View Full Version : Leigh Griffiths

10-06-2017, 05:51 PM
"He's one of our own" 😎

10-06-2017, 06:00 PM
Anyone else have him to score from outside the box at 25/1?

Garymcl
10-06-2017, 06:24 PM
Surely the end of any talk of him coming here once and for all !!!!!!:greengrin

Chip shop Joe
10-06-2017, 06:37 PM
That haircut is not Hibs class. Looks like one of his kids has done it!

10-06-2017, 06:40 PM
Loves a near post banger doesn't he?

10-06-2017, 06:42 PM
:agree: Those two beauties may get him a big move down south to the land of riches.

10-06-2017, 06:42 PM

Any talk of him coming to ER was tosh anyway.

10-06-2017, 06:43 PM

Celtic class razor work.

10-06-2017, 06:52 PM
Celtic are way too smalltime for him.

10-06-2017, 07:04 PM
I've always thought him to be class. I really hope he gets a chance at the premier league. It amazes me that players such as Snodgrass get the chance and players such as Sparky don't.

10-06-2017, 07:07 PM

Sadly not.....had him to score first goal at 9/1

Navids Numpties
10-06-2017, 07:10 PM
Free-kick specialist. Much better than Celtic. Hope someone in the PL snaps him up. Wonder what he would go for. I reckon he would do well at a club like Everton.

tynehibs
10-06-2017, 07:10 PM
Utter hibs class one day maybe in the future (baker) ?

10-06-2017, 07:13 PM
I've got a feeling that no matter how well he does at Celtic or anyone else, Hibs will always be his team.

He might never play for us again, but he'll always be a Hibee.

I bet he wishes he was on the pitch on 21st May 2016.

Curly1875
10-06-2017, 07:26 PM
I've got a feeling that no matter how well he does at Celtic or anyone else, Hibs will always be his team.

He might never play for us again, but he'll always be a Hibee.

I bet he wishes he was on the pitch on 21st May 2016.

Maybe he was...

10-06-2017, 07:28 PM
Maybe he was...

Hahahaha. Having watched the sky presentation of that day 20/30 times, he Wasn't!
Delighted for him to get those two, gutted it didn't count for as much as it should have.

10-06-2017, 07:30 PM
:hyper:love ya!::hyper:love ya!::hyper:love ya!:

MixuMac
10-06-2017, 07:54 PM

I had 40/1 to score with a free kick

Keyser Sauzee
10-06-2017, 09:52 PM
Not trying to start a debate and sorry if this has been posted before but I was told tonight that when he was at Easter Road for talks with RP he said, and I quote, "I'm not leaving here till I sign a deal" for RP to then price himself out of it. Source, Leigh's brother Paul.

10-06-2017, 10:09 PM
Not trying to start a debate and sorry if this has been posted before but I was told tonight that when he was at Easter Road for talks with RP he said, and I quote, "I'm not leaving here till I sign a deal" for RP to then price himself out of it. Source, Leigh's brother Paul.

😂😂😂

👌

10-06-2017, 10:18 PM
I had him in the back of the taxi a couple of weeks ago and he promised he wouldn't score against hibs next season. You can all thank me later :greengrin
Before you ask, of course I didn't charge him.

10-06-2017, 10:20 PM
I had him in the back of the taxi a couple of weeks ago and he promised he wouldn't score against hibs next season. You can all thank me later :greengrin

Did he insist he wasn't leaving the taxi until Rod let him pay his half but somehow Rod still managed to make him leave with nothing being paid?

10-06-2017, 10:21 PM
😂😂😂

👌

That's the strangest worded LG thing I've read so far....
It's worded like Sparky was trying to sign Rodders, who then bumped him!
Source: Hans Christian Andersen. FACT

*Was meant to be a multi quote

10-06-2017, 10:23 PM
Did he insist he wasn't leaving the taxi until Rod let him pay his half but somehow Rod still managed to make him leave with nothing being paid?
He was on the phone for a bit so it's possible :greengrin

Clarence
10-06-2017, 10:51 PM
Apparently Wolves only wanted a bag of smashed crabs and some old lollipop sticks for Leigh but Petrie was too stingy and just offered a look of disdain. #sortioutpetrie

10-06-2017, 10:57 PM
Maybe he was...

