View Full Version : Sunday 9thJuly friendly against Sunderland

Cardinal G
05-06-2017, 04:53 PM
Read that we are playing Sunderland at home on Sunday 9th July.

After recent events when trouble took place in previous two fixtures I'm surprised this is being allowed if my information is true.

05-06-2017, 05:12 PM
I know there was a scrap a few hours before the 0-0 in 2011 but what happened before that?

Anyway in my opinion we shouldn't let the behaviour of a few ********s dictate whether or not we can play a friendly.

It's not like we have a clash of ideologies or a rivalry with them

05-06-2017, 05:13 PM
I was at the last friendly with Sunderland and there was next to no Hibs fans in the ground, in fact I'm pretty sure the Sunderland fans outnumbered us ..... not exactly a glamour friendly going by our fans lack of interest last time.

Since1875Hibs
05-06-2017, 05:14 PM
Confirmed on Sunderland website. No kick-off time yet.

Is this Lewis' testimonial?

should be quite a few ibrox orcs in attendance, along with the wee mini orcs

wpj
05-06-2017, 05:15 PM
I was in the Sunderland end at tynecastle many years ago, was a few Hibees there I recall

05-06-2017, 05:18 PM

Is it? I don't see anything about hibs there

05-06-2017, 05:23 PM
Is this Lewis' testimonial?

Possibly

05-06-2017, 05:23 PM
It's Lewis's testimonial. Strange that they've allowed it to leak out this way before announcing it properly though.

Lost_Mackem
05-06-2017, 05:24 PM
Hopefully it's more peaceful than the last encounter.

05-06-2017, 05:25 PM
I was at the last friendly with Sunderland and there was next to no Hibs fans in the ground, in fact I'm pretty sure the Sunderland fans outnumbered us ..... not exactly a glamour friendly going by our fans lack of interest last time.

The seagulls outnumbered the us that day, never mind the Mackems.

Lost_Mackem
05-06-2017, 05:26 PM
I know there was a scrap a few hours before the 0-0 in 2011 but what happened before that?

Anyway in my opinion we shouldn't let the behaviour of a few ********s dictate whether or not we can play a friendly.

Basically in about 2003 there was a large organised scrap at the train station iirc.

05-06-2017, 05:33 PM
Basically in about 2003 there was a large organised scrap at the train station iirc.

In 2003, there were still about 50 Hibs Casuals on the go. I think they've pretty much packed it in since then, so I can't see the Sunderland thugs would have anybody to fight.

05-06-2017, 05:39 PM
The 2011 game was the most boring game I've ever watched.

05-06-2017, 05:40 PM
It's Lewis's testimonial. Strange that they've allowed it to leak out this way before announcing it properly though.
What an anti climax for a testimonial.

Lost_Mackem
05-06-2017, 06:01 PM
In 2003, there were still about 50 Hibs Casuals on the go. I think they've pretty much packed it in since then, so I can't see the Sunderland thugs would have anybody to fight.

Embarrassing that this crap is still going on in the 21st century. I was at the 2011 game and had a great day in Edinburgh not including the game and the weather which were both awful, it's a lovely city.

05-06-2017, 06:02 PM
Embarrassing that this crap is still going on in the 21st century. I was at the 2011 game and had a great day in Edinburgh not including the game and the weather which were both awful, it's a lovely city.

Totally agree, Bud.

05-06-2017, 07:15 PM
Good team to play in a testimonial. Decent away support. Also a nice warm up for the League Cup campaign.

2003 game was decent for a friendly. Mackem mates were surprised we put up a good display in a 2-2 draw.

05-06-2017, 07:29 PM

Was it Sunderland or Barnsley there was paggers on Easter Road? I can mind walking up in the pishing rain and a load of them came running down Easter Road from Abbeyhill area. Carnage

I was in the nip when the Barnsley game was called off and can vaguely mind being sat in the posh seats in the west lower against Sunderland but cannot remember a thing about the game.

18Hibee75
05-06-2017, 07:29 PM
Was Hibs and Sunderland just a one off scrap? Or is there any history? Seems strange if there is.

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

05-06-2017, 07:35 PM
And any reason it's the Sunday? Im absolutely dying for a day on it at the football so I'll be putting in for a Monday holiday :cb

05-06-2017, 07:37 PM
And any reason it's the Sunday? Im absolutely dying for a day on it at the football so I'll be putting in for a Monday holiday :cb

Probably as we're also playing midweek.

