View Full Version : Kyle Lafferty

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Bob Box Fish
26-06-2017, 08:15 PM
Probably his agent trying to get more money out of hearts for him.

26-06-2017, 08:17 PM
Just said same to my mates. That late ditch effort is quite worrying.

I don't think it's worrying at all. I'm sure we are looking at/speaking to a number of players just now. Just because it doesn't make the papers doesn't mean it isn't happening.

I expect we'll sign a couple of players in the next 10 days or so.

Lee Marvin
26-06-2017, 08:20 PM
I don't think it's worrying at all. I'm sure we are looking at/speaking to a number of players just now. Just because it doesn't make the papers doesn't mean it isn't happening.

I expect we'll sign a couple of players in the next 10 days or so.

2 players in the next ten days would be massively underwhelming. Season starts in just over 5 weeks and we need at least 6 players.

26-06-2017, 08:22 PM
2 players in the next ten days would be massively underwhelming. Season starts in just over 5 weeks and we need at least 6 players.

we really dont need another 6 players

Nemo
26-06-2017, 08:24 PM
Probably his agent trying to get more money out of hearts for him.

So if we do get him he better no spout aw that p**h aboot

"Aye there was only one team in it...."

"As soon as i spoke to the manager..."

...cause he's clearly trying to play us off each other in quite a blatant way IMO

So to be clear, He's been over at tynie a few days ago, then up again today

Then over to us

then back to them again, all according to the Sun, of course.

He can ****** off BTW

Lee Marvin
26-06-2017, 08:27 PM
we really dont need another 6 players

Of course we do. 2 first pick forwards, a goalkeeper, Whittaker and 2 midfielders. Minimum.

If we lose mcginn 7. If graham leaves, as hoped, 8.

26-06-2017, 08:29 PM

I don't know about 6 signings, but if, as seems highly likely, McGinn moves on, Lennon will have his work cut out to replace, far less improve upon, the quality players we've lost recently.

duffers
26-06-2017, 08:31 PM
I'd prefer if we never signed Lafferty. I'd also prefer if Hearts never. Hopefully someone in England comes and offers him enough money to stay down there

Lee Marvin
26-06-2017, 08:32 PM
I don't know about 6 signings, but if, as seems highly likely, McGinn moves on, Lennon will have his work cut out to replace, far less improve upon, the quality players we've lost recently.

Out if those I posted, which positions do you think we do not require?

We may not get 6, but we certainly need that many

26-06-2017, 08:39 PM
Kickback on why Lafferty would never pick Hibs over Hearts.

I'll paraphrase firstly - wee team.... Less money due to insufficient owls and baths for sale..... "They had a fractionally larger stadium, but that's about to be rectified."

A typical Jambo, not very good with numbers. ER has c.3000 more seats which is 17% bigger so considerably more than you would describe as "fractionally". It's about to be rectified? Well yes, in that it won't be 17% bigger anymore but it will still be bigger, 20421 > 20099.

26-06-2017, 08:44 PM
Of course we do. 2 first pick forwards, a goalkeeper, Whittaker and 2 midfielders. Minimum.

If we lose mcginn 7. If graham leaves, as hoped, 8.We need 1 midfielder, 2/3 forward and a keeper. We don't even desperately need Whittaker.

26-06-2017, 08:45 PM
Out if those I posted, which positions do you think we do not require?

We may not get 6, but we certainly need that many

I'm not saying we don't need six players. What I'm saying is that Lennon will be up against it to sign the number of quality players we need to replace the ones we've lost far less a few more.

MikeyS
26-06-2017, 09:01 PM
If that's the case then there's no chance they will get Allan Macgregor either

Theyll end up with Scott Bain as their keeper, really can't see McGregor or Lindegaard taking a £20k or 10k a week drop in wages!

QMU-1875
26-06-2017, 09:10 PM
Personally think this will turn out to be a good signing if we pull it off. He was banging them in for Northern Ireland, if we can get that form back we will have a top striker at this level.

26-06-2017, 09:27 PM
Can't think of many ex Rangers 1st team players that have come to us and it's work out well. He's more suited to Hearts than us. He seems to have a knack of scoring international goals but not many league goals. So whilst he's got pedigree he just does not produce it enough

26-06-2017, 09:36 PM
I want to sign him purely because the Yams will be absolutely spewing if we do. Does that make me petty? Aye, totally.

26-06-2017, 09:51 PM
D McG.

It is a difficult one, I'm not getting over excited but if he was to sign for us then I would fully support him until the day he left us again.
It would be up to the management and coaches to play in a way that brings the goals he has shown at international level he has in him.
I don't really care about the footballing history of anyone we sign as long as we are able to do more than just survive.

Yes never liked him and ex hun but his goal record for NI when playing little first team games added to he knows the league suggests could be a good fit our league. What worries me is supply he doesnt create from nothing and effort/application factor for player on downward curve also a concern. Over to Lennon but Id back signing if happens and hope hes overpaid donkey if he goes there.

26-06-2017, 09:57 PM
How many of Lafferty`s goals for NI were against San Marino , Faroes or other minnows ( even against Scotland given some of the players who have played for them in recent years ) or in meaningless friendlies against slightly better opposition ? His club scoring record in recent years seems to be terrible . Anyway is there any real evidence that we have shown any real interest in signing him ? Real interest other than just an enquiry which probably applies to loads of players even if they don`t make the press .

26-06-2017, 09:59 PM
Lafferty apparently going back again to meet Hearts tomorrow, that'll be the third meeting I think? Maybe his agent has played a blinder by introducing this supposed Hibs interest to get the wage offer bumped up.

26-06-2017, 10:09 PM
How many of Lafferty`s goals for NI were against San Marino , Faroes or other minnows ( even against Scotland given some of the players who have played for them in recent years ) or in meaningless friendlies against slightly better opposition ? His club scoring record in recent years seems to be terrible . Anyway is there any real evidence that we have shown any real interest in signing him ? Real interest other than just an enquiry which probably applies to loads of players even if they don`t make the press .

I take your point but without knowing standard of team he scored v at international level he has. S.Fletcher goals v Malta make his record look much better and his goal record at club level last three years not great but hes still a good player who Id happy see play for us again.

Ive no idea of Hibs interest being real may well be agent games. I think press talk always comes when agent is trying get more money force deal or unsettled a player force move. Simple sound outs/feelers are not until concrete interest

26-06-2017, 10:21 PM
I take your point but without knowing standard of team he scored v at international level he has. S.Fletcher goals v Malta make his record look much better and his goal record at club level last three years not great but hes still a good player who Id happy see play for us again.

Ive no idea of Hibs interest being real may well be agent games. I think press talk always comes when agent is trying get more money force deal or unsettled a player force move. Simple sound outs/feelers are not until concrete interest
All sorts of rumours going round paco. I don't think any of us know if we are genuinely interested or not. Sure we'll find out soon enough.

26-06-2017, 10:32 PM

Just had a look and although he has scored a few against the teams you mentioned he's also scored in Poland in a 1-1 draw, scored an equaliser in a draw in Sweden and one in Greece in a 2 nil win there. All of those were in WC or EC qualifiers. He's got a good international record (20 in 58) whichever way you look at it and in spite of his mediocre club stats.

26-06-2017, 10:40 PM
It seems pretty open he has been to Tynecastle at least once so they are defo interested.

Has there been anything as solid regarding being at ER or East Mains? If not I would find that surprising if we were actually interested.

26-06-2017, 11:14 PM
It seems pretty open he has been to Tynecastle at least once so they are defo interested.

Has there been anything as solid regarding being at ER or East Mains? If not I would find that surprising if we were actually interested.

Can't see Kenny Miller writing about it unless there were some truth to it. However I do feel like this is brilliant work by his agent. Not only will it get him a higher wage but he will already be a favourite with their fans for apparently turning us down to do so.

