View Full Version : How bored are you without football?

RossScott1991
07-06-2017, 11:46 AM
Season has barely finished but I'm already bored without football. It's surprising how much of your life centres around football, you only realise when the seasons finished, whether its going to hibs games or tuning into Super Sunday, the odd midweek fixture. I know Scotland v England game is on Saturday but its just not got the same feel to it, cant seem to get excited at prospect of watching that. Saturday 3pm Football, with a couple of coupons on, fantasy football leagues with your mates providing the banter and discussion. Going into work on a Monday and getting into heated debates about whos team is worse is what it's all about.

Find myself checking the forums everyday in the hope for abit of exciting news to keep me going until the season starts, whether it is new signings, new kit release, fixture list release etc. Slow news days at moment, need Hibs to sign another couple players, its gone too quiet!

New season cant come quick enough, the bird has far too much power over the tv at the moment!

Cat Stanton
07-06-2017, 12:01 PM
Season has barely finished but I'm already bored without football. It's surprising how much of your life centres around football, you only realise when the seasons finished, whether its going to hibs games or tuning into Super Sunday, the odd midweek fixture. I know Scotland v England game is on Saturday but its just not got the same feel to it, cant seem to get excited at prospect of watching that. Saturday 3pm Football, with a couple of coupons on, fantasy football leagues with your mates providing the banter and discussion. Going into work on a Monday and getting into heated debates about whos team is worse is what it's all about.

Find myself checking the forums everyday in the hope for abit of exciting news to keep me going until the season starts, whether it is new signings, new kit release, fixture list release etc. Slow news days at moment, need Hibs to sign another couple players, its gone too quiet!

New season cant come quick enough, the bird has far too much power over the tv at the moment!

Certainly different from last close season - ie cos then I sat and watched the cup final over and over and over again until the new season began...

07-06-2017, 12:06 PM
The general election is occupying my attention right now.

Impressive fight back by Labour in the 2nd half. Their star man Corbyn has played well but late, late substitution of the under-performing Abbott unlikely to have much impact.

07-06-2017, 12:26 PM
No football? You mean no Hibs, football has continued non stop. Champs league last Sat. and Scotland v England this Sat. boring compared to Hibs v anybody I agree.

07-06-2017, 12:59 PM
The election has actually been exciting in the build up, but nothing compared to Dumbarton at home.

07-06-2017, 01:39 PM
The election has actually been exciting in the build up, but nothing compared to Dumbarton at home.
The Tory heid yin, May, must be the must boring leader that ever lived.

Ell_Chrisso
07-06-2017, 01:41 PM
Out of 10? 11

nellio
07-06-2017, 01:41 PM
No football? You mean no Hibs, football has continued non stop. Champs league last Sat. and Scotland v England this Sat. boring compared to Hibs v anybody I agree.

The offseason seems to get shorter every year especially with the league cup and confederations cups being soon. Doesn't really stop for very long.

Jag7
07-06-2017, 02:56 PM
Well watching Murray just now is a bore fest .. I have seen more effort from a 6 year old !!

07-06-2017, 03:01 PM
Am excited about who the new signings will be and the new season.
Wish I could see the new signings now and the season would start now.
A bit like adult Christmas:confused:.

Andy JR
07-06-2017, 03:47 PM
Is this the time to start the summer football debate again?

wpj
07-06-2017, 03:59 PM
The Tory heid yin, May, must be the must boring leader that ever lived.

How can you say that? she and her friends used to annoy farmers by running through the fields!! total anarchy!

07-06-2017, 04:00 PM

Whilst I'm not entirely on board with a full on "summer football" calendar. I'd love to see us shift the calendar from August-May to July-April

The last couple of summers have been great though. It's been a case of buzzing for the competitive fixtures to begin. The league cup is an interesting one so I'm looking forward to that.

From July 2014 onwards, this has potentially been the best years I've had following hibs. Long may it continue

07-06-2017, 04:16 PM
I'm so bored without Hibs that I nearly broke down and agreed to hanky panky with the missus. The Big Bang Theory came on the telly though just in time and saved me.......

07-06-2017, 04:30 PM
Can't say I'm missing it too much, certainly with the decent spell of weather last few weeks. Enjoying the golf, days out with the family and generally not thinking about Hibs 24-7. Another few weeks and I'll be raring to go. Probably start the countdown immediately after the Leith Festival ER open day.

07-06-2017, 04:47 PM

07-06-2017, 04:48 PM
How can you say that? she and her friends used to annoy farmers by running through the fields!! total anarchy!

Can anyone see stick insect May running to the corner of Downing st jumping to crowd of fans( sun mail express) journalists? While knockinga polis hat off in celebration

07-06-2017, 04:53 PM
Well watching Murray just now is a bore fest .. I have seen more effort from a 6 year old !!

And now? :wink:

PS I'm extremely bored without real football to go to.

I would rather watch Hibs play Brechin on a cold Tuesday night than sit in the house and watch international football or Champions League.

Roll on the new season.

07-06-2017, 04:54 PM
No because Glastonbury is in a fortnight :hyper

07-06-2017, 05:14 PM
I was enjoying the rumour mongering about signings and potential signings but that seems to have died a death for the moment. Looks like a quiet few weeks on the football front but time to get on with some gardening and honing my golfing inadequacies.

