View Full Version : Europa League final: Manchester United v Ajax

24-05-2017, 02:39 PM
I can't help but think it may have been an idea to postpone the match, given Monday's events, for the sake of the fans if not the players. How are the United fans expected to enjoy it, to sing and party at a final? The suicide bomber grew up as a United fan. I get the argument that life should continue as normal to send a message to terrorists, but if I were there as a fan of a Manchester team, I think I would feel it unseemly to be singing and celebrating about football.

Just give it a week for the shock to subside? What do you think?

24-05-2017, 02:50 PM
I can't help but think it may have been an idea to postpone the match, given Monday's events, for the sake of the fans if not the players. How are the United fans expected to enjoy it, to sing and party at a final? The suicide bomber grew up as a United fan. I get the argument that life should continue as normal to send a message to terrorists, but if I were there as a fan of a Manchester team, I think I would feel it unseemly to be singing and celebrating about football.

I disagree for about a million reasons. We have to carry on, just like we should have played the game against AEK Athens.

24-05-2017, 02:54 PM
We honour the dead and grieve for their passing but as a society we must try and continue. Failure to do that gives the terrorists a victory. The game should go ahead and hopefully United win

24-05-2017, 02:56 PM
I disagree for about a million reasons. We have to carry on, just like we should have played the game against AEK Athens.

I get the carry on argument, as I say, and if the final didn't involve a Manchester club I would definitely agree. I just think it could put the United supporters in a difficult position, with supporters of the club amongst the dead and injured. How does one react as a fan in these circumstances?

24-05-2017, 02:59 PM

If it had happened in Stockholm it would certainly have been postponed, hopefully the correct decision has been made and all the attention can be focused on what happens on the pitch.

Navids Numpties
24-05-2017, 02:59 PM
Hope united get hoofed. Mon the pool.

24-05-2017, 03:04 PM
If it had happened in Stockholm it would certainly have been postponed, hopefully the correct decision has been made and all the attention can be focused on what happens on the pitch.

Members of my family are United season ticket holders but couldn't get tickets for Stockholm. From what I can gather, they haven't even given tonight's game a thought yet; there's just too much going on in the city.

guthrie01
24-05-2017, 04:04 PM
The game should absolutely go ahead, it's terrorists aim not to create danger but create fear. Fear of going to a concert, attending a football match, going on a plane, fear of even walking down the street.

If we stop living our lives as we want to then they win, we can respect those who sadly lost their lives but also also choose to live without fear or worrying what could happen.

I hope the Man U and Ajax fans enjoy the match tonight, 90 minutes where the only concern is wanting your team to win.

24-05-2017, 04:07 PM
The game should absolutely go ahead, it's terrorists aim not to create danger but create fear. Fear of going to a concert, attending a football match, going on a plane, fear of even walking down the street.

If we stop living our lives as we want to then they win, we can respect those who sadly lost their lives but also also choose to live without fear or worrying what could happen.

I hope the Man U and Ajax fans enjoy the match tonight, 90 minutes where the only concern is wanting your team to win.

I'm not so much speaking out of fear but respect in this case. If a local team wasn't involved, I would certainly agree.

Anyway, it's by the by, as the games goes ahead. Wonder what the atmosphere will be like though.....

24-05-2017, 04:10 PM
On BT Sport 2 Freeview for anyone interested.

24-05-2017, 04:21 PM

ive just been watching videos online and they certainly seem to be enjoying themselves so far

24-05-2017, 04:28 PM
If the game had been in Manchester I'd understand it being called off.

As it is it might give the fans something else to focus on for 90 minutes at least.

24-05-2017, 04:45 PM
Hope Man Utd get pumped.

NYHibby
24-05-2017, 05:28 PM
On BT Sport 2 Freeview for anyone interested.

It is also on Youtube for free.

