View Full Version : NHC Playoff Final - Dundee Utd v Hamilton

25-05-2017, 03:33 PM
First leg tonight on BT sport. Whats everyones thoughts?

I'd prefer if it was Dundee Utd as its closer to me personally, and they actually have a grass pitch. I know people say that playing in the quarter and semi finals of the play offs gives Premiership team the advantage, but I think Utd should be ok. They've had 6 days rest, a day more than Hamilton and are now in some decent form. Hamilton are missing arguably their best player in Mikey Devlin in both legs due to injury.

I can see Utd going through by a couple of goals over the 2 legs.

25-05-2017, 03:37 PM
In terms of having the best SPL, Dundee United are clearly the bigger club. Then again, Hamilton have done really well to last three seasons in the SPL, for a club of their size and resources. Not sure who will win the tie, but the romantic in me hopes Hamilton stay up.

25-05-2017, 03:41 PM
I'd rather see United go up. Better day out, I also prefer grass pitches, there's a decent rivalry between us and Utd. I know the format generally favours the premier club but I think this one is difficult to call.

25-05-2017, 03:44 PM
It'd be good for the Premiership if we have the Edinburgh, Glasgow, and Dundee derbies. The more big games the better.

25-05-2017, 03:51 PM
Hope Hamilton get pumped.

25-05-2017, 03:56 PM
Hamilton put us down. Time for them to go.

25-05-2017, 03:56 PM
If United had a fully fit squad i'd say they'd walk it. However Scott Fraser (their best player for me) got injured on his comeback against Falkirk, as did their young right back in the first leg. McKinnon said after the Falkirk 2nd leg that Flood and Murray both have hamstring problems so it sounds like they'll need to patch together a team. I think it'll be tight but United will hopefully go through.

25-05-2017, 03:57 PM
Hamilton has a crap support and crap stadium and after putting us down it would be karma for them

25-05-2017, 03:57 PM
Come on the Arabs.

We need a strong Premier League with the bigger supported clubs involved and Hamilton don't fit that description.

Karma too.

25-05-2017, 03:58 PM
Expect Hamilton to win.United are hopeless with lots of players who only perform when they feel like it.

guthrie01
25-05-2017, 03:59 PM
We go up and Hamilton come down, poetic justice and all

25-05-2017, 03:59 PM
Hope United but think Hamilton will win by a couple of goals.

25-05-2017, 04:05 PM

Reluctant to blame Hamilton as it was Terry Btcher and players throwing in the towel that put us down.

Hamilton fought like lions in that second leg and were promoted on merit.

On the subject of who I'd like up, I've changed my mind and wouldnt mind United. Hamiltons ground is unacceptable.

25-05-2017, 04:06 PM
Any team without 4 stands doesn't deserve to be in the top tier.

25-05-2017, 04:06 PM
Actually i'm just happy Falkirk aren't going up :greengrin

HibernianJK
25-05-2017, 04:07 PM
Still thinks is stupid having play off finals over 2 legs - 1 off game at a neutral ground

25-05-2017, 04:08 PM
Good luck to Dundee Hibernian.

25-05-2017, 04:11 PM
Will be quite frustrating that a team as "bad" as Dundee United only had to suffer for one year in this league Vs our 3. But for the goodness of the league and interesting fixtures for us...hope they win.

Topographic Hibby
United for me. They bring more to the top flight than Hamilton.

Boys from Lanarkshire have had their time in the sun. They deserved to beat us 3 yrs ago as we were Tom Kite. It gave us time to rebuild and work our way back up with a couple of cup finals and 21/5 as well. But it's back to the Championship for them, if I had my way.

Not fussed who wins either way, but I think it'll be Utd comfortably in the end.

25-05-2017, 04:12 PM

Patrick next season then.

HibeeLR
25-05-2017, 04:13 PM
Dundee is a better day out for away games, however we are more likely taking 9 points from games against Hamilton next season so happy either way.

Think United will egde it though.

25-05-2017, 04:18 PM

They merely did their job; we weren't good enough.

high bee
25-05-2017, 04:31 PM
Dundee Utd to stay down, their fans have been too cocky for too long. Let us give Hamilton a few hidings next season on their way down.

