View Full Version : Replacements

alihibs1
11-06-2017, 08:59 PM
If Jason goes, who replaces him?

I would love 2 of Moult, Stokes or Boyce (if he doesn't head to burton)

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

11-06-2017, 09:05 PM
I wonder if he'll have a look at Billy McKay as a cheapish squad player?

Not had a great couple of years but proven up here and Lennon likely to know what he's capable of if he can get the best out of him.

11-06-2017, 09:05 PM
I imagine our replacement for Cummings is already quite the way down the track

11-06-2017, 09:09 PM
Give all the cash from JC to Griffiths as a signing on fee then pay him £5k a week, ER would be packed out every game.

I can but dream :greengrin

11-06-2017, 09:09 PM

This 100%.

11-06-2017, 09:12 PM
Give all the cash from JC to Griffiths as a signing on fee then pay him £5k a week, ER would be packed out every game.

I can but dream :greengrin

Newcastle in for Griffiths.

11-06-2017, 09:14 PM

Got to hope Hibs have got someone lined up to soften the blow of losing him.

11-06-2017, 09:16 PM
Said it all of last year. Louis Moult is the striker I want at ER this coming season.

Tha Cabbage Kid
11-06-2017, 09:22 PM
What ever money we get for jase I hope we spend all of it up grading our team

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

Big L
11-06-2017, 09:24 PM
Heard we could be in for Tony Andreau.

11-06-2017, 09:24 PM
Said it all of last year. Louis Moult is the striker I want at ER this coming season.

Is he not heavily linked with rangers?

11-06-2017, 09:26 PM

Not really a striker, would play in behind. Wasn't impressed at all when I saw him last season but he scored a fair amount of goals.

thebausburst
11-06-2017, 09:27 PM
irish connection will see us get Boyce - watch and see!

MacGruber
11-06-2017, 09:30 PM

Hope not. He's decent but not better than what we have already.

Ilovehibs
11-06-2017, 09:31 PM

Really hope not.

11-06-2017, 09:31 PM

Wouldn't be a replacement for Jason though, plays a different position.

supermcginn
11-06-2017, 09:37 PM

No thanks

11-06-2017, 09:38 PM

Even more reason to sign him then :-)

11-06-2017, 09:45 PM

I hope you're joking. From what I've seen of him I'm not impressed.

11-06-2017, 09:54 PM

Moult would be good. Very good link up play from what I've seen and knows where the net is. Wouldn't be cheap though.

11-06-2017, 09:55 PM
Stokesy.

Big L
11-06-2017, 09:58 PM
Almost 1 in 2 with Hamilton, and same again in a poor Dun Utd team. Not an out and out striker, plays more of a 10 role, not a bad return from that position.

Pete70
11-06-2017, 10:01 PM
A big unknown foreigner for me.

The Leith Dutch
11-06-2017, 10:37 PM
Obvious names are Boyce, Moult and Doolan.

Boyce but with the goals last season plus an international cap it sounds like he may be a target down south which likely prices us out.
Doolan loves Thistle and they love him so I'd be surprised if he left especially at 30.
Moult would be my bet out the three. I noticed other folk suggesting a Sevco link but unless he changes his name to Moultinho I'm going for a no on that one ;)

Stokes seems unlikely due to the wage surely?

Here's hoping that Lennon can pick out the next Dembele and we get a £30 million striker for £500k ;)

11-06-2017, 10:41 PM
This 100%.

:agree: :wink: :greengrin

sean04
11-06-2017, 10:48 PM
Lee Erwin ex. Motherwell would be good

11-06-2017, 10:50 PM
Riordan :greengrin

11-06-2017, 10:52 PM
A.N Other goalscorer would do.

11-06-2017, 11:33 PM
Riordan :greengrin

:hyper

11-06-2017, 11:36 PM
If Jason goes, who replaces him?

I would love 2 of Moult, Stokes or Boyce (if he doesn't head to burton)

So would I. Any two of above and get Henderson back and IMO then that would be a great piece of business.

12-06-2017, 12:13 AM
I rate O'Halloran just as highly as Boyce and he'd be a good signing, but he's still got 3 years left on his contract so seems a non-starter, unless Sevco just want rid of him anyway.

hibs supporter
12-06-2017, 12:41 AM
What about steven dobbie

12-06-2017, 12:47 AM
What about steven dobbie

To replace Jason Cummings? **** me. Christ almighty.

