View Full Version : Fyvie
06-06-2017, 02:46 PM
Don't be so sure of that - some on here know him or people close to him :wink:
BTW what does the hand gesture in your avatar mean?
Is there a chance of him staying?
Arch Stanton
06-06-2017, 02:47 PM
A rabbit eating a carrot looks like.
06-06-2017, 02:49 PM
That is exactly what I keep saying, hence all the questions at the end of my post, it could be for a number of reasons.
Nope, "we know a contract was offered and for whatever reasons Fyvie has decided not to sign the new contract" is pretty much the opposite of saying that.
We don't know that he 'decided to not sign the new contract' because we don't know anything. The only people who do are the people who are/were involved.
You spoke in definitives however you don't know what has went on just like everyone else on this forum.
Surely we did know the bit in bold.The contracts were available,most signed them,he didn't.
Again, we don't know that he chose to not sign it. There is folk saying that Hibs withdrew the offer. Nobody knows what happened for sure.
06-06-2017, 02:51 PM
Okay I'll change that to 99% of the people on this thread don't know what's going on.
It's the 'YLT' (Young Leith Team).
06-06-2017, 02:58 PM
Okay I'll change that to 99% of the people on this thread don't know what's going on.
Much better :greengrin
Ah right that makes sense - thanks
Nope, "we know a contract was offered and for whatever reasons Fyvie has decided not to sign the new contract" is pretty much the opposite of saying that.
We don't know that he 'decided to not sign the new contract' because we don't know anything. The only people who do are the people who are/were involved.
You spoke in definitives however you don't know what has went on just like everyone else on this forum.
Again, we don't know that he chose to not sign it. There is folk saying that Hibs withdrew the offer. Nobody knows what happened for sure.
It seems these guys think he knocked back our contract offer.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1091557/fraser-fyvie-set-to-leave-hibs-after-knocking-back-new-contract-offer/
I didn't speak in difinitives, the contract was withdrawn as Fyvie has so far refused to sign it, the reasons for him doing that are unknown but we can definitely say he has not signed a new deal with Hibs and any deal there was has now been taken off the table.
06-06-2017, 03:30 PM
It seems these guys think he knocked back our contract offer.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1091557/fraser-fyvie-set-to-leave-hibs-after-knocking-back-new-contract-offer/
I didn't speak in difinitives, the contract was withdrawn as Fyvie has so far refused to sign it, the reasons for him doing that are unknown but we can definitely say he has not signed a new deal with Hibs and any deal there was has now been taken off the table.
'Refused to sign it' is pretty definitive.
Nobody knows if it was intention to reject or sign it upon return from his holiday if Hibs withdrew the offer. That is my point.
'Refused to sign it' is pretty definitive.
Nobody knows if it was intention to reject or sign it upon return from his holiday because Hibs withdrew the offer. That is my point.
Bloody hell :confused:
OK he did not sign the contract offer, is that better. :confused:
I mentioned in a previous post that Boyle told Lennon he was signing when he came back from holidays, if Fyvie didn't do the same then more fool him, I'm pretty sure Hibs haven't withdrawn the contract just to be nasty towards Fyvie, there must be a reason for their actions.
06-06-2017, 04:10 PM
he was offered a new deal , chose not to sign it now he's a free agent . for all those that said he would walk into to any team outwith celtic - i dont see a queue of clubs fighting over his signature .. he will end up at ross county or St Johnstone next season
06-06-2017, 07:28 PM
he was offered a new deal , chose not to sign it now he's a free agent . for all those that said he would walk into to any team outwith celtic - i dont see a queue of clubs fighting over his signature .. he will end up at ross county or St Johnstone next season
St Johnstone are a decent club and wouldn't be a bad move for him. Aberdeen just lost Ryan Jack and potentially a few more are on their way out, if both sides can bury the hatchet that seems to exist between them then it would be great business for them to take him back imo. I reckon Dundee would be a decent shout for him as I assume they would throw some money at him, but whether he thinks its a club he wants to be part of considering the Neill McCann shambles I dont know.
Fraser Fyvie is a quality player that we will miss and for some reason some of our fans didn't take to him. I have absolutely no doubt that pretty much any manager in Scotland bar Rodgers will have had a conversation with their staff/chief execs about potentially offering him a contract. I even think Pedro Caixinha would probably have thought about it. He's better than half the clowns he's got there.
06-06-2017, 08:11 PM
St Johnstone are a decent club and wouldn't be a bad move for him. Aberdeen just lost Ryan Jack and potentially a few more are on their way out, if both sides can bury the hatchet that seems to exist between them then it would be great business for them to take him back imo. I reckon Dundee would be a decent shout for him as I assume they would throw some money at him, but whether he thinks its a club he wants to be part of considering the Neill McCann shambles I dont know.
