View Full Version : Scottish Cup final 2017

Pages : 1 [2]

27-05-2017, 03:52 PM
Griffiths has laid on four sitters.....not often they miss so many chances. Bet it's griffiths that's subbed for dembele

27-05-2017, 03:54 PM
Anybody waiting on the board to go up announcing four minutes of additional time. :greengrin

SuperAllyMcleod
27-05-2017, 03:55 PM
I'm sure Sir David will get a mention any second now.

We could have won this.

Come on the sheep hang in there

Griffiths to deliver....nah.

Dan Sarf
27-05-2017, 03:56 PM
I'm sure Sir David will get a mention any second now.

Yes! Ish

David gray time

a winner

27-05-2017, 03:57 PM
Deja vu.

Dan Sarf
As inevitable as rain

hibs#1
It was coming

David_D
92nd minute again.

90 plus 2.

Two in a row.

SuperAllyMcleod
Celebrating in Sir Davids corner too!

Game over. Hats off to the Dons. You can't blame your team when there is nothing left in their legs.

Even went to the same spot to celebrate

McInnes threw that game away by taking O'Connor on. He almost did the same against us.

27-05-2017, 03:58 PM
90+2:greengrin

Hahaha Aberdeen tears

Get the **** out of St Davids corner.

in 90+ 2
in 90+ 22222222
that's the way to win the cup
in 90+2

hibs#1
27-05-2017, 03:59 PM
Game over. Hats off to the Dons. You can't blame your team when there is nothing left in their legs.

You can blame McInnes think he let them sit far to deep late on

27-05-2017, 04:00 PM
****** hate Sellick. Slime ball bassa's

Dan Sarf
Not as good as last year

Get on the pitch

You can blame McInnes think he let them sit far to deep late on

he kept waving his players to push up

27-05-2017, 04:01 PM
Team with ten times the budget of everyone else wins another trophy. Yay.

Time to cut the grass.

Haha Aberdeen. Back to the 80's you pop

They've always tried to copy us :greengrin

Fantastic season for Celtic. Can't wait to play them next season

27-05-2017, 04:02 PM

just need a chelski win now, the doubles on

guthrie01
**** Celtic. Hope we pump them when they come to Easter Road

SuperAllyMcleod
No one on the pitch - means nothing to the Sellick fans [emoji4]

Horrible way to lose it. Gutting for the sheep.

Congratulations to celtic. Incredible achievement. What a season for them. Buzzing to get our teeth sunk right into them next season

27-05-2017, 04:03 PM
What a boring end to the game, just your normal run of the mill trophy award. :yawn:

Aberdeen only have themselves to blame.

Didn't defend their lead, didn't take their chances and inevitably tired. Considine deserves a boot in the baws for his defending at the winner.

hibs#1
he kept waving his players to push up

He also brought a defender on for an attacker.thats when Celtic started piling on the pressure.

'only' the 4th treble for sellick, aye that's a poor record likes lol

27-05-2017, 04:04 PM
Be interesting to see what happens in a routine, run of the mill cup celebration.

27-05-2017, 04:04 PM
Team with ten times the budget of everyone else wins another trophy. Yay.

Time to cut the grass.

Scott Brown probably gets paid more than the Aberdeen team combined.

Great season for Celtic but it must be a tad boring at times, yes you want your team to win but something a bit boring about knowing you are likely to win pretty much every game. Maybe it's just me.

27-05-2017, 04:05 PM
Well done to Celtic. You don't go a whole season unbeaten in any league without being a seriously talented side. An apt tribute to the team of '67.

27-05-2017, 04:06 PM
Those celebrations in the pitch look absolutely *****. To think some people on here were disappointed to miss out on that!

Give me an exuberant pitch invasion any day

I'm glad it's pishing down.

SuperAllyMcleod
Credit to the Dons fans for staying to recognise their team - obviously learned something from the semi!

