View Full Version : Roughest areas in Edinburgh

Stubbsy2016
26-06-2017, 08:29 PM
What does everyone think are the worst areas in the capital?

Niddrie was pretty bad in the 90s and early 00s but seems a lot better now.

I would say the Pilton/Muirhouse area is probably the worst just now.

26-06-2017, 08:57 PM
I would say the Pilton/Muirhouse area

I've heard you don't even automatically get a £100 rebate on your council tax there.

26-06-2017, 09:06 PM
Haven't got a clue as I stick to the posh areas but do allow myself to mix with the Leith ruffians at the weekend.

26-06-2017, 09:33 PM

Very safe place to live, police helicopter protects the area day & night :greengrin

26-06-2017, 09:40 PM
Corstorphine has gone right downhill in the last 18 months or so :agree:

26-06-2017, 09:46 PM
Town centre on a Saturday night. The bright lights seem to attract the radges.

26-06-2017, 10:05 PM
And as i type the helicopter is flying over the area, might be going to see the big ship mind you, or the the wee ****s are down the beach on more than likely stolen motorbikes.

26-06-2017, 10:11 PM

Round about the same age as you, the town has never really changed, always been a lot of violence in the city centre at the weekend, probably a common thing throughout Scotland, mind you, had a few good nights out in Glasgow city centre and always decent nights, it's when you go in to the schemes through there that you get most trouble in pubs.

Green Man
26-06-2017, 10:35 PM
And as i type the helicopter is flying over the area, might be going to see the big ship mind you, or the the wee ****s are down the beach on more than likely stolen motorbikes.

They relaunched the anti-motorbike theft operation today so might be to do with that.

26-06-2017, 10:57 PM
They relaunched the anti-motorbike theft operation today so might be to do with that.

Police launch anti-social behaviour crackdown in north Edinburgh.

Police in north Edinburgh, in partnership with the City of Edinburgh Council, are today relaunching Stronger North for 2017 following a recent unacceptable rise in anti-social behaviour and crime.

Ongoing anti-social behaviour has included use of stolen motorcycles and acts of violence. Some of these acts of violence have been directed towards police officers. Although no officers have been injured, a number of police vehicles have been deliberately damaged.

The Stronger North initiative, first conceived in 2014 as an organised approach to tackle youth disorder, anti-social behaviour and crime in the area, will see additional resources operating on an ongoing basis.

Operation Soteria, Police Scotland’s response to tackle illegal motorcycle activity in Edinburgh, is ongoing and will continue alongside Stronger North 2017.

Edinburgh Division has listened to the concerns of the local community and will utilise a full range of national police resources to tackle these local priorities. Focussed activity is planned in the coming days, on a themed basis to reinforce this point.

Additional officers will provide a very visible presence within the area and robustly tackle any criminality.

There will be additional support in place throughout from a significant number of national policing assets such as road policing, Operational Support Division, specialist crime resources, police dog handlers and the Police Scotland helicopter.

There has been a recent escalation in the number of motorcycle thefts across the city, with around 80 stolen motorcycles recovered in the north Edinburgh area this year.

This activity is fully supported by key partner agencies, including City of Edinburgh Council and the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service.

Chief Superintendent Kenny MacDonald, Divisional Commander for Edinburgh Division, said: “It is unacceptable for a small core group of individuals to behave in this manner and it will not be tolerated.

“Police Scotland is utilising national resources to tackle local priorities and this will be evident throughout the coming days. We will be targeting all offenders who undertake any form of anti-social behaviour or criminality.

“We recognise that this behaviour is not reflective of the North Edinburgh community. It is essential that the local community continue to work with us to apprehend those taking part in anti-social behaviour and hold them to account. Our local officers will be very visible and I would encourage any of the local community to speak to them as they are on patrol.

The biggest problem the police have is they are not allowed to get involved in a chase if 2 or 3 young lads are on a stolen motorbike, they actually goad the police to chase them but the police are powerless to do anything, and as soon as the helicopter comes on the scene the bike is burnt and offenders safely in there homes and alibi all sorted, the police clamping down every few months just isn't working, you would have thought the death of the young lad on the stolen motorbike on Silverknowes road would have gave them a fright, things have got a lot worse since that incident, they don't care as they aren't feared of the police and nobody will grass them for fear of being targeted by them.

