View Full Version : Hearts Auction

hibbycraig
25-06-2017, 12:06 PM
A hearts friend of mine is at the auction today. Steven Pressley paid £425 for a turnstile. Some guy just paid £2k for a bath. One of the old style hand painted signs sold for over £2.5k.

hibbycraig
25-06-2017, 12:12 PM
Selling bits of turf that players have kissed ha

25-06-2017, 12:14 PM
They should just go the whole hog and shake them upside down by the ankles on the way out.

25-06-2017, 12:14 PM
Bothered.

25-06-2017, 12:16 PM
They should just go the whole hog and shake them upside down by the ankles on the way out.

25-06-2017, 12:20 PM

Hahaha brilliant 😂😂😂😂😂

25-06-2017, 12:21 PM
Don't know whether to go to that or paint the fence.

Fence it is then.

25-06-2017, 12:23 PM
**** the auction I'm spending the day with the cougars!

25-06-2017, 12:30 PM
A hearts friend of mine is at the auction today. Steven Pressley paid £425 for a turnstile. Some guy just paid £2k for a bath. One of the old style hand painted signs sold for over £2.5k.

Lets face it, if this proves anything its that the commonly held view that your average Hertz fan tends to be from the more affluent areas of Edinburgh than your average Hibs fan is probably true ............ I cant imagine many Hibs fans with enough disposable income that they can afford to chuck away over 2 grand on absolute sheeeoit like that :faf:

kevo1875
25-06-2017, 12:33 PM
It's what all the big clubs do, sell bits of tat to deluded fans and call them a historical momento lol...two grand for an old bath ha ha , wonder if u can still see the pinch bar marks on it from trying to get nades ass out of it..idiots

25-06-2017, 01:18 PM

Brilliant :greengrin:greengrin :aok:
Sound like Presley bought the only thing worth having and at a reasonable price.

25-06-2017, 02:09 PM
Some ****ing moron on my fb just bought a large pane of glass for £250. Hope the **** breaks it on the way home. Twat.

LeithSqualk
25-06-2017, 03:03 PM
Any accountants able to say if they will have to take the VAT off what was raised?

25-06-2017, 03:12 PM
It's the tat on offer and the desparation to raise funds that amuses me most

I like to think if we were to sell of the contents of a stand which is over 100 years old it would be for a charity or 2 - Dnipro and Kicks for Kids spring to mind

They are the charity

hibbycraig
25-06-2017, 03:17 PM
They ended up getting 60k. Most expensive thing was that owl. Some idiot paid £4100 for it. Haha

Jim Herriot
25-06-2017, 03:22 PM

To be fair, it's never been used.

25-06-2017, 03:22 PM
To be fair, it's never been used.

Still won't be

25-06-2017, 03:25 PM
Did anyone buy the shelf for the league cup in the trophy cabinet? Unused in half a century.

Morganleith
25-06-2017, 04:21 PM
Raised over £60k apparently. The owl went for over £4K ffs.
suppose it's been worthwhile for them for crap that would of gone to the tip

Sioux
25-06-2017, 04:51 PM
I wonder why they didn't make the same effort to raise money to fund their creditors when in admin. in fact I don't wonder - its probably something to do with morals. ****ers

25-06-2017, 04:57 PM
Still won't be

Maybe the buyer thinks it's a tattie planter. :greengrin

25-06-2017, 05:15 PM
As much as it's a red face they are now £60k better off.

25-06-2017, 05:17 PM
As much as it's a red face Ann Budge is now £60k better off.

Closer to the truth

25-06-2017, 05:20 PM
Bet they insisted on cash up front just in case.

25-06-2017, 05:21 PM
So that's them at £360k against a target of £1m.

Initiatives dried up now.

Next it will be more begging cash cows

25-06-2017, 05:26 PM
So that's them at £360k against a target of £1m.

Initiatives dried up now.

Next it will be more begging cash cows

Has the symbolic emptying of the cow taken place yet though?

25-06-2017, 05:40 PM
As much as it's a red face they are now £60k better off.
Yeah but they've nothing left to pawn and they're still a billion miles away from covering the shortfall.

As has been mentioned the initiatives are beginning to dry up, only so many cakes you can bake and faces to paint. They'll be doing sponsored walks and having jumble sales next.

They really are an embarrassment.

25-06-2017, 05:44 PM
Much did Gary Mackays medals go for. :dunno:

25-06-2017, 05:52 PM
Much did Gary Mackays medals go for. :dunno:

£1986 for both.

scotia44
25-06-2017, 06:38 PM
budgie selling owls to ostriches 😂

25-06-2017, 06:41 PM
Closer to the truth

Actually yeah she's £60k better off.

25-06-2017, 08:15 PM
They ended up getting 60k. Most expensive thing was that owl. Some idiot paid £4100 for it. Haha

The owl will crap itself when it sees the Jambo turn his head 360 degrees.

25-06-2017, 08:20 PM
Maybe the buyer thinks it's a tattie planter. :greengrin

The guy said he's putting it on the wall.