Fraser Fyvie is a quality player that we will miss and for some reason some of our fans didn't take to him. I have absolutely no doubt that pretty much any manager in Scotland bar Rodgers will have had a conversation with their staff/chief execs about potentially offering him a contract. I even think Pedro Caixinha would probably have thought about it. He's better than half the clowns he's got there.
No chance...if he's that highly thought of where are all his offers then and why hasn't he signed for anyone yet??? He is a half decent midfielder nothing more and I cannae believe the fyvie love in on here honestly. Never scores, never assists and frequently slows play down. Yes he frees up Mcginn etc for more forward thinking play but by God he's nowhere near as good as some would have us believe on this thread...wasn't even a starter the last 3 to 4 months of our season
06-06-2017, 08:22 PM
No chance...if he's that highly thought of where are all his offers then and why hasn't he signed for anyone yet??? He is a half decent midfielder nothing more and I cannae believe the fyvie love in on here honestly. Never scores, never assists and frequently slows play down. Yes he frees up Mcginn etc for more forward thinking play but by God he's nowhere near as good as some would have us believe on this thread...wasn't even a starter the last 3 to 4 months of our season
Agree with this. Was really dissapointed with him last season and he was lucky to be offered a new contract in my opinion. If he can recapture the form of the previous season he's be a useful player to have in the squad.
06-06-2017, 08:24 PM
Agree with this. Was really dissapointed with him last season and he was lucky to be offered a new contract in my opinion. If he can recapture the form of the previous season he's be a useful player to have in the squad.
Agreed mate he was pretty poor most of last season and nowhere near his form of 2 seasons back..
07-06-2017, 02:32 AM
I'm sure all the players that were looking to be resigned were offered contracts months ago on a take it or leave it basis. I guess there was a timeframe involved and that has now expired. Pity I think he's one of our best players but it might give Martin a wee chance of a better run in the side.
07-06-2017, 12:42 PM
Think that is a bit of an underestimate.
07-06-2017, 04:46 PM
Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk For all we know he may have those offers and is mulling them over or negotiating. It's hardly been a week since he apparently had his contract offer taken away. Aye he wasn't a starter for the last 3 to 4 months, the same time frame when we limped over the finish line with draw after draw. I love Marvin for what he can do but when we went 4-4-2 and played Marvin over Fraser it was evident how little creativity we had in the midfield. I don't think its a coincidence with Bartley starting we drew majority of our games then as soon as Fyvie comes back in we pumped Ayr 4-0. He does a heck of a lot off the ball as well as the simple stuff that help create the bigger picture.
Pete70
07-06-2017, 05:03 PM
For all we know he may have those offers and is mulling them over or negotiating. It's hardly been a week since he apparently had his contract offer taken away. Aye he wasn't a starter for the last 3 to 4 months, the same time frame when we limped over the finish line with draw after draw. I love Marvin for what he can do but when we went 4-4-2 and played Marvin over Fraser it was evident how little creativity we had in the midfield. I don't think its a coincidence with Bartley starting we drew majority of our games then as soon as Fyvie comes back in we pumped Ayr 4-0. He does a heck of a lot off the ball as well as the simple stuff that help create the bigger picture.
This in a nutshell.
I totally agree with this. He's a good/decent player, but for me not a game changer. It'd be great to have him stay with Hibs but if he doesn't, for whatever reason, I certainly won't be losing any sleep over it.
He changed the game on 21/5/16, IMO of course! I like big Marv but he wouldn't have been on the opposition goal line winning us a corner in the 80th minute nor driving us on in the 91st, playing Stokes in on the left wing. Joni Mitchell said it best, "you don't know what you've got till its gone"!
07-06-2017, 05:36 PM
For all we know he may have those offers and is mulling them over or negotiating. It's hardly been a week since he apparently had his contract offer taken away. Aye he wasn't a starter for the last 3 to 4 months, the same time frame when we limped over the finish line with draw after draw. I love Marvin for what he can do but when we went 4-4-2 and played Marvin over Fraser it was evident how little creativity we had in the midfield. I don't think its a coincidence with Bartley starting we drew majority of our games then as soon as Fyvie comes back in we pumped Ayr 4-0. He does a heck of a lot off the ball as well as the simple stuff that help create the bigger picture.
:applause:
07-06-2017, 05:41 PM
Not aimed at you necessarily, but I keep reading about how much better we are with Fyvie in the team.
I'd be genuinely interested to know what our win percentage was with and without him last season. I'd bet there isn't anything in it. I thought we were just as inconsistent either way. I remember him getting the hook in two abysmal draws at Raith and at home to Dunfermline in the space of a week for instance.
07-06-2017, 05:48 PM
Not aimed at you necessarily, but I keep reading about how much better we are with Fyvie in the team.