27-06-2017, 04:42 AM

If we lose mcginn 7. If graham leaves, as hoped, 8.

yip we need 2 forwards and a keeper, if we dont sign whittaker is it really that bad? we have about 3 players that play his position anyway. id agree another midfielder is needed so thats 4 we need

27-06-2017, 06:45 AM
Can't see Kenny Miller writing about it unless there were some truth to it. However I do feel like this is brilliant work by his agent. Not only will it get him a higher wage but he will already be a favourite with their fans for apparently turning us down to do so.

The DR running with the story this morning that he'll sign for Hearts after more lengthy talks last night. They say he won't meet Hibs now. His agent has played a good game if true.

27-06-2017, 06:53 AM
He was 100% at Easter Rd yesterday. I'm hoping it doesnt happen for us as we've spent a long time getting rid of the bad apples from Hibs. We don't need to go down that road again.

27-06-2017, 06:55 AM
He was 100% at Easter Rd yesterday. I'm hoping it doesnt happen for us as we've spent a long time getting rid of the bad apples from Hibs. We don't need to go down that road again.

I think this Hibs dressing room would cope fine. They dealt with the presence of Anthony Stokes and Scott Allan well enough.

Roxyhibee
27-06-2017, 07:03 AM
I know he's done well for NI, but literally a handful of goals in the last 3 seasons for 3 different clubs in 50 odd appearances. That is a dire return.

Huge gamble making him your highest earner at the club. Let them showboat him in the press next few days and watch them boo him in a few months when he's scored 2 in 10 games.

Murray alone will score more than him and Efe will have him tucked down his left sock in the derbies.

27-06-2017, 07:31 AM

Shows we are still scrimping though, getting outbid by the yams even while they are building a new stand. Scrimped on Boyce as well.

27-06-2017, 07:35 AM
Shows we are still scrimping though, getting outbid by the yams even while they are building a new stand. Scrimped on Boyce as well.

You're right. While I'm quite happy he won't be associated with us this season, I really hoped that the link with us was all rumours and nothing else.

Velma Dinkley
27-06-2017, 07:36 AM

What kind of wages did we offer Boyce and Lafferty?

27-06-2017, 07:37 AM

Does it? Since you seem to know all the details of any negotiations Hibs may have had with other clubs and players, perhaps you would care to enlighten us.

Also, you seem to know all the details of the terms that other clubs offered as well, so enlighten us about those as well, while you're about it. :greengrin

27-06-2017, 07:39 AM

It shows nothing of the kind

To date we have read paper talk and the odd unverified account of so and so being seen at x or we are in discussions with Y.

The amount of folk on this board that would have us pay anything to people to get those supposed targets in is scary

Hibs are a well run business who will value a target as being worth being paid £whatever

If they can get said target for £whatever they will take him, if they cant they will move on to the next target

I read ludicrous things about us needing 6 more players, if we blew the budget on player 1, player 6 might well be me!

Like many I would like to see us get players in, but have trust in those getting those deals done to do so.

I have never seen hysteria like this, next thing there will be people collapsing all over Edinburgh like those teenage girls that scare themselves into collective fainting.

Time for cool heads and calm minds

27-06-2017, 07:45 AM
Scrimped on Boyce as welll

We were never in for Boyce.....that was just paper talk.

27-06-2017, 07:56 AM
What kind of wages did we offer Boyce and Lafferty?

Does it? Since you seem to know all the details of any negotiations Hibs may have had with other clubs and players, perhaps you would care to enlighten us.

Also, you seem to know all the details of the terms that other clubs offered as well, so enlighten us about those as well, while you're about it. :greengrin

It shows nothing of the kind

To date we have read paper talk and the odd unverified account of so and so being seen at x or we are in discussions with Y.

The amount of folk on this board that would have us pay anything to people to get those supposed targets in is scary

Hibs are a well run business who will value a target as being worth being paid £whatever

If they can get said target for £whatever they will take him, if they cant they will move on to the next target

I read ludicrous things about us needing 6 more players, if we blew the budget on player 1, player 6 might well be me!

Like many I would like to see us get players in, but have trust in those getting those deals done to do so.

I have never seen hysteria like this, next thing there will be people collapsing all over Edinburgh like those teenage girls that scare themselves into collective fainting.

Time for cool heads and calm minds

We were never in for Boyce.....that was just paper talk.

My post was in response to a poster claiming that we had Lafferty in for talks. The only way you miss out on a player like him at that stage is over money.
There was plenty of evidence that we were trying to get Boyce as well.
Let's hope our 3rd and 4th choices are as good.

27-06-2017, 08:00 AM
My post was in response to a poster claiming that we had Lafferty in for talks. The only way you miss out on a player like him at that stage is over money.

Losing out does not necessarily mean we are scrimping, it may mean the other team are paying over the odds.

Would you pay whatever it takes to sign Lafferty?

Velma Dinkley
27-06-2017, 08:01 AM

What you're saying is obviously nonsense.

27-06-2017, 08:01 AM

Look forward to you posting said evidence regarding Boyce.

27-06-2017, 08:03 AM

Can you point me toward this evidence? I don't recall seeing any and I don't count rumours on here or in the papers as evidence. Boyce ended up going to an English Championship side and we would never be able to match the wages on offer.

kevinc
27-06-2017, 08:06 AM
Look forward to you posting said evidence regarding Boyce.
Boyce stated in the Irish press, Sunday World, at the veekend that both Hertz and Aberdeen came in for him on the day he was heading down to sign for Burton; no mention of Hibs.

27-06-2017, 08:07 AM
Losing out does not necessarily mean we are scrimping, it may mean the other team are paying over the odds.

Would you pay whatever it takes to sign Lafferty?

Definitely not, I don't even rate him that highly but I do know Lennon wants that type of player and he is a significant upgrade on Holt. Who knows, maybe we get someone better in but if he was the guy Lennon wanted then to lose out to the yams is disappointing.

27-06-2017, 08:12 AM
Can you point me toward this evidence? I don't recall seeing any and I don't count rumours on here or in the papers as evidence. Boyce ended up going to an English Championship side and we would never be able to match the wages on offer.

Dry your eyes, It's a damn message board not a court of law ffs.

If you want evidence whenever someone posts somethjng you're in the wrong place.

27-06-2017, 08:15 AM

If you want evidence whenever someone posts somethjng you're in the wrong place.

Jeezo, calm down. Every right to ask for this 'plenty of evidence' when the poster is using it to make a point that the club are 'scrimping' again.

27-06-2017, 08:27 AM

Obviously the poster who made the claim is a pal of yours.

27-06-2017, 08:28 AM
Definitely not, I don't even rate him that highly but I do know Lennon wants that type of player and he is a significant upgrade on Holt. Who knows, maybe we get someone better in but if he was the guy Lennon wanted then to lose out to the yams is disappointing.

Is Lafferty better than Holt ?

Holt has played and scored more goals in his career on a more consistent basis and at a higher level.

Lafferty - 360 games and 78 goals

Holt - 551 games and 191 goals

Lafferty has scored 20 international goals but 4 were friendlies and others against pretty average teams.

Holt is the better player but Lafferty is currently younger right now.

Lafferty also hasn't scored more than 11 in a season. While Holt did this 7 times including 17 in Premier League and 23 in the Championship.

InchHibby
27-06-2017, 08:35 AM

I hereby find you guilty of being a grumpy bar steward.

27-06-2017, 08:36 AM
I hereby find you guilty of being a grumpy bar steward.

That's better than the last guy who accused him of being a mate of mine. [emoji23]

27-06-2017, 08:37 AM

Holt has played and scored more goals in his career on a more consistent basis and at a higher level.

Lafferty has scored 20 international goals but 4 were friendlies and others against pretty average teams.

Lafferty also hasn't scored more than 11 in a season. While Holt did this 7 times including 17 in Premier League and 23 in the Chanpionship.

Holt at his best was about 10x the player Laffery will ever be. No idea why he is being called a significant upgrade, no one on here has seem him play more than 5 games in the last 5 years.

27-06-2017, 08:42 AM

Lafferty also hasn't scored more than 11 in a season. While Holt did this 7 times including 17 in Premier League and 23 in the Chanpionship.
Stats like that make you realise just what a player Holt was in his prime.

