View Full Version : Hearts' New Stand Thread (Merged)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52

Super_JMcGinn
23-08-2017, 03:05 PM
There are more kids running about edinburgh in Barca kits than Hibs, Hearts, Celtic and Rangers kits combined.

Funniest post of the year by far :thumbsup:

23-08-2017, 03:34 PM
going back to the thread !

spoke to some people on the job we all know about the seat delay however the wrong type of concrete has been used that holds up the main support this has to be dug out and recast and left for 6 weeks to set properly. another delay !

This a recent cock-up ?

I tried to get a conversation going today, with one of the Hardy guys but he just completely blanked me.

I just thought he was fed up being asked when the seats were coming.

23-08-2017, 03:39 PM
Sorry if this has been mentioned...

Is it not likely to be the case that any gain made in ticket sales will be offset by the rent to SRU and payment to builders, site equipment hire etc? They may break even. But I can't see how they wouldn't rather have their stand all finished and good to go on deadline day.

And for all they may have some bumper crowds there will be some terrible ones thrown in too?

23-08-2017, 03:53 PM
Funniest post of the year by far :thumbsup:

Top selling kits in Scotland last year was Barca, 2nd was Real Madrid. Old firm were 3rd and 4th. And that doesn't take into account the kits bought on holiday in Spain. I coach kids footy and there can be up to half the kits in a training session Barca. All with Messi or Neymar on the back.

23-08-2017, 04:03 PM
y, 14:25

Went by today for the first time since the temporary clips came off the facade.

The stand is going to look gracious, elegant and magnificent. I really appreciate the photographs on here -- but they don't quite convey how good it is.

No wonder there's a 45-page thread about it on ****yoursister.net, seething with anger and jealousy. It'll get a lot worse when they actually set eyes on it, at the first home derby.

Also no wonder that almost all of the standard STs in the new stand are now sold out, with only a handful of seats left in the Wheatfield and Gorgie for match day sale.

No mate we're p*****g ourselves at the state of it 🤣

Super_JMcGinn
23-08-2017, 04:04 PM
Top selling kits in Scotland last year was Barca, 2nd was Real Madrid. Old firm were 3rd and 4th. And that doesn't take into account the kits bought on holiday in Spain. I coach kids footy and there can be up to half the kits in a training session Barca. All with Messi or Neymar on the back.

Wherever do you get the time to do that :confused:

23-08-2017, 04:06 PM

I helped out with my son's team about 6 or 7 years ago. There were hardly ever any Scottish kits. Loads of English ones, his peer group know English football much better than ours. Even the ones that go to games.

23-08-2017, 04:06 PM

What? Coach kids footy?

23-08-2017, 04:07 PM

Yeah but... shirley these figures are dwarfed by the 400k hertz sell to their worldwide support :dunno:

23-08-2017, 04:21 PM

Not a surprise, when I coached in south London it was the same, loads of man citeh fans as well. I blame the parents.

23-08-2017, 04:21 PM

Hearts fans didn't take as many to the league cup final v St Mirren either. They wouldn't get anywhere near 30k.

23-08-2017, 04:37 PM
What? Coach kids footy?

I know that I for one am disappointed that Ozy takes time out from his life's work of destroying Sevco to coach kids.

I think he would make a more positive contribution to the future of Scottish football by remaining focussed on his hunslaying.

23-08-2017, 05:02 PM
If everything was rosy in their garden they would easily take that and more. How many did they take there to play Barcelona in a friendly?

Suggesting they don't have the fan base to take 20k plus to Murrayfield is the myth, not the other way around.

Just to clear up I was meaning the Huns would not take 20k to Murrayfield and there is no hope in hell that the yams will take 30k to murrayfield for a run of the mill league game which will more than likely be on tv and played on a Sunday.

23-08-2017, 05:33 PM

I wandered about football hotbed Liverpool for a few days a fortnight ago and for every Liverpool or Everton top you saw there was a Real Madrid or Barcelona one, which I have to say was a bit of a surprise to me considering the city's two clubs aint exactly small fry themselves.

Hibbycol
23-08-2017, 05:38 PM
Can't see any reason why anyone other than a Hearts fan would have went, but each to their own I suppose.

I was there when Hibs played them, were you?I wasn't at murrayfield [emoji849]

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Firestarter
23-08-2017, 05:54 PM
Hearts appoint Elvis, get pumped a couple of games, you will be lucky to get 20k at any of the games. The first game against Aberdeen the athmosphere will be *****, they will get pumped and nobody will want to go again. They are full of *****, always are. Check Budge begging for more money with special hospitality they are renting, to go with the training facilities they are renting and probably paying for this time yet boasting as if they belong to them.

Genuine question? Can you see the pitch in the Murrayfield hospitality? It might be a once in a lifetime chance for Johnny *****ystained breeks Jambo to see such sorts at "home"

23-08-2017, 06:07 PM
Not a surprise, when I coached in south London it was the same, loads of man citeh fans as well. I blame the parents.

I can get full Barca strips including socks delivered for £15 from EBay from Hong Kong.
I bought the laddie 5 for summer holidays.

He's no Barca fan but was delighted with them.

His Hibs strip was about £60.

23-08-2017, 06:09 PM
I can get full Barca strips including socks delivered for £15 from EBay from Hong Kong.

And there's that as well...

23-08-2017, 06:23 PM

If true where are our strips made and what is the profit to the club?

I know other teams will have the same sort of deals through Nike and the like, but its staggering if they are being made there and upping the price by both manufacturer and club!!!

23-08-2017, 06:26 PM

I'd be surprised if they are genuine Barca strips.

23-08-2017, 06:43 PM

Off-topic: but why 5?

5 of the same kit - or 5 different kits!?

23-08-2017, 06:49 PM
Why won't it be allowed?

If you were playing a home game would you want half the allocation to be away fans? Naw, me neither

23-08-2017, 08:16 PM

Possibly fakes but if you consider that pretty much every piece of Nike clothing will be manufactured in China its also likely that they are genuine, but rejected from production for silly things like wonky stitching or slight damage which nike will absorb as a manufacturing loss and the factory will sell on to these guys on ebay.

23-08-2017, 08:21 PM
My parents go to turkey on holiday every year and the sell strips there for £12 with the shorts and socks included. You can't tell the difference. The wee man gets himself about 5 new kits every year.

23-08-2017, 08:28 PM
My parents go to turkey on holiday every year and the sell strips there for £12 with the shorts and socks included. You can't tell the difference. The wee man gets himself about 5 new kits every year.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkMy Chelsea supporting mate bought a Chelsea top from a market in Turkey for £3 sterling including name on the back. The name on the back was Rampard. True story. I've seen the top.

broondog
23-08-2017, 08:43 PM
My Chelsea supporting mate bought a Chelsea top from a market in Turkey for £3 sterling including name on the back. The name on the back was Rampard. True story. I've seen the top.

:faf::faf::faf:

23-08-2017, 09:08 PM
going back to the thread !

spoke to some people on the job we all know about the seat delay however the wrong type of concrete has been used that holds up the main support this has to be dug out and recast and left for 6 weeks to set properly. another delay !

Progress on the 'glass wall' seems to have moved on not a jot in weeks now. And it still looks dire:

http://img.pixady.com/2017/08/181005_c.jpg

23-08-2017, 09:12 PM
I spoke to the SRU finance guy at work today who has all the figures for the deal

Giving me absolute hee haw info.

23-08-2017, 09:17 PM
I spoke to the SRU finance guy at work today who has all the figures for the deal

Giving me absolute hee haw info.

Waterboard the **** out him until he cracks!!

23-08-2017, 09:49 PM

My, aren't you the card? Some excellent contributions on this thread.

23-08-2017, 09:58 PM
Progress on the 'glass wall' seems to have moved on not a jot in weeks now. And it still looks dire:

The red maroon square make itvlook even more gastly and lots of daylight still coming in from pitch showing little progress.

23-08-2017, 10:04 PM

Yup - it's plain to see why fans of 'Charity Thieves FC' think we'll be jealous of this once it's finished .................................................. ............... :faf:

23-08-2017, 10:07 PM
What happened to the old Porty High School when they pulled it down?

23-08-2017, 10:09 PM
What happened to the old Porty High School when they pulled it down?They laid it on it's side and flogged it to the yams?

23-08-2017, 10:28 PM
Off-topic: but why 5?

5 of the same kit - or 5 different kits!?

4 different strips. I ordered two of the same colour by accident.
Purple , pink , orange and green.

Add in hi Hibs strip and that was him for his holidays.

Used to do it with the eldest laddie a few years ago too.
The quality is not too shabby either.

23-08-2017, 10:31 PM

Sorry , I should have mentioned...
I am under no illusion regarding their authenticity.

The sellers get removed quite often and eBay will and me a message telling me that I had bought stuff from a seller who was breaching their code etc.
I've always received the strips.

23-08-2017, 10:34 PM
If true where are our strips made and what is the profit to the club?

I know other teams will have the same sort of deals through Nike and the like, but its staggering if they are being made there and upping the price by both manufacturer and club!!!

Again , apologies .

These are fake.

Saying that , about 8 years ago I bought my eldest laddie the genuine Barca strip direct Barcelonas website and a full Hibs kit from the Hibs shop.

Can't remember the exact prices but the genuine Barca kit (inc delivery) was £10 cheaper than the Hibs strip from the shop.

23-08-2017, 10:38 PM
One last thing :-)

I should've used the multi quote but I'll mess it up.

The only reason I got Barca kits this year was that was the only choice :-)
Last year I got Argentina , Germany ,Italy and Spain.
Again , those were the only choices.

Name and number on the back too.

23-08-2017, 10:47 PM
Is this thread about Hearts awfull new stand or knock off Barca kits? Can we go back to ripping the urine out of them?

