DavieRoy
31-05-2017, 10:23 AM
http://spfl.co.uk/news/article/betfred-cup-seedings-confirmed/

So we are North 2nd seeds. Hearts are North 1st seeds. Derby is possible

Edinburgh City in the South section!!

Lmc2105
31-05-2017, 10:25 AM
Edinburgh City in the South section!!

Crazy!! Two minutes away and we could be heading to Buckie instead what's the logic?! Potentially two massive money spinners for city as well you just wonder the thinking of our powers at be.

percy veer
31-05-2017, 10:26 AM
don't half make it easy to follow, absolute shambles.

DavieRoy
31-05-2017, 10:29 AM
Remember we got Turriff United as we were a North team last season in the Challenge Cup. Stirling Albion were in the South section.

The League Cup is regionalised until they have to make the sections have a certain amount of teams from certain divisions.

If the league called it section 1 and section 2, it might avoid some pelters. Calling it North and South then separating three teams from the same city is so daft.

31-05-2017, 10:30 AM
Crazy!! Two minutes away and we could be heading to Buckie instead what's the logic?! Potentially two massive money spinners for city as well you just wonder the thinking of our powers at be.

looking at the unseeded teams in the North section tho you can see why Edinburgh are south. They would be better making groups North/South/East/ West so they are more regionalised because, although the splits they have made are correct, it is indeed mental that Hibs and Hearts are in the North and Edinburgh are in the South.

We need to hope for a group like -

Hearts or Dundee
3 from - Raith/Alloa/East Fife/Stirling Albion/Cowdenbeath

31-05-2017, 10:38 AM
Falkirk North, Stenny South?

What a shambles.

davhibby
31-05-2017, 10:39 AM
There's not really much they can do when pretty much all the best teams in the country are from the central belt

31-05-2017, 10:41 AM
Only the stupid GFA could come up with a shambles like this, no doubt got their eye on the ugly sisters more than anything else.

Absolute trumpets!

31-05-2017, 10:46 AM
Why are we second seeds and ICT first seeds. It's for season 2017/18 so surely we should be seeded ahead of them.

31-05-2017, 10:47 AM
Why are we second seeds and ICT first seeds. It's for season 2017/18 so surely we should be seeded ahead of them.

based on positions at end of 16/17 season it says on the article.

DarrenSQH
31-05-2017, 10:50 AM
east and west might work better?

31-05-2017, 10:50 AM
Only the stupid GFA could come up with a shambles like this, no doubt got their eye on the ugly sisters more than anything else.

Absolute trumpets!

Its the GPFL that's arranged this, not the GFA.

31-05-2017, 10:55 AM
If we draw Hear7s the game will be at Tynecastle.

31-05-2017, 10:57 AM

Any reason why?

31-05-2017, 11:00 AM
Do the 1st seeds not play the 2nd seeds at home?

31-05-2017, 11:02 AM

Don't think so with the stand getting half built

ShinyFantastic
31-05-2017, 11:05 AM
Do the 1st seeds not play the 2nd seeds at home?

That's what I read as well

31-05-2017, 11:17 AM

No way.

ElginHibbie
31-05-2017, 11:26 AM
An away match against County/Inverness/Elgin/Buckie would be good from a totally selfish point of view

31-05-2017, 12:05 PM
No way.

Might need to retract thst, according to Jkb they are playing League Cup games in front of 3 stands.

31-05-2017, 01:02 PM
http://spfl.co.uk/news/article/betfred-cup-seedings-confirmed/

So we are North 2nd seeds. Hearts are North 1st seeds. Derby is possible

Is there any other tournament in world football that is a muddled as this ?

I am all for change in Scottish Football but the format they have created is very odd. Plus playing 5 games in 2 weeks.

Got a feeling we will get an early derby :agree:

31-05-2017, 01:56 PM
Do the top 2 go through or just the winner of the group?

Are these games on your season ticket or extra?

31-05-2017, 01:59 PM
Typical.S.F.A could not organise a p--- in a brewery.

31-05-2017, 01:59 PM
Do the top 2 go through or just the winner of the group?

Are these games on your season ticket or extra?

group winners and 4 best runners up. I think season ticket holders were to get 10% off ticket prices last season.

jarre1875
31-05-2017, 02:32 PM
Its a joke. I think we all know there will be a derby to help raise the profile of the cup and to help bt with viewing figures. If there isnt a derby i will completely shocked

31-05-2017, 02:55 PM
Might need to retract thst, according to Jkb they are playing League Cup games in front of 3 stands.

