View Full Version : THE 170 Million Pound Game

OxoHibby
29-05-2017, 02:55 PM
If the English championship playoff final us worth £170 million to the winners does anyone know what the spelling championship playoff was worth to Hamilton? £170 K?

29-05-2017, 02:58 PM
If the English championship playoff final us worth £170 million to the winners does anyone know what the spelling championship playoff was worth to Hamilton? £170 K?

I'm not going to mention the spelling but it's worth at least £170 million. I think that's the value based on the winner being relegated the first season. No idea about Hamilton.

29-05-2017, 03:21 PM
Utter dross whatever the figure is.

JDHibs
29-05-2017, 03:49 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scottish-premiership-prize-money-who-7831218

From last April. We get just under £500k for winning the league.

29-05-2017, 03:58 PM
2 shots on target in 95 mins. Lots of very average, athletic and overpaid footballers.

29-05-2017, 04:01 PM
Forgot this was on

29-05-2017, 04:08 PM
Forgot this was on

You've missed absolutely nothing. Utter *****, just like the majority of English games.

29-05-2017, 04:15 PM
A bit hacked off that H'field didnae take at least one of their good chances at the start of the first half as had them ht-ft, money back as a free bet from Laddies as the game was a draw after 90 mins, could've been worse.

29-05-2017, 04:15 PM
This game is definitely top of the boredom league.

😪

ShadesLongThrow
29-05-2017, 04:21 PM
Pile your money onto the winners of this being first confirmed relegated next season. Really poor after a bright start.

29-05-2017, 04:24 PM
Oh for the days of Charlton vs Sunderland 3-3 draws and the like. Doesn't seem to be many great play off final games...too much to lose weighing the teams down maybe?

29-05-2017, 04:25 PM
You've missed absolutely nothing. Utter *****, just like the majority of English games.
Agreed not that sky will ever admit that

29-05-2017, 04:30 PM
Reminds me of some of the sheeeite we had on loan in 2012. A pitch full of Matt Dohertys. 😳

29-05-2017, 04:33 PM

It's been quoted a lot more than that. £270m apparently.

OxoHibby
29-05-2017, 04:34 PM
Pile your money onto the winners of this being first confirmed relegated next season. Really poor after a bright start.

Good start for 5 mins. Since then has been awful

29-05-2017, 04:41 PM
Just going into penalties.

Do any of them have a Conrad?

29-05-2017, 04:42 PM
Just going into penalties.

Do any of them have a Conrad?Huddersfield have Nick Colgan

29-05-2017, 04:42 PM
Just saw that the Huddersfield GK coach is Nick Colgan!

29-05-2017, 04:43 PM
Pish match. The prize is huge, but it all goes into the pockets of overpaid nobodies that the winners will undoubtedly sign.

29-05-2017, 04:52 PM

29-05-2017, 04:57 PM
The Huddersfield chairman was struggling during the penalties.

High-On-Hibs
29-05-2017, 04:59 PM
Reading players on pitch, watering their eyes oot over the future of their pay cheques.

29-05-2017, 04:59 PM
Surely the worst team ever to get promoted to the EPL?

Keyser Sauzee
29-05-2017, 05:01 PM

Worse than Blackpool??? Tbf I'm no sure how u can even judge it and why, it's a great achievement that should be applauded.

29-05-2017, 05:02 PM
Surely the worst team ever to get promoted to the EPL?How often have you watched them?

29-05-2017, 05:03 PM

I hate Sky. No money put into our game but happy to throw millions into the English game and now there's Huddersfield, Bouremouth etc etc with bigger budgets than the entire Scottish leagues combined.

29-05-2017, 05:07 PM
Disappointed for Reading. I've been at the Madejski Stadium quite a few times and thought it was a solid, local club. Always look out for their results.

29-05-2017, 05:10 PM
Well done Huddersfield; what an incredible moment for them. It's good to see a new club get their chance at the big time.

29-05-2017, 05:15 PM

They've impressed me every time I've seen them this season.

Admittedly I didn't watch the game today.

29-05-2017, 05:17 PM
Promoted after conceding more goals than scoring. Very poor game

OxoHibby
29-05-2017, 05:22 PM
I hate Sky. No money put into our game but happy to throw millions into the English game and now there's Huddersfield, Bouremouth etc etc with bigger budgets than the entire Scottish leagues combined.

And this was kind of the point of my opinion. So much hype. Watching the Hamilton Arabs fame there was no mention if how much staying up was worth to Hamilton. Also mm any empty seats at Wembley

29-05-2017, 05:22 PM
Promoted after conceding more goals than scoring. Very poor game

That's one for the history books. Must be very rare!

29-05-2017, 05:24 PM

Why do you ask that? Or is it your assessment?