27-06-2017, 03:43 AM
I'm just surprised nobody has posted to say they are deeply offended yet.

Mixu62
27-06-2017, 04:50 AM
Lived in Muirhouse for 2 years in early 2000's. Christ never again. Immediate neighbours were mostly OK but all it took was 2 or 3 houses with utter neds. One memorable night I had bricks and bottles chucked at me on the way home from the chippy.

27-06-2017, 05:51 AM
I was brought up in Oxgangs which certainly required you to toughen up pretty quickly. Primarily Hearts territory as well although there was/is a decent pocket of Hibs fans.

I think a lot of areas have their good and bad points. If every story I'd heard growing up was true then no one would have made it out the scheme alive. It is amazing how a few bad families can drag an area downhill very quickly though.

27-06-2017, 06:32 AM
With the car/bike theft and house breakings of the last year or so I'd say it's currently the north Edinburgh schemes like West Pilton and Muirhouse. I would however say that I don't think there's an area of Edinburgh that is THAT bad and I wouldn't feel unsafe walking through any of them.

Mr Grieves
27-06-2017, 06:52 AM

:agree: The only area I've had grief is the city centre. I've lived in Leith my whole life and not had any problems there.

27-06-2017, 07:06 AM

I'm probably just getting old and there has always been that element up town but cheaper cocaine has played its part in my opinion, more people than ever seem to be taking it and it makes them think there are invincible, I tend to avoid the likes of George Street, The Grassmarket and Lothian Road as it does my nut in

27-06-2017, 07:18 AM
Back in the day it was Niddrie, Wester Hailes and Pilton and Muirhouse.
Having worked third party for Edinburgh council in the last two years I think the worst area is Southhouse, Burdiehouse.

It's a grim day having to do a shift there.

27-06-2017, 07:57 AM
Thankfully gun crime doesn't seem that prevalent in Edinburgh. It seems just now that every scrote in Liverpool seems to be carrying and couldn't give a **** about the consequences of using it.

27-06-2017, 08:38 AM
Thankfully gun crime doesn't seem that prevalent in Edinburgh. It seems just now that every scrote in Liverpool seems to be carrying and couldn't give a **** about the consequences of using it.
Same in Manchester. It's often in the news. It's a matter of time, all things considered before our police are carrying as routine.

Fuzzywuzzy
27-06-2017, 11:55 AM
Apparently the little darlings were booting pigeons about the shopping centre in muirhouse the other night. Worst ones are the ones on motorbikes. The wee pricks need a good ****ing hiding. Can't do that though as they're minors. Nothing will happen either as they have 'complex needs' and can't be criminalised as it would be detrimental to their lives.

27-06-2017, 11:57 AM
Back in the day it was Niddrie, Wester Hailes and Pilton and Muirhouse.
Having worked third party for Edinburgh council in the last two years I think the worst area is Southhouse, Burdiehouse.

It's a grim day having to do a shift there.

Used to stay down in Southhouse in 70s - went to school at Burdiehouse - difficult to believe such a great area in Edinburgh then is now one of the "worst areas" as you say - haven't been down that way for some time though, think the school has gone and the scheme I used to stay in has been rebuilt ... sad to hear if true.

kenny.ff
27-06-2017, 12:29 PM
Apart from magdalene drive its fine, im in the gardens and the junkies are nowere to be seen

27-06-2017, 12:29 PM
:agree: The only area I've had grief is the city centre. I've lived in Leith my whole life and not had any problems there.
Had a walk through the Kirkgate recently ?

27-06-2017, 12:30 PM
It's wee pockets of the city and the radges don't just stick to their own neighbourhoods. Most folks are just getting on with life. A long time ago, I used to do delivery driving. I'd almost always get a tip in Pilton/Muirhouse/Drylaw way but the folks in Davy Mains and Ravelston would almost always give you exact change.