27-06-2017, 08:53 AM
Holt at his best was about 10x the player Laffery will ever be. No idea why he is being called a significant upgrade, no one on here has seem him play more than 5 games in the last 5 years.

I think this is more about Hibs v Yams and who will land him rather than is Lafferty actually a decent player.

There are many strikers out there who will score more goals than Lafferty will..if he signs for either club.

I feel he is a risk - especially if either club give him a long contract.

I also don't like how he seems to be playing each club off against each other / his agent trying to obviously get more money.

27-06-2017, 09:09 AM

Think you could do with a wee holiday Ozy. We'll have a figure in mind for multiple players. I would be gutted if we are wasting money just trying to outbid Hearts.

27-06-2017, 09:20 AM
Think you could do with a wee holiday Ozy. We'll have a figure in mind for multiple players. I would be gutted if we are wasting money just trying to outbid Hearts.

It seems to me a lot of people want this transfer to go through just so we can say we beat Hearts to a player they wanted.

He is a target man and the sort of player Lennon likes his teams to play with obviously such as Holt. It is not something I enjoy watching, wasn't a fan of Holt but appreciate why others are.

However I am a bit' Meh' on this whole Lafferty deal and hope we don't get drawn into some bidding war by his agent and using a disproportionate part of our budget for this type of player.

Greenworld
27-06-2017, 09:22 AM
He could have a point though if ever there was a time we were in a strong position to financially show some muscle you would think it was now.
I hasten to add I'm not interested in lafferty and hoped our sights were above his standard.

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

27-06-2017, 09:22 AM
At the very least we'll have forced Hearts to up their offer and no doubt pay over the odds for a player that will be 30 in September. They'll no doubt give him one of their famous 3 year contracts as well. Hopefully he's still as bad as he was when he was at the old rangers.

27-06-2017, 09:29 AM
He could have a point though if ever there was a time we were in a strong position to financially show some muscle you would think it was now.
I hasten to add I'm not interested in lafferty and hoped our sights were above his standard.

Maybe we have shown muscle? We don't really know what deals are in place but sure Hibs will defo back the manager.

27-06-2017, 09:30 AM

Im not interested in us showing financial muscle. Certainly not to waste it with a player who is nowhere near as good as he thinks he is.

27-06-2017, 09:35 AM

Sorry but that's nonsense

Straight off the top of my head:

length of contract

other signings

position in team

guaranteed to play

doesn't like manager when they meet

Greenworld
27-06-2017, 09:35 AM
Im not interested in us showing financial muscle. Certainly not to waste it with a player who is nowhere near as good as he thinks he is.
That's what I'm saying we clearly have the FM to do better

RossScott1991
27-06-2017, 09:37 AM
Can't believe this is 11 pages long, hope he signs for Hearts today. Doesn't fill me with confidence if we are genuinely making last ditch attempts to steal Kyle ******* Lafferty from Hearts. Actually concerns me if we are scrambling about trying to sign a player from under nose of Hearts rather than have more clear targets. Sort it out Hibs.

Greenworld
27-06-2017, 09:40 AM
Maybe we have shown muscle? We don't really know what deals are in place but sure Hibs will defo back the manager.
I'm sure they will too you do get caught up in the panic.
This is as important to NL to get this right as a bad season with hibs will end his managerial career.
I'm sure there is lots going on and exciting players on there way.
Convinced JMC will go to celtic for around 2 mill with henderson and a.n.other coming this way.

27-06-2017, 09:46 AM
Can't believe this is 11 pages long, hope he signs for Hearts today. Doesn't fill me with confidence if we are genuinely making last ditch attempts to steal Kyle ******* Lafferty from Hearts. Actually concerns me if we are scrambling about trying to sign a player from under nose of Hearts rather than have more clear targets. Sort it out Hibs.

Time to get a grip folks, some of the utterings on the various transfer threads are embarrassing.

As an example

Papers rumour we are interested in Lafferty

One guy saw him

Do you have any idea how transfers work?

Players become available who weren't previously / drop their demands all the time

Maybe (if we are remotely interested in first place) we saw an opportunity to get him as an add on to existing targets

The situation evolves over the window as one move can impact on several other players

Simple truth is not one person on this board has any idea of what we are doing in the background, what the overall plan is, who our targets are, how our discussions with them are going, yet folk are lining up to piss their pants in fear and castigate the board over something they know nothing nada zilch zero about.

The devil finds work for idle hands to indeed.

I am glad the manager and players are made of sterner stuff than some on this board or we could start looking out the maps to Dumbarton etc again.

Baw187
27-06-2017, 09:48 AM

Nobody has a clue what the KL situation is.

Who's to say he was a target of ours?

What if his agent asked if we'd be interested in a discussion given he wants to move to Scotland and was up here speaking to Hearts anyway.

We have a chat and as we don't value him as a main signing, offer him a couple of hundred quid and a packet of fruit pastels, take it or leave it.

He sneaks off tail between his legs and tells Hearts to take a sledgehammer to the cash cow and show him the money.

That's as every bit as plausible as any of the pish folk are coming up with.

Calm the **** soon.

27-06-2017, 09:52 AM

Do you seriously believe Neil Lennon conducts his business that way? If he wants Lafferty it's because of just that... He wants him. Nothing to do with signing him just to get one over on Hearts. Lennon will offer him a contract, tell him his role and what he expects. Does the Scott McDonald scenario last summer teach you anything? Lennon will not be taken for a mug by anyone. Players or agents.

27-06-2017, 10:00 AM

Have you ever been filled with confidence? Every post you make is mumping and moaning about something else.

27-06-2017, 10:26 AM
If he sign for Hertz I Cannae wait to see big Daz rag doll the C##T in the first Derby...

If he signs for us I Cannae wait to see big Daz rag doll the C##T at training...

27-06-2017, 10:28 AM
If we sign him id be slightly concerned. If Hearts sign him id be worried they'd got an excellent player at this level. About sums it up.

27-06-2017, 10:43 AM
Lets be honest. Hertz are so obsessed with us they will throw so much money at Lafferty to make sure he signs for them so they can spout their big team pish in the paper again. It's a certainty.

27-06-2017, 11:47 AM
Lets be honest. Hertz are so obsessed with us they will throw so much money at Lafferty to make sure he signs for them so they can spout their big team pish in the paper again. It's a certainty.

I'll go with this opinion - tho where they'll find the money is ????. Time will tell if Budge was being honest about them being run in a more 'prudent and proper fashion' (or words to that effect) than they had been before ??

27-06-2017, 11:50 AM
If Cathro is interested in a player that should be an indicator to steer clear of that target.

OsloHibs
27-06-2017, 11:51 AM
I'm worried we get him now..

27-06-2017, 11:53 AM

I was responding to a post that claimed there was "plenty of evidence" we'd missed out on Boyce. I asked where this evidence was.

If you think that's out of order I don't give a ****.

Tobias Funke
27-06-2017, 11:54 AM

Stop talking p*sh. :rolleyes:

27-06-2017, 12:00 PM
If Cathro is interested in a player that should be an indicator to steer clear of that target.

If Cathro had any input into player selection I'd be more concerned.

The Captain....
27-06-2017, 12:06 PM

Agreed...I'd wonder what background checks we were still doing if we signed Lafferty.

As it is I'm still not believing we would risk signing someone with as poor a reputation in the game as Lafferty. I think as others have stated his agent is playing a blinder...I wish we'd come out and say we're not interested.

ColinNish
27-06-2017, 12:08 PM
I said a couple of weeks ago that he'd been seen at East Mains. Hey ho.

27-06-2017, 12:14 PM
Agreed...I'd wonder what background checks we were still doing if we signed Lafferty.

We should be signing him on one of those 'confidence and supply' arrangements.

27-06-2017, 12:15 PM
I said a couple of weeks ago that he'd been seen at East Mains. Hey ho.

Henderson signed that 3 year deal yet?