25-05-2017, 04:33 PM
I wonder who Keatings will be supporting

crewetollhibee
25-05-2017, 04:35 PM

What about 3 stands and 1 not fully furbished ? 😉

25-05-2017, 04:39 PM
Hamilton to win

25-05-2017, 04:41 PM
I think Hamilton will win.

25-05-2017, 04:41 PM
Andreu. The guy who put Hamilton up could put them back down.

25-05-2017, 04:47 PM
If I had to pick then it would be United, but I'm not really too fussed.
We're there , that's all that matters.

25-05-2017, 04:52 PM
Would like United to get up but expect Hamilton to rip their defence apart.

Can only see United getting through if it is a high scoring tie.

(having made the prediction, what are the odds for United to win 1-0 on aggregate)

[emoji51]

25-05-2017, 05:04 PM
It's a complete no brainer..Get Hamilton and their astro turf pitch to **** ! The more of these teams with plastic pitches in different leagues from hibs the better..Kilmarnock next season please .

It really isn't a hard choice..Plus these ****ers relegated us 3 seasons ago.

25-05-2017, 05:06 PM
What's all this karma chat about? Is it because Hamilton had the nerve to beat us? Fs :faf:

25-05-2017, 05:09 PM
What's all this karma chat about? Is it because Hamilton had the nerve to beat us? Fs :faf:

Mainly because they play on a plastic pitch i wan't teams like them Falkirk and Dunfermline as far away from us as possible

25-05-2017, 05:09 PM
The pitch is terrible, the 'stadium' is barely a stadium, but we have to bear in mind Accies are a club who survive on a pittance. Being close to Glasgow, many in the town follow the Old Firm, and the Accies fans deserve respect. I don't have any problem with them.

25-05-2017, 05:18 PM
There would be a bit of symmetry if Hamilton went down. The last team to lose their premiership status via the playoffs was us against Hamilton. I hope Utd send them down.

25-05-2017, 05:20 PM
Mainly because they play on a plastic pitch i wan't teams like them Falkirk and Dunfermline as far away from us as possible

Andy. Dunfermline haven't had a plastic pitch since about 2006 when they replaced it with Lee Wallace. :greengrin

25-05-2017, 05:23 PM
Andy. Dunfermline haven't had a plastic pitch since about 2006 when they replaced it with Lee Wallace. :greengrin

A ment Kilmarnock :hilarious :thumbsup:

25-05-2017, 05:25 PM
Hope the Arabs have enough fuel in the tank to send Hamilton down. Hibs and United up would be a big boost for premiership

25-05-2017, 05:26 PM

A ment Kilmarnock :hilarious :thumbsup:

Aye easy mistake to make, done it myself many a time. Think it's because they both have three syllables. :greengrin

25-05-2017, 05:27 PM
Aye easy mistake to make, done it myself many a time. Think it's because they both have three syllables. :greengrin

Anyhoo cmon the Arabs ! :cb:cb

:singing: love is in the air :singing:

25-05-2017, 05:28 PM
At first i thought I'd like United to go up because it would be good to have pretty much all the biggest teams in the Premier League but I'd quite like to see us give Hamilton a few leatherings next season.

25-05-2017, 05:30 PM
Come on the Accies.

25-05-2017, 05:32 PM
Hate all this 'premier league needs a strong team' pish. In fact it needs 11 weak teams and a strong Hibs.

25-05-2017, 05:36 PM
I find it difficult to want a Hamilton win. The play-off schedule works in favour of the the premier team. The play-off final always seems to be 'a bridge too far' for the championship team. In my mind that makes the arabs the underdog. I hope they go up.

25-05-2017, 05:37 PM
Patrick next season then.

What's poor Patrick done to deserve that?? :greengrin

United to come up. An decent club with a few fans and some history.

Though I do quite like how Hamilton's away end behind the goals is elevated so even folk in the front row have a decent view.

connerg
Hate all this 'premier league needs a strong team' pish. In fact it needs 11 weak teams and a strong Hibs.

I concur. :flag:

Call me petty but I would rather Dundee Utd spent at least 3 years down there like we had to.

I think they'll win though as Hamilton are crap.

connerg
25-05-2017, 05:41 PM
What's poor Patrick done to deserve that?? :greengrin

United to come up. An decent club with a few fans and some history.

Though I do quite like how Hamilton's away end behind the goals is elevated so even folk in the front row have a decent view.

They don't have four Stand's.