25-06-2017, 08:28 PM
What Jambo owl is it we're talking about??

4k for an ornamental owl?!?!

A fool and his 💰 are easily parted eh!!

25-06-2017, 08:34 PM
Selling the posts next week. Easier to be 0-0 that way.

hibbycraig
25-06-2017, 08:45 PM

Aye, the ornamental owl that was there to scare the pidgeons/seagulls.

hibbycraig
25-06-2017, 08:48 PM
This owl.

https://mobile.twitter.com/JamTarts/status/878988832657608704

25-06-2017, 08:55 PM

You're missing the vanity factor... 'Look at me, I've spent 4 thousand quid for a piece of tat 'cos I've got considerably more money than you'

25-06-2017, 09:29 PM
You're missing the vanity factor... 'Look at me, I've spent 4 thousand quid for a piece of tat 'cos I've got considerably more money than you'
Could've got a 10 year old maroon coloured Rover with beige leather seats for that.

You can't drive an artificial owl but you can scare a pigeon with a maroon rover

25-06-2017, 09:30 PM
Says it all when the prime, most valuable item of memorabilia was a f***** ornamental owl!!

25-06-2017, 09:37 PM
Says it all when the prime, most valuable item of memorabilia was a f***** ornamental owl!!
Good point but I seriously doubt they'll see the irony.

You'd expect it if it was an owl sanctuary that was having the auction or a closing down sale but a football club??

25-06-2017, 09:44 PM
budgie selling owls to ostriches 😂

Ostriches buying baths from Sharks

26-06-2017, 04:45 AM
I like to think that right now, somewhere in Edinburgh there's someone waking up with a stinking hangover cuddling an ornamental owl (ala The Godfather) with a £4K hole in their bank account

I wonder what the return policy is....

26-06-2017, 05:36 AM
I like to think that right now, somewhere in Edinburgh there's someone waking up with a stinking hangover cuddling an ornamental owl (ala The Godfather) with a £4K hole in their bank account

I wonder what the return policy is....

None, and to make sure they kept the beware of pickpockets sign as a disclaimer.

26-06-2017, 07:19 AM
I think they were also charged ten pounds each to get into this glorified jumble sale.

£2k for a bath? The guy apparently insisted it was filled with water before paying for it.

26-06-2017, 07:22 AM
I think they were also charged ten pounds each to get into this glorified jumble sale.

£2k for a bath? The guy apparently insisted it was filled with water before paying for it.

To be honest if your going to pay 2k for a bath from the 80s the most sensible thing you could do was insist you saw it full of water to make sure there were no cracks or leaks. However it's still a million miles away from sensible behaviour.

26-06-2017, 07:35 AM

Plug sold separately

portyhibernian
26-06-2017, 12:54 PM

"Would you kindly put your £4100 in cash into the ceramic cow sir"

26-06-2017, 01:00 PM
Plug sold separately
Who's going to assist father dougal if they've sold plug?

26-06-2017, 01:09 PM
To be honest if your going to pay 2k for a bath from the 80s the most sensible thing you could do was insist you saw it full of water to make sure there were no cracks or leaks. However it's still a million miles away from sensible behaviour.

Apparently he asked if they still had the instruction manual.

"Darling, I've just invested 4 grand in the Jambos..."

"How many shares do you get for 4 grand?"

"Nae shares, but I've got a plastic owl."

26-06-2017, 01:18 PM
Apparently he asked if they still had the instruction manual.

"Darling, I've just invested 4 grand in the Jambos..."

"How many shares do you get for 4 grand?"

"Nae shares, but I've got a plastic owl."
Shares come and go, (well strictly speaking just go as far as the yams are concerned), but an owl like this is for life, unless you leave it too close to the fire.

26-06-2017, 02:07 PM
You can buy those owls in B&M for under a tenner

26-06-2017, 02:33 PM
That's our display for the first home derby sorted out then[emoji1]

26-06-2017, 02:35 PM
That's our display for the first home derby sorted out then[emoji1]

Lol

26-06-2017, 04:19 PM
Has the symbolic emptying of the cow taken place yet though?

That's the Grand Emptying to you.

£25 a ticket to watch the counting of the coins (price includes a filled roll).

26-06-2017, 04:23 PM
That's the Grand Emptying to you.

£25 a ticket to watch the counting of the coins (price includes a filled roll).

But nae chips? Wtf?

26-06-2017, 06:25 PM

Reminds me of an Only Fools and Horses sketch with the Indians..

26-06-2017, 06:26 PM

Are you serious?

Big L
26-06-2017, 09:06 PM
Are you serious?

Wee fat burds raising money for the yams,, that's no a first!

26-06-2017, 09:14 PM
Are you serious?

eBay had them for £2 earlier today.

Not sure how to post the link ?

£4100 for a plastic owl - was that really the most prized item from that stand ??!

26-06-2017, 09:18 PM
eBay had them for £2 earlier today.

Not sure how to post the link ?

£4100 for a plastic owl - was that really the most prized item from that stand ??!