I'd be genuinely interested to know what our win percentage was with and without him last season. I'd bet there isn't anything in it. I thought we were just as inconsistent either way. I remember him getting the hook in two abysmal draws at Raith and at home to Dunfermline in the space of a week for instance.
His form dropped off badly last season but I'd seen enough in previous seasons to know he's a quality player.
We've seen what he's capable of and he's not a player I'd be in a hurry to lose just because he had a few below-par performances in the second half of a season.
Class is permanent, form is temporary.
IanFaeClerrie
07-06-2017, 05:49 PM
I will really miss his creativity. McGeough comes close but does not defend as well.
Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk
07-06-2017, 05:52 PM
He is a great player. No doubt about it. Unfortunately, quite a few on here just don't seem to see it.
07-06-2017, 06:14 PM
I will really miss his creativity. McGeough comes close but does not defend as well.
Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk
Creativity?? Seriously?? I must have missed his numerous assists last season. I genuinely.like fyvie and would be happy if he stayed but some on here make out like he is a ginger Messi...I just don't get it...and neither does our manager apparently
07-06-2017, 06:18 PM
I definitely don't think he's the finished article. Which is odd to say at 24 but his move to Wigan certainly held him back a little bit in my opinion. His time at Hibs has been his most consistent playing spell of his career, probably even more so than his time at Aberdeen seeing as he had a big injury courtesy of Ian Murray.
I agree with you there have been games when he's been pretty honking but then I'm sure majority of our players have had those games at some point in their Hibs career. Like another poster said I am sold on the much larger runs of good form that he has, which for me cancel out the 1 or 2 bad games he'll have every 6 months or so.
Big L
07-06-2017, 06:40 PM
We always played better football when Fyvie played, he was always picking it up from the back four and starting the moves, the ball was played more on the deck which I prefer to see.
07-06-2017, 06:44 PM
We always played better football when Fyvie played, he was always picking it up from the back four and starting the moves, the ball was played more on the deck which I prefer to see.
Players like Fyvie and dare I say it, Kevin McBride, can be the difference between us being a decent passing outfit and a hoofball unit.
The player who takes the ball off the defence under pressure and moves it on is worth their weight in gold.
Fyvie always made himself available and because he took it under pressure, he sometimes subsequently lost it and copped abuse for it.
I'd rather see players like Fyvie getting on the ball every day of the week than watching it getting shelled up the park with the midfield just watching.
He'd have a big role to play next year if we were serious about dominating possession and taking the games to teams. He's always offered more than Bartley in that regard.
07-06-2017, 06:47 PM
Players like Fyvie and dare I say it, Kevin McBride, can be the difference between us being a decent passing outfit and a hoofball unit.
The player who takes the ball off the defence under pressure and moves it on is worth their weight in gold.
Fyvie always made himself available and because he took it under pressure, he sometimes subsequently lost it and copped abuse for it.
I'd rather see players like Fyvie getting on the ball every day of the week than watching it getting shelled up the park with the midfield just watching.
He'd have a big role to play next year if we were serious about dominating possession and taking the games to teams. He's always offered more than Bartley in that regard.
What a great and insightful post [emoji106]
07-06-2017, 06:54 PM
I think you have described Fyvie and his role perfectly :top marks
07-06-2017, 07:08 PM
And there we have it. 👍
07-06-2017, 07:09 PM
Sums it up, great post.
07-06-2017, 07:13 PM
:top marks Best post on the subject. Completely nails what he's about. Every successful team has a Fyvie, and such players are thin on the ground.
SON OF PADDY
07-06-2017, 07:22 PM
Creativity?? Seriously?? I must have missed his numerous assists last season. I genuinely.like fyvie and would be happy if he stayed but some on here make out like he is a ginger Messi...I just don't get it...and neither does our manager apparently
He's not the ginger Messi !
He's the ginger Messiah 😁
guthrie01
07-06-2017, 07:25 PM
Spot on mate, glad to see others agree as well. Big miss losing Fyvie, I'm hopeful that Lennon can replace Fyvie's role in the team with an equal or better quality player.
07-06-2017, 07:28 PM
I definitely don't think he's the finished article. Which is odd to say at 24 but his move to Wigan certainly held him back a little bit in my opinion. His time at Hibs has been his most consistent playing spell of his career, probably even more so than his time at Aberdeen seeing as he had a big injury courtesy of Ian Murray.
I agree with you there have been games when he's been pretty honking but then I'm sure majority of our players have had those games at some point in their Hibs career. Like another poster said I am sold on the much larger runs of good form that he has, which for me cancel out the 1 or 2 bad games he'll have every 6 months or so.