TelaStella
05-06-2017, 08:16 PM
Was Hibs and Sunderland just a one off scrap? Or is there any history? Seems strange if there is.

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

There is a larger history to it than just the previous game a few years ago, but it's more a Sunderland Scottish thing rather than specifically us and them.

I've seen posted elsewhere on social media that the games to take place down there and not here but can't see that happening. Should be a good test for us regardless

05-06-2017, 08:48 PM
Wonder if Jason will play against us that day, with his Links to Sunderland

bigstu
05-06-2017, 08:50 PM
Can we not get a decent away pre season game for a change!? We've not had one since Bolton!

Cardinal G
05-06-2017, 08:52 PM
There is a larger history to it than just the previous game a few years ago, but it's more a Sunderland Scottish thing rather than specifically us and them.

I've seen posted elsewhere on social media that the games to take place down there and not here but can't see that happening. Should be a good test for us regardless

Better not be down here as I've booked my train tickets up already in the back of this news

05-06-2017, 08:52 PM
Can we not get a decent away pre season game for a change!? We've not had one since Bolton!

StevieCowan
05-06-2017, 09:18 PM
Better not be down here as I've booked my train tickets up already in the back of this news

It's in Edinburgh and expect it to be Lewis's testimonial game.

05-06-2017, 09:22 PM
It's in Edinburgh and expect it to be Lewis's testimonial game.
100% is. Think it will be announced tomorrow now it's been leaked

05-06-2017, 10:44 PM
Hope it's not his testimonial game as I'm on holiday. :boo hoo:

06-06-2017, 04:12 AM

It is his testimonial, I'm on holiday too, gutted to miss it.

green with envy
06-06-2017, 05:56 AM
Also on holiday - gutted to be missing the wee man's testimonial, even more so as this will be the first since Pat Stanton's.

Mathias Jack
06-06-2017, 05:59 AM

I can't see it anywhere on the Sunderland website? What I can see is this, find it bizarre they'd play a pre-season friendly two days before they play us.
https://www.safc.com/news/team-news/2017/june/pre-season-opener-confirmed

06-06-2017, 06:38 AM

Me too! :boo hoo:

06-06-2017, 06:47 AM
Me too! :boo hoo:

Me too

madhibee_again
06-06-2017, 07:21 AM
Me too

Second week of the school summer holidays, I imagine there will be a lot of people on holiday. Me included. Gutted.

06-06-2017, 09:03 AM
Now confirmed by Hibs Twitter.

06-06-2017, 09:10 AM
Now confirmed by Hibs Twitter.

Not got a twitter account. Can you screenshot it? Does it give a kick-off time?

telford hibbee
06-06-2017, 09:10 AM
Confirmed its part of Lewis Steve testimonial.

06-06-2017, 09:11 AM
Not got a twitter account. Can you screenshot it? Does it give a kick-off time?

2pm kick off

hibbycraig
06-06-2017, 09:13 AM
Pretty underwhelmed by that for a testimonial game. Should of been a CIS cup winning team V Scottish cup winners.

06-06-2017, 09:15 AM
2pm kick off

Cheers. Decent side for Lewis to have his testimonial against. I prefer this kind of game as a testimonial than watching players that retired 20 years ago playing walking football.

Edit - news article now on the site http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/7586

06-06-2017, 09:22 AM
Duncan Watmore probably returning..

Think Defoe will be sold by then sadly.

woodythehibee
06-06-2017, 09:26 AM
Pretty underwhelmed by that for a testimonial game. Should of been a CIS cup winning team V Scottish cup winners.

I thought this would have been a dead cert. I'm sure we will see many of the 2007 side playing though.

06-06-2017, 09:28 AM
Hopefully a few guests playing on the day to make it more of an occasion for Lewis and the fans.

06-06-2017, 09:29 AM
Brilliant. What better excuse to not be in Northern Ireland on the 11th and 12th July than going home to catch the testimonial match of a double cup winning hibernian legend. Looking at flights right now :flag:

hibsmad
06-06-2017, 09:39 AM
Really disappointed about the date. I'll miss it as on holiday and I imagine so will a lot of others.