24-05-2017, 05:36 PM
AJAX TEAM NEWS
Starting XI: Onana, Veltman, Riedewald, Sanchez, De Ligt, Klaassen, Schone, Ziyech, Traore, Younes, Dolberg
Subs: Boer, Tete, Westermann, De Jong, Van de Beek, Kluivert, Neres

MAN UTD TEAM NEWS
Starting XI: Romero, Valencia, Smalling, Blind, Dariman, Fellaini, Herrera, Pogba, Mata, Rashford, Mkhitaryan
Subs: De Gea, Fosu-Mensah, Jones, Carrick, Lingard, Martial, Rooney

24-05-2017, 05:53 PM
There's going to be a minutes silence tonight. Call me cynical but I hope it doesn't get ruined by the more extreme element in the Ajax crowd.

I think lots of neutrals will now be willing United on to win. I hope they do.

24-05-2017, 06:11 PM
Cmon Ajax

24-05-2017, 06:13 PM
Hope Man Utd get pumped.

That would normally be my sentiments, however on this occasion I will be quite happy for at least some Manchester folk to be able to rejoice in a sporting victory.

24-05-2017, 06:33 PM
Ajax for me, took out an Ajax Juve double for the European silverwear at the semi final stages.

Got some good kids Ajax and despite Jose often dour approach think this might be a decent match.

So thats 0-0 and penalties then.

Eaststand
24-05-2017, 06:39 PM
It is also on Youtube for free.

I just found that on youtube, its excellent HD quality too :-)

24-05-2017, 06:44 PM
Gaun the Ajax!
Is that Patrick Kluiverts son on the bench?

Kavinho
24-05-2017, 06:47 PM
Gaun the Ajax!
Is that Patrick Kluiverts son on the bench?

Aye.

What is it with those slapped "handshakes" ?

24-05-2017, 06:49 PM
Less than half the tickets given to the supporters, crazy!

Pete70
24-05-2017, 06:57 PM
Less than half the tickets given to the supporters, crazy!

More neutrals/Uefa hangers on at the match than supporters of both competing clubs combined. Crazy indeed.

24-05-2017, 06:58 PM
Think United will be happier with their start. Ajax look like a young, nervous team so far.

24-05-2017, 07:03 PM
Just remember lads we were in this cup, this could have been us tonight :greengrin

24-05-2017, 07:04 PM
spawny ****s

does this result (if it happens) open up a 5th champions league place for England?

24-05-2017, 07:05 PM
One of the most expensive players in the world. Scores a total fluke.

24-05-2017, 07:07 PM
Man U fans break out in light applause after going 1 nil up in a European final.

Show some exuberance for god's sake.

24-05-2017, 07:08 PM
Utd fans just standing up and applauding in a European final :faf:

24-05-2017, 07:11 PM
Man U fans break out in light applause after going 1 nil up in a European final.

Show some exuberance for god's sake.

Maybe they don't feel like showing too much exuberance tonight.

24-05-2017, 07:13 PM
I know people criticise Pogba but there's been 4 or 5 times already tonight in which his ability to retain and recycle possession in a tight situation has been superb.

24-05-2017, 07:14 PM
Are people really trying to suggest the Utd fans in attendance tonight aren't every bit as passionate about their club as we are ours? With the allocation they were given it's the total die hards there tonight.

24-05-2017, 07:16 PM
Probably don't want to show too much excitement as its only the wee cup :wink:

24-05-2017, 07:17 PM
One of the most expensive players in the world. Scores a total fluke.

Strange post. Do good players not get deflections?

24-05-2017, 07:18 PM
Strange post. Do good players not get deflections?
It was meant as a tongue in cheek comment.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

24-05-2017, 07:23 PM
Definitely a Snorhinho side rather than a Manchester United one.

Wee Effen Bee
24-05-2017, 07:29 PM
Definitely a Snorhinho side rather than a Manchester United one.

39 mins of misplaced passing from both teams; very few shots; 2 each on target? sclaffed/deflected goal and that's the good bits.:greengrin

24-05-2017, 07:32 PM
Does anyone know if the Ajax team are quite young? It's not really coming through in the commentary. 😉

24-05-2017, 07:32 PM
European final....
.... A snore fest so far

24-05-2017, 07:40 PM
European final....
.... A snore fest so far

It's not even in VR so we can't scan the Ajax end for nice Dutch girls.

inglisavhibs
24-05-2017, 07:50 PM
European final....
.... A snore fest so far
It's bloody awful, United are just spoilers and are killing the game. Enjoyed the Falkirk, United play off game far more.