23-08-2017, 10:57 PM
Is this thread about Hearts awfull new stand or knock off Barca kits? Can we go back to ripping the urine out of them?

Go on then.

23-08-2017, 11:01 PM
The stand will be completed . They will be happy.
After this thread tumbles down the pages there will be a new thread about their impending doom.
We'll all get frothy again but they will just amble along.

Hearts are pish :greengrin

23-08-2017, 11:18 PM
:faf::faf::faf:

I vaguely remember a story of a Rangers or Celtc fan buying a strip in the opposite teams colours.

24-08-2017, 07:58 AM

What the hell were they thinking?

On the positive side for them it will look unlike pretty much any other main stand in the Scottish Premiership so you could maybe argue it will be distinctive and quirky.

On the negative side it literally looks like an old school from the late 1960s. Or some municipal eyesore. It's really, really awful.

24-08-2017, 07:59 AM

It's a Glass Curtain!

:tsk tsk:

Can't you tell from the fact that the curtain seems to have been opened, hence the reason you can't currently see it.

24-08-2017, 08:14 AM
What the hell were they thinking?

They were thinking we'd be seething with jealousy or jealousing with seethery or something.

24-08-2017, 08:45 AM
4 different strips. I ordered two of the same colour by accident.
Purple , pink , orange and green.

Add in hi Hibs strip and that was him for his holidays.

Used to do it with the eldest laddie a few years ago too.
The quality is not too shabby either.

That's a great idea.

You'd be throwing the strips out in a few months when he grows so you've clothed him, kept him happy and saved yourself a good few bob.

Unless he's 17, likes. :greengrin

24-08-2017, 08:47 AM

Is this thread about hertz awful stand or is it for criticising other people's posts? :wink:

24-08-2017, 09:08 AM

Was passing the old council office on Gorgie Road this morning ... food for thought?

24-08-2017, 09:17 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/88529f09e1578361d6ce08016390dcd2.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/d5239256f9503659096953c2a9238f3f.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/f9d2cdc4a1b879be82c6b49e6ab58e13.jpg
Their lightweight decking has started going in. Looks like it will be noisy if they start stamping their feet.

24-08-2017, 09:23 AM
It's also very cheap and nasty looking. [emoji23]

24-08-2017, 09:26 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/88529f09e1578361d6ce08016390dcd2.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/d5239256f9503659096953c2a9238f3f.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/f9d2cdc4a1b879be82c6b49e6ab58e13.jpg
Their lightweight decking has started going in. Looks like it will be noisy if they start stamping their feet.

Thats a hell of a small soil pipe for the amount of ***** that will been in that stand :agree:

24-08-2017, 09:27 AM
They are charging £30 a ticket for their game against Aberdeen at Murrayfield. For Hibs v Aberdeen at ER a ticket is £22.

24-08-2017, 09:27 AM

What about the wear and tear on the soles of their best brown brogues though?

Cannae really see noise catching on at the library, maybe they'll be putting down some unique carpeting throughout, a nice Rosebery shade of pink and yellow like the away strip?

24-08-2017, 09:33 AM
What a ****in' state of a thing......Ha Ha.

It's like a cross between Portobello High School and the Banana Flats.

24-08-2017, 09:35 AM
Apparently we are very jealous and we'll be stunned at the first derby. Are these clowns fully functional humans? I was actually impressed with the artists designs and thought it will look pretty good. But it's nothing and I mean nothing like the "glass curtain" that was meant to be.

I half expect David Brent to wonder round as it's like the building used in the office. It's very cheap, very basic, and just rather *****e in all honestly. The fact it's cost so much is just brilliant.

24-08-2017, 09:46 AM

I can see how lots of them are going to have their view restricted / blocked due to the police control box not moving.

Firestarter
24-08-2017, 10:13 AM
Apparently we are very jealous and we'll be stunned at the first derby. Are these clowns fully functional humans? I was actually impressed with the artists designs and thought it will look pretty good. But it's nothing and I mean nothing like the "glass curtain" that was meant to be.

I half expect David Brent to wonder round as it's like the building used in the office. It's very cheap, very basic, and just rather *****e in all honestly. The fact it's cost so much is just brilliant.

If you are one of them you have been sitting in a complete *****hole for all your life, it's to be expected they are getting ahead of their selves at having a little bit less of a *****hole which in their terms will look braw but for others who are used to sitting in much better facilities the past 25 years it looks pap.

24-08-2017, 10:19 AM

Ah, so they're finally making some progress then?

On the bright side, with that kind of surface they won't need to bring in a drum.

24-08-2017, 10:24 AM
Thats a hell of a small soil pipe for the amount of ***** that will been in that stand :agree:
Clearly everything except the seats will be ready for the 9th Sep.

24-08-2017, 10:29 AM
Surely that's just the underside of some sort of sandwich system? Folded sheet metal itself (which is what it looks like) will be nowhere near strong enough.

24-08-2017, 10:34 AM
It's a Glass Curtain!

Can't you tell from the fact that the curtain seems to have been opened, hence the reason you can't currently see it.

I think that is just the way the architect had drawn them :wink:

24-08-2017, 10:38 AM
I think that is just the way the architect had drawn them :wink:

Are you trying to tell me they needed an architect? Surely Cathro just downloaded SketchUp (https://www.sketchup.com/) onto his laptop and they designd the stand themsleves.

24-08-2017, 10:42 AM
Surely that's just the underside of some sort of sandwich system? Folded sheet metal itself (which is what it looks like) will be nowhere near strong enough.Maybe not. Looks like it could be this type of system.

https://www.southernbleacher.com/products/decking-systems/sps-terraces/

24-08-2017, 10:45 AM

So it's not a concrete structure that the seats are going on then? That's the sort of thing they use to build temporary stands for the golf or the school sports grounds in the USA. It'll be like and sound like a tin can. 😳

24-08-2017, 10:54 AM
So it's not a concrete structure that the seats are going on then? That's the sort of thing they use to build temporary stands for the golf or the school sports grounds in the USA. It'll be like and sound like a tin can. 😳
They call them bleachers in the US. Oh dearie me, what's the life expectancy of this midden meant to be? Lol....

24-08-2017, 10:54 AM
So it's not a concrete structure that the seats are going on then? That's the sort of thing they use to build temporary stands for the golf or the school sports grounds in the USA. It'll be like and sound like a tin can. [emoji15]

Makes you wonder where the £15m is getting spent?

24-08-2017, 11:00 AM
Makes you wonder where the £15m is getting spent?

The biggest chip pan fryer in the northern hemisphere :agree:

24-08-2017, 11:00 AM
Possibly fakes but if you consider that pretty much every piece of Nike clothing will be manufactured in China its also likely that they are genuine, but rejected from production for silly things like wonky stitching or slight damage which nike will absorb as a manufacturing loss and the factory will sell on to these guys on ebay.

Possibly fakes?

It's a near certainty that they are fakes. The country of origin is a dead giveaway.

I don't think that Nike would allow rejected products to be sold on.

I recall getting my son an Athletic Bilbao and a Real Sociadad strip from a street stall in San Sebastian. They both fell apart after three washes!

24-08-2017, 11:02 AM

Hope its got a one-hour fire proofing rating .

24-08-2017, 11:23 AM

No :greengrin

24-08-2017, 12:00 PM
The stand will be completed . They will be happy.
After this thread tumbles down the pages there will be a new thread about their impending doom.
We'll all get frothy again but they will just amble along.

Hearts are pish :greengrin

Best summary of the situation yet.

24-08-2017, 12:08 PM
They are charging £30 a ticket for their game against Aberdeen at Murrayfield. For Hibs v Aberdeen at ER a ticket is £22.

They have a few offers like £15 tickets for mates of ST holders who come along ...... but the ordinary walk up adult tickets are £30 and £28 which is mental for an Aberdeen game.

24-08-2017, 12:28 PM
I can see how lots of them are going to have their view restricted / blocked due to the police control box not moving.

Easily sorted. Just stick a couple of the convex mirrors on the end and people will have nothing to complain about.

24-08-2017, 12:31 PM
Surely that's just the underside of some sort of sandwich system? Folded sheet metal itself (which is what it looks like) will be nowhere near strong enough.

Same as all the other stands. Cheap but effective, at least in the short term

24-08-2017, 12:36 PM
They seriosuly think that we are jealous of their stand!

Apart from being ugly as sin it appears to be made from the cheapest of cheap materials. I understand that they've done this so it's in keeping with the other 3 stands but it really is a piece of crap.

I guess it's an improvemt on what they currently have but to suggest that it's anywhere near as good as ER or that fans up and down the country will gasp in awe at it is pure fantasy.

They're also talking about an outdoor bar and how its an amzing idea yet they rubbished us just 2 weeks ago for doing the exact same thing.

Weirdos.

24-08-2017, 12:42 PM

Aw c'mon - I know the season's only 3 games old but it's obvious this game will be seen as an early 'Title-decider' ...........................

What a ****in' state of a thing......Ha Ha.

It's like a cross between Portobello High School and the Banana Flats.

The more and more I see of it (the PBS's New shed) the more I see the school used in 'Gregory's Girl' - Abronhill High School, which incidentally, was built in 1978 and demolished in 2014, a 36-year lifespan the Jambo's new effort will find hard to match !

24-08-2017, 12:45 PM
The truth is, I don't particularly care what their stand looks like. It's a stand, and it has no bearing on how the team performs.

When Easter Road was rebuilt, I don't remember any comments about how any of the stands would look from the outside. Frankly, it's just not important.

If Hearts hadn't started shouting from the rooftops about how beautiful their new mega-stand together with the biggest glass curtain in football was going to be, no-one would give a monkey's about the aesthetics.

Typical of those braggards though.

24-08-2017, 12:59 PM
They have a few offers like £15 tickets for mates of ST holders who come along ...... but the ordinary walk up adult tickets are £30 and £28 which is mental for an Aberdeen game.