Mr Grieves
27-06-2017, 12:42 PM

Just about every day

27-06-2017, 12:43 PM
It's wee pockets of the city and the radges don't just stick to their own neighbourhoods. Most folks are just getting on with life. A long time ago, I used to do delivery driving. I'd almost always get a tip in Pilton/Muirhouse/Drylaw way but the folks in Davy Mains and Ravelston would almost always give you exact change.
Yup anytime I've ever received a tip in my line of work it's almost always been from people in fairly basic properties in less desirable areas. Anytime I've had to chase money or not been paid in full it's always been from people from the richer end of the spectrum.

hibs#1
27-06-2017, 01:42 PM
Most proper junkies I've met are always pretty sound,like you say most of just wander looking a bit lost and lonely. I tend to feel sorry for them most have had a ****ty life and can't deal with it.

27-06-2017, 03:44 PM

That's why they're living in Ravelston :greengrin

27-06-2017, 04:11 PM
As i said, this generation don't care and aren't scared of the police, 5 police cars attacked in the last 2 weeks by youths on stolen motorbikes.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/bike-thugs-hurl-rocks-at-police-on-patrol-in-capital-1-4487356

27-06-2017, 04:36 PM
As i said, this generation don't care and aren't scared of the police, 5 police cars attacked in the last 2 weeks by youths on stolen motorbikes.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/bike-thugs-hurl-rocks-at-police-on-patrol-in-capital-1-4487356

I see them up town at night quite a lot, sometimes three to a bike and no helmets. They were even on the pavement on the high street.

Do the police have a policy where they back off if they aren't wearing helmets? If so there needs to be a clear warning that they're coming after these bikers then the policy needs binned.

I'm sorry but I think that the personal safety of innocent people is more important than those who make the "wrong choice" to steal and recklessly ride a bike.

27-06-2017, 04:57 PM
I see them up town at night quite a lot, sometimes three to a bike and no helmets. They were even on the pavement on the high street.

Do the police have a policy where they back off if they aren't wearing helmets? If so there needs to be a clear warning that they're coming after these bikers then the policy needs binned.

I'm sorry but I think that the personal safety of innocent people is more important than those who make the "wrong choice" to steal and recklessly ride a bike.

I can understand the police backing off. Once they engage with the bikers, for example by chasing them, lives are more at risk; not just the riders themselves, but (more importantly) others.

In that light, far better to rely on information from the public and Silver's helicopter to grab them when it's easier to do so.

27-06-2017, 05:02 PM
Used to stay down in Southhouse in 70s - went to school at Burdiehouse - difficult to believe such a great area in Edinburgh then is now one of the "worst areas" as you say - haven't been down that way for some time though, think the school has gone and the scheme I used to stay in has been rebuilt ... sad to hear if true.

Whilst I'm no that familiar with the area having been brought up in the north of the city , it does seem to be the largest deprived area of Edinburgh imo. Especially if you include Gracemount.

EH6 Hibby
27-06-2017, 05:59 PM

Only bother I get walking through the Kirkgate are the charity chuggers and talk talk salesmen. When it gets near Christmas, there's sometimes 3 lots of different companies, it's practically assault.

27-06-2017, 06:52 PM
Whilst I'm no that familiar with the area having been brought up in the north of the city , it does seem to be the largest deprived area of Edinburgh imo. Especially if you include Gracemount.

Not really been back since the 70s - mind you I lived in Craigmillar/Niddrie before that (60s) and I thought that was great too ... maybe it's the farther you go back, the better everything was? :greengrin

27-06-2017, 08:03 PM

They're not allowed to chase them or anyone on a bike whether they've got a helmet on or not I'm sure. To be honest I'd let the police chase them and ram them off the road. **** them. People will say they're daft wee laddies making bad choices, they have mums and dads etc, so what. I was a daft wee laddie, as were most of us I'd think and I never used to feel the night to ruin other peoples lives by stealing there cars/bikes/breaking into there houses or whatever else.