24-05-2017, 07:51 PM
2-0

Game over.

24-05-2017, 07:52 PM

I'm not watching the game but don't you think there might be an element of respect for those murdered in Manchester on Monday behind the low key tone adopted by the fans? I know a lot of my focus would be elsewhere if Hibs were playing in a big game and a similar incident had taken place in Edinburgh two nights previously.

24-05-2017, 07:52 PM
It's bloody awful, United are just spoilers and are killing the game. Enjoyed the Falkirk, United play off game far more.

That's Jose Mourhino for you...Utter borefest . Boring boring football

24-05-2017, 07:53 PM
Ajax have been brutal.

24-05-2017, 07:54 PM
Ajax have shat it but they are a very young team. In a few years time they will be excellent if they keep that team together.

24-05-2017, 07:55 PM
Ajax have been very disappointing considering the hype aroud them in the build up.

I was looking forward to seeing the cavalier side I'd heard people waxing lyrical about but it's not been in evidence. Utd have set up professionally but Ajax have been brutal.

24-05-2017, 07:58 PM

I don't get it, what's funny?

24-05-2017, 07:59 PM
Ajax have shat it but they are a very young team. In a few years time they will be excellent if they keep that team together.

Sadly they'll probably be raided by the 'big 4' leagues.

24-05-2017, 07:59 PM
Ajax are terrible

Over hyped to the max

24-05-2017, 08:01 PM
I thought Ajax would clean up tonight.

24-05-2017, 08:03 PM

24-05-2017, 08:05 PM
That's Jose Mourhino for you...Utter borefest . Boring boring football

While it may be boring, he's successful. If he goes on to win it tonight will that be every trophy he's competed for?

EDIT: Forgot he's already won it before.

Off the bar
24-05-2017, 08:07 PM
While it may be boring, he's successful. If he goes on to win it tonight will that be every trophy he's competed for?

He won the eufa with Porto against Celtic I think

24-05-2017, 08:08 PM
He won the eufa with Porto against Celtic I think

Indeed, I forgot that!

24-05-2017, 08:14 PM
God I hate United.

24-05-2017, 08:15 PM
Hardly a classic so far but from a united perspective, who cares?

24-05-2017, 08:20 PM
Referee is probably a contender for MotM. He's got most things spot on.

24-05-2017, 08:24 PM

They got bleached instead.....

Moody Blues
24-05-2017, 08:26 PM
Poor poor game. Expected so much more.

Green forever
24-05-2017, 08:27 PM
They got bleached instead.....

Probably wipe the floor with them..

24-05-2017, 08:30 PM
I'm not watching the game but don't you think there might be an element of respect for those murdered in Manchester on Monday behind the low key tone adopted by the fans? I know a lot of my focus would be elsewhere if Hibs were playing in a big game and a similar incident had taken place in Edinburgh two nights previously.

Exactly.

The celebrations tonight will be totally subdued in light of what happened and rightly so.

To be slagging off Man Utd fans tonight of all nights is ridiculous.

Let's be honest finals aren't always classics. United have played to their relative strengths and nulified Ajax.

If Juventus play the same way against Madrid next week it will be hailed as a tactical masterclass but because it's Mourinho it's treated as the work of the anti christ.

Pogba is crap. No wonder juve were pishing themselves laughing when Man Utd paid that much for him.

Disappointed with Ajax they are better than that, they keep trying to walk the ball in and United had them all worked out from the start. They stll have some talented youngsters there though. Men against boys tonight though.

24-05-2017, 08:37 PM
Wish I hadn't wasted time watching that. Ajax punchless, Man U boring. When you think of some of the exciting teams both clubs have produced they are an embarrassment to the names.

24-05-2017, 08:37 PM
That would normally be my sentiments, however on this occasion I will be quite happy for at least some Manchester folk to be able to rejoice in a sporting victory.