Surely not!

Kaff
24-08-2017, 01:01 PM

The SRU deal must include a charge per head attending if this is the cost per ticket, obviously a big number attending at say £10 a ticket and SRU taking a fiver makes no sense. The 25-40k attendances are looking very unlikely!

24-08-2017, 01:06 PM

Otherwise known as the lucky few.

24-08-2017, 01:06 PM

It this the same price as they would charge for a ticket if this game was at Tiny? Seems staggeringly expensive.

24-08-2017, 01:09 PM
Surely that's just the underside of some sort of sandwich system? Folded sheet metal itself (which is what it looks like) will be nowhere near strong enough.Agree. It will be a technique no one else will ever have used. Another first, it will be known as the yam sandwich. Fits nicely with them inventing chips as part of the creation of the 8th wonder of the world.

Velma Dinkley
24-08-2017, 01:29 PM
This construction project has been an excellent example of how not to build something, from a club that offer a great example of how not to run a football club. I just hope they learned something from all this and have at least ordered some potatoes.

24-08-2017, 01:49 PM
It this the same price as they would charge for a ticket if this game was at Tiny? Seems staggeringly expensive.

Cheap compared to the £34 Vlad charged us back in August 2007. 10 years ago. Yikes.

Arch Stanton
24-08-2017, 01:50 PM

Nah, if it was sandwiches they would have made them up before bringing them in. :greengrin

Anyway, it looks like it will end up as a series of box sections bolted together. In this pic you can see the poor guy who has to put all the bolts in.:agree:

24-08-2017, 01:59 PM
Nah, if it was sandwiches they would have made them up before bringing them in. :greengrin

Anyway, it looks like it will end up as a series of box sections bolted together. In this pic you can see the poor guy who has to put all the bolts in.:agree:

19251[emoji23] [emoji23]

Don't know why but I just had an image of Potter and Budge side by side knocking up the fish paste sarnies for the next big team fundraiser.

happiehibbie
24-08-2017, 02:09 PM
What main support? There are loads.

Main Supports for the roof gantry seemingly an easy fix but the drying time could be the issue. I am not a builder just relaying info from an inspector !

24-08-2017, 02:18 PM
Main Supports for the roof gantry seemingly an easy fix but the drying time could be the issue. I am not a builder just relaying info from an inspector !The main roof truss is fixed to the existing corner pylons so I can't see the problem being there. As for 6 weeks drying time? I've done a few projects with some pretty tasty cantilevers and beam spans and 4 weeks has been the most we've had to wait.

I know that you're simply passing on what you've heard and it is appreciated.

24-08-2017, 03:42 PM

I think the slagging they're getting is out of order now.

People should know better than to turn their noses up at IKEA stuff.

24-08-2017, 03:55 PM

Good photo of the Police Control Room. Clearly shows that there will be quite a few seats that will not be in use!

Also didn't realise they weren't putting concrete sections to support the seats.

Think the lack of money is showing through!

GreenOnions
24-08-2017, 04:02 PM

Ha, ha - that is going to look absolutely f'ing terrible! It's nothing like the artist's impression :hilarious

I was saying to someone recently that one negative about all these new stadia these days is that many of them look extremely similar. That individual character of each club's stadium has been lost through modernisation.

Well done to Hearts. Their stadium definitely doesn't appear as if it will resemble any other modern football arena :hilarious

BonnieFitbaTeam
24-08-2017, 04:13 PM
This construction project has been an excellent example of how not to build something, from a club that offer a great example of how not to run a football club. I just hope they learned something from all this and have at least ordered some potatoes.

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif :faf: :faf: :faf: http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif

24-08-2017, 04:16 PM

Also didn't realise they weren't putting concrete sections to support the seats.

Think the lack of money is showing through!

They were supposed to be using precast sections for the seating. This looks very much like a last minute change of plans to me.

Never mind, though, at least they're not using breeze blocks... oh and 5-1, etc.

24-08-2017, 04:17 PM
They were supposed to be using precast sections for the seating. This looks very much like a last minute change of plans to me.

Never mind, though, at least they're not using breeze blocks... oh and 5-1, etc.

Cheaper version me thinks (as does everyone else)

Yip at least they've got that!

24-08-2017, 04:18 PM
They're surely going to disguise the outside with the glass though.

I'm not saying it will look good but it will look better than what we're seeing now ... for a wee while anyway.

24-08-2017, 04:28 PM
They're surely going to disguise the outside with the glass though.

I'm not saying it will look good but it will look better than what we're seeing now ... for a wee while anyway.

Nope, that's the finished look.

24-08-2017, 04:30 PM
Cheaper version me thinks (as does everyone else)

Yip at least they've got that!

Maybe a last minute decision to save cash? Bring in a temporary decking material to save money and replace with concrete at a later date?

24-08-2017, 04:37 PM

That must be photoshopped. :rotflmao::rotflmao:

24-08-2017, 04:42 PM
What i can't understand is folk on kickback positively creaming themselves over the stand. I know it's an improvement on what they had but at least their old stand had a certain character. The new one is hideous. Is it just blind denial? They must know it's honking but don't want to admit it to themselves. If we had wasted 15m+ on something that looked like that I'd be spewing.

Crazyhorse
24-08-2017, 04:47 PM
What i can't understand is folk on kickback positively creaming themselves over the stand. I know it's an improvement on what they had but at least their old stand had a certain character. The new one is hideous. Is it just blind denial? They must know it's honking but don't want to admit it to themselves. If we had wasted 15m+ on something that looked like that I'd be spewing.

Living in denial. The Jambo way.

24-08-2017, 04:48 PM
It will look better when they get the metal shed part of it installed.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-AyV3wV6F7HA/Vcnzi1LKdzI/AAAAAAAADWY/2MaBfC_EXSc/s1600/DSC05971.JPG

We will look like idiots for laughing then.

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

24-08-2017, 04:53 PM

The only thing this stand has that we would want is space. The size of the building at the back is a lot bigger than we have. There will be commercial opportunities they will have from this.
Everything else, from the build quality to the capacity is inferior to what we have at Easter road.

24-08-2017, 04:54 PM
Meccano has come a long way since I was a kid.

What's the dugouts going to be made from.. stickle bricks?

24-08-2017, 04:55 PM
It will look better when they get the metal shed part of it installed.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-AyV3wV6F7HA/Vcnzi1LKdzI/AAAAAAAADWY/2MaBfC_EXSc/s1600/DSC05971.JPG

We will look like idiots for laughing then.

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:
Jesus wept that's horrible. Holy crap........

24-08-2017, 04:57 PM
Maybe a last minute decision to save cash? Bring in a temporary decking material to save money and replace with concrete at a later date?

As far as I know this is a polymer sandwiched with sheet steel. This was the stuff that was floating around the South China Sea for months no?

Velma Dinkley
24-08-2017, 05:20 PM
Living in denial. The Jambo way.

Their new stand does have a certain character. It's Donald Ducked.

24-08-2017, 05:45 PM
Their new stand does have a certain character. It's Donald Ducked.

Looks like a Mickey Mouse stand to my untutored eye

24-08-2017, 05:53 PM
The only thing this stand has that we would want is space. The size of the building at the back is a lot bigger than we have. There will be commercial opportunities they will have from this.
Everything else, from the build quality to the capacity is inferior to what we have at Easter road.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHibs have plenty accommodation under the FF and South stands. Also, because their new stand is single tier, there's less usable space under the stand itself.

Firestarter
24-08-2017, 05:54 PM

Like I said earlier, they have had **** all forever and a stand that pigeons lived and was falling down. It will be wonderful to them.

24-08-2017, 05:59 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/2106b5f1747e1b9f41dda438aa836459.jpg

24-08-2017, 06:04 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWe can see why the lower steelwork has yet to be installed.

24-08-2017, 06:08 PM
Wow.. It Really is TinCastle.. :wink:

24-08-2017, 06:09 PM
When is this meant to be ready for games?

24-08-2017, 06:11 PM
Difficult to say from photos but that decking looks like it might be a bit slippy underfoot.

Firestarter
24-08-2017, 06:16 PM
When is this meant to be ready for games?

A couple of weeks time. That was before they took the season ticket money then begged Murrayfield. Not sure when now but hopefully before the first Derby at their place. **** paying to play at Murrayfield and help them more.

Firestarter
24-08-2017, 06:17 PM
Difficult to say from photos but that decking looks like it might be a bit slippy underfoot.

Stick to the roseburn and the other stand behind the goal at semis then we will be fine.

24-08-2017, 06:25 PM

Nope, that's the finished look.

As a child I could only dream of what a seamless glass curtain would look like, for real.

I'll sleep easy tonight, oh to live in such times!

Alan62
24-08-2017, 06:28 PM
Looking worse by the day to this jealous peg selling hobo.

24-08-2017, 06:30 PM

Hard to tell how the Police box will effect views from that angle.

I still refuse to believe that it won't be moved. Nobody can be that incompetent.

24-08-2017, 06:30 PM
They knocked down my old school Elgin Academy because it looked like that.......

24-08-2017, 06:37 PM
They knocked down my old school Elgin Academy because it looked like that.......They pushed Porty High over on its side and towed it to gorgie by the look of the pictures.

24-08-2017, 06:43 PM
They pushed Porty High over on its side and towed it to gorgie by the look of the pictures.

Doubt they paid a tow company any money. Yon big female Hearts fan that was pictured hingin oot the windae would have just flung it over her shoulder and carried it there.....

24-08-2017, 06:45 PM
Doubt they paid a tow company any money. Yon big female Hearts fan that was pictured hingin oot the windae would have just flung it over her shoulder and carried it there.....[emoji1]

Etched in the memory. Pretty sure she was involved in the demolition phase.

24-08-2017, 06:48 PM
It's a Glass Curtain!