25-05-2017, 06:01 PM
Gonna be a hard one to call, but I hope Utd come up. The Premiership will benefit from having the countries 3 biggest derby matches and I wont be sorry to see another incomplete ground and plastic pitch consigned to the nether regions of our league system.

Add to that the absolutely pathetic support Hamilton get from the town as well .... no disrespect to the folk who do turn up to support them but lets face it, Hamilton has had three premiership teams since the start of last season when The Rangers were promoted ... all they would be losing is the club followed by the least number of the towns football 'fans' behind Celtic and The Rangers.

25-05-2017, 06:08 PM
Think that United will win but also that they will go back down next season.

25-05-2017, 06:38 PM
Lovely evening for football. Can see a few goals being scored.

25-05-2017, 06:44 PM
Lovely evening for football. Can see a few goals being scored.

Not now that you have jinxed it!

25-05-2017, 06:45 PM
I'd like United to come up, it doesn't really matter to me that they've only been in the championship for one season. I'd much rather see them in the top league than Hamilton.

25-05-2017, 06:45 PM
With Mark Durnan playing you have to think there will be goals in this game, he's beyond useless.

guthrie01
25-05-2017, 06:48 PM
First time I've seen Tannadice filled this season

25-05-2017, 06:50 PM
Where is the Hamilton fan housed?

Cat Stanton
25-05-2017, 06:51 PM
Call me petty but I would rather Dundee Utd spent at least 3 years down there like we had to.

I think they'll win though as Hamilton are crap.

For the sake of Scottish football, Hamilton need to get to plums, and United to get promoted. But for the sake of my bitterness, United need another dose of what we've had to endure...

25-05-2017, 06:55 PM
For the sake of Scottish football, Hamilton need to get to plums, and United to get promoted. But for the sake of my bitterness, United need another dose of what we've had to endure...

This is where I am. If it was anyone but Hamilton I'd want them to stay down as I'm a bitter individual. Hamilton are embarrassing though. Away section of main stand looks empty.

HFCdeb
25-05-2017, 06:57 PM
With Mark Durnan playing you have to think there will be goals in this game, he's beyond useless.

He's absolutely brutal. Never a footballer.

25-05-2017, 07:00 PM
Should really be 2-0 Hamilton

25-05-2017, 07:02 PM

Still in the pub

25-05-2017, 07:03 PM
Hamilton looking a cut above United in early stages

Kaiser_Sauzee
25-05-2017, 07:05 PM

Anyone from that sectarian cesspit that is South Lanarkshire that turns their back on the Glasgow bigots gets a thumbs up from me.

25-05-2017, 07:08 PM
This has the makings of a great game. End to end stuff so far.

25-05-2017, 07:08 PM
Hamilton goalie has a different sponsor on his top to the rest of the team. Strange.

25-05-2017, 07:09 PM
Martin Canning wearing a golden dive watch with a tracksuit, I have to disagree with that choice. Surely a cheap digital is the only thing to partner such a scruffy look?

25-05-2017, 07:10 PM
Imrie and templeton playing for Accies. Pair of wee rats. Mon United.

gordonced18
25-05-2017, 07:14 PM
I wonder when it will slow down to 100 mph

Sent from my Lenovo YT3-X50F using Tapatalk

Ich liebe Deek
25-05-2017, 07:15 PM
So glad we are not involved.Hamilton look decent.Its a good game that could go either way.Play offs are good entertainment.Scottish football imo is improving year on year.

25-05-2017, 07:16 PM
I'm quite enjoying this.

I've watched a few on the play-offs and they've been superb games to watch.

25-05-2017, 07:17 PM
not a bad game, decent crowd as well

25-05-2017, 07:23 PM
no one likes them, and they don't care

25-05-2017, 07:24 PM
That Kuate is abysmal

25-05-2017, 07:26 PM
That Kuate is abysmal

He's brutal. Gives the ball away so often.

25-05-2017, 07:27 PM
Flood looks like Jasper Carrott.

25-05-2017, 07:27 PM
willo flood has a coat hook on his back

25-05-2017, 07:29 PM
Not much skill on show tonight. Hopefully a better second half.

25-05-2017, 07:30 PM
I'd like to see Templeton wedged into the advertising boards following a shocking challenge by Durnan.

And for Alan Preston to break down on the Forth Road bridge on the way home.

