Absolutely brilliant as always!

As for Royal Blood.....eh???!!??

SneakersO'Toole
23-06-2017, 09:24 PM
Radiohead are genius.

23-06-2017, 09:31 PM
Radiohead are genius.

Ah, the stuff from OK Computer sounds amazing.

SneakersO'Toole
23-06-2017, 09:38 PM
Ah, the stuff from OK Computer sounds amazing.

Timeless record. Will still be talked about in 50 years.

23-06-2017, 09:45 PM

Absolutely. Can't believe it's 20 years. I had the original Glasto performance on a VHS tape and wore it out.

23-06-2017, 09:54 PM
Absolutely loving this set from Radiohead. Can't wait to see them at TRNSMT next month.

They are an incredible live band.

23-06-2017, 09:55 PM

23-06-2017, 10:11 PM
Absolutely loving this set from Radiohead. Can't wait to see them at TRNSMT next month.

They are an incredible live band.

I had tickets to see them at Manchester Arena. Cancelled because of the bomb :( Have swapped to trnsmt.

Mr Grieves
23-06-2017, 11:25 PM
I've not listened to radiohead in a long time but that set was ****ing magnificent.

24-06-2017, 06:33 AM
Jezza is appearing on the Pyramid stage today ! :flag:

24-06-2017, 07:23 AM
You must have to really like RH to think that was a good set. I thought it was woeful and turned it off!!

Not Headliners for me!!

24-06-2017, 08:19 AM
I've not listened to radiohead in a long time but that set was ****ing magnificent.

I'm the same. Wasn't mad keen on Kid A and Hail to the Thief but that set last night was epic.

patch1875
24-06-2017, 10:58 AM
You must have to really like RH to think that was a good set. I thought it was woeful and turned it off!!

Not Headliners for me!!

Thought it started a bit slow but picked up as it went on, the crowd came across quite subdued early on.

Think people were expecting them to play OK Computer in full.

24-06-2017, 01:25 PM
Radiohead are the best British band of the last 25 years. For variety, originality and longevity they are unrivalled. Absolutely brilliant last night, gutted to be missing them at TRNSMT. Have seen them live 4 times and they are immense.

ColinNish
24-06-2017, 02:54 PM
Radiohead are the best British band of the last 25 years. For variety, originality and longevity they are unrivalled. Absolutely brilliant last night, gutted to be missing them at TRNSMT. Have seen them live 4 times and they are immense.

Lol, that's some statement!! 😂😂😂
Maybe should have put in your opinion.

24-06-2017, 02:55 PM
Lol, that's some statement!! 😂😂😂
Maybe should have put in your opinion.
Given it's me saying it I would have assumed it was a given that it was my opinion.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

24-06-2017, 04:18 PM
Just watched First Aid Kit on iPlayer. Lovely.

24-06-2017, 04:32 PM

Not really for entertainment though. It's clever stuff and interesting to listen to for a bit. A handful of really good songs to listen to but a bit boring overall for me.

24-06-2017, 05:20 PM
Absolutely brilliant as always!

As for Royal Blood.....eh???!!??

I thought Royal Blood were really good. I hadn't heard of them before!

24-06-2017, 05:21 PM
I thought Royal Blood were really good. I hadn't heard of them before!

Seen them at Barrowlands and they supported the Foo Fighters at Murrayfield. Got tickets to see them in Nov!

24-06-2017, 05:29 PM
Jezza is appearing on the Pyramid stage today ! :flag:

Introducing run the jewels.

👉👊

Looking forward to catching their set tonight.

Mr Grieves
24-06-2017, 07:12 PM
Introducing run the jewels.

👉👊

Looking forward to catching their set tonight.

Yep, cannae wait for a bit of RTJ! Got tickets for their gig in Glasgow.

Hopefully catch up with Toots and the Maytals later too.

patch1875
24-06-2017, 07:40 PM
The National

Not a band I've ever paid much attention to but I'm liking.

24-06-2017, 08:57 PM
Dave Grohl still knows how to put on a show and he's only two songs in

24-06-2017, 09:13 PM
How is it that, with tickets so hard to come by, half of the Labour PLP seem to be there? Some are more equal than others?

24-06-2017, 09:18 PM
How is it that, with tickets so hard to come by, half of the Labour PLP seem to be there? Some are more equal than others?