Brilliant..

10-06-2017, 11:25 PM

When was this?

Criswell
10-06-2017, 11:27 PM

Petrie was of course more occupied with splashing the cash and capturing a far greater talent: James Collins!

10-06-2017, 11:29 PM
Hope he moves down South next season and gives it another go down South.

Celtc will price him in the £7.5m bracket if they decide to sell.

10-06-2017, 11:30 PM
Hope he moves down South next season and gives it another go down South.

Celtc will price him in the £7.5m bracket if they decide to sell.

He's got a 150k sell on clause, it's just that Rod refuses to pay.

10-06-2017, 11:33 PM
I used to work beside Paul, never heard that story before.

I did post ages ago after Pat Fenlon had left my mate went over to see him in Ireland. According to what my mate told me we had agreed a deal with Wolves and Petrie was down there trying to finalise it when they sacked the manager. The new one came in and said noone was leaving until he'd had a chance to assess the players, so the deal was off.

10-06-2017, 11:38 PM
Class from Leigh. Shame everyone else is seeing what we already knew.

10-06-2017, 11:55 PM

Aye ok then 😂😂😂

11-06-2017, 12:34 AM

If he does score you can run him over.

11-06-2017, 12:55 AM
:hyper so he's coming back?!

Mixu62
11-06-2017, 02:49 AM

In a taxi apparently...

11-06-2017, 05:29 AM
In a taxi apparently...

More like any taxi will be for Strachan rather than Sparky

11-06-2017, 07:47 AM
Feel for Leigh, had it not been for Craig Gordon he'd be well and truly written into the history books. Still, nobody will forget those free kicks!

11-06-2017, 07:49 AM

There's nothing in last nights events to make a move back to his hometown club less likely, I've been informed.

11-06-2017, 08:07 AM

If I ever make my fortune, I'll dump anyone pimping for Celtic, zombie apocalypse them into following them, (not true Hibees) and kidnap Leigh back so he can be truly unleashed to score and babyfather across the East to the West coast, marauding wherever he goes.

Or, Cumdog will inevitably fill the put the hole in the net role.

11-06-2017, 08:10 AM
There's nothing in last nights events to make a move back to his hometown club less likely, I've been informed.

Correct. It was 0% chance before and it's 0% chance still. I think BR would concur.

11-06-2017, 08:12 AM
If I ever make my fortune, I'll dump anyone pimping for Celtic, zombie apocalypse them into following them, (not true Hibees) and kidnap Leigh back so he can be truly unleashed to score and babyfather across the East to the West coast, marauding wherever he goes.

Or, Cumdog will inevitably fill the put the hole in the net role.

This makes perfect sense to me. He's coming home :hyper

11-06-2017, 09:00 AM
Problem is the minute we look like striking a deal the yam will smash open the big red coo and gazump us, they can't help themselves.

Hibeesforever
11-06-2017, 09:03 AM
Sublime free kicks, of course we knew his ability from when he did the same against Hearts. Top man.

11-06-2017, 09:10 AM
We should just cut our numbers by 3/4 so that we can offer Leigh 10k a week.

As for the fee...I dunno...he'd probably cost more than our annual turnover​!

Someone arrange a bake sale or something.

11-06-2017, 09:11 AM
Problem is the minute we look like striking a deal the yam will smash open the big red coo and gazump us, they can't help themselves.

150k gazumping on the cards...

11-06-2017, 09:13 AM
150k gazumping on the cards...
All big teams do it.

h18eeynick
11-06-2017, 10:09 AM
I was on crutches due to an ankle operation and he stopped his Range Roveer after the game to let me cross the road so he was their to the very end !