12-06-2017, 01:35 AM
I'd like Ohalloran or Moult

MacGruber
12-06-2017, 05:32 AM
I'd like Ohalloran or Moult

O'Halloran has pace to burn but hasn't ever been a prolific goalscorer - he might prove to be a good addition (don't rate him personally) but we need goals.

12-06-2017, 06:50 AM
Certainly don't want a player with a better goal scoring record than Cummings in a much poorer team.

12-06-2017, 07:17 AM

Unless he's about to change his name to moulthenio - no chance.

12-06-2017, 08:29 AM

He may be getting on but then again so is Kenny Miller.

Age is about the only thing that might back up your comment because he scored more goals in the same league in a poorer team whilst also not playing up front the whole time.

12-06-2017, 08:55 AM
Cant help thinking NL might come up with someone out of left field, a bit like he did with Holt but hopefully a bit younger and a lot quicker :greengrin

hughio
12-06-2017, 09:08 AM
Cant help thinking NL might come up with someone out of left field, a bit like he did with Holt but hopefully a bit younger and a lot quicker :greengrin

Yeah.Hope you're right.
Surely that's the way to go?
Stokes on £14K a week isn't going to come unless we squander all the proceeds on his wages.
We need to cut our cloth according to our ability to pay.

Tamhere1875
12-06-2017, 09:44 AM
Oli Shaw

12-06-2017, 10:01 AM
Oli Shaw

A real prospect I've no doubt, but you cant heap pressure on the kid by handing him number 35 and telling him he is the replacement for a guy who has scored 20 goals a season for three seasons ..... by all means give him his chance, but it would be totally unfair to chuck him in at the deep end like that.

12-06-2017, 10:04 AM
Samaras and Bratbakk

plus Wato Kuate.

Tamhere1875
12-06-2017, 10:09 AM
A real prospect I've no doubt, but you cant heap pressure on the kid by handing him number 35 and telling him he is the replacement for a guy who has scored 20 goals a season for three seasons ..... by all means give him his chance, but it would be totally unfair to chuck him in at the deep end like that.
Did Jason not get flung in at the deepend Oli looks the part and we will never know if we don't give the laddie a chance

The Leith Dutch
12-06-2017, 10:11 AM
Oli Shaw

I am genuinely at a loss as to why so many people mention his name in the context of Cummings going.

Shaw looks a great prospect and I'd expect him to be sniffing around the bench this season where he's going to have to be grabbing any chances of 5 and 10 minutes here and there with both hands.

It would be properly mental to consider him a starter.
For him to start a game would require us to have 3 or probably 4 strikers out injured or for him to play exceptionally in any chance from the bench.

Put it this way, at the stage he's at if he racks up 5 hours of first team football and 2 or 3 goals by this time next year he'll have had a brilliant season for where he's at. Anything beyond that and I reckon we'll have a fully fledged star on our hands.

Tamhere1875
12-06-2017, 10:18 AM
This is what's wrong with Some of the Hibs supporters they are frightened to think that some young guy who has had a magnificent season both with the development team and Stenhousemuir and the Scotland u/19 team will not be up to it. We have a player here and one I think will make it big time.

12-06-2017, 10:22 AM
I don't know anything much about Oli Shaw, but I didn't know anything much about Jason Cummings either, and that worked out fine.

Was Cummings that far ahead of where Shaw is now, when he broke into the Hibs first team?

Ryan69
12-06-2017, 10:23 AM
This is what's wrong with Some of the Hibs supporters they are frightened to think that some young guy who has had a magnificent season both with the development team and Stenhousemuir and the Scotland u/19 team will not be up to it. We have a player here and one I think will make it big time.

Dont think he scored many at Stenhousemuir mate.
Probably abit too big a step right now.

12-06-2017, 10:23 AM

He may be up to it but it would also be majorly naive to go into a new season with an untested 19 year old as our first choice striker.

12-06-2017, 10:25 AM
I don't know anything much about Oli Shaw, but I didn't know anything much about Jason Cummings either, and that worked out fine.

Was Cummings that far ahead of where Shaw is now, when he broke into the Hibs first team?