27-06-2017, 12:17 PM
Stop talking p*sh. :rolleyes:

People have got too much time on their hands if they spent time playing virtual transfer games on here.the vast majority of stuff in the papers is either guesswork or rumours mostly picked from this very forum. The sjm to celtic for two mill plus hendo coming our way for instance. As hibs don't comment on transfers it leaves it open for anybody to post endless speculation the vast majority of the I've heard variety. Hibs have specific targets in mind which will start to come to fruition in the next week to ten days. Bar sevco we are at the same position as most spl teams with places needing filled and dealings going on. Let's see where they take us before wasting endless hours discussing stuff the vast majority of which is utter guff and pointless.

ColinNish
27-06-2017, 12:24 PM
Henderson signed that 3 year deal yet?

Wait and see. :greengrin

Stewboy
27-06-2017, 12:26 PM

As it is I'm still not believing we would risk signing someone with as poor a reputation in the game as Lafferty. I think as others have stated his agent is playing a blinder...I wish we'd come out and say we're not interested.

Our manager came with a great reputation as one loved across the footballing world right enough

andy1875
27-06-2017, 12:40 PM

He's in Austria with Celtic.

Photo of him and Broony at the Airport. So if he has signed for us. Nobody has told Hendo :greengrin

27-06-2017, 12:44 PM
We should be signing him on one of those 'confidence and supply' arrangements.

He's probably in the DUP!

speedy_gonzales
27-06-2017, 03:46 PM
Pictures doing the rounds of Lafferty signing for Hearts. I realise a few on here didn't rate him buti reckon he could have done a job for anyone outside Celtic.

27-06-2017, 03:53 PM
Pictures doing the rounds of Lafferty signing for Hearts. I realise a few on here didn't rate him buti reckon he could have done a job for anyone outside Celtic.

Apparently to be announced shortly along with the right back from Peterborough.

27-06-2017, 03:58 PM

He probably will score goals up here again, but I'm glad he's gone to them and not us. He's big, ugly, aggressive, crap dress sense, he couldn't be more like an archetypal Jambo #9 if they had gone out and designed one genetically. High balls up to the big 6'4 centre forward with the elbows flying into cheekbone. They will lap him up.

27-06-2017, 03:59 PM
Cue Kickback turning Lafferty into Sergio Aguero!!! Folk getting their knickers in a twist about Kyle Lafferty! If he signs for Hertz at least they have a manager who can keep him in check eh?! :greengrin

broondog
27-06-2017, 04:09 PM
He probably will score goals up here again, but I'm glad he's gone to them and not us. He's big, ugly, aggressive, crap dress sense, he couldn't be more like an archetypal Jambo #9 if they had gone out and designed one genetically. High balls up to the big 6'4 centre forward with the elbows flying into cheekbone. They will lap him up.

Funny how now people are changing their tune about him when yesterday most were saying he would be a great addition to our squad. Let´s face it he would do well for anyone outside of Celtic in this shambles of a league.

Still don´t believe for a second he will go to the cheats, no chance they can afford him and if they haven´t announced it by now there must be a problem.

27-06-2017, 04:11 PM
Not bothered about laffatye. I actually thought they signed a good forward line with Sammon and Watt. Look how that turned out.

27-06-2017, 04:28 PM
Apparently to be announced shortly along with the right back from Peterborough.

Thank **** for that

27-06-2017, 04:30 PM
Funny how other teams are able to sign players before this magical 30th June deadline...yet we keep getting told on here we can't announce or sign anyone else till after this mythical date?? Saturday is gonna be a busy day for the press down at East Mains with all these done deals being announced...I cannot wait 😉

27-06-2017, 04:35 PM
He's perfectly suited to Hearts.

A big bully with next to no talent and thick as mince. Kinda reminds me of when they signed Kevin Kyle. To me he epitomises a typical Hearts or Rangers player.

You would never ever see a player like that at Hibs.

Without sounding too cheesy, he's just not Hibs class :greengrin

27-06-2017, 04:37 PM
Funny how other teams are able to sign players before this magical 30th June deadline...yet we keep getting told on here we can't announce or sign anyone else till after this mythical date?? Saturday is gonna be a busy day for the press down at East Mains with all these done deals being announced...I cannot wait 😉

You keep saying this ad nauseam but I for one have never said that. What I, & others have said is that players currently remaining under contract, plus many other factors, most relevantly holidays, can play a part in delaying any transfer announcements. What I am looking forward to is Whitty giving Lafferty a right good kicking!

Super_JMcGinn
27-06-2017, 04:37 PM

Do you copy and paste these posts? We are all frustrated at the lack of signings but let's give the club the benefit of the doubt that they are doing all they can to procure signings.

27-06-2017, 04:39 PM
Not bothered about laffatye. I actually thought they signed a good forward line with Sammon and Watt. Look how that turned out.

I was exactly the same with those two, glad I was wrong. I'm still convinced that Watt could be a good player if he just began working hard, but I'm often wrong about many things....

27-06-2017, 04:40 PM
He's perfectly suited to Hearts.

A big bully with next to no talent and thick as mince. Kinda reminds me of when they signed Kevin Kyle. To me he epitomises a typical Hearts or Rangers player.

You would never ever see a player like that at Hibs.

Without sounding too cheesy, he's just not Hibs class :greengrin

I remember the dick Kyle scoring a near post winner in a new year derby a few years back.

Not Hibs class? Maybe. A dick? Definitely. But he still scored important goals for them which is what you want.

27-06-2017, 04:43 PM
The fact Lafferty is over 6'2" you just knew the Gorgie mob would be signing him...

27-06-2017, 04:46 PM

Do you honestly think the club are fiddling with their thumbs and not doing anything?

It's like some people just want us to sign some random players that Lennon and his team don't deem good enough just for the sake of it.

27-06-2017, 04:47 PM
Of course we want goals.

Look at the strikers that both clubs have had over the last 20 years or so though.

We've had bona fide class players like Griffiths, Riordan or Stokes up front for us.

They've had an endless list of nobodies until you go back as far as Robbo. Who else have they had that has come close? Skacel was decent but not a striker. Stephan Adam maybe? I'm struggling to think of any others.

27-06-2017, 04:47 PM

Boo Blinkin' Hoo.

27-06-2017, 04:48 PM
I remember the dick Kyle scoring a near post winner in a new year derby a few years back.

Not Hibs class? Maybe. A dick? Definitely. But he still scored important goals for them which is what you want.

Iain Murray should have taken the player out on the wing. Cost us the game that day.

27-06-2017, 04:53 PM
Quick look on Wiki and we can throw in Fletcher, Mixu and Wright.

Hearts can have Mark de Vries and Andreas Velijka. Looking further back they've had about 6 decent strikers in their history:greengrin

27-06-2017, 04:57 PM
You keep saying this ad nauseam but I for one have never said that. What I, & others have said is that players currently remaining under contract, plus many other factors, most relevantly holidays, can play a part in delaying any transfer announcements. What I am looking forward to is Whitty giving Lafferty a right good kicking!

You're wasting your time.

27-06-2017, 04:59 PM
If Kyle wants to join then great, he should be welcomed with open arms. Hibernian is truly inclusive and that means people from every side of any fence.

I have this strange feeling he may prefer to join Hearts though as he might feel more "at home". It would be a real slap in the face for them if he chose us.

27-06-2017, 05:00 PM

we have signed 3 players already, not sure many other teams apart from the rangers have signed as many

27-06-2017, 05:02 PM
Office jambo was pissing his pants when I got in this morning. He couldn't wait to come through to my office and tell me that Rod wasn't opening the wallet again. Hearts were signing Lafferty and MCGregor from Hull he said. I told him that Laffertys agent had played a blinder and that they would break the bank to try to prove they are the big team. He soon ****ed off when I said to him that would mean more charities being robbed to sign a guy who had scored seven goals in three years

yonder1875
27-06-2017, 05:04 PM

When is he signing mate?