29-05-2017, 05:26 PM
Nice to see Nick Colgan getting a bit of success with Huddersfield.

DavieRoy
29-05-2017, 06:59 PM

No, I hate SPL chairman for not accepting a Sky deal 9 years ago that is worth much more than they pay now. We picked Setanta thanks to the business acumen of SPL chairman.

Irony is they are the bigges investor in Scottish football. Our chairman are so spineless, they can't negotiate.

Sky used the £120 million the then SPL knocked back and put it into the EFL.

29-05-2017, 07:04 PM
No, I hate SPL chairman for not accepting a Sky deal 9 years ago that is worth much more than they pay now. We picked Setanta thanks to the business acumen of SPL chairman.

Irony is they are the bigges investor in Scottish football. Our chairman are so spineless, they can't negotiate.

I recently read the most recent "secret footballer" book.

He goes on about the lack of negotiating skill that the football clubs in England have. Basically all the players would happily play for significantly less, but English football seems to defy the laws of economics and keeps getting bigger and bigger. Instead of driving a hard bargain they just pay the players more and more and more. The players aren't exactly complaining about it.

I remember the famous story about Seth Johnson negotiating with Peter Ridsdale which seemed to back this up.

29-05-2017, 07:12 PM

I thought it was Roger Mitchell who knocked it back as he believed they could squeeze a lot more out of them. It may be that he was simply the mouthpiece of the chairmen though.

29-05-2017, 07:23 PM
Disappointed for Reading. I've been at the Madejski Stadium quite a few times and thought it was a solid, local club. Always look out for their results.

So is Huddersfield.

They've never had a crack at the Premier League before. Good luck to them.

29-05-2017, 08:21 PM
Wolfsburg stay up in Bundeslegia, pitch invasion, riot police on the pitch.

29-05-2017, 10:08 PM
Listened to the game on talk sport and all they banged on about was how much this game was worth to the winners.
And here was me thinking it was all about the prestige of playing at the top level and league in your respective country rather than what's it's worth financially.

29-05-2017, 10:57 PM
Well done Huddersfield; what an incredible moment for them. It's good to see a new club get their chance at the big time.

Huddersfield have been in the top league before and won it. Won the cup also. But I agree it's a great time for them.

29-05-2017, 11:06 PM

Irony is they are the biggest investor in Scottish football. Our chairman are so spineless, they can't negotiate.

Your timing is way out, it was 15 years ago. The original Sky deal was rejected in 2002. The SPL signed up with the BBC after Sky withdrew their offer.

The Setanta deal came in 2004 and when they collapsed, Sky and BT emerged in 2009.

29-05-2017, 11:18 PM
So is Huddersfield.

They've never had a crack at the Premier League before. Good luck to them.

Didn't say they weren't!

Suspect they'll be up and down.

Of the 3 that've gone up, Brighton will be interesting to watch.

DavieRoy
30-05-2017, 12:33 AM
Your timing is way out, it was 15 years ago. The original Sky deal was rejected in 2002. The SPL signed up with the BBC after Sky withdrew their offer.

The Setanta deal came in 2004 and when they collapsed, Sky and BT emerged in 2009.

It happened twice. Originally in 2002, when Roger Mitchell played a dangerous game and lost. It also meant the loss of good highlights and magazine shows.

Then in 2008, the tender went out, Sky bid £120 million, Setanta £125 million, to start in 2010. Aberdeen, Celtic and Rangers voted for Sky, everyone else voted for Setanta. Setanta deflated on their current/old deal one year later, Sky (who had spent the money and filled the slots) and start up channel ESPN went in together and shared the rights matched Setanta's old deal.

The Scottish FA, also in 2008, negotiated a deal with Sky and BBC for the Scottish Cup and Internationals at a much better price.

My point is in all of this, these companies, Sky, ESPN/BT and BBC are willing to and have shown that they will pay decent money, to the Scottish FA and UEFA for various rights involving Scotland or Scottish clubs but not the SPFL, say a lot.

30-05-2017, 12:52 AM
All Huddersfield season tickets were £199.00 until they went off sale before the play offs.

17,000 sold watching premiership football for £10.50 a game!

30-05-2017, 01:07 AM
Huddersfield have been in the top league before and won it. Won the cup also. But I agree it's a great time for them.

Aye - back in the 1930's. It's a great achievement for them to have got to the EPL and I truly wish them all the luck for next season. They're going to need it. £170 million isn't much to play with in the context of the EPL, but if Wagner's as good as they say he is ...

Who knows?