27-06-2017, 08:26 PM
Not really been back since the 70s - mind you I lived in Craigmillar/Niddrie before that (60s) and I thought that was great too ... maybe it's the farther you go back, the better everything was? :greengrin

I think it's also true that all the heroin coming into Edinburgh changed the schemes a lot for the worse in the 80s. A lot more community before that.

27-06-2017, 08:49 PM
To be honest, Lochend is very dodgy these days. A lot of drugs and nutters living there.

Seen a fair bit of trouble in the streets, including a guy being chased by someone with a baseball bat about 2 months ago. Not a good area at all (saved by the nearby presence of ER)

27-06-2017, 09:14 PM
Story from an 'incident' in Great Junction St last week as told to me by a local bobby last night. An altercation outside a pub led to a punter being chased by two others. One of those giving chase jumped into his motor and managed to run over his pal rather than the guy he was chasing! Leith isn't totally gentrified yet 😀

27-06-2017, 11:07 PM
I think it's also true that all the heroin coming into Edinburgh changed the schemes a lot for the worse in the 80s. A lot more community before that.

I grew up in Pennywell, was a great place growing up in, everyone looked after each other, in the summer you would sit round the back with your mum and other families, or probably play football where the "No ball games allowed" signs were :greengrin you could nip back and forward to the house to get a drink of water and leave the door open, it was safe then, you still had the gangs but they only seemed to fight at night and any other bother would be related to the Gunner pub.

Then it happened, heroin, late 70s and by early 80s it was everywhere by then and there was no chance of you leaving your door open for anything, this was the start of the downfall, it was only sons and daughters who were getting involved in the gear, mums and dads were devastated to hear there kids were involved in this stuff, they would try everything to get them of the gear, but folk still managed to get it, Muirhouse had become a very bad place to stay, unemployment was sky high and crime was rife in the area and the heroin epidemic had taken hold, that generation of drug addicts then produced another generation of drug users, some got out of the cycle but for most this new generation were being brought up by mums and dads who were drug addicts who were teaching there kids the wrong ways in life, they didn't know better and most of the next generation also become drug users, it's been a vicious circle since then where we now have a generation who couldn't give a f*** about anyone, if they want something, they are having it and nobody is stopping them from taking it.

27-06-2017, 11:18 PM
They're not allowed to chase them or anyone on a bike whether they've got a helmet on or not I'm sure. To be honest I'd let the police chase them and ram them off the road. **** them. People will say they're daft wee laddies making bad choices, they have mums and dads etc, so what. I was a daft wee laddie, as were most of us I'd think and I never used to feel the night to ruin other peoples lives by stealing there cars/bikes/breaking into there houses or whatever else.

That's the police stance on it, they will not get involved in chasing stolen motorbikes, for there own safety, can you imagine a chase where it results in the death of a young lad while the police chased them, they won't take that risk as it would end up somehow being the fault of the police.

27-06-2017, 11:52 PM
To be honest, Lochend is very dodgy these days. A lot of drugs and nutters living there.

Seen a fair bit of trouble in the streets, including a guy being chased by someone with a baseball bat about 2 months ago. Not a good area at all (saved by the nearby presence of ER)

Only time i've had any hassle was in Lochend.

28-06-2017, 01:35 AM
Hearts apart Gorgie is a dive, some real nasties live round there. regular brawls in or around Stratford's pub especially during the season. Junkies walking about tending to congregate outside the bookies or pound stretchers.

28-06-2017, 04:50 AM

Has it? I've stayed in Corrie for best part of last 5 years and not been aware of any bother.

28-06-2017, 06:13 AM
Has it? I've stayed in Corrie for best part of last 5 years and not been aware of any bother.

Been there for 25 years and neither have I.

28-06-2017, 06:20 AM

Likewise....only difference is the radges are just the wrong side of 40 these days 😁

28-06-2017, 08:03 AM

Disappointing to hear. Grew up on Marionville road and was fine when I was growing up.

Did hear the stories about it being extremely dodgy in the 70s/80s with gangs and drug wars etc. Dissapointing to hear it's gone downhill.