21sMay
27-06-2017, 05:06 PM
Lafferty meeting Lennon tomorrow. Hearts fans are livid that he hasn't signed for them already and that he would even consider talking to us. To be fair to the guy he would be stupid not to see what we have to offer. Can't say I'm too fussed weather we sign him or not

27-06-2017, 05:08 PM
we have signed 3 players already, not sure many other teams apart from the rangers have signed as many

We've also lost a lot too, including our top scorer and other first team regulars. We are at this moment well short of the quality squad we need. It's natural people get nervous about this as we've seen it all too many times before. Usually people saying be patient and either nothing much happens or we're a good few games into the season before signing unfit players. Now I'm not saying it will happen in the same way this year but can understand why people are nervous.

27-06-2017, 05:13 PM
We've also lost a lot too, including our top scorer and other first team regulars. We are at this moment well short of the quality squad we need. It's natural people get nervous about this as we've seen it all too many times before. Usually people saying be patient and either nothing much happens or we're a good few games into the season before signing unfit players. Now I'm not saying it will happen in the same way this year but can understand why people are nervous.

Agree. At this moment in time our squad is weaker than the one that finished the Championship season. We needed to strengthen then but even more so now.

27-06-2017, 05:15 PM
I didn't realise that we are less than three weeks away from the start of the season, we need to get some signings made.

27-06-2017, 05:20 PM
Well pop.me.on ignore then and cut the personal abuse

I have because your depressing flapper nonsense has worn me down and I dont want to hear it again

27-06-2017, 05:24 PM
So he's no signed yet then after 3 days of talks?

27-06-2017, 05:26 PM

Appears not probably 3 days of waffle from Cathro, Budge and Potter. All about goalposts,Chips and owls.....

I see it as "please anyone else sign me please I,ll take less than this mob are offereing".

27-06-2017, 05:28 PM
Appears not probably 3 days of waffle from Cathro, Budge and Potter. All about goalposts,Chips and owls.....

Probably take less to not play for them
Only one day was talks with Cathro and Levein - the other two were spent on Rosetta Stone trying to make sense of what he had just heard.........

27-06-2017, 05:29 PM

Probably take less to not play for them
And coo's ffs, only big teams have red plastic coo's as a funding source.

27-06-2017, 05:33 PM
And coo's ffs, only big teams have red plastic coo's as a funding source.

Not forgetting chips. God's own carb fuel. Fitness the Gorgie way.

27-06-2017, 05:36 PM
Not forgetting chips. God's own carb fuel. Fitness the Gorgie way.

The deal breaker H?? He asked for fritters and Budge had a hissy fit saying its chips or nowt.

speedy_gonzales
27-06-2017, 05:59 PM
An offer was put on the table re wages last week, he returned to Tynecastle this morning at 9 with his agent. If he hasn't signed by now i doubt he will!

27-06-2017, 06:02 PM
Budge will insist first weeks wage must be entered into the cash cow.

27-06-2017, 06:10 PM
If he's no signed for them by now it must be stalemate.

27-06-2017, 06:13 PM

I believe Theresa May's his agent! 😀

27-06-2017, 06:24 PM
If there was pictures of Lafferty signing for them going about, I wouldve thought they'd be on all overTwitter by now...conclusion, he's not signed for anyone yet.

murray26
27-06-2017, 06:28 PM
I hope he signs for them.. another joker who has done nothing recently..

K-Zazu
27-06-2017, 06:29 PM
The boy seems like a bit of an erse tbh

27-06-2017, 06:38 PM
There's quite a few clubs wanting to speak to the gangly hun. Hertz won't win him.

27-06-2017, 07:03 PM
If there was pictures of Lafferty signing for them going about, I wouldve thought they'd be on all overTwitter by now...conclusion, he's not signed for anyone yet.

Correct, there isn't as he hasn't signed for anyone.

27-06-2017, 07:04 PM
The deal breaker H?? He asked for fritters and Budge had a hissy fit saying its chips or nowt.

Fritters? I'm not even sure what that is but it sounds unwholesome.

27-06-2017, 07:07 PM

I'm hoping he signs for Hearts TC and we can maybe make a move on Ciftci - far far better option for me. I think Lafferty is a stick on for them anyway and this is purely agent gamesmanship.

27-06-2017, 07:07 PM

Eh! Surely H??

Chip shop fritters

27-06-2017, 07:08 PM

haha aye tattie fritters have more chance on a Budgefire :D

27-06-2017, 07:16 PM
Eh! Surely H??

Chip shop fritters

Nope, never partaken of one of those. Looks like more batter than tattie.

27-06-2017, 07:18 PM
Nope, never partaken of one of those. Looks like more batter than tattie.

Tee hee!!

Try them and then a spam fritter!! 😆

27-06-2017, 07:28 PM
Personally, I think he's a stick on to sign for them. He and his agent have got them on the end of the line and are playing them slowly, for whatever reason I'm not sure, maybe to squeeze a few more quid into the deal.

27-06-2017, 07:30 PM
Tee hee!!

Try them and then a spam fritter!! 😆

I've had a banana fritter at the Chinese, but that's more a pudding. Which is definitely more sweet than savoury. I'm probably going slightly off topic here :faf:

27-06-2017, 07:32 PM
I've had a banana fritter at the Chinese, but that's more a pudding. Which is definitely more sweet than savoury. I'm probably going slightly off topic here :faf:
Hijacked thread!! 😉

Saturday Boy
27-06-2017, 07:39 PM
Hijacked thread!! 😉

These have been the only sensible posts in 13 pages 😉

speedy_gonzales
27-06-2017, 07:49 PM
The way he's playing it I'm wondering if he's signing for anybody!
He's had offers on the table from both clubs, was at Tynecastle this morning again, Hibs this afternoon, AGAIN.
I'm hearing Hibs initially offered £2200p/w, Hearts £2700p/w and the agent is holding out for £5K per week,,,,if that's what he's holding out for he'd be as well looking elsewhere as neither club will pay that for him.

27-06-2017, 07:55 PM
He's had offers on the table from both clubs, was at Tynecastle this morning again, Hibs this afternoon, AGAIN.
I'm hearing Hibs initially offered £2200p/w, Hearts £2700p/w and the agent is holding out for £5K per week,,,,if that's what he's holding out for he'd be as well looking elsewhere as neither club will pay that for him.

Hertz would if it meant getting one over us, big team blah blah blah.

27-06-2017, 07:55 PM
I'm hoping he signs for Hearts TC and we can maybe make a move on Ciftci - far far better option for me. I think Lafferty is a stick on for them anyway and this is purely agent gamesmanship.

I'd have Ciftci any day as well. I think he's the better of the two! Stronger than Lafferty that's for sure!

27-06-2017, 07:57 PM

Hibs or Hearts won't pay anywhere near that so he'll be in talks a while 😁

27-06-2017, 07:57 PM

Was he at East Mains this afternoon?

27-06-2017, 08:02 PM

Think we need to wait for Lennon to sober up and get into work.

27-06-2017, 08:06 PM
I'd have Ciftci any day as well. I think he's the better of the two! Stronger than Lafferty that's for sure!

Cifti would be my preference if we could do it. More goals in him.

27-06-2017, 08:09 PM
Cifti would be my preference if we could do it. More goals in him. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Is there room for both?? And then add Stokes into the mix??

speedy_gonzales
27-06-2017, 08:31 PM
I'll be up front and say I don't know, he was at Tynie this morning at 9 with his agent meeting Levein(for about the 3rd time). He was then heading to Hibs this afternoon, whether that was ER, EM or Greggs on Easter Road I don't know.

27-06-2017, 08:34 PM
Eh! Surely H??

Chip shop fritters

Are we talking spam here? [emoji6]

If so we better invent it before the yams do.

27-06-2017, 08:36 PM
Are we talking spam here? [emoji6]

If so we better invent it before the yams do.

Don't mention spam to Catheter. It'll finally push him over the edge.

27-06-2017, 08:39 PM
Don't mention spam to Catheter. It'll finally push him over the edge.
Wouldn't want that to happen

https://g.co/kgs/CyGdGY

27-06-2017, 08:47 PM
Would a Ciftci/Lafferty pairing work? Ciftci working off Lafferty? Could we possibly afford both?