Cracking game, really enjoyed it

High-On-Hibs
Absolute bottle job from Aberdeen there. No sympathy from me. The one good thing is that we get to hear Willie Miller ball his eyes out. :boo hoo:

27-05-2017, 04:07 PM
Scott Brown saying that Aberdeen chased them all the way in the league. :confused:

JDT
What was Scott Brown celebration all about? Seemed he made a beeline for McInnes

McInnes had a go at him earlier in game

27-05-2017, 04:08 PM
Those celebrations in the pitch look absolutely *****. To think some people on here were disappointed to miss out on that!

Dull isn't it?

27-05-2017, 04:08 PM

Me too. Not a patch on last year. Should be a rule added to say that supporters must invade the pitch and goad the opposing fans.

27-05-2017, 04:10 PM

They were having a right go at each other after Tierney got his teeth knocked out in the first half.

The Sleeping Giant of Scottish football

I'll have to put up with all the never-go armchair Celtc fans I know. They were the better team but Dons should have taken their chances. Hopefully a few of their players will attract interest from down south and leave notably Tierney and Dembele.

27-05-2017, 04:11 PM
The Sleeping Giant of Scottish football

The Famous 3rd force.

Europe trembles at the very mention of their name.

27-05-2017, 04:12 PM
Nice of the hampden announcer to play some 1980s tunes for the Aberdeen fans though.

27-05-2017, 04:13 PM
Who's the boy in the background of the trophy presentation?

What a plum.

See that sour faced Hun was in the cup presentation party again.

Johnny Clash
Decent game. Celtc certainly didn't dominate as most thought they would.

Was surprised that neither set of fans were really pumped up either. At least the Aberdeen support made an effort with the card display. Celtc fans didn't bother as I presume it's not such a big deal for them? So the atmosphere throughout the game didn't come close to last year and even now, as the Cup is presented, it's looks pretty tame despite one fan doing embarrassingly overly exuberant dad dancing in the background !

27-05-2017, 04:14 PM
I didn't watch it, as it seemed a foregone conclusion. Have to say 2-1 is closer than I expected. Got to say congratulations to Celtc: to go a full domestic season unbeaten is some achievement. I can't imagine it's been done before, has it? Aberdeen had an excellent season; they were just unlucky to run into this Celtc side.

27-05-2017, 04:14 PM
I think Aberdeen did as well as they could, they made a very good game of it and couldn't really keep that tempo up for 90 mins.

To say they bottled it is very harsh, they missed some very good chances, that on another day might have gone in.

If that was us i'd be very proud, EVEN IN DEFEAT.

I remember being proud of the fans when we hardly made a game of it when losing 3-0, at least Aberdeen had a go and did their best.

A few individual mistakes never helped them, and both teams contributed to a decent game for the viewers.

27-05-2017, 04:15 PM
Decent game. Celtc certainly didn't dominate as most thought they would.

Was surprised that neither set of fans were really pumped up either. At least the Aberdeen support made an effort with the card display. Celtc fans didn't bother as I presume it's not such a big deal for them? So the atmosphere throughout the game didn't come close to last year and even now, as the Cup is presented, it's looks pretty tame despite one fan doing embarrassingly overly exuberant dad dancing in the background !

Tbf the Celtic end did look absolutely mental when the winning goal went in.

What a plum.

He must be having memories of last year. Bet he's got his The Rangers top on under that shirt.

The Famous 3rd force.

Europe trembles at the very mention of their name.

So close to wining that cup after over two long decades of hurt. With another few to go.

27-05-2017, 04:16 PM
Dons'd it

jockspanner
27-05-2017, 04:16 PM
Nice of the hampden announcer to play some 1980s tunes for the Aberdeen fans though.
still the grumpy guy with the grey hair when they are handing out the medals from last year, must be a Hun or a yam, does anyone know who he is.:flag:

27-05-2017, 04:17 PM
Scott Brown probably gets paid more than the Aberdeen team combined.

Great season for Celtic but it must be a tad boring at times, yes you want your team to win but something a bit boring about knowing you are likely to win pretty much every game. Maybe it's just me.