25-05-2017, 07:30 PM
We always say there isn't much between the leagues but with the exception of the Butcher effect the Premiership team generally look a cut above. Motherwell humped the huns over 2 legs, Killie did likewise to Falkirk and Hamilton look the better side here as well.

25-05-2017, 07:33 PM
Not much skill on show tonight. Hopefully a better second half.

I think that's harsh. It's a cracking game with both teams playing reasonably well.

Did cammy bell just put the ball down and pick it up again?

Yes, he's a kinda cross between him and Tintin

Keyser Sauzee
25-05-2017, 07:34 PM

Yeah, I was thinking to myself that's not allowed but wasn't sure?

25-05-2017, 07:35 PM
Not sure about that - Jasper Carrot was never a movie star but Flood is.....

We always say there isn't much between the leagues but with the exception of the Butcher effect the Premiership team generally look a cut above. Motherwell humped the huns over 2 legs, Killie did likewise to Falkirk and Hamilton look the better side here as well.

United look very one-paced, whereas Accies look like they have 2 or 3 quick players who offer a threat in behind the defence.

Hamilton look ropey at the back but United haven't tested them that much.

I've seen nothing from Murray tonight to suggest he's a player we should be interested in, although he has been good in the other playoff games.

We need to recruit well

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

25-05-2017, 07:36 PM
Yeah, I was thinking to myself that's not allowed but wasn't sure?

I didn't think it was allowed but no one seems to have mentioned it

25-05-2017, 07:38 PM
That Sean Dillon is brutal for United as well.

Pete70
Frantic first half, I'm knackered watching it. High on effort but low on quality. I think Accies just shade it so far and wouldn't be too bothered if they stayed up.

25-05-2017, 07:40 PM
I think that's harsh. It's a cracking game with both teams playing reasonably well.

I've got to disagree. Not many chances created and a lot of misplaced passes.

25-05-2017, 07:41 PM
Think Dundee United need victory and to go there a goal to the good to stand a chance of winning the tie.

25-05-2017, 07:52 PM
Is that Kuate the guy who reckons he's the best midfielder in the world?

25-05-2017, 07:54 PM
willo flood has a coat hook on his back

Flood is an embarrassment of a footballer.

Hibs1969
25-05-2017, 07:58 PM
Some shocking haircuts on display too - Mackinnon (Hamilton), Imrie, Crawford, Durnan, Murray to name a few.

25-05-2017, 07:58 PM
Kuate and Dillon squaring up to each other now.

Edit: Kaute and Durnen were at each other right before that as well.

25-05-2017, 07:59 PM
And for Alan Preston to break down on the Forth Road bridge on the way home.How this man gets a job is beyond me. I cannot stand hearing him screeching on the radio.

25-05-2017, 08:00 PM
More hoofs than The Grand National.

25-05-2017, 08:01 PM
And we thought Fyvie's reaction to being hooked was bad :faf:

I retract everything I said about Kouate being half decent last week.

I don't think Kuate will be seen in a United shirt again after that.

Wtf was wrong with that Dundee united player?

Christ :hilarious

Freakin quality reaction :faf:

guthrie01
25-05-2017, 08:02 PM
:dummytit:

He's ***** as well. No right to react the way he did.

Great save by the Hamilton keeper to keep them level.

25-05-2017, 08:03 PM
One of worst footballers I've ever seen and a big baby to boot

How this man gets a job is beyond me. I cannot stand hearing him screeching on the radio.

He played for United of course. He was never one to hide his loyalties!

att: 9,386

25-05-2017, 08:04 PM
I'm more impressed with Mikkelsen than Murray to be honest.

25-05-2017, 08:08 PM
Freakin quality reaction :faf:

Him giving the Utd fans the thumbs up at the end :faf:

25-05-2017, 08:09 PM
I'm more impressed with Mikkelsen than Murray to be honest.

Mikkelson's been good.

He's won practically everything in the air and has been a handful.

Mikkelson and the Accies keeper have impressed me. I've liked the way the keeper has come off his line 3 times to snuff out what could have been decent chances.

Saint Hibee
Mark Durnan is my new hero. Living proof that you don't need talent or ability to be a professional footballer.

Durnan's head is upside down.

Keyser Sauzee
Think utd need to score here, can't see them winning at Hamilton.