Absolutely he has poor games and that's no different to the rest of them. That's kind of my point, I think we're equally as inconsistent with and without him. I just think the influence he has is overstated by some. Whilst a lot of people perceive us to be better with him in the team, I'm not sure that is reflected in our results. It might be and I could be wrong. But I remember some of our best performances last year being without him. Equally we had some good performances with him. One player doesn't make or break a team and whilst I don't think Fyvie is a bad player, if he had the influence on our game that some people make out we'd be significantly better off results wise when he plays.
07-06-2017, 08:30 PM
There's more to creativity than assists, an assist stat only counts the last pass before a goal. Watch the video linked below, Fyvie starts the move for 3 of our 4 goals with forward passes into attacking positions (linking defense and attack).
https://youtu.be/an91NbI_ysk
07-06-2017, 08:31 PM
Excellent post
GreenOnions
07-06-2017, 10:04 PM
In a nutshell :top marks
07-06-2017, 10:36 PM
Absolutely he has poor games and that's no different to the rest of them. That's kind of my point, I think we're equally as inconsistent with and without him. I just think the influence he has is overstated by some. Whilst a lot of people perceive us to be better with him in the team, I'm not sure that is reflected in our results. It might be and I could be wrong. But I remember some of our best performances last year being without him. Equally we had some good performances with him. One player doesn't make or break a team and whilst I don't think Fyvie is a bad player, if he had the influence on our game that some people make out we'd be significantly better off results wise when he plays.
Hanlon, McGregor, Fontaine, Gray and Stevenson all seem to love using Fyvie as their out ball, which is his main job - the link up man. It's no coincidence that in our worst run of results he was voted player of the month because he never hides and always gives the defence an out ball as well as breaking up opposition play. He feeds the creative side of the team and they will miss him if he's gone, which I sincerely hope isn't the case.
Fine post but sorry to say I really can't be comparing FF to Kevin McBride. There's one significant difference. When Fraser gets the ball the first thing he does is to adjust his body position to be going forward, watch Hibs TV if you have any doubts. When Kevin got the ball he was invariably looking sideways at best, backwards most often. This meant if/when KM lost the ball he was already out of play. FF takes more chances by playing more positively but it means there's less danger if he loses the ball, & yes, I know we can all point to one famous incident when he cost us a goal. I'm a big FF fan, I worry we'll spend money to replace him with a player of less quality.
Big L
07-06-2017, 11:18 PM
I believe Fyvie will be badly missed, and if Lennon doesn't bring in someone else to fill that role we will be playing a more direct brand of football next season. Fyvie was with us for 3 seasons and eventually helped us win the Championship, he's also one of the legends that won the Scottish Cup, making him an offer and taking it off the table because he was late in signing seems a bit petty to me. I hope Lennon changes his mind.
I sincerely hope there is a change of heart at Hibs and we can keep Fraser at the club. I would expect him to go from strength to strength next season. That role was last adequately filled by Scott Brown and our midfield has struggled in the SPL when the position has been vacant.
08-06-2017, 07:10 AM
I don't see why it's petty? Fyvie decided to look elsewhere for a new club and didn't commit to Hibs. He had months to sign his new deal as well.
West lower
08-06-2017, 07:13 AM
I sincerely hope there is a change of heart at Hibs and we can keep Fraser at the club. I would expect him to go from strength to strength next season. That role was last adequately filled by Scott Brown and our midfield has struggled in the SPL when the position has been vacant.
I don't think Scot Brown ever played that role at Hibs. He only dropped back after moving to Celtic.
08-06-2017, 07:37 AM
Fyvie is nothing like Brown , the only player we have thats even close to Broony is SJM . Iv seen some beauties about fyvie on this thread but trying to compare him to Scott Brown is an absolute cracker
08-06-2017, 08:04 AM
I don't see why it's petty? Fyvie decided to look elsewhere for a new club and didn't commit to Hibs. He had months to sign his new deal as well.
You know this for certain? If so, which clubs was he looking for?
08-06-2017, 08:05 AM
Lennon favours a more direct style, which is no surprise for someone who spent such a long time playing for Martin O'Neill.
Fyvie was often bypassed as a route out of defence and Bartley is better at the midfield dirty work.
I'd say McGeouch's best role is deep, starting attacks from our own half, but can we rely on him staying fit for a good run?
Fyvie has a strong mentality and a wealth of experience for 24. He won't struggle to find another club but he may find it hard to get a pay rise.
Fyvie is nothing like Brown , the only player we have thats even close to Broony is SJM . Iv seen some beauties about fyvie on this thread but trying to compare him to Scott Brown is an absolute cracker
I haven't seen anyone saying Fyvie is comparable to Scott Brown. People were highlighting on the back to front distribution position in the team.
Let's not go off on a tangent.
08-06-2017, 08:31 AM
Lennon favours a more direct style, which is no surprise for someone who spent such a long time playing for Martin O'Neill.