Hopefully there will still be a big turnout but can't help feeling that the crowd will be dented considerably due to the timing.

06-06-2017, 09:42 AM
Really disappointed about the date. I'll miss it as on holiday and I imagine so will a lot of others.

Hopefully there will still be a big turnout but can't help feeling that the crowd will be dented considerably due to the timing.

In their defence, the League cup group stages has probably scuppered this being later on in pre-season. they basically run from the 15th July until the week before the season starts.

HibeeEmma
06-06-2017, 09:50 AM
Might take the train up from London for this one. Does anyone know how close the station is to the ground?

06-06-2017, 09:51 AM
Uninspiring choice in Sunderland

06-06-2017, 09:52 AM
Might take the train up from London for this one. Does anyone know how close the station is to the ground?

About a 20 minute walk from Waverley or you could get a taxi.

06-06-2017, 10:02 AM

You do realise it is at Easter Road?

06-06-2017, 10:13 AM
Unfortunately it's Stevenson's testimonial so I now feel obligated to show up.

06-06-2017, 10:14 AM

Who were you expecting? Sunderland are a 'Top Flight' English team who will bring circa 2k fans. This game will double up as a very tough pre season friendly which is a bonus. If the prices are pitched right there will be 10k at the match despite the date.

Mathias Jack
06-06-2017, 10:23 AM
Regardless of who the opposition was gonna be, I wasn't going to miss Lewis' testimonial.

Scottish and League Cup winning legend, a nice guy too, let's give him a good turn out and a day to remember.

06-06-2017, 10:31 AM
Regardless of who the opposition was gonna be, I wasn't going to miss Lewis' testimonial.

Scottish and League Cup winning legend, a nice guy too, let's give him a good turn out and a day to remember.

Likewise. I'd have went to his testimonial regardless but it's a bonus it's against a decent side. Price the tickets reasonably and it should ensure a decent turnout.

06-06-2017, 10:38 AM
Who were you expecting? Sunderland are a 'Top Flight' English team who will bring circa 2k fans. This game will double up as a very tough pre season friendly which is a bonus. If the prices are pitched right there will be 10k at the match despite the date.

If not the CIS cup team then I'd say Hearts would've been a better shout ala Craig Levein's testimonial derby.

But as said by others I'd be going along either way as it's all about showing appreciation towards Lewis Stevenson.

06-06-2017, 10:41 AM

Agree.
What a disappointment.

06-06-2017, 10:43 AM
Also on holiday - gutted to be missing the wee man's testimonial, even more so as this will be the first since Pat Stanton's.

The 1st testimonial since Pats?

priorparkhibby
06-06-2017, 10:56 AM

Didn't Gordon Rae have a testimonial in the late 80's?

06-06-2017, 10:59 AM

And Ian Murray

06-06-2017, 11:04 AM

Would you prefer Barcelona at Murrayfield?

06-06-2017, 11:10 AM
And Ian Murray

McNamara, Duncan, Hunter and Sneddon too?

green with envy
06-06-2017, 11:15 AM

Possibly didn't word it right. I've been to every Hibs players testimonial since my first one which was Pat Stanton's. Unfortunately Lewis's will be the first that i'll have missed since due to me being on holiday.:thumbsup:

06-06-2017, 11:17 AM

Sunderland have got to be the most unglamerous, dull club in England. Would have prefered Newcastle or Everton. But you're right they will bring a couple thousand.

Craigmount Hibs
06-06-2017, 11:36 AM
Possibly didn't word it right. I've been to every Hibs players testimonial since my first one which was Pat Stanton's. Unfortunately Lewis's will be the first that i'll have missed since due to me being on holiday.:thumbsup:
I'm the same, since Gordon Rae's. Regardless of the opposition, I'd be going to recognise Lewis as a great servant to the club and a cup winning legend. So would the 5 other members of my family that are season ticket holders. Like many, many others we'll all miss it due to being on holiday - I think this is a big mistake by the people that organised the date of the game.

06-06-2017, 11:47 AM
Sunderland have got to be the most unglamerous, dull club in England. Would have prefered Newcastle or Everton. But you're right they will bring a couple thousand.

Why are they anymore dull than Newcastle?

06-06-2017, 11:49 AM
When do folk think it should have been organised? The season is not long finished and the League Cup group stages start mid-July. The window of feasible dates was pretty tight.