21sMay
27-06-2017, 09:00 PM
Lafferty met with hibs but hasn't met Lennon. Will meet Lennon tomorrow. Also heard we will unveil a player tomorrow. Not itk as such but a good friend on mines has it on good authority

27-06-2017, 09:04 PM
Lafferty met with hibs but hasn't met Lennon. Will meet Lennon tomorrow. Also heard we will unveil a player tomorrow. Not itk as such but a good friend on mines has it on good authority

:hyper

27-06-2017, 09:10 PM
Would a Ciftci/Lafferty pairing work? Ciftci working off Lafferty? Could we possibly afford both?

I'm guessing no and no.
Honest assessment rather than just being a smart arse.

27-06-2017, 09:19 PM
I'll be up front and say I don't know, he was at Tynie this morning at 9 with his agent meeting Levein(for about the 3rd time). He was then heading to Hibs this afternoon, whether that was ER, EM or Greggs on Easter Road I don't know.

No probs. I was at East Mains this afternoon. I didnt see him but thats not to say he wasn't there.

guthrie01
27-06-2017, 09:27 PM

Christ a few weeks ago we where discussing a potential Cummings/Stokes partnership again and now we are at Ciftci/Lafferty :bitchy:

Not feeling confident about our forward options for this season...

Paloschi
27-06-2017, 09:39 PM
Christ a few weeks ago we where discussing a potential Cummings/Stokes partnership again and now we are at Ciftci/Lafferty :bitchy:

Stokes and Cummings never really worked as a partnership. I would be very happy with Lafferty and 50/50 with Ciftci. Don't think we would get both. I think a pacy striker and a target man are required at the least. Hoping for something left field as the targets mentioned bar Moult dont fill me with confidence. I do feel Lafferty would thrive at Hibs though.

27-06-2017, 09:43 PM
Stokes and Cummings never really worked as a partnership. I would be very happy with Lafferty and 50/50 with Ciftci. Don't think we would get both. I think a pacy striker and a target man are required at the least. Hoping for something left field as the targets mentioned bar Moult dont fill me with confidence. I do feel Lafferty would thrive at Hibs though.
Remember we have Simon Murray who I'd say fits the pacy striker bit. I think it's imperative that we get a like for like replacement in for Holt.

27-06-2017, 10:05 PM

Dont you just love this time of the season:greengrin

27-06-2017, 10:35 PM

Not feeling confident about our forward options for this season...dont worry, I have it on authority that the gorgie mob have decided not to sign Lafferty. Levein has decided to stick to the good old 4 , 6 system until at least Christmas , so in the Derbies we shall have just one up front and take them with breakaways

27-06-2017, 10:45 PM
I'm feeling deflated and sad because of all this Laugherty gas. Please, don't burst my pretty balloon - sign somebody else.

27-06-2017, 11:03 PM
Not all that keen on Lafferty. Bit of a Killie type signing.

27-06-2017, 11:29 PM
I'm feeling deflated and sad because of all this Laugherty gas. Please, don't burst my pretty balloon - sign somebody else.

Im going for an op in the morning.... can't wait for my laugherty gas

27-06-2017, 11:49 PM
Dont you just love this time of the season:greengrin

Were doomed I say doomed. Not long till I get some sunshine nd hols and a break from the stress of reading hibs.net. We don't have some wound up supporters. Chill out and don't start getting stressed for a least another 7 to 10 days.

27-06-2017, 11:51 PM

Pardon me for not getting too excited. 5pm unveiling by any chance.lol.

27-06-2017, 11:54 PM
Think we need to wait for Lennon to sober up and get into work.

I see our manager was in la manga celebrating our Scotland manager anniversary of some sort with rod Stewart amongst others. Is this what we pay him for. Petrie get it sorted😣

28-06-2017, 06:17 AM
He's pish and a total roaster, IMHO. Slow as a week in solitary and a poor finisher. I'm hoping for a hungry young signing with potential.

28-06-2017, 06:25 AM
He's pish and a total roaster, IMHO. Slow as a week in solitary and a poor finisher. I'm hoping for a hungry young signing with potential.

I think we will get both

Not saying the target man will be Lafferty, but id expect 2 strikers in

I think Lafferty would be quite a decent signing - so does his ex team mate

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1206556/steven-naismith-kyle-lafferty-hearts-hibs/

I keep reading he a bad apple etc -= why is that? Only thing that comes to mind is his diving vs Aberdeen

We didnt seem that up in arms when Fyvie done it at Ibrox....

28-06-2017, 06:32 AM
I think we will get both

Not saying the target man will be Lafferty, but id expect 2 strikers in

I think Lafferty would be quite a decent signing - so does his ex team mate

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1206556/steven-naismith-kyle-lafferty-hearts-hibs/

I keep reading he a bad apple etc -= why is that? Only thing that comes to mind is his diving vs Aberdeen

We didnt seem that up in arms when Fyvie done it at Ibrox....

I just think he isn't a patch on Cummings, and, given we're going into the SPL, we need someone of that calibre to replace him. I fear Lafferty would take a big wage but provide little in return. I'm sure there is better value out there.

28-06-2017, 06:33 AM
I just think he isn't a patch on Cummings, and, given we're going into the SPL, we need someone of that calibre to replace him. I fear Lafferty would take a big wage but provide little in return. I'm sure there is better value out there.

Im not sure he is Cummings replacement - more for Holt

Ni idea what Holt was on, dont think he wouldve been cheap though

Lafferty would be an improvement on Holt for me - 100%

28-06-2017, 06:49 AM
Im not sure he is Cummings replacement - more for Holt

Ni idea what Holt was on, dont think he wouldve been cheap though

Lafferty would be an improvement on Holt for me - 100%

I certainly agree with this, and, if we get both Lafferty and another good option, I will gladly take it. I just fear Lafferty wouldn't prove good value.

28-06-2017, 07:13 AM
Pardon me for not getting too excited. 5pm unveiling by any chance.lol.

In all fairness to the lad, he came straight out and said he's not itk, it's just that he's heard. It's not like he's staring we've made a huge signing that will get season tickets selling again or other such claims.

It is a bit of a silly pre-season. In a few weeks we'll have a better idea of what our squad looks like and the majority will be wondering why we were so worried! There will of course still be those champing at the bit for the new signings to fail so they can jump on here and criticise our recruitment/manager/LD/Petrie (delete as applicable).

28-06-2017, 07:16 AM

As good as it would be to bring in someone of Jason's calibre let's be honest, it's not going to happen. Platers of Jason's calibre move for 1 million plus, as Jason did. Best we can hope for us we find another with Jason's potential that we can bring up to Jason's calibre. That doesn't mean there aren't other good forwards with plenty fine attributes of their own out there, but comparing each target and signing to JC isn't going to do anyone any favours.

Marco G
28-06-2017, 07:19 AM
Lennon must have rated Lafferty as he tried to sign him for Bolton. Why not have a talk with the guy when he is in Edinburgh? Nothing to lose, it won't be a bidding war, more, well you didn't want to sign for Hearts, but here is what a proper football club can offer!

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

28-06-2017, 07:27 AM
Lennon must have rated Lafferty as he tried to sign him for Bolton. Why not have a talk with the guy when he is in Edinburgh? Nothing to lose, it won't be a bidding war, more, well you didn't want to sign for Hearts, but here is what a proper football club can offer!

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

Exactly. I'm not a fan of him as a player but if the boss thinks he's good enough then I'll trust that. Lennon has more to lose than me if it goes wrong. I've been fairly happy with Neil's signings since he came to Hibs, more right than wrong in my opinion.

If he does sign he'll get my support, if it doesn't work out I'll not be sticking the knife in. Unfortunately not all signings do work out. At the moment it's all guesswork on both sides of the argument.

28-06-2017, 07:38 AM
As good as it would be to bring in someone of Jason's calibre let's be honest, it's not going to happen. Platers of Jason's calibre move for 1 million plus, as Jason did. Best we can hope for us we find another with Jason's potential that we can bring up to Jason's calibre. That doesn't mean there aren't other good forwards with plenty fine attributes of their own out there, but comparing each target and signing to JC isn't going to do anyone any favours.