A July derby game would be great so we can set down a marker for the season. I wonder if it could be played at Murrayfield, the Jambos can't afford to turn away fans by playing in front of 3 stands. That would be okay for their other matches which wouldn't be sell-outs.

31-05-2017, 02:56 PM
Not actually sure that either club would want a derby in what is effectively pre season. Hearts would have more to lose as if we do turn the over yet again Cathro will be under massive pressure and their fans will start turning on Budge and more so Levein.

31-05-2017, 03:18 PM
Putting Hearts in their place yet again would be a pleasing start to the season. They know what they are.

31-05-2017, 03:26 PM
The second North seeds look stronger than the first.

31-05-2017, 03:50 PM
The second North seeds look stronger than the first.

I'm surprised Caley are seeded

Ilovehibs
31-05-2017, 03:52 PM
Its a joke. I think we all know there will be a derby to help raise the profile of the cup and to help bt with viewing figures. If there isnt a derby i will completely shocked

Correct.

31-05-2017, 03:58 PM

Yep. I think it's a pretty safe bet that we'll be in the same group as Hearts. Not that it's a problem as they're not great, but we should be seeded ahead of ICT.

james62
31-05-2017, 04:12 PM
An away match against County/Inverness/Elgin/Buckie would be good from a totally selfish point of view

2 would be even better! :wink:

31-05-2017, 04:57 PM
As Hearts are top seeds, does this give them any right to play the 2nd seed at home, or are all the games drawn out?

02-06-2017, 01:49 PM
The draw's this evening at half 6.

Personally would be happy with any of the top seeds (derby would be good, Dundee are local and would fancy a trip to the Highlands) and at least one away trip to any teams from Angus or Forth Valley.

02-06-2017, 01:52 PM
I like that Buckie Thistle and East Kilbride are in it.

02-06-2017, 04:54 PM
So is the draw exclusively on BT2 or are us withoot decent TV services able to view on line somewhere?

02-06-2017, 04:58 PM
I like that Buckie Thistle and East Kilbride are in it.
But everything else about it is kack.
This takes us back to the seventies.

Topographic Hibby
02-06-2017, 05:05 PM
So is the draw exclusively on BT2 or are us withoot decent TV services able to view on line somewhere?
Link on here to BT Facebook page that I'll be trying (I don't have BT sport)
http://spfl.co.uk/news/article/betfred-cup-draw-live-tonight/

02-06-2017, 05:08 PM
Link on here to BT Facebook page that I'll be trying (I don't have BT sport)
http://spfl.co.uk/news/article/betfred-cup-draw-live-tonight/

Cheers TH :thumbsup:

02-06-2017, 05:21 PM
If we get Hearts will we only get half the stand?

telford hibbee
02-06-2017, 05:22 PM
What time and channel is the draw on

02-06-2017, 05:24 PM
What time and channel is the draw on

6.30 on BT Sport 2

telford hibbee
02-06-2017, 05:25 PM
6.30 on BT Sport 2

02-06-2017, 05:30 PM
If we get Hearts will we only get half the stand?

Two or three sections behind the goals.

I think we can demand 20% of the total capacity, whatever that is.

02-06-2017, 05:36 PM
Dundee and Dundee Utd drawn in same group

02-06-2017, 05:36 PM
We're in Group D with Ross County so far

Dunfermline in Group B with Hearts

Kavinho
02-06-2017, 05:39 PM
We're in Group D with Ross County so far

Dunfermline in Group B with Hearts

& Montrose

02-06-2017, 05:39 PM
Montrose in our group too

02-06-2017, 05:40 PM
Will we be away to County?

This all seems a bit mad and over complicated.

Kavinho
Montrose in our group too

& alloa

Alloa in our group too

02-06-2017, 05:41 PM
Will we be away to County?

This all seems a bit mad and over complicated.

02-06-2017, 05:41 PM
Happy with this so far, never seen us play at Montrose so hopefully thats an away fixture.

02-06-2017, 05:42 PM
Arbroath the final team in our group so our group is:

Ross County
Hibs
Montrose
Alloa
Arbroath

Kavinho
02-06-2017, 05:42 PM
Hearts got Peterhead elgin and east fife with Dunfermline.