It's Michael Eavis' party and he can invite who he wants. I can't see anything wrong with that.

24-06-2017, 09:19 PM
Does anyone know if Liam Gallagher's set is on iPlayer? I can't find it...

24-06-2017, 09:23 PM

Don't think it is yet, the full thing is on YouTube though

24-06-2017, 09:51 PM
Don't think it is yet, the full thing is on YouTube though

Cheers mate - found it.

24-06-2017, 10:09 PM
Dave Grohl making up for 2015 in style. Man's a rock legend.

24-06-2017, 10:21 PM

I watched it earlier and I wasn't that impressed tbh. The last song was the highlight.

24-06-2017, 10:29 PM
Dave Grohl making up for 2015 in style. Man's a rock legend.

Not one of my favourite bands but the Foo Fighters have been brilliant tonight.

24-06-2017, 10:58 PM

Not really a fan myself but they have put on a superb performance tonight, and they want to keep on playing all night.

Really enjoying the Foo Fighters tonight. :smokin

David_D
24-06-2017, 11:02 PM
Love the Foo fighters. They just love putting on a great show.

24-06-2017, 11:17 PM
Love the Foo fighters. They just love putting on a great show.

Brilliant show from the Foo Fighters, top dollar :thumbsup:

25-06-2017, 12:21 AM

Completely agree with you.

25-06-2017, 12:35 PM
Not a big fan of Radiohead, but have a few songs on my itunes playlist. Saying that, i thought they were boring, and for me thats not a show or good entertainment.

Music is great like that though, and it would be very strange if we all liked the same stuff. :greengrin

25-06-2017, 06:14 PM
Jeezo, when you sound as bad as Barry Gibb does, surely someone who knows him would let him know its time to retire?

25-06-2017, 06:23 PM
Jeezo, when you sound as bad as Barry Gibb does, surely someone who knows him would let him know its time to retire?

Ken sad to watch, the last BeeGee.

25-06-2017, 06:27 PM
Barry Gibb ......... great bit of nostalgia and music history. His voice struggles a bit now but then it's difficult when his two brothers are not there to support him and complete their unique sound.

25-06-2017, 06:27 PM
Ken sad to watch, the last BeeGee.

:agree: have to say he did redeem himself a little at the end by leaving the stage without an encore. :greengrin

25-06-2017, 06:32 PM
:agree: have to say he did redeem himself a little at the end by leaving the stage without an encore. :greengrin

Ken Robin and Maurice will be turning in their grave :greengrin

25-06-2017, 06:37 PM
Ken Robin and Maurice will be turning in their grave :greengrin

They made some of the best songs ever made, but there does become a time when its time to stop singing those songs live, and by the sound of that tonight, that time came and went years ago. :greengrin

I'm not dead, but i was turning, well my stomach was listening to that out of tune high pitched squealing. :wtf:

25-06-2017, 06:41 PM
The National

Not a band I've ever paid much attention to but I'm liking.

I saw them in Glasgow in November 2010.

It started snowing when we got on the bus back to Edinburgh and by the time we reached Corstorphine, the country was almost in gridlock.

It lasted 4 months.

Good gig though 😁

25-06-2017, 06:48 PM
They made some of the best songs ever made, but there does become a time when its time to stop singing those songs live, and by the sound of that tonight, that time came and went years ago. :greengrin

I'm not dead, but i was turning, well my stomach was listening to that out of tune high pitched squealing. :wtf:

That was actually painful I took a beamer for him ! :greengrin

25-06-2017, 07:04 PM
That was actually painful I took a beamer for him ! :greengrin

:greengrin The last song was spot on, it is a tragedy. :boo hoo:

25-06-2017, 07:12 PM
:greengrin The last song was spot on, it is a tragedy. :boo hoo:

25-06-2017, 07:18 PM

In my opinion, to be fair to BG and the Bee Gees, theirs was a studio/recording sound and not one to replicate in live performance. Even years ago I thought their live performances were weak and didn't match the quality of their records. As I said earlier, it was a nostalgic, legend type performance and I think you can turn a deaf ear to the shortcomings. You're a hard man, blackpoolhibs. :greengrin

25-06-2017, 07:21 PM
Nile Rodgers is an absolutely fabulous guitarist.