Physically, Cummings was better placed to make the step up. He was obviously no stranger to the gym whereas Shaw is pretty slight at present.

Cummings also benefited from the fact the competition for attacking places was from Collins, Vine and Heffernan. I'd rather our attacking options were better than that next season.

12-06-2017, 10:32 AM
Did Jason not get flung in at the deepend Oli looks the part and we will never know if we don't give the laddie a chance

Aye he did get flung in. And didn't score a goal in about his first 17 games or something.

12-06-2017, 10:33 AM

He did. He didn't score in the league and we got relegated.

12-06-2017, 10:39 AM
Aye he did get flung in. And didn't score a goal in about his first 17 games or something.

He did. He didn't score in the league and we got relegated.

In an absolutely hopeless team, with an imposter managing them.

I'm not saying Oli Shaw is the answer to our potential goalscoring problems, I've no seen him play, he seems to be pretty highly rated though, so why can't he play a big part this coming season? We're obviously going to sign a couple of strikers as well, but I've seen enough of Brian Graham to know that I'd prefer we give Shaw a chance than persist with Graham.

12-06-2017, 10:42 AM

I'm not saying Oli Shaw is the answer to our potential goalscoring problems, I've no seen him play, he seems to be pretty highly rated though, so why can't he play a big part this coming season? We're obviously going to sign a couple of strikers as well, but I've seen enough of Brian Graham to know that I'd prefer we give Shaw a chance than persist with Graham.

Nobody is saying he can't play a big part, but he has to earn that when he is given opportunities in the first team off the bench. People are saying he should not come into the first team as a direct replacement for Cummings.

12-06-2017, 10:44 AM
Use the dosh to sign Greg Stewart and Liam Boyce.

12-06-2017, 10:44 AM
This thread is great fun.

12-06-2017, 10:45 AM

I don't know if Shaw is ready to step up but I'm confident that our coaching staff will know. Whether he turns out to be another Jason Cummings or Kenny Miller or maybe a Kurtis Byrne is another matter.

12-06-2017, 11:02 AM
I think young Chris Cadden at Motherwell is also worth a punt, both him and Moult already know each other so makes for easier fitting in the team.

12-06-2017, 11:06 AM

Sod that - it's now or never on the helicopter pad IMHO.

MacGruber
12-06-2017, 11:11 AM

Greg Stewart is a good shout

12-06-2017, 11:21 AM
Greg Stewart is a good shout

Under contract and most importantly on massive wages at Birmingham

supermcginn
12-06-2017, 11:29 AM
Under contract and most importantly on massive wages at Birmingham

On his way to hearts according to the sun

12-06-2017, 11:35 AM

Probably not but we got relegated and Cummings never scored till the play offs

12-06-2017, 11:37 AM

I'm not saying he shouldn't be given a chance, read my post again. What I'm saying is that we are, or at least should be, in a position where we aren't asking a laddie who scored 6 goals for the team that finished bottom of league 1 last season to be a first choice striker. Cummings was pushed into that position because we were desperate and he scored twice in 16 appearances and ended up missing a penalty the day we got relegated ..... Hardly the circumstances you want to push a young player into, many a player would have crumbled under that pressure.

By all means give Shaw a start against the lesser lights in our League Cup group and if he does well give him a spot on the bench at the start of our league campaign ...... but you would be doing a young player a massive disservice asking him to plug the gap left by the best striker at the club for three seasons running.

12-06-2017, 11:40 AM
On his way to hearts according to the sun

Aberdeen now. He's bumped hearts.

TheGreenMan
12-06-2017, 11:43 AM
Zlatan is on a free transfer is he not?

12-06-2017, 11:44 AM
Going to be interesting as if JC was still going to be here we still needed to buy a striker.

We now IMO need 2 forwards that walk into first 11 with Murray pushing hard but we defo need 2 good acts upfront.

indiejak1413
12-06-2017, 03:20 PM
Oli Shaw
Totally agree with you. That laddie is something special. I'm quite sure there are 2 or 3 from the 20s that could make the step up. Look and the young lads in the Ajax team,they didn't do to badly did they. Just give them a chance and let them play.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

12-06-2017, 04:05 PM
Think if Cummings does go we will need to find at least 3 strikers plus Shaw as we have lost 3 in Cummings Holt and Keatings and dont think NL thinks Graham is up to it. So you really need 2 playing and 2 on the bench or injured or suspended.