02-06-2017, 05:43 PM
Best group ever. Hope we play away at Arbroath - my local team growing up.

Happy with this so far, never seen us play at Montrose so hopefully thats an away fixture.

Hope we get Montrose away. My first away game in the League Cupin 79.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170602/08cec4803a9e6fd4c9cf75dd54193c30.jpg

Ross County
Hibs
Montrose
Alloa
Arbroath

Can surely come through that, and hopefully a couple of interesting away trips.

02-06-2017, 05:44 PM
Edinburgh City in with Motherwell and Morton so far

02-06-2017, 05:49 PM

Ross County
Hibs
Montrose
Alloa
Arbroath

Very happy with and should come through as group winners

The Jambos will be relieved.

They are desperate to win this and drawing Hibs is as good as an early exit.

Jambos will be glad they avoided us. Shame, we could have got our tally to over 3 wins against them :wink::thumbsup:

02-06-2017, 05:50 PM
What a draw for the Angus glory hunters 🇳🇬

02-06-2017, 05:50 PM
So who plays who and is it home or away?

02-06-2017, 05:51 PM
Crap, boring group IMO. Was hoping for at least one decent wee away trip. Between this group and the two boring friendlies there's not a single game to get excited about. Roll on the start of the league campaign.

02-06-2017, 05:52 PM
What a draw for the Angus glory hunters 🇳🇬

Ken!

Now watch us get drawn at home to Arbroath and Montrose.

02-06-2017, 05:53 PM
Back from Albania on 14th so a nice away trip up to Dingwall or Angus would be good.

02-06-2017, 05:56 PM
Thank god its regionalised, we could've had loads of traveling to do otherwise

02-06-2017, 05:59 PM
At last, a few local games for us lot up here!

02-06-2017, 06:00 PM
Not been to Arbroath's ground so that'll be a wee trip if we play them away. Apart from that not too much to get excited about.

02-06-2017, 06:03 PM
Apologies if already answered, when do we find out which teams we are playing at home and away?

02-06-2017, 06:04 PM
Thank god its regionalised, we could've had loads of traveling to do otherwise

lol I think Alloa might be the only away game for a lot of folk.

Topographic Hibby
02-06-2017, 06:15 PM
lol I think Alloa might be the only away game for a lot of folk.
Yayyy!!! I'll be up at the Recs annoying my neighbours then!! :agree:

Edit: ....balls, will be away on holiday!!! :grr:

Jag7
02-06-2017, 06:33 PM
Crap, boring group IMO. Was hoping for at least one decent wee away trip. Between this group and the two boring friendlies there's not a single game to get excited about. Roll on the start of the league campaign.

Boring comment

02-06-2017, 06:34 PM
Yayyy!!! I'll be up at the Recs annoying my neighbours then!! :agree:

Edit: ....balls, will be away on holiday!!! :grr:

LOL.

02-06-2017, 06:38 PM
Hope we get Montrose away. My first away game in the League Cupin 79.

Did you mention that recently on another thread? Rings a bell lol!

02-06-2017, 06:49 PM
Did you mention that recently on another thread? Rings a bell lol!

Aye I did bud!

02-06-2017, 07:32 PM
I've always liked Montrose for their (scandalously unheralded) part in a piece of Yam History.
No, not the First World War win, or the special relationship cup.

In1986, after a long unbeaten run, most folk know hearts lost 2 games in a row, versus Albert Kidd at Dens, then the following week vs Aberdeen at Hampden in the Scottish (and having the first red card in the fixture, special relationship indeed).

The reason I like montrose though is they actually beat hearts in their next game, making it 3 defeats in a row, in 3 different trophies, each one being a knockout blow for the Yam.

19 August 1986
Tynecastle
Scottish League Cup
Hearts 0 Montrose 2
Att. 7028

Glory day for the Gable Endies.

02-06-2017, 08:18 PM
First ever Hibs Hearts league cup final anyone?

Topographic Hibby
02-06-2017, 08:22 PM
First ever Hibs Hearts league cup final anyone?
That supposes Cathro winning a few games. I-spy a flaw.......:lolyam:

02-06-2017, 08:38 PM
That supposes Cathro winning a few games. I-spy a flaw.......:lolyam:

No.It has to happen eventually and if it was now we'd give them a right doing.