16-06-2017, 11:12 PM
Cover.

Like the comments at the start.

"Unofficial anthem of Edinburgh" "Specific to the town we play"

#werunthiscity

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-YNQwOb8qCQ

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Brilliant! Clearly quite a few Hibbies in the audience.

16-06-2017, 11:17 PM
Was gid.

16-06-2017, 11:24 PM
Can he play upfront?

17-06-2017, 02:21 AM
I've always liked Keane (the group) and like them even more now!

17-06-2017, 08:59 AM
Pity one of the twins hadn't been there and we could have seen Charlie Chaplin

17-06-2017, 09:42 AM
Great version...thanks for sharing.

17-06-2017, 10:30 AM

Snap, brilliant group and he covers sol nicely there. :)

Ilovehibs
17-06-2017, 11:01 AM
Nice. Nothing beats the original tho...apart from the mass Hibernian choir.

17-06-2017, 12:09 PM

I've never liked Keane but I suppose I should give them some credit here.

17-06-2017, 12:18 PM
I've never liked Keane but I suppose I should give them some credit here.

Not keen on him myself, TBH

17-06-2017, 12:34 PM
Are you guys for real?

That was brutal.

17-06-2017, 12:48 PM
Are you guys for real?

That was brutal.

So what was brutal about it ??

TAHibby
17-06-2017, 02:14 PM
Wasn't expecting it to be great but probably one of the best cover versions I've heard of it

hibbydog
17-06-2017, 03:03 PM
Are you guys for real?

That was brutal.

I thought it was crap too. Whiney, nasal voice and didn't follow the tune so well.

17-06-2017, 06:02 PM
I love how someone told him it was an Edinburgh anthem, I bet the Jambo's in the crowd were spewing. Maybe next time he'll cover the Cicero classic

https://youtu.be/RnXaWmOzxXo
when you think about it the she was using me line could be applied to Budge :greengrin

HFCdeb
17-06-2017, 06:45 PM
Just awful.

Cat Stanton
17-06-2017, 07:06 PM
Are you guys for real?

That was brutal.

I'm with you. Honking.

sadtom
17-06-2017, 07:27 PM
Cant stand Keane. Epsecially that bap faced fanny of a lead singer. I believe he once checked himself into rehab. Most likely just a pose after over doing the wine gums.

17-06-2017, 07:42 PM
Cant stand Keane. Epsecially that bap faced fanny of a lead singer. I believe he once checked himself into rehab. Most likely just a pose after over doing the wine gums.

It what did you make of the song. It would appear by the tone of your post you didn't bother to watch it - the "bap faced fanny" is almost unrecognisable.

Platinum Scotty
17-06-2017, 09:01 PM

It's all about opinions I guess, I read a rather frank interview last year where he admitted to not only achohol issues but a serious drug problem, which was fairly well documented at the time - he obviously had his demons and he certainly looks a whole lot better than he did and let's be honest - he sang our song! Massive kudos from me for that alone

17-06-2017, 09:01 PM
Are you saying he's a lightweight :wink:

proud_and_green
18-06-2017, 07:40 AM
That was pretty awful - it is a song to be sung with emotion and there was no feeling there, timing and inflection were all to pot too!

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk

18-06-2017, 09:02 AM
Thought it was a very decent cover don't get the criticism.

18-06-2017, 09:11 AM

Same here. Decent wee cover of our song.

18-06-2017, 10:30 AM
There are no pleasing some folk 😂

We could dig up frank sinatra to do a cover version and some folk would still moan, not for everyones ears I guess!

18-06-2017, 11:24 AM
Loved the lassie saying this isn't going to go down well at the start and then the crown joining in and the violinist not being able to help herself and singing along too. I agree that is is a very emotional song, particularly to Hibbies, but I like when a band puts there own take on a song. I must have watched all the youtube versions of the Proclaimers and Hibs fans singing it so nice to get the eyes welling up to a new video.

18-06-2017, 11:51 AM
Same here. Decent wee cover of our song.

Decent maybe but uneventfully average, IMO.

18-06-2017, 12:24 PM
I think it's great when any touring performer or band is willing to deviate from the set list. This adds a bit of spontaneity to gigs and can improve the connection with the audience. There's nothing worse than gigs where folk are simply going through the motions.

I heard Tom Chaplin being interviewed on the radio a month or so ago and he came across very well.

I wouldn't say I was a fan (I think "somewhere only we know" sounds like Horse from 20 years before) but the performance in the video is in no way crap.

18-06-2017, 05:48 PM

Anyone that watches The Simpsons at the end will see how it's not just about exact reproduction - and who could top The Proclaimers version - tough gig.

portycabbage
18-06-2017, 07:49 PM

"Bap faced fanny"! Harsh but funny. I'm no that keen on Keane, but thought it was a not bad version.

18-06-2017, 08:01 PM
Good cover, folk getting a bit highly strung though going by some comments!

Johnny Clash
18-06-2017, 08:36 PM
Decent cover I thought and good to hear audience singing along too.

18-06-2017, 08:37 PM

Fabulous band. So underrated. Brilliant version of the song as well. Thanks for sharing that

18-06-2017, 08:42 PM
Decent cover I thought and good to hear audience singing along too.

Even the Proclaimers version is not a patch on the Hibs Fans version
Sorry Craig and Charlie

This is my favourite version, watch Stokes face at the end
https://youtu.be/JdP_KK75ThI

Ps sorry for posting this link

18-06-2017, 10:43 PM
Even the Proclaimers version is not a patch on the Hibs Fans version
Sorry Craig and Charlie

This is my favourite version, watch Stokes face at the end
https://youtu.be/JdP_KK75ThI

Ps sorry for posting this link

Terrific.

18-06-2017, 11:40 PM
I like Tom Chaplins voice (though not a Keane fan) but this is a pish, pedestrian cover that is too lame for Good Morning Britain. Appreciate the sentiment though.

19-06-2017, 12:17 AM
It really is such a beautiful song and think that's a decent cover over it.

Also it's ours and will only ever be ours! :agree:

Green_one
19-06-2017, 10:38 AM
It really is such a beautiful song and think that's a decent cover over it.

Also it's ours and will only ever be ours! :agree:

Absolutely:flag:

Plus every time its sung a Jambo spews. :greengrin

19-06-2017, 11:36 AM
Nae bad.