11-06-2017, 10:22 AM
I used to work beside Paul, never heard that story before.

I did post ages ago after Pat Fenlon had left my mate went over to see him in Ireland. According to what my mate told me we had agreed a deal with Wolves and Petrie was down there trying to finalise it when they sacked the manager. The new one came in and said noone was leaving until he'd had a chance to assess the players, so the deal was off.

Oh, pulease!

That's way too probable to be believed.

Edit: Griffith's had been publicly criticised by the Wolves manager Dean Saunders for something he wrote on social media and it looked like we had a chance to sign him.

Saunders was sacked at the end of that season and the potential deal was off the table.

11-06-2017, 10:32 AM
I had 40/1 to score with a free kick

Ya beauty!

StevieCowan
11-06-2017, 10:54 AM
Quite simply he would've been one of the best Hibs players ever if he had stayed and Hibs would've quadrupled any transfer fee that they had to pay.

The mindset of the club was so wrong back then and I'd like to think that it would never be allowed to happen again.

11-06-2017, 10:56 AM
Quite simply he would've been one of the best Hibs players ever if he had stayed and Hibs would've quadrupled any transfer fee that they had to pay.

The mindset of the club was so wrong back then and I'd like to think that it would never be allowed to happen again.

What are you talking about?

We never had the opportunity to buy him.

Keyser Sauzee
11-06-2017, 11:10 AM
Ok after sober reflection it does seem a lot of *****, was told it in the pub last night after a good few beers and a few more later posted on here. Moral of the story, don't post ***** when on the beer 😂

11-06-2017, 11:12 AM
Moral of the story, don't post ***** when on the beer 😂

This place would be deserted! 😂

11-06-2017, 11:16 AM
LG came out of that game a hero ............. he can thank that useless Jambo stick insect for the fact he wont come out of it a legend :grr:

StevieCowan
11-06-2017, 11:19 AM
What are you talking about?

We never had the opportunity to buy him.

OK, so a player who Wolves were willing to loan to Hibs for a total of 18 months (bringing him up to the end of his then contract) never once thought about selling him, particularly in July 2012 when he signed another loan deal. Wolves had NO intention of selling him, really?, strange that considering he hadn't made one single appearance for them.

11-06-2017, 11:37 AM
OK, so a player who Wolves were willing to loan to Hibs for a total of 18 months (bringing him up to the end of his then contract) never once thought about selling him, particularly in July 2012 when he signed another loan deal. Wolves had NO intention of selling him, really?, strange that considering he hadn't made one single appearance for them.

Dean Saunders was willing to sell him, but he got the sack before any deal could be done.

The new manager, Kenny Jacket, decided Griffiths was going nowhere and he stayed till Celtic paid £1m for him the next year.

There's plenty of information out there, if you want to find it eg

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11696/9091089/kenny-jackett-wants-to-keep-leigh-griffiths-at-wolves-and-considers-michael-jacobs-deal

Why people prefer to think the worst of our own club I don't know.

In 2012, Leigh was one year into a lucrative 2.5 year contract, reportedly earning £10k a week. I very much doubt he would have been prepared to forgo that wealth to sign for us. A loan deal suited Leigh, Hibs and Wolves.

Robinho08
11-06-2017, 11:38 AM
We always knew what Sparky was capable of: :top marks

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0-_MPKiCiA :flag:

StevieCowan
11-06-2017, 11:45 AM
Dean Saunders was willing to sell him, but he got the sack before any deal could be done.

The new manager, Kenny Jacket, decided Griffiths was going nowhere and he stayed till Celtic paid £1m for him the next year.

There's plenty of information out there, if you want to find it eg http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11696/9091089/kenny-jackett-wants-to-keep-leigh-griffiths-at-wolves-and-considers-michael-jacobs-deal

Why people prefer to think the worst of our own club I don't know.