25-06-2017, 07:27 PM
​Chic are awesome

25-06-2017, 07:29 PM
In my opinion, to be fair to BG and the Bee Gees, theirs was a studio/recording sound and not one to replicate in live performance. Even years ago I thought their live performances were weak and didn't match the quality of their records. As I said earlier, it was a nostalgic, legend type performance and I think you can turn a deaf ear to the shortcomings. You're a hard man, blackpoolhibs. :greengrin

Aye you are probably right, although it was hard on the ears and did make me think someone should be advising him its not a great sound anymore. :greengrin

And next on is Chic, now please tell me thats spelt wrongly? :rolleyes:

25-06-2017, 08:28 PM

Every time I think they're not one of my favourites I see such a performance and realise that maybe they are! Seen them three times live and never been massively enthused pre-gig, but totally won over by the end, every time! :greengrin

Also enjoying their new song, Run.

25-06-2017, 10:05 PM
Ed Sheeran - must be one of the worst, most underwhelming, headline acts ever. Boring as ****.

speedy_gonzales
25-06-2017, 10:12 PM
Been a strange Glasto for me. Most years the headliners are exactly that, but this year it's been like the Marmite challenge,,,, Radiohead, Foo Fighters & Ed Sheeran.
Don't get me wrong, there was a couple of great tracks in the pyramid stage but the whole slot should be great!

25-06-2017, 10:17 PM
As ever, the entirety of Glastonbury has been absolutely woeful for me.

Disagree entirely with the praise for Radiohead - best British band of the last 25 years?! Don't make me laugh - they personify bland and pretentiousness.

It's the most overhyped festival in the UK calendar, and it's organised by a group of charlatans who peddle absolute lies to make their festival seem socially responsible, environmentally friendly and 'cutting edge'. It's none of those things.

25-06-2017, 10:19 PM
Every time I think they're not one of my favourites I see such a performance and realise that maybe they are! Seen them three times live and never been massively enthused pre-gig, but totally won over by the end, every time! :greengrin

Also enjoying their new song, Run.

I've seen the Foo's a fair few times now (I think I'm also at 3).

If Dave Grohl could do half of the things live that he does recorded, I think they'd be one of my favourites too. Alas...

25-06-2017, 10:27 PM
Well someone's in a bad mood tonight! ^

26-06-2017, 05:41 AM
Does anyone actually like Ed Sheeran? I know he sells a lot of albums but it's the kind of music your Mum buys, plays it once on a Sunday morning then sticks it in a cupboard (or the digital equivalent) forever more. I don't get the fuss at all.

26-06-2017, 05:59 AM
Does anyone actually like Ed Sheeran? I know he sells a lot of albums but it's the kind of music your Mum buys, plays it once on a Sunday morning then sticks it in a cupboard (or the digital equivalent) forever more. I don't get the fuss at all.

I turned off after his 2nd song, im not a fan as you'd probably guess but some of his tunes are ok.

Glastonbury for me should be about proper bands, bands that are all playing their own instruments and rock bands, not boy bands, disco greats playing to backing tracks or spotty teanagers with child followers.

Probably never happen like that i suppose, as for me there are not enough good bands around now, although thats probably just me and me getting old, and not liking new music just like my father and his father too? :greengrin

26-06-2017, 06:08 AM
As ever, the entirety of Glastonbury has been absolutely woeful for me.

Disagree entirely with the praise for Radiohead - best British band of the last 25 years?! Don't make me laugh - they personify bland and pretentiousness.

It's the most overhyped festival in the UK calendar, and it's organised by a group of charlatans who peddle absolute lies to make their festival seem socially responsible, environmentally friendly and 'cutting edge'. It's none of those things.

Radiohead "bland". Well I have heard it all now!!

26-06-2017, 06:57 AM

I didn't see the Glastonbury set but he can put on a good performance for a boy using only an acoustic guitar and a few pedals. I have no issues with him being there but I'm not sure about headlining it.

His songs are ok and I don't mind him being successful in the grand scheme of things, considering we have members of boy and girl bands worth tens of millions of pounds nowadays. None of whom can even string a guitar, never mind write a song.

Interesting wee back story too (At my kids school, he was used as an example of someone who was bullied when they were in primary) and he's got to where he is through sheer determination.

He's apparently a really nice guy too. Ach, there are worse things in the world than him :-)

26-06-2017, 09:14 AM
As ever read read the, the entirety of Glastonbury has been absolutely woeful for me.