Likewise. Happy they've won it

24-05-2017, 08:39 PM
Glad United have won tonight but Ajax have been very naive.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

24-05-2017, 08:43 PM
Hate how they keep going on about qualifying for the Champions League. Like, who cares? They've won a bloody trophy.

24-05-2017, 08:43 PM
Utd have been crap this year but still have two trophies and a champions league place in the bag so Jose must be doing something right.

24-05-2017, 08:44 PM
Glad to hear United won. A much-needed good news story for the city.

24-05-2017, 08:44 PM
Ajax will be some team in a few years time.

Keyser Sauzee
24-05-2017, 08:48 PM

I was thinking that aswell but likelyhood is that a few of these players will be sold onto bigger better teams splitting up what is potentially a very good side.

24-05-2017, 08:48 PM

If they stay together.

24-05-2017, 08:49 PM

That team will be broken up within 2 or 3 seasons. Money talks and even huge names like Ajax can't compete when the super rich come calling.

Moody Blues
24-05-2017, 08:50 PM

Do you honestly think so. They will have to learn to pass to each other to start with. There seems to be a massive gulf between CHampions League and Europa.

24-05-2017, 08:56 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DAnogTwXoAAgTQK.jpg:large

24-05-2017, 08:57 PM

Their better players will be cherry picked by giants such as Bournemouth and Brighton and Hove Albion.

24-05-2017, 09:00 PM
Think Zlatan appreciated the banner!!

24-05-2017, 09:01 PM
Think Zlatan appreciated the banner!!

That was brilliant.

24-05-2017, 09:02 PM
A touch of class from city [emoji122]

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170524/ef4f8576c4c209e5abdaff3ea668af96.jpg

Keyser Sauzee
24-05-2017, 09:02 PM
That was brilliant.

What happened?

24-05-2017, 09:04 PM
What happened?

'Zlatan stay and you can **** my wife'

24-05-2017, 09:04 PM
What happened?

Posed with a banner that said Zlat please stay and I'll let you **** my wife :hilarious

Tv folk took ages to notice what he was up to.

24-05-2017, 09:05 PM
What happened?

Guy in the front row had a banner saying 'Zlatan, if you stay you can **** my wife'. Zlatan stood on front of it, asked the cameramen behind to move, and asked his mate to take a picture. BT realised what was happening a few seconds too late

24-05-2017, 09:10 PM
Guy in the front row had a banner saying 'Zlatan, if you stay you can **** my wife'. Zlatan stood on front of it, asked the cameramen behind to move, and asked his mate to take a picture. BT realised what was happening a few seconds too late

Distasteful given the events in Manchester this week.

24-05-2017, 09:17 PM
3 trophies but a "*****" season apparently. Cannot wait for a good season. Well in United.

Hopefully Hibs could have a "*****" season like that soon

24-05-2017, 09:25 PM
https://twitter.com/LJWilkinson12/status/867483680104644608

The European equivalent of the Johnstone's Paint Trophy.

24-05-2017, 09:29 PM
Ajax have some excellent young players who got them to a European final, but it was comfortable for United tonight. The gulf in 'know how' as much as anything was obvious.

Big thing for United, of course, is Champions League qualification. We can lament the fact that, in modern football, winning the trophy isn't the main thing, but that's just the way things are for the really big clubs now; they have to be in the Champions League. Two trophies and CL qualification is a fairly good season, but they have to challenge for the title and have a good CL run next season. Big summer of transfer activity for Jose, which he must get right.

24-05-2017, 09:29 PM
A touch of class from city [emoji122]

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170524/ef4f8576c4c209e5abdaff3ea668af96.jpg

24-05-2017, 09:37 PM
thay Ajax performance reminded me of us.

Got to the penalty box then nothing.

24-05-2017, 09:42 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DAnogTwXoAAgTQK.jpg:large

Class.