They'll soon get bored, unless Sevco start challenging them again then all will be OK in the world of Scottish Football. It won't matter that they'll hoover up everyone else's best players.

All these congratulations are giving me the dry boak. In the grand scheme of things Celtic are pish and to the outsider we just look like a lop-sided pub league.

What a plum.

Looked like someone who'd had a few drinks!

tanfield
still the grumpy guy with the grey hair when they are handing out the medals from last year, must be a Hun or a yam, does anyone know who he is.:flag:

Is he not the head of security?

27-05-2017, 04:18 PM
Please like us Liverpool FC.

**** off.

YNWA being sung, not a patch on Hibs fans singing SoL

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

YNWA not even a patch on Sunshine on Leith.

27-05-2017, 04:19 PM
YNWA being sung, not a patch on Hibs fans singing SoL

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

My thoughts exactly but we no longer are the Scottish cup champions

SuperAllyMcleod
27-05-2017, 04:20 PM
Hendo in the background looking a little lost - time to come home Liam, you know you want to.

gazzag70
27-05-2017, 04:21 PM
Nothing compares to SOL.Watching Celtic singing that Liverpool anthem makes me appreciate our own unique identity.

Roxyhibee
27-05-2017, 04:25 PM
Utterly pish song now compared to SOL - and like their Irish roots idea for a club, hooped strips, Poznan, etc - completely stolen. Tossers.

Johnny Clash
27-05-2017, 04:26 PM

Aye that's true but I reckon any support would go radge if they scored a last minute cup winning goal.

The pervious 91 minutes looked relatively lame to me - which is not usual for Celtc. Of course I'm biased but I really think the Hibs support last year can't be bettered.

27-05-2017, 04:28 PM
Fair play, to go the whole domestic season with only 3 draws is utterly remarkable regardless of finances.

Tierney looked gutted. Feel for him. He'll win a few trophys in his career. Tremendous player.

Keep it nice and shiny celtic. We'll be back for it next year.

27-05-2017, 04:29 PM

**** off.

😁 excellent!!

27-05-2017, 04:31 PM
Some Celtic fans look bored. We were all in tears or in shock last year. Couldn't support Celtic and don't get people who do.

angus hibby
27-05-2017, 04:31 PM
Watching lap of honour and Celtic end is half empty! 🙄

27-05-2017, 04:32 PM
What was said about the Tierney incident? I went outside to finish building my new BBQ before it starts to piss down here!!

Kaff
27-05-2017, 04:36 PM
What was said about the Tierney incident? I went outside to finish building my new BBQ before it starts to piss down here!!

More importantly, where did you buy the bricks for your BBQ? ;)

27-05-2017, 04:37 PM
Hendo in the background looking a little lost - time to come home Liam, you know you want to.

Today's celebrations won't be a patch on 2016 for him.

27-05-2017, 04:41 PM
Tierney looked gutted. Feel for him. He'll win a few trophys in his career. Tremendous player.

What happened?

27-05-2017, 04:42 PM
What happened?
Think he was just devastated he went off injured

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

27-05-2017, 04:42 PM
What happened?

Took a (deliberate?) elbow early on and had to go off.

27-05-2017, 04:43 PM
More importantly, where did you buy the bricks for your BBQ? ;)

Ha ha. Some old bird was selling them said she knocked down some old ramshackle building. Said they would be perfect as the asbestos on them was heat resistant

Kaff
27-05-2017, 04:46 PM
Ha ha. Some old bird was selling them said she knocked down some old ramshackle building. Said they would be perfect as the asbestos on them was heat resistant

Perfect, its great when you can barter someone down when they're desperate for a sale!

Saturday Boy
27-05-2017, 04:50 PM

What a plum.

It looked like an out-take from Only an Excuse, except funnier.

27-05-2017, 04:52 PM

Don't invite Tierney unless you can bbq soup

27-05-2017, 04:54 PM
Don't invite Tierney unless you can bbq soup
Any things possible, my wife can burn water when boiling it!!!