Fyvie was often bypassed as a route out of defence and Bartley is better at the midfield dirty work.
I'd say McGeouch's best role is deep, starting attacks from our own half, but can we rely on him staying fit for a good run?
Fyvie has a strong mentality and a wealth of experience for 24. He won't struggle to find another club but he may find it hard to get a pay rise.
I agree with most of that but not the bit about McGeouch's best position. I think in a deeper role his contribution is nowhere near as great as is often made out on here. Imo he should be playing far further up the park, the goal he scored in the semi evidence of what he is capable of in a more advanced role.
As for Fyvie the fact that his contract offer was withdrawn suggests NL isn't that concerned about keeping him.
IAmLee
08-06-2017, 08:38 AM
Great post! I thought Fraser was running Daz close as our best player until he got injured v QoS. I like Bartley but we always seem to go more direct when he plays and he's at his most effective in games where we'll have less of the ball and he can focus on breaking up attacks rather than starting them.
Best example I can think of this is; in the draw with Dumbarton in March we nicked the ball off them when they were attacking and Boyle started a run up the touchline, Bartley got the ball and started screaming at him to come back a bit so he could pass to him. I'm not saying that Fraser would have pulled the pass off but he would have been more likely to try and slip the ball through rather than have him come back, he made similar passes v St Mirren and Ayr that I can remember. If there isn't a change of heart then we definitely need someone to fill his role in the team, Scott Martin could be a shout if Lennon wants to give him his chance, they seem quite similar any time I've seen Scott play.
08-06-2017, 08:43 AM
He certainly did last season but let's face it - it got us promoted.
I don't know if Lennon has a preferred style. I'm pretty sure if he had players that were best at passing and moving then that's the way he'd have them play. I don't think he falls for the delusion that we are better than we are at passing the ball and breaking teams down, therefore he mixed it up with some direct stuff at times last season.
He's quite pragmatic and I quite like the way he doesn't want to pass the ball for the sake of passing it. Whilst I do like the romantic passing football aspirations that we all have for Hibs, I did also find the way we out-Heartsed Hearts last season quite beautiful.
FWIW I think he'll want a balanced squad with options so that if he wants to play direct then he can, but if he wants to keep the ball and pass it then he can also do that.
That's why I think we have space in our squad for both Bartley and Fyvie, even if they struggle to play together.
08-06-2017, 08:54 AM
Cue the inevitable draw at home to Partick/Ross County or Hamilton and the usual - "We don't need MB in these types of games" cause how many times was that said last year? or the year before?
How many times did we say the same about FF? We don't, because there's always room for a ball player in the team. Most of our "big results" have came when FF is in the team. I'm not talking necessarily against top flight opposition, I'm talking when we've taken 3 or more goals off teams..
British football as a whole doesnt appreciate a FF type player as much as our friends on the continent. There's a reason teams/nations all play better football than us over here
When Fyvie joined in January, we had the makings of a superb midfield as Stubbs went to the diamond, McGeouch, Allan, Robertson, Craig and Fyvie scoring 16 goals between them, the 3 of Fyvie, Allan and Dylan were particularly good and the interaction and movement between the 3 was at times superb and made us a joy to watch at times.
The midfield suffered the following season as Stubbs went for more firepower up top and brought in Bartley, a no nonsense DM, adding the steeliness took away from creativity, plus Fyvie and Dylan struggled with injuries only playing around 20 league games each, thankfully Henderson stepped up to do his bit.
I feel Fyvie plays best when he plays as the linkpin in midfield alongside Dylan but both are missing that real creative midfielder we had in Allan, hopefully Swanson will be that spark of creativity missing from last season. When Fyvie tries to be that creative player it doesn't work and he misplaces too many passes or just tries too hard and that's when he looks like having a shocker.
08-06-2017, 09:35 AM
Cue the inevitable draw at home to Partick/Ross County or Hamilton and the usual - "We don't need MB in these types of games" cause how many times was that said last year? or the year before?
How many times did we say the same about FF? We don't, because there's always room for a ball player in the team. Most of our "big results" have came when FF is in the team. I'm not talking necessarily against top flight opposition, I'm talking when we've taken 3 or more goals off teams..
British football as a whole doesnt appreciate a FF type player as much as our friends on the continent. There's a reason teams/nations all play better football than us over here
Bartley while not the "footballer" FF is, is better than he is often given credit for. The trouble is imo the rest of the midfield don't create enough/play far enough up the park and as a result he ends up being asked to do the things that are not his strengths. Although entirely different players he and FF play in the same areas of the pitch, hence they don't often play well together and when you add McGeouch to that it only gets worse.