Your last sentence isn't worth any further comment.

11-06-2017, 11:47 AM

But you commented.

Presumably you've revised your opinion on what actually​ happened with Leigh, given that you haven't commented on the rest of my post. That's good.

11-06-2017, 12:39 PM
But you commented.

Presumably you've revised your opinion on what actuall happened with Leigh, given that you haven't commented on the rest of my post. That's good.

Thought HibbyRadge made a good factual account of what actually hapened with LG as well a good summary of some fans negative attitude.

The Leith Dutch
11-06-2017, 02:00 PM

Very odd thing to write.

Even a quick random browse through a few threads on players or transfers would completely back up the position that there are people on here who are desperate to think the worst of the club.

From your comments you appear to believe the club failed to sign Griffiths when it was an option while most of the evidence suggests it was never an option outside of the heads of a few fans who desperately wanted it to happen.

Don't get me wrong I'd love to see Griffiths in a Hibs strip again - the guy is in a different class to almost anyone I've seen play for the club - but transfer fee wise and wage wise he's out of our league I reckon.

11-06-2017, 02:15 PM
i have a feeling a few clubs down south will have noticed his free kicks, every team wants a player with that ability, a few more years of big wages for leigh before he comes home :(

11-06-2017, 03:01 PM
Super Leigh at Meadowbank this afternoon for charity match.

11-06-2017, 03:04 PM
I was on crutches due to an ankle operation and he stopped his Range Roveer after the game to let me cross the road so he was their to the very end !

Big black Audi now with 'sp8rky' plates, saw him on Friday :cool:

11-06-2017, 03:46 PM
Come a long way since never playing for Hibs again that time he headbutted Pat Fenlon.

11-06-2017, 03:52 PM
He turned up at my mates wedding last night but I missed him as my wife had folded like a pack of cards ( dam they shots )

StevieCowan
11-06-2017, 04:43 PM
But you commented.

Presumably you've revised your opinion on what actually​ happened with Leigh, given that you haven't commented on the rest of my post. That's good.

Absolutely not, if you genuinely believe that Wolves wouldn't sell a player who hadn't kicked a ball for them and who wanted to play for hibs then that's your choice.

My suggestion would be that they would've if Hibs had been able to put an offer on the table which they'd sell at.

11-06-2017, 04:46 PM
Come a long way since never playing for Hibs again that time he headbutted Pat Fenlon.

Thought that wasn't the case

StevieCowan
11-06-2017, 04:49 PM
Thought HibbyRadge made a good factual account of what actually hapened with LG as well a good summary of some fans negative attitude.

Then please don't include me in the latter of having a negative attitude towards the club, I suggest that you re-read my post again and then comment. If the current football side of the business had been in place (Stubbs/Lennon,LD, Craig, Mathie) then if things would've been different.

That was the nature of my post but if you think otherwise and recruitment was the same back then who am I to argue.

11-06-2017, 05:58 PM

Maybe they all had a little snip!!

portycabbage
11-06-2017, 06:20 PM

Pretty sure Leigh himself hasn't had the snip...

Argylehibby
11-06-2017, 08:15 PM
Absolutely not, if you genuinely believe that Wolves wouldn't sell a player who hadn't kicked a ball for them and who wanted to play for hibs then that's your choice.

My suggestion would be that they would've if Hibs had been able to put an offer on the table which they'd sell at.

Leigh went to speak to the new manager at Wolves and was supposed to tell him he wanted to return to Scotland at which point we would have negotiated to buy him. Leigh returned north a couple of days later having signed an extended deal much to the annoyance of the Hibs management team. That info came from a senior official at the club immediately after LG signed that contract extension.

11-06-2017, 08:59 PM

The new manager wanted to keep him. Why is that so hard to understand, even with the evidence in front of you?

No wonder I think you want to think the worst of our club, ffs

11-06-2017, 09:14 PM
Linked with West Bromwich and Newcastle as per the papers down there today.