No. it's not. It's a Glass Menagerie.

Hibbycol
24-08-2017, 06:52 PM
Proposed stand (geez yer money ) A . Budge
Actual stand (nothing like was proposed ) you mugs(hertz fanz) have paid 12 MILLION FOR THIS LOL .A Budge[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]🤣🤣🤣[emoji38][emoji38][emoji38]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/75513abcdc73590a0fc627525d197155.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/034069bdfe8a57915b96fa3fa57adcb7.jpg

24-08-2017, 06:58 PM
Proposed stand (geez yer money ) A . Budge
Actual stand (nothing like was proposed ) you mugs(hertz fanz) have paid 12 MILLION FOR THIS LOL .A Budge[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]🤣🤣🤣[emoji38][emoji38][emoji38]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/75513abcdc73590a0fc627525d197155.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170824/034069bdfe8a57915b96fa3fa57adcb7.jpg

Minimum £14m now

24-08-2017, 07:02 PM
[emoji1]

Etched in the memory. Pretty sure she was involved in the demolition phase.

One fart and it was doon.

Hibbycol
24-08-2017, 07:03 PM
Minimum £14m now

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkFFFFFFOOOOUUUURRRRTTTTEEEENNNNN !!!!!!!! ,STOP!!!!! ,I have just weed ma breeks .[emoji2][emoji38]🤣[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

24-08-2017, 07:03 PM
They knocked down my old school Elgin Academy because it looked like that.......

It looks exactly like the old Academy....

24-08-2017, 07:05 PM
It looks exactly like the old Academy....
The new Academy doesn't look like that lol. I saw it for the first time last month when I was back....

24-08-2017, 07:08 PM

Would that mean double the work?? All singing al dancing modern stand that no one has. Your right there cheapest of the cheap!

£15 million and rising

24-08-2017, 07:12 PM

So where the majority of clubs use concrete sections and then affix the posts and seats they are using some sort of metal??? Why. That will surely need replacing in a few years. It looks *****

24-08-2017, 07:14 PM
We can see why the lower steelwork has yet to be installed.

Can I add from that photo about 20 rows that are in place will struggle to see the goals at that end because of the Police box. This of course doesn't include the rows in the lower section.

24-08-2017, 07:15 PM
Would that mean double the work?? All singing al dancing modern stand that no one has. Your right there cheapest of the cheap!

£15 million and rising

They're seemingly going to rename it Tincastle. CAN you hear the Jambos sing 😂

24-08-2017, 07:15 PM
Hard to tell how the Police box will effect views from that angle.

I still refuse to believe that it won't be moved. Nobody can be that incompetent.

It is not moving!

Edit: reason is there is no space to accommodate it elsewhere. If it was going to move it would have by now!! Especially since the work has started on the tin

24-08-2017, 07:22 PM

£15 million and rising

Found this, don't know how accurate the figures are for the rebuild of ER.

Famous Five and South Stands 1995 - about £7m all in for the two
West Stand 2001 about £7m
East Stand 2010 £6m

So £20m in total a bargain when you see what £14 million buys you now.

24-08-2017, 07:24 PM

East Stand 2010 £6m

Funny that! Some folk questioned the judgement of the board and look what we have compared to that amateur dump!

They are back in debt yet again after admin a few years ago and it's all very pleasing

Hibbycol
24-08-2017, 07:30 PM
So where the majority of clubs use concrete sections and then affix the posts and seats they are using some sort of metal??? Why. That will surely need replacing in a few years. It looks *****

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkJust pray for the biggest THUNDER and lightning storm and they will fried like their chips lol

24-08-2017, 07:44 PM
Funny that! Some folk questioned the judgement of the board and look what we have compared to that amateur dump!

They are back in debt yet again after admin a few years ago and it's all very pleasing

Thought the east stand cost £3.2mil?

24-08-2017, 07:48 PM
Thought the east stand cost £3.2mil?

Think it was a bit more than that but anyway their main stand compared to ours will end up being an abyss in costings!

24-08-2017, 07:53 PM

I'd guess the steel decking is a lot lighter than concrete slabs which would allow them to use smaller sections of beams and columns and was meant to save them money :greengrin

I just can't see such a thin sandwich of metal and polymer or whatever it is made of giving the full one hour fire rating required on a stadium seating deck.

24-08-2017, 07:57 PM
Have they managed to cram any asbestos into this monolith for old times sake?

24-08-2017, 08:00 PM
I'd guess the steel decking is a lot lighter than concrete slabs which would allow them to use smaller sections of beams and columns and was meant to save them money :greengrin

I just can't see such a thin sandwich of metal and polymer or whatever it is made of giving the full one hour fire rating required on a stadium seating deck.
The material you are talking of is ACM and I seriously doubt that the seating is made from that. It's generally used as a cladding for storefronts in conjunction with glass curtain wall systems.....

24-08-2017, 08:01 PM
Have they managed to cram any asbestos into this monolith for old times sake?

That may be their fall-back position once somebody translates the Korean safety tag on the decking palates. :greengrin

24-08-2017, 08:04 PM
Think it was a bit more than that but anyway their main stand compared to ours will end up being an abyss in costings!

From the Financial Accounts 2009 /2010

the club have revealed that they were able to build the new East Stand for about £500 a seat, which makes the final total for the build £3.2m,

24-08-2017, 08:09 PM
From the Financial Accounts 2009 /2010 the club have revealed that they were able to build the new East Stand for about £500 a seat, which makes the final total for the build £3.2m,

Bargain then Kojock bargain indeed compared to the £whatever and rising along the way!!

24-08-2017, 08:10 PM
I'd guess the steel decking is a lot lighter than concrete slabs which would allow them to use smaller sections of beams and columns and was meant to save them money :greengrin I just can't see such a thin sandwich of metal and polymer or whatever it is made of giving the full one hour fire rating required on a stadium seating deck.

Cheapest of the cheap!

Surely they should be using concrete?

24-08-2017, 08:15 PM
Cheapest of the cheap!

Surely they should be using concrete?That type of construction is sometimes used for semi permanent structures... Maybe they're thinking of moving house in a few years time!? :dunno:

EastCalderHibby
24-08-2017, 08:16 PM

what a horrid looking building ,,,,,sorry horrid half building

24-08-2017, 08:18 PM
Oh.... And building a facade that's similar to loads of old buildings that have been demolished would make any demolition request easier to get past any planning permissions?

Lol

24-08-2017, 08:21 PM
Can I add from that photo about 20 rows that are in place will struggle to see the goals at that end because of the Police box. This of course doesn't include the rows in the lower section.

Will anyone sitting behind it, from front to back, be able to see a corner being taken from down there?

24-08-2017, 08:22 PM
That type of construction is sometimes used for semi permanent structures... Maybe they're thinking of moving house in a few years time!? :dunno: Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Ha maybe!

24-08-2017, 08:24 PM

East Stand 2010 £6m

I think that the North Stand and the South Stand cost £8 million. It was originally costing about half that before Tom Farmer intervened and they put in the the facilities including bars and restaurants in the North Stand.

The West was £6.5 to £7 million.

However the East cost considerably less because it is only one tier and has next to nothing in interior fixtures. It was constructed at the end of a long recession when the contractors were desperate for work. I thought it was little more than £3 million.

24-08-2017, 08:25 PM
Will anyone sitting behind it, from front to back, be able to see a corner being taken from down there?

Unless they can see through buildings then no! It was pointed out that on their e ticketing site tickets they are not selling tickets in that area but by the looks of it it will be more than the 100 or so counted for me. 20,099 minus 100 tells you the story!

Under 20k and falling

24-08-2017, 08:32 PM
HEY!

I just realised, we are discussing the schematics of Tin-Tynie. That Cathro guy was away ahead of his time.

Unless they can see through buildings then no!

No doubt some Jambos will now claim to be able to do just that.

24-08-2017, 08:35 PM
HEY! I just realised, we are discussing the schematics of Tin-Tynie. That Cathro guy was away ahead of his time. No doubt some Jambos will now claim to be able to do just that.

Aye but 1-5 and all that.

Shambles and all very pleasing!

EastCalderHibby
24-08-2017, 08:39 PM

well we are talking about a bus shelter what more would they expect ..at gore gay

24-08-2017, 08:42 PM
As far as I know this is a polymer sandwiched with sheet steel. This was the stuff that was floating around the South China Sea for months no?

Sounds springier than the old 1 metre spring boards at the Commy Pool.

Boing! :greengrin

Let's all do the Jambo Boing!

EastCalderHibby
24-08-2017, 08:54 PM

think the old one looked better :greengrin:greengrin

24-08-2017, 09:04 PM

the club have revealed that they were able to build the new East Stand for about £500 a seat, which makes the final total for the build £3.2m,

3.2 ... That amount is familiar.... :wink:

Criswell
24-08-2017, 10:36 PM
Serious point here: Is the topside of this "decking" any different to the underside? If not, is it actually going to be a safe surface to walk on without slipping? Give me a solid foot of concrete underfoot anytime.

24-08-2017, 10:48 PM
Serious point here: Is the topside of this "decking" any different to the underside? If not, is it actually going to be a safe surface to walk on without slipping? Give me a solid foot of concrete underfoot anytime.It's a fair question. Surely they'll have to make sure the walking surface isn't slippy before being granted safety certificates.

The last thing we want to see is footage of yams hurtling down the slope and falling over. [emoji6]

24-08-2017, 11:07 PM
Once it's finished and the Jambos are done with their predictable bravado/bluff about their 'Super, new stand', can you imagine the effect it's going to have on them mentally, when they eventually realise that they're stuck with this, this ... 'Effort' for at least 30-50 years (assuming it doesn't fall down/collapse) and that they've run-up all that debt and all to end up with a ground SMALLER than ours ??