28-06-2017, 02:21 PM
For a city the size of Edinburgh I dont think any of the areas in the city are that bad. Some inner cities areas in England would make places like Muirhouse and Lochend look like Monte Carlo. For instance I have been down to Nottingham previously and stayed in one of the notorious housing schemes (free digs as thats where the mates stay) and gun crime is pretty rife , so much so that some of the locals refer to it as Nottinggun.

There are obviously a few areas in Edinburgh you would need to be abit wary of walking about at night but none that are exactly no go zones. House prices in the city are continuing to rise and folk are buying up property in what would be considered less desirable areas as thats all their budget can afford.

ColinNish
28-06-2017, 05:21 PM
Disappointing to hear. Grew up on Marionville road and was fine when I was growing up.

Did hear the stories about it being extremely dodgy in the 70s/80s with gangs and drug wars etc. Dissapointing to hear it's gone downhill.

Don't believe everything you read on here. Nout wrong with Lochend and i walk marionville road on a daily basis with no bother.

28-06-2017, 09:09 PM

Likewise....only difference is the radges are just the wrong side of 40 these days 😁

I think Mr Radge was alluding to the fact that he left Corstorphine 18 months ago :greengrin

30-06-2017, 02:52 PM

I agree. Friday and Saturday nights you wouldn't hang about after dark. Lots of aggressive drunks around the bus stops and heading home from the city in the wee hours.

The shops along St John's Road aren't much to write home about. Charity and lacklustre beauty shops abound. Don't start me on the pubs. Downmarket? Yup.

30-06-2017, 03:27 PM
I agree. Friday and Saturday nights you wouldn't hang about after dark. Lots of aggressive drunks around the bus stops and heading home from the city in the wee hours.

The shops along St John's Road aren't much to write home about. Charity and lacklustre beauty shops abound. Don't start me on the pubs. Downmarket? Yup.

Apparently The Centurion is being done up soon.

30-06-2017, 03:54 PM

The Oak is closing end of July. Apparently to reopen as some sort of steakhouse.

30-06-2017, 04:14 PM
The Oak is closing end of July. Apparently to reopen as some sort of steakhouse.

I used to go into the Oak quite a bit back in my late teens, I don't even consider it nowadays though and cannae remember the last time I was in.

30-06-2017, 04:48 PM
I used to go into the Oak quite a bit back in my late teens, I don't even consider it nowadays though and cannae remember the last time I was in.

Been in it twice in 25 years. Winstons is the place I go about once a month.

30-06-2017, 07:53 PM

Balerno. Definitely.

30-06-2017, 08:20 PM

Downmarket pubs? Mind it's a village, they are all typical drinking pubs, no frills. Absolutely would not call them downmarket....heck you can't even swear in Winston's without getting chucked out 😁

Navids Numpties
03-07-2017, 07:57 AM

Lochend is very dodgy now. I'm in lochend and the Torino pub is practically a drug dealers den. Everyone in there is selling Charlie. They have grills over the toilets to stop people taking lines off it. I don't half prefer the bottom shop (links tavern) I've lived in an around the area (Restarig, Craigentinny, Leith) all my life and always have my guard up when walking through at night. The young team seem to have grown up but there's a new breed Doing the housebreakings.

03-07-2017, 11:49 AM

Last time the Centurion got done up ( if you could call it that) they somehow made it look worse than it previously did.

If they do it properly (ie something at least like the Terrace at Carrick Knowe) then it will be a goldmine.

03-07-2017, 01:43 PM
Lochend is very dodgy now. I'm in lochend and the Torino pub is practically a drug dealers den. Everyone in there is selling Charlie. They have grills over the toilets to stop people taking lines off it. I don't half prefer the bottom shop (links tavern) I've lived in an around the area (Restarig, Craigentinny, Leith) all my life and always have my guard up when walking through at night. The young team seem to have grown up but there's a new breed Doing the housebreakings.

The Tor must be the only pub in Edinburgh that I wouldn't dream of setting foot in.

03-07-2017, 02:13 PM
The Tor must be the only pub in Edinburgh that I wouldn't dream of setting foot in.