25-05-2017, 08:12 PM
Steven McLean is the best referee in Scotland by an absolute country mile.

guthrie01
25-05-2017, 08:13 PM
Think utd need to score here, can't see them winning at Hamilton.

I'm sure the same thing was said 3 years ago about Hamilton vs us

25-05-2017, 08:16 PM
Steven McLean is the best referee in Scotland by an absolute country mile.

Yet according to Charlie Richmond in one of the papers he's not in the top three. So far ahead of others refs and yet not mentioned for euro games. Obviously not at the right golf club.

25-05-2017, 08:17 PM
aw c'mon man gies some goals

25-05-2017, 08:17 PM
Redmond is quite a good wee player with a sweet left foot. He doesn't need to get involved in all these fouls.

25-05-2017, 08:18 PM
Redmond is quite a good wee player with a sweet left foot. He doesn't need to get involved in all these fouls.

So much for that!

25-05-2017, 08:21 PM
Murray sent off

25-05-2017, 08:22 PM
Stonewaller but that's what he gets for diving first time around

Murray sent off

Should have been a penalty.

red card murray

Poor decision imho.

Another example of why we need a video ref introduced.

25-05-2017, 08:23 PM
Justice.

That's what Murray gets

Should have been a penalty, but didn't help himself with the clear dive in the first half.

Can't blame them, he dived the first time so you're not going to give him the benefit of the doubt.

25-05-2017, 08:24 PM
i actually think he dived :tin hat:

If he goes down the without flinging his arms in the air it probably gets given.

Can't blame them, he dived the first time so you're not going to give him the benefit of the doubt.

You really can blame the linesman, it was a clear kick

25-05-2017, 08:25 PM
It's going boil over at some point. Those United players are raging.

25-05-2017, 08:27 PM
I don't feel bad for Murray. There was contact but he was looking for it and made too much of it. Obviously shouldn't be a yellow, but he was looking for the penalty before contact.

25-05-2017, 08:29 PM
hamilton physio, i demand they stay up...sorry utd

25-05-2017, 08:31 PM
Hamilton aren't going to have a team left for Sunday at this rate!

25-05-2017, 08:32 PM
Sore one for Imrie.

guthrie01
25-05-2017, 08:33 PM
Andreau was playing ?
Been totally anonymous for the play-offs

SJNB Hibby
25-05-2017, 08:33 PM

Yeah, we really need teams to realise its not their job, as a football club, to beat us:rolleyes:

25-05-2017, 08:34 PM
Did the United guy not just pass back to the goalie?

25-05-2017, 08:36 PM

I thought that too.

25-05-2017, 08:37 PM

It was with his knee

25-05-2017, 08:38 PM
Martin Canning and Beuzelin going to have to pull on a couple of shirts for the 2nd leg at this rate.

25-05-2017, 08:39 PM
It's not really a dirty game. It's the daft overreactions of the players that make it seem so.

that mickleson conned the ref me thinks

Hamilton are a joke of a club. They have given United a bigger allocation for the second leg than themselves!

25-05-2017, 08:41 PM
i actually think he dived :tin hat:

The defender was in the middle of striking the ball and Murray runs in front of him, I don't think he should have been sent off but I don't think it was a pen.

25-05-2017, 08:42 PM
first drawn game at tannadice in 5 years

Advantage Accies, if they have a full team and if murray not back for utd

25-05-2017, 08:42 PM
The defender was in the middle of striking the ball and Murray runs in front of him, I don't think he should have been sent off but I don't think it was a pen.

Exactly. He was in the middle of striking the ball and Murray got in front of him. He didn't get the ball. Murray did. Definite penalty. Imagine Easter Road if that challenge was on Cummings!

25-05-2017, 08:43 PM
When WILL Ray McKinnon ditch the v neck jumper look

25-05-2017, 08:44 PM

Eh? Murray got to the ball in front of him and got the ball before being booted, are you suggesting Murray should let him clear it?

It was clumsy from the defender who wasn't aware of his surroundings.

25-05-2017, 08:44 PM
Exactly. He was in the middle of striking the ball and Murray got in front of him. He didn't get the ball. Murray did. Definite penalty. Imagine Easter Road if that challenge was on Cummings!