27-05-2017, 04:54 PM
Not half the emotion, passion, ecstacy we felt last May. Dull and routine for them. Don't get me wrong i'm sure they are delighted and i'd love if we won trophies every single season as well but its all a bit hollow, they will NEVER experience a feeling like we did. Last May was a feeling I have never ever felt before and I doubt i will ever feel it again, even if we do go on to win it again.

27-05-2017, 04:57 PM
Not half the emotion, passion, ecstacy we felt last May. Dull and routine for them. Don't get me wrong i'm sure they are delighted and i'd love if we won trophies every single season as well but its all a bit hollow, they will NEVER experience a feeling like we did. Last May was a feeling I have never ever felt before and I doubt i will ever feel it again, even if we do go on to win it again.

They might celebrate most of tonight me i stopped lastnight

27-05-2017, 05:02 PM
'only' the 4th treble for sellick, aye that's a poor record likes lol

Aye, truly cringe-worthy the commentator describing it as if it was an embarassing fact of Septic's history - if anything it's an embarassing fact for Scottish football !

BREAKING NEWS - Celtic have signed the Scottish Cup on a year loan from Hibs. It will return to Easter Road by the end of May 2018 https://www.facebook.com/images/emoji.php/v9/fbe/1/16/1f3c6.png🏆https://www.facebook.com/images/emoji.php/v9/f87/1/16/1f340.png🍀https://www.facebook.com/images/emoji.php/v9/f94/1/16/1f49a.png💚

What a plum.

David Brent

27-05-2017, 05:18 PM
18660 Tierney returns from the dentist.

27-05-2017, 05:19 PM
Rogic wasn't booked for his celebration which is bizarre.

27-05-2017, 05:23 PM

could've provoked a pitch invasion apparently :rolleyes:

27-05-2017, 05:24 PM

Should have been booked for being in David Gray corner. No one except Sir David should be allowed in there

K-Zazu
27-05-2017, 05:33 PM

Live score have him booked

Keyser Sauzee
27-05-2017, 05:41 PM

Rogic was booked

27-05-2017, 05:43 PM
Tierney got a possible broken jaw, will be out of the Scotland game, if that's the case

27-05-2017, 05:54 PM
Tierney got a possible broken jaw, will be out of the Scotland game, if that's the case
Ach well, I'm sure the tens of thousands ££ in his bank account will salve his pain.

27-05-2017, 06:40 PM
Ach well, I'm sure the tens of thousands ££ in his bank account will salve his pain.

what has money got to do with it, the guy is injured and may miss out playing for his country, he will most likely be gutted

Keyser Sauzee
27-05-2017, 06:43 PM

What u talking about????

27-05-2017, 06:44 PM
what has money got to do with it, the guy is injured and may miss out playing for his country, he will most likely be gutted
What has money got to do with it?? Seriously?
Broken jaw and skint or millionaire with a broken jaw....what would I rather be?

27-05-2017, 06:44 PM
What u talking about????
Figure it out.

27-05-2017, 06:57 PM
What has money got to do with it?? Seriously?
Broken jaw and skint or millionaire with a broken jaw....what would I rather be?

WTF are you rambling on about? The guy took a sore one his bank balance is immaterial.

27-05-2017, 07:01 PM
WTF are you rambling on about? The guy took a sore one his bank balance is immaterial.
Rambling? Ok, I'll keep it simple for you. He has a sore face, big deal. He's minted, so life could be worse. Your welcome.

27-05-2017, 07:03 PM
I broke my jaw playing rugby about 15 years ago. In a long list of broken bones it was the worst, the examination to check it out was horrific. Wouldn't wish it on anyone and one reason why swinging elbows about like that should be a red card every time. Stockley should get a retrospective red for that

27-05-2017, 07:06 PM
Rambling? Ok, I'll keep it simple for you. He has a sore face, big deal. He's minted, so life could be worse. Your welcome.

I have deleted my response and apologise to Nameless who I deeply offended with my remark. Sincere apologies Nameless. SH

27-05-2017, 07:06 PM

No one was really suggesting he had the hardship of famine, natural disasters or serious illness, so either simple or rambling you've still taken it upon yourself to talk nonsense.