24-08-2017, 11:18 PM
Hearts will no doubt count the chairs in the police control room to bump up the capacity of the ground.

Tornadoes70
24-08-2017, 11:21 PM
Once it's finished and the Jambos are done with their predictable bravado/bluff about their 'Super, new stand', can you imagine the effect it's going to have on them mentally, when they eventually realise that they're stuck with this, this ... 'Effort' for at least 30-50 years (assuming it doesn't fall down/collapse) and that they've run-up all that debt and all to end up with a ground SMALLER than ours ??

100%

I think it looks absolutely terrible. They'll be wishing they still had the old stand still in its place before too long, it may have been old and dilapidated but at least it looked like a football stand.

24-08-2017, 11:36 PM
100%

I think it looks absolutely terrible. They'll be wishing they still had the old stand still in its place before too long, it may have been old and dilapidated but at least it looked like a football stand.

No school like old school . Times change but I still miss old east. Ibrox I hate to say is a fine stadium

25-08-2017, 12:10 AM
No idea why but I read all the posts about this new stand over on Kickback as if it was a redneck talking on every post with that deep redneck accent.

Could be painkillers but it made me chuckle!!

25-08-2017, 03:03 AM
No idea why but I read all the posts about this new stand over on Kickback as if it was a redneck talking on every post with that deep redneck accent.

Could be painkillers but it made me chuckle!!

You did well to read anything amongst all the creepy faces they seem to like adding to posts over there. Strange breed.

25-08-2017, 04:11 AM
3.2 ... That amount is familiar.... :wink:

Yes than number previosly verified. Less than the overspend on the Yams' new stand.

25-08-2017, 05:44 AM
While at the end when this stand has been built, none of them will really bother what it looks like as it will seat everyone that wants to watch the football.

I do agree it looks shockingly bad from the back, but that does not make any difference to me in the grand scheme of things.

Personally, i think they should have gone with Vlads plan rather than this one.

25-08-2017, 08:29 AM
In sure our East Stand was built within budget and completed a full month ahead schedule.

Just saying likes!

Dr What If?
25-08-2017, 09:01 AM
Too many of my mate are Jambo's and I can say that they are very confident they will have a better stadium with a bigger capacity than ours at the end of it...after talking to them I have to tell you, reading this thread is like therapy!
I still don't get why their stand is so expensive though? It isn't that big, they can only fit so many bars, changing rooms, etc. into it and it doesn't look like there is anything 'state of the art' about it! I also don't see where the heck all the cash is coming from? Those DD's must be raking in £millions!!!
I suppose it is good for Scottish football that another club will have a complete and modern fully equipped stadium, I don't like the way our game in consistently talked down, even by our own media. That said, when finished, this will be no Easter Road :wink:

25-08-2017, 09:06 AM
I don't understand how they got planning permission to build such an eye-sore! That's the kind of 60s architecture that gets bulldozed these days.

Velma Dinkley
25-08-2017, 09:12 AM
Too many of my mate are Jambo's and I can say that they are very confident they will have a better stadium with a bigger capacity than ours at the end of it...after talking to them I have to tell you, reading this thread is like therapy!
I still don't get why their stand is so expensive though? It isn't that big, they can only fit so many bars, changing rooms, etc. into it and it doesn't look like there is anything 'state of the art' about it! I also don't see where the heck all the cash is coming from? Those DD's must be raking in £millions!!!
I suppose it is good for Scottish football that another club will have a complete and modern fully equipped stadium, I don't like the way our game in consistently talked down, even by our own media. That said, when finished, this will be no Easter Road :wink:

It will be complete and modern when they rebuild the other three stands, which are all death traps.

25-08-2017, 09:18 AM
As others have said the stand keeps getting worse.

Before when it was a shell you could use imagination to think what it may look like. Now reality hits that it's just another bus shelter and once all closed up will look as ugly as the pictures above of the current stands.

My main concern is the nursery - the kids and families have been inconvenienced and still away from their home and nothing has been mentioned of when they return.

Callyballybe
25-08-2017, 09:21 AM
I'm sure this has been covered already in the last 90 odd pages of this thread. But I see that a few on here are posting that the capacity of Tynie, once the new stand is complete, wll be 20,099 or there abouts.

Is this the most 'official' figure as we're likely to find?

As far as I'm aware they still haven't released what the final capacity will be - which is laughable. I'm no expert but I'd estimate that several months in any construction of a stand you'd surely know how big it was going to be (count the number of seats you've ordered perhaps..?)

However, I was out with a few Jambo mates recently and inevitably the discussion turned to their new stand. What struck me was when the actual capacity was mentioned, there was an instant uniform agreement that it'll definitely be "just short of 21k'. Which is ominous, as all that tells me is that they are none the wiser as well.

I'm personally of the belief that after all the drama and attention they've managed to attract in building just one stand (I repeat - just one stand!) Coupled with their desperation to still be seen as the 'big team', there is no way they'd allow their newly updated 'home' to still be less of a capacity than ours. I certainly wouldn't put it past their mentality to ensure (if at all possible) that they'd have even one seat more than us - just as long as they can claim to have the bigger of the two stadiums.

Can we say with reasonable certainty that it still won't reach the capacity of ER? Or is alot of it wishful thinking on our part? (As much as the 'just short of 21k' would be wishful thinking on theirs?)

Velma Dinkley
25-08-2017, 09:25 AM
Will the ever-increasing cost of this stand affect the amount of money Hearts fans have to pay to gain ownership of the club, if they ever start putting money towards shares?

25-08-2017, 09:31 AM
While at the end when this stand has been built, none of them will really bother what it looks like as it will seat everyone that wants to watch the football.

I do agree it looks shockingly bad from the back, but that does not make any difference to me in the grand scheme of things.

Personally, i think they should have gone with Vlads plan rather than this one.

Wasn't that going to cost £50 M?

They'd have to drastically increase the Direct Debits for that.

25-08-2017, 09:35 AM
I'm sure this has been covered already in the last 90 odd pages of this thread. But I see that a few on here are posting that the capacity of Tynie, once the new stand is complete, wll be 20,099 or there abouts.

In today's Evening News interview Daly refers to "getting back to Tynecastle and having 18,000 people cheering us on". Does he just mean the Hearts fans or is he referring to the capacity being similar to what it has been up until now ie 17.5k? Or does he not have a clue? Probably the latter.

Can't say the capacity thing bothers me. Hibs have kopped flak for a few years from folk who say we built the stadium too big. Glad to see that being proved wrong and it would be great if in the not too distant future we needed to expand the capacity but overall not a major issue.

25-08-2017, 09:39 AM
I think there's a lot of unnecessary bitterness on here regarding Hearts new Stand.

How I think of it is that I'm incredibly grateful to those Hearts fans that scrimp and save every month to put every spare penny they have into the building of this Stand... just so that we can have a better setting for our regular LC Semi Final appearances.

To me, that's quite a touching gesture from our neighbours.

25-08-2017, 09:43 AM

As far as I'm aware they still haven't released what the final capacity will be - which is laughable. I'm no expert but I'd estimate that several months in any construction of a stand you'd surely know how big it was going to be (count the number of seats you've ordered perhaps..?)

However, I was out with a few Jambo mates recently and inevitably the discussion turned to their new stand. What struck me was when the actual capacity was mentioned, there was an instant uniform agreement that it'll definitely be "just short of 21k'. Which is ominous, as all that tells me is that they are none the wiser as well.

I'm personally of the belief that after all the drama and attention they've managed to attract in building just one stand (I repeat - just one stand!) Coupled with their desperation to still be seen as the 'big team', there is no way they'd allow their newly updated 'home' to still be less of a capacity than ours. I certainly wouldn't put it past their mentality to ensure (if at all possible) that they'd have even one seat more than us - just as long as they can claim to have the bigger of the two stadiums.

Can we say with reasonable certainty that it still won't reach the capacity of ER? Or is alot of it wishful thinking on our part? (As much as the 'just short of 21k' would be wishful thinking on theirs?)

This is direct from the Planning Application.

Tynecastle has a total current licensed capacity of 17 529. The Wheatfield stand presently

seats 5918, the Gorgie stand- 3340, and the Roseburn [School End] stand - 3551. At present
the main grand stand can only seat 4720 people.
The stadium is regularly full and there is substantial interest from fans asking to increase
the number of seats. The expansion of the Main stand will bring the total capacity to 20 099

The image is the stand with police box in place from the pitch

Callyballybe
25-08-2017, 09:55 AM

Perfect - Thanks for this GF. Exactly the kind of thing I was looking for.

25-08-2017, 09:56 AM

What will the capacity be after the completion of the new stand?

Capacity will rise to over 20,000 seats

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/5098

Callyballybe
25-08-2017, 10:09 AM
In today's Evening News interview Daly refers to "getting back to Tynecastle and having 18,000 people cheering us on". Does he just mean the Hearts fans or is he referring to the capacity being similar to what it has been up until now ie 17.5k? Or does he not have a clue? Probably the latter.

Can't say the capacity thing bothers me. Hibs have kopped flak for a few years from folk who say we built the stadium too big. Glad to see that being proved wrong and it would be great if in the not too distant future we needed to expand the capacity but overall not a major issue.

Yeah agreed, capacity wise ER is fine for our current circumstance. Of course would love to see us in a position where there would be a reason for us to fill in a corner (or two) some point in the future - not holding my breath at the moment though.

From a purely subjective point of view however, I'd love it if after all is said and done their tinpot of a stadium was still smaller than ours - and from the above evidence, it looks like it will be.

25-08-2017, 10:10 AM

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/5098

The picture in the article is the FAKE one they all fell for :na na:

From same article..

Will the build impact on any matches at Tynecastle?

We do not anticipate having to move any domestic fixtures away from Tynecastle. :greengrin

Funding

How will the new stadium be funded?