Baw187
12-06-2017, 04:18 PM
I reckon Lennon will bring in someone unexpected. Doubt it will be one of the obvious names kicking about.

E10 Rifle
12-06-2017, 04:23 PM
for attacking places was from Collins, Vine and Heffernan.

That just sent a shudder down my spine....may we never stoop so low again.:pray:

12-06-2017, 04:29 PM
I reckon Lennon will bring in someone unexpected. Doubt it will be one of the obvious names kicking about.

Ciftci on a seasons loan and Boyce on permanent contract.
If Cummings stays we won't need Ciftci.

NikGunnarsson
12-06-2017, 05:29 PM
Not seen anything about this guy yet, linked with him a wee while back
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/898611/hibs-could-look-to-former-charlton-striker-piotr-parzyszek-to-lead-them-up-front-in-return-to-premiership/
It's always hard to judge but he looks like he could fit the bill as our first choice and I would imagine now we would have the funds to entice him.
To be honest, I would love Moult but can't see it, would like to see a bit of a left-field signing!

12-06-2017, 05:33 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1138478/celtic-nadir-ciftci-instagram/

If true would he be worth a wee gamble?
Only 25 years old.

12-06-2017, 05:55 PM
Reading that Boyce has release clause of 500k [emoji848]

12-06-2017, 05:59 PM

A lot of cash for Hibs but if we lose Cummings we can afford it.
Almost guarenteed goals.
Every team needs a prolific goalscorer to be successful.

alihibs1
12-06-2017, 06:49 PM
Lewis Morgan from St Mirren? Plus somebody else. We need to bring atleast 3 strikers in this window if Cummings goes.

12-06-2017, 07:00 PM

That is doable, given the money we'd get for Cummings. The bigger question is whether we can match the wages he'll be offered down south.

12-06-2017, 07:01 PM
That is doable, given the money we'd get for Cummings. The bigger question is whether we can match the wages he'll be offered down south.

Sorry I just can't see Hibs spending £500k on a transfer fee

malcky
12-06-2017, 07:13 PM
Lewis Morgan from St Mirren? Plus somebody else. We need to bring atleast 3 strikers in this window if Cummings goes.

I'm sure Simon Murray will be good for a good few goals this season

12-06-2017, 08:49 PM
Is Mark Yardley still about?

12-06-2017, 08:52 PM
Is Mark Yardley still about?
About what? 8' wide?

E10 Rifle
12-06-2017, 09:55 PM
Sorry I just can't see Hibs spending £500k on a transfer fee

Agree not worth it nowadays, back in the day though paying Dundee that amount for Keith Wright was one of the best pieces of business the club ever did in my view.

12-06-2017, 09:56 PM
Ciftci would be a good signing. Big, strong centre forward who scores goals. With Murray and Boyle either side of him a 4-3-3 would be great to watch.

Keyser Sauzee
12-06-2017, 10:25 PM
Has Cifti actually been really prolific??? 11 league goals in his first season at DU isn't that great and he never scored that many more the 2nd season so I'm not really that impressed with him, add in his terrible discipline record and he's not that attractive of a signing. Boyce will cost us too much in fee and wages so I'm not sure who we will end up getting.

12-06-2017, 11:10 PM
About what? 8' wide?

Well everybody else has been mentioned on here 😀

12-06-2017, 11:19 PM
If we sell JC we should just go all in on Boyce. £500k for a striker with his numbers is worth the risk.

12-06-2017, 11:42 PM
If we sell JC we should just go all in on Boyce. £500k for a striker with his numbers is worth the risk.

12-06-2017, 11:57 PM

Close on a goal every two games for Cliftonville and Ross County .... that's a return not to be sniffed at for sure, especially his County record which is pretty impressive for a player outwith the uglies. Even so, unless he has a burning ambition to live in Edinburgh I just cant see him joining Hibs, the money on offer elsewhere will be way over what we can afford.

Having said that, if Hibs were to splash out half a million quid on one player it would be a hell of a statement of intent .... we aren't going to though.

13-06-2017, 12:18 AM
We really need to not mess around and therefore bring in almost guaranteed goals. The last time we lost a profilic striker and mucked about...

Get some proper cash spent on two forwards and lets challenge next year please Hibs :)