Unlikely they'll get the card turned around before Sunday. Unlucky 😁

25-05-2017, 08:47 PM

There will be a hearing tomorrow

As an aside, although it was a 0-0 draw, would rather watch this than some of the stuff shown on Sky's super Sunday live

25-05-2017, 08:49 PM

If they appeal tomorrow then he can play on Sunday as the hearing won't be until after the game.

25-05-2017, 08:50 PM
first drawn game at tannadice in 5 years

First 0-0 since 2012 they've had plenty of draws since then.

25-05-2017, 08:50 PM
There will be a hearing tomorrow

As an aside, although it was a 0-0 draw, would rather watch this than some of the stuff shown on Sky's super Sunday live

Don't agree with that at all man. That was a torture to watch and I regret sitting through it. I get Watford - Sunderland might not sound appealing. But you can guarantee it would have been more entertaining than that dross.

25-05-2017, 08:54 PM
Don't agree with that at all man. That was a torture to watch and I regret sitting through it. I get Watford - Sunderland might not sound appealing. But you can guarantee it would have been more entertaining than that dross.

I thought it was a good, open exciting game. Glad we're not involved in it, makes it more enjoyable and less stress.

25-05-2017, 08:55 PM

I really enjoyed it.

Very little quality but the crowd provided a good atmosphere, it was 100mph stuff and the players looked like they'd run through brick walls to win.

I've really enjoyed the playoffs this year.

It is frightening how big an impact officials can have though. We were mugged last year, that was a shocker for Murray tonight. These decisions could be/ could have been catastrophic for Hibs or United.

25-05-2017, 08:58 PM

Each to their own but couldn't disagree more.

Found that a hundred times more entertaining than the vast majority of English Premiership games I've watched this season and certainly more enjoyable than that dross that was on tele last night, even if those games are filled with much better players.

Fwiw i also think English championship football is far more entertaining than the premiership down south.

25-05-2017, 09:04 PM
I'm another who enjoyed that game. You could feel the tension throughout, the atmosphere was brilliant and the players gave their all. It was a lot better than some of the sterile Premiership fixtures that I've witnessed this season.

25-05-2017, 09:07 PM
If they appeal tomorrow then he can play on Sunday as the hearing won't be until after the game.Can you appeal a yellow?

25-05-2017, 09:07 PM
The playoffs are good box office to be sure. Remember how flat the end of the season used to be.

Marco G
25-05-2017, 09:15 PM
Can you appeal a yellow?
You can appeal a yellow given for simulation, but surely it would have to be heard before Sunday?

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

guthrie01
25-05-2017, 09:18 PM

For a 0-0 result, the game was a real good watch, much more enjoyable than last nights match or the majority of the hyped up English superstar games.

The play-offs have been really good to watch and I can't wait to watch Sundays game now.

25-05-2017, 09:19 PM
You can appeal a yellow given for simulation, but surely it would have to be heard before Sunday?

If an appeal is lodged then the sentence is suspended until after the hearing. He should be okay for the second leg.

25-05-2017, 09:20 PM
Innocent until proved guilty and the submission of an appeal will buy time.

25-05-2017, 09:21 PM

Nope, they said on BT if Utd appeal tomorrow then it can't be heard until after the game so Murray would be able to play on Sunday

Moody Blues
25-05-2017, 09:34 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed the 100 mile end to end game. Maybe not much skill on view but a better night's entertainment than the snore fest last night

25-05-2017, 09:35 PM

That's assuming the yellow was for simulation, I think the Lino and ref might say it was for dissent as the flag didn't go up straight away, only seemed to go up when Murray was shouting at the linesman.

It would look less of a shambolic descision if they say it was for dissent, which would mean he is also defo out for Sunday.

25-05-2017, 09:41 PM
Weird, might just be me but I can't feel pressure or anything like that in a game not involving Hibs. So the game tonight did absolutely nothing for me. Ajax got a fair bit of stick the other night for their performance in the game. Surely no one can say they thought either team played better than Ajax who passed the ball around really well and at least went for it. And yeah, Man Utd were boring. But tactically they nailed it! And I appreciate a team playing a certain tactic to win a game and a team fulfilling their duties. I'm glad people enjoyed the game tonight though! I just thought it was a grim watch.

25-05-2017, 09:59 PM
Interesting one... if he is indeed signing for us, it is probably in our interests for the red card to somehow not be rescinded as presumably he'd be suspended at the start of the new season.