It is anticipated that the full funding plan will be announced within the next three months and in advance of the full planning application being submitted. :worried: Does anyone have a link for this information ?

Finally

Will our new stadium be equipped to allow us to play European football?

Yes it will comply with UEFA standards. (Is this a choice of words?)

25-08-2017, 10:14 AM
A question for those that have seen the building. All the drawings and artist impressions have a curved facade facing the street, but the photographs all look as if it is a flat facade of glass 'curtain', which is it?

25-08-2017, 10:15 AM
The picture in the article is the FAKE one they all fell for :na na:

From same article..

Will the build impact on any matches at Tynecastle?

We do not anticipate having to move any domestic fixtures away from Tynecastle.

A lie.

Funding

How will the new stadium be funded?

It is anticipated that the full funding plan will be announced within the next three months and in advance of the full planning application being submitted. :worried: Does anyone have a link for this information ?

They haven't announced how the shortfall or the overspend is to be funded. A lie.

Finally

Will our new stadium be equipped to allow us to play European football?

Yes it will comply with UEFA standards. (Is this a choice of words?)

A lie.

25-08-2017, 10:19 AM
A question for those that have seen the building. All the drawings and artist impressions have a curved facade facing the street, but the photographs all look as if it is a flat facade of glass 'curtain', which is it?

It is curved.

25-08-2017, 10:22 AM

A lie.

Actually, there's different standards for different levels of UEFA competitions and a lot of clubs are also given exceptions (e.g. Liverpool's pitch is too small, at 101 metres long).

Hibbycol
25-08-2017, 10:26 AM

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/5098Laughable that a wee statement note states : please note this is an artist's impression and is subject to change :
NO [emoji90] SHERLOCK , ahla Dali esque . goes from a recognised football stand to a 1970s eastern blok grey non entity of a building in one flick of a pen ,haven't the hertz eejits compared the all shiny new artists version to the ACTUAL version and not stopped and thought " wait a minute, that's phutchin not what I am paying my direct debit fur " !!!! DELUDED doesn't compute ,or the fable THE EMPEROR'S NEW CLOTHED STAND .[emoji16]

25-08-2017, 10:29 AM
They're taking flippin ages building this thing. I'm looking forward to someone doing a seat count when it's done.

25-08-2017, 10:34 AM
My main concern is the nursery - the kids and families have been inconvenienced and still away from their home and nothing has been mentioned of when they return.

Really??

You sure it's not cause it's Hearts invloved?

If it was Tesco doing a redevelopment that meant the nursery was affected i bet you wouldn't Even have noticed.

25-08-2017, 10:43 AM
They're taking flippin ages building this thing. I'm looking forward to someone doing a seat count when it's done.

You can do that now..

https://www.eticketing.co.uk/heartofmidlothian/details/event.aspx?itemref=1495

25-08-2017, 11:22 AM

Going by that they are expecting the capacity of the new stand to be 7290.

Given our east stand only holds about 6500 i'm not really seeing how that is possible

25-08-2017, 11:25 AM
Going by that they are expecting the capacity of the new stand to be 7290.

Given our east stand only holds about 6500 i'm not really seeing how that is possible

Thinner seats.

25-08-2017, 11:28 AM
Actually, there's different standards for different levels of UEFA competitions and a lot of clubs are also given exceptions (e.g. Liverpool's pitch is too small, at 101 metres long).

I can't find any list of stadiums that comply anyway. I'm pretty certain that if they get to Europa group stages they will get to play at tincastle.

Caversham Green
25-08-2017, 11:37 AM

Those accounts show the exact cost of the stand in the 'Tangible fixed assets' note - it was £3,368,210. That's less that a quarter of the cost of Tynie's for a similar sized stand but with less glass.

And no chips.

Crazyhorse
25-08-2017, 11:37 AM

Why don't you take out a piece of paper ask them to write down the capacity of the three existing stands (including the enforced reductions to enlarge the pitch area in 2005) and the projected total capacity of the new stand? The total will always keep adding up to 19,766 much to the annoyance of your jambo chumps ... I mean chums.

EH54
25-08-2017, 11:38 AM
https://scontent-lht6-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20992596_494049544278954_2553122053332686412_n.jpg ?oh=d6b3048feb0e96dd42be721afd32c312&oe=5A25B70C

25-08-2017, 11:40 AM
Why don't you take out a piece of paper ask them to write down the capacity of the three existing stands (including the enforced reductions to enlarge the pitch area in 2005) and the projected total capacity of the new stand? The total will always keep adding up to 19,766 much to the annoyance of your jambo chumps ... I mean chums.

Does that take into account the seats missing for the new tunnel in the wheatfield?

Crazyhorse
25-08-2017, 11:40 AM
Those accounts show the exact cost of the stand in the 'Tangible fixed assets' note - it was £3,368,210. That's less that a quarter of the cost of Tynie's for a similar sized stand but with less glass.

And no chips.

And no amazing executive boxes with a view of the high school. Or "beautiful piazza" to quote the yam marketing material.

Leith's finest
25-08-2017, 11:42 AM
Drove down gorgie today and had a look, some windows are pink at the roseburn end, so it's still pbs

25-08-2017, 11:42 AM
Thinner seats.

Good point, they are basically the Ryanair of football stadiums :greengrin

Crazyhorse
25-08-2017, 11:45 AM
https://scontent-lht6-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20992596_494049544278954_2553122053332686412_n.jpg ?oh=d6b3048feb0e96dd42be721afd32c312&oe=5A25B70C

Maybe its the angle of the photo but that makes it look a tight fit to get the lower rows in. If you know what I mean?

EH54
25-08-2017, 11:48 AM
Looks like the lower seats will start a little further along from where the police box is definitely.

25-08-2017, 11:48 AM
Maybe its the angle of the photo but that makes it look a tight fit to get the lower rows in. If you know what I mean?I asked this earlier and I think the response was the bottom bit for the seats hasn't been put on yet due to the cranes etc needing the access which makes sense

25-08-2017, 12:04 PM
There's a few folk have been questioning why there is such discussion on here regarding the Yams new stand. I've probably said this before, but in all honesty I don't think most Hibs fans would have been all that bothered about the subject if it wasn't for the typical excess of hot air blowing from the west of the city regarding anything they do, and this stand is no different.

In all honesty I couldn't give a rats ass if the bus shelter's capacity was bigger than Easter Road's. But because they love their 'big team, wee team' boast it has to be a cause of hilarity to any Hibby that when its finished their stadium will still be smaller than Easter Road ...... not because it matters to us, but because it so clearly matters to them.

They came up with fanciful drawings of beautiful curved glass curtain walls which would make the new stand the envy of Scottish football and in typical Yam fashion boasted about setting standards for the future ..... what they are delivering is a 1970s office block, which under any circumstances would be more than acceptable when you look at most Scottish grounds .... But because its them they just cant help gilding the Lily, even before the event ( with a prime example being the Sky View lounge with sweeping views towards the castle, which turns out to have nothing of the sort )
When this is finished most Yams are going to have the same look on their face as David St Hubbins from 'Spinal Tap' did when that tiny Stonehenge mock up dropped from the ceiling onto the stage as everybody else falls about laughing.

As a club they have worked extremely hard to reinvent themselves since administration, its all about setting standards for the rest of us to envy and follow ... convoluted sickly attempts to copy Barcelona by engineering a 'Save the Children' sponsorship .... press conferences to announce the living wage .... allowing the media to report FOH as a successful example of fan ownership when as things stand its nothing of the sort and worse trying to make it look like some sort of great idea they came up with, rather than what it actually was, a final throw of the dice born of necessity in order to save the club. .......... They are like the sanctimonious ex smoker of Scottish football.

No ... this lot, instead of going about their business quietly, have tried to portray themselves as the acme of how to run a football club since they disgraced themselves and their fans have never managed to embrace the required decent period of humility that would have been appropriate following their spectacular fall from grace, especially when it comes to their attitude towards us. Is it any wonder we fall about laughing when football's example promise the Taj Mahal and deliver a TESCO and forget to order seats for this wonder of the world.

I hope this thread runs to 1000 pages .... its not like its gonna be short of materiel :greengrin

25-08-2017, 12:11 PM
There's a few folk have been questioning why there is such discussion on here regarding the Yams new stand. I've probably said this before, but in all honesty I don't think most Hibs fans would have been all that bothered about the subject if it wasn't for the typical excess of hot air blowing from the west of the city regarding anything they do, and this stand is no different.

In all honesty I couldn't give a rats ass if the bus shelter's capacity was bigger than Easter Road's. But because they love their 'big team, wee team' boast it has to be a cause of hilarity to any Hibby that when its finished their stadium will still be smaller than Easter Road ...... not because it matters to us, but because it so clearly matters to them.

They came up with fanciful drawings of beautiful curved glass curtain walls which would make the new stand the envy of Scottish football and in typical Yam fashion boasted about setting standards for the future ..... what they are delivering is a 1970s office block, which under any circumstances would be more than acceptable when you look at most Scottish grounds .... But because its them and they just cant help gilding the Lily, even before the event, when this is finished most Yams are going to have the same look on their face as David St Hubbins from 'Spinal Tap' did when that tiny Stonehenge mock up dropped from the ceiling onto the stage as everybody else falls about laughing.

As a club they have worked extremely hard to reinvent themselves since administration, its all about setting standards for the rest of us to envy and follow ... convoluted sickly attempts to copy Barcelona by engineering a 'Save the Children' sponsorship .... press conferences to announce the living wage .... allowing the media to report FOH as a successful example of fan ownership when as things stand its nothing of the sort and worse trying to make it look like some sort of great idea they came up with, rather than what it actually was, a final throw of the dice born of necessity in order to save the club. .......... They are like the sanctimonious ex smoker of Scottish football.