And if he's out the Scotland game that's a bit of a disaster for us. Alright to be sad about that?

27-05-2017, 07:15 PM
No one was really suggesting he had the hardship of famine, natural disasters or serious illness, so either simple or rambling you've still taken it upon yourself to talk nonsense.

And if he's out the Scotland game that's a bit of a disaster for us. Alright to be sad about that?
You can be sad about whatever you wish.

27-05-2017, 07:28 PM
Only 48,713 at the game today

27-05-2017, 07:30 PM

There were visible empty rows at the front of the Aberdeen end. Not sure if that was because they were closed for a reason or because they didn't sell out.

27-05-2017, 07:31 PM
I made an off the cuff remark, which in retrospect is unfair. It doesn't reflect my views in general, so to anyone who takes issue with it, I apologise.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
27-05-2017, 07:31 PM

It looked like the dons end wasnt full (empty seats at front) and also i noticed celtic had the south upper above the dons fans.

Seems strange from aberdeen that?

27-05-2017, 07:34 PM
Was at the game today. Really good match and despite comments on here a really good atmosphere.

Dons very unlucky. But couldn't maintain the aggressive game of first half and paid for it last 15 mins. The Celtic goal was coming. Would like to see McLean and Armstrong in midfield together for Scotland.

Really enjoyed it. First time since 80s at a neutral SC Final

27-05-2017, 07:39 PM
It looked like the dons end wasnt full (empty seats at front) and also i noticed celtic had the south upper above the dons fans.

Seems strange from aberdeen that?

I assumed they'd gone back up the stand to avoid the rain? If instead it's because they didn't sell out they should be ashamed of themselves.

27-05-2017, 07:44 PM
I assumed they'd gone back up the stand to avoid the rain? If instead it's because they didn't sell out they should be ashamed of themselves.

There's pictures of the Aberdeen display doing the rounds and the front 5 rows of the whole west stand are empty.

I'm assuming they must have been closed for some reason.

27-05-2017, 07:47 PM
Sheep dog trials

27-05-2017, 07:50 PM
Was at the game today. Really good match and despite comments on here a really good atmosphere.

Dons very unlucky. But couldn't maintain the aggressive game of first half and paid for it last 15 mins. The Celtic goal was coming. Would like to see McLean and Armstrong in midfield together for Scotland.

Really enjoyed it. First time since 80s at a neutral SC Final

It seemed a good atmosphere to me but I've a feeling many posters grudged Aberdeen their appearance at our second home ground.!

Topographic Hibby
27-05-2017, 08:12 PM
There were visible empty rows at the front of the Aberdeen end.
...and as usual, lots of empty seats from the OF team during the celebrations. A Scottish or League Cup victory is meaningless to Celtic, Rangers (IL)(RIP) etc. Fans are out the stadium as quick as you can say "what god foresaken tin pot town nowhere near Glasgow do I live in again...?"

That's why I always cheer on on the non-OF team in a final. It always means something to them.

27-05-2017, 08:18 PM

Saw that too,whole year unbeaten and the treble, whats their not to go mental about.

27-05-2017, 08:22 PM
Some Celtic fans look bored. We were all in tears or in shock last year. Couldn't support Celtic and don't get people who do.

2013 Cup final...

Hibs fans were still making noise and cheering their team despite being 3-0 down (yet ridiculed in the press)

Yet Celtic fans were heading for the exit, more interested in beating the crowd and traffic than seeing their beloved team lift the cup

27-05-2017, 08:25 PM
I stayed till Celtic were awarded the cup and they did the You'll Never Walk Alone rendition. Looked like they were enjoying themselves to me. And didn't see too many spaces in the crowd.

27-05-2017, 08:28 PM
2013 Cup final...

Hibs fans were still making noise and cheering their team despite being 3-0 down (yet ridiculed in the press)

Yet Celtic fans were heading for the exit, more interested in beating the crowd and traffic than seeing their beloved team lift the cup

To be fair we had every right to be ridiculed that year. The team went down without so much as a whimper and I for one was in no mood to cheer a pathetic performance. Thank goodness these days are behind us.