On his game FF is undoubtedly a good player but (and I've had this discussion/argument earlier on this thread) too often imo he has games where he isn't. And before someone says he wouldn't be at Hibs if he was good every week McGregor, Hanlon, Ambrose and Marciano, to name four, pretty much manage it.
I'd need to look at reports of the lineups and opposition to see whether the assertion that our big results are when FF is in the team is accurate but I can think of bad results in games he did play - not to say his contribution is a major factor in either.
Personally I think our midfield needs shaken up a bit, I don't think it creates nor scores enough goals. Swanson is a welcome addition but I think we need more, if that means letting someone like FF leave then so be it.
Given the choice I'd rather have Bartley than FF.
08-06-2017, 09:43 AM
08-06-2017, 10:47 AM
Great post.
Somebody compared him to Broony, while they are not the same type of player, they both have good engines.
08-06-2017, 10:59 AM
Great post.
Somebody compared him to Broony, while they are not the same type of player, they both have good engines.
Jeez if he's that good we should have given him anything he asked for. Trouble is he isn't that good. Not even close.
RossScott1991
08-06-2017, 11:44 AM
Fyvie is decent, nothing more nothing less.
- Doesn't score
- Doesn't assist
For a guy playing centre midfield, in the championship for a team with about70% possession every game id expect the stats for the above to be better. Im sorry, im in the meh camp if we keep him or not. Hes very much replaceable, we could find hundreds of guys who can keep the ball and do simple things in midfield same as Fyvie. We need better if we are going to be playing away to places like Ibrox, Pittodrie and Celtic Park and having to play on the counter attatck, there is a reason we dont score enough from midfield or in general and it is because guys like Fyvie slow the play down and are not forward thinking enough.
We should look to use his wage to someone else with a good record from midfield. We need to find another Beuzelin type, who was a great link between defence and attack but also plays it quicker in midfield and pitches in with the odd goal and burst into the box.
If he has turned down new deal, then he isnt one i think Hibs should burst a nut to keep IMO.
08-06-2017, 11:50 AM
- Doesn't score
- Doesn't assist
For a guy playing centre midfield, in the championship for a team with about70% possession every game id expect the stats for the above to be better. Im sorry, im in the meh camp if we keep him or not. Hes very much replaceable, we could find hundreds of guys who can keep the ball and do simple things in midfield same as Fyvie. We need better if we are going to be playing away to places like Ibrox, Pittodrie and Celtic Park and having to play on the counter attatck, there is a reason we dont score enough from midfield or in general and it is because guys like Fyvie slow the play down and are not forward thinking enough.
We should look to use his wage to someone else with a good record from midfield. We need to find another Beuzelin type, who was a great link between defence and attack but also plays it quicker in midfield and pitches in with the odd goal and burst into the box.
If he has turned down new deal, then he isnt one i think Hibs should burst a nut to keep IMO.
I think this sums it up. Lennon would be pulling out all the stops to get him to sign otherwise not withdrawing offer.
08-06-2017, 11:53 AM
- Doesn't score
- Doesn't assist
I think Boozy scored 10 goals in about the 5 years he was here.. love the guy but I'm not sure his 'pitching in with goals' was any more of an asset as it is with Fraser. I've said it before, but I'd much rather we hold onto Fyvie, he's one of our best midfielders and would be an asset to any of the teams we're competing with this season.
McGeough is someone who regularly has praised lavished on him on here. Might be controversial, but I'd keep Fyvie before him every day of the week.
08-06-2017, 12:06 PM
You know this for certain? If so, which clubs was he looking for?
Ones that would pay him more money/give him a game. One thing is for sure, he wasn't fully committed to staying at Hibs.
Fyvie still on the official site....
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/team/first
JimboHibs
08-06-2017, 12:28 PM
- Doesn't score
- Doesn't assist
Yip I really wish he wasn't playing when we won the Scottish Cup his contribution wasn't forward thinking that day oh wait a minute he wasn't forward enough thinking when he won the corner for the equaliser and again wasn't forward thinking enough as he burst fwd from the throw in and laid it onto Stokes in the 90th min...absolute nonsense to question his footballing ability.
RossScott1991
08-06-2017, 01:39 PM
Yip I really wish he wasn't playing when we won the Scottish Cup his contribution wasn't forward thinking that day oh wait a minute he wasn't forward enough thinking when he won the corner for the equaliser and again wasn't forward thinking enough as he burst fwd from the throw in and laid it onto Stokes in the 90th min...absolute nonsense to question his footballing ability.
Not questioning his football ability, I think he is a decent player. Im just making the point i dont think he is really key to us really wanting to push on next season. I don't recall him driving us forward and being key in any the victories against Hearts and the like. Yes he had a great game in the final, as did 10 others in the jersey that day. Keatings scored some key goals and great goals but I was by no means gutted when he left.