It's a good point. Cummings is a million pound plus player, and we haven't got a million plus pounds to spend on his replacement. It might be that we go into the season weaker than we were last season, in which case we can choose as supporters whether to let that reality eat us up inside or to look forward to the new season anyway.

Velma Dinkley
28-06-2017, 08:08 AM
We don't need a striker to score as many goals as Jason did in the Championship. We need a team full of players chipping in with goals. I'm sure we'll bring in some decent strikers but I'm hoping for more goals from midfield this season.

28-06-2017, 08:23 AM
We don't need a striker to score as many goals as Jason did in the Championship. We need a team full of players chipping in with goals. I'm sure we'll bring in some decent strikers but I'm hoping for more goals from midfield this season.

If McGinn was played a bit higher up the park he'd score a lot more, IMO. He's useful deep as well though so bit of a dilemma. Reckon we'll see 10 league goals at least next season from him.

28-06-2017, 08:24 AM
If McGinn was played a bit higher up the park he'd score a lot more, IMO. He's useful deep as well though so bit of a dilemma. Reckon we'll see 10 league goals at least next season from him.

Yeah but for who 😉

28-06-2017, 08:25 AM

If we want to be successful I would say you need both.

Look at any top team in the world - they have a main goal scorer and others who also contribute.

I know what your trying to say but if we had Cummings and added more from midfield or his support striker (I loved Holt - but we needed more goals) then we would be top 3 easily.

Hibs not scoring from other areas has been an issue for me for a while.

28-06-2017, 08:28 AM
Yeah but for who 😉

The only team in town :flag::greengrin

28-06-2017, 08:31 AM
If we want to be successful I would say you need both.

Look at any top team in the world - they have a main goal scorer and others who also contribute.

I know what your trying to say but if we had Cummings and added more from midfield or his support striker (I loved Holt - but we needed more goals) then we would be top 3 easily.

Hibs not scoring from other areas has been an issue for me for a while.

Stokes will score 20+ and we'll get more from midfield. Job done.

28-06-2017, 08:33 AM
It's a good point. Cummings is a million pound plus player, and we haven't got a million plus pounds to spend on his replacement. It might be that we go into the season weaker than we were last season, in which case we can choose as supporters whether to let that reality eat us up inside or to look forward to the new season anyway.

In which case it could be a struggle. We didn't blow many teams away last season, and we need to be strengthening our squad. Someone who can score regularly in the top flight is essential.

28-06-2017, 08:34 AM
Looking for 5k no thanks lafferty

28-06-2017, 08:36 AM

Per week? Not worth it, IMO.

28-06-2017, 08:38 AM
In which case it could be a struggle. We didn't blow many teams away last season, and we need to be strengthening our squad. Someone who can score regularly in the top flight is essential.

I like Danny Swanson a lot. He could be the missing link in midfield, especially if McGinn stays and they strike up a partnership. Murray from what ive seen is quick and a pest for defenders, he could also be better than we expect as a new striker. Stokes would be a wonderful signing, and as much as we could do with another new striker as well as him I have a feeling we wont get one, unless Mcginn goes and we get someone in exchange.

28-06-2017, 08:40 AM
I like Danny Swanson a lot. He could be the missing link in midfield, especially if McGinn stays and they strike up a partnership. Murray from what ive seen is quick and a pest for defenders, he could also be better than we expect as a new striker. Stokes would be a wonderful signing, and as much as we could do with another new striker as well as him I have a feeling we wont get one, unless Mcginn goes and we get someone in exchange.

Indeed, cannot put my finger on it but I also think Murray might just be a really good signing.

28-06-2017, 08:42 AM
Tbh I'm not entirely sure why Lennon is even agreeing to this. Hearts clearly see him as a "marquee" signing and want him more, and naturally he'll probably want to go there more as a result. It's going to go something like this.

Hearts: Right Kyle here's our offer. It's great, we really pushed the boat out for this given we're building the new stand and that. Also chips.
Lafferty: Looks great, I'm gonna go speak to Hibs though so gies a sec.
Lafferty: Hi Hibs, Hearts offered me this.
Hibs: Hmmmmm ok we'll give you a wee bit bigger than that then.
Lafferty: Right Hearts, Hibs upped my money, what you gonna do bout it.
Hearts: Oh **** we can't let Hibs beat us to our big signing, here we'll add an extra 50% and give you a massive win bonus.
Lafferty: Hey Hibs, Hearts gave me a massive increase, still interested?
Hibs: **** off

28-06-2017, 09:31 AM
When first mooted I wasn't wanting Lafferty.

Now that Hearts want him I've turned a bit towards signing him to get it up them.

Wrong reason though eh?:dunno:

28-06-2017, 09:34 AM

Now that Hearts want him I've turned a bit towards signing him to get it up them.

Kind of thinking that way myself, anything to upset them does me :agree:

28-06-2017, 09:35 AM

I hope we are looking at better targets on the quiet and all this noise around Lafferty will mean we can sneak through a couple of good players past the noses of the gutter press and those in Gorgie :greengrin

28-06-2017, 09:38 AM

With Fyvie leaving McGinn is even less likely to be played further forward and score goals.

Jag7
28-06-2017, 09:40 AM

Precisely !

28-06-2017, 09:53 AM
Lafferty and his agent are playing a blinder here.

Was Lennon not supposed to be tough about contracts..Fyvie ?

Why does Lafferty want to play for Hibs Or Hearts - surely other clubs would have been interested if he's still half decent ?

28-06-2017, 10:05 AM
Plot thickens...... Edinburgh city ready to hold talks with him now

28-06-2017, 10:06 AM
Lafferty and his agent are playing a blinder here.

Was Lennon not supposed to be tough about contracts..Fyvie ?

Why does Lafferty want to play for Hibs Or Hearts - surely other clubs would have been interested if he's still half decent ?

He wants to live in Scotland because his ex-wife and kids live here.

28-06-2017, 10:06 AM
Plot thickens...... Edinburgh city ready to hold talks with him now

Spartans at 5pm apparently

28-06-2017, 10:09 AM
Spartans at 5pm apparently

Talking to St Bernards this lunchtime, I think he has us over a barrel

28-06-2017, 10:11 AM
He wants to live in Scotland because his ex-wife and kids live here.

Is that the ex Miss Scotland? Is not not with her anymore?

28-06-2017, 10:13 AM
I don't think we've beaten the Jambos to many signings over the years. John O'Neil was the last one I can remember - majestic for a couple of years then towards the end of his time with us we couldn't afford to pay him due to his appearance money and bonuses.

I seem to remember us going head to head with them for millions of players and they've always come out on top. And it hasn't often worked out well for them.

It's win/win for me. We get him, we've got one up them. He goes to them, at least we've got them to pay a lot more than he's worth. We're in a better financial position to be playing silly financial games. This should have the chipmongers sweating a bit.

28-06-2017, 10:18 AM
Is that the ex Miss Scotland? Is not not with her anymore?

No. That's the ex-Mrs Lafferty

28-06-2017, 10:24 AM
No. That's the ex-Mrs Lafferty

Yes, the new wife was only a miss Scotland contestant.

28-06-2017, 11:03 AM
Rather have Stevie may or Maggie

28-06-2017, 11:26 AM
3 meetings with Hearts ffs what is going on there. If meeting us hopefully pure and simple take it or leave it.

He would I assume if joined be one of our top earners. I really do not rate the guy to be one of our top earners but if signed happy for that to be proved wrong.

I trust NL overall but unsure about this one. The player is a cheat and always will be. I will support him fully if playing but do not need to like him.

28-06-2017, 11:28 AM
If meeting us hopefully pure and simple take it or leave it.

That's a surefire way to sign some absolute huddies.

28-06-2017, 11:30 AM
3 meetings with Hearts ffs what is going on there. If meeting us hopefully pure and simple take it or leave it.

He would I assume if joined be one of our top earners. I really do not rate the guy to be one of our top earners but if signed happy for that to be proved wrong.