24-05-2017, 10:02 PM
A post for Scouse Hibee:

Major trophies won (updated 24.05.17)

Manchester United 45
Liverpool 44

24-05-2017, 10:06 PM
A post for Scouse Hibee:

Manchester United 45
Liverpool 44

Oh dear

24-05-2017, 10:09 PM

Explain. There is no connection between the two things.

24-05-2017, 10:11 PM
Some of the Ajax supporters not happy at their team's performance tonight

https://youtu.be/kzE6PwUE3K8

24-05-2017, 10:11 PM

Strange post.

24-05-2017, 10:59 PM

I'm not quite sure how you come to that conclusion to be honest.

It was nothing to do with death or making light of anything that happened in Manchester. It was a banner that was aimed exclusively at Zlatan Ibrahimovic and although the wording was a bit vulgar, it was hardly distasteful because of the terrorist attack.

24-05-2017, 11:24 PM

That post has left me totally puzzled 🤔

24-05-2017, 11:26 PM
Their better players will be cherry picked by giants such as Bournemouth and Brighton and Hove Albion.

Harsh reality but true. Used to be AC Millan or Barca but still selling players every year for good value. Like Celtic limited by league.

25-05-2017, 12:21 AM
I actually enjoyed the game. Two different tactical styles and one proved to be successful. I loved the touch, technique and dribbling of Ajax. They weren't able to finish off their efforts because Utd were so well organised and disciplined. There was a certain naivety on the part of Ajax but to compensate, a lot of their passing was so surgical and deserves admiration. Man U set up cleverly and showed Mourinho knows how to win the big games.

Monaco and Ajax will both be plundered in the close season. Lots of genuine young talent. My pick from tonight was Davinson Sanchez. Fully expect him to be looking for houses with a Munich or Barcelona postcode. Hope he ends up at Arsenal and expect both Manchester teams to be in for him. Only twenty but the timing on some of his tackles spoke of much greater experience.

25-05-2017, 01:09 AM
I actually enjoyed the game. Two different tactical styles and one proved to be successful. I loved the touch, technique and dribbling of Ajax. They weren't able to finish off their efforts because Utd were so well organised and disciplined. There was a certain naivety on the part of Ajax but to compensate, a lot of their passing was so surgical and deserves admiration. Man U set up cleverly and showed Mourinho knows how to win the big games.

Monaco and Ajax will both be plundered in the close season. Lots of genuine young talent. My pick from tonight was Davinson Sanchez. Fully expect him to be looking for houses with a Munich or Barcelona postcode. Hope he ends up at Arsenal and expect both Manchester teams to be in for him. Only twenty but the timing on some of his tackles spoke of much greater experience.

Lived last ten years holland . Dolberg looks real talent but what do i know yet monaco way more wealth and team just made semi main event. If monaco utd final. Monaco win
Ado den haag my team but i salute a young ajax team tonight who a deflected opener made task all the harder.

25-05-2017, 06:07 AM
Lived last ten years holland . Dolberg looks real talent but what do i know yet monaco way more wealth and team just made semi main event. If monaco utd final. Monaco win
Ado den haag my team but i salute a young ajax team tonight who a deflected opener made task all the harder.

Agree totally was brilliant to see a young team most of which home grown playing so well and getting to a final. Early goal changed the game and to me it is huge respect to Ajax that Man U didn't think their multi million pound squad could go toe to toe with them but rather play a cagey defensive counter attack style. While appreciating that was a massive game for United no way will their fans put up with that anti football style over a longer period.

Owen Hargreaves must be the worst pundit ever, horrific and hugely biased.

25-05-2017, 06:26 AM
A post for Scouse Hibee:

Manchester United 45
Liverpool 44

Post for H&A if you're going to take the piss at least get the figures correct ;-)

Delighted for the people of Manchester who have been able to take their minds off the atrocities for a short time with this victory.

25-05-2017, 06:27 AM

Nonsense.

25-05-2017, 06:42 AM
Ajax pass the ball well but they never looked like scoring and the result was never in doubt.

Hero76
25-05-2017, 06:55 AM
The game was dire ....utd done what was required but it was a total snore fest

25-05-2017, 08:32 AM

Gie's peace.