We can replace a Keatings, just as easy we can replace a Fraser Fyvie, and if his decision to stall on a contract is money based then no i dont think Hibs should burst a nut to keep him as i feel it could go towards improving our at times lacklustre midfield where we need more spark and goals.
08-06-2017, 01:47 PM
It's not been updated for a while, no Betfred or friendly fixtures on it either
08-06-2017, 02:38 PM
I think Boozy scored 10 goals in about the 5 years he was here.. love the guy but I'm not sure his 'pitching in with goals' was any more of an asset as it is with Fraser. I've said it before, but I'd much rather we hold onto Fyvie, he's one of our best midfielders and would be an asset to any of the teams we're competing with this season.
McGeough is someone who regularly has praised lavished on him on here. Might be controversial, but I'd keep Fyvie before him every day of the week.
To be fair, Boozy missed half a season in 2004-05 and then injured his cruciate in January 2006, so missed a load of games for us. In fact, looking on Soccerbase at the 2004 - 2006 seasons, he managed only 54 appearances due to those injuries, but scored 9 goals, which is a good return.
Fyvie has had his injury problems too, but has only managed 2 goals in 74 appearances for us, mostly in the Championship as well. I'd happily keep him, but I'm not going to be too upset if he's gone for good. Always be a legend for me, anyway.
Super_JMcGinn
08-06-2017, 04:38 PM
Jeez if he's that good we should have given him anything he asked for. Trouble is he isn't that good. Not even close.
Correct,the only comparison you could make with Scott Brown when we had him was they both wore 2 football boots. Broony was a box to box player and regularly went on 30 40 yard runs or more, I don't think I've ever seen FF run more than 5 yards.
The comparison is ridiculous.
08-06-2017, 05:00 PM
Good point.
All other leavers have been removed.
08-06-2017, 05:15 PM
Correct,the only comparison you could make with Scott Brown when we had him was they both wore 2 football boots. Broony was a box to box player and regularly went on 30 40 yard runs or more, I don't think I've ever seen FF run more than 5 yards.
Yep.
But comparing him to Brooney nowadays, less so ridiculous.
The comparison is ridiculous i agree but no more so than your comment re FF not running more than 5 yards. If it helps i can let you borrow my Time For Heroes dvd.
ben johnson
08-06-2017, 06:16 PM
The final The run towards the box. The delayed pass giving Stokes a run at the defender. This is a Hibs Scottish Cup Winner you are talking nonsense about.
08-06-2017, 06:19 PM
The final The run towards the box. The delayed pass giving Stokes a run at the defender. This is a Hibs Scottish Cup Winner you are talking nonsense about.
Watch the first goal again, and see which player is busting a gut to get into the box. There's some utter drivel on this thread.
Super_JMcGinn
08-06-2017, 06:27 PM
He like the rest of the players were immense that day. I'm talking about comparing his running WITH the ball compared to Broony which is the nonsense I'm talking about.
Super_JMcGinn
08-06-2017, 06:31 PM
Watch the first goal again, and see which player is busting a gut to get into the box. There's some utter drivel on this thread.
It was the opening minutes of the game and Gray was there too busting a gut as you call it. I'm talking about his box to box ability in comparison to the Broony we had, there is none.
ben johnson
08-06-2017, 06:31 PM
He like the rest of the players were immense that day. I'm talking about comparing his running WITH the ball compared to Broony which is the nonsense I'm talking about.
No you're not. You accused a player, who played a huge role in a game that changed the direction our whole club are heading , of not being prepared to run more than 5 yards for the cause.
Off track bit when Brown was at Hibs and ran with the ball he was a joy to watch. Shame he was moulded into what he is today IMHO. Fraser isn't half the player Brown was/is
ben johnson
08-06-2017, 06:54 PM
Off track bit when Brown was at Hibs and ran with the ball he was a joy to watch. Shame he was moulded into what he is today IMHO. Fraser isn't half the player Brown was/is
That's why Brown does not play for Hibs. We are talking about the utter disrespect one of our Cup Winning team is receiving on this thread.
GreenOnions
08-06-2017, 07:05 PM
That's why Brown does not play for Hibs. We are talking about the utter disrespect one of our Cup Winning team is receiving on this thread.
The majority on this thread appear to me to rate FF highly - as I do. He is a key part in our team playing football along the deck from the back and is pretty good in that role. I really hope we can keep him. C'mon Fraser -you know it makes sense :agree:
ben johnson
08-06-2017, 07:10 PM
The majority on this thread appear to me to rate FF highly - as I do. He is a key part in our team playing football along the deck from the back and is pretty good in that role. I really hope we can keep him. C'mon Fraser -you know it makes sense :agree:
Yes I have read the postings who support him. It's the not running more than fifteen feet in a game that's really raised my BP.