No ... this lot, instead of going about their business quietly, have tried to portray themselves as the acme of how to run a football club since they disgraced themselves and their fans have never managed to embrace the required decent period of humility that would have been appropriate following their spectacular fall from grace, especially when it comes to their attitude towards us. Is it any wonder we fall about laughing when football's example promise the Taj Mahal and deliver a TESCO and forget to order seats for this wonder of the world.

I hope this thread runs to 1000 pages .... its not like its gonna be short of materiel :greengrin

I have no real interest in the stand itself, it's a bogstandard perfectly acceptable stand. Nothing unique about it but does what it says on the tin. The ballooning cost of it is where it gets interesting. Hopefully that continues.
The back of it looks a bit naff but then so do most football stadiums, ours included. However they have built a pretty big building on the back of theirs and that may allow them to make more non match day cash than we can but that's a bit away yet.

25-08-2017, 12:17 PM
Maybe its the angle of the photo but that makes it look a tight fit to get the lower rows in. If you know what I mean?

That is something I raised weeks ago, the rake of the stand suggests there will be a very small run-off at the side f the pitch.

25-08-2017, 12:34 PM
I have no real interest in the stand itself, it's a bogstandard perfectly acceptable stand. Nothing unique about it but does what it says on the tin. The ballooning cost of it is where it gets interesting. Hopefully that continues.
The back of it looks a bit naff but then so do most football stadiums, ours included. However they have built a pretty big building on the back of theirs and that may allow them to make more non match day cash than we can but that's a bit away yet.

Absolutely Ozy ........ The only thing I wonder about is the suggestion that with this new stand they might be able to raise more money than us through off field activities. I wouldn't imagine that the total corporate area available to them when this is finished will be any greater than we have when you consider that we have 3 stands with space available for stuff like that and yet we have given one over to the NHS project and the other one is mostly used for social and community purposes rather than entertainment.

That tells me that there is a finite market when it comes to making money from corporate and entertainment events, or at least the money to be made isn't as good as it can be if you put the space over to other uses, and that's why Hibs have been working to find other ways to maximise the revenue from our infrastructure.

What I would say is that the one area where we definitely left the Yams standing was in having a fans bar ..... as I understand it there are no plans to have one in their new stand, but they are looking to do something in the Wheatfield once the new stand is up and running and the dressing rooms currently in the Wheatfield are no longer needed. That's one of the reasons why IMO Hibs simply have to maximise our efforts to find a permanent and at least as good replacement for BTG ..... it was a great idea to have a fans bar and even better that Hearts didn't, if within a couple of years the roles are reversed I think Hibs will have made a big mistake.

25-08-2017, 12:43 PM

They came up with fanciful drawings of beautiful curved glass curtain walls which would make the new stand the envy of Scottish football and in typical Yam fashion boasted about setting standards for the future ..... what they are delivering is a 1970s office block, which under any circumstances would be more than acceptable when you look at most Scottish grounds .... But because its them they just cant help gilding the Lily, even before the event ( with a prime example being the Sky View lounge with sweeping views towards the castle, which turns out to have nothing of the sort )
When this is finished most Yams are going to have the same look on their face as David St Hubbins from 'Spinal Tap' did when that tiny Stonehenge mock up dropped from the ceiling onto the stage as everybody else falls about laughing.

Sums it up awfy well. As with their big brother in the west, they just cannat do the wee bit of humility their situation merits, preferring the nauseating Billy Big Bxws approach which leaves them open to the regular and ongoing custard pie in the mush which accompanies life in the Alternate Universe.
We just need to make sure we continue to give it to them on the pitch, while they do it to themselves off it.

25-08-2017, 01:02 PM
The thing is, if they were paying 6/7/8 million for it it would be fair enough, but they're paying £14 million minimum. For the longest glass curtain that isn't an office block in Scotland that is a huge whack.

And all their direct debits are going into it.

And their owner is charging them interest on a loan.

And it's pink.

25-08-2017, 01:21 PM
Absolutely Ozy ........ The only thing I wonder about is the suggestion that with this new stand they might be able to raise more money than us through off field activities. I wouldn't imagine that the total corporate area available to them when this is finished will be any greater than we have when you consider that we have 3 stands with space available for stuff like that and yet we have given one over to the NHS project and the other one is mostly used for social and community purposes rather than entertainment.

That tells me that there is a finite market when it comes to making money from corporate and entertainment events, or at least the money to be made isn't as good as it can be if you put the space over to other uses, and that's why Hibs have been working to find other ways to maximise the revenue from our infrastructure.

What I would say is that the one area where we definitely left the Yams standing was in having a fans bar ..... as I understand it there are no plans to have one in their new stand, but they are looking to do something in the Wheatfield once the new stand is up and running and the dressing rooms currently in the Wheatfield are no longer needed. That's one of the reasons why IMO Hibs simply have to maximise our efforts to find a permanent and at least as good replacement for BTG ..... it was a great idea to have a fans bar and even better that Hearts didn't, if within a couple of years the roles are reversed I think Hibs will have made a big mistake.

Just wait and see where the council plan to have staff awaydays and other assorted jollies.

25-08-2017, 01:32 PM
Just wait and see where the council plan to have staff awaydays and other assorted jollies.

Damn it, I had forgotten about that. Mind you, considering the huge amount of ( lets be kind ) leeway the Yams have been afforded by the council when it comes to the mega stand will they not be due a good them few years of freebies before the worthies in Edinburgh's corridors of power feel obliged to actually pay for anything :greengrin

25-08-2017, 01:41 PM
If the costs of the build keep rising then it could be a while before these suites are fitted out anyway.

25-08-2017, 03:20 PM

Agree their arrogance knows no ends. Let's humilate them on this thread for ever on this end. There is nothing funnier than the establishment comibg a croper.

25-08-2017, 03:31 PM
Having done some football courses at the PBS and other work things there then recently went on the ER Stadium tour - our stadium and main stand is such a better build.

Again what's been mentioned is the fact Hibs can expand in the corners or behind the East Stand if required. Hearts have hit the glass ceiling and I know in 20 years time when kids of various Hibs supporting families have grown up - ER will have improved further where as the PBS will be falling apart and needing some desperate attention. Plus the Hearts families will still be paying Budgie back for the millions spent on the office block stand.

25-08-2017, 04:25 PM
To fully maximise the space and use of the facilities in the new stand, it would have been beneficial to host international or European matches. However their tiny pitch puts the buffers on that one and makes our stadium the natural option (out with Murrayfield).

25-08-2017, 04:42 PM
Does that take into account the seats missing for the new tunnel in the wheatfield?

Or the seats for behind the TARDIS?

Sioux
25-08-2017, 05:08 PM

If Hibs were to build a supporters bar, the obvious place now would be the east stand, probably on a second level. The existing structure might be suitable for that but the costs would probably be substantial. Lets say the build cost was
£1.5 - £2m, and a profit margin when up and running at 10 - 15% (industry average), it doesn't make any sense financially. A lot of money to throw away with no possibility of adequate return on the 'investment'.

The cheap version is on the ground floor with a simple an interior fit out similar to the tent. Hardly enough to entice.

25-08-2017, 05:17 PM
press conferences to announce the living wage ....

This from the club that is currently using agency workers as cheap labour, I know that a few agency guys have been asked to do work which should pay more than the bottom rate they've been recieving and then laid off for asking for the higher pay rate.

Another wee snippet I heard from a lad who worked on site was all workers are now banned from taking photos, its a sackable offence now...what have they got to hide? I've worked on loads of stadiums and have never known of a no photo policy. Weirdos

25-08-2017, 05:24 PM
Wonder if a hibby has entombed some Hibee stuff in the foundations.

25-08-2017, 05:39 PM
If Hibs were to build a supporters bar, the obvious place now would be the east stand, probably on a second level. The existing structure might be suitable for that but the costs would probably be substantial. Lets say the build cost was
£1.5 - £2m, and a profit margin when up and running at 10 - 15% (industry average), it doesn't make any sense financially. A lot of money to throw away with no possibility of adequate return on the 'investment'.

The cheap version is on the ground floor with a simple an interior fit out similar to the tent. Hardly enough to entice.

I can't see the pub building anything permanent. It just doesn't make financial sense.

25-08-2017, 05:39 PM
Wonder if a hibby has entombed some Hibee stuff in the foundations.

Theres a photo floating around twitter of a group of workers in the greenhouse standing behind an Erin Go Bragh flag. Good chance the flag is now propping up the pink palace

25-08-2017, 05:51 PM
I don't understand how they got planning permission to build such an eye-sore! That's the kind of 60s architecture that gets bulldozed these days.

They might just be going for the Carbuncle Cup

25-08-2017, 06:25 PM

It depends on your outlook when it comes to stuff like this Sioux ....... Perhaps a supporters bar didn't and wont make the club a lot of money profit wise, but what it did do was provide a connect between the club and fans that was a wee bit more than just seeing us as punters to ante up at the gate, club shop or the normal matchday hospitality venues in the main stand, which while available to everybody cost a lot more than a pie and a pint in a fans bar and can hardly be considered as something fans could use regularly as part of a normal trip to Easter Road.

From my point of view the value to Hibs of having a fans bar goes beyond just pounds shillings and pence, its true value was in promoting a feeling amongst the support that Easter Road was a place that belonged to all of us ( our home if you like ) and not just the place where folk connected with the club in an administrative or playing sense could strut the corridors and at best press the flesh with folk who can afford corporate hospitality as a norm or who turn up there for special occasions.

As I've said before, Hibs have made a huge effort to make the club more of a community friendly institution when it comes to Edinburgh and Leith in particular .... what they have to beware of when going about this is that in trying to make the club attractive to the wider community they don't lose sight of the core community that is more vital to the club than any other ..... IE the folk who actively support it by cheering the team on the park and buying club related stuff off of it.