27-05-2017, 08:31 PM
To be fair we had every right to be ridiculed that year. The team went down without so much as a whimper and I for one was in no mood to cheer a pathetic performance. Thank goodness these days are behind us.

100%

27-05-2017, 08:36 PM

The team yes, the fans no. Celebrating that WE (the fans) are Hibernian FC not that result or performance.

27-05-2017, 09:03 PM
To be fair we had every right to be ridiculed that year. The team went down without so much as a whimper and I for one was in no mood to cheer a pathetic performance. Thank goodness these days are behind us. In what ways are those days behind us ? We almost beat Aberdeen in semi this year - if we`d made final and lost 0 v 3 do you think no fans would have stayed behind to applaud team ? In 2013 we reached the final after very gutsy wins against Hearts , Aberdeen , Killie and Falkirk scoring 4 goals in QF and SF and took huge supports for both games . Handling , Caldwell and Harris ( probably more ) from youth team played in final at the end of a season in which we went from 11th in 2012 to 7th and were unlucky not to finish much higher ( Griffiths " goal " in Derby etc ) . We were top of the league in December after beating Celtic at ER .

27-05-2017, 09:52 PM
According to Sportscene the pubs of Aberdeen were full because so many fans couldn't get tickets.

What's with all the gaps in the West and Celtic having the entire South upper then?

27-05-2017, 09:56 PM
The pub they showed was half full. Looks like they just couldn't be arsed as opposed to lack of tickets.

27-05-2017, 10:48 PM

**** off.

😂😂😂😂😂😂 That made me laugh!

27-05-2017, 11:02 PM
A great final. Well done dandies wish been us again but they made a great game and tonight they are wishing took one of many big chances to win.

vuefrom1875
28-05-2017, 12:15 AM
A great final. Well done dandies wish been us again but they made a great game and tonight they are wishing took one of many big chances to win.

Aye,and they were lucky to be there!

28-05-2017, 05:23 AM
Luck or not, they got there, we didnae, they played well and tired at the end, it was a good game, better than many thought it would be.

28-05-2017, 08:00 AM
I thought the sheep played really well, especially first half. Celtic were deserved winners in the end but that must have been the toughest domestic game they've had all season.

As much as indislike Celtic, I have to admit they've been brilliant this season and the gulf between them and the rest of the league is massive. You could argue this only reflects the finances but they've had more money than everyone else for years and never dominated like this before.

Now that we're turning up in big games, I'm looking forward to seeing us play them next year and would be great if we could end their winning streak.

28-05-2017, 08:07 AM
I thought the sheep played really well, especially first half. Celtic were deserved winners in the end but that must have been the toughest domestic game they've had all season.

As much as indislike Celtic, I have to admit they've been brilliant this season and the gulf between them and the rest of the league is massive. You could argue this only reflects the finances but they've had more money than everyone else for years and never dominated like this before.

Now that we're turning up in big games, I'm looking forward to seeing us play them next year and would be great if we could end their winning streak.

Yes, like you I am hoping that the team NL puts together for next season can upset them.

28-05-2017, 08:37 AM

And he will miss one of the biggest International games in his career bacause of it. Will be a big loss v England at Hampden.

28-05-2017, 10:26 AM
It was a good effort by Aberdeen, I was afraid that they would get hammered and I would be sitting there regretting it wasn't us in the final coz we could have done better ..... but to be fair to them the Sheep gave it a right good go and I felt for them at the end.

If the gulf between Celtic and the rest needs illustrating how many clubs in Scotland could sub a guy worth 12 million quid at 1 - 1 and leave a guy the claim is worth 40 million on the bench for the whole game? .... That doesn't bode well for the rest of us in the next few seasons.

Stokesy's on fire
29-05-2017, 09:03 AM
I'm still laughing about this result get it clean up the sheep hahahahahahaha