Is it that bad, has Kano still got it?

pontius pilate
03-07-2017, 03:01 PM
Born in muirhouse left there around 84 I was 10 then. Moved to west pilton for two years then wester hailes for 6 left edinburgh to join the army in 92 aged 18 now living in broomhouse I can certainly pick the areas

03-07-2017, 04:36 PM

I was in a few weeks ago and it actually seemed a bit more presentable than previously in a keep your head down and don't draw attention to yourself kind of way.

ColinNish
03-07-2017, 04:55 PM

What a load of pish. Go in there before home matches and never had any bother. And i ain't from the area.

Navids Numpties
03-07-2017, 05:57 PM
What a load of pish. Go in there before home matches and never had any bother. And i ain't from the area.

Before home matches when it's filled with decent hibs fans because it's near the stadium, go there any other time and get back to me, place is a dive.

Navids Numpties
03-07-2017, 06:01 PM
Was in Lancaster with my bird recently and their roughest area is the Ryelands, I drove through and it made places like muirhouse, Craigmillar, the inch look like paradise. Like someone mentioned earlier about Nottingham.

03-07-2017, 07:46 PM

As Xavi said, maybe different on match day when it's full of Hibs fans looking for a pint. I've been in once for one pint and I've never felt a more hostile atmosphere in a pub. Lasted about 20 mins and folk were shouting at each other, getting pulled apart, folk standing outside with snarling dugs that they could barely/chose to barely keep under control. I've no idea if they were going into the pub with them, but if they were that would have just made it worse if possible and I actually like dogs generally. Could have just been a one off, I know, but it certainly wasn't enjoyable.

ColinNish
03-07-2017, 07:53 PM
Before home matches when it's filled with decent hibs fans because it's near the stadium, go there any other time and get back to me, place is a dive.

Have been in there on a night and not had any probs. Typical scheme pub, no better no worse than any others i have frequented.

And BTW, the Tor is in Restalrig, not Lochend.

03-07-2017, 09:39 PM
Hearts apart Gorgie is a dive, some real nasties live round there. regular brawls in or around Stratford's pub especially during the season. Junkies walking about tending to congregate outside the bookies or pound stretchers.

I live above Stratfords and that doesn't happen. The only place I see junkies congregate is outside the church right next to the stadium

03-07-2017, 11:05 PM
Hoping to move to Edinburgh in a year or so, some good pointers on this thread.

I've lived in Longstone (born there, don't remember it), Riccarton, Currie and Dalry. All fine.

03-07-2017, 11:12 PM
Is it that bad, has Kano still got it?

He does but I can't imagine he puts up with that carry on.

03-07-2017, 11:47 PM

I've lived in Longstone (born there, don't remember it), Riccarton, Currie and Dalry. All fine.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/granton-most-desirable-area-in-edinburgh-1-3726074

Think things may have changed a bit in the last couple of years :greengrin

04-07-2017, 07:16 AM

I think Dalry was the recruiting centre for the walkers on The Walking Dead (particularly outside The Co Op).

04-07-2017, 11:40 PM
40 arrests in the last week.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/crime/more-than-40-arrests-made-in-north-edinburgh-crime-crackdown-1-4494043

05-07-2017, 06:06 AM
40 arrests in the last week.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/crime/more-than-40-arrests-made-in-north-edinburgh-crime-crackdown-1-4494043

Begs the question what the Police have been doing for the last however many months. Why did it take a local campaign to get the brass doing their jobs?

05-07-2017, 07:20 AM
He does but I can't imagine he puts up with that carry on.

It used to be my local and he certainly didn't put up with any of that previously. I've not been in for a few years and my dad goes in maybe a couple of times a year outside of Hibs games and I think he's seen bother once which was promptly dealt with by Kano's parents. It's maybe suffered from the Lea Rig shutting down a few years ago. The Lea Rig was the better of the two before Kano took over the Tor. The Lea Rig became proper dodgy after that, I think taking the dodgier clientele that Kano wouldn't tolerate. Maybe they've gravitated back to the Tor.

There's far dodgier pubs in the Leith area than the Tor, the Marksman for one.