30-05-2017, 01:46 PM
And this was kind of the point of my opinion. So much hype. Watching the Hamilton Arabs fame there was no mention if how much staying up was worth to Hamilton. Also mm any empty seats at Wembley

The Hamilton chairman was on after the game and mentioned they get £1m down near the bottom of th league and the top championship teams get £300k......that together with £500k parachute payments mean they would be down £200k.
As for us, that's a decent jump, and re-enforces the positives of being back in this league. (Although compare to the £170m in the EPL and its smash.

30-05-2017, 02:34 PM
All Huddersfield season tickets were £199.00 until they went off sale before the play offs.

This ones even better,

"Huddersfield supporters who have held season tickets since 2009 will be able to buy one for £100 next season. Around £5 a game."

What a reward for loyalty.

JDHibs
30-05-2017, 02:54 PM
Sky is one of the main reasons English football has completely left us behind.

Put that much money in that Bournemouth can give out contracts to Defoe for £130k a week!!

They have an 11500 seater stadium...

30-05-2017, 02:55 PM
Sky is one of the main reasons English football has completely left us behind.

Put that much money in that Bournemouth can give out contracts to Defoe for £130k a week!!

They have an 11500 seater stadium...

And a billionaire owner.

30-05-2017, 03:14 PM

Yup, good friend of mine bought one just in case... :greengrin

shame he lives in Hampshire though..:confused:

30-05-2017, 04:40 PM
Yup, good friend of mine bought one just in case... :greengrin

shame he lives in Hampshire though..:confused:

Wish I had got one since I only live 5 mile from their ground. Would have been decent on the big games.

30-05-2017, 04:57 PM
Wish I had got one since I only live 5 mile from their ground. Would have been decent on the big games.

Glory Hunter :greengrin

30-05-2017, 06:55 PM
Glory Hunter :greengrin

To be fair I get a lot of freebies at Huddersfield. Something tells me they may dry up next year. Ha

Keyser Sauzee
30-05-2017, 07:49 PM
Not trying to take this thread on to much of a tangent but with Huddersfield getting promoted it got me thinking who is the smallest town to be represented in the top flight, Burnley??

30-05-2017, 08:10 PM
Not trying to take this thread on to much of a tangent but with Huddersfield getting promoted it got me thinking who is the smallest town to be represented in the top flight, Burnley??

Must be up there. I remember they played United away and more people were in there than live in Burnley.

30-05-2017, 08:22 PM
Worse than Blackpool??? Tbf I'm no sure how u can even judge it and why, it's a great achievement that should be applauded.

How do you work that one out? Went down with a pretty high total of 39 points, 6 points more than West Ham, beat Spurs, did the double over Liverpool, scored 4 goals against United (lost both games though). Im a Blackpool lad, there was no shame in what Blackpool did or achieved in the Premier league. Pity about the ownership though.

Keyser Sauzee
30-05-2017, 08:31 PM
How do you work that one out? Went down with a pretty high total of 39 points, 6 points more than West Ham, beat Spurs, did the double over Liverpool, scored 4 goals against United (lost both games though). Im a Blackpool lad, there was no shame in what Blackpool did or achieved in the Premier league. Pity about the ownership though.

I wasn't meaning to demean what Blackpool did, bad example. I was more trying to suggest that the smaller teams should be applauded for acheiving this feat rather than being labelled the worst team to be promoted.

30-05-2017, 08:33 PM
I wasn't meaning to demean what Blackpool did, bad example. I was more trying to suggest that the smaller teams should be applauded for acheiving this feat rather than being labelled the worst team to be promoted.

No problem. got to stick up for your own, you understand. :thumbsup:

Keyser Sauzee
30-05-2017, 08:35 PM

👍🏼

30-05-2017, 08:49 PM
Bloomin' donkey lashers.

On the subject of smallest towns, Huddersfield is deceptively large in relative terms. Population of 162,000 although Kirklees borough is huge with a population of over 400,000 to draw from, featuring a lot of smaller neighbouring towns of which none of them have even senior level non-league sides.

Burnley has a population of only 70,000 and Blackburn just over 100,000 but both draw support from the countless towns and villages around them, which goes some way to explaining Accrington's constant struggle for crowds.

Saint Hibee
31-05-2017, 05:52 AM
Bloomin' donkey lashers.

On the subject of smallest towns, Huddersfield is deceptively large in relative terms. Population of 162,000 although Kirklees borough is huge with a population of over 400,000 to draw from, featuring a lot of smaller neighbouring towns of which none of them have even senior level non-league
Burnley has a population of only 70,000 and Blackburn just over 100,000 but both draw support from the countless towns and villages around them, which goes some way to explaining Accrington's constant struggle for crowds.

I'm not claiming that they're a "massive " club, but they certainly have a significantly bigger support than teams like Bournemouth, Hull, or Wigan.