What a twit.............................................. .............twoooooo:greengrin

26-06-2017, 10:35 PM
Here's a couple of plastic owls currently available on Amazon. Not sure if any are comparable to the Leitch version though.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B003EGNTPU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_wPyuzb5198GC5
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00KJEYCN8/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_zXyuzbVWJ9837

26-06-2017, 10:49 PM
They should have auctioned those double winning tshirts they buried under the stand. I for one would have donated to own such a great piece of history :)

mixumatosis
28-06-2017, 01:02 PM
Looks as though famous "Jambo" Stephen Hendry won't be assisting with the fundraising efforts:

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2017/jun/22/small-talk-stephen-hendry-jimmy-white-fight

"I like my football. I was a Hearts supporter growing up, but I wouldn’t go back now."

"But at the age of 12 I moved away from Edinburgh, and never went back to see them, really."

Awww, shame.

28-06-2017, 01:40 PM
Looks as though famous "Jambo" Stephen Hendry won't be assisting with the fundraising efforts:

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2017/jun/22/small-talk-stephen-hendry-jimmy-white-fight

"I like my football. I was a Hearts supporter growing up, but I wouldn’t go back now."

"But at the age of 12 I moved away from Edinburgh, and never went back to see them, really."

Awww, shame.

😂😂😂

28-06-2017, 01:42 PM
[QUOTE=Fife-Hibee;5083581]😂😂😂 Dalgety bay must have been to far for him 😂

High-On-Hibs
28-06-2017, 01:45 PM
😂😂😂 Dalgety bay must have been to far for him 😂

snedzuk
28-06-2017, 01:46 PM
Here's a couple of plastic owls currently available on Amazon. Not sure if any are comparable to the Leitch version though.

The said owl is pictured in this link - the second ebay owl looks pretty similar - wonder if they bought one for 4 quid and sold it for 4100!

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/our-region/edinburgh/gorgie-and-dalry/mementos-recovered-from-tynecastle-main-stand-to-be-auctioned-1-4481755

28-06-2017, 01:48 PM

I say we should get blown up owls made for the first derby of the season.

29-06-2017, 11:51 AM
Hmmm, reportedly they need to make around £700k or thereabouts. Let's not split hairs and call it a nice, round £700k for the sake of keeping the accountancy simple :greengrin

OK, evidently us caravan dwelling, peg-selling hobos cant see the clear and obvious solution. :rolleyes:

Some two headed, morally imbalanced mutant has already put together a simple 5 step plan to resolve this issue in 2 hours:

1) Get 350,000 friends to join in with the plan
2) Get each of your 350,000 friends to turn on their ovens at the same time
3) Get each of your 350,000 friends to bake 2 small cakes each, one on each tray of the oven...
4) Get each of your 350,000 friends to sell their 2 cakes to another 350,000 hungry people who all want cakes, all at once, in the same place, at the same time for £1 per cake.
5) ...this gives you 350,000 people, each selling 2 cakes at £1 per cake to another 350,000 hungry cake eating people = £700k instantly aquired

Simple enough I'd have thought. There's 400,000 fans somewhere hungry anyway so that's 50,000 more than they need. What could possibly go wrong? :confused::rolleyes::greengrin:cb

If Plan A above fails, they could simply get 700,000 friends to conduct the bakeathon, selling each cake they produce for £1 each to another 700,000 hungry cake eaters.

Aye, fair enough. I didn't ****ing start the radgeness though :greengrin scabby owls? Broken turnstyles? Russian sailors? :thumbsup:

dchibs
29-06-2017, 12:05 PM
[QUOTE=Fife-Hibee;5083581]😂😂😂 Dalgety bay must have been to far for him 😂

He had a house at Westfield just outside Bathgate he had helicopter he could have used that to go to the games.

29-06-2017, 01:20 PM
[QUOTE=Fife-Hibee;5083582]

He had a house at Westfield just outside Bathgate he had helicopter he could have used that to go to the games.
If it was that easy to get to the wongadome maybe it was just that he felt it might damage his image to be associated with a club that robbed the lady Haig Poppy Fund, Big Hearts and the Macraes Battalion Trust charities as well as the Ambulance service, the hard pressed city council, UK taxpayers and Lithuanian pensioners?

drumatic44
29-06-2017, 01:54 PM
I say we should get blown up owls made for the first derby of the season.
I picked up a nice wee wooden owl (£3.75p) in a junk shop in Easter Road a couple of months back, think I'll give it an outing at the first derby.

29-06-2017, 02:06 PM
[QUOTE=SteveHFC;5083588]I say we should get blown up owls made for the first derby of the season.

Here you go, pretty colourful bunch to choose from.

[/https://www.superfunstuff.co.uk/owl-inflatable---4-colours-1724-p.asp

SuperAllyMcleod
29-06-2017, 06:29 PM

Awww, shame.

Credit where credit's due - he saw the error of his ways at an early age. [emoji4]

29-06-2017, 07:28 PM
4K for a ****** owl, what a hoot!