06-06-2017, 12:00 PM
When do folk think it should have been organised? The season is not long finished and the League Cup group stages start mid-July. The window of feasible dates was pretty tight.
Was initially pencilled in for one of the play off weekends but that was scrapped when we still had a chance of getting to the cup final.

Hopefully see some good weather and a decent turn out for one of our clubs all time legends

06-06-2017, 12:07 PM

Waverley is not too far :wink:

06-06-2017, 12:11 PM
So is this a preseason friendly that will just double up as Lewis testimonial or are we likely to see old faces like boozy etc

06-06-2017, 12:24 PM
Would you prefer Barcelona at Murrayfield?

Yes? :confused:

Although, I'm on holiday regardless so happy enough to not be missing out on the often alluded to CIS v SC teams game or anything interesting like that. Hope LS gets a good turnout and it's a good day though. :aok:

06-06-2017, 12:50 PM

Super_JMcGinn
06-06-2017, 01:55 PM

Gutted at the date but I'm sure the organisers had no choice I'll be missing it along with my family due to holiday commitments but I'll be buying my ticket and donating it straight back to the club to sell on. I hope fellow Hibbies who cannot make it and would otherwise have been going do the same.

Lewis Stevenson Hibernian LEGEND :flag:

06-06-2017, 03:51 PM
I'm the same, since Gordon Rae's. Regardless of the opposition, I'd be going to recognise Lewis as a great servant to the club and a cup winning legend. So would the 5 other members of my family that are season ticket holders. Like many, many others we'll all miss it due to being on holiday - I think this is a big mistake by the people that organised the date of the game.

Were also away on holiday . Hibs should have waited and organised the 07 cup winners versus the 2016 immortals , with Lewis playing a half each . Now that would be a cracker .

06-06-2017, 04:42 PM
Ian Murrays was in September so there wasn't really a need to have it pre season

06-06-2017, 04:58 PM
Ian Murrays was in September so there wasn't really a need to have it pre season

Terrible crowd as well

RossScott1991
06-06-2017, 05:10 PM
Few days before i fly to new york, happy i dont miss it. Lewis deserves as big a support as possible, a true servant to the club through thick and thin and a good guy aswell:thumbsup:

06-06-2017, 05:20 PM
Terrible crowd as well

Think that was more because some people didn't agree with him getting one rather than the time of year

06-06-2017, 05:23 PM

And Gordon Hunter in the 90s vs Coventry

the_ginger_hibee
06-06-2017, 05:31 PM
Think that was more because some people didn't agree with him getting one rather than the time of year

Exactly. I like Ian Murray, but he should never have had a testimonial.

06-06-2017, 06:14 PM

Exactly. I like Ian Murray, but he should never have had a testimonial.

06-06-2017, 06:59 PM
Don't testimonials usually happen when a player has played 10 seasons/years at a club?

Murray fulfilled this requirement so out of interest why were people against it?

06-06-2017, 07:03 PM
Don't testimonials usually happen when a player has played 10 seasons/years at a club?

Murray fulfilled this requirement so out of interest why were people against it?

Because he left in the middle of it - and ran down his contract so we didn’t get a penny for him.

06-06-2017, 07:21 PM
FFS I've just been informed that my glaikit brother in law is getting married on the Monday. Who the **** gets married on a ****ing Monday? *******.

Gutted. I knew it was in july but didn't know the date. It just had to be the day after Lewis's game didn't it.

06-06-2017, 09:02 PM
The 2011 game was the most boring game I've ever watched.

You mean just like EVERY friendly game!

06-06-2017, 09:04 PM

Just think, Sean Dillon chose the Jumbos for his testimonial!
WTF?!

06-06-2017, 09:05 PM
Just think, Sean Dillon chose the Jumbos for his testimonial!
WTF?!

Steven Anderson did that too.

07-06-2017, 05:11 PM
glaikit

That, and Sleekit are my two favorite Scottish words.

07-06-2017, 08:52 PM

Testimonials used to be for players who'd showed loyalty and stayed at the club for ten year or more, and not taken a big payday by moving.

Murray should never have had one, i was glad when nobody turned up for it.

Stevenson should get a decent crowd, although some folk will be away which is a shame.