05-07-2017, 08:34 AM
It used to be my local and he certainly didn't put up with any of that previously. I've not been in for a few years and my dad goes in maybe a couple of times a year outside of Hibs games and I think he's seen bother once which was promptly dealt with by Kano's parents. It's maybe suffered from the Lea Rig shutting down a few years ago. The Lea Rig was the better of the two before Kano took over the Tor. The Lea Rig became proper dodgy after that, I think taking the dodgier clientele that Kano wouldn't tolerate. Maybe they've gravitated back to the Tor.

There's far dodgier pubs in the Leith area than the Tor, the Marksman for one.

The Marksman is a funny pub.

I used to use it now and then when I finished night shift as it was/is a 6am opener. There were a few chronic alcoholics in but the majority of the clientele were other shift workers just having a quiet pint. there was little chat and people just kept themselves to themselves. If you passed a few hours later it could be like something out of Apocalypse Now.

I used to also go into the Brunswick and The Scotsmans Lounge which were also early openers and they had reputations as dives and/or somewhere you would get trouble but again that early it was always quiet. I still go into the Scotsman from time to time when there is live music on and it's a great atmosphere.

05-07-2017, 05:01 PM
Begs the question what the Police have been doing for the last however many months. Why did it take a local campaign to get the brass doing their jobs?

There is crackdowns by the police every 4 months or so, it Was Operation whatever last month, this month it's Stronger North, it's a load of pish, the police let it get to a level where it is chaos and more people complain and they have to act, got to say over the last week things have been quiet as the police have swarmed the area, but the main problem down here is motorbike crime and kids driving about mental on the stolen bikes, but reading the EEN it seems they have been targeting people driving cars with no insurance and drug dealers, it looks good for the folk reading the story, police are clamping down, but the headline is very misleading, over 40 arrests, but nothing about any of these 40 arrests leading to people being charged with anything, they recovered drugs stolen motorbikes and a stolen car, but it seems no one has been charged with anything, the police will be away by the end of the week from the area, and i can bet it will only be a few days later where we will hear motorbikes been driven about the place again and it will reach the point again where folk have had enough and it will be another crackdown, what can the police do to 14 year olds who are doing this, arrest them, mum & dad have to come to police station, they tell there son to say No Comment when the police interview them, after a tough 6 hours in the cells they are released and back home and back up to the same nonsense.

This wee quote is what these young lads think of the police.

"The operation was launched in the wake of a spate of attacks on police cars last month by joyriders, who hurled rocks at police cars before speeding off on stolen motorbikes".

Navids Numpties
06-07-2017, 03:09 AM
The Marksman is a funny pub.

I used to use it now and then when I finished night shift as it was/is a 6am opener. There were a few chronic alcoholics in but the majority of the clientele were other shift workers just having a quiet pint. there was little chat and people just kept themselves to themselves. If you passed a few hours later it could be like something out of Apocalypse Now.

I used to also go into the Brunswick and The Scotsmans Lounge which were also early openers and they had reputations as dives and/or somewhere you would get trouble but again that early it was always quiet. I still go into the Scotsman from time to time when there is live music on and it's a great atmosphere.

Marksman isn't half a funny pub. Usual alkies and jakeballs in there and you get some nice people too. Lassie got glassed by a fully grown man in there no long ago though, shame.

10-07-2017, 06:40 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/granton-most-desirable-area-in-edinburgh-1-3726074

Think things may have changed a bit in the last couple of years :greengrin

I think the EH5 postcode will include Trinity and Newhaven both of which are two of the best in the city.

beensaidbefore
11-07-2017, 05:40 PM
This graphic allows you to look at the whole of Scotland and is used to highlight how deprived certain areas are, or rough in layman's terms.

http://simd.scot/2016/#/simd2016/BTTTFTT/10/-3.3425/56.0772/

Sorry on phone so link not working properly.

19-07-2017, 10:19 PM
And it's all back to normal down here again, stolen motorbikes day and night, assaults, a incident in the grounds of Siverknowes golf course, scenes of crime, tent put up, half a dozen police cars, but nothing reported about it so far, and tonight there are 3 bikes being driven about the place at high speeds doing wheelies along Muirhouse Parkway.