I'll translate.

"I don't understand Radiohead's music".

You're welcome. :wink:

26-06-2017, 09:37 AM
I'll translate.

"I don't understand Radiohead's music".

You're welcome. :wink:

It's quite a typical Radiohead fan response that I've heard over the years. "You just don't get them".

Perhaps that's the case, and I'm OK with that.

I don't totally despise them (they're not U2) - I liked Kid A (who doesn't?), but a lot of their more 'innovative' or 'experimental' stuff is just awful.

26-06-2017, 09:44 AM

Bizarre isn't it? The only song I really like is the one that's ripped off of Marvin Gaye.

26-06-2017, 10:14 AM
It's quite a typical Radiohead fan response that I've heard over the years. "You just don't get them".

I don't totally despise them (they're not U2) - I liked Kid A (who doesn't?), but a lot of their more 'innovative' or 'experimental' stuff is just awful.

Sentiments, not sentences . . .

You're intelligent.

Millions of people enjoy Radiohead. Obviously therefore, their music isn't"awful".

I know people who don't like seafood. They don't know what they're missing either.

I can't be bothered with U2.

Or Oasis.

26-06-2017, 12:25 PM

But Kid A is arguably their most experimental album....not a favourite of mine.

26-06-2017, 12:30 PM

There was me thinking Kid-A was a new boyband on the John Peel Stage :rolleyes:

26-06-2017, 01:05 PM

I believe they call it 'easy listening'...
He comes under the 'aye, he's no bad' banner for me but, like yersel, I really don't get his apparent universal appeal! In fairness though, he does come over as a decent bloke all the same and as someone else observed, at least he can play.

ColinNish
26-06-2017, 06:48 PM

Yes i like Ed Sheeran. There, I've said it. :greengrin

26-06-2017, 07:47 PM

Thinking he may have meant OK Computer.

Astonishing that anyone could call them bland, to be honest.

hibs#1
26-06-2017, 08:14 PM
Id rather listen to Ed Sheeran than radiohead.😈

26-06-2017, 09:00 PM
You can't argue the boys talented. His set last night was a hell of a spectacle.

Oh aye, and Radiohead are dross

26-06-2017, 09:01 PM
Id rather listen to Ed Sheeran than radiohead.😈

That's understandable.

No effort required with Ed. Just let the hooks guide you.

TBF, I quite like his stuff. It's throwaway, but it's inoffensive.

26-06-2017, 09:03 PM
Thinking he may have meant OK Computer.

Astonishing that anyone could call them bland, to be honest.

You're correct with your first sentence :agree:

Perhaps 'bland' is the wrong word to use - I just find a lot of their stuff to be lengthy, drawn out and slow. For reference, the stuff I listen to is usually a fair bit heavier than Radiohead, and it's been a while since I last listened to them in any real depth! Perhaps if I go back and listen to their older stuff now, they'll be a contender for the other thread in the Dug Out of 'bands you never used to get...'.

27-06-2017, 07:54 AM
Pretty much all music is **** now IMO, I grew up in the 90s which had a great music scene, now it's all a load of bollocks in my humble opinion :greengrin

27-06-2017, 07:59 AM
Pretty much all music is **** now IMO, I grew up in the 90s which had a great music scene, now it's all a load of bollocks in my humble opinion :greengrin

Man in growing old and grumpy shocker :greengrin

I'd disagree that there's no good music now, 6 music for example is full of good tunes from new bands and artists.

I agree music was better in the 90s though :greengrin

27-06-2017, 12:14 PM

hibs#1
27-06-2017, 02:00 PM

That's pretty good 😂

27-06-2017, 02:28 PM

Really going to miss T in the Park (not)

Calvin
27-06-2017, 04:15 PM
I left Radiohead after their fourth song (Airbag) and went to see The Flaming Lips.

I do like Radiohead and I'm a bit sad I didn't see their whole set, but watching a band on the Pyramid Stage is generally a thoroughly unpleasant experience.

Instead I went to see The Flaming Lips on The Park stage and it was my highlight of the weekend. What a performance - I've never seen a band take 90 minutes to play 12 songs.

Also really enjoyed Future Islands and Metronomy. The Pretenders were a real surprise for me too. She hasn't lost her voice, unlike Debbie Harry who was in the same slot 3 years ago.

Apart from that... worst lineup ever. Great weather though!