I trust NL overall but unsure about this one. The player is a cheat and always will be. I will support him fully if playing but do not need to like him.

An odd one, if he's not auctioning off both clubs for the best deal I can only conclude that the yam think showing him round each of the 3 stands in the horseshoe arena separately could be the way to clinch the deal? Telling him it looks like Falkirk only bigger might just do it.

28-06-2017, 11:34 AM
Someone else posted this but it seems that it's true, he wants 5K a week, I'm thinking he will be offski down south.

28-06-2017, 11:38 AM
Surely if he wants £5k a week then negotiations would take 5 minutes with each club.

KL - I want £5K a week.
Hibs and Hearts - Naw.

28-06-2017, 11:42 AM
Someone else posted this but it seems that it's true, he wants 5K a week, I'm thinking he will be offski down south.

It seems true based on what?

28-06-2017, 11:45 AM
He's barking up the wrong tree if he's looking for £5k p/w, no one in Scotland will pay that.

28-06-2017, 11:49 AM
5k a week could be much better spent.

Velma Dinkley
28-06-2017, 11:55 AM
5k is a figure plucked out of somebody's backside.

28-06-2017, 11:56 AM

What makes it seem true?

28-06-2017, 11:57 AM
If he signs for us does that mean that Levein played a blinder in forcing us to pay more to get him??

28-06-2017, 12:09 PM
Surely Sevco would happily stump up £5k pw for him?

28-06-2017, 12:15 PM
They have offloaded that Oshinwa who was allegedly on the same money meaning could have made way for Lafferty. FWIW "ITK" yams saying hes signed for them.

28-06-2017, 12:17 PM
If there is 5k kicking about at ER then I would be offering it to SJM not Lafferty thats for sure.

28-06-2017, 12:18 PM
An odd one, if he's not auctioning off both clubs for the best deal I can only conclude that the yam think showing him round each of the 3 stands in the horseshoe arena separately could be the way to clinch the deal? Telling him it looks like Falkirk only bigger might just do it.

According to the EEN he was shown around Riccarton and was suitably 'impressed' ................. A bit like me being suitably impressed with a tour of Edinburgh Castle, all the while under the mistaken impression that it belonged to the tour guide :faf:

28-06-2017, 12:21 PM
According to the EEN he was shown around Riccarton and was suitably 'impressed' ................. A bit like me being suitably impressed with a tour of Edinburgh Castle, all the while under the mistaken impression that it belonged to the tour guide :faf:
[emoji1]

They probably think that after getting away with not paying the rent for so long last time they can say and do what they like as far as riccarton is concerned.

28-06-2017, 12:27 PM
If there is 5k kicking about at ER then I would be offering it to SJM not Lafferty thats for sure.

Well said El Capitano.

28-06-2017, 01:47 PM

A Goncalves and Lafferty strike partnerhsip doesn't worry me too much. Especially if Lafferty is getting the yams most expensive weekly wage!

Nemo
28-06-2017, 02:11 PM
Apparently pics of KL @ Tynie being taken now (You know the scarf one)

Hes ***** anyway ha ha

28-06-2017, 02:17 PM

Hes ***** anyway ha ha

That's all good and well, but if Lennon wants him this is a kick in the teeth.

28-06-2017, 02:24 PM
I hate Kyle Lafferty he should never sign for hibs, he's rubbish.

Hearts have signed Kyle Lafferty, this is a real kick in the teeth, we have no ambition.

28-06-2017, 02:25 PM

Hes ***** anyway ha ha

I certainly hope so, then we can but this ***** to bed and start trying to get someone who might replace Cummings goals instead of someone who has scored 21 club goals in 5 years

Hes ***** anyway ha ha

Good news. A big chunk of their budget on another huddy.

I hate Kyle Lafferty he should never sign for hibs, he's rubbish.

Hearts have signed Kyle Lafferty, this is a real kick in the teeth, we have no ambition.

I don't think each opinion is mutually exclusive. I don't particularly want him to sign but it's worrying that Hearts are signing him ahead of us.

28-06-2017, 02:26 PM
That's all good and well, but if Lennon wants him this is a kick in the teeth.
No it's not. Really, it's not.

28-06-2017, 02:27 PM
I don't think each opinion is mutually exclusive. I don't particularly want him to sign but it's worrying that Hearts are signing him ahead of us.

Know what you mean, it's just like when they got Chris Hackett from under our noses

28-06-2017, 02:28 PM
Know what you mean, it's just like when they got Chris Hackett from under our noses

And Dylan Bikey.

28-06-2017, 02:30 PM
Relieved in a way as I don't think we'd take to him a support. His face didn't fit.

Had a gut feeling he'd sign for them as he's Hearts/Rangers class anyway.

GREEN WARLORD
28-06-2017, 02:38 PM
[emoji1]

They probably think that after getting away with not paying the rent for so long last time they can say and do what they like as far as riccarton is concerned.

Couldn't see Oriam allowing that.

speedy_gonzales
28-06-2017, 02:39 PM
5k is a figure plucked out of somebody's backside.
His agents apparently, that was what they (unrealistically) wanted,,, when this was put in the table at Riccarton last week he was told there and then that that was £2K higher than any other player there, and their budget.

28-06-2017, 02:48 PM
https://s10.postimg.org/hbl51547r/IMG_6996.jpg

28-06-2017, 02:51 PM
Couldn't see Oriam allowing that.

I didn't think they used Oriam?

28-06-2017, 02:57 PM
https://s10.postimg.org/hbl51547r/IMG_6996.jpg

They apparently "pushed the boat out" on this one.

Magic money tree?

28-06-2017, 02:58 PM
I have no idea how good Lafferty will be, last I saw of him was in the Euros and I can't remember him standing out. Ultimately it probably would have made no difference but presumably it was known at the end of the season he could leave Norwich so why did we wait until Hearts showed an interest for us to want to talk to him ?

1875STEVE
28-06-2017, 03:01 PM
Signed for the tramps.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1205390/hearts-sign-former-rangers-kyle-lafferty/

28-06-2017, 03:01 PM
They apparently "pushed the boat out" on this one.

Magic money tree?

more like opened the coo

28-06-2017, 03:02 PM
Dodged a bullet, I'm delighted - on and off the field not what we need at Hibs.

Fair brightened my day :greengrin Ciftci please Neil !

supermcginn
bullet dodged! A more expensive Brian Graham :bye:

Dodged a bullet, I'm delighted - on and off the field not what we need at Hibs.

Fair brightened my day :greengrin Ciftci please Neil !

Anyone else TH??

28-06-2017, 03:03 PM
Lafferty ****, ****, ****......

28-06-2017, 03:04 PM
other than feigning a head knock by mulgrew, the incident where he collapsed to the ground without being touched, is kyle laugherty the player that done that dafty 'robotic' dance thing if he scored ?:rolleyes:

RamYer1902
28-06-2017, 03:05 PM
Signed for Hearts.

28-06-2017, 03:06 PM
other than feigning a head knock by mulgrew, the incident where he collapsed to the ground without being touched, is kyle laugherty the player that done that dafty 'robotic' dance thing if he scored ?:rolleyes:

Last time he scored there were no robots.

So they got rid of Oshinwa, I assume they came to some agreement on his outstanding contract. Having got rid of their highest earner (apparently) they splash the cash on a 6' 3" forward who doesn't score a lot. They just can't help themselves. I wonder how he'll get on with Cathro?

Are they really gonna pay him £5k a week? ****ers never learn do they :greengrin

Absolutely delighted they have wasted their money on a huddy. Time for us to go get someone who's a proven striker.

CallumHibs07
28-06-2017, 03:09 PM
Another forward we miss out on. Least we've got Simon Murray..

28-06-2017, 03:10 PM
Anyone else TH??

I'm sticking to my initial thoughts last week mate - SJM being the pivot for Hendo and/or GMS - with Ciftci now a distinct possibility too. Lots to negotiate but I'm pretty sure we'll see two from Celtic arrive.

Main thing for me is not seeing Lafferty in a Hibs jersey, unless it's hinging oot Efe's pocket :greengrin