Would be a good move for Leigh. Seeing him banging them in for the lesser greens is not enjoyable. Delighted he's making the most of his talents but hope he can realise his potential and play against a higher calibre of player on a weekly basis

StevieCowan
11-06-2017, 09:37 PM
The new manager wanted to keep him. Why is that so hard to understand, even with the evidence in front of you?

No wonder I think you want to think the worst of our club, ffs

So you don't think it would've been any different, none whatsoever, if we had them same football operations dept in place at the time during July 2012?

Again, your last comment is just pure drivel.

11-06-2017, 09:44 PM
So you don't think it would've been any different, none whatsoever, if we had them same football operations dept in place at the time.

Again, your last comment is just pure drivel.

It would have made no difference at all.

My last comment is spot on. You choose to believe what you choose to believe.

StevieCowan
11-06-2017, 09:47 PM
It would have made no difference at all.

My last comment is spot on. You choose to believe what you choose to believe.

You also choose to believe what you believe as well then.

11-06-2017, 09:48 PM
You also choose to believe what you believe as well then.

Indeed.

I choose to believe the best of our club.

StevieCowan
11-06-2017, 09:52 PM
Indeed.

I choose to believe the best of our club.

And I choose to believe that the way the football dept is run now is run now is night and day compared to July 2012.

Even a blind man could see this.

11-06-2017, 09:56 PM
And I choose to believe that the way the football dept is run now is run now is night and day compared to July 2012.

I agree, up to a point, although they didn't half mess up last January.

The situation with LG, however, could not have been changed even by LD etc.

StevieCowan
11-06-2017, 09:58 PM
I agree, up to a point, although they didn't half mess up last January.

The situation with LG, however, could not have been changed even by LD etc.

Let's agree to disagree on that one then.

11-06-2017, 10:03 PM
Let's agree to disagree on that one then.

Good grief.

Explain how LD could have done anything different to what we tried before.

Do you really think Leigh would have walked away from a £500k per year deal, 12 months into his 2.5 year contract?

11-06-2017, 10:03 PM
Super Leigh at Meadowbank this afternoon for charity match.

Correct. A couple of nice press stories(for a change) will be in the rags tomor.

StevieCowan
11-06-2017, 10:07 PM
Good grief.

Explain how LD could have done anything different to what we tried before.

Do you really think Leigh would have walked away from a £500k per year deal, 1 year into his contract?

Good grief, give it a rest will you and get to bed.

11-06-2017, 10:12 PM

I agree our football dept is run much better now, but from what I was told and I have no reason not to believe it would have made no difference. We had agreed a deal to sign LG but the manager who was happy to let him go was sacked and the new manager coming in didn't want to sell him until he'd had a look at all the players. I'm not sure what more we could have done.

11-06-2017, 10:17 PM
Good grief, give it a rest will you and get to bed.

Yeah. No point debating with someone who won't consider the arguments made.

You think we could have done better, but offer no evidence. I've explained what actually happened, but you don't like it so you've ignored it.

I'm golfing at 8.30 am tomorrow so I'll take your advice. Night night.

12-06-2017, 12:18 AM

I don't understand why you'd get a hair transplant then shave half of it off. Stokes did similar.

12-06-2017, 04:47 AM
Feel for Leigh, had it not been for Craig Gordon he'd be well and truly written into the history books. Still, nobody will forget those free kicks!

He broke a player's jaw after scoring the two goals..

...In a charity game with Vittoria's, Tony's sons side, the FOLLOWING day, but from a free kick and not Gordon's. He could break Strachan's jaw anytime. He's wee, so its not bullying.

12-06-2017, 05:15 AM
He broke a player's jaw after scoring the two goals..

...In a charity game with Vittoria's, Tony's sons side, the FOLLOWING day, but from a free kick and not Gordon's. He could break Strachan's jaw anytime. He's wee, so its not bullying.

Read it 3' times still not getting it... ?!