07-06-2017, 05:27 PM
Massive job to get my garden into shape currently underway. Walking football twice a week not to mention walking football tournaments. Some chance of getting bored :greengrin

07-06-2017, 05:28 PM
I love the close season. I wish it was longer.

07-06-2017, 05:54 PM
Walking, gardening and growling my way round the golf course, all very enjoyable in their own way but I will be looking forward to the new season.

HFCdeb
07-06-2017, 07:52 PM
Feel like I'm missing a limb. Have watched the cup final and the 3-1 game against Hearts a few times though :)
Can't wait for the new season to start again.

07-06-2017, 07:58 PM
Miss Hibs games obviously but that's the only football I really watch now so not missing football as such.

Been out in the hills and mountains, been to the races, been running and been out for lunches over the last few weekends. All things I wouldn't be able to do when the football season is on. Looking forward to the new season but there's plenty to fill my time in the meantime.

07-06-2017, 09:20 PM
I'm getting my sporting fix from rugby and .net, so not bored at all.

I love the close season. I wish it was longer.

There is only one solution for that in Edinburgh, and a man of your sophistication could never contemplate the concept even in the abstract.

07-06-2017, 09:39 PM
I was enjoying the rumour mongering about signings and potential signings but that seems to have died a death for the moment. Looks like a quiet few weeks on the football front but time to get on with some gardening and honing my golfing inadequacies.

Transfer window opens on Friday so it'll maybe pick up again then. Hopefully we'll hear something about Rocky signing soon after it opens and maybe even Stokes with any luck.

07-06-2017, 09:47 PM
Football manager was filling the void for a bit but it's not the same

07-06-2017, 09:53 PM
Bored to tears.
All this chat of folk substituting their Hibs "fix" by walking, golfing, watching rugby or even gardening!! Leaves me truly baffled...

07-06-2017, 11:07 PM
Bored to tears.
All this chat of folk substituting their Hibs "fix" by walking, golfing, watching rugby or even gardening!! Leaves me truly baffled...

I've substituted my Hibs fix for golf, but its like bringing off Ronaldo and putting on Konte. Weekend's just haven't been the same.

07-06-2017, 11:36 PM
Halo on Xbox helps.

08-06-2017, 02:40 AM
Quite bloody bored.

08-06-2017, 05:34 AM
Spent the time building up brownie points for the coming season ;-)

09-06-2017, 04:29 PM
Not at all.

Some quite excellent cricket on Sky Sports; Andy Murray and the French Open in between times; Speedway GP meetings every second Saturday; Monarchs going well in the British Premier League; been to the theatre, taken in some good films - why on earth would I be bored without football?

It's only a game. :greengrin

09-06-2017, 05:04 PM
Helps every time I'm in the car, I have the CD from my coach from cup final day , so playing that brings back all the great memories, really glad I have the disc they were just going to chuck it.

09-06-2017, 05:40 PM
Season is in full swing over here so I'm not. Off to the New York Derby in a couple of weeks, lovely.

NthCarolinaHibs
09-06-2017, 05:47 PM
Climbing up the walls ...

09-06-2017, 07:58 PM

I've been at at 3 amateur cup finals and 2 semis in the last 4 weeks.
All have involved Leven United.
2 finals to come - next Friday and the following Friday, both at Star of Markinch.
After that, we will be getting close to friendlies time. :greengrin

09-06-2017, 08:09 PM
FT

Sweden 2 France 1
Estonia 0 Belgium 1
Belarus 2 Bulgaria 1
Holland 5 Luxembourg 0
Andorra 1 Hungary 0
Faroes 0 Switzerland 2
Latvia 0 Portugal 3
Bos-Herze 0 Greece 0
Gibraltar 1 Cyprus 2

:)

hibbydog
09-06-2017, 08:27 PM
I'm bored out of my t1ts. Other sports and football that isn't Hibs just doesn't come close. Even if we are labouring to a goalless draw against a **** st mirren or a Dumbarton, I'm happy to have something to moan about.

Cup final is going on after I've sunk a few more cans later on. But you shouldn't watch porn too often, ken?

09-06-2017, 08:39 PM
What a winner by Sweden!

09-06-2017, 09:30 PM
What a winner by Sweden!

Outstanding.

Hugo Lloris certainly sold the jerseys but it was some hit by the Swedish guy.

delbert
09-06-2017, 11:18 PM
I've been at at 3 amateur cup finals and 2 semis in the last 4 weeks.
All have involved Leven United.
2 finals to come - next Friday and the following Friday, both at Star of Markinch.
After that, we will be getting close to friendlies time. :greengrin

Bonnyrigg Rose v Tranent Juniors today at 2:30pm at Bathgate should be a really good last Cup Final of the season, certainly better than the Hampden borefest !!

11-06-2017, 10:12 AM
Bonnyrigg Rose v Tranent Juniors today at 2:30pm at Bathgate should be a really good last Cup Final of the season, certainly better than the Hampden borefest !!

Took your advice and went to this game.
Not a great game, but plenty of excitement and a penalty shoot out at the end.
Well done to Tranent, who won 4-1 on pens after a 1-1 draw.

11-06-2017, 11:38 AM
Climbing up the walls ...

Just watching Time for Heroes on repeat !