11:42 AM
tbh, I think we've got more chance of signing Billy Graham - maybe if we all prayed? :wink:

Unfortunately you're probably right. Would love to be proved wrong though.

I saw him play against Newcastle at Ewood Park last season and he played well for the full game (Stokes didn't get on). Seemed to be a very fit, strong player who caused the Newcastle defence a bit of bother off very little service.

Souter96Mac
30-06-2017, 11:46 AM
Always love having a peak over at other teams' forums when we are rumoured with one of their own. Rovers fans seem to think it'd be daft to loan him and get a tiny part of the wage paid, much rather sell. Seems as if they are also quite wound up about Stokes :na na: enjoy your checkatrade trophy

30-06-2017, 11:57 AM
Not. A. Chance. In. Hades.

30-06-2017, 12:05 PM
Surely if we we're going to get any striker from Blackburn it would be Stokes. It makes no sense why they would block a move for Stokes but let Graham come to us on loan. It would be a great move for us if true but fear this speculation is going to make us look a bit daft for swallowing it. I don't think there's a snawbaws chance in hell he'll be playing for Hibs next season. I would be delighted to be proved wrong btw.

30-06-2017, 12:06 PM
Not. A. Chance. In. Hades.

I agree Dave, I more hoping that this is Hibs just diverting the media from our real signing targets

30-06-2017, 12:13 PM
I agree Dave, I more hoping that this is Hibs just diverting the media from our real signing targets

That would be a weird way to do things.

Next thing you know, we've signed some diddy like Kris Doolan, but nobody knew anything about it cos we were all excited about the prospect of someone really good like Graham (never going to happen).

30-06-2017, 12:22 PM

My Blackburn mate said the exact same!

30-06-2017, 02:30 PM
Cant believe theres even a discussion on whether this would be a good signing. I know theres no guarantees in terms of return but in terms of potential return someone like DG has the pedigree to do the business. He's scored at the highest level & is still young (we are only looking at a year long loan) so really he's in his prime. As has already been mentioned people who are moaning, what are they expecting from us? We have already seen someone like Boyce moving for 500k, way beyond what we can afford. Getting someone like this who is still at a good age & can pass on massive experience to Oli Shaw & Murray. For me its a no brainer if we can pull it off.
We could easily have paid 500k for Boyce.It's the wages we can't match.

30-06-2017, 02:41 PM
We could easily have paid 500k for Boyce.It's the wages we can't match.

I disagree. I don't think hibs will be paying 500k for a player any time soon. We don't have that sort of cash to spend on a player

30-06-2017, 04:21 PM
My Blackburn mate said the exact same!
I don't think either of your Blackburn mates need worry, very unlikely to happen.

01-07-2017, 03:27 AM
Nah we had the Logan brothers who shared the same shirt.
Aw nut 😂😂😂😂

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Cardinal G
01-07-2017, 10:00 AM
Having regularly watched Graham over recent seasons whilst at Sunderland I can see the attraction of signing him his eye for goal albeit not prolific at Stadium of light but that was more about playing with poor supply and having little oppurtunity or luck. Its his work rate for me that is his strongest point, he will work back at every oppurtunity and run thru brick walls for the team, something we saw a glimpse of with Holt last season.
We complain sometimes of our strikers lack of perceived effort in recent seasons,trust me if he does sign that's not an accusation you could make of him.
I for one hope this rumour has legs.

Tamhere1875
01-07-2017, 01:34 PM
No chance with the money he's looking for.

Baw187
01-07-2017, 01:41 PM
No chance with the money he's looking for.

How much did he tell you he wanted?

01-07-2017, 01:58 PM
Graham would be a cracker

01-07-2017, 01:59 PM
Mowbray says hes not for sale

01-07-2017, 07:40 PM
I read today that Blackburn are hoping to sign 2 strikers in the next week. Could potentially see stokes or Graham become available

01-07-2017, 10:34 PM
I read today that Blackburn are hoping to sign 2 strikers in the next week. Could potentially see stokes or Graham become available

Can we give them B. Graham as part of any deal.

01-07-2017, 10:37 PM
Dream on.