08-06-2017, 07:30 PM
No you're not. You accused a player, who played a huge role in a game that changed the direction our whole club are heading , of not being prepared to run more than 5 yards for the cause.
I don't think he did.
Just pointing out that FF is not the type of midfielder to carry the ball through the lines, unlike SB then or SJM now.
mentalhibee
08-06-2017, 07:43 PM
FF is a hero for his performance in the final. You get a great insight into his attitude from the DVD, the guys a winner. Hope we can still sign him on for next season.
I don't think he did.
Just pointing out that FF is not the type of midfielder to carry the ball through the lines, unlike SB then or SJM now.
He said " i dont think I've ever seen FF run more than 5 yards. " A serious contender for most inane Hibs Net comment ever.
08-06-2017, 08:08 PM
Brown took the ball forward at his feet, at pace, until he was purple in the face. Nobody has come close to doing that as effectively for us since. There are many players who have done it more effectively than Fyvie though: McGinn, Allan and McGeouch for obvious starters.
08-06-2017, 08:34 PM
He said " i dont think I've ever seen FF run more than 5 yards. " A serious contender for most inane Hibs Net comment ever.
Look at the context of the comment.
It's clearly talking about runs with the ball.
[QUOTE=jacomo;5064636]Look at the context of the comment.
It's clearly talking about runs with the ball.[/QUOT
The comment is ludicrous regardless of the context. I refer you again to 21/5/16.
ben johnson
08-06-2017, 09:08 PM
Look at the context of the comment.
It's clearly talking about runs with the ball.
Defending the indefensible. We are talking about 15 FEET !
Just ludicrous
08-06-2017, 09:31 PM
Defending the indefensible. We are talking about 15 FEET !
Just ludicrous
The point is that Fyvie is not really a box to box type midfielder.
I'm not sure it warrants your huge reaction to it.
I like Fyvie a lot, he's a Scottish Cup hero. I'd like to stay but the challenge is always about building the best balanced squad.
09-06-2017, 07:13 AM
Can't believe the level of debate on here trying to match up.players,as like for likes when they obviously aren't. FF has his own skill set, which I personally like because I think he has a very good football brain, he works hard to keep ball posssession, he tackles and battles , he links up the game, he knows how to play his role and position, he wants to play the game on the ground, he reads the game ...his let down is hr doesn't get enough goals ..but for me he is a holding midfielder who can certainly play and can be creative, I personally think this league would suit his,style better than the one player that a lot of people have the blinkers on with and thats Bartley ...I get his,attributes are to break up play and be a bit of a physical presence, but for me thats where it begins,and ends ...I don't think.I have seen a player with as limited ability in passing a ball, heading, touch, composure, ...and thats just a start ..and I am not going to go on and slate one of our players,any further, but he severely restricts our teams,ability to play the game with any pace or intensity, as it takes him so.long to do things , I have concerns,about him being able to cope with the quicker more skilful aspect of the games next season.
I think FF is,a better all round fit as,a defensive holding midfielder ..but its all about opinions,and NL obviously knows how he see's us playing and is,developing the,squad to match it ..roll on some more new,signings ..and the,season starting
SON OF PADDY
09-06-2017, 07:16 AM
Can't believe the level of debate on here trying to match up.players,as like for likes when they obviously aren't. FF has his own skill set, which I personally like because I think he has a very good football brain, he works hard to keep ball posssession, he tackles and battles , he links up the game, he knows how to play his role and position, he wants to play the game on the ground, he reads the game ...his let down is hr doesn't get enough goals ..but for me he is a holding midfielder who can certainly play and can be creative, I personally think this league would suit his,style better than the one player that a lot of people have the blinkers on with and thats Bartley ...I get his,attributes are to break up play and be a bit of a physical presence, but for me thats where it begins,and ends ...I don't think.I have seen a player with as limited ability in passing a ball, heading, touch, composure, ...and thats just a start ..and I am not going to go on and slate one of our players,any further, but he severely restricts our teams,ability to play the game with any pace or intensity, as it takes him so.long to do things , I have concerns,about him being able to cope with the quicker more skilful aspect of the games next season.
I think FF is,a better all round fit as,a defensive holding midfielder ..but its all about opinions,and NL obviously knows how he see's us playing and is,developing the,squad to match it ..roll on some more new,signings ..and the,season starting
Good post 👍
I'm no huge fan of Bartley but I understand his attributes in certain games, unfortunately against 7 of the teams in the league he is not needed and a Fyvie type will be. Now Fyvie apart from a handful of games had a poor season, particularly near the end when he was subbed in the semi, is there anyone better out there? Maybe Lennon feels there is but for me Fyvie played his best football the 1st season when he signed his short contract, since he signed his 2 year deal he's been very hot and cold and therein lies his problem.