Far from having a supporters bar and then doing away with it, if we had never had one to begin with I would have hoped that as part of this new club ethos part of our strategy would have been to take the logical step ( at least to me ) of creating one. That's why I feel that if Hibs don't have it in mind to create a permanent replacement for BTG their admirable efforts to engage with the wider community will be offset by a failure to maintain probably the best thing they had done in 30 years to give the clubs active supporters the feeling that we are part of it and not just its customers.

So yeh ..... spending a million quid on a new bar in the east might not make the club much money so far as 'takings' go, but so long as such a venture could be sustained on a break even basis in the longer term the benefits will far outweigh the negatives when it comes to engagement with existing fans and attracting and keeping new fans ....... in losing BTG the club lost far more than just a supporters bar if you ask me and that's a real shame.

Skol
25-08-2017, 06:36 PM
....and it could be a place to view away games as well via beamback

25-08-2017, 07:05 PM
According to tonight's Evening News...

"building work remains on schedule for its revised completion date. "

Do they realise that's a contradiction in terms?

25-08-2017, 07:39 PM
According to tonight's Evening News...

"building work remains on schedule for its revised completion date. "

Do they realise that's a contradiction in terms?

Not to mention that to keep it on schedule in future, all they have to do is keep revising said completion date. Masters of obfuscation

25-08-2017, 08:30 PM

Yup, this post sums-up the Jambos perfectly - forever living in a '5-star Restaurant' world despite their 'Food bank' status reality !

25-08-2017, 08:38 PM
I asked this earlier and I think the response was the bottom bit for the seats hasn't been put on yet due to the cranes etc needing the access which makes sense

And if they'd gone on the pitch like most other builds everything could have been in by now. Slow boats from China/Korea permitting of course.

25-08-2017, 08:40 PM

Excellent post.

Sioux
25-08-2017, 10:25 PM
It depends on your outlook when it comes to stuff like this Sioux ....... Perhaps a supporters bar didn't and wont make the club a lot of money profit wise, but what it did do was provide a connect between the club and fans that was a wee bit more than just seeing us as punters to ante up at the gate, club shop or the normal matchday hospitality venues in the main stand, which while available to everybody cost a lot more than a pie and a pint in a fans bar and can hardly be considered as something fans could use regularly as part of a normal trip to Easter Road.

From my point of view the value to Hibs of having a fans bar goes beyond just pounds shillings and pence, its true value was in promoting a feeling amongst the support that Easter Road was a place that belonged to all of us ( our home if you like ) and not just the place where folk connected with the club in an administrative or playing sense could strut the corridors and at best press the flesh with folk who can afford corporate hospitality as a norm or who turn up there for special occasions.

As I've said before, Hibs have made a huge effort to make the club more of a community friendly institution when it comes to Edinburgh and Leith in particular .... what they have to beware of when going about this is that in trying to make the club attractive to the wider community they don't lose sight of the core community that is more vital to the club than any other ..... IE the folk who actively support it by cheering the team on the park and buying club related stuff off of it.

Far from having a supporters bar and then doing away with it, if we had never had one to begin with I would have hoped that as part of this new club ethos part of our strategy would have been to take the logical step ( at least to me ) of creating one. That's why I feel that if Hibs don't have it in mind to create a permanent replacement for BTG their admirable efforts to engage with the wider community will be offset by a failure to maintain probably the best thing they had done in 30 years to give the clubs active supporters the feeling that we are part of it and not just its customers.

I get what you're saying. However, having no in-house bar didn't and won't affect the minber of fans who turn

So yeh ..... spending a million quid on a new bar in the east might not make the club much money so far as 'takings' go, but so long as such a venture could be sustained on a break even basis in the longer term the benefits will far outweigh the negatives when it comes to engagement with existing fans and attracting and keeping new fans ....... in losing BTG the club lost far more than just a supporters bar if you ask me and that's a real shame.

I get what you're saying, but having an in-house bar won't affect the number of fans that turn up at games. If the club has the luxury of a few extra bob that won't be better utilised on the team, then spending that money on cosmetics could be justified. We'd all be looking for a facility similar in quality to BTG, and as I hinted at earlier, that would be expensive. Unfortunately we are in a society that could be described as 'want want now and it better be good'. So, anything less than BTG will be met with complaints, especially on here. The club being in a no win situation.

I don't think a bar for a couple hundred or whatever is in any way likely to increase or diminish the connect between fans and club. It is only a minority that used BTG, I was occasionally one of them. The majority who didn't use it will have other ideas about connectivity.

It's a big expense to please a few.

mcfly
25-08-2017, 11:13 PM
Dunno if this has been mentioned before but how much are the SRU charging hearts to rent murrayfield?

I can't imagine it will be cheap

26-08-2017, 12:45 AM

Yes and how would a business women off Ann Budges calibre oversea a deal where critical materials are delivered late??

26-08-2017, 01:53 AM
See the news is giving the stand a big plug as worth waiting for! No mention that it is not just no seats causing the delay.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

26-08-2017, 05:06 AM
Ignoring the pitch-facing stand itself, which is a bit of a dodgy effort, there's something in some of the pictures that I actually like about the "office block" attached to it.

The pictures we see make it look hideous, like the worst examples of sixties/seventies architecture that aren't brave enough to use bold slabs of concrete and brutalist designs.

There are some good angles that do indeed make it look like a "wall of glass"...ones that omit the grey and make it look like the surface of one of those skyscrapers associated with 1980's popular culture.

From a purely architectural point of view I don't think there's anyone in the football world who will have an impartial point of view. Let's face it, they will collectively think the sun shines out of its erse while any other football fan will have their view clouded by their feeings towards Hearts.

However, I still think the first chant from our end will be "what the ****ing hell is that?" :greengrin

leithsansiro
26-08-2017, 06:44 AM
Dunno if this has been mentioned before but how much are the SRU charging hearts to rent murrayfield?

I can't imagine it will be cheap

£75k per match roughly.
Hearts pay policing and stewarding costs as they would've done anyway, albeit the costs might've slightly higher if the attendance is bigger than a Tynecastle.
Additional income, such as food, is kept by the SRU.
Hospitality is kept by the SRU and only a limited number of suites are available for Hearts to use.

26-08-2017, 06:50 AM
Yes and how would a business women off Ann Budges calibre oversea a deal where critical materials are delivered late??

Her business was IT. Late is their thing.

MurrayfieldHibs
26-08-2017, 07:02 AM
Her business was IT. Late is their thing.

Late, over budget, under scope and you are in too deep to back out.....:agree:

Hibbycol
26-08-2017, 09:16 AM
Ignoring the pitch-facing stand itself, which is a bit of a dodgy effort, there's something in some of the pictures that I actually like about the "office block" attached to it.

The pictures we see make it look hideous, like the worst examples of sixties/seventies architecture that aren't brave enough to use bold slabs of concrete and brutalist designs.

There are some good angles that do indeed make it look like a "wall of glass"...ones that omit the grey and make it look like the surface of one of those skyscrapers associated with 1980's popular culture.

From a purely architectural point of view I don't think there's anyone in the football world who will have an impartial point of view. Let's face it, they will collectively think the sun shines out of its erse while any other football fan will have their view clouded by their feeings towards Hearts.

However, I still think the first chant from our end will be "what the ****ing hell is that?" :greengrinor , "it's just an ugly phutchin greenhouse" [emoji16]

26-08-2017, 09:18 AM
or , "it's just an ugly phutchin greenhouse" [emoji16]

A 60's council building

Hibbycol
26-08-2017, 09:24 AM
A 60's council building12 mill-yon your havin a laff [emoji3]

26-08-2017, 09:31 AM
Anyone itk able to advise whether the seats have arrived, are in transit, or even if they have left China/ Far East yet.?

If they forgot to order them, is there some warehouse in China with thousands of seats to buy off the shelf, or do they have to be made up to spec?
It'll be interesting to see if they are the right size and strength to meet British safety standards when they do finally arrive.

Think this saga has got miles to run yet.

banchoryhibs
26-08-2017, 09:44 AM
Last night I was drinking with a couple of good mates who are sadly afflicted by being yams, albeit hardly ever go to games.
They have been offered a £40 package for the 3 games st Murrayfield , alternatively if they go to individual games with a season ticket holder they get in for half price. Neither will be taking up the deal.
Murrayfield is going to drain whatever funds are left.

26-08-2017, 09:49 AM
Anyone itk able to advise whether the seats have arrived, are in transit, or even if they have left China/ Far East yet.?

If they forgot to order them, is there some warehouse in China with thousands of seats to buy off the shelf, or do they have to be made up to spec?
It'll be interesting to see if they are the right size and strength to meet British safety standards when they do finally arrive.

Knowing Hearts, the seats will be extra small so that they can pack extra people into their substandard edifice. They are unlikely to be available off the shelf.

I don't believe for one moment that seats are the cause of the delays. The stand looks nowhere near complete from the pictures I have seen and the scheduled looked impossible.

26-08-2017, 09:50 AM

Moneys tight at the wongadome so they have got the plastic seat manufacturers to switch production away from seats and full steam ahead into the buoyant plastic owl market as there's a big demand down gorgie way and a stand budget black hole to fill.

Skol
26-08-2017, 10:48 AM
I hear the seats will me made with a rough surface so they are uncomfortable and leading to extra revenue from cushion sales.

26-08-2017, 10:55 AM

The stand that keeps on giving!

26-08-2017, 11:05 AM

Great post - sums it up nicely. The Yams are like Captain Mainwaring in Dad's Army, dull and boring, who only generate amusement through their incredible pomposity.

They are digging themselves into a deeper financial hole through the chronic maladministration of building a straightforward bog-standard stand, while still trying to talk it up as if it stands comparison to the ludicrous pipe dream of the Romanov era. They've learned little from those days, still a sniveling, deluded irrelevance, other than jest value.