25-05-2017, 10:25 PM
Interesting one... if he is indeed signing for us, it is probably in our interests for the red card to somehow not be rescinded as presumably he'd be suspended at the start of the new season.

Why? If it's rescinded then it's wiped out and no suspension, starts next season with a clean slate.

If they appeal tomorrow, appeal hearing not til next week therefore allowing him to play Sunday but the appeal is unsuccessful then I'm assuming his suspension carries into start of next season.

25-05-2017, 10:34 PM

In what way would Watford Sunderland be more entertaining? Flashy graphics? The pundits? It certainly can't be the atmosphere or football which is abject no matter how sky sell it.

25-05-2017, 11:15 PM
In what way would Watford Sunderland be more entertaining? Flashy graphics? The pundits? It certainly can't be the atmosphere or football which is abject no matter how sky sell it.

Absolutely not. As I said above I couldn't give a flying one about atmosphere at a match that doesn't involve Hibs. Certainly not a match I'm watching on TV either.

And it'll be more entertaining down to the simple fact the players involved will be better at playing football! They will be technically superior. And no, not because they cost more or are paid more. But cause they are, in the majority at least, better at football. **** all to do with Sky or BT.

25-05-2017, 11:32 PM
Eh? Murray got to the ball in front of him and got the ball before being booted, are you suggesting Murray should let him clear it?

It was clumsy from the defender who wasn't aware of his surroundings.

If he signs for us it'll be rescinded anyway.

26-05-2017, 04:59 AM
Weird, might just be me but I can't feel pressure or anything like that in a game not involving Hibs. So the game tonight did absolutely nothing for me. Ajax got a fair bit of stick the other night for their performance in the game. Surely no one can say they thought either team played better than Ajax who passed the ball around really well and at least went for it. And yeah, Man Utd were boring. But tactically they nailed it! And I appreciate a team playing a certain tactic to win a game and a team fulfilling their duties. I'm glad people enjoyed the game tonight though! I just thought it was a grim watch.

Not for me. The Ajax-Man Utd was boring, result was never in doubt. Last nights game, while not near as much ability on show, was an interesting watch and it's nicely balanced just now. Give me lesser 'quality' on show but more drama, rather than watching 500 passes in a game turn into nothing like Ajax did the other night.

26-05-2017, 06:04 AM
Why? If it's rescinded then it's wiped out and no suspension, starts next season with a clean slate.

If they appeal tomorrow, appeal hearing not til next week therefore allowing him to play Sunday but the appeal is unsuccessful then I'm assuming his suspension carries into start of next season.

That's what I was meaning. If, for some reason the appeal isn't going to be successful, we'd want the hearing done before the weekend (I know it can't be).

26-05-2017, 06:09 AM
I seldom watch any scottish football these days except Hibs, and to be honest i think i will watch more now after watching these play offs.

Yes the quality is not as good as the English Premiership, but it was sure as hell more exciting. :top marks

26-05-2017, 06:18 AM
That's what I was meaning. If, for some reason the appeal isn't going to be successful, we'd want the hearing done before the weekend (I know it can't be).

Why can't it be? 30 min meeting review the incident, case dismissed. How hard can it be for the authorities to have a panel on standby for such an incident knowing the importance of these games. The farce that was Scott brown playing in a Scottish cup semi because the sfa couldn't get a panel together was shambolic. Does that not basicallly mean Murray could have head butted a player appealed and he could then play Sunday? Makes no sense.

26-05-2017, 06:23 AM
Why can't it be? 30 min meeting review the incident, case dismissed. How hard can it be for the authorities to have a panel on standby for such an incident knowing the importance of these games. The farce that was Scott brown playing in a Scottish cup semi because the sfa couldn't get a panel together was shambolic. Does that not basicallly mean Murray could have head butted a player appealed and he could then play Sunday? Makes no sense.

Unless I'm missing something then anyone could have got a red for anything and been fine for the second league. Ridiculous really, as you say have a panel on standby for such an eventuality.

26-05-2017, 06:30 AM
Unless I'm missing something then anyone could have got a red for anything and been fine for the second league. Ridiculous really, as you say have a panel on standby for such an eventuality.

That's what it sounds like. Get sent off appeal it because it can't be heard before next week you are ok to play. Only ones you can't appeal would be